All 2 Star Reviews

52 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All TXU Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
Our bill jumped from $303.33 to $607.51, with ZERO change in kWh usage. ZERO! TXU sttaes its an Oncor demand charge increase on out TXU BILL and Oncor states its a TXU issue. In 2 weeks we have spoken to 6 representatives, 1 supervisor, submitted a dispute and no one can explain Nor can they correct the bill. There supposedly is no one who can explain or fix it the issue. The just keep reading the disclaimer about demand charges. We explained in GREAT DETAIL that if they would just pull the invoice history they would see the exact kWh on one bill and compare that it is a $300 diff. The same invoices we will be submitting to TX Public Utility Commission. This easy fix has become such a nightmare. We never had these issues with Reliant at our old location.STAY AWAY FROM TXU
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Winnie from Pantego, TX on April 10th, 2019
Not impressed
Ive had them for 3 months now and the only time my bill was under 100.00 was the first month, it seems like it just keeps going up and up. Highly disappointing to a single mom of 4
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shayna from Krum, TX on February 24th, 2019
Don't be fooled
After moving to Texas 18 months ago, this whole electricity business was very confusing. We were used to an electric company that charged one rate that was reasonable, no averages to confuse people, etc. While trying to learn on the fly about all these companies to choose from and all the different rates, we settled on TXU for a 6 month trial to see how it worked out. Overall, we were ok with the price during the 6 months, but when it came time to renew, TXU's prices suddenly doubled. After calling their customer service, we got no where, that's the price, take it or leave it basically. So we left, found a better energy company, but low and behold, TXU kept coming back to us wanting to renew and they offered all these great rates, but we grow weary of companies that play that game, just offer us your best rate right now, bottom line and TXU failed to do that.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dennis from Round Rock, TX on March 10th, 2018
READY FOR A CHANGE
L"m so fed up with this company issuing large bills every year right after the holidays , as if everyone puts up a Christmas tree and trims their house with lights. Whether it's cold or not, I always notice how the bill increases. It's time for a change, after years and years of being a committed customer. How can a single person, no children, no traffic in & out, but me have a bill that's FOUR HUNDRED and SEVENTY SIX DOLLARS???? Killeen temps don't drop that low. I haven't been robbed like that since they installed the so-called SMART METERS. I realize this is a review no one will ever see, because I noticed, all reviews are to the benefit of the company. It's okay, knowing it's going to grace someone's eyes will be fine. Calling doesn't help because it doesn't help, they stick to their guns. I never pay late, because there are extra charges, but now I actually feel raped!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nmccarrell from Killeen, TX on January 26th, 2018
Switch from TXU to another provider efficiency, is economically advantageous, and blissfully easy.
I have had TXU for at least 25+ years. I came to find that the MarketEdge program was not always easy to comprehend and the bills were difficult to interpret. So after 30+ years of service with TXU, I made the decision to switch service providers. I am now with MidAmerican Energy, a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, the company principally the holdings of Warren Buffett. The company is tops in customer service according to the PUC, and the rate is much lower for 1,000 KwH--I am now paying approximately 7.5 cents per KwH.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William W. Cammack from University Place, TX on September 5th, 2017
First bill was a surprise
We were told that our bill would average around $45 each month. Our first bill was $79. The energy we used cost around $45, but we had to pay oncor as well. No one told us we would have to do that. So now we have to adjust our budget and hope that we can keep electricity in our apartment so since we can't pay the cancelation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mikayla from Grand Prairie, TX on June 18th, 2017
Don't believe them.
Customer for decades. Switched from incandescent bulbs to CFL when they first came out. Lowered my bill by a hundred dollars. In this century switched to LEDS raised my bill by $ 150.00 monthly. Quessed meter charges. Made me buy a new $ 90.00 remote meter. Then a years later replaced it with a new remote reader that reads high in there favor. Blamed me even I had Electricians over here to check my euipment. Variable percent charges not converted to real numbers. Additional charges from ONCOR for delivery and line repair monthly.... Failure to properly switch electric discount plans as promised in writing online. Adding 3 percent charges to electric bill to give you a debit card to spend after a year. Looking for a new electric provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Screwed Over Senior Citizen from Lake Worth, TX on March 31st, 2017
Customer Service hangs up on you.
After being asked my account # and details by three different people transferring me, it became a bit frustrating. I simply wanted to know if the account for the house I sold was payed and closed, while my service was transfered to my new home. One gentlemen told me I had cancelation fees. Another gentlemen said I didn't because I transferred. It quickly became confusing and monotonous as my last transfer was a young man. I told him it was a bit reputicious to transfer and continuously ask the same account info and security questions while never answering my simple question. He just hung up on me. I had to call back and get a manager to answer my question. She was kind and helpful, but during the entire conversation, it sounded like a party in the background with coworkers joking and laughing in the background about daily affairs. I didn't say anything because they may hang up agian. I'm going to start shopping for a new provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rob Sutherland from Tyler, TX on March 29th, 2017
Overcharged and defrauded by customer service
I just recently cancelled services with TXU, as I was relocating to Fort Benning, GA. After terminating my service, I was issued a final bill for 8 days not covered by the previous billing cycle. TXU claims that I used 1604 kWh in an 8 day period. I have an 8.75kW PV solar panel system. I have never used 1604 kWh of energy in any 30-day cycle since their installation. What is worse is that their website (TXU's own site, not a 3rd party host) states I only used 711 kWh during that 8-day period. While still excessive for what is typical, this more than doubled the bill. I lodged a complaint with TXU who returned a finding that the reading was verified based on historical trends of energy usage at my residence. This logic is absurd as I have never had an electric bill or energy usage like that in the 2 years since my solar panels were installed. This is blatant fraud in an attempt to rob me as I am leaving the state.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

N. Early from Killeen on January 23rd, 2017
We understand a member of our team is currently working with you to resolve this issue. If you have any further questions or concerns' please email TXUECares@txu.com.
— TXU Energy
Long time customer
Billing and customer service is questionable? Not satisfied with either. Wouldn't recommend any of their services.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Quinton Bellah from Irving on October 30th, 2015
Quinton Bellah - Customer service is important to us and we regret that your experience has been unfavorable. We would love to hear more about your experience, please consider sharing details with us at TXUECares@txu.com.
— TXU Energy


Recommended Electricity Plans