We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, First Choice Power, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

Don't be fooled

(2.8 / 5)

  After moving to Texas 18 months ago, this whole electricity business was very confusing. We were used to an electric company that charged one rate that was reasonable, no averages to confuse people, etc. While trying to learn on the fly about all these companies to choose from and all the different rates, we settled on TXU for a 6 month trial to see how it worked out. Overall, we were ok with the price during the 6 months, but when it came time to renew, TXU's prices suddenly doubled. After calling their customer service, we got no where, that's the price, take it or leave it basically. So we left, found a better energy company, but low and behold, TXU kept coming back to us wanting to renew and they offered all these great rates, but we grow weary of companies that play that game, just offer us your best rate right now, bottom line and TXU failed to do that.

Dennis from Round Rock
March 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TDU delivery charge fees

(2.8 / 5)

  The TDU fees are unfair.At the moment I have a 12 month fix rate at 7.3000 cents Per kWh with them.I have noticed that my TDU charges has over the past few months have sky rocketed.My TDU delivery charges has shot up from $50,$100,and now $111 dollars on my latest bill !!! I went back & looked at the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) piece of paper that they give you when one makes a deal with them.Anyways,I went & read the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) paper under the the "Disclosure Chart" heading,and there's a question on there that says "If my price can change,how will it change, and by how much?" Their answer that I found on the EFL ."Your price will not change during the term of this plan except to reflect actual changes in TDU charges;changes to the Electric Reliability Council of Texas or Texas Regional Entity administrative fees; or charges resulting from federal,state or local laws that impose new or modified fees or costs that are beyond our control." Basically,they can charge you whatever they fancy on your TDU Delivery fee. Not cool.

Cesar from Wylie
September 9th, 2013

Cesar- we appreciate your comments and are here to help address any concerns you have regarding charges on your bill. TDU charges are passed through to you by your local utility. To see how the charges are calculated, visit www.txu.com/tducharges. In the meantime, we d be happy to review your account and answer any question you may have. Please email us your account and contact information to SocialMedia@txu.com. Were here to help!

TXU Energy Responds September 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Company

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been a TXU customer for many years and have not had any trouble with any issues. However, I find their prices a little on the high side compared to many of the other providers. Since I'm one of those people who is concerned about cost, I'm going to try another company with a great reputation but lower prices. This summer's bills blew me away so I'm scrambling for better prices. I might be back though.

Doris from Allen
October 20th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm gone

(2.8 / 5)

  VERY Poor customer service. The call center is located in the Phillipines, or timbuctoo....no help there. Online customer service was worse........snide remarks from online personnel. I will sign with a new electric service provider ASAP.

VERY dissatified from Midland
March 2nd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too pricey

(2.8 / 5)

  harder economic times call for better competitive prices. Unfortunately I'm not getting that with TXU

Mireya Cruz from Laredo
October 14th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(2.7 / 5)

  We've been with this company a couple of years and I like that they work with us when we need to pay the bill.

Tdeanda from Corpus Christi
October 1st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

disatisfied customer

(2.7 / 5)

  I have trouble getting TXU to send me a bill every month. I had to beg them after 3 months, knowing that I would be hit with a outragious bill one day. They finally sent me a bill. This was last month. Got my new bill last week for June. It says my balance is 0. Here I go again. Can't wait for my contract to expire

Mr. Johnson from Houston
July 1st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switch from TXU to another provider efficiency, is economically advantageous, and blissfully easy.

(2.6 / 5)

  I have had TXU for at least 25+ years. I came to find that the MarketEdge program was not always easy to comprehend and the bills were difficult to interpret. So after 30+ years of service with TXU, I made the decision to switch service providers. I am now with MidAmerican Energy, a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, the company principally the holdings of Warren Buffett. The company is tops in customer service according to the PUC, and the rate is much lower for 1,000 KwH--I am now paying approximately 7.5 cents per KwH.

William W. Cammack from Dallas
September 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't believe them.

(2.6 / 5)

  Customer for decades. Switched from incandescent bulbs to CFL when they first came out. Lowered my bill by a hundred dollars. In this century switched to LEDS raised my bill by $ 150.00 monthly. Quessed meter charges. Made me buy a new $ 90.00 remote meter. Then a years later replaced it with a new remote reader that reads high in there favor. Blamed me even I had Electricians over here to check my euipment. Variable percent charges not converted to real numbers. Additional charges from ONCOR for delivery and line repair monthly.... Failure to properly switch electric discount plans as promised in writing online. Adding 3 percent charges to electric bill to give you a debit card to spend after a year. Looking for a new electric provider.

Screwed over senior citizen from Fort Worth
March 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service hangs up on you.

(2.6 / 5)

  After being asked my account # and details by three different people transferring me, it became a bit frustrating. I simply wanted to know if the account for the house I sold was payed and closed, while my service was transfered to my new home. One gentlemen told me I had cancelation fees. Another gentlemen said I didn't because I transferred. It quickly became confusing and monotonous as my last transfer was a young man. I told him it was a bit reputicious to transfer and continuously ask the same account info and security questions while never answering my simple question. He just hung up on me. I had to call back and get a manager to answer my question. She was kind and helpful, but during the entire conversation, it sounded like a party in the background with coworkers joking and laughing in the background about daily affairs. I didn't say anything because they may hang up agian. I'm going to start shopping for a new provider.

Rob Sutherland from Lindale
March 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not happy

(2.6 / 5)

  I pay a lot of money for the service and they seem to skip actually reading the meter several months which can really hurt if you owe more than their estimated amount.

jon
February 3rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad service

(2.6 / 5)

  I'm not happy with the fact it took 6 months to receive my first bill. I'm even more upset with the fact that my payments were lost. Txu customer service has to be the worst I have ever been subject to, I will never recommend txu.

future ex customer from Houston
August 4th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Online Payment Fee

(2.6 / 5)

  I was unhappy that stream energy charges me a fee to make my payment on line. In this day and age, this kind of thing should be FREE and preferred over standard paper billing. But Stream charges you a fee to make your payments online.

Richard from Houston
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not impressed

(2.4 / 5)

  Ive had them for 3 months now and the only time my bill was under 100.00 was the first month, it seems like it just keeps going up and up. Highly disappointing to a single mom of 4

Shayna from Krum
February 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

First bill was a surprise

(2.4 / 5)

  We were told that our bill would average around $45 each month. Our first bill was $79. The energy we used cost around $45, but we had to pay oncor as well. No one told us we would have to do that. So now we have to adjust our budget and hope that we can keep electricity in our apartment so since we can't pay the cancelation fee.

Mikayla from Grand Prairie
June 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long time customer

(2.4 / 5)

  Billing and customer service is questionable? Not satisfied with either. Wouldn't recommend any of their services.

Quinton Bellah from Irving
October 30th, 2015

Quinton Bellah - Customer service is important to us and we regret that your experience has been unfavorable. We would love to hear more about your experience, please consider sharing details with us at TXUECares@txu.com.

TXU Energy Responds November 16th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never again

(2.4 / 5)

  We signed up with txu when we moved into our new house. We were told free nights was our best bet. What a joke. Our bills were insanely high. I started heat/ac down during the day and tried to only run it during free times. Along with dishes and laundry and baths...anything that uses the water heater. Didn't make any difference in our bills. So we switched to reliant. Our bills are $200 each month!!! A third the amount of txu! And I have just been setting the heat/ac at whatever is most comfortable. Washing and drying clothes and doing dishes and everything the same but not any specific time of day. It was cheaper to pay to cancel our contract with txu and switch. We got our money back in less than 2 months with the much lower bills!

Sara from Magnolia
April 24th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive

(2.4 / 5)

  I was late paying my bill by one freakin day. I havent had service with TXU but for 6 months. I pay my bill in full, just a day late twice. I was shocked to see a $400 deposit attached to my bill last month and even more shocked at the customer service agents who handled my call. I especially liked how they called me a liar when I asked them why they didn't explain to me why no one stated there would be a deposit on accounts under 12 months that were habitually late when I signed up. They said oh , you were told. Um, no I wasn't! I switched to Payless Power and I am completely in love with their customer service.

January from Plano
May 11th, 2014

January Your business is important to us and were sorry to hear that youve switched. Deposits are necessary to protect retail electric providers (REPs) against unpaid accounts. It helps control costs, which benefits all customers by helping keep rates lower. TXU Energy is transparent in regard to disclosing information about when a deposit may be applied to your account and offers payment options to help avoid such fees.

TXU Energy Responds May 15th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High Priced Leader

(2.4 / 5)

  I was being charged 11.5 kwh while the competition has many offers for 7. to 8. kwh . I've called and talked to them and although customer service was nice and polite they have nothing to offer. The company is ripping people off for 33% more then other companies...

jill from Commerce
August 31st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely Expensive!!

(2.4 / 5)

  i lived by myself in a one bedroom apartment. i had two jobs and just came home pretty much to sleep. Lights were never on and air stayed around 72. Light bills were averaging $150. Rate spiked up to a whopping 14c/kwt! Customer service wasnt able to do anything for me. switched to city of austin energy. bills are now $60. If you want overpriced electricity then this is the company for you.

Sally from Austin
October 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU Sucks

(2.4 / 5)

  I have had sooo many probs with this co, where do I start? My electricity bill was never generated for Jan so I received a nice bill for Jan and Feb, yestereday for the amount of $965. I called to switch plans and was told I would be charged another $200 to switch. WTF? I also was told that if they sent a repairman out and there was not a prob with my digital meter, that they would charge me $100 as well. TXU also drafted money out of my checking account 3 days earlier than I had scheduled and would not cover the overdraft fee. So basically TXU sucks!!!

texas chick
February 26th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Huge Rate Increase

(2.4 / 5)

  I changed from Reliant to TXU and I was happy with the rates but they starting calling to enroll me in one of their plans. I didn't like it I wanted to continue without contract and they just increase the rate from around 11 to 17 cents so I decided to cancel the service. They prefer to be looking for new customers instead of keeping the old ones happy. Nobody ever called me to ask why I quit. Bad Business.

Joel from Houston
August 6th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High Prices

(2.3 / 5)

  Service is reliable and billing is accurate, but the rate per KWH is very high. Shop around before making a decision. I selected what was presented as my option at time of my home purchase.

Jason from Pflugerville
February 20th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Simply not competitive anymore

(2.3 / 5)

  I signed up to TXU originally because I was forced to by my builder as part of the home sale. They had a contract with TXU to feed them customers. TXU was fine, the prices were competitve, so I stayed with them.

Two years ago I signed a 2-year fixed rate contract with them, thinking I was a deal. I didn't really do any research and just signed up. Well, 2 years later I have a $298 bill when I could have had a 180 bill with cheaper companies.

I called TXU to see when I could get out of my contract and they tried to sell me on a new plan that was still 5 kw/h more than other companies. They simply couldn't compete. Conventional thought is the overhead for such a large company keeps them from being competitive. Maybe that is true, but I am definitely leaving them.

Every company has online billing now, why should I pay more? Pay 20% more to get a 3% rebate? Doesn't make sense.

Tony Hamilton from Houston
September 8th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The guys went above and beyond!

(2.2 / 5)

  First of all I have to say this was one of the worst experiences ever. I would also like to add that these two gentlemen Rocky Rayos and Cosme Ortega out of Midland Texas went above and beyond for me trying to fix what happened to my electricity and why it took 3 days to get it back on after a mess up from the company. No offense due only to the fact these gentlemen were genuinely concerned and worked diligently to help me in figuring out what was going on and why. In my opinion the customer service was fantastic. The organization and something with dispatching is way off. Me and my two young boys went almost three days without electricity that was suddenly shut off three weeks after starting service. This was due to the wrong meter number as well as the wrong address. If these guys didnt care so much this review would not be good it would be horrible.

Tish Pullen from Midland
July 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

(2.2 / 5)

  Our bill jumped from $303.33 to $607.51, with ZERO change in kWh usage. ZERO! TXU sttaes its an Oncor demand charge increase on out TXU BILL and Oncor states its a TXU issue. In 2 weeks we have spoken to 6 representatives, 1 supervisor, submitted a dispute and no one can explain Nor can they correct the bill. There supposedly is no one who can explain or fix it the issue. The just keep reading the disclaimer about demand charges. We explained in GREAT DETAIL that if they would just pull the invoice history they would see the exact kWh on one bill and compare that it is a $300 diff. The same invoices we will be submitting to TX Public Utility Commission. This easy fix has become such a nightmare. We never had these issues with Reliant at our old location.STAY AWAY FROM TXU

Winnie from Arlington
April 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

READY FOR A CHANGE

(2.2 / 5)

  l"m so fed up with this company issuing large bills every year right after the holidays , as if everyone puts up a Christmas tree and trims their house with lights. Whether it's cold or not, I always notice how the bill increases. It's time for a change, after years and years of being a committed customer. How can a single person, no children, no traffic in & out, but me have a bill that's FOUR HUNDRED and SEVENTY SIX DOLLARS???? Killeen temps don't drop that low. I haven't been robbed like that since they installed the so-called SMART METERS. I realize this is a review no one will ever see, because I noticed, all reviews are to the benefit of the company. It's okay, knowing it's going to grace someone's eyes will be fine. Calling doesn't help because it doesn't help, they stick to their guns. I never pay late, because there are extra charges, but now I actually feel raped!

nmccarrell from Killeen
January 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Looking for a new provider

(2.2 / 5)

  If restaurants and other service providers offered billing plans like you do, we would never go there. You may have a near monopoly in that we need power, but we do not have to tolerate the complexity of your plans. I was looking for a simple comparison for an apartment assuming a fixed use level... I'll go back to another provider who had fewer marbles in their mouth. You wish to show flexibility but it is only complexity.

Schneider from Houston
June 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

they sent me a coupon for a free turkey one thanksgiving...

(2.2 / 5)

  I read between the lines, when I got the coupon...what they were really saying is that ..

I AM A TURKEY...for over paying them every month for electricity!

quite simply my bill went down 50% after I left them!!!!

I have switched first to reliant for a 6.6 teaser rate ( which went to 13+ the 2nd year , another rip off)

Then I went to tri eagle energy ( very satisfied!)...no complaints...8.4 late year and now 9.9...I am sticking with them!
I suggest read these review and check every year...for the best rate...dont become complacent!

Dave from Kingwood
June 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal Runaround

(2.2 / 5)

  My TXU Energy Choice 24 plan ended in June. In trying to figure out which plan to choose for renewal, I called custormer service (sould be customer disservice). I was told the 12 month plan was 7.5 cents per kwh and yhe 24 month plan was 9.8 cents per kwh. As paying about 30% more for 2 years seemed a little high, I chose the 12 month plan.
The confimation I got showed my average rate based on 2000 kwh was 10.7 cents per kwh, so once again I called customer service. I was told that there was no Choice12 plan @ 7.5 cents. I assured the rep that 7.5 was the rate I was told and since I renewed by phone, the rep recorded that conversation. Guess what, the rep then stated, after double checking, that 7.5 was correct, BUT did not include otherchagges, including Oncor's Energy delivery fee. I asked how that fee was calculated and was told that Oncor doesn't disclose that information.That I, of course, doubt. so after 15 minutes of talk when I bought the 12 plan and another 15 niute of trying to explain to me what I bought, I gave up. There is some solace in the facr rhar I only have 11 month to wait to not repeat thissenario with TXUr

Vdub from Dallas
June 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I am disappointed because.....

(2.2 / 5)

  Although they give good service(TXU) they wanted to charge me $200.00 to change my current plan to a cheaper rate!! This is unfair!! We are struggeling as it is and do not need to give the power company MORE of our hard earned money!! As soon as my plan term is up, I'm outta there!!

Deborah from Plano
July 22nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer Experience

(2.1 / 5)

  I was a good customer who never missed a payment. After Ike, there was obviously some bill confusion, so I wanted to cut TXU some slack. They sent me bill that they said was a "usage estimate" because they couldn't get around to read the meters of everyone. The bill seemed high, and when I called they said just pay a portion and that it would be corrected on the next billing cycle. Fast forward to the next billing cycle, and they've charged a late fee, are threatening cancellation. Fantastic. Customer support was terrible, and when I asked to speak to a supervisor was told that it was out of their hands. Do not use!

Andrew from Dallas
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Decent Plans, Ok Sign Up, Terrible Customer Service

(2.1 / 5)

  Decent Plans, Ok Sign Up, Terrible Customer Service

Carlos T. Jenkins from Houston
May 19th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  Said I needed a 50% down payment in order to get an extension lol. Ive never had a disconnection or got an extension in the past and Ive been with them for a year and a half now. I can say that my light bill is cheaper than when I had Direct Energy but their customer service isnt the best. Molena Orellan, a manager, gladly declined my request after I told her what my situation was. I just think they could be a little more understanding is all.

JC1993 from Houston
July 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharged and defrauded by customer service

(2 / 5)

  I just recently cancelled services with TXU, as I was relocating to Fort Benning, GA. After terminating my service, I was issued a final bill for 8 days not covered by the previous billing cycle. TXU claims that I used 1604 kWh in an 8 day period. I have an 8.75kW PV solar panel system. I have never used 1604 kWh of energy in any 30-day cycle since their installation. What is worse is that their website (TXU's own site, not a 3rd party host) states I only used 711 kWh during that 8-day period. While still excessive for what is typical, this more than doubled the bill. I lodged a complaint with TXU who returned a finding that the reading was verified based on historical trends of energy usage at my residence. This logic is absurd as I have never had an electric bill or energy usage like that in the 2 years since my solar panels were installed. This is blatant fraud in an attempt to rob me as I am leaving the state.

N. Early from Killeen
January 23rd, 2017

We understand a member of our team is currently working with you to resolve this issue. If you have any further questions or concerns' please email TXUECares@txu.com.

TXU Energy Responds February 2nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Loosing too many customers

(2 / 5)

  Customer retention is key to profit earnings. I am new to the area and have seen a 200% increase in our bill. I believe in opportunities for you to keep my business but truly your customer service was unremarkable. I am willing to pay a premium for superb service but through my experience and after reading your reviews I have to dissolve our relationship. I hope your executives are reviewing your ratings because I am not sure how long you will be able to sustain your business with these practices.

Terence Kessee from ROWLETT
June 21st, 2014

Terence We strive for customer service excellence and appreciate your feedback. As the #1 choice in Texas for electricity service, TXU Energy has a long-standing history of doing the right things for our customers right when they need it. We value your business and hope that you reconsider your decision. Please email SocialMedia@txu.com and we will be happy to review different options and products to find the one that is best for you.

TXU Energy Responds July 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Highest bills ever since Nov 2013

(2 / 5)

  Our electric bill has been higher than any we've ever received in over 8 years. In November 2013, our bill went from $170 to $525 in February. And what's with the TDU Delivery Charge of $120? This is ridiculous, as we have our thermostat programmed to 65 degrees. I called TXU and of course they said we had more usage during the last 4 months. I've had enough and we're searching for a new provider.

Alexander from DeSoto
February 22nd, 2014

Alexander We apologize for the delayed response, TER has just posted your comment from February. We value you as a customer and are here to help address any concerns or charges you have on your bill. We understand high bills are frustrating and can be caused by a number of different factors, such as billing cycles, utility charges, weather factors and more. Your local Transmission and Distribution Utility (TDU) passes fees directly to all customers- no matter who the provider is- for the cost of maintaining poles, meters and wires (www.txu.com/tducharges). Please let us take a closer look at your account to see how we can help you by contacting us at SocialMedia@txu.com, include your account and contact information. We look forward to hearing from you.

TXU Energy Responds March 19th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam and rip off ( charged a return fee on a debt card ) Really ?

(2 / 5)

  So I just got off the phone with a txu customer service agent to inquire why my scheduled payment had not been posted to my account . As the agent looked up my account she tells me that the payment was denied by the bank and was returned . I said excuse me the money is there . She said no ma'am it is not . She then told me on my new to bill I would have a return check fee . I said ma'am this is my debt card no check has been used . She said well there would be this charge on my next bill due to it being returned .I hung up at this point and went to the bank . I sat down with the banking agent and asked why my txu bull payment was returned . The banking agent then tells me THAT NO txu bill payment had even came through .
I then pull up my txu online account to discover that the scheduled payment had been canceled . I called txu back to give them all of the information that i had to hear that oh well i would still be charged a return checkfee . This is the final straw on top of several other billing problems . I'm gone , we are looking for new electricity providers

LeNae from Fort Worth
December 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

would no longer give 10.2kwh rate after 1 year

(2 / 5)

  Intro price for 2 years was 9.2kwh, then it jumped up as a month to month because we where not aware of any contract! Never had a contract with TXU, and was a customer with them for over 20 years. 4 years ago, I stopped being a customer and changed to Reliant. Next 18 months was a nice low rate, the last 4 months was night mare...15.0kwh with 300-400.00 bills. Next came around a door to door sales woman, with TXU who gave a 9.0kwh we went back to TXU, now in 2013, we have switch again from TXU to StarTex. TXU would not give us the 9.2 rate nor even the 10.2 rate, contact at 10.2 rate was for 1 year, and just expired. Now we have StarTex @ 9.4. we will see how much the difference is shortly.

TWB from Arlington
August 15th, 2013

Were sorry that you have gone and wed love the chance to earn your business again. Prices are always changing for all retailers and low energy rates dont always mean low costs. Youre always welcomed to contact us at 1-866-CALL TXU or by email to SocialMedia@txu.com if you have questions about our plans and services.

TXU Energy Responds September 3rd, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overpriced and now bad service

(2 / 5)

  TXU has always been the go to provider for overpriced electricity. After they were bought out by a hedge fund, they declared war on customer service and hired customer service agents in Guatemala. I was told by an exec a couple years ago that they were ending that arrangement. But TXU is now just another electricity broker out to make a buck now providing bad customer service along with high prices.

RA from Abilene
May 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU is way more expensive than everyone else

(2 / 5)

  Dont believe their lies about cash back, coupons, free nights etc. . They still gouge you and laugh at you by throwing those Papa Johns coupons.
I have been with them from 2003 and never realized how much more I was paying till recently when I went to powertochoose.org and compared.
They not only charge higher KW/hr rate, but their TDU charge and other exotic named line items is a ripoff. You can find more info here http://www.txu.com/residential/customer-care/tdu-delivery-charges.aspx
Their TDU is an extra 2.62 c per KW/h plus a fixed fee of $6.24
I switched to Summer Energy under a 12 month promo plan and I am paying 7.8c per KW/hr plus a base charge of $2.97 ... thats it.
I was going back on TXU bills and every month I was paying $40 - $100 (depending on usage) more with TXU compared to what I would have paid with Summer Energy.
They did call me and sent me $250 debit card to switch back !! They will recover that in the first couple of months of their new 2 yr contract .... I am never going back to TXU.
Check with powertochoose.org and find companies that clearly state what the charges are in the Electricity fact label and dont charge usage based TDU.

babalu from Coppell
August 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

a RIP OFF!

(2 / 5)

  I was a customer with them for 2 years and realized I was getting ripped off at 11.5 cents/kil. I called them to ask about getting a lower rate. Seeing as, I was a loyal customer and always paid on time. They said No. Plain and Simple.

I switched to bounce energy and locked in a week late with them, at 8.8 cents/kil and with a customer service team that really cares to keep you.

TXU called several times after we cancelled service asking us to come back I would ask if they could beat 8.8 (at the time) and they said No. Well, to bad for them.

I paid my final bill over the phone with a rep and not even a day later my credit card was ripped off. I don't know if it was the rep, but I have my questions.

Either way, do not go with TXU, they will rip you off big time!

Go to bounce energy - they have great reviews, and it's true - they are great!

Bethany from Fort Worth
July 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service doesn't know how to explain the bill

(2 / 5)

  I have Month-to-month plan, the same one that I have since my company set up for me when relocated. After huge value on last summer, I called TXU Customer Service to understand how billing works - specially about Gas Surcharge that represented more than 50% of the bill amount.
Customer representatives (more than one attempt) couldn't explain. After asking about other options, they merely could explain what I could read and understand readint their website.
Now, before summer comes, I will try other company.

Felipe from Houston
February 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The biggest rip off I've ever recived 400$ 4 a 2 bed appt!!!

(2 / 5)

  I feel like I'm being totally robbed by the system !! I'm paying over $400 a month for a 900sq apartment my mother owns a 4 bedroom very large home and she pays the same amount every month !! Now I'm very conscious about my energy usage.. i dont turn the ac past 75 in the day and 80 at night ! I keep all my lights off I unplug all unused appliances and yet all year my lowest bill is still $150 I'm so sick of this total control over my wallet I'm actually fearful now that I will be disconnected as I am not able to pay my full bill until the middle of the month ! I was also disconnected in the middle of july and had to wait 2 and a half very hot days with my very small child to have power again. Something needs to change this is crazy in it's worst form and very evil i might add

i hate txu
August 31st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Why TXU should be watched by their customers.

(1.9 / 5)

  I recently had a meter reading that was done incorrectly. We had a ridiclously high bill and when we called to see about it, we were told that someone would come and reread the meter. TXU went on to say that the meter was correctly read, to cover themselves. While it was fixed with a surprisingly lower wattage usage the following month, which surprised the company. We are not the only people that this has happened too. I would not trust any bill that they send you and I would go back and check my bills. If you google how to read a meter, you can verify your readings. If they missread your meter twice, you can demand that they switch to a digital meter. I think that is why they are trying to cover up their mistake. Consumers should be aware!!

Christie Sonnier from Kingwood
September 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions