All 1 Star Reviews

307 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All TXU Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Horrible Customer Service
I spoke to an agent who told me they would disconnect my electric on Dec 15th when I was moving. So, I moved to my new apartment and continued to use TXU there thinking it was off at my old address. Come to find out the agent never had it taken out of my name at the old apartment. Now, TXU will not take off the charges from their own mistake. absolutely, ridiculous horrible service and how they treat their customers. Ever representative will tell you something different.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chase Huckeby from Westworth Village, TX on March 31st, 2021
High price & bad customer service
If u want recive bump bill..take it TXU energy.. crazy bill we live home along just stay 7pm to 6am .. but every month pay over $250.. think have a hidden price.. bad experience.. & bad customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TXU Energy Poor Company from Farmers Branch, TX on March 20th, 2021
Account credit
I received horrible customer service when asked about credit for the time I was without service during the storm and was advise to call encore for the credit I even had a supervisor show no empathy or concern and did nothing to assist me with my concern
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kp from Plano, TX on March 14th, 2021
A society to be avoided.
I can't write everything that I would like so much my experience is bad with them.
I will could write a roman.
Problm with the deposit refund, surcharge bill amount for nothing, wrong information meter, poor contacte with them and completely inconsistent answers about my asks.
Run aways.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gilles from Irving, TX on March 14th, 2021
Misleading, Dishonest & Disloyal!!
I have been a TXU customer for an estimate of six years and don't plan to make it seven. I opened my TXU invoice for February on January 28, 2021 and after seeing the amount of
$544.65, usage of 3315 kw, I knew this was a mistake. I called TXU thinking the amount would get
adjusted immediately, instead, their apologies were turning into excuses, realizing customerbloyalty didnt matter. Centerpoint came out the following morning, not my request, turned off my electricity for a meter
test without any notice. I am on time with payments, so I knew that wasnt
the reason, so I immediately went to the meter, where I asked Centerpoint
representative why he turned off my electricity? He replied , he was doing a meter test, requested by TXU. After our conversation, I learned he had installed a new smart meter on September 20, 2020, the same date I transferred to this apartment. I confirmed the installment date with three TXU customer representative, two supervisors and a senior manager. I was told the smart meter is working correctly and I would have to pay the due amount, $544.65. This amount was double from All my past monthly invoices and the same after comparing current neighbors usage, with same floor plan.
I spent several hours on my TXU account dashboard, where customers are told the information is efficient, able to track real time usage, showing an estimate during billing period and an actual at the end of billing period. I manually added all daily usage/cost for billing days and the total was half of what was showing on statement. TXU Supervisor & Manager confirmed the mistake, only to tell me they had to open a new investigation ticket with
Centerpoint. I stated several times, I am a TXU customer, not a Centerpoint customer, and why do I have to wait on what they decide about my TXU account, when TXU is their customer, not mine.
After my research, I found misleading information on several past invoices, needing answers to my questions, only to receive dishonest answers. Old Meter ID 9227319 was replaced by New Meter ID 88305995 on
my move in date,September 20, 2021, the date my start of bill cycle, ending October 20, 2020. Instead, my Original invoice for this period shows an Actual Read from old meter. My December original invoicel shows old meter ID with estimated reading. My January 2021 original invoice is the first invoice showing
new smart meter ID, along with bill corrections for Dec, Nov, two for Oct(all 2020), showing Actual Readings from new meter and new charges. TXU, states on "my
account dashboard", your monthly bill provides your official usage as
determined by your local transmission and distribution utility. I paid my original monthly invoice for October, old apartment that I transfer from, different
meter and three days at new apartment, of which I had not moved in yet. November, December
2020 invoices were changed, showing on my January 2021 invoice, with new actual readings, changing the meter information. I paid $300. on February's invoice, waiting
for Centerpoint to complete their investigation. I recently received March 2021 invoice, showing new
corrections, for February, along with new Actual readings for all past invoices at new address, Oct, Nov, Dec 2020,( third time on changes) Jan(second time on changes) & Feb. 2021(moved the amount difference to previous months in 2020. After many hours reviewing the invoices,
phone conversations with TXU representatives and consumer support representatives, I am
upset and will Not allow TXU to bully a loyal customer, especially when TXU is not following their own policies, taking advantage of loyal customers by giving the choices, 1) pay the amount they are demanding or 2) No electricity. I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau(BBB) & Public Utility Commission(PUC), both have opened investigations. TXU needs to take responsibility for their
misleading, dishonest and bad service actions. I paid All of the Original invoices and as a loyal
customer, l deserve better than what is occurring.
I have all original invoices, showing the changes and other documents pertaining to this matter and I should not be dealing with TXU's mistakes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lonnie Allsbrooks from Kingwood, TX on March 9th, 2021
Not at all transparent in Billing
They have too many extra charges, so be careful before you choose. I will never recommend it anybody.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

H. M. from Irving, TX on February 25th, 2021
Do not go with this company
At first everything was ok with this particular company TXU. Gradually it became worse and my bill became more expensive month after month. Please take my advice and run the other way this company will gouge you and give you the run around when you ask them about your bill. Would never wish the trouble Ive went through with them on anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven P. from Venus, TX on February 25th, 2021
Txu is Horrible
Txu billed me twice in the same month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ifiok Akpan from Houston, TX on February 25th, 2021
Fooled for years
Not knowing much about all the different energy companies that are offered in Texas I went along with this one. I was a customer for 5 years and was never told that I was under an average billing plan. Once I decided to go with a different energy company when my plan ended with TXU I was told that I owed over $700 because I used more energy than the company averaged out for me. Now as far as I know with average billing base on past usage a specific amount is set by the energy company that is paid every month and at the end of the term there is either a credit, an amount owed or you break even. My monthly payments were never the same. It always, so I was very surprised when I was told this. Of course, I could not pay the entire bill. I paid $25 a month but that was not enough for the TXU and my remaining balance was sent to collections around January 2020. In August 2020, I paid the entire collection and was told that it would be removed from my credit report. The collection was removed but the charge off the account was not and I called the company only to received a letter saying that the charge-off account will be removed 7 years from now. Take my advice and find a different company. I am going to file a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. fluctuates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Find Another Energy Compnay from Saginaw, TX on February 9th, 2021
Riffed off
Ive only been in Texas for 3 months and this is company riffed me off. For being here months i paied them total of almost $2000 worth of electricity and cancel fee. When i opened the acct, ive been told cancel anytime. But once i found out my bills were constantly $400 + every month eventhough nobody is home, i decide to nolonger want to do business with them. They charged me $300 to cancel the service. If anyone file a lawsuit against this thrief, im after. Unbelieable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thao from Sachse, TX on February 1st, 2021


All TXU Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
9.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$102 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
24 Month Tiered Rate
24 month
Tiered Rate
10.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$112 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
10.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$107 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
Best 'No Contract' Plan
1 month
Variable Rate
13.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$132 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $141 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day