Reviews Overview
The best review categories for V247 Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 3.8 of 5.
5 Stars
41%
 
4 Stars
24%
 
3 Stars
6%
 
2 Stars
6%
 
1 Stars
24%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Douglas

There when you need them. Not
This is no doubt one of thousands of reviews going out over the internet now due to the recent cold front Feb 16, 2021. You can also appreciate my comfort level is pretty low as is the temperature in my home without electricity.

A companies measure is not the problems they have, it is how they handle the problems. V247 is not alone on this one, but did anyone receive any feedback, assurances and other information during our time of need? I know I did not. Recorded messages telling me to call someone else. Maybe they can help or care.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Douglas from The Woodlands, TX on February 16th, 2021


Our Analysis of V247 Power

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great experience
I've had v247 for 2 years ... no issues ... zero problems. Today I renewed for another 2 years :)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric M. from Plano, TX on July 15th, 2020
Great Experience
I switched my service to V247 and I could not be happier. They offered me a better rate and the customer service has great! I am glad I made the move to V247. It was easy to set up. They also send me weekly updates on my energy use and what my projected bill will be for the month. I love this feature!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rochelle L from Houston, TX on November 30th, 2019
Verry Good!
Excellent!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Phong Le from Pasadena, TX on November 29th, 2019
Amazing Service!
I have been a customer for almost a year and we have have never had any issues. I have great rates and we signed a 2-year plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Juan from Burleson, TX on November 28th, 2019
Couldn't be happier
Amazing company. Saving me cold hard cash every month. TXU was ripping me off. Now my rate is locked in for two years. Really making a difference to me being retired and on a fixed income.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

L.D. Loftis from Cooper, TX on November 28th, 2019
Price and services
The best price and services I have known.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim Anh Nguyen from Sugarland, TX on November 28th, 2019
V247 Power is the best!
I love V247 Power. When I needed a new contract 4 months ago, they had the best deals for 12 months and 24 months for apartment dwellers like me, so I signed up for 24 months and relaxed. Their bills are simple and straight forward because all I pay for is the kwh I use that month, and required taxes. No minimums, maximums, or base fees, etc. It was easy to set up my account online, and their website is very easy to navigate to get my paperless bill and balance, and with auto-pay I don't worry about a late payment. I like getting a weekly email with a summary of my usage that week compared to the week before, and it estimates how much my usage and bill will be that month. Very handy. So I get everything I need and more, and I don't need to think about it for 2 years. Home run!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ross Hartley from Houston, TX on November 28th, 2019
Best of all providers!
My last energy provider played a number of games with us- resulting in bills that gobbled up our savings in just 2 months! V247 has proven COMPLETELY different, giving fair rates and making sure that I as a customer am aware of all aspects of their services.
Thank you, V247! You make me glad I switched to you every time I get my monthly statement!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JDMcNichol from Grand Prairi, TX on November 28th, 2019
Very good
Number one
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Quoc Nguyen from Watauga, TX on November 28th, 2019
The Best
Very honest company. Delivers on promise
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Herbert Essih from Mansfield, TX on November 28th, 2019


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Payment missing
Well I got an automated call from them saying that our power was going to be cut off on June 11 this is June 1 I never got to cut it off for nonpayment. We searched Wells Fargo and found the canceled check dated May 22 it cleared the bank on May 29 told them about it. Hopefully this will be settled because the company says they dont have a record of our payment yet it went through the bank. In the last month they changed from the Houston billing office to Dallas. This is the first issue weve had with them but its a serious issue because you know dont want my power turned off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Dickson from Houston, TX on June 1st, 2020
Arlington Resident
I've been a customer with V247 Power for more than 5 years. I am satisfied with V247 Power because of the service and the billing management. I am satisfied, so I have referred a friend to join V247 as a new customer and he also likes it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

QN from White Settlement, TX on November 29th, 2019
Very happy
I have been with V247 Power for over 3 years and very happy with their services and rates. I would love to stay with them forever as long as I am getting good deals
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony B. from Houston, TX on November 28th, 2019
Good overall alternative
Every year I review my rates and shop for better alternatives. I signed with V247 Power in Aug/2019 as they were the best alternative price wise. At first, I was a little hesitant as I had never heard of V247 Power before, but a quick phone call put all my worries to rest. The rep that took my call was very efficient and friendly. She took the time to explain to me how the billing, pricing and sign in processes worked all with a friendly demeanor. Getting my service connected was easy and so far the change has been positive for me.
I recommend V247 Power if you are looking for a no nonsense provider, efficient and worry free process.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Serge from Katy, TX on November 28th, 2019
A good provider
The price is clear , the service is very friendly.Though I am not a native language speaker ,I like this good provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xiang from Sugar Land, TX on November 28th, 2019
Caring Customer Service
I am happy with the customer services team. They are super caring and detailed on the client's need when offered the promotion. Thumbs up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Juliette from Houston, TX on November 28th, 2019
So Far So Good.
I have been with v247 for about a year now and it has come time for my renewals . I haven't had an issue at all with this company , The only time I called in was to complete my renewal .Most communication is done thru email which they are perfect at responding in a timely matter . I was set up for both paper and email billing and never had an issue receiving any of them . They offer a lot of terms and rates and really helped me understand the difference between all inclusive plans and non inclusive plans .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michale from Woodlands on November 18th, 2014
Referring credit is pretty awesome
I love the referring promotional offer that you get
I have been with v247power for almost 1 year and I have never had an issue. Their prices are competitive, the customer service is good . Their referral program helps keep my bills low as well! $25 for each referral, for both you and the person you referred also as a new enrollment they give you a $25 credit too
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lisa from Dallas on October 11th, 2014



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
There when you need them. Not
This is no doubt one of thousands of reviews going out over the internet now due to the recent cold front Feb 16, 2021. You can also appreciate my comfort level is pretty low as is the temperature in my home without electricity.

A companies measure is not the problems they have, it is how they handle the problems. V247 is not alone on this one, but did anyone receive any feedback, assurances and other information during our time of need? I know I did not. Recorded messages telling me to call someone else. Maybe they can help or care.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Douglas from The Woodlands, TX on February 16th, 2021
Great Customer Service
When i called in they assisted me with anything that i had question or inquiry with, the rates are all inclusive and i don't receive any extra fees they have helped me set up my auto pay and account online . Also when i renewed the rates were a little higher than what i started of with but they managed to work some deal with me and i liked it. I highly recommend the company . seems like they are starting off but in a good way. no problems at this moment with the company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christina from Houston on October 11th, 2014



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No Frills, Low rate, Bad service
The rates are great and no service/base fees, but don't expect top notch service. I've always used my bank to pay bills, you can't do that with V247. That's not something they tell you when signing up which can result in a late payment. After confirming with my bank that they tried to send payment, but V247 refused to receive it, I berated thier customer rep until they reversed the late fee. Thier employees sound like they hate life. You have to use thier website to pay bills electronically, so now they get to pay credit card transaction fees and I get cash back. Don't automate anything with them, thier employees sound like they hate life. If you're old enough to remember mailing checks for bills and don't mind monthly paying a bill, you can save a good deal of money with no base fees and a low rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Houston, TX on May 27th, 2020
Auto Billing is not reliable or they allowed someone to change my account
Ive been set up with Auto billing since I signed up with this company over a year ago. I took a risk with a company Ive not heard of before based on info from Texas Electricity.

Today, 12/23/19, I received a voice automated call saying my bill was over due and if not paid ASAP they would turn off my power. Im super upset since I never took my account off auto-billing so there is zero reason this should have happened. I was even able to see that they processed my previous months bill just fine. Ive not made any changes to my account, I would have zero reason to make a change. Regardless, this company was going to turn my power off and disconnect etc with lots of extra fees involved without ever sending out any emails that the bill was over due, or that a change had been made to the account taking it off auto billing or anything.

I called and was told it was changed on 11/19/19. No one with authorization to my account made this change. No email was sent confirming changes were made to the account either. So either my account was hacked, V247 was hacked, or V247 had an internal problem that took my account off of auto bill.

Then to add insult to injury, Helen in customer service wanted to charge my card for two months when only one month was in question. I could give a confirmation number and everything and yet she was going to charge for months already paid. In addition, when she tried to set my account up again for auto bill it wouldnt take. She was able to charge for the missing payment with no issues. But to set up auto billing again there was now a problem, one that caused her to have to delete the card on file and asked me to re-read all my card info to her again. I was even worried this was a way for this person to get my credit card info for non-valid reasons. It was more then worrisome.

I wish I could say that V247 was a safe company, or that they did as good of a job as TXU, but I cant. I know its only been one issue in more than a year. But that one issue could have turned off my power at CHRISTMAS!
Plus it would be a way to charge me extra late fees and disconnect fees on top of everything else.

Now, I still have to wait for Helen/V247 to call me back with what happened to my account. I just know with 100% certainty that I had no reason to make changes to this account and again, I really have to wonder why Helen wanted to charge two months bills when only one was in question.

I dont know whats going on with V247 and their billing department, but I can tell you that they do NOT have enough safety precautions in place for peoples accounts. Things such as sending emails when changes have been made to the account, or how about sending me an email that the account was late before sending me a phone call about disconnecting my account. Based on the due date of 12/15/19-V247 had many days to send me an email. I received nothing, why?

Also, if Im a paperless billing, why does V247 not send emails with the amounts of my bills? If Im not paperless billing, where are my paper bills? It cant be whatever V247 wants, they have to notify customers one way or the other and it doesnt seem thats the case.

My suggestion is to NOT trust this company. They just dont have all the wrinkles of a good business that wants to keep their customers safe completely figured out. And after being with them more then a year, I would think they should.

I will probably change back to TXU even if I have to pay a little more. At least mistakes like the above NEVER happened, EVER in more then a decade of using TXU. And to have a mistake like this happen at Christmas time too. Can you imagine having all your family over for Xmas and your power gets turned off? Or how about your kids going cold all because V247 didnt have enough security measures put in place. Helen/V247 said that the disconnect date wouldnt have been until January but that doesnt mean I believe that, nor does it mean that it gives me any comfort.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E McPherson from North Richland Hills, TX on December 23rd, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Merry Christmas to V247 I guess
Automatic billing failed last night so they went ahead and tack it onto December and blamed it on the meter readers. So now right before Christmas we pay double. Not even a Im sorry for the inconvenience from the representative. Unbelievable garbage.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laythan from Odem, TX on December 7th, 2020
Disappointing
In the midst of the pandemic, I have been working for 4 weeks straight on the frontlines.
I thought I paid my bill online however it did not go through. After a call to V247, they said we had 4 days to pay before turning off our service. Then we get an email that states we have been put on a payment plan which we had not. Not mention the women was very rude and we have never been late on a bill. We were also told that the bank has to send a check and not electronically if we pay online.
So I went in and paid online again, the next day I called and they already had the payment from the day before. I actually got the same rep that my husband had the day before, still rude and argumentative.
It is just a disgrace after what everyone is going through to be treated so poorly for working and saving lives.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed from Odem, TX on April 7th, 2020
Very Poor Customer Service.
If your contract is expired, they didn't email/or call you to renew policy, they just automatically put you in a month to month rates, which doubled what I've been paying for. So they doubled my rates for 3 months, then when I called them, they assumed it was my fault, didn't even trying to help me, but she pushed me away and got off the phone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Double Charged For 3 Months. from Houston, TX on October 17th, 2019
Be Careful Doing Business with V247
After a couple of years having their service, I wanted to renew but instead of having a better rate, it was increased ! I opted to sign with Reliant at a more favorable rate. Initially I signed with V247 on July 5 but called to rescind on May 8. Since it was after hours the office was closed but was able to talk to an operator and left a message for Customer Service indicating my intention. I kept receiving calls from V247 trying to convince me to stay with them, inclusive offering me a better deal than Reliant. When I refused they told me that I will be charged $150.00 for early termination, even though I cancel my service with them. BE CAREFUL WITH THEM.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fernando from Sugarland, TX on July 19th, 2017
Good rates crappy service
2 weeks past due owed 66.00 no written no verbal heads up cut power and being working folks we get home at 7:30-8:00 make the call to v247 and everybody has left for the day.now it is April in houston already hot and rude outside and the power was cut some time around noon so i have a refrigerator and freezer full of meat we have to wait until 8:00 in the morning to get power turned back on.i had mentioned that for my inconvenience could they wave the fees they completely side stepped the question.i repeated the question and she explains the charges.no i understand the charges 53.00.not even close to the 400 dollars i lost in grocery's.so if you want cheep prices and horrific service v247 is for you
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve Wilson from Houston on April 8th, 2015
Billing and Customer Service Issues
I did not receive a bill for several weeks after my service began and was charged late fees. When I called they said that one had been mailed and another one had been mailed a few days earlier. I never got anything but a disconnect notice with added late fees. I had also sent an email prior to calling and received an email response to my complaint that assured me I was set up for eBilling though my email. I finally received an emailed invoice A WEEK AFTER THE DUE DATE! I had sent a random payment a few days earlier just to CYA and it was $40 short. Rack up another late fee. This company is terrible. I have perfect credit and haven't had a late charge in the past decade. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jason from Corpus Christi on June 5th, 2014
Impossible to speak to Billing Department
Well it is impossible to talk to Billing Department or Supervisor to explain to them that my credit card was stole and did not know my bill was not paid since I was out of the country. Requested the insufficient fee be waived and was not able to speak to Billing department to discuss that I was not aware of my problem with my credit card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Norma Lemus from Houston on February 20th, 2014
Worst Choice.
With a same amount of electric using, my bills from V247 are always higher compare to my previous company Green Mountain Energy. I do not recommend this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Houston on November 22nd, 2013



Recommended Electricity Plans