TriEagle Energy Reviews

TriEagle Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for TriEagle Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.3 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 3.2 of 5.

TriEagle Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

137 Reviews for TriEagle Energy


Give them a 5 watt

(5 / 5)

  I have had nothing but great experiences with Trieagle Energy. they have given me a great rate and keep me up to date with my energy spending. Recently, I ordered a new thermastate from them. there was nothing wrong with the thermostate but it was too complicated for me. I wanted something simplier. I was able to send it back with no problem or hassle and with my money returneed. I would recommend them to anyone.

Michaele O'Dwyer from Houston
December 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great ! Thank You TriEagle

(5 / 5)

  Our electrical provider contract was up for renewal and I searched around different providers and ran across TriEagle. I was a little skeptical at first because of a lot of negative reviews. But even our current provider had some horrible reviews and I wasn't happy with them for sure. I called TriEagle around 4:00 pm and the customer representative answered promptly and within 20 minutes I was completely finished with the sign up process. She was very courteous and answered all of my questions, (and gave my a discount for my coupon code found on the website). I received my first bill and we are happy to see that it is lower in cost, very simple, easy to read and no hidden charges. We like getting the weekly email updates and online payments work for us too. I don't usually write reviews but we are so glad to have found TriEagle, finally finding an electric provider that is easy and straight forward with its plans, we wanted to express our thanks to the company,

Mark from Hewitt
November 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy customer

(5 / 5)

  I have been a customer for over 3 years now and have never had any problem. I really like that they have no hidden fees. Also like the usage reports that are emailed to me weekly.

Anthony Williams from Plano
July 1st, 2014

Thank you for the feedback Anthony - we appreciate your business!

TriEagle Energy Responds July 17th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewed again

(5 / 5)

  I have been with TriEagle for 2 years now and I just called in to renew for another 12 months at 8.8 cents/kWh. I had to wait a little bit when I called but once I was able to speak with a rep she was really helpful and made the renewal process quick and easy. I also signed up for their weekly usage summaries several months back and am loving being able to see how much energy Im using each week! Definitely recommend TriEagle!

Cheryl from Richardson
September 23rd, 2013

Thanks for the great feedback Cheryl!

TriEagle Energy Responds September 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best rates for 100% renewable

(5 / 5)

  I signed up last year. Their 100% renewable plan was actually cheaper than their regular plan at that time, and was the best rate I could find for 100%. I just renewed for about $0.01 more per kWh (a substantial increase), but it still beat any other 100% renewable plan. My monthly use averages under 500 kWh, and I rarely use over 1000 kWh in a month. Most other companies have a minimum useage (usually 1000 kWh) to avoid a hefty service fee. TriEagle's is a flat $4.95/mo, and there are no suprise fees. Believe me, I've put together a spreadsheet just to evaluate the complex minimum useage, fee and surcharge fomulas of other companies.
So, someone who uses a lot of electricity, or who wants just a conventional-energy plan may do better with other companies. For me, the decision to renew was simple and pain-free.
I've never needed to contact TriEagle, so my good rating is because of the weekly emailed useage graphs, and the several notices about the upcomong expiration date of my contract (some other companies do a poor job with that, and let you go to a very expensive daily rate plan). My only problem was that I wasn't able to open any of the renewal PDFs from email, even with updated updated Adobe reader. My wife could at the office. Go figure.
On Price/Plans/Promotions, last year there was a promo code on the Power To Choose site. This year I found a code elsewhere online that shaved off $0.001 . Better than nothing.
So, for another year, I'm set.

Van from Richardson
September 16th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Van - we try to offer competitive renewable products for those who want to promote green alternatives.

TriEagle Energy Responds September 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended

(5 / 5)

  I originally signed up for a 12-month term (GREAT rate!) that will expire next month. I just renewed for another 16-months after comparing rates and reading reviews here -- I found some other, slightly lower rates, but I've had a good experience w/ TriEagle and didn't want to risk billing issues or poor customer service -- TriEagle has done a good job and offers competitive rates so I'm sticking with them. Their website is not the most advanced, but it is definitely adequate.

Tod from Houston
February 13th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Tod! Hopefully you've revisited our website recently, as we've just gone through a major facelift. In addition, look for even more online feature and services in our online portal at the end of the summer.

TriEagle Energy Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Everything

(5 / 5)

  I've had TriEagle for almost 3 years and have to say it's one fo the best companies I've ever done business with! Live customer service people - here in Texas, not in India! And they don't have any of those crazy hidden fees like the other guys.

Anne S from Kingwood
October 17th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Anne!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Halved my Summer Electric Bill from Entergy!

(5 / 5)

  I signed on with TriEagle almost two years ago. First I did just the short trial, not wanting to get roped in by what sounded too good to be true. IT WAS TRUE! My first month with TriEagle was half of what I had been paying to Entergy. It has remained consistently lower than all of my past bills (5 years with Entergy). Nice people, too. Will be with TriEagle as long as they are there or I am here!

Margie from Tomball
June 22nd, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Margie!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Energy Company Ever

(5 / 5)

  I will never switch!

Anonymous
April 10th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback - whoever you are!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service and Great Rates

(5 / 5)

  I have been with TriEagle since they entered the residential space in mid-2010. They have live customer service people right here in Houston, and the rates are some of the best around. ALSO, there are no HIDDEN extra charges like you get with the other guys.

Anonymous
February 6th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback - whoever you are!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Save $$$ with TriEagle

(4.8 / 5)

  Instantly, TriEagle saved me at least $30 per month. The calculation for the bill is straight forward, unlike my previous provider.

2Win from Houston
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TriEagle Green Eagle 12

(4.8 / 5)

  good rates & good service

name from Houston
August 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

INFORMATIVE AND RELIABLE

(4.8 / 5)

  Electronically, Tri-Eagle reports great information monthly with comparisons to last year and graphs usage. Customer Service could improve by being a little more friendly. A good thing is we rarely need to contact them, with auto pay and an extended contract, making electric service "automatic". It just happens and is always there.

"Automatic reliable service info" from Grand Prairie
September 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience

(4.8 / 5)

  I shopped for over an hour for a new electric company. I finally decided on TriEagle as they had one of the lowest prices, with no usage penalties, and the monthly fee is only $5, instead of the $10 I was paying with Ambit.

Scubee9 from Houston
July 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer focused

(4.8 / 5)

  30 months into 36 month plan very good results to this point. Like their weekly usage reports, very customer focused with this information.

Jud from Santa Fe
June 19th, 2017

Thank you for reaching out, Jud. We want our customers to have a complete energy experience with us and are glad you're getting the most out of your usage reports!

TriEagle Energy Responds April 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

solid company

(4.8 / 5)

  used last year ( 2012) rate was 8.4 cents a kilowatt, renewed this year went up to 9.9 cents
I will stay, but will monitor at end of year...

what I am afraid is, once they get more customers, they will pull a reliant or txu and increase their prices...you know the bait and switch, hopfully, they have a better long term business strategy...

however, I check every year for the best rate, so if it gets out of hand, I will choose someone else...

but for know it is still reasonable, no customer service issues, I like the weekly usage reports...

Recommend!

Dave from Kingwood
June 4th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Dave! Unfortunately, over the last year, we've seen natural gas (and thus power) prices continue to trend upward. We try to keep rates for both new and renewal customers as low as possible, but market movements have forced us to move rates up this calendar year. We are constantly monitoring the market and hopefully we can continue to provide competitive prices when you are up for renewal next time (and the time after that as well!)

TriEagle Energy Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Good Company

(4.8 / 5)

  I had a good experience. I switched online,
went smoothly. Whenever I called them, they
answer within a few mins. Originally they
didn't accept credit cards, now they do. In my
12 months, not one bill or payment was
misplaced. They don't have any junk or minimum
usage fees, just a $4.95 base charge + taxes.
They do have a non-standard cancellation policy
- $20 x monthe remaining on contract vs $150-
$200 norm. You will lose if you cancel within
the first four months but come out ahead vs
other companies. My contract expires in a
month, I am looking at 2-3 companies that are
very slightly but leaning towards renewing with
them.

I gave them a 4-star for billing and account
management since it is hard looking at usage
trends (you have to look at PDFs of individual
bills).

AS from Hurst
July 16th, 2011

Thanks for the feedback AS!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good after two billing periods.

(4.6 / 5)

  So far so good. Here in August we received our second bill. Definitely lower rate than TXU. Customer service by phone was helpful. Must call during business hours and they are located in eastern time zone.

John W. from Duncanville
August 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great price

(4.6 / 5)

  We found a great plan at a super price.

Luis from Houston
August 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Third contract renewal with TriEagle

(4.6 / 5)

  Based upon some of the reviews I've been reading I must be a special customer because I have had nothing but good experiences with TriEagle Energy. I have renewed our contract three times because he customer service is wonderful. I get weekly emails about my energy usage. I've never have a billing issue or all of the other mentioned problems.

james from Fort Worth
August 1st, 2015

Hi, James. Thank you for submitting a review! We believe every customer is special and we value your loyalty at TriEagle Energy.

TriEagle Energy Responds June 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...