Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Tiered Rate
Variable Rate
Fixed Rate
1 Month
12 Months
24 Months
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Rate Stability
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
11.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • The best review categories for TXU Energy are their customer service, with an average of 1.8 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.7 stars.

    TXU Energy logo

    Texas Electricity Ratings's Silver Tier providers are tremendous Texas Electricity companies. They all combine great customer service, lots of different plan offerings, and great communication from their companies to their customers and communities. If you select a plan from one of these providers you can be confident that you're selecting a great company with a good track record.

    Recent Good Review from ValWyn

    Chat experience
    I have just completed a phone chat with two customer service people who are good at what they do and knowledgeable about the ins and outs of the company plans. Natalie (sorry about the spelling) read my problem sentence and knew who could help me. Proceeded to flawlessly send my chat to Stuart D. who fixed my problem by asking a few questions, applying a bit of quick thinking and became my angel for today. :)
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ValWyn from Spring, TX on August 18th, 2021


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    18 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Chat experience
    I have just completed a phone chat with two customer service people who are good at what they do and knowledgeable about the ins and outs of the company plans. Natalie (sorry about the spelling) read my problem sentence and knew who could help me. Proceeded to flawlessly send my chat to Stuart D. who fixed my problem by asking a few questions, applying a bit of quick thinking and became my angel for today. :)
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ValWyn from Spring, TX on August 18th, 2021
    We had power through bad times
    Been with TXU for over 10 years! We had power through this past winter storm disaster. We Always get a rebate check at end of year! We have always been on their flat rate program, which makes budgeting easier! Make the choices that will help you!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bweave from Spring, TX on February 21st, 2021
    Great customer service rep.
    I have called TXU numerous times and always get stuck talking to someone who talks so fast and makes me feel stupid. I get frustrated and end up hanging up! This evening I called and spoke with Walter and he was phenomenal!! He was so patient and walked me through everything step by step! Thank you Walter for your kindness
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Heather G. from Whitewright, TX on May 26th, 2020
    TXU Energy
    I would recommend TXU to anyone looking for a reliable electric company. I have a reasonably priced bill, and they are active in preventing any issues that may come up from escalating.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    RAC from Waco, TX on March 5th, 2020
    Texas energy
    Nikki was extremely helpful and friendly when I had questions about my bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shannon from Houston, TX on July 18th, 2019
    His name is Irwin!
    I had the opportunity to speak with a supervisor named Irwin ( not sure if spelling is correct). He made me feel valued, despite my reason for the call. He continually went above and beyond what I expected. He is truly some one who cares and I'm grateful for his genuine help that while some think maybe small, his proactive and efficiency left an everlasting imprint of gratitude. Irwin assured me that we were taken cared of. Thank YOU Irwin
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Wanza from Arlington, TX on July 8th, 2019
    Free nights
    The free nights is a nice program. It'll be better if the nights started at 7pm instead of 9pm. My only issue is with the centrepoint fee which seems to double my electricity bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kay from Houston, TX on February 10th, 2019
    SATISFIED
    I just switched from Direct Energy to TXU Energy after a year of bad service from Direct Energy... just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy he gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Let's see how it goes.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    MONICA from Houston, TX on August 25th, 2017
    Monica - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thanks for sharing your positive experience.
    — TXU Energy
    TXU Saved me from CIRRO energy nightmare.
    I was a customer when it was TU electric. I had never had any reason to change when Cirro had a rep going door to door. Who doesn't want to save money. Well it has been a nightmare that a courtesy call from TXU bailed me out of. We got one of my two meters changed but couldn't get my barn meter changed. TXU called to see what they could do to get my business back. They reduced the rate Cirro gave by 2.4 cents per kWh gave me a $50 gift card and it only took 10 minutes. Thankfully they have ended a nightmare for me. I will remain a loyal customer. When you want to shop rates. Check the out but call your carrier first. They most likely will match or beat the rate. Saves a lot of hassles.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dianna E. from Slidell, TX on July 18th, 2017
    Best Savings in Texas
    The below link will credit you $50 on your first bill with TXU! Great Company, Excellent Customer Service, and the BEST rates I've been able to find. I wish I had switched to TXU earlier and I would have saved a lot of money!

    http://www.urefer.com/referral/1878/3495747/s/11
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    John from on December 16th, 2016


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    24 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Using pay my bill from online billing
    Every sent I have txu I can go to my monthly bill and pay it online, not this month for july 28, 2021?
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Celestine Brow from Dallas, TX on July 28th, 2021
    Great Customer Service Representation by Carolina C
    I recently inquired about new service with Customer Service Rep - Carolina C. Although I didn't choose this company, I felt that she should get recognition for being so thorough by calling me back twice because I couldn't finish our conversation the first call. She was so pleasant and understanding!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    LiLi S from 70521 on February 25th, 2021
    Good service
    I love that my lights are free after 8
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Qemiya from Wills Point, TX on December 1st, 2018
    Customer for over 5 years
    I originally came to this website to read reviews about potential companies, because I was looking to lower my bill. I was really shocked with all the negative reviews because I've had an overall good experience with TXU. I've been with the company for over 5 years and I'm only looking to switch, because my bill seems to have increased quite a bit over the years. I noticed that before I was paying a much lower price whereas now my bill stays over 100+ a month even when I'm not using it as much. I think it's just one of those situation where I may need to switch, since most companies give new customers the better rate to win their business, but then forget to reward their loyal customers with those rates to keep their business. However, rate increases and all, TXU has been great and I really hate that I have to switch just to get a lower rate since I'll be a new customer, when I would rather just stay with TXU and be a loyal customer. I would definitely recommend TXU to someone!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    MrsWoods from Houston on December 9th, 2016
    10+ years as satisfied customer
    I've been a steady customer of TXU for 10+ years. When I moved my service a few years ago, I used their website and live chat to pick the best plan and make the move. I have always had great results with customer service when I needed them and the service has always been reliable.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Put_zel from Hamilton on April 19th, 2016
    We appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for trusting TXU Energy to power the special moments in your home.
    — TXU Energy
    Enter Promo Code 34334489 for $50 from TXU energy at www.txu.com/friend
    I'm currently a new customer to TXU, I haven't had any problems with the electricity company and my bills have been under $100. I live in a 800sqft apartment with my wife, we usually use a good amount of electricity and also never turn off the AC. I would recommend this company to a friend!


    The promotional code is entered at www.txu.com/friend when you sign up with TXU.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    B from Corpus Christi on February 8th, 2016
    B - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thank you for trusting us to power the special moments in your home.
    — TXU Energy
    TXU
    I love Txu I do not see how people say they have a monthly bill of 200 in an apartment. My bill never goes over 70 and I stay with heat or electricity on. I don't really understand the TDU charge seems high but overall I'm happy with my bill. When I called in to renew my plan I did have a little trouble (language barrier) I could not understand everything he was saying and he couldn't understand some words I was saying but we got through it.... If I could change something about TXU it would definitely be to lower what ever that TDU charge is and if you forget to renew before deline they throw you on the most expensive plan.... Overall Satisfied and would recommend to others
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Chikyra from Arlington on December 30th, 2015
    We appreciate your business Chikyra. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
    — TXU Energy
    Great Experience with TXU
    I have been a customer for TXU and had the best experiences. The bills were always accurate, topped with the discounts based on usage. The energy dashboard on their website is so useful and lets you know your usage and control you electricity costs. And when I had to disconnect my service because I was moving out of TX, they were so friendly and co-operative and modestly explained the next steps.
    Thank you TXU.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Krishna from Houston on October 20th, 2014
    Krishna We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear our energy dashboard has been a helpful resource for you. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
    — TXU Energy
    Pricey, but Good Service
    I have been a TXU customer for 10 years (2 years in an apartment and 8 years in a house). I have had absolutely no issues ever with TXU in their customer service, billing or overall service. It is energy plan renewal time for me right now, and I'm doing my research to compare TXU to other companies. While I am tempted to switch to another company based on price, I am reluctant to leave a company that has been quite satisfactory over the years. It saddened me to see all the negative reviews regarding TXU, which prompted me to share my own positive experiences with TXU. It seems that most negative reviews are based on misunderstanding of how billing works - a consumer must consider delivery fees, base fees if minimum usage is not achieved, etc. TXU's customer service has been quite pleasing. I don't have the need to call very often, but I always speak to friendly, helpful associates when I do call. I even remember sending a complimentary e-mail a year ago to recognize an especially helpful associate when renewing into my current energy plan. TXU has been a great company for me, and I would absolutely not think twice about renewing my energy plan with them if their prices were slightly lower.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brad from Cedar Hill on July 8th, 2014
    Brad Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us. We recognize its a highly competitive market out there, and were proud to be the leading provider. Please consider emailing your contact information to SocialMedia@txu.com and we will be more than happy to assist you with renewing your service plan. We value your business and look forward to hearing from you.
    — TXU Energy
    What's with all the negative reviews?
    Before switching to TXU Free Nights, our monthly bills were in the 400 range. After we agreed to switch to TXU Free Nighs and our bill drop to 110 for that month. And it stayed in the 100 range for almost 6 months now. Customer was very generous and informed us of the increase in kwh, cancelation fee, and everything we needed to know about the plan before agreeing to make this change. I'm happy with what I'm paying for and using free electricity is amazing.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cuong from Houston on November 24th, 2013


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    19 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    My bill is CONSISTENTLY HIGH
    I live in a 3bd 2ba apartment that is 1380 sq ft. Its over $300 almost every month. I dont know if its my AC but Ive tried keeping it at 76 and I about died. This IS Texas after all. I like their customer service but I get really sad that my energy bill is almost as much as my car payment at this point. I used to be with TERA and I never went over $100 in a 3bd 2ba apt
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Maria from Corpus Christi, TX on July 6th, 2021
    No class when leaving TXU
    I selected another provider when my contract ran out through power to choose that was 20%- 25% cheaper. For the three days it took to convert to the other provider, TXU raised my rate by almost 50%. Classless. Lost a potential future customer.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jeff Jarabek from Allen, TX on June 12th, 2020
    Billed for disconnect notices?
    My bill has been a low $170 all summer and I got a bill in January for $243???? I spoke with customer service and ask why was the bill so high. I am on free nights. I was told that I was charged an additional fee because they sent a disconnect notice?? This is a joke! I can understand charging for an actual disconnect, even though, all they have to do is hit one key on their computer terminal to reconnect but why charge for sending me a notice? And why change $50-$60 ??
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Michele from Pearland on January 19th, 2017
    Your opinion matters to us. Please email TXUECares@txu.com so we can help.
    — TXU Energy
    Price Plans
    Good service no problems with billing or customer service ,BUT they will not offer me the same contract they offer a new customer even if I have been with TXU for over 34 years now that is not right .There are lots of power vendors with better rates and great reviews for customer service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Eddy from Fort Worth on June 29th, 2016
    Eddy - We apologize for the inconvenience and we're here to help. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we will contact you right away.
    — TXU Energy
    Decent
    I've been using TXU for almost 3 years now and my only major complaint is that their website is very slow at times.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Michael from Waco on May 25th, 2016
    Michael - We apologize for the inconvenience and will work to get this issue resolved. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
    — TXU Energy
    TXU Free Nights Program Canceled
    I made a complaint on this web site back in November 2013 about TXU Energy Free Nights program. I am a solar customer providing energy to the grid in daylight hours. I was being charged for both the energy I consumed in the daylight hours and the energy I delivered back to the grid. I could not get satisfaction from TXU so I complained to the PUC. I sent smartmetertexas.com data to illustrate my issue to the PUC. Smartmetertexas.com data is the actual TDU data from all Texas residents with smart meters. TXU has corrected my bills finally effective 12/24/13. Merry Christmas to me! Interestingly enough the Free Nights program has been canceled as of today 1/8/2014.I suspect I had something to do with that. I think there was something very wrong with the billing on the Free Nights program. Anyway, I analyzed my own data, won my case, and would love to analyze yours too! Contact me at lucihundley@yahoo.com if you would like me to analyze your data for you. TXU will correct it if you have been improperly billed. But you must have data. If you don't know how to get it and analyze it I can do it for you "Feeling" like your bill is too high is not good enough. Data is needed! And I can get it for you! TXU is NOT using TDU data to bill you for Free Nights. They are using algorithms and percentages. But the Electricity Facts Label says they will use the ACTUAL TDU data. You will win your case if you send TXU the real data. And I can get it for you!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Luci Hundley from Rockwall on January 8th, 2014
    Luci- Our Right Time SavingsSM plans (i.e. TXU Energy Free Nights and TXU Energy Free Weekends) are intended to help customers manage how they use electricity and save. Usage data is received in 15 minute intervals from your meter, which is maintained by your Transmission and Distribution Utility. Although these meters are more than 99% accurate, we also refer customers questioning their consumption to smartmetertexas.com as a non-biased comparison. Our TXU Energy Free Nights plan is still available for customers who wish to enroll and feel that they can benefit from the savings offered with this plan.
    — TXU Energy
    Residence
    Overall, satisfied with service, but unable to get answers to questions about promotions, get referred to website, which did not mention the particular promotion I was asking about
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tony Diotalevi from Friendswood on August 30th, 2012
    Good service and access but too expensive
    After 2 years on the TXU Choice 24 plan I am choosing to reduce my costs. TXU does return to the community and that is admirable. Sorry they haven't made it more affordable to keep my business. Farewell.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike from Bedford on April 11th, 2012
    THE VERIZON OF ENERGY
    It's my belief that TXU is the Verizon of energy rates. This company does
    not really care about giving you the best rate and they will not do anything
    to keep you until you cancel and then they call you asking why you left.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Gary from Euless on March 20th, 2012
    For the rich.
    If you want electricity for the rich go with TXU. Yes they are great at
    mailing me a bill and cashing my checks. But it is 12.8 cents per kWh for
    5394 of them. I am switching. By the way, my plan was called TXU Energy
    PriceGuarantee 24. The only guarantee I received was to get ripped off for
    24 months.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dwayne from Grapevine on September 25th, 2011


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    52 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Make pretty promises to get you to sign up but will screw you over once the contract is over...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    An Unsatisfied Customer from Dallas, TX on February 28th, 2021
    20 yr customer
    Folks I want to share how being lazy has cost me money, always put off shopping energy providers until I had another $600.00 electric bill (extra usage) due to my mother-in-law living her last days out with us (4 months, only thing I can justify a large bill with, and really nothing changed). I finally listened to my nephew and connected with Energy Ogre, I've had 2 full months with them and my bills have been $130.00 and $126.00, which just makes me sick for not looking into this sooner. A TXU Rep called to see what it would take to win us back and once I said we were now with Energy Ogre she said Thank You very much and hung up. SHOP ENERGY OGRE. I believe in Capitalism and I assure you TXU is capitalizing off the lazy folks like me. Shame on me for not looking into this years ago.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sammy Valderas from Midlothian, TX on February 22nd, 2021
    HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, MULTIPLE OUTAGES
    If you call customer service when there is a power outage, expect to be talked to condescendingly then put on hold until you finally decide to hang up.
    Weve had TXU for almost six months now and have lost power at least four times for multiple hours at a time.
    Locked into a 12 month contract but as soon as that is up, were ditching this company for somewhere else.
    In a state where customers can CHOOSE their electricity company, youd think they would actually care about how they treat their customers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Holly from Melissa, TX on February 14th, 2021
    Its a Trap!
    The service was honestly fine when I was using it. However, I called and informed them I was going to be moving and instead of scheduling the service to be disconnected and the "Going to be Disconnected" issue on the website they kept my service going stating I specifically had to call and have the service disconnected! Be careful and look at more places! This one is just a trap in the end waiting to scam you out of as much money as they can get! Not to mention their customer service sounded like they were in India and I could only understand half of what was being said! Would not recommend!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Caleb from Dallas, TX on November 7th, 2020
    Was calling to renew my Plan
    Called in to renew my TXU Plan because my current plan was expiring 12/2/2020.. Spoke with customer service rep at 5:38pm. He told me about the Precise Saver 24 Plan. But I was trying to see the difference between the plan I have now and the Plan he was speaking of. The customer service rep was acting as if I was getting on his nerves with my questions, like he did not want to be bothered with me. I found myself telling him if I am cannot ask you questions let me know and I will hang up, call back and speak to someone else. By this time I had no interest in what he was talking about, over it literally. Been with TXU for 2 years, and this is ridiculous.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Upset Customer from The Colony, TX on November 2nd, 2020
    TXU is inconsistent.
    I have to call them every month. They give me the run around. The app is poor and inconsistent.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    TXU....why? from Arlington, TX on June 22nd, 2020
    A question about my reward for refer a friend about me and about the other person
    My experience was suck, i am so mad the 9 people talked to me do not know anything so why you hire people like these, everybody transfer me to somebody else.... stay on the phone for nothing simple question to know about refer a friend...that is all
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Maha Bundy from Houston, TX on May 14th, 2020
    Too expensive
    Simply put TXU is very expensive! My very first bill with TXU was over$500.00 the next over $600.00 . New appliances, air conditioner is on 78 when home and 80 when not at home ......bill is still expensive! My husband think that our bill is based on what they think we are using and not actual usage. Our home is 1,500 square feet. I can not recommend TXU Energy!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jo from Missouri City, TX on August 18th, 2019
    The guys went above and beyond!
    First of all I have to say this was one of the worst experiences ever. I would also like to add that these two gentlemen Rocky Rayos and Cosme Ortega out of Midland Texas went above and beyond for me trying to fix what happened to my electricity and why it took 3 days to get it back on after a mess up from the company. No offense due only to the fact these gentlemen were genuinely concerned and worked diligently to help me in figuring out what was going on and why. In my opinion the customer service was fantastic. The organization and something with dispatching is way off. Me and my two young boys went almost three days without electricity that was suddenly shut off three weeks after starting service. This was due to the wrong meter number as well as the wrong address. If these guys didnt care so much this review would not be good it would be horrible.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tish Pullen from Midland, TX on July 13th, 2019
    Bad Customer Service
    Said I needed a 50% down payment in order to get an extension lol. Ive never had a disconnection or got an extension in the past and Ive been with them for a year and a half now. I can say that my light bill is cheaper than when I had Direct Energy but their customer service isnt the best. Molena Orellan, a manager, gladly declined my request after I told her what my situation was. I just think they could be a little more understanding is all.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JC1993 from Houston, TX on July 9th, 2019


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    508 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Hidden fees by getting more money out of it.
    I am truly baffled by this whole experience with a representative which they are trying their best. Unfortunately, it left me very disappointed with their services I was behind about few months on the bill and finally caught up by paying all of it in june plus extra 60 dollars to ensure for next bill. I was thrilled to pay it off to 0 plus 60 credit for July. Then i got the bill by end of July that said disconnection notice to pay 245 dollars I was like huh?? This must be a glitch! They literally turned it off and i was like wtf i paid it off then called them to find out why and stated my case that I paid all of it off with a credit also. They keep saying that I didn't. Yes i have proof that i paid all of it off. How did it add up to 245 dollars? I am sure that my bill should be under 40 dollars with 60 credit for July and where is my 60 dollars credit? A rep said because 30 dollars goes to May and 30 goes to July. I was like wait a min. Why May? It is already paid off in June like literally 0. A rep said right but you didnt pay for May. I was like huh?!? Please come back and add the money on june so i paid 250 dollars worth in June so that mean it is paid off right then why Does it have to do with May?!? A rep said because i broke the agreement... what?!?! How is that even possible if i paid all so i didnt break it. He said because you didn't call us first before you paid off?!? why would i have to?? Because it didnt stop and keept going.. it shouldn't cuz i paid it off so i am being penalized for breaking agreement that i didnt know i have to call you first which it is so ridiculous thing I ever heard in my life
    If i paid it off and it should reset that back to default which mean stop the agreement at a same time. All of that because i didn't call you. That was so shadiest and sneaky to get more money out of us, honest earning money barely enough to get by. A rep said i understand that it is rep's fault and have let you know that. Yea damn right. I aint going to pay 245 for it since i paid all if it plus 60 dollars credit for July. Can you please remove it? A rep said iam sorry i cant because I agreed to it. EXCUSE ME?!!?!? Dude, my balance is 0 and shouldnt be punished for your rep's mistakes. Well it is your payment arrangement that you agreed to it. Wait i asked for an extension not payment agreement. Ohhh that is how you milked more money out of our pocket. I disagreed with it. I am not going to pay it. All i have 10. Well i can put you on another payment agreement that will be in 350 total. Say What? Hell naw. It is only way to get ur light back on then make payments for 6 months plus you will have to pay for current month also. So i have to pay 2 bills per month. That is foul!!! I filed a complaint and they need to add program to the systems that once it is paid off then all of them are voids!!! I am so appalled that i am being penalized for not calling back to stop the payment arrangements.

    TXU, you got a dissatisfied customer and feel cheated out of it for more money which I don't have!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dissatisfied Customer from Dallas, TX on September 13th, 2021
    I'm completely shocked
    I had received a number of calls and a disconnect notification and my bill was 3 days late who does that and the women I spoke with in customer service was rude
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Claudette Mitchell from Pearland, TX on August 10th, 2021
    Worst company ever
    Beware of this company they change their prices they tell you one plan then put you on another this company charge me for $600 every month saying that its my AC that was the problem I went on vacation the month of June and my bill was still over $600 for the month do not join TXU they are crooks I hope they shut down from people leaving there service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bobby True Review On Txu from Kingwood, TX on August 4th, 2021
    Random price changes
    Ridiculously high bill in Texas. Keeping our thermostat at 78 and our bill being $300 for July. Absolutely nuts. We keep most lights off and power usage down. This is insane and well be switching.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Terrible from Tyler, TX on August 1st, 2021
    Totally unfair
    About four years back, I was shopping around for electricity providers and had reached out to TXU Customer service to know about their plan. Then I took the service from Ambit.
    No I moved to a house and the previous owner was taking the service from TXU, I called them to connect the service then they told me that I had $26 and some change due on my account. I was surprised and mad at the same time. I have never received bill neither on my post or email but I paid now. I think I will change the service provider.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Totally Unfair from Dallas, TX on August 1st, 2021
    HORRIBLE
    This company is such a rip off! They told me I had free nights when in reality they do charge if you use more energy at night than during the day! For a one bedroom 650 sq ft I was paying over $100 a month! That is completely insane! Their customer service is completely rude and non helpful.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JT from Irving, TX on July 25th, 2021
    I should never have switched to TXU!
    I let a sales rep talk me into switching to TXU with promises of a more equalized summer billing. My bills have been consistently higher all year long instead. Today, I realized it must be time to pay the bill. When I accessed my account I see that it was due on July 19, yes, three days ago. And for that, they had issued a disconnect notice set for August 2. I cannot imagine how they think that is even ball park customer service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Treat Your Customers Like Dirt! from Needville, TX on July 22nd, 2021
    Worst customer service I have ever experienced!
    When ordering my electric service the person on the phone did not speak English well enough to be trying to provide customer service as she could not understand my conversation. She set me up as the Owner of my apartment instead of as the Resident.
    I have been trying to cancel the Business account that I am stuck with for several days and since the TXU customer service is provided by some foreign country I have given up hope for ever getting this error corrected. When I reviewed my account agreement I read that I have to keep TXU service for a year or there will be a $150.00 cancellation fee!! Outrageous Corporate Greed!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Patricia Whittiker from Fort Worth, TX on July 6th, 2021
    TX she does not like to pay
    One of the unfortunate to be with greedy electric .TXU call with the promises to give me a rewards for signing up with them disputed signing up with them but was finally convinced when I was promised I will get my rewards that was five months ago still have not received it I wonder if I did not pay them how far would Ill be with electricity
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Melvin Spoonemore from Houston, TX on June 28th, 2021
    Horrible service
    Txu charges me same amount each day. I live in 1 bedroom apartment. Days im not even home, turn everything off. They lie about checking your meter. I am switching over hopefully this will help someone else make a better decision choosing their power company. I have talk to 6 different people and nobody can give me a straight answer on why this is happening. I paid less living in a 4 bedroom house then in my 1 bedroom apartment.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike Baker from Huffman, TX on June 24th, 2021


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Tiered Rate
    Variable Rate
    Fixed Rate
    1 Month
    12 Months
    24 Months
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day