Reviews Overview
The best review categories for TXU Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.5 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.4 of 5.
5 Stars
3%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
82%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Bweave

We had power through bad times
Been with TXU for over 10 years! We had power through this past winter storm disaster. We Always get a rebate check at end of year! We have always been on their flat rate program, which makes budgeting easier! Make the choices that will help you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bweave from Tomball, TX on February 21st, 2021


Our Analysis of TXU Energy

Community Outreach
5.2 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
5.1 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
4.1 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
4.1 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Complaint Resolution
2.6 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.5 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
We had power through bad times
Been with TXU for over 10 years! We had power through this past winter storm disaster. We Always get a rebate check at end of year! We have always been on their flat rate program, which makes budgeting easier! Make the choices that will help you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bweave from Tomball, TX on February 21st, 2021
Great customer service rep.
I have called TXU numerous times and always get stuck talking to someone who talks so fast and makes me feel stupid. I get frustrated and end up hanging up! This evening I called and spoke with Walter and he was phenomenal!! He was so patient and walked me through everything step by step! Thank you Walter for your kindness
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Heather G. from Whitewright, TX on May 26th, 2020
TXU Energy
I would recommend TXU to anyone looking for a reliable electric company. I have a reasonably priced bill, and they are active in preventing any issues that may come up from escalating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RAC from West, TX on March 5th, 2020
Texas energy
Nikki was extremely helpful and friendly when I had questions about my bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shannon from Houston, TX on July 18th, 2019
His name is Irwin!
I had the opportunity to speak with a supervisor named Irwin ( not sure if spelling is correct). He made me feel valued, despite my reason for the call. He continually went above and beyond what I expected. He is truly some one who cares and I'm grateful for his genuine help that while some think maybe small, his proactive and efficiency left an everlasting imprint of gratitude. Irwin assured me that we were taken cared of. Thank YOU Irwin
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wanza from Arlington, TX on July 8th, 2019
Free nights
The free nights is a nice program. It'll be better if the nights started at 7pm instead of 9pm. My only issue is with the centrepoint fee which seems to double my electricity bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kay from Spring, TX on February 10th, 2019
SATISFIED
I just switched from Direct Energy to TXU Energy after a year of bad service from Direct Energy... just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy he gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Let's see how it goes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MONICA from Houston, TX on August 25th, 2017
Monica - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thanks for sharing your positive experience.
— TXU Energy
TXU Saved me from CIRRO energy nightmare.
I was a customer when it was TU electric. I had never had any reason to change when Cirro had a rep going door to door. Who doesn't want to save money. Well it has been a nightmare that a courtesy call from TXU bailed me out of. We got one of my two meters changed but couldn't get my barn meter changed. TXU called to see what they could do to get my business back. They reduced the rate Cirro gave by 2.4 cents per kWh gave me a $50 gift card and it only took 10 minutes. Thankfully they have ended a nightmare for me. I will remain a loyal customer. When you want to shop rates. Check the out but call your carrier first. They most likely will match or beat the rate. Saves a lot of hassles.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dianna E. from Decatur, TX on July 18th, 2017
Best Savings in Texas
The below link will credit you $50 on your first bill with TXU! Great Company, Excellent Customer Service, and the BEST rates I've been able to find. I wish I had switched to TXU earlier and I would have saved a lot of money!

http://www.urefer.com/referral/1878/3495747/s/11
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from on December 16th, 2016
Easy transition
Just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy she gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Been a customer 20 years now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Willie (Ghost) Lopez from Fort Worth on December 15th, 2014


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good service
I love that my lights are free after 8
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Qemiya from Wills Point, TX on December 1st, 2018
Customer for over 5 years
I originally came to this website to read reviews about potential companies, because I was looking to lower my bill. I was really shocked with all the negative reviews because I've had an overall good experience with TXU. I've been with the company for over 5 years and I'm only looking to switch, because my bill seems to have increased quite a bit over the years. I noticed that before I was paying a much lower price whereas now my bill stays over 100+ a month even when I'm not using it as much. I think it's just one of those situation where I may need to switch, since most companies give new customers the better rate to win their business, but then forget to reward their loyal customers with those rates to keep their business. However, rate increases and all, TXU has been great and I really hate that I have to switch just to get a lower rate since I'll be a new customer, when I would rather just stay with TXU and be a loyal customer. I would definitely recommend TXU to someone!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MrsWoods from Houston on December 9th, 2016
10+ years as satisfied customer
I've been a steady customer of TXU for 10+ years. When I moved my service a few years ago, I used their website and live chat to pick the best plan and make the move. I have always had great results with customer service when I needed them and the service has always been reliable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Put_zel from Hamilton on April 19th, 2016
We appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for trusting TXU Energy to power the special moments in your home.
— TXU Energy
Enter Promo Code 34334489 for $50 from TXU energy at www.txu.com/friend
I'm currently a new customer to TXU, I haven't had any problems with the electricity company and my bills have been under $100. I live in a 800sqft apartment with my wife, we usually use a good amount of electricity and also never turn off the AC. I would recommend this company to a friend!


The promotional code is entered at www.txu.com/friend when you sign up with TXU.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B from Corpus Christi on February 8th, 2016
B - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thank you for trusting us to power the special moments in your home.
— TXU Energy
TXU
I love Txu I do not see how people say they have a monthly bill of 200 in an apartment. My bill never goes over 70 and I stay with heat or electricity on. I don't really understand the TDU charge seems high but overall I'm happy with my bill. When I called in to renew my plan I did have a little trouble (language barrier) I could not understand everything he was saying and he couldn't understand some words I was saying but we got through it.... If I could change something about TXU it would definitely be to lower what ever that TDU charge is and if you forget to renew before deline they throw you on the most expensive plan.... Overall Satisfied and would recommend to others
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chikyra from Arlington on December 30th, 2015
We appreciate your business Chikyra. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
Great Experience with TXU
I have been a customer for TXU and had the best experiences. The bills were always accurate, topped with the discounts based on usage. The energy dashboard on their website is so useful and lets you know your usage and control you electricity costs. And when I had to disconnect my service because I was moving out of TX, they were so friendly and co-operative and modestly explained the next steps.
Thank you TXU.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krishna from Houston on October 20th, 2014
Krishna We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear our energy dashboard has been a helpful resource for you. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
Pricey, but Good Service
I have been a TXU customer for 10 years (2 years in an apartment and 8 years in a house). I have had absolutely no issues ever with TXU in their customer service, billing or overall service. It is energy plan renewal time for me right now, and I'm doing my research to compare TXU to other companies. While I am tempted to switch to another company based on price, I am reluctant to leave a company that has been quite satisfactory over the years. It saddened me to see all the negative reviews regarding TXU, which prompted me to share my own positive experiences with TXU. It seems that most negative reviews are based on misunderstanding of how billing works - a consumer must consider delivery fees, base fees if minimum usage is not achieved, etc. TXU's customer service has been quite pleasing. I don't have the need to call very often, but I always speak to friendly, helpful associates when I do call. I even remember sending a complimentary e-mail a year ago to recognize an especially helpful associate when renewing into my current energy plan. TXU has been a great company for me, and I would absolutely not think twice about renewing my energy plan with them if their prices were slightly lower.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brad from Cedar Hill on July 8th, 2014
Brad Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us. We recognize its a highly competitive market out there, and were proud to be the leading provider. Please consider emailing your contact information to SocialMedia@txu.com and we will be more than happy to assist you with renewing your service plan. We value your business and look forward to hearing from you.
— TXU Energy
What's with all the negative reviews?
Before switching to TXU Free Nights, our monthly bills were in the 400 range. After we agreed to switch to TXU Free Nighs and our bill drop to 110 for that month. And it stayed in the 100 range for almost 6 months now. Customer was very generous and informed us of the increase in kwh, cancelation fee, and everything we needed to know about the plan before agreeing to make this change. I'm happy with what I'm paying for and using free electricity is amazing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cuong from Houston on November 24th, 2013
OK Service
Would recommend TXU to anyone. Very professional and their weekly usage report is a big help
in understanding my use profile and the ultimate billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gerald Reynolds from Pantego on June 21st, 2013
Happy customer for a long time
So many bad reviews here but I had to chime in and say that I've been a TXU customer for over 10 years and never had any major problems with them. The TDU charges are not a scam like people are saying, they are from the delivery company (Oncor where I live) and are outside the control of TXU - you will get charged that no matter what electric supplier you use. Some of them hide it in their rate, some itemize it like TXU does but call it something else.

They aren't the cheapest around, that's true. But they aren't 33-50% higher like some people are saying. You have to factor all the fees in together with each plan if you're going to compare. I'm paying 9.5c per kwh *including* the TDC charge of 3.15c. That rate is locked in, too. Power is always cheaper in the winter and more expensive in the summer. but with a locked in rate it stays the same no matter what. Sure, I could go to a 3mo plan with someone else and pay 5c or 6c per kwh in the winter, but at the end of the 3 months that rate isn't available anymore and you get stuck with whatever the lowest is at that time... probably more like 12 or 13c depending on the time of year. That's why the long term locked-in plans are always more per kwh. you get to keep that rate in the summer when it really matters. That'll be the same with anyone. Look for the long-term fixed-rate plans, not the 3 month right-now plans or the variable rate ones... or worse the month-to-month plans. Many of those will be cheaper right now but will cost you a lot more in the long run.

All of that said, the one issue I've had with TXU is their automated billing. They can't seem to pick a date. I was billed on the 4th every month for as far back as my online bank statements went. Then suddenly it was the 1st, then again on the 29th in the same month. I can understand a day or two fluctuation but 6 days is a bit much. and two bills in one month, 28 days apart seems ridiculous, especially when my due date didn't change. If they can figure out their autopay system I'll remain a happy customer for a long time.

Anyway don't be fooled by the naysayers. TXU is only slightly higher than the competition and if you feel like they're screwing you over then go somewhere else... but don't expect it to be better on the other side of the fence. If TXU wants a deposit, so will the next company. If someone is offering you a cheap rate in the winter, they won't in the summer. And those pesky TDU charges... every company in Texas charges them, believe that. It's the law that they charge them, they can just call them something else or bury them inside of the rate, but they have to be on the bill. Oncor or whoever your delivery provider is is going to get their money from you whether you realize it or not. Learn to read and understand the electricity facts sheet that every company has to provide by law about every plan they offer. That's where the real breakdown of what you're paying can be found.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josh from Corinth on December 22nd, 2012


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

18 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No class when leaving TXU
I selected another provider when my contract ran out through power to choose that was 20%- 25% cheaper. For the three days it took to convert to the other provider, TXU raised my rate by almost 50%. Classless. Lost a potential future customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeff Jarabek from Allen, TX on June 12th, 2020
Billed for disconnect notices?
My bill has been a low $170 all summer and I got a bill in January for $243???? I spoke with customer service and ask why was the bill so high. I am on free nights. I was told that I was charged an additional fee because they sent a disconnect notice?? This is a joke! I can understand charging for an actual disconnect, even though, all they have to do is hit one key on their computer terminal to reconnect but why charge for sending me a notice? And why change $50-$60 ??
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michele from Pearland on January 19th, 2017
Your opinion matters to us. Please email TXUECares@txu.com so we can help.
— TXU Energy
Price Plans
Good service no problems with billing or customer service ,BUT they will not offer me the same contract they offer a new customer even if I have been with TXU for over 34 years now that is not right .There are lots of power vendors with better rates and great reviews for customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddy from Fort Worth on June 29th, 2016
Eddy - We apologize for the inconvenience and we're here to help. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we will contact you right away.
— TXU Energy
Decent
I've been using TXU for almost 3 years now and my only major complaint is that their website is very slow at times.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Waco on May 25th, 2016
Michael - We apologize for the inconvenience and will work to get this issue resolved. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
TXU Free Nights Program Canceled
I made a complaint on this web site back in November 2013 about TXU Energy Free Nights program. I am a solar customer providing energy to the grid in daylight hours. I was being charged for both the energy I consumed in the daylight hours and the energy I delivered back to the grid. I could not get satisfaction from TXU so I complained to the PUC. I sent smartmetertexas.com data to illustrate my issue to the PUC. Smartmetertexas.com data is the actual TDU data from all Texas residents with smart meters. TXU has corrected my bills finally effective 12/24/13. Merry Christmas to me! Interestingly enough the Free Nights program has been canceled as of today 1/8/2014.I suspect I had something to do with that. I think there was something very wrong with the billing on the Free Nights program. Anyway, I analyzed my own data, won my case, and would love to analyze yours too! Contact me at lucihundley@yahoo.com if you would like me to analyze your data for you. TXU will correct it if you have been improperly billed. But you must have data. If you don't know how to get it and analyze it I can do it for you "Feeling" like your bill is too high is not good enough. Data is needed! And I can get it for you! TXU is NOT using TDU data to bill you for Free Nights. They are using algorithms and percentages. But the Electricity Facts Label says they will use the ACTUAL TDU data. You will win your case if you send TXU the real data. And I can get it for you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luci Hundley from Rockwall on January 8th, 2014
Luci- Our Right Time SavingsSM plans (i.e. TXU Energy Free Nights and TXU Energy Free Weekends) are intended to help customers manage how they use electricity and save. Usage data is received in 15 minute intervals from your meter, which is maintained by your Transmission and Distribution Utility. Although these meters are more than 99% accurate, we also refer customers questioning their consumption to smartmetertexas.com as a non-biased comparison. Our TXU Energy Free Nights plan is still available for customers who wish to enroll and feel that they can benefit from the savings offered with this plan.
— TXU Energy
Residence
Overall, satisfied with service, but unable to get answers to questions about promotions, get referred to website, which did not mention the particular promotion I was asking about
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony Diotalevi from Friendswood on August 30th, 2012
Good service and access but too expensive
After 2 years on the TXU Choice 24 plan I am choosing to reduce my costs. TXU does return to the community and that is admirable. Sorry they haven't made it more affordable to keep my business. Farewell.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Bedford on April 11th, 2012
THE VERIZON OF ENERGY
It's my belief that TXU is the Verizon of energy rates. This company does
not really care about giving you the best rate and they will not do anything
to keep you until you cancel and then they call you asking why you left.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary from Euless on March 20th, 2012
For the rich.
If you want electricity for the rich go with TXU. Yes they are great at
mailing me a bill and cashing my checks. But it is 12.8 cents per kWh for
5394 of them. I am switching. By the way, my plan was called TXU Energy
PriceGuarantee 24. The only guarantee I received was to get ripped off for
24 months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dwayne from Grapevine on September 25th, 2011
Get What You Pay For
I have been with TXU for over 30 years and have paid premium pricing for the privelege. I have always gotten excellent customer service and have always been able to get them at any time I needed to. Since I was one of the first 100 to sign up for automated online billing in the mid 90s - I have never had billing issues. 12 months ago I was finally forced to choose a plan and face the amount I have been paying for my electricity. UGH! yes, it is great service and you do get what you pay for - I pay one of the highest rates (their lowest rate is my selected 10.4 cents a kilowatt hour) and have no issues. I am unhappy that I am not rewarded for loyalty or get any of the other benefits that switching around gives you. $150 gift cards, $25 off your bill, NOTHING HERE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ehlmann from Azle on July 11th, 2011


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

51 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
20 yr customer
Folks I want to share how being lazy has cost me money, always put off shopping energy providers until I had another $600.00 electric bill (extra usage) due to my mother-in-law living her last days out with us (4 months, only thing I can justify a large bill with, and really nothing changed). I finally listened to my nephew and connected with Energy Ogre, I've had 2 full months with them and my bills have been $130.00 and $126.00, which just makes me sick for not looking into this sooner. A TXU Rep called to see what it would take to win us back and once I said we were now with Energy Ogre she said Thank You very much and hung up. SHOP ENERGY OGRE. I believe in Capitalism and I assure you TXU is capitalizing off the lazy folks like me. Shame on me for not looking into this years ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sammy Valderas from Ovilla, TX on February 22nd, 2021
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, MULTIPLE OUTAGES
If you call customer service when there is a power outage, expect to be talked to condescendingly then put on hold until you finally decide to hang up.
Weve had TXU for almost six months now and have lost power at least four times for multiple hours at a time.
Locked into a 12 month contract but as soon as that is up, were ditching this company for somewhere else.
In a state where customers can CHOOSE their electricity company, youd think they would actually care about how they treat their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Holly from Melissa, TX on February 14th, 2021
Its a Trap!
The service was honestly fine when I was using it. However, I called and informed them I was going to be moving and instead of scheduling the service to be disconnected and the "Going to be Disconnected" issue on the website they kept my service going stating I specifically had to call and have the service disconnected! Be careful and look at more places! This one is just a trap in the end waiting to scam you out of as much money as they can get! Not to mention their customer service sounded like they were in India and I could only understand half of what was being said! Would not recommend!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Caleb from Dallas, TX on November 7th, 2020
Was calling to renew my Plan
Called in to renew my TXU Plan because my current plan was expiring 12/2/2020.. Spoke with customer service rep at 5:38pm. He told me about the Precise Saver 24 Plan. But I was trying to see the difference between the plan I have now and the Plan he was speaking of. The customer service rep was acting as if I was getting on his nerves with my questions, like he did not want to be bothered with me. I found myself telling him if I am cannot ask you questions let me know and I will hang up, call back and speak to someone else. By this time I had no interest in what he was talking about, over it literally. Been with TXU for 2 years, and this is ridiculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from The Colony, TX on November 2nd, 2020
TXU is inconsistent.
I have to call them every month. They give me the run around. The app is poor and inconsistent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TXU....why? from Dallas, TX on June 22nd, 2020
A question about my reward for refer a friend about me and about the other person
My experience was suck, i am so mad the 9 people talked to me do not know anything so why you hire people like these, everybody transfer me to somebody else.... stay on the phone for nothing simple question to know about refer a friend...that is all
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maha Bundy from Houston, TX on May 14th, 2020
Too expensive
Simply put TXU is very expensive! My very first bill with TXU was over$500.00 the next over $600.00 . New appliances, air conditioner is on 78 when home and 80 when not at home ......bill is still expensive! My husband think that our bill is based on what they think we are using and not actual usage. Our home is 1,500 square feet. I can not recommend TXU Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jo from Sugar Land, TX on August 18th, 2019
The guys went above and beyond!
First of all I have to say this was one of the worst experiences ever. I would also like to add that these two gentlemen Rocky Rayos and Cosme Ortega out of Midland Texas went above and beyond for me trying to fix what happened to my electricity and why it took 3 days to get it back on after a mess up from the company. No offense due only to the fact these gentlemen were genuinely concerned and worked diligently to help me in figuring out what was going on and why. In my opinion the customer service was fantastic. The organization and something with dispatching is way off. Me and my two young boys went almost three days without electricity that was suddenly shut off three weeks after starting service. This was due to the wrong meter number as well as the wrong address. If these guys didnt care so much this review would not be good it would be horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tish Pullen from Waco, TX on July 13th, 2019
Bad Customer Service
Said I needed a 50% down payment in order to get an extension lol. Ive never had a disconnection or got an extension in the past and Ive been with them for a year and a half now. I can say that my light bill is cheaper than when I had Direct Energy but their customer service isnt the best. Molena Orellan, a manager, gladly declined my request after I told her what my situation was. I just think they could be a little more understanding is all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JC1993 from Houston, TX on July 9th, 2019
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
Our bill jumped from $303.33 to $607.51, with ZERO change in kWh usage. ZERO! TXU sttaes its an Oncor demand charge increase on out TXU BILL and Oncor states its a TXU issue. In 2 weeks we have spoken to 6 representatives, 1 supervisor, submitted a dispute and no one can explain Nor can they correct the bill. There supposedly is no one who can explain or fix it the issue. The just keep reading the disclaimer about demand charges. We explained in GREAT DETAIL that if they would just pull the invoice history they would see the exact kWh on one bill and compare that it is a $300 diff. The same invoices we will be submitting to TX Public Utility Commission. This easy fix has become such a nightmare. We never had these issues with Reliant at our old location.STAY AWAY FROM TXU
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Winnie from Pantego, TX on April 10th, 2019


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

485 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Fooled for years
Not knowing much about all the different energy companies that are offered in Texas I went along with this one. I was a customer for 5 years and was never told that I was under an average billing plan. Once I decided to go with a different energy company when my plan ended with TXU I was told that I owed over $700 because I used more energy than the company averaged out for me. Now as far as I know with average billing base on past usage a specific amount is set by the energy company that is paid every month and at the end of the term there is either a credit, an amount owed or you break even. My monthly payments were never the same. It always, so I was very surprised when I was told this. Of course, I could not pay the entire bill. I paid $25 a month but that was not enough for the TXU and my remaining balance was sent to collections around January 2020. In August 2020, I paid the entire collection and was told that it would be removed from my credit report. The collection was removed but the charge off the account was not and I called the company only to received a letter saying that the charge-off account will be removed 7 years from now. Take my advice and find a different company. I am going to file a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. fluctuates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Find Another Energy Compnay from Saginaw, TX on February 9th, 2021
Riffed off
Ive only been in Texas for 3 months and this is company riffed me off. For being here months i paied them total of almost $2000 worth of electricity and cancel fee. When i opened the acct, ive been told cancel anytime. But once i found out my bills were constantly $400 + every month eventhough nobody is home, i decide to nolonger want to do business with them. They charged me $300 to cancel the service. If anyone file a lawsuit against this thrief, im after. Unbelieable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thao from Sachse, TX on February 1st, 2021
High bill
1/27/2021 My husband I had called to ask why our bill keep going up? The gentleman told us our contract has been expired since October of 2020. We never got a paper stated that the contract is about to be expired. As a customer I think TXU should at least called to ask if we want to keep the services. I called today to see what can we do? I kept getting people that was rude and tell me if we dont pay than our service will be cut off. Then he told me to call 211. When I called the third time to speak to someone that works on Sales Dept. She was awesome and I wish everyone was the same way. The we got contract instead pay every month. I had forgot to ask her if we were responsible to pay the remaining balance. I dont think we should pay $300. When you change month to month basis to contract. Plus we still owe $230.03. I cant afford these outrages prices. I even told this supervisor that I couldnt pay these outrages prices. This manager had no Sympathy. I wasnt happy with the service. TXU used to be awesome. TXU is trash!!! I told the supervisor Im the only person thats working. My husband is disabled and he cant work. Horrible experience with TXU
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony from Humble, TX on January 28th, 2021
TXU WILL CHEAT YOU IN EVERY WAY
THEY HAVE DOUBLE BILLED ME ON AUTO PAY FOR ALMOST A YEAR, AND THEN THEY OVERBILLED MY ELECTRICITY, RAISED MY RATES WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE THEN SENT ME A $661 FINAL BILL FOR TWO WEEKS! DO NOT USE THEM THEY ARE CROOKS.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

REBECCA CALDWELL from Rockwall, TX on January 23rd, 2021
Run RUN RUN!!!
Buyer remorse big time...I have been with TXU for a short time my first bill was high and got a second bill for 159.00..I live alone and never had a bill that high...And I checked around to ask some friends and they also shared concerns with txu..there was a misunderstanding with my old electric company I had been with for 6 years...IF YOU HAVE A GOOD ELECTRIC COMPANY TAKE MY ADVICE AND STAY WITH THEM!!! I'm on some sort of plan for the month of December my electric is 50% off so they hit me with a high bill...SHAME ON YALL TXU..DURING A PANDEMIC!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Suzette Johnson from Fort Worth, TX on January 10th, 2021
Txu reports false info
Txu reports false info to the credit agencies. Bill is paid and when i disputed the account they report it as consumer disagrees versus reporting it as paid. FCRA AND FCA will be used in lawsuit against TXU.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M S from Temple, TX on January 2nd, 2021
NEVER AGAIN
I'm not a writer of bad reviews but Jesus Christ,

TXU has irked me to the core. I moved to Texas in 2019. The apartment complex I moved into required tenants to contract with TXU. Of course I went ahead and made an account and signed a simple electricity contract. The contract was for 1 year. Once my year long lease at this apartment complex was coming to an end, I decided I wanted to 1. move to a new apartment and 2. no longer be a TXU customer. At this point, the only reason I wanted to switch electricity providers was because TXU was quite pricy for no reason. I knew there were much better options.

Might I add, this was my first time living alone.

I made the assumption that my year long electricity contract was over, and I did not want to continue service, so my service was over. I'll take responsibility for this one, though. Was my mistake. I was supposed to call and actually cancel it.

My lease and electricity service ended at the end of July, 2019. As of July 2019 I was 100% paid off with TXU. Owed them nothing, apparently. Until a few weeks later, I noticed TXU pulled $250 out of my account. Thought it was strange, especially because the amount was nowhere close to what my usual electricity bill was. I knew it was some sort of mistake so I disputed it with my bank and they reimbursed me within a few days. NBD. But then it happened the next month, and the next month, and the next month, oh, and the next month. All in all for a total of 6 months. Obviously, something was up, so the second or third time this happened I called TXU. They explained to me that because I didn't cancel my service I was actually paying for someone else's electricity, whoever moved into my old apartment after me. I was shocked? Concerned?? So trying to get to the bottom of this I'm transferred to about 7 different people all who try to explain the same confusing story to me. I explained to them my situation where I told them, hey I forgot to cancel this service and again, that's on me, but asked "can you forgive this?" They said yeah. Key word SAID. They told me it was taken care of, this wouldn't happen again, I was completely paid off.

All was well until I continued to get money pulled out of my account. About $250, but each time the amount was $20 + or - different. Each month I called, spoke to a new person who told me a DIFFERENT story on why I owe $250. It was never clear. Oh and forgot to add, several months that this happened they pulled this money out of my account so I couldn't PAY MY RENT ON TIME. I'd say I ran into 4 $50 late rent fees because of this. And one time couldn't buy groceries because of this. Every time I call, I am convinced by John Smith in the call center that this won't happen again. Probably after the 9th phone call to TXU it was suggested that I file a claim through TXU. So I said OK. They "filed a claim" and just never got back to me. So I finally called them about it and they said "OH we have great news! You actually don't owe us this money!" No sh*t! "But you do actually still owe us $97 because you didn't pay your last bill." OH REALLY? So they went on to explain that my last bill was paid but then was apparently refunded back to me (for no reason at all). After MONTHS of them saying I WAS PAID OFF. So after 6 months of dealing with this they're like "oh yeah you don't owe us THAT money! Silly! You just owe us this OTHER MONEY!"

It absolutely is unjust for them to still be trying to charge me. It's now 6 months later and I'm still dealing with this. Spent an hour on the phone with them today. The "supervisor" put me on hold for 25 minutes to "find a solution." He came back on the line to tell me that there's no solution. OK perfect, TXU has wasted yet another (I know, shocking) hour of my life. In the past 6 months, I've probably called TXU 15 times. 0 of those 15 calls were productive. Since having this newly discovered balance, TXU has called me everyday. I just opened my voicemail and without scrolling theres 7 robo voicemails from TXU. Huh, its funny, I didn't blow TXU's phone up when I couldn't afford groceries because of them.

Shame on TXU. This is astronomically absurd. I will NEVER be a customer again and will NEVER speak kindly on this company's behalf.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NM from Dallas, TX on December 29th, 2020
Bad customer experience
I was sold a plan on the phone that was not what was described in the term that I received so I tried to cancel within an hour but unfortunately I was told that the service was already switch and I have to wait the next day to switch back to another provider but I was assured that I will have nothing to paid (or if anything a very small amount for the day of usage). Now I received a bill that yes show a small usage of $1.29 but on top of that they charged me a $9.95 of base charge!
The same day I had a manager called back to apology and ask me if he could anything to get back my business but really now I don't think I will ever consider TXU and even recommend them to anyone!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alphonse Chesneau from Gainesville, TX on December 21st, 2020
One of the worst companies to bill with
Way over priced. Reps that lie through their teeth about average price, swore up and down the energy cost was the average. Terrible customer service, at least they let me out of their contract when I threaten the PUC complaint. Do not do business with them! You will regret it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan K from Mansfield, TX on December 10th, 2020
Overpriced
I don't recommend TXU. They charge to much. They have deffred payment add it up you pay more than you owe. The turned my service off 3 times, and I pay a portion to restore sevice. They recommened I call 211, but they couldn't help in time. I told them this keeps up I will got with somebody else. I have I am now with Green Mountain energy, they are wind powered and charge a whole lot less. My advice to people is don't use TXU, unless you don't know better or are wealthy. Bye bye TXU, I do not recommend you!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hector Garza Jr. from Winter Haven, TX on October 31st, 2020


All TXU Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Good Value
12 month
Tiered Rate
9.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$111 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
24 Month Tiered Rate
24 month
Tiered Rate
10.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$121 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
10.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$116 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
Variable Rate
1 month
Variable Rate
13.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$132 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
13.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$132 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
14.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$124 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
14.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$151 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill