Home > Read Reviews > Tara Energy > 1536678360852357817

good deal

(5 / 5)

  like all aspects of the experience so far so good

tony from 79605
September 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Tara Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Tara Energy are , rated at 0.0 out of 5, and , rated at 0.0 of 5.

Tara Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

62 Reviews for Tara Energy


Diamond in the Rough

(4.5 / 5)

  Great company! Nothing but Praise

Marco Almanza from McAllen
October 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no problems

(4 / 5)

  I've really had no problems with Tara - I love their flat rate and know I'm always getting what I pay for.

Karen from Houston
April 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good price to begin with

(3.6 / 5)

  My first year was great. $.077, now at renewal they want $.125, so I will be changing providers. 62% increase is not acceptable.

Aaron from Round Rock
August 15th, 2018

Hi Aaron,
We hope we can have you back as a customer in the future!

Tara Energy Responds August 22nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consistent service

(3.6 / 5)

  I originally signed on with Tara about a year plus ago for my apartment. The sign up for easy and once I setup the auto draft, i had no issue. I moved to a house and the transition from apartment to house was also smooth and easy. Never had an issue with service. I am only changing due to the fact my contract is up and I am interested in shopping for better rates. The rate i had was fixed at 10cents/kwh. It's a fair rate, but I see better rates so I am shopping around! I would recommend Tara.

L. T. from Houston
February 17th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems

(3.2 / 5)

  I used Tara energy for a year as they were the least expensive the last time I signed up. I did not have any problems and payed all of my bills online. I never had to contact customer support so I cant speak to that. I am changing providers now simply because I can get a better deal. Overall I was satisfied with their service.

Mark from Friendswood TX USA
January 24th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Where is the website...

(3 / 5)

  Everytime I try to check in on my account, their website is down; can't say how incredibly frustrating that is. On the other hand, I sing their praises when I receive my bill, since I am saving in the neighborhood of $100-$200 a month during the summer with their great rates. So, I'll deal with the spotty website availability...

SLH from Seabrook
September 5th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Collections notice

(2.6 / 5)

  Came home today to a collections notice from Amigo Energy. I have never had service through them. The collections department was closed, so I called Amigo directly. I was informed my bill was from Tara Enerfy from last April. I had changed to a new provider when my contract with Tara ended. I paid the next bill I received and thought I was done. In the past 14 months I have had no further communication with Tara Energy. So, imagine my surprise to learn I had an unpaid final bill balance that was being sent to third party collections effective 5/22/14. Of corse the notice was received after the cut off and after collections business hours. Had I received a bill, I would have paid it promptly, but they never billed me. The explanation from the customer service rep was that they recently changed billing systems and noticed many unpaid bills. So, I guess instead of refilling, they just sent it all to collections when they never billed to start with. I can't even get into the website to make payment, as the option is greyed out. Nice!!! Have scheduled payment through my bank, but it won't arrive u til a week from now. I'm going to be seriously pissed off if this hits my credit. Will be filing a complaint through the PUC.

S.o. from Temple
May 23rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

(2.2 / 5)

  I would not recommend Tara Energy to anyone today. I have been with them for over 2yrs and everything started out fine, however they have recently made some changes in the customer service and it's gone downhill fast! The reps are NOT knowledgable and if they dont want to deal with you they put you back in que for someone else to handle it. I have even had someone hang up on me....terrible terrible terrible customer service. I asked to speak with a manager and of course they were not available so I left a message and never received a call back. TERRIBLE!

W. Booker from Houston
October 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just signed up, but regret it

(1.8 / 5)

  I just signed up with this company and I already regret it deeply. So far, I've spoken with 10 different reps (all very nice btw) that cannot seem to resolve my problem. They've charged me a $275 deposit (that I wasn't aware they would charge). I finally got someone on the phone that finally told me that I can send in my past 3 months, paid, on-time receipts from my old electric company and they would waive the deposit. So I did this...sent in my last 3 invoices. Well, they denied my request. No explanation.

I let them know that I'm not happy with the service so far and that I'll be canceling promptly after my contract term. I will go with my old company, Startex, after that as they did not require any deposit from me and they honored my history of on-time payments.

Amy B from Cypress
July 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Termination Fees

(1.6 / 5)

  I realize we live in an age where companies
force you to stay in business with them instead
of providing quality goods and services. I
wanted to stay with Tara Energy but wanted the
lower rate they were offering since I only had
1 month left on my contract. They would rather
me go with another company than renew my
contract one month early. I just thought I
would post because it seems so dumb. Anyways,
off to the next crooked energy company.

JD from McKinney
May 3rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Old client

(1.5 / 5)

  I've been with Tara for over 5 years & they get worse by the MONTH. All promotions offered have strings attached.
Not the best customer service either.

L Torres from Pearland
October 20th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Useless Billing Department

(1.4 / 5)

  We used them for two years. In the final couple of months they failed to take payments twice. The first time, the first that we knew of it was when they wrote to threaten to cut our power off and the second, they neither issued nor collected our final bill but today (two years later) we received a letter from a debt collector. Lovely.

We auto paid all bills and received bills electronically, I'm not sure how this happened. We pay our bills on time and had we been notified that payment had not been received, would have immediately rectified. No attempts were made to call or write to us when bills were apparently overdue.

Can't complain about customer service in terms of the experience of calling Tara, the representatives are always courteous and helpful.

Nicola from Houston
March 9th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(1.4 / 5)

  I have tara energy from almost two yrs now... Recently, i moved and transferred their service to my new apartment.. But for some reason they charged me an early termination fee... I have called them 4 times already to get that 250 refunded.. Every single time they say that they took care of it and i will see the credit in 3-5 business days, BUT ITS A LIE SO FAR. I still have their service and i have been going through this hassle more than a month now. They have horrible customer service... Tara energy sucks! As soon my contract expires, ill be going to TXU or Reliant.. I rather pay little more for a reliable company than going through this hassle.. Also, when i requested the service transfer to my new apartment and disconnect service at that current location at the end of the month they didn't waited till the end they just disconnect at the same day and we had to live in a motel that night... Can you imaging living without electricity in Texas? We tried calling their emergency hotline numbers... But they did no good... It was all automated system... It was seriously frustrating! DO NOT GET TARA!

RitaP from Euless
May 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates are not worth hassle

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a customer for about 5 years. I pay my bills using my online banking. When I pay every other account I NEVER have an issue with them processing the payment. With TARA I have to make sure the payment gets there before the due date because it can take them 4-5 days to process the payment. During my last incident. Payment was due on 4th. On the 8th they generated a disconnect letter which I received on the 9th. When I called asking about it, the rep told me payment was posted on the 5th, but it was finished processing until the 8th. Their practice is to generate disconnect letters automatically 4 days after the due date even if payment is recd prior to then. So, we are supposed to give them 4 -5 days to process my payment, but they won't give me any time before they decide to threaten to disconnect service.
Totally confused, I asked why I still got the letter even though my payment was processed before the end of the 4th day. She just repeated that they have to process the payment to make sure I have funds for it. So essentially, they SEND you the letter the morning of the 4th day. Seems like they could save a lot of $ by waiting longer for them to process payments.
NO OTHER company (phone, cell, cable, gas, water, credit card...) that I using online banking with has this sort of practice. In the 5 years that I have been a customer. my payments have been late 2x by one day because of online banking.
My advice is - if you want to use this company, pay with cash or auto bill pay through them, otherwise make sure your payment is there 4-5 before it is due. I assume if you pay with a check it would need to go thru processing issue as well.
I am currently looking to switch.

Jennifer from Sugar Land
April 9th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not the worst, but..

(1.4 / 5)

  This is not the worst company I've ever dealt with, but their customer service and website are crap! You can't pay your bill online because the links are perpetually grayed out (I've tried every browser) and all of their CSRs are rude as heck. This company is only worth it if you have a bad track record with other companies; they don't make you pay a deposit.

A Random Stranger from Somewhere On The Texas Coast.
January 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Power Co EVER!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  Worst electric company that I have EVER dealt with out of more than 12 electric companies (in both large and small towns) across the Country. RUDE customer "service", will charge you a late fee and send you a disconnect notice if paid even a DAY late...NO exceptions!! Don't care WHEN you get paid, they just want THEIR money!! My advice, don't just avoid doing business with them...RUN away from them!! We are supposed to have a 1 year agreement with them, but in the 6 weeks we've been with them, we have ALREADY had 3 "experiences" with them Doubt we will make it a year!! We may just take their $150 "early termination" charge and BE DONE fighting with them!! WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THESE PEOPLE TO MY WORST ENEMY!!

DF from Fort Worth
August 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive advertising

(1.3 / 5)

  The rates were quoted below 8 cents but fail to disclose other fees/charges, the total is over 13 cents.

MEI Y SOONG from Houston
August 18th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I dislike Tara Engery

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been having trouble,since returning to Canad,on April,5,1915.my bills were ok, but higher from the 2 year contract,I had with Tara engery.I have been getting higher bills when nobody is there then when I was there for 5 months..I think they must be reading my smart meter wrong..My place is only 350 square feet .Last year when back in Canada,my largest bill was no larger then $19.00 ,my last bill was $60.00 plus dollars.I will be looking for a cheaper provider .I will never recommend this company to anyone.Tara Engery is gouging me.

Thelma Jean Jordan from Brownsville
July 20th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not satisfied with this service

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been with Tara now about a year an one month an looking to switch. They don't try to help you if you need your due. Date pushed back they only give you a day after when its due I have never heard are seen in other light company that do that at least. They give you. A week. Are maybe 3 days but one day this is poor I. Would never tell anyone to go to this company ...

Truly unsatisfied

unidentified from Houston
February 6th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid them, for many reasons

(1.2 / 5)

  I have auto bill pay, but when my bank upgraded their system, many payments got dropped. I wasn't aware that Tara didn't get my payment until I received the disconnect notice in the mail. I was 5 days late in paying them (for a bank issue), after having never been late before and they were going to disconnect me over it. The hassle of getting off the disconnect list caused rippling effects which ended up costing me money and tons of hassle. Their customer service is also only open M-F during normal business hours (when I work) so it made it all that much more difficult to get it cleared up. When I finally got to talk with them about it, they said they have the right to disconnect if I'm ever late with a payment (even the first time, regardless of who is at fault). Nice. I'm switching as soon as my contract expires. 11 days and counting.

J.Emery from Plano
October 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...