Its a Trap!
The service was honestly fine when I was using it. However, I called and informed them I was going to be moving and instead of scheduling the service to be disconnected and the "Going to be Disconnected" issue on the website they kept my service going stating I specifically had to call and have the service disconnected! Be careful and look at more places! This one is just a trap in the end waiting to scam you out of as much money as they can get! Not to mention their customer service sounded like they were in India and I could only understand half of what was being said! Would not recommend!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Caleb from Dallas, TX on November 7th, 2020
Was calling to renew my Plan
Called in to renew my TXU Plan because my current plan was expiring 12/2/2020.. Spoke with customer service rep at 5:38pm. He told me about the Precise Saver 24 Plan. But I was trying to see the difference between the plan I have now and the Plan he was speaking of. The customer service rep was acting as if I was getting on his nerves with my questions, like he did not want to be bothered with me. I found myself telling him if I am cannot ask you questions let me know and I will hang up, call back and speak to someone else. By this time I had no interest in what he was talking about, over it literally. Been with TXU for 2 years, and this is ridiculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from The Colony, TX on November 2nd, 2020
TXU is inconsistent.
I have to call them every month. They give me the run around. The app is poor and inconsistent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TXU....why? from Dallas, TX on June 22nd, 2020
A question about my reward for refer a friend about me and about the other person
My experience was suck, i am so mad the 9 people talked to me do not know anything so why you hire people like these, everybody transfer me to somebody else.... stay on the phone for nothing simple question to know about refer a friend...that is all
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maha Bundy from Houston, TX on May 14th, 2020
Too expensive
Simply put TXU is very expensive! My very first bill with TXU was over$500.00 the next over $600.00 . New appliances, air conditioner is on 78 when home and 80 when not at home ......bill is still expensive! My husband think that our bill is based on what they think we are using and not actual usage. Our home is 1,500 square feet. I can not recommend TXU Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jo from Sugar Land, TX on August 18th, 2019
The guys went above and beyond!
First of all I have to say this was one of the worst experiences ever. I would also like to add that these two gentlemen Rocky Rayos and Cosme Ortega out of Midland Texas went above and beyond for me trying to fix what happened to my electricity and why it took 3 days to get it back on after a mess up from the company. No offense due only to the fact these gentlemen were genuinely concerned and worked diligently to help me in figuring out what was going on and why. In my opinion the customer service was fantastic. The organization and something with dispatching is way off. Me and my two young boys went almost three days without electricity that was suddenly shut off three weeks after starting service. This was due to the wrong meter number as well as the wrong address. If these guys didnt care so much this review would not be good it would be horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tish Pullen from Waco, TX on July 13th, 2019
Bad Customer Service
Said I needed a 50% down payment in order to get an extension lol. Ive never had a disconnection or got an extension in the past and Ive been with them for a year and a half now. I can say that my light bill is cheaper than when I had Direct Energy but their customer service isnt the best. Molena Orellan, a manager, gladly declined my request after I told her what my situation was. I just think they could be a little more understanding is all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JC1993 from Houston, TX on July 9th, 2019
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
Our bill jumped from $303.33 to $607.51, with ZERO change in kWh usage. ZERO! TXU sttaes its an Oncor demand charge increase on out TXU BILL and Oncor states its a TXU issue. In 2 weeks we have spoken to 6 representatives, 1 supervisor, submitted a dispute and no one can explain Nor can they correct the bill. There supposedly is no one who can explain or fix it the issue. The just keep reading the disclaimer about demand charges. We explained in GREAT DETAIL that if they would just pull the invoice history they would see the exact kWh on one bill and compare that it is a $300 diff. The same invoices we will be submitting to TX Public Utility Commission. This easy fix has become such a nightmare. We never had these issues with Reliant at our old location.STAY AWAY FROM TXU
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Winnie from Pantego, TX on April 10th, 2019
Not impressed
Ive had them for 3 months now and the only time my bill was under 100.00 was the first month, it seems like it just keeps going up and up. Highly disappointing to a single mom of 4
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shayna from Krum, TX on February 24th, 2019
Don't be fooled
After moving to Texas 18 months ago, this whole electricity business was very confusing. We were used to an electric company that charged one rate that was reasonable, no averages to confuse people, etc. While trying to learn on the fly about all these companies to choose from and all the different rates, we settled on TXU for a 6 month trial to see how it worked out. Overall, we were ok with the price during the 6 months, but when it came time to renew, TXU's prices suddenly doubled. After calling their customer service, we got no where, that's the price, take it or leave it basically. So we left, found a better energy company, but low and behold, TXU kept coming back to us wanting to renew and they offered all these great rates, but we grow weary of companies that play that game, just offer us your best rate right now, bottom line and TXU failed to do that.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dennis from Round Rock, TX on March 10th, 2018







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for TXU Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.5 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.3 of 5.
5 Stars
4%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
12%
 
1 Stars
74%
 
1.3 / 5
Overall
1.3 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
1.5 / 5
Order Experience
1.3 / 5
Customer Service
1.3 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.1 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About TXU Energy

TXU is one of the original incumbent utility providers in Texas that was spun off from their generation assets when Texas deregulated their electricity market in 2002. TXU is one of the largest and most recognized retail electricity providers in Texas and services both residential and commercial customers.

TXU is part of Vistra Energy which also owns Luminant, which specializes in coal and natural gas power generation assets.



All TXU Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
10.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$121 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
24 Month Tiered Rate
24 month
Tiered Rate
11.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$132 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
11.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$126 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
Variable Rate
1 month
Variable Rate
13.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$136 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
14.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$142 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
15.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$155 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month