Home > Read Reviews > Trieagle Energy

TriEagle Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for TriEagle Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.7 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.5 of 5.

TriEagle Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

118 Reviews for TriEagle Energy


Great Everything

(5 / 5)

  I've had TriEagle for almost 3 years and have to say it's one fo the best companies I've ever done business with! Live customer service people - here in Texas, not in India! And they don't have any of those crazy hidden fees like the other guys.

Anne S from Kingwood
October 17th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Anne!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Halved my Summer Electric Bill from Entergy!

(5 / 5)

  I signed on with TriEagle almost two years ago. First I did just the short trial, not wanting to get roped in by what sounded too good to be true. IT WAS TRUE! My first month with TriEagle was half of what I had been paying to Entergy. It has remained consistently lower than all of my past bills (5 years with Entergy). Nice people, too. Will be with TriEagle as long as they are there or I am here!

Margie from Tomball
June 22nd, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Margie!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Energy Company Ever

(5 / 5)

  I will never switch!

Anonymous
April 10th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback - whoever you are!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service and Great Rates

(5 / 5)

  I have been with TriEagle since they entered the residential space in mid-2010. They have live customer service people right here in Houston, and the rates are some of the best around. ALSO, there are no HIDDEN extra charges like you get with the other guys.

Anonymous
February 6th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback - whoever you are!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

INFORMATIVE AND RELIABLE

(4.8 / 5)

  Electronically, Tri-Eagle reports great information monthly with comparisons to last year and graphs usage. Customer Service could improve by being a little more friendly. A good thing is we rarely need to contact them, with auto pay and an extended contract, making electric service "automatic". It just happens and is always there.

"Automatic reliable service info" from Grand Prairie
September 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience

(4.8 / 5)

  I shopped for over an hour for a new electric company. I finally decided on TriEagle as they had one of the lowest prices, with no usage penalties, and the monthly fee is only $5, instead of the $10 I was paying with Ambit.

Scubee9 from Houston
July 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer focused

(4.8 / 5)

  30 months into 36 month plan very good results to this point. Like their weekly usage reports, very customer focused with this information.

Jud from Santa Fe
June 19th, 2017

Thank you for reaching out, Jud. We want our customers to have a complete energy experience with us and are glad you're getting the most out of your usage reports!

TriEagle Energy Responds April 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

solid company

(4.8 / 5)

  used last year ( 2012) rate was 8.4 cents a kilowatt, renewed this year went up to 9.9 cents
I will stay, but will monitor at end of year...

what I am afraid is, once they get more customers, they will pull a reliant or txu and increase their prices...you know the bait and switch, hopfully, they have a better long term business strategy...

however, I check every year for the best rate, so if it gets out of hand, I will choose someone else...

but for know it is still reasonable, no customer service issues, I like the weekly usage reports...

Recommend!

Dave from Kingwood
June 4th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Dave! Unfortunately, over the last year, we've seen natural gas (and thus power) prices continue to trend upward. We try to keep rates for both new and renewal customers as low as possible, but market movements have forced us to move rates up this calendar year. We are constantly monitoring the market and hopefully we can continue to provide competitive prices when you are up for renewal next time (and the time after that as well!)

TriEagle Energy Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Good Company

(4.8 / 5)

  I had a good experience. I switched online,
went smoothly. Whenever I called them, they
answer within a few mins. Originally they
didn't accept credit cards, now they do. In my
12 months, not one bill or payment was
misplaced. They don't have any junk or minimum
usage fees, just a $4.95 base charge + taxes.
They do have a non-standard cancellation policy
- $20 x monthe remaining on contract vs $150-
$200 norm. You will lose if you cancel within
the first four months but come out ahead vs
other companies. My contract expires in a
month, I am looking at 2-3 companies that are
very slightly but leaning towards renewing with
them.

I gave them a 4-star for billing and account
management since it is hard looking at usage
trends (you have to look at PDFs of individual
bills).

AS from Hurst
July 16th, 2011

Thanks for the feedback AS!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Third contract renewal with TriEagle

(4.6 / 5)

  Based upon some of the reviews I've been reading I must be a special customer because I have had nothing but good experiences with TriEagle Energy. I have renewed our contract three times because he customer service is wonderful. I get weekly emails about my energy usage. I've never have a billing issue or all of the other mentioned problems.

james from Fort Worth
August 1st, 2015

Hi, James. Thank you for submitting a review! We believe every customer is special and we value your loyalty at TriEagle Energy.

TriEagle Energy Responds June 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great electric provider!!!

(4.6 / 5)

  I have had TriEagle Energy for about 4 years. Everything has been great with no issues. I highly recommend this company; in fact I have referred a few people to this company.

Deanne R. Bodine from Sugar Land
June 28th, 2015

Thanks for the review, Deanne! We appreciate your confidence in referring us to others and hope that youre taking advantage of our Referral Program!

TriEagle Energy Responds June 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Satisfied

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with TriEagle now for 3 years and have been very satisfied. Their plans are more straightforward than most other companies and you'll not be surprised by hidden fees. Their customer service has been spotty but overall I have been able to get my issues resolved.
Comparing electric providers can be very confusing and even deceptive. I feel that TriEagle has made the process simple and their rates are usually some of the best in overall value.

Charlie from Houston
January 9th, 2015

Hi, Charlie. Thanks for the great review! We always aim to be up front with our customers and are glad you see that in our straightforward, no-gimmick energy plans.

TriEagle Energy Responds June 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Loving my usage reports!

(4.6 / 5)

  My electricity bill has gone down ever since I switched to this company but what I'm really loving is the usage reports. I get an email every week letting me know how much I've used compared to the week before. Awesome report and customer service.

Lizbeth T from Spring
November 14th, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Lizbeth - we really appreciate your business!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 5th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied

(4.4 / 5)

  We don't use very much electricity, our rate is good, they e-mail us our usage difference every week, they have online payment and paperless bills. We love these features.

We have never had a problem with them so I can't comment on their resolution skills or customer service since I have yet to interact with that area of their company. We have had the plan for less than a year so I also cannot comment on how well they handle contract renewal.

Sarah from Dallas
April 8th, 2014

Thank you for your feedback Sarah - we appreciate your business!

TriEagle Energy Responds July 17th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A little less expensive!

(4.4 / 5)

  I have a guy who checks my energy to get the best rate when ever my contract expires. So This was less expensive. I like the auto bill pay. I only have a six month plan.
I wish their website was more like Reliant! I do miss Reliants website. I could do average billing, and even check my daily usage report at the end of every week! I do not use that much energy to begin with, so it is only saving me $15-20/month.

Sobran from Richmond
December 3rd, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Sobran! Look out for some great new features for our residential customers coming out in late Spring, including daily and weekly usage reports.

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Policy

(4.2 / 5)

  particularly liked the early withdrawal fee of monthly, and not a set fee no matter how much time is left on your contract.

m slack from Whitney
July 17th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback m slack. We feel like having a sliding amount is more appropriate and fair than some huge fee, even if you cancel with only 1 month remaining.

TriEagle Energy Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Complaints Here

(4 / 5)

  I have used TriEagle for several years now and have no complaints.They send weekly emails with usage and trends compared against local weather, and they also provide plenty of other interesting usage data on their website. I have been a few days late paying my bill a time or two and have never been charged a penalty. The rates are very competitive, especially for consumers with a "lower than average" usage since they don't add more charges and fees if you fall below a minimum usage. They also pass along discounts and coupons for things like LED bulbs and smart thermostats. The only warning is to be sure you either renew or cancel at the end of your term, as the month-to-month plan they roll you into is much higher than average. They send plenty of reminders both via email and snail mail before this happens though.

David from Houston
March 26th, 2016

Hi, David. Thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoy our weekly emails and will continue to communicate any changes to your account via email or mail.

TriEagle Energy Responds June 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy

(4 / 5)

  Decent rates, no hidden fees. I pay less when I use less power. I can pay with credit card with no added fee. Happy with their website. So far, so good.

Ed Abud from Houston
November 11th, 2013

Thank you for the feedback Ed!

TriEagle Energy Responds November 14th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Current Customer-

(4 / 5)

  Have been a customer I think for three years; small company out of the Woodlands Texas; if you call they give the person by name who handles a function not an extension. Straight Forward and simple. They are the cheapest in Houston at .084/kilowatt hour but renewal this month just jumped to .093/kilowatt hour. All the others have minimums or other catch tricks. Even with distribution fees. I own an open 3,100 sq. ft. house with 11-12 foot ceilings and my bill was just $141 for June with temps in the mid 90's. House is set at constant 75 degrees 24/7; not adjusted.... Go TriEagle !!

Jim from Kingwood
July 19th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Jim! We appreciate your business.

TriEagle Energy Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The last legit company in Texas

(4 / 5)

  After 2 hours of searching through the cesspool that is the Texas electricity market, I came across TriEagle. I signed up for a 3-year plan with a rate I am quite happy with. The company does not add on every fee they can possibly lard on and even covers the TDU charge. They do things the way it ought to be done.

If not for its bogus $4.95 monthly customer service fee, I would consider them a perfect company. But you can't have everything, especially in Texas. It is early yet, but here's to TriEagle for doing things the right way (almost) and being the last legitimate electricity company in the State.

RA from Abilene
June 22nd, 2013

Hopefully we have continued to impress the last few months RA - thanks for the feedback!

TriEagle Energy Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...