Customers beware!!
NOT WORTH EVEN ONE STAR. Same company as JUST ENERGY!!!!

Customers beware. Start cheap but will go up. They promise rewards and discounts for being a customer for years and dont deliver.

They Send your account to their collections after paying in full, don't ever send a bill, and then dont answer the phone, after many calls.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customers Beware from Pharr, TX on January 13th, 2021
Hi, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We'll look into this for you as quickly as we can. Please call us at 1-866-474-1433 for clarification on the bill.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

— Tara Energy
Something has changed
I've been a customer with Tara Energy for almost 10 years that says that they have been providing great service but something has changed the service I got today was absolutely terrible. They wanted to make sure that I gave a bad review for them they told me one thing and I did what they asked but they did not hold up to their end of the bargain when I call back holding for 30 minutes each time I was hung up on and I know it was intentional because they verified my telephone number to call me back if the call was disconnected I did not get a call back. I don't know what has happened with this company but this type of service is unacceptable. They expect me to honor my word as a customer and I expect them to do the same as a company. I just signed a new contract and I am feeling very uneasy about it. I don't trust them anymore. I need recommendations for a good reliable electricity company in Dallas Texas
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DKing from University Park, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Hi DKing , we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We apologize sincerely for the wait time you experienced. Please send us a message with your account details, including your name and phone number. We can then resolve your issue as soon as possible.
Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Stupid customer service
They will never take care of you. The service is good but customer service is wack.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nfn Md Hasanuz Zaman from Houston, TX on February 7th, 2020
Hi Nfn,

We're happy to hear you're satisifed with our service, however we're saddend to hear your customer service needs have not been met as we do strive to provide the best customer service possible. At your earliest convenience please call us 1-866-474-1344, so we can make sure your concerns are reported.


Thank you,
Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
New customer
I have had a seamless transition from my last energy company. My first months bill was literally half price with almost the same usage!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Daniel from Spring, TX on January 11th, 2020
Hi Daniel, many thanks for your excellent review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to call us at 1-866-4741344. We hope you have a nice day! Thanks.

Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
The most horrible service!!
One day I left my apartment in Houston and I got charge 250$ on my bank account without any explanation or letter. so what happened they say that I recived a machine or device to save electricity and I don't!
I chancel the charge and since that day they are calling me 3 time in a day and sending me collection emails.
I never in my life all for this machine that they say that I ask or got! every time I'm calling I'm waiting over 20 min on the line because there is no manger. shame on you. if you will not take care of this we will meet at the court.


the worst company ever !!!! be careful. its always better to pay more for better service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon Shapira from Houston, TX on November 20th, 2019
Hi Sharon, we're saddened to hear about your negative experience with us. That's not the experience we want to provide. Please allow us to resolve this issue for you. At your convenience send us the best phone number to reach out to you, thank you for your feedback, we hope to hear from you soon.
Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Highway robbery !!
I want to take the time to share my story and experience that I had with Tara energy . I have been a loyal customer in there for many years paying my bill on time and never having issues. In the past year my bill and always stayed around 142 $160 a month But this past summer they decided to go to $.20 a kilowatt and not tell me my contract was up and let this go for several days and then decided to call me to renew my contract with them . All the while very convenient for them I now have a $500 electrical bill if theyre not willing to forgive or even come down on cost.
I feel it was very convenient for them to charge me more than triple the cost In July In Texas. I will never use this electrical company again I will do my best to warn others to go elsewhere .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tara Is A Scammer Company from Waco, TX on September 25th, 2019
Hi, we would like to apologize for your negative experience and thank you for leaving a review, all feedback is important to Tara Energy, especially when it relates to our customer's bills. We'd like to know if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us your phone number to contact you and have this reviewed.
— Tara Energy
Do NOT use Tara
Do NOT use this company. I have never done an online review and they are so horrible I had to do this. I moved and I called to get electricity shut off in one week. I was very clear on the date. They shut it off immediately. Got it back the next day but was hot overnight. Called the day I moved to have it shut off immediately and it is still on a month later and I just found out because they sent a bill so i am on the phone trying to get it shut off. have been on hold 30 minutes while they work on it. Stunningly poor customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Genevieve Scalan from Ricardo, TX on June 19th, 2019
Hi Genevieve, we are sorry about your customer service experience and frustration this has caused. I will be passing your feedback to the appropriate department to make sure this doesn't continue. We hope that your issue was resolved. If not, please provide your account information so we can assist. Thank you.
Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor
— Tara Energy
Selecting Service is so difficult
As I am sure you know if you are reading this selecting a service is so difficult. Some want a down payment while others don't. This service was quick and easily and my billing has been great. The send me weekly updates on my usage. Also they did not charge me a down payment which was great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rayjht from Houston, TX on October 1st, 2018
Good deal
Like all aspects of the experience so far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony from San Angelo, TX on September 11th, 2018
Good price to begin with
My first year was great. $.077, now at renewal they want $.125, so I will be changing providers. 62% increase is not acceptable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aaron from Round Rock, TX on August 15th, 2018
Hi Aaron,
We hope we can have you back as a customer in the future!
— Tara Energy







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Tara Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.5 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.5 of 5.
5 Stars
25%
 
4 Stars
16%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
48%
 
3.4 / 5
Overall
3.3 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
3.5 / 5
Order Experience
3.5 / 5
Customer Service
3.4 / 5
Billing and Account Management
3.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Tara Energy

Founded in 2002, Tara Energy was one of the first electricity providers to offer competitive products and prices following the deregulation of Texas electricity markets. In 2009, Tara Energy merged with Fulcrum Power. Then in 2011, Fulcrum Power was purchased by Just Energy.

Just Energy is a massive electricity and natural gas company that services Canada and the United States and has the distinction of being the largest green energy retailer in North America. In total, they service more than 1.6 million residential and commercial customers.



Recommended Electricity Plans