Home > Read Reviews > Txu Energy

TXU Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for TXU Energy are their customer service, rated at 1.6 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.2 of 5.

TXU Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

TXU Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
Smart Edge 12
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info
TXU Energy Flex Forward
month to month

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info
Free Nights Solar Days 24
24 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info
Free Nights Solar Days 12
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info
TXU Energy Season Pass 12
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info
Saver's Choice 12
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info
Solar Saver 12
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
EFL - more info


509 Reviews for TXU Energy


SATISFIED

(5 / 5)

  i just switched from Direct Energy to TXU Energy after a year of bad service from Direct Energy... just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy he gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Let's see how it goes.

MONICA from Houston
August 25th, 2017

Monica - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thanks for sharing your positive experience.

TXU Energy Responds September 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU Saved me from CIRRO energy nightmare.

(5 / 5)

  I was a customer when it was TU electric. I had never had any reason to change when Cirro had a rep going door to door. Who doesn't want to save money. Well it has been a nightmare that a courtesy call from TXU bailed me out of. We got one of my two meters changed but couldn't get my barn meter changed. TXU called to see what they could do to get my business back. They reduced the rate Cirro gave by 2.4 cents per kWh gave me a $50 gift card and it only took 10 minutes. Thankfully they have ended a nightmare for me. I will remain a loyal customer. When you want to shop rates. Check the out but call your carrier first. They most likely will match or beat the rate. Saves a lot of hassles.

Dianna E. from Slidell
July 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Savings in Texas

(5 / 5)

  The below link will credit you $50 on your first bill with TXU! Great Company, Excellent Customer Service, and the BEST rates I've been able to find. I wish I had switched to TXU earlier and I would have saved a lot of money!

http://www.urefer.com/referral/1878/3495747/s/11

John
December 16th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

easy transition

(5 / 5)

  just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy she gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Been a customer 20 years now.

Willie (Ghost) Lopez from Fort Worth
December 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Free nights are NOT for everyone, UNLESS you make changes to your lifestyle.

(5 / 5)

  People let's be honest and out our feet back on the ground, If you have a busy household with kids and all kinds of activities during the day, than probably TXU free nights it's NOT for you... BUT if you're someone who's not at home during the majority of the day and can make "adjustments" to your lifestyle (do laundry during the night, pump up the AC in the early hours of the mornig to cool down the house for the majority of the day during the summer, than this plan is IDEAL for you...
I signed up for this plan in June 2014 and during the entire summer not a single bill went over $96 per MONTH and now that's fall season my average bill has been $69 a month... Of course you want to make sure your house is well insulated and have the best "enery savings" appliances, bulbs, etc...

THANK YOU TXU, I'l looking fowrard on staying your customer for years to come.

Avieser Trevino from Arlington
December 11th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AMAZING Customer Service & New Rates!!

(5 / 5)

  We just started to check into getting lower rates by comparing online. Our current rates were significantly higher. Through this research I ran across the reviews for TXU who is our provider and has been for 10 years, I was extremely concerned with the very poor reviews. I decided to email the address that TXU used in their review responses. Well my email was sent at 3:00 pm, the first read receipt from TXU was 3:01 pm, TXU employee Elaine Garza ID#XL1L called me at 3:42 pm and was outstanding!! Explained all our options, ran bill comparisons for several periods, explained everything on our bill by line item and how our new bill would look, get our new plan started with our last meter reading even though we were mid cycle etc.etc.etc. I've rarely had exceptional customer service and certainly did not expect it from a huge energy provider but I have to say she provided EXCEPTIONAL customer service!! She got us significantly reduced rates and I will be sure to provide feedback on these once we get our first bill.

Donna from Coppell
September 5th, 2014

Donna Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are glad to hear you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to serving you for many more years to come.

TXU Energy Responds September 29th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stability and honesty!

(5 / 5)

  Had to get off of star Tex since they jacked my rate way up in July. TXU gave
me some stability and now I know what my bill will be next month. Great
company!

Jimmy D. from Allen
August 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

effortless, no hidden charges

(5 / 5)

  I have had a good experience with TXU, cheap, easy, and their electicity is good quality.

Joe from Big Bend
February 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

(5 / 5)

  After deregulation I was one of the first to leave TXU. After using a couple companies, one went out of business, the other increased my rate after a month or two, I got a really good rate with TXU and I know they're not going to go out of business or jack me around. I like being able to pay online. I called customer service on a Sunday one time and they actuall answered the phone. They gave us a thermostat that I can program from my computer at work and I can see how much it's running from work, and adjust the temperature before I go home. That's probably the best part.

Nate from Dallas
March 23rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very happy with them & their professionalism

(5 / 5)

  They offer great rates that you can lock in on. Always professional, customer service seems to be comprised of thoughtful, educated, and friendly individuals who speak clear & proper english.

TB from Cypress
July 3rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(5 / 5)

  I have always received excellent service with TXU. They offer plans you can lock into that gives you a very resonable rate.

Anonymous from Dallas
July 1st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great

(4.7 / 5)

  i wish they would discount more for longer term commitments....but love the debit card at the end of the year...125.00 last year!!!

ba
November 15th, 2011

Ba, Thank you for the positive feedback! We currently do offer new plans with longer terms and increasing cash back rewards! Please email us at socialmedia@txu.com to discuss further! Thanks TXU Energy

TXU Energy Responds March 7th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company!

(4.7 / 5)

  Always willing to help with issues and they have been in business longer than
any others, so you know that they are around to stay.

Jeff B. from Prosper
July 10th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company! Easy service.

(4.7 / 5)

  Easy hook up and I can monitor my usage with their online tools.
Never had a problem.

Jerry Kelly from Dallas
March 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Enter Promo Code 34334489 for $50 from TXU energy at www.txu.com/friend

(4.6 / 5)

  I'm currently a new customer to TXU, I haven't had any problems with the electricity company and my bills have been under $100. I live in a 800sqft apartment with my wife, we usually use a good amount of electricity and also never turn off the AC. I would recommend this company to a friend!


The promotional code is entered at www.txu.com/friend when you sign up with TXU.

B from Corpus Christi
February 8th, 2016

B - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thank you for trusting us to power the special moments in your home.

TXU Energy Responds March 10th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What's with all the negative reviews?

(4.6 / 5)

  Before switching to TXU Free Nights, our monthly bills were in the 400 range. After we agreed to switch to TXU Free Nighs and our bill drop to 110 for that month. And it stayed in the 100 range for almost 6 months now. Customer was very generous and informed us of the increase in kwh, cancelation fee, and everything we needed to know about the plan before agreeing to make this change. I'm happy with what I'm paying for and using free electricity is amazing.

Cuong from Houston
November 24th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OK Service

(4.6 / 5)

  Would recommend TXU to anyone. Very professional and their weekly usage report is a big help
in understanding my use profile and the ultimate billing.

Gerald Reynolds from Pantego
June 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(4.6 / 5)

  Super service!!! Minimal disruptions.

Bill Oldright
April 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience

(4.6 / 5)

  I have done business with TXU for many, many years, and I've never had a problem with the electricity service or the customer service. I have stayed with them because I know what I'm getting. The cost may be a little higher than others, but it is also not the highest. Paying a little extra is worth the satisfaction.

Anonymous
August 6th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU

(4.5 / 5)

  Long track record. Consistantly the best customer service, billing and ease of doing business with. Only negative is that they are consistantly higher priced. I guess you have to pay for quality.

Anonymous
September 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 12-05-2018
Example Bill
loading...