Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
12.8¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$128 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $155 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $146 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $117 est. avg. bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
    Popular Long Term Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    23.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $233 est. avg. bill
    Best 24 Month Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Best Green Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    Best No Contract Plan
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    23.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $231 est. avg. bill
    Prepaid - No Deposit
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    20.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $152 est. avg. bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $158 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $141 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $164 est. avg. bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $162 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $157 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    22.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $229 est. avg. bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $140 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $155 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $170 est. avg. bill

    The best review categories for Tara Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.5 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.5 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Daniel

    New customer
    I have had a seamless transition from my last energy company. My first months bill was literally half price with almost the same usage!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Daniel from Spring, TX on January 11th, 2020
    Hi Daniel, many thanks for your excellent review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to call us at 1-866-4741344. We hope you have a nice day! Thanks.

    Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
    — Tara Energy


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    New customer
    I have had a seamless transition from my last energy company. My first months bill was literally half price with almost the same usage!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Daniel from Spring, TX on January 11th, 2020
    Hi Daniel, many thanks for your excellent review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to call us at 1-866-4741344. We hope you have a nice day! Thanks.

    Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
    — Tara Energy
    Selecting Service is so difficult
    As I am sure you know if you are reading this selecting a service is so difficult. Some want a down payment while others don't. This service was quick and easily and my billing has been great. The send me weekly updates on my usage. Also they did not charge me a down payment which was great.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rayjht from Houston, TX on October 1st, 2018
    Good deal
    Like all aspects of the experience so far so good
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tony from Abilene, TX on September 11th, 2018
    Tara has worked well for me.
    Smooth transition to Tara from my previous provider. No billing or other issues. Probably halved my electricity bill by going with Tara Energy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tara Comes Through. from Arlington, TX on August 14th, 2018
    Nice people
    Very friendly answer my question
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nice from Waco, TX on May 6th, 2018
    Great rates
    Cheapest electricity I've had. Very satisfied.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Adelyn from Arlington, TX on April 22nd, 2018
    What i think about Tara
    They are awesome on any question r concerns
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Debbie Smith from Robert Lee, TX on April 9th, 2018
    Experience with Tara
    I am very pleased thus far..I haven't had any surprise bills and the ordering process was simple, easy and self explainatory
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cheryl Givens from Dallas, TX on March 6th, 2018
    Best company ive had service with!
    Cheapest prices and you can even earn rewards!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Best Decisicion! from Pharr, TX on December 24th, 2017
    Great company,..very reliable and the prices get lower and lower!
    Tara has been a great choice for us. We have been with them for about 3 years and the prices and perks get better each time we sign re-commit to using their service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike from Weatherford, TX on July 22nd, 2017


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    No issues
    Have been a customer for 2 months. Everything is going well so far.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jazzy from Lake Dallas, TX on November 19th, 2017
    WONDERFUL COMPANY
    When I read all the reviews here i was thinking if I am working with another company and hoping that this bad things will not happen to me one day!I am using the Electricity from Tara Energy almost 2 years and I have no problems.I paid all my bills online with no problem.I agree with something that their web site is really not good but other than that I didn't have any problems.I wish to have a little bit cheaper rate plan that is all :)Most of my friends had lots of problems with other electric companies like electricity cut and etc.I am happy that I didn't have a bad experience like that.Hopefully I will not in the future.My Plan is finishing in March 2014 and I am still thinking to continue with the same company but I am also checking different companies with maybe a little bit low rate plans:)
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sophie from Hurst on December 30th, 2013
    Never had a problem
    Seamless transfers, reliable energy (due to ERCOT, I know), but nothing to complain about
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    R. Meisner from Round Rock on April 30th, 2013
    No problems
    I've really had no problems with Tara - I love their flat rate and know I'm always getting what I pay for.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Karen from Houston on April 16th, 2013
    So far so good...3 years experience
    Never have had a problem, other than they move the due date slightly every month. I have to call then every so often to get them to move the date back where it is supposed to be. It is drafted from my account each month, so it is important to me to be a consistant date. The price has been going up slightly each renewal. I can get a lower rate elsewhere...but after reading the ratings on some companies...it is a gamble as to the customer service you end up with...no one wants their eletricity cut off for stupid reasons...So I renewed once again...may consider switching next time if I can find a company that has good ratings on customer service. Would like to see a special rate for repeat, well paying customers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Theresa Fails from Hitchcock on March 17th, 2013
    Good experiance
    Price as promised
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    John Curler from Irvin Texas 75060 on March 28th, 2012
    Been very satisfied
    It is time to renew or switch my electic plans since my 12-month contract with Tara is up and I thought I would share my Tara experience with you. Tara has met all contract agreements including a very good price. My bill and my father's bill are emailed to me monthly and I pay electronically thru our banks with no extra charges. With have had zero issues. It is time to renew and they offered four reduced rate plans. No complaints from me.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shari Hightower from Fort Worth on January 31st, 2012
    Diamond in the Rough
    Great company! Nothing but Praise
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marco Almanza from Mcallen on October 18th, 2011
    Home owner
    Excellent
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David Heflin from Houston on May 2nd, 2011



    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Good price to begin with
    My first year was great. $.077, now at renewal they want $.125, so I will be changing providers. 62% increase is not acceptable.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Aaron from Round Rock, TX on August 15th, 2018
    Hi Aaron,
    We hope we can have you back as a customer in the future!
    — Tara Energy
    Consistent service
    I originally signed on with Tara about a year plus ago for my apartment. The sign up for easy and once I setup the auto draft, i had no issue. I moved to a house and the transition from apartment to house was also smooth and easy. Never had an issue with service. I am only changing due to the fact my contract is up and I am interested in shopping for better rates. The rate i had was fixed at 10cents/kwh. It's a fair rate, but I see better rates so I am shopping around! I would recommend Tara.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    L. T. from Houston on February 17th, 2014
    No Problems
    I used Tara energy for a year as they were the least expensive the last time I signed up. I did not have any problems and payed all of my bills online. I never had to contact customer support so I cant speak to that. I am changing providers now simply because I can get a better deal. Overall I was satisfied with their service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mark from Friendswood Tx Usa on January 24th, 2012
    Where is the website...
    Everytime I try to check in on my account, their website is down; can't say how incredibly frustrating that is. On the other hand, I sing their praises when I receive my bill, since I am saving in the neighborhood of $100-$200 a month during the summer with their great rates. So, I'll deal with the spotty website availability...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    SLH from Seabrook on September 5th, 2011



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Collections notice
    Came home today to a collections notice from Amigo Energy. I have never had service through them. The collections department was closed, so I called Amigo directly. I was informed my bill was from Tara Enerfy from last April. I had changed to a new provider when my contract with Tara ended. I paid the next bill I received and thought I was done. In the past 14 months I have had no further communication with Tara Energy. So, imagine my surprise to learn I had an unpaid final bill balance that was being sent to third party collections effective 5/22/14. Of corse the notice was received after the cut off and after collections business hours. Had I received a bill, I would have paid it promptly, but they never billed me. The explanation from the customer service rep was that they recently changed billing systems and noticed many unpaid bills. So, I guess instead of refilling, they just sent it all to collections when they never billed to start with. I can't even get into the website to make payment, as the option is greyed out. Nice!!! Have scheduled payment through my bank, but it won't arrive u til a week from now. I'm going to be seriously pissed off if this hits my credit. Will be filing a complaint through the PUC.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    S.o. from Temple on May 23rd, 2014
    TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!
    I would not recommend Tara Energy to anyone today. I have been with them for over 2yrs and everything started out fine, however they have recently made some changes in the customer service and it's gone downhill fast! The reps are NOT knowledgable and if they dont want to deal with you they put you back in que for someone else to handle it. I have even had someone hang up on me....terrible terrible terrible customer service. I asked to speak with a manager and of course they were not available so I left a message and never received a call back. TERRIBLE!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    W. Booker from Houston on October 25th, 2012



    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    45 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Worst Company I have ever dealt with
    I shop around for cheaper rates and have had many Service Providers. This is by far the Worst company I have ever dealt with!!! Creating a Log in was not pleasant and logging on for the first time was a nightmare. Customer Service is nonexistent. Even emailing them for a simple question will not get you an answer. You will get an automated response informing you to call them (and be placed on hold for 30 min). Followed by 4 to 10 returned emails from them, from people I didnt even email, their email system has some kind of bug.
    The initial rate for me was 8 cents but jumped to an incredible 14 cents after the 3 month contract ended, with a horrible 12 cents to renew.
    I no longer have them and am still waiting for them to return my deposit.
    My experience with them was so bad that I would never renew even at a 5 cent rate
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Will Vance from Pasadena, TX on August 24th, 2021
    Hi Will. Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience when needing to renew your plan. Please rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We are currently reviewing your account, a member of our team will be in touch soon. Thank you.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Lily, Social Media Advisor <br /><br />
    — Tara Energy
    Liars, thieves, and fradulant. Beware. Choose anyone else please!!
    With out permission Tara energy switched my service. My electricity company caught it and it was switched back the same day!! I called Tara energy and the man said we get away with this all the time. They have now lied to me, transition, Equifax and better business bureau. They put 200.00 on my credit bureaus. It did not effect me one bit and is laughable. Just don't want this to happen to any one else
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Pamela Lara from Sweeny, TX on July 22nd, 2021
    Hi Pamela Lara. Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience. We are working on resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We are currently reviewing your account, a member of our team will be in touch soon.

    Many Thanks,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor

    — Tara Energy
    Turn off service on Weekends
    My name Nghis Tran 65 years old. Call Tara disconnect service on Monday 07/19/2021. But company disconnected on Saturday and Sunday. No confirmation. Bad bad service, I never recommend this company. I will complain to PUC .
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nghis Thi Tran from Houston, TX on July 18th, 2021
    Hello Nghis. Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We are sorry to hear about your concerns and the service you have received. Please accept our apologies we are currently review your account one our agents will be contacting you soon to have this issue resolved as quickly as possible.

    Best Regards,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor

    — Tara Energy
    False info to get costumers
    They offered to take care of changing provider fee , and that everything will me automatic, but that fee was never covered with my other company. So it is a charged pa Im not a customer anymore and they won't take care of that fee because I'm not a current costumer.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jose G from Houston, TX on April 2nd, 2021
    Hi Jose. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and allowing us the opportunity to investigate this issue to get a resolution for you. We apologized for any frustration caused.

    Regards,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor
    — Tara Energy
    Fraud Company
    This company is fraud company. My bill was low in the beginning during the peak summer and not in the winter it has gone double. Last week, I turned off my all power for a week and still bill gone up.

    Complete fraud company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Keyur from Sugar Land, TX on January 20th, 2021
    Hi Keyur. Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to contact us. It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. Please do not hesitate to call us at 1-866-587-8674. We will be more than happy to investigate this for you and resolve your issue.

    Thank you,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor



    — Tara Energy
    Customers beware!!
    NOT WORTH EVEN ONE STAR. Same company as JUST ENERGY!!!!

    Customers beware. Start cheap but will go up. They promise rewards and discounts for being a customer for years and dont deliver.

    They Send your account to their collections after paying in full, don't ever send a bill, and then dont answer the phone, after many calls.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Customers Beware from Mcallen, TX on January 13th, 2021
    Hi, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We'll look into this for you as quickly as we can. Please call us at 1-866-474-1433 for clarification on the bill.


    Thank you,
    Lily, Social Media Advisor

    — Tara Energy
    Something has changed
    I've been a customer with Tara Energy for almost 10 years that says that they have been providing great service but something has changed the service I got today was absolutely terrible. They wanted to make sure that I gave a bad review for them they told me one thing and I did what they asked but they did not hold up to their end of the bargain when I call back holding for 30 minutes each time I was hung up on and I know it was intentional because they verified my telephone number to call me back if the call was disconnected I did not get a call back. I don't know what has happened with this company but this type of service is unacceptable. They expect me to honor my word as a customer and I expect them to do the same as a company. I just signed a new contract and I am feeling very uneasy about it. I don't trust them anymore. I need recommendations for a good reliable electricity company in Dallas Texas
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DKing from Dallas, TX on September 22nd, 2020
    Hi DKing , we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We apologize sincerely for the wait time you experienced. Please send us a message with your account details, including your name and phone number. We can then resolve your issue as soon as possible.
    Thank you.
    Lily, Social Media Advisor
    — Tara Energy
    Stupid customer service
    They will never take care of you. The service is good but customer service is wack.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nfn Md Hasanuz Zaman from Houston, TX on February 7th, 2020
    Hi Nfn,

    We're happy to hear you're satisifed with our service, however we're saddend to hear your customer service needs have not been met as we do strive to provide the best customer service possible. At your earliest convenience please call us 1-866-474-1344, so we can make sure your concerns are reported.


    Thank you,
    Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
    — Tara Energy
    The most horrible service!!
    One day I left my apartment in Houston and I got charge 250$ on my bank account without any explanation or letter. so what happened they say that I recived a machine or device to save electricity and I don't!
    I chancel the charge and since that day they are calling me 3 time in a day and sending me collection emails.
    I never in my life all for this machine that they say that I ask or got! every time I'm calling I'm waiting over 20 min on the line because there is no manger. shame on you. if you will not take care of this we will meet at the court.


    the worst company ever !!!! be careful. its always better to pay more for better service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sharon Shapira from Houston, TX on November 20th, 2019
    Hi Sharon, we're saddened to hear about your negative experience with us. That's not the experience we want to provide. Please allow us to resolve this issue for you. At your convenience send us the best phone number to reach out to you, thank you for your feedback, we hope to hear from you soon.
    Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
    — Tara Energy
    Highway robbery !!
    I want to take the time to share my story and experience that I had with Tara energy . I have been a loyal customer in there for many years paying my bill on time and never having issues. In the past year my bill and always stayed around 142 $160 a month But this past summer they decided to go to $.20 a kilowatt and not tell me my contract was up and let this go for several days and then decided to call me to renew my contract with them . All the while very convenient for them I now have a $500 electrical bill if theyre not willing to forgive or even come down on cost.
    I feel it was very convenient for them to charge me more than triple the cost In July In Texas. I will never use this electrical company again I will do my best to warn others to go elsewhere .
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tara Is A Scammer Company from Lorena, TX on September 25th, 2019
    Hi, we would like to apologize for your negative experience and thank you for leaving a review, all feedback is important to Tara Energy, especially when it relates to our customer's bills. We'd like to know if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us your phone number to contact you and have this reviewed.
    — Tara Energy


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    15 Month Fixed Rate
    15 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $155 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $146 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $117 est. avg. bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $118 est. avg. bill
    Popular Long Term Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill