Reviews Overview
The best review categories for TruSmart Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.4 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.3 of 5.
5 Stars
2%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
2%
 
1 Stars
92%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Roy Rogers

Pick your own due date
Prices were good, service reps are ok.But this new billing system has the ability to allow you to pick your own due date. cant go wrong with that
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Roy Rogers from Dallas on September 23rd, 2015


Our Analysis of TruSmart Energy

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Finally a REAL time of day rate plan.
We're on their time of day rate plan with half price nights and weekends. The daytime rate is comparable to other plans and the off peak times are 50% off with no gimmicks. This is the kind of product I've been looking for since we got our smart meter. We have a pool and running the pump at night has definitely saved us money. We also have a plug in hybrid car and charging only at night and on the weekends has lowered our cost to drive the car which tracks at around 75 mpg. If you can move much of your use to the discounted period you can really reduce your electric cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike McGinity from Houston on January 23rd, 2015



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Pick your own due date
Prices were good, service reps are ok.But this new billing system has the ability to allow you to pick your own due date. cant go wrong with that
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Roy Rogers from Dallas on September 23rd, 2015
Prepaid works for me!
I lost my job and was unable to pay my JustEnergy bill before the disconnection was going to happen. I knew I was paying way more than I should have been considering my landlord put a brand new AC unit, coils, appliances, everything. My summer bills were coming out to almost 400 dollars each month! That just made no sense because I worked days and turned the AC up to 80 before I left for work. No one was home when I was at work and when we were home the AC never went below 73. I have an average sized 2story house with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. I kept JustEnergy because they were a "green" energy company, and I could afford it at that time. Then I lost my job and decided to do prepaid until I got a new job and could afford to go back to my original electric provider. I am able to monitor my daily usage on my phone or computer and I was only using around 4 dollars a day in electricity! During the summer months! Now that it is cooler outside I'm spending less than 2.50 a day! I'm doing prepaid and I add $150 monthly and I still have 15 dollars unused each month. It works for me because I have AC that is a newer model. There is no way I will go back to my old provider... I even get free Sundays which is my laundry day. It gives me an excuse to do laundry once a week and I love that! I see lots of bad reviews on here but Ive been a customer for 5 months and I'm really happy with them. The only negative experience I've had with them is I was disconnected service when I had $9 left in my account. I was going to get paid that evening, so I was about to add more to my account that night. I called them really upset and because I still had a positive balance and they disconnected me for no reason. the rep told me that they disconnect after your account balance goes below $10. I was so angry because no one told me that bit of information. If I knew that, I would have added a few dollars to keep my balance over 10 dollars. After putting me in hold she told me they would reconnect me right away without me having to pay a reconnection few. I was very greatful to them and assured her, now that I knew that I had to stay above $10, I wouldn't let that happen again. They sent the connection order right away because within 30 minutes my power was back on. I really recommend them if you have an updated energy saving home like my landlord provided for me. I guess that might be the reason for some of these negative reviews. energy saving appliances and AC units will save you bundles in the long run!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melissa from Houston on November 2nd, 2013



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
A waste of time and money. They double your bill
I have had tem for the past yr in a contract and my bill went from 150 the most wih my previous provider to in the 300, 400, 500 and even 600. I called them numberous times complaining and they give me te measly excuse of me having a smart meter so I use tht much energy. I even ask what about he months no one was at my home how do they explain high bills during that time. Now my contract is expired and my bill is suddenly 150 wow I have used more energy this month than any other month I don't understand their logic. But I would not recommend anyone using them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Phelia from Killeen on June 1st, 2014



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

44 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Manager Of Ross Auto in Dallas
If someone want to have hard time, loosing money, receive bad service, TALK TO VERY AND VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE can dial this company number for service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ross Auto from Dallas on November 10th, 2016
Do not use this company
This company is the worst electric company we have had to deal with. We have to call them every month to correct our bill because they overcharge or mess something up every. Single. Month. We called them a few weeks ago to ask why we did not receive a bill in the mail and they told us they messed up last month and credited us $20 instead. We make sure to ask them if they were sure that was the case. Well guess what we received this month? A bill for $640 for the past two months. Also, they have ridiculous fees and charges. They charge a delivery fee for using their company which comprises like half the bill anyways. We are still recovering from a problem last year where they didn't bill us for a few months then slapped us with over $1000 bill. We can't change companies until we pay that off completely. Do yourself a favor and find a different company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sarah from Lewisville on February 20th, 2016
This Company Sucks and Is a Rip Off
This company will rob you blind with fees and fines. I can't see how I made weekly payments of at least 50.00 a week and still be threatened to disconnect. I hate hate hate this company. I wish someone would burn the whole damn place down.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dion from Houston on September 21st, 2015
WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WOW! Never in my life have I ever experienced such horrible service. I have had to call every single month since 10-2014 to have my bill corrected. I have been charged number months in one and with no explanation other than we are getting a new software system, SO the CUSTOMER suffers for the company not being able to use an adequate software company. I have been sent disconnect notices when my bill is paid in full and when I call the customer service rep says,"I DON"T KNOW" which is their favorite phrase by the way. When you ask to speak to a supervisor they are not available and when you ask to have one call you back they never do. After 4 month of asking for a supervisor I did speak to one and rude!!! is all I can say, not concerned with my problem or complaints at all. I have mailed, emailed, and called the corporate office for a year now and no response, reply, or acknowledgement of my letters or voicemails.
PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE AND AVOID AVOID AVOID THIS COMPANY.
I absolutely dread every month when I have to pay my electricity bill because I know it is going to be a huge hassle.
They are all just awful. The great deal they offer you is not worth it and is a lie I pay more for half price per/kwh than I would at the highest price per/kwh. It is just a shame that companies like this a allowed to stay in business and take advantage of consumers.
AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hollie from Friendswood on September 18th, 2015
Sent for collection after paying all bills automatically and ontime!!!!
Don't trust this company's computer billing system. I paid all bills automatically by CC and they came back four months after I terminated service and tried to collect a bill that was already paid. After talking to their customer service, they STILL sent it for collection. Talk about shoddy data management...and I am NOT alone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Darren from San Angelo on July 6th, 2015
Nightmares are made of trusmart energy
I had this company for 3 years. I intended on keeping them despite the overpriced and overrated bs until my contract came near its end.... I received two phone calls EVERY SINGLE DAY for about three weeks despite getting reminder emails AND the reminder letter AND THE RENEWAL CONTRACT! This is harassment at it's finest hour! No one deserves this when they're paying for a service, effff that!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mel S. from Fort W. on June 27th, 2015
Worst billing and customer service
We signed up for a year, bills came sporadically and had random charges on them. When we moved (into a condo that included electricity) we cancelled our contract and were told we wouldn't pay a cancellation fee. Got a bill on it with a $250 cancellation fee! Then called them again, Jose told us it was taken care of, we wouldn't be charged the $250 fee....six days later, guess what was taken out of our bank account- you guessed it! The bill with the $250 fee! Called to get it refunded and was told it would take 6 weeks to get our money back. Ridiculous!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kristin from Dallas on June 25th, 2015
TERRIBLE
The entire experience I have had with TruSmart Energy has been terrible. From account access online to the more than terrible customer service. DO NOT use this company for your electricity needs. Find another company. As you can see, there are tons of negative reviews and it is for a reason. This company is unhelpful, inconsistent, inaccessible, and does not provide any amount of customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Callie from Dallas on June 10th, 2015
Slammee
In early April my electric company called and asked why I had changed companies before my contract was up. I was taken by surprise. I was perfectly happy with my electric company and I HAD NOT SWITCHED. Much phone calls and I FINALLY found I had been switched to TruSmart, a company I had never heard of. My old company did an investigation and I did get back with them with no fee for "breaking my contract" as they knew I had not done it.

Meanwhile I get a bill from this rip off company with meter readings Arpil 10-Paril 14 and it was for $34.52. No AC, no heating nothing. How could it be so high? One thing was an #11.95 "non auto pay fee". Never heard of that kind of thing either. I pay nothing by auto pay. I have since gotten a bill from my well known electric company that was for a 30 day period and it was $81.94. And this is with using fans (we also have total electric house. compare that--30 days with trusted company--$81.94. FOUR days with this rip off company...$34.52.

I have written them asking for refund and but not heard from them and probably will not. I have also filed a complaint with the Texas Public Utility Company and may even try reporting them to the Texas Attorney General. I think it is a total scam, a rip off. do NOT voluntarily use this company. And if you get slammed, report to PUC and have your old company investigate and get you back. One other thing--we were never able to ge3t anyone to answer at the Houston number, and the other number we called was answered by someone with such a strong foreign accent we could not understand what was being said other than we had won a $100 Walmart gift card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra Senior Citizen from Ingleside on June 3rd, 2015
Double-billed
We found out early on that the rates are not their true rates. But shame on us for missing the fine print on that. Now we were just double billed: We have one meter. The meter is listed twice on the invoice and since it is on auto-pay they withdrew over $500 from our bank. The customer service is not good. Called immediately when it hit the bank and were told that they would send it to the billing department and should have it investigated and call us back in 3-4 business days. Really? Cause it doesn't take a rocket scientist to see the problem on the bill. Wonder how many days after that it will take for them to make the refund? NOT a happy camper.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D. Burns from Spring on May 19th, 2015


Recommended Electricity Plans