Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Veteran Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.4 of 5.
5 Stars
23%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
65%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Sterling G Leavitt

Why choose an electric company
I made this choice primarily on the idea that they give a little bit back. I have had nothing but great online and phone support the 3 or 4 times I have needed them. Rate wise they are on par & best of all, I got to choose this provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sterling G Leavitt from Round Rock, TX on April 6th, 2021


Our Analysis of Veteran Energy

Community Outreach
4.7 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.1 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
3.8 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
3.3 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Rewards
2.8 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Market Perception
2.4 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Why choose an electric company
I made this choice primarily on the idea that they give a little bit back. I have had nothing but great online and phone support the 3 or 4 times I have needed them. Rate wise they are on par & best of all, I got to choose this provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sterling G Leavitt from Round Rock, TX on April 6th, 2021
Excelent customer service
Every time that i have a questions regarding my invoice or new plans, their customer service has been there for all my questions
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Best Customer Service from Sugar Land, TX on March 31st, 2021
Happy customer
I've had nothing but pleasant experiences with their services. Prices are cheaper than most out there! Great customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harmony Hill Resident from Rowlett, TX on September 1st, 2020
The Best Electric Co
Veterans Energy has been so good to me. Great rates and even better customer service. Need an extension? Dont worry! As long as you keep your promises you can get them. No other light company has ever been as kind. Charlie and co yall are the best!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josie G. from New Summerfield, TX on July 23rd, 2019
Excellent all around
I just renewed my service contract with Veteran Energy. I shopped around a bit but didn't really want to leave Veteran as they have been excellent from the time I signed up a couple of years ago. Today I spoke with Dustin in Customer Care and he helped me come up with the best renewal plan considering the history of my usage. He was excellent!
I've had zero complaints about the company and can't really understand ratings less than (near-) perfect. I love their weekly usage emails. It allows me to see graphically what my usage habits are and make adjustments if I need to. I also like the fact that they give back to Veterans groups. Very satisfied!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cool Tex from Dallas, TX on August 16th, 2018
No Solar System Program
I like Veterans Energy much more than TXU or Reliant. Unfortunately I may have to leave Veterans Energy.

I am currently seeking proposals for installation of solar panels that will provide enough Kwh to meet my current average monthly consumption on an annual basis. The keyword being average, meaning that there would be months that I may consume more Kwh, and some months that I would consume less.

I was greatly disappointed to learn that Veterans Energy does not provide an energy buy-back or a refund Kwh billing credit for (unused) energy created by solar systems that feeds back into the grid. This is also as much surprising as disappointing because Texas is a solar friendly state and most other electric providers do offer some type of program many of them dollar-for-dollar offsets.

I doubt that they could get a program up and running before I proceed with my installation plans (within the next couple of months). That will leave me with a regretful decision of having to ultimately cancel service upon completion of the solar system installation, paying a cancellation fee, and having to seek a provider that does offer a compensation program. But most regretfully I will no longer be their customer and a part of helping veterans.

If anyone from Veterans Energy is reading this, please let me know if you can do something. Veterans Energy a great company and I would really prefer to stay with you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jesmith3 from Killeen, TX on May 7th, 2018
Easy and reasonable
Easy to enroll online, payments were easy to make, no issues with set up, billing and cancellation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KETEX from Houston, TX on October 30th, 2017
Easy to work with
I've been with Veteran Energy for about 7 months now and their pricing kills what I was paying before. Everything was so easily automated to set up and bill/draft - I did it all online quickly and didn't have to call anyone. I'll check the emailed invoice each month to make sure there are no red flags or extra charges and so far things have been perfect. Since I have never had an issue with the actual service or billing I haven't had to deal with their customer service so I can't comment on how that is.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kara T from Westworth, TX on February 13th, 2017
My First Monthly Bill from Veteran Energy

I was anxious to get my first bill from Veteran Energy because it seems that every electricity provider is somewhat different in how the monthly billing statement is presented. I've found most utility bills to be pretty confusing. It seems there are always at least some surprises in the beginning until you figure out all the line items which comprise your total charges.

In other words, it's often hard to fully understand what you signed up for until you've already signed up.

Not so with Veteran Energy.

I happened to use about 1,100 kilowatt hours during my first month's billing cycle which made me automatically entitled to a generous credit under the plan I had signed up for. There were absolutely NO CATCHES WHATSOEVER. The bill was simple, concise, and honest with no "hidden charges" that I wasn't already expecting.

I've already received top-notch customer support from team leader Roberto (ext. 13272) and Lynn (ext. 3276). Roberto originally signed me up after thoughtfully explaining how everything works and Lynn later went over my first bill with me and explained all the different payment options available and helped me set up automatic monthly drafts from my checking account.

She even congratulated me on receiving my credit!

Lynn and Roberto definitely went over and beyond and I'm already spoiled. I wish more companies had such high-caliber professionals providing customer support.

I deeply respect that Veteran Energy makes generous contributions from their own profits to such a large number of wonderful organizations whose sole mission is to help America's veterans.

Because my cousin - Kenneth - was killed in Vietnam in the early 1970's, I chose the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) as my charity of choice.

I believe one would be hard-pressed to find a better electricity provider than Veteran Energy. **==
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike Y. from Ballinger on June 14th, 2016
Truly care about customers
We have been with Veteran energy for about 3 years now. As a Veteran,I have ran into issues with money and needed help. Veteran energy was more than willing to give me that help.
They truly understand the nature of things, sometimes the money isn't there, they give me enough time to get things right with them.
So customer service, too bad I couldn't rate a ten. They would deserve it.
The price point, well here is my example: Family of 6, during the holidays two females and three teens...231.00. Yea, that's a 3 bedroom house with females (no offense ladies) and three teens.
Beat that. I WILL BE A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott Lattin from Whitney on December 16th, 2015


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
An excellently ran company...
...and it shows in the customer service. I just got off the phone with Diamond, who helped me choose and sign up for a new plan. Engaging young man, courteous, very knowledgeable. The weekly emails with my usage is excellent and a nice touch for customers. I've never had a delivery problem with my electricity, nor any billing conflicts. A far more customer-friendly than the company I used before. I highly recommend Veterans Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Washushae from Wylie, TX on April 9th, 2019
Bringing back compassion in customer service!
In a world where many are quick to complain but less likely to praise, my husband and I humbled but the experience with Veteran Energy. We were dealing with a nightmare of a situation with our previous electricity provider where we were left without power in freezing temps for 24 hours. We were unsure where to turn due to an internal error by the previous company. We were stressed, exhausted and frustrated to say the least.

My husband researched and found that Veteran Energy provides a discount to military and veterans. Great bonus first off considering most rates per kWh and hidden fees we were able to find after digging into many of the rate plans found. After contacting them and speaking to Cameron we instantly felt we were in good hands. We had to place a call back at our request and spoke to Marcos and then his supervisor Roberto (for a positive reason). The integrity (yes we are saying this about a utility company), dignity, compassion, patience and dignity shown from start to finish left us truly humbled by our experience. We are truly thankful for the time, attention to detail and quickness of each member of the Veteran Energy team we spoke with. Each one of these representatives from Veteran Energy reminded us of what customer service truly is. They are a great asset to this company and represent the face of the company well. In a world where it seems most companies have forgotten what customer service is it was a breath of fresh air to have this experience with this company.

Thank you to each one of you (Cameron, Marcos & Roberto) for the outstanding customer service we received and for making this such a personable experience! Thank you for restoring the trust and faith we had lost! We are so glad to be a new Veteran Energy customer!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mgngrz3 from Arlington, TX on February 9th, 2018



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
ELECTRIC SERVICE
ALL THINGS SEEM TO BE GOOD WITH VETERAN ENERGY EXCEPT THERE WAY OF BILLING, THEY TOOK OVER ANOTHER ELECTRIC COMPANY WE WERE USING LAST FALL AND WE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 6 MONTHS AND THE DUE DATE HAS BEEN A DIFFERENT DAY EVERY TIME SO IT IS HARD TO MAKE YOUR BUDGET WORK WHEN DUE DATES ARE DIFFERENT EACH MONTH.
OTHER THAN THAT ALL SEEMS TO BE GOOD.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S. WHEELER from Tyler, TX on April 4th, 2021
Great service
Veteran energy offers great service to me and also to our veterans....Very impressed!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lara from Houston on October 13th, 2011



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Beware and Stay Away!
The pricing and service was not bad but their customer service and sales team ended up cheating me by falsely signing me up renewing my contract and then later billing me for breaking of the contract. After 12 months my service was up; I received a sales call and I told them over the phone NO I did not want to renew the contract as I was in the process of moving overseas. Naturally I called to disconnect and I paid the final bill. I left overseas and did not give them a forwarding address because I was done with them. A year later I return to US and go to purchase a Home when all of a sudden I see my credit rating has negative hits on it from Veteran's Energy. They opened up 3 lines each for $348 which took my credit rating down over 150 points. I called and they told me that I had early termination fee which they charged because I renewed the contract and then canceled that same month. I told them I did not renew and then they said they outsource their sales team and cannot verify. They admitted that I was never late on payment nor delinquent on actual services just on the early cancellation fee plus late fees on top of that.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated Traveler from Houston on October 12th, 2016
Horrible Experience
Terrible company. They kept me in the dark about payments and requirements. Customer service was terrible. I spent over an hour on the phone trying to sort out what I needed to do. Worst experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated Customer from Dallas on August 26th, 2016



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

34 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Do not choose Veteran Energy!
We have had Veteran Energy for years now. We renewed a contract called the Nest last year. We were supposed to receive a Nest Thermostat as part of the promotion. It never came. We have called many times. They said the promotion is over and they are sorry. They said they are giving some away and we can enter to win. Absolutely unacceptable!! Who does business this way? They have done nothing to make ot right. We have done everything on our end of the agreement but they have failed to fulfill their end. Shame on them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Carters from Temple, TX on April 12th, 2021
Worst Company (DO NOT CHOOSE THEM)
I have been with Veteran Energy for 3 years until they switched to a new company and/or were bought by someone else. I have called every month WITH PROBLEMS regarding my bill since January when the new company took over with no help. I NEVER needed to call for the previous owner. This month the problem is: It is clearly on my bill a credit due but I was told to pay the full amount (which I did) and the next month statement will display my credit. Now my next bill does not show the credit and it is as simple as a -+ cancel each other out and they do not get it ALTHOUGH it says it on my bill the credit I was due.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lynn Ellis from Richmond, TX on April 8th, 2021
Poor service
I was with Informant Energy and they sold my contract to Veterans. Well my price per kilowatt went up 3 cents then tried to make payment arrangements during the freeze in Texas and they did not make them the agent whom I could barely understand said he put it on my account then I got a disconnect notice so had to borrow money to pay 2 months in full. Can not wait until my contract is up. Very dissatisfied!!?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helen M from Westworth, TX on March 27th, 2021
Poor service
I was with Informant Energy and they sold my contract to Veterans. Well my price per kilowatt went up 3 cents then tried to make payment arrangements during the freeze in Texas and they did not make them the agent whom I could barely understand said he put it on my account then I got a disconnect notice so had to borrow money to pay 2 months in full. Can not wait until my contract is up. Very dissatisfied!!?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helen M from Westworth, TX on March 27th, 2021
Veteran's Energy is not the same
Veteran Energy USA is owned by "Value Brands", sounds like walmart, but walmart is better... since being illegally switched with out warning, or my knowledge, they've harassed me, shut my power off because I was paying the old company (Veteran's Energy US, not USA.. see what they did?). They've confirmed my account is now closed and in good standing, 3 times, but keep coming back and demanding more $ that they say I still owe for back payments, even before they illegally switched my account, and for a bill incurred AFTER I switched to a new reputable company.

This company does not care about customers or veterans, it's a shell company to scam you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disgruntled Texas Vet from Round Rock, TX on March 18th, 2021
Poor billing practice and the rates are Not good.
Double billed
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Moses from Temp, TX on March 16th, 2021
My Contract Cant End Soon Enough
I never had a single issue with Veteran Energy for the 5+ years we were with them, until they switched hands to what can best be described as a joke of a company being run out of someones basement. I, too, was told that they were being bought out but that nothing would change. Except, apparently, everything. Like the billing PO Box, my account number, the fact they no longer accept electronic payment through my bank, their customer service, and their now janky website.

I didnt have a problem until January when I received notice I hadnt paid the bill that cleared my account two weeks prior. The email was so poorly written, that I thought it was a scam letter. I refused to click the link for fear of being hacked and thats when I found out EVERYTHING was different. Their customer service is a joke, and I get the impression they cant have more than a couple customer service people. Ive spoken to the same person EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. And yes, 12 minutes seems to be the max hold time before being dropped. My bank mailed my February payment, and it was set to be received many days before it was due. We then had the polar vortex blow through Texas so understandably my check hadnt cleared. But that didnt stop a company that is supposed to support veterans, in the midst of an energy crisis, unable to check their own mail...from sending me a disconnect notice. Calling is a joke. When I finally reached her she transferred me to some foreign call center...this was an absolute lesson in futility. I called her again, but wasnt able to reach her again until the evening. In the meantime, I received a retraction to my disconnect notice. I wanted to know where in the world my payment was. She said there was no record of it anywhere in their system, and to try back later that week. It cleared my account that night. Yet, she had no clue it was even received. This month I didnt even receive a bill until this morning, March 9th. They seem to come later and later every month. Being concerned about the lack of a bill, I had logged into my account yesterday, to find they had posted it...so I paid it online immediately. I still received a bill today pressuring me to give them my credit card so they can put my account on autopay. The way they run this company is so unprofessional and so lacking in structure, the last thing I would do is give them access to my credit card. Im stuck for another year, but as soon as Im able to Ill be switching companies. What a shame to see a decent company destroyed in a matter of months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dismayed Veterans In Kingwood from Kingwood, TX on March 9th, 2021
Cannot wait until my contract is up!
I have used Veteran Energy for two years & never had any issues. Now, they've been bought out by a company whose website doesn't even function enough to let me use their payment portal. I was on autopay & never had an issue, but now I've received a disconnection notice because the company couldn't be bothered to tell me that autopay is no longer an option. They're trying to charge me $19.95 for a DNP notice fee. I paid by bill of $29.95 to them a couple of weeks ago, but they never credited my account so I don't have a clue where that money went. They're customer service takes an hour to get on the phone, then fails to resolve anything. I am exhausted from dealing with all these issues & cannot wait for my contract to end.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lindsey from Houston, TX on February 28th, 2021
Worst customer service ever
Got hung up on 21 times and noone willing to resolve issues. Can't even speak to a customer service manager. Hold times are like 2hrs plus. Still waiting for a manager to call me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Concerned Client from Keller, TX on February 23rd, 2021
Horrible customer service
Hope everyone who is using this service never has any problem, if not, good luck with their customer service department and their solution!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Baiyu from San Angelo, TX on February 16th, 2021


Recommended Electricity Plans