We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, 4Change Energy, Frontier Utilities and Cirro Energy

TXU was Decent

(3.7 / 5)

  I had TXU energy for awhile, and the service and plans were decent and competitive at the time. However I switched over when I got a better deal from somewhere else.

Matt from Houston
May 2nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

my electric provider

(3.6 / 5)

  I am very pleased with TXU such as rates,service and their very pleasing attitude

robert gonzales from Dallas
August 13th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE VERIZON OF ENERGY

(3.5 / 5)

  It's my belief that TXU is the Verizon of energy rates. This company does
not really care about giving you the best rate and they will not do anything
to keep you until you cancel and then they call you asking why you left.

Gary from Euless
March 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU isn't Bad

(3.5 / 5)

  I switched to TXU energy after having a few bad experiences with Reliant, and since then, I don't really have much room for complaint with TXU. The bills have been lower than when I was with Reliant, and their online bill pay is convenient and easy, so that's a nice benefit as well. Overall, I'd definitely recommend them to others.

Stefan from Houston
June 2nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billed for disconnect notices?

(3.4 / 5)

  My bill has been a low $170 all summer and I got a bill in January for $243???? I spoke with customer service and ask why was the bill so high. I am on free nights. I was told that I was charged an additional fee because they sent a disconnect notice?? This is a joke! I can understand charging for an actual disconnect, even though, all they have to do is hit one key on their computer terminal to reconnect but why charge for sending me a notice? And why change $50-$60 ??

Michele from Pearland
January 19th, 2017

Your opinion matters to us. Please email TXUECares@txu.com so we can help.

TXU Energy Responds February 2nd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU Free Nights Program Canceled

(3.4 / 5)

  I made a complaint on this web site back in November 2013 about TXU Energy Free Nights program. I am a solar customer providing energy to the grid in daylight hours. I was being charged for both the energy I consumed in the daylight hours and the energy I delivered back to the grid. I could not get satisfaction from TXU so I complained to the PUC. I sent smartmetertexas.com data to illustrate my issue to the PUC. Smartmetertexas.com data is the actual TDU data from all Texas residents with smart meters. TXU has corrected my bills finally effective 12/24/13. Merry Christmas to me! Interestingly enough the Free Nights program has been canceled as of today 1/8/2014.I suspect I had something to do with that. I think there was something very wrong with the billing on the Free Nights program. Anyway, I analyzed my own data, won my case, and would love to analyze yours too! Contact me at lucihundley@yahoo.com if you would like me to analyze your data for you. TXU will correct it if you have been improperly billed. But you must have data. If you don't know how to get it and analyze it I can do it for you "Feeling" like your bill is too high is not good enough. Data is needed! And I can get it for you! TXU is NOT using TDU data to bill you for Free Nights. They are using algorithms and percentages. But the Electricity Facts Label says they will use the ACTUAL TDU data. You will win your case if you send TXU the real data. And I can get it for you!

Luci Hundley from Rockwall
January 8th, 2014

Luci- Our Right Time SavingsSM plans (i.e. TXU Energy Free Nights and TXU Energy Free Weekends) are intended to help customers manage how they use electricity and save. Usage data is received in 15 minute intervals from your meter, which is maintained by your Transmission and Distribution Utility. Although these meters are more than 99% accurate, we also refer customers questioning their consumption to smartmetertexas.com as a non-biased comparison. Our TXU Energy Free Nights plan is still available for customers who wish to enroll and feel that they can benefit from the savings offered with this plan.

TXU Energy Responds January 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

residence

(3.4 / 5)

  overall, satisfied with service, but unable to get answers to questions about promotions, get referred to website, which did not mention the particular promotion I was asking about

Tony Diotalevi from Friendswood
August 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service and access but too expensive

(3.4 / 5)

  After 2 years on the TXU Choice 24 plan I am choosing to reduce my costs. TXU does return to the community and that is admirable. Sorry they haven't made it more affordable to keep my business. Farewell.

Mike from Bedford
April 11th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Decent provider

(3.4 / 5)

  I have had a good experience with TXU. Their prices are not always the best, but they have never incorrectly billed me.

Matt from Spring
August 31st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

For the rich.

(3.3 / 5)

  If you want electricity for the rich go with TXU. Yes they are great at
mailing me a bill and cashing my checks. But it is 12.8 cents per kWh for
5394 of them. I am switching. By the way, my plan was called TXU Energy
PriceGuarantee 24. The only guarantee I received was to get ripped off for
24 months.

Dwayne from Grapevine
September 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricier than others

(3.3 / 5)

  Have to save every penny in these down times.
Will gladly pay an early termination fee of $200 to get out of a contract. Even with doing that my money should come back to me in about one and a half months time.

JB from Allen
July 10th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU - Decent

(3.2 / 5)

  I had TXU for a couple years. Things I liked: Price was good and i got a visa card every year with $40-$60 in cash back - that was a nice surprise. Things I did not like - the login to the account management sucks. I like using the same password over. They force you to change to their password system that requires that you use one cap letter. Really a bad user experience. Otherwise - their rates were average.

Brent Schmidt from Fort Worth
May 26th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

price Plans

(3 / 5)

  Good service no problems with billing or customer service ,BUT they will not offer me the same contract they offer a new customer even if I have been with TXU for over 34 years now that is not right .There are lots of power vendors with better rates and great reviews for customer service

Eddy from Fort Worth
June 29th, 2016

Eddy - We apologize for the inconvenience and we're here to help. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we will contact you right away.

TXU Energy Responds July 21st, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Decent

(3 / 5)

  I've been using TXU for almost 3 years now and my only major complaint is that their website is very slow at times.

Michael from Waco
May 25th, 2016

Michael - We apologize for the inconvenience and will work to get this issue resolved. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!

TXU Energy Responds July 20th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

luci

(3 / 5)

  this company is pretty good, people try to help you most of the time

lea from Vernon
February 17th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Oncor - OK

(3 / 5)

  Good deal

Johanes from Dallas
March 10th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions