Texas Power Logo
PUCT# :

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, 4Change Energy, Gexa Energy and Champion Energy Services

Rip off something is shady

(1.6 / 5)

  I am on the prepaid plan and i tested it just to see. How they take the money. So Im using the service in my vacation home, about 6 dollars a day according to the overview they provided so if i have 25$ in my account how is it the next day i have know days remaining?? This has been happening for sometime now the wait to talk to customer service is 93 min 200 people in front of me Im willing to bet its because they see the same thing i see... Im contacting DOE to lunch an investigation i know for a fact something is shady.

K. Woods from Houston
January 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sad to leave, but I can't afford anymore

(3.2 / 5)

  I have to leave. My rate plan went up a lot. From 7.6 cents to 14.9 cents/Khw.. I was not happy. A week after my rate change agreement and two days before it went into effect the rate plan dropped again. I asked if I could change my rate plan, to what is what before and I was told "No, rate plans change everyday. You got it on a day that was higher. Sorry." I was not happy. So, I have to leave.

TC from Houston
September 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Why was my account sold?

(1 / 5)

  ACCOUNT SOLD TO COMPANY IN HOUSTON, YET MONEY GOES TO DALLAS, HOWEVER CUSTOMERS SERVICE TAKES YOUR CALLS IN .....>>>> MEXICO !!

WHY

TEXAN from A TEXAS CITY
September 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never a problem

(5 / 5)

  We have had Texas Power for 2 years and have never had any problems. They offered us the lowest rate 2 years ago and met that rate again when it came time to renew.

Kim from Lake Jackson
August 22nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Wary When the Contract Ends

(2.8 / 5)

  my contract with Texas Power ended and I foolish believed that the rate would revert to the lower month-to-month rate that I had seen when I had researched rates. The month-to-month rates were universally cheaper with all of the electricity providers. BUT, when your contract runs out apparently Texas Power, L.P.'s policy is to gouge you hard until you wake up to the fact that they have DOUBLED your rate; mine went from .07 per Kwh to .14 per Kwh. I now have in my possession the highest electrical bill I have ever had.

Steve from Dallas
August 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ease of access & payment! Competitive for a long time!

(4 / 5)

  I have had Texas Power for 5 years. Due to my ability to keep track of contract expirations & negotiaion, I have been able to renew my rate at a competitive level everytime! The customer service is good, and billing is easy! Btw, no price hikes here!

Price-Loyal Customer from Cypress
August 5th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE! No longer competitive

(2.6 / 5)

  I have used Texas Power since it was originally started and have been reasonably satisfied. For a long time they were very competitive while not always being the lowest cost provider but at least very close to the lowest. I have just now looked at their rates on Power to Choose and find they are no longer competitive. They are 28% higher than the service I am switching to and, if you can believe it, they are even more expensive than Texas Electric Utilities.
I do not know what has happened to the competitiveness of Texas Power but whatever, they will be doing it without me.

Tom from Mansfield
July 8th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So rude

(1.8 / 5)

  I have never experienced such rude treatment over the phone before for just asking a question. We are cancelling today.

Rene Moscot from Orange Grove
April 22nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy for 3 Years

(5 / 5)

  I have been a customer of Texas Power for 3 years. I always lock in a contract for at least 1 year. I have been extremely happy with them. I highly recommend them.

Chris from Spring
April 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Texpo Energy has high quality of a service and sasfe electricity to applied to the costumers

(0 / 5)

  this company has highly recommend for any of the people who needs electricity has good deal with high rate of electricity and has a good ccostumer service center.

MW from Houston
April 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Meter Fee

(2.8 / 5)

  No real complaints on customer servicemy main problem comes in the $14 fee I am charged for using less electricity. I have a small duplex and try very hard to keep my ele bill low. Then I get penalized for this with a $14 fee? I will be switching as soon as my contract is up.

LJ Jones from Euless
December 6th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

overall company view

(1 / 5)

  shopping for another company now!!!

William p. hill from ALLEN
July 4th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good customer service, hassle free

(4.6 / 5)

  I hate to leave Texas Power, but their rates aren't as competative as they used to be. I do not have any complaints. I sold a home and moved into an apartment for 3 months while my new home was being completed, I then moved into the new home, taking Texas Power with me on each move. I did not have any issues and the customer service made suggestions to save me on the move. There were never any fees attached. I always paid my bill on line, but they also sent me one in the mail in case I chose to send them the payment USPS. I hate to leave, but they wouldn't budge on their rates.

D.B. from League City
May 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been good so far for a year

(4 / 5)

  my only complaint is that you can't setup autobill pay online. Though, it has only been a year and I just got my 1 month notice that it is time to renew.

Also they have a Veterans thing, though no discounts, only no deposit with autobill pay... wooopppyyy...

Marc from Mansfield
March 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good service, but rate got higher over time

(4.8 / 5)

  i switched to texas power around 2009 and saved a lot of money from
what i was paying with Gexa. But over the past few years, I've noticed that
they aren't even close to the lowest rate available. when i initially signed
up, they were the lowest. i'll probably switch to a lower rate company
when my contact is up

tiffany from Spring
March 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What customer service?

(0.3 / 5)

  All I wanted to do was change our address from a PO box to our actual address. First there is no place on the bill to do this, so I looked online at the web site and I could not find it there either. So, I called. I was told there were only 7 people in line, waited on hold for 15 minutes while their recording keep telling me how they were the best in customer service, and finally hung up. Unless they have only one person answering phones, how could it take over 15 minutes to answer 7 calls? And why don't they allow me to change the address? I give up.

Robert from Arlington
July 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best service yet.

(4.9 / 5)

  All communication was friendly and courteous, easily understood. When
you call Customer Service, you talk to a real English-speaking person.

Smooth service and no unexpected charges.

Would definitely recommend!!!!

K Fancher from Tyler
May 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good experience, no problems

(4.7 / 5)

  Great experience, good customer service, work with me with all my questions. I am renewing now for 6 months. I am planning on having my son with this plan. Thanks for good prices and customer service.

Anonymous
August 6th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great

(4.3 / 5)

  They are currently offering 9.2 in the Oncor area for 12m and my bill is literally simple I used 1948 kwh in June at 9.8 cents and my total bill including taxes was 198.94. They did not charge any addtl fees like base charge or meter charge. Great Price and Great service

Facundo from TX USA
July 14th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Texas Power Satisfied User

(4.5 / 5)

  Reasonable rates, very good billing format, customer service excellent, actually spoke with someone in person and in Texas!

Debbie Kohls from Lewisville
June 26th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions