We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, 4Change Energy, Frontier Utilities and Cirro Energy

Good service

(4.8 / 5)

  I love that my lights are free after 8

Qemiya from Wills Point
December 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great

(4.7 / 5)

  i wish they would discount more for longer term commitments....but love the debit card at the end of the year...125.00 last year!!!

ba
November 15th, 2011

Ba, Thank you for the positive feedback! We currently do offer new plans with longer terms and increasing cash back rewards! Please email us at socialmedia@txu.com to discuss further! Thanks TXU Energy

TXU Energy Responds March 7th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company!

(4.7 / 5)

  Always willing to help with issues and they have been in business longer than
any others, so you know that they are around to stay.

Jeff B. from Prosper
July 10th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company! Easy service.

(4.7 / 5)

  Easy hook up and I can monitor my usage with their online tools.
Never had a problem.

Jerry Kelly from Dallas
March 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Enter Promo Code 34334489 for $50 from TXU energy at www.txu.com/friend

(4.6 / 5)

  I'm currently a new customer to TXU, I haven't had any problems with the electricity company and my bills have been under $100. I live in a 800sqft apartment with my wife, we usually use a good amount of electricity and also never turn off the AC. I would recommend this company to a friend!


The promotional code is entered at www.txu.com/friend when you sign up with TXU.

B from Corpus Christi
February 8th, 2016

B - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thank you for trusting us to power the special moments in your home.

TXU Energy Responds March 10th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What's with all the negative reviews?

(4.6 / 5)

  Before switching to TXU Free Nights, our monthly bills were in the 400 range. After we agreed to switch to TXU Free Nighs and our bill drop to 110 for that month. And it stayed in the 100 range for almost 6 months now. Customer was very generous and informed us of the increase in kwh, cancelation fee, and everything we needed to know about the plan before agreeing to make this change. I'm happy with what I'm paying for and using free electricity is amazing.

Cuong from Houston
November 24th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OK Service

(4.6 / 5)

  Would recommend TXU to anyone. Very professional and their weekly usage report is a big help
in understanding my use profile and the ultimate billing.

Gerald Reynolds from Pantego
June 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(4.6 / 5)

  Super service!!! Minimal disruptions.

Bill Oldright
April 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience

(4.6 / 5)

  I have done business with TXU for many, many years, and I've never had a problem with the electricity service or the customer service. I have stayed with them because I know what I'm getting. The cost may be a little higher than others, but it is also not the highest. Paying a little extra is worth the satisfaction.

Anonymous
August 6th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(4.5 / 5)

  Long track record. Consistantly the best customer service, billing and ease of doing business with. Only negative is that they are consistantly higher priced. I guess you have to pay for quality.

Anonymous
September 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Really great experience

(4.5 / 5)

  I have had quite a few different electric
companies: Direct Energy, Stream, and Relaint. Of
these companies, Reliant was about the only one up
to par with TXU. Direct and Stream were absolutely terrible. Reliant was just expensive.
TXU gave me rewards every year! I am pretty darn
happy.

Whizbang from Houston
June 27th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer for over 5 years

(4.4 / 5)

  I originally came to this website to read reviews about potential companies, because I was looking to lower my bill. I was really shocked with all the negative reviews because I've had an overall good experience with TXU. I've been with the company for over 5 years and I'm only looking to switch, because my bill seems to have increased quite a bit over the years. I noticed that before I was paying a much lower price whereas now my bill stays over 100+ a month even when I'm not using it as much. I think it's just one of those situation where I may need to switch, since most companies give new customers the better rate to win their business, but then forget to reward their loyal customers with those rates to keep their business. However, rate increases and all, TXU has been great and I really hate that I have to switch just to get a lower rate since I'll be a new customer, when I would rather just stay with TXU and be a loyal customer. I would definitely recommend TXU to someone!

MrsWoods from Houston
December 9th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience with TXU

(4.4 / 5)

  I have been a customer for TXU and had the best experiences. The bills were always accurate, topped with the discounts based on usage. The energy dashboard on their website is so useful and lets you know your usage and control you electricity costs. And when I had to disconnect my service because I was moving out of TX, they were so friendly and co-operative and modestly explained the next steps.
Thank you TXU.

Krishna from Houston
October 20th, 2014

Krishna We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear our energy dashboard has been a helpful resource for you. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!

TXU Energy Responds October 30th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU or the cheaper services?

(4.3 / 5)

  I used TXU for 4 years in Terrell. The service was fine. I can think of nothing to complain about.

The billing was fine. Again no complaints.

When I left, they refunded my deposit as they said they would. Again no complaints.

Now I am looking to start electric service at a new place. I am wondering if the companies with cheaper rates are a good idea. But looking at these reviews, it appears that some of these reviews are not by customers but by competitors. This makes it harder to decide if there is an advantage to the cheaper services.

I know TXU and have not a single complaint. I will probably use them again.

William N from Terrell
September 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(4.2 / 5)

  I love Txu I do not see how people say they have a monthly bill of 200 in an apartment. My bill never goes over 70 and I stay with heat or electricity on. I don't really understand the TDU charge seems high but overall I'm happy with my bill. When I called in to renew my plan I did have a little trouble (language barrier) I could not understand everything he was saying and he couldn't understand some words I was saying but we got through it.... If I could change something about TXU it would definitely be to lower what ever that TDU charge is and if you forget to renew before deline they throw you on the most expensive plan.... Overall Satisfied and would recommend to others

Chikyra from Arlington
December 30th, 2015

We appreciate your business Chikyra. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!

TXU Energy Responds February 9th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricey, but Good Service

(4.2 / 5)

  I have been a TXU customer for 10 years (2 years in an apartment and 8 years in a house). I have had absolutely no issues ever with TXU in their customer service, billing or overall service. It is energy plan renewal time for me right now, and I'm doing my research to compare TXU to other companies. While I am tempted to switch to another company based on price, I am reluctant to leave a company that has been quite satisfactory over the years. It saddened me to see all the negative reviews regarding TXU, which prompted me to share my own positive experiences with TXU. It seems that most negative reviews are based on misunderstanding of how billing works - a consumer must consider delivery fees, base fees if minimum usage is not achieved, etc. TXU's customer service has been quite pleasing. I don't have the need to call very often, but I always speak to friendly, helpful associates when I do call. I even remember sending a complimentary e-mail a year ago to recognize an especially helpful associate when renewing into my current energy plan. TXU has been a great company for me, and I would absolutely not think twice about renewing my energy plan with them if their prices were slightly lower.

Brad from Cedar Hill
July 8th, 2014

Brad Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us. We recognize its a highly competitive market out there, and were proud to be the leading provider. Please consider emailing your contact information to SocialMedia@txu.com and we will be more than happy to assist you with renewing your service plan. We value your business and look forward to hearing from you.

TXU Energy Responds July 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service!

(4.2 / 5)

  Very satisfied with TXU energy service and plans.

Virginia from McAllen
July 30th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Excellent

(4.1 / 5)

  I have been a TXU customer for well over 10 years, have watched friends and family jump from one company to another due to better rates and bad customer service, billing issues.

Due to the economy situation, I was needing to find a better rate for electricity. I went to this website and powertochoose.org to do my research. While there are other companies out there that are cheaper, the billing/customer service issues I am reading about do not make me want to change over to a company I am not familiar with.

I decided to call TXU and find out what they would do for a loyal customer as far as lower rate. They didn't go down to the 8.5 cents, but did get a lower rate than was posted. The person who worked with me on the phone was pleasant, helpful and cooperative. I then asked at the end to be transferred to billing and that person was just as pleasant and helpful. I think I made the right decision and would recommend to all! Good luck!

Jana
April 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(4.1 / 5)

  TXU has a program that locks you into a rate for two years. Their billing system needs help. I get a bill 45 days in advance before I even pay the current bill. I've mentioned this to them, but no dice. It's tremendous overlap. Otherwise, I believe they have decent rates. I will also receive a rebate check from them in January for 1% of what I have paid into the system for the previous year.

Rich from Spring
July 13th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

10+ years as satisfied customer

(4 / 5)

  I've been a steady customer of TXU for 10+ years. When I moved my service a few years ago, I used their website and live chat to pick the best plan and make the move. I have always had great results with customer service when I needed them and the service has always been reliable.

put_zel from Hamilton
April 19th, 2016

We appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for trusting TXU Energy to power the special moments in your home.

TXU Energy Responds July 20th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy customer for a long time

(4 / 5)

  So many bad reviews here but I had to chime in and say that I've been a TXU customer for over 10 years and never had any major problems with them. The TDU charges are not a scam like people are saying, they are from the delivery company (Oncor where I live) and are outside the control of TXU - you will get charged that no matter what electric supplier you use. Some of them hide it in their rate, some itemize it like TXU does but call it something else.

They aren't the cheapest around, that's true. But they aren't 33-50% higher like some people are saying. You have to factor all the fees in together with each plan if you're going to compare. I'm paying 9.5c per kwh *including* the TDC charge of 3.15c. That rate is locked in, too. Power is always cheaper in the winter and more expensive in the summer. but with a locked in rate it stays the same no matter what. Sure, I could go to a 3mo plan with someone else and pay 5c or 6c per kwh in the winter, but at the end of the 3 months that rate isn't available anymore and you get stuck with whatever the lowest is at that time... probably more like 12 or 13c depending on the time of year. That's why the long term locked-in plans are always more per kwh. you get to keep that rate in the summer when it really matters. That'll be the same with anyone. Look for the long-term fixed-rate plans, not the 3 month right-now plans or the variable rate ones... or worse the month-to-month plans. Many of those will be cheaper right now but will cost you a lot more in the long run.

All of that said, the one issue I've had with TXU is their automated billing. They can't seem to pick a date. I was billed on the 4th every month for as far back as my online bank statements went. Then suddenly it was the 1st, then again on the 29th in the same month. I can understand a day or two fluctuation but 6 days is a bit much. and two bills in one month, 28 days apart seems ridiculous, especially when my due date didn't change. If they can figure out their autopay system I'll remain a happy customer for a long time.

Anyway don't be fooled by the naysayers. TXU is only slightly higher than the competition and if you feel like they're screwing you over then go somewhere else... but don't expect it to be better on the other side of the fence. If TXU wants a deposit, so will the next company. If someone is offering you a cheap rate in the winter, they won't in the summer. And those pesky TDU charges... every company in Texas charges them, believe that. It's the law that they charge them, they can just call them something else or bury them inside of the rate, but they have to be on the bill. Oncor or whoever your delivery provider is is going to get their money from you whether you realize it or not. Learn to read and understand the electricity facts sheet that every company has to provide by law about every plan they offer. That's where the real breakdown of what you're paying can be found.

Josh from Corinth
December 22nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(4 / 5)

  TXU is pretty decent. Their customer service is also okay.

Myra from Waco
April 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Get What You Pay For

(3.9 / 5)

  I have been with TXU for over 30 years and have paid premium pricing for the privelege. I have always gotten excellent customer service and have always been able to get them at any time I needed to. Since I was one of the first 100 to sign up for automated online billing in the mid 90s - I have never had billing issues. 12 months ago I was finally forced to choose a plan and face the amount I have been paying for my electricity. UGH! yes, it is great service and you do get what you pay for - I pay one of the highest rates (their lowest rate is my selected 10.4 cents a kilowatt hour) and have no issues. I am unhappy that I am not rewarded for loyalty or get any of the other benefits that switching around gives you. $150 gift cards, $25 off your bill, NOTHING HERE!

Ehlmann from Azle
July 11th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions