Reviews Overview
The best review categories for True Electric are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.7 of 5.
5 Stars
7%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
21%
 
1 Stars
64%
 

Recent Good Review from Chuck Kramer

True Electric is the right choice!
I have 2 homes and a business ....I have a very hetic life... Every year of so I look at my electric rates to make sure we are getting the right price on our electric needs. We truly shop!!! Ture Electric was the best choice for several reasons. First was the rate! Very competeive rates with out all of the hidden fess and long contracts!
When I called to speak about the rate plans the representive was very helpful and was eager to get me the best rate plan that suited my needs. I saved about 20% when I switched from one of the large electric companies. I tell every one I get in contact with about the rates rate and service!

Truly a TRUE WORLD CLASS COMPANY!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chuck Kramer from Spring on February 21st, 2013


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
True Electric is the right choice!
I have 2 homes and a business ....I have a very hetic life... Every year of so I look at my electric rates to make sure we are getting the right price on our electric needs. We truly shop!!! Ture Electric was the best choice for several reasons. First was the rate! Very competeive rates with out all of the hidden fess and long contracts!
When I called to speak about the rate plans the representive was very helpful and was eager to get me the best rate plan that suited my needs. I saved about 20% when I switched from one of the large electric companies. I tell every one I get in contact with about the rates rate and service!

Truly a TRUE WORLD CLASS COMPANY!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chuck Kramer from Spring on February 21st, 2013



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
A rocky start, but no issues since
I've been with True Elec almost 1 year. They somehow managed to have the wrong address for me on the day they were supposed to turn on the electric in my new home even though I signed up onine and typed in my address correcly on my printed copy. They were able to get it activated that evening though and I have not had any issues since.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin from Corinth on July 20th, 2012



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
They obviously don't want my service
I've been with True Electric for a couple of years. Never had a problem until the past few months. There was a problem with the auto payment, which pretty much just snowballed into a ton of extra fees, missing manual payments, and disconnect notices. Every time I call customer service I have to listen to their horrible hold music (the worst I've ever heard) and then they just tell me my balance is zero. But that doesn't fix anything because I just got ANOTHER disconnect notice. Called again, and told them how annoying this all is and was offered NOTHING to make it better. In fact, the only thing I was offered was an email of all the notices they'd sent me. Thanks, True Electric. Fantastic job. Currently looking for a new company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michelle from Coppell on May 22nd, 2013
Terrible Billing Department and Terrible Customer Service
During my first month and a half, True Electric has billed me two times in error. The first error came 5 days after I signed up with True. True debitied my account $183 and they had not even read my meter yet. Then a couple of weeks later the debited my account $87. This second error happened after I recieved my paper bill in the mail from True Electric that said I would be billed $34 and some change. I contacted True after the first error and they said they would look into it and call me back. Never heard anything from them. I called them after the second error and they said they would look into it. There is a guy named James that keeps answering the phone and he will not let you get past him to a supervisor. My experience with True Electric has been horrible and I would not in good faith recommend this electric utility provider to anyone. In fact, I am going to report them to the Public Utility Commission today for their fraudulent billiing practices. Stay away from True Electric. There are way too many electrical providers out there than to risk doing business with this terrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jay from Sulphur Springs on November 5th, 2012
Poorly Run Organization
I chose True Electric based on price and the fact that they were offering a large percentage of renewable energy for the cost, but I can't and won't recommend them to anyone.

The customer service has been good though wait times are usually very long (anywhere from 10 to as long as 20 mins on hold). I suspect they are understaffed to handle the call volume created when a website isn't in place to process payments, answer bill questions, etc.

The website ... well, you can read the other comments, since they all echo my sentiments. There hasn't been a way to manage my account online in what feels like 6 months. I just got off the phone from making a payment and was told by the representative that it would be a few weeks still, but at that point I would be able to see my balance and make payments online.

Taken as a whole, this feels like a company that was thrown together on a shoe-string budget and has been doing just enough to get by ever since. The people I've spoken to have always been very nice and I don't blame them for ownership's downfalls, but if I'm judging the company, I have to give it a thumbs down.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Neal from Houston on September 24th, 2012



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Worst billing system
For the last three months, pay bill on-time every month with a credit card, get an email saying my bill is late. Look at the bill invoice and and it doesn't show my payments. Have to call them up every time to get the late fees taken of the bill. Today received an email that I had closed my account and would be receiving a final bill and termination charges. Had same billing issues with TXU. I am glad I have the "power to choose" one sorry electric provider over another.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D Chapman from Abilene on March 25th, 2014
Terrible STAY AWAY from this worthless company!!
This company seems like it is run out of some guys apartment. No way to manage your account online. You must call them during business hours only Mon-Fri. Bills are late. I have had other peoples bills sent to me. I received a bill in the wrong language (spanish). Everytime I ask when the website will be available to manage my account and pay bills the answer is always in a couple of days. The website has been unavailbel for at least 5 months now!! I am leaving this low rent pain in the ass company as soon as my contract is up!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Houston on October 12th, 2012
LIARS
They cut off access to the online account AND CANT PAY OUR BILL ONLINE. THEY HAVE BEEN SAYING SINCE MAY 2012 THAT THE WEBSITE WOULD BE BACK UP. LIES ALL LIKE. JUST GOT AN EMAIL SAYING IT WOULD BE UP IN TWO DAYS.. 2 WEEKS LATER.. STILL NO WEB ACCESS TO MY ACCOUNT.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A DILLOW from Houston on September 11th, 2012
Ec
Can`t seem to get a bill on time. Long wait to speek to someone. Probably change when contract expires.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E.c. Smith from Abilene on August 22nd, 2012
Poor
I signed based on price. Customer service ? If you can get through the people are curtious. The online bill pay has been down for 3+ months and counting.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike A from Deer Park on August 13th, 2012
Poor excuse for an electric provider
This is a shady company. Customer service has no knowledge of the services they provide.Seems that they will do anything to rack up charges on your bill, from sending statement the day before it is due to changing your account number without your knowledge.You can expect at least a 20 minute wait on hold only to get a person who has no clue to answer your questions. I would never recommend this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fed Up from Houston on July 30th, 2012
Very poor customer service
Every time I have had to contact True Electric (for billing questions, to transfer service, etc), the "hold" time averaged 10-15 minutes! I find this to be very excessive. Employees (including managers) are not very skilled on the phone and are not helpful in answering questions. Our previous provider was Startex Power and they were awesome!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KK from Houston on March 28th, 2012
Beware of true electric
Terrible customer service from start to finish. I told them I didn't
want to convert my electric provider just yet and they went ahead
and pushed it anyways. This caused me fees not only with them
but with my current provider. I called multipe time during the
course of 3 weeks and got through to somene maybe 1/4th of the
times I called. Either got hung up on or sent to voicemail after
10+ minutes on hold. When finally I spoke with a supervisor
named Javier, I could hardly get a word in. Do not do business
with this company unless you want poor customer service and
supervisors who won't hear you out when they do something
wrong.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Texas Usa on July 15th, 2010
True electric
Don't trust. There are better electric companies. This one gives
you the runaround.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Raul from Austin on July 15th, 2010



Recommended Electricity Plans