No class when leaving TXU
I selected another provider when my contract ran out through power to choose that was 20%- 25% cheaper. For the three days it took to convert to the other provider, TXU raised my rate by almost 50%. Classless. Lost a potential future customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeff Jarabek from Allen, TX on June 12th, 2020
Billed for disconnect notices?
My bill has been a low $170 all summer and I got a bill in January for $243???? I spoke with customer service and ask why was the bill so high. I am on free nights. I was told that I was charged an additional fee because they sent a disconnect notice?? This is a joke! I can understand charging for an actual disconnect, even though, all they have to do is hit one key on their computer terminal to reconnect but why charge for sending me a notice? And why change $50-$60 ??
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michele from Pearland on January 19th, 2017
Your opinion matters to us. Please email TXUECares@txu.com so we can help.
— TXU Energy
Price Plans
Good service no problems with billing or customer service ,BUT they will not offer me the same contract they offer a new customer even if I have been with TXU for over 34 years now that is not right .There are lots of power vendors with better rates and great reviews for customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddy from Fort Worth on June 29th, 2016
Eddy - We apologize for the inconvenience and we're here to help. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we will contact you right away.
— TXU Energy
Decent
I've been using TXU for almost 3 years now and my only major complaint is that their website is very slow at times.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Waco on May 25th, 2016
Michael - We apologize for the inconvenience and will work to get this issue resolved. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
TXU Free Nights Program Canceled
I made a complaint on this web site back in November 2013 about TXU Energy Free Nights program. I am a solar customer providing energy to the grid in daylight hours. I was being charged for both the energy I consumed in the daylight hours and the energy I delivered back to the grid. I could not get satisfaction from TXU so I complained to the PUC. I sent smartmetertexas.com data to illustrate my issue to the PUC. Smartmetertexas.com data is the actual TDU data from all Texas residents with smart meters. TXU has corrected my bills finally effective 12/24/13. Merry Christmas to me! Interestingly enough the Free Nights program has been canceled as of today 1/8/2014.I suspect I had something to do with that. I think there was something very wrong with the billing on the Free Nights program. Anyway, I analyzed my own data, won my case, and would love to analyze yours too! Contact me at lucihundley@yahoo.com if you would like me to analyze your data for you. TXU will correct it if you have been improperly billed. But you must have data. If you don't know how to get it and analyze it I can do it for you "Feeling" like your bill is too high is not good enough. Data is needed! And I can get it for you! TXU is NOT using TDU data to bill you for Free Nights. They are using algorithms and percentages. But the Electricity Facts Label says they will use the ACTUAL TDU data. You will win your case if you send TXU the real data. And I can get it for you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luci Hundley from Rockwall on January 8th, 2014
Luci- Our Right Time SavingsSM plans (i.e. TXU Energy Free Nights and TXU Energy Free Weekends) are intended to help customers manage how they use electricity and save. Usage data is received in 15 minute intervals from your meter, which is maintained by your Transmission and Distribution Utility. Although these meters are more than 99% accurate, we also refer customers questioning their consumption to smartmetertexas.com as a non-biased comparison. Our TXU Energy Free Nights plan is still available for customers who wish to enroll and feel that they can benefit from the savings offered with this plan.
— TXU Energy
Residence
Overall, satisfied with service, but unable to get answers to questions about promotions, get referred to website, which did not mention the particular promotion I was asking about
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony Diotalevi from Friendswood on August 30th, 2012
Good service and access but too expensive
After 2 years on the TXU Choice 24 plan I am choosing to reduce my costs. TXU does return to the community and that is admirable. Sorry they haven't made it more affordable to keep my business. Farewell.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Bedford on April 11th, 2012
THE VERIZON OF ENERGY
It's my belief that TXU is the Verizon of energy rates. This company does
not really care about giving you the best rate and they will not do anything
to keep you until you cancel and then they call you asking why you left.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary from Euless on March 20th, 2012
For the rich.
If you want electricity for the rich go with TXU. Yes they are great at
mailing me a bill and cashing my checks. But it is 12.8 cents per kWh for
5394 of them. I am switching. By the way, my plan was called TXU Energy
PriceGuarantee 24. The only guarantee I received was to get ripped off for
24 months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dwayne from Grapevine on September 25th, 2011
Pricier than others
Have to save every penny in these down times.
Will gladly pay an early termination fee of $200 to get out of a contract. Even with doing that my money should come back to me in about one and a half months time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JB from Allen on July 10th, 2010







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for TXU Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.5 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.3 of 5.
5 Stars
4%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
12%
 
1 Stars
74%
 
1.3 / 5
Overall
1.3 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
1.5 / 5
Order Experience
1.3 / 5
Customer Service
1.3 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.1 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About TXU Energy

TXU is one of the original incumbent utility providers in Texas that was spun off from their generation assets when Texas deregulated their electricity market in 2002. TXU is one of the largest and most recognized retail electricity providers in Texas and services both residential and commercial customers.

TXU is part of Vistra Energy which also owns Luminant, which specializes in coal and natural gas power generation assets.



All TXU Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
10.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$121 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
24 Month Tiered Rate
24 month
Tiered Rate
11.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$132 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
11.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$126 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
Variable Rate
1 month
Variable Rate
13.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$136 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
14.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$142 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
15.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$155 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month