We currently recommend electricity plans from Iberdrola Texas, Pulse Power, Amigo Energy and Frontier Utilities

Scammers

(1.4 / 5)

  I had same experience as others it crazy my bill went from 150 to over 375 from one year to another for less use at times. ..to quote someone else."once my contract ran out they put me on a monthly plan and increased my total bill amount over 300% for the same usage! Called to see if this was a mistake and was treated very poorly and basically told "that's how it works!" DO NOT RECOMMEND I tried to cancel and they are rude.. and very nasty.

Larry from Los Fresnos
February 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam/security risk

(1.4 / 5)

  I was enrolling with this company and the security is awful emails and hand typed including for your account. Plus when you see all the negative reviews. Stay away. Too bad i already put my social with this people bad mistake i made for not doing my search.

Chris from Arlington
January 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AWFUL Cybersecurity - do not trust them with anything

(2.2 / 5)

  Request a "Forgot my password" - you'll get your real password (not a one-time password) back in plain text. What this means is the encryption is terrible, and your data is at risk. Do not give them your SSN, do not give them your DL, do not give them anything. Their security practices are awful.

Mike from Dallas
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company for electric

(1 / 5)

  Contract price was not cheap. Contract ended and they charged me 30 cents a kw. Complaint answered by billing manager 1100. Nameless responses. Total scam company. Would never ever use again. PUCT sent me a form letter stating their outrageous prices were legal.

not billing manager 1100 from Pearland
November 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of price gouging!

(1 / 5)

  Once my contract ran out they put me on a monthly plan and increased my total bill amount over 300% for the same usage! Called to see if this was a mistake and was treated very poorly and basically told "that's how it works!" DO NOT RECOMMEND

Jimmy from Houston
October 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Con Artists & Liars - Stay Away

(1 / 5)

  My plan expired and they made no attempt to contact me. The very next month, they decided to try and get AS MUCH OF MY MONEY AS THEY COULD before I realized it. They switched me from 4 CENTS per kWh to almost 28 CENTS per kWh. I have a two bedroom place, and my bill was about $770!!!!

Avoid them at all cost. They will take advantage of you the first chance they get. They are leeches. I never write bad reviews (not even on Yelp...), but they are so slimy, I just can't stay quiet and let any of you make the same mistake.

I've never been this ethically disappointed in a company before. Please don't make the mistake of letting them be your 'provider'. Just so ethically disappointing. I'm not one to curse, so I don't even know what else to say.... just a company of disappointing/unethical people.

HoustonGuy from Houston
October 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not adequate disclose

(1.4 / 5)

  Terrible. Not properly informed or disclosed that month-to-month rate would be shockingly high. Almost $0.5 per kWh for two months when I got statements.

Liang from Houston
October 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  We received a $700 bill for the month. We asked to speak to a supervisor no one ever called us back. They take your money quickly, but when you ask them to call you they don't. BE CAREFUL PICKING THIS COMPANY as your electrical company.

Cindy from Harlingen
September 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Phone reps provide inaccurate info about plan!

(1.4 / 5)

  Dont be fooled - phone reps may provide incorrect information about plans and volt will not acknowledge this!! Im now stuck in a plan that Does not work the way the phone rep said it would and was billed much more than the rate cap that was supposed to be in place last month (billed $0.16 per kWh!!). This is probably why volt directs you to their phone number and makes it very easy to find the phone for customer service, but very difficult to find email support this way you will have no proof that you were given different information about a plan over the phone than what actually winds up being on the bill. By the time you receive the bill with a different rate, its too late to resolve it and you could be stuck paying much more than what the phone rep told you even $0.20 or more per kWh!

Im new to Texas, moved from California where I never had a/c so didnt use much electricity, and had no historical electrity usage to even guess at how much my house would use. I read the plan documents and called the volt phone number to ask questions because it was tough to understand some of the documentation. The phone reps are nice and will gladly sign you up for plans... but now Im learning a few months later that the plan I signed up with that supposedly has a rate cap, has actually charged me much more than the rate cap amount. I was changed .16 per kWh on my last bill, higher than the rate cap of .10 per kWh! I specifically asked the phone rep when I called in several months ago about how the rate cap worked and I was told to rest assured that even though the plan rate could fluctuate, it wouldnt go higher than the rate cap. So this seemed like a good plan for me, since I dont know how much electricity my house will use. Well it turns out my last bill charged much more than the rate cap and I still havent gotten any answer from volt as to why! I called in as soon as I could the day after I received my bill with the rate much higher than the rate cap (received my bill Sunday and the soonest customer service could be reached was Monday), another phone rep told me not to worry, that many customers were having the same issue and that billing would get back to me within 24-48 hours to resolve this.

I specifically stated over the phone that my issue was that I had been told the plan would have a rate cap and this would be the maximum that I would be changed per kWh. Now I see that Im being charged much higher than the rate cap and this doesnt line up with what I told when I signed up. I just received a response from billing and billing still has not even addressed my issue with the information I was given over the phone about the plan when I signed up vs. the rate I was just billed last month. Instead billing stated this has been an expensive month for electricity and recommended that I sign up for a different volt plan with a contract. I still cant get correct information about the volt plan that Im on and why my bill does not match what I told about the plan, why is billing also avoiding my question and instead trying to get me to sign a contact??

Also the rate cap went up to $0.20 per kWh for September - which is outrageously high compared to anywhere else in the country! Thats even higher than California and is basically double the historical rate caps for even August/September 2018 and 2017. Of course I was not informed clearly about this increase until my bill on sept 8, customer service was not available to make any changes until sept 9, customer service on sept 9 stated many customers were having issues, didnt answer my question about my previous bill, told me to wait 24-48 hours to hear back from billing and not to worry about the electricity being very expensive right now because billing would be able to fix it all... now Ive heard back from billing late tonight, but billing still did not address my question or resolve my issue, customer service is not available again until tomorrow sept 10, and Im stuck potentially paying volt more than $.20 per kWh for at least two more days after finding out about the huge rate cap increase while I try to deal with their customer service. Maybe this is also on purpose so they can squeeze a few additional days out of you staying with volt and then charge you astronomical rates that are even higher than the already exorbitant rate cap of $0.20 per kWh!!

Buyer beware - I strongly do not recommend volt! Sneaky business practices with phone reps that are very easy to reach and friendly, but will give you incorrect information!! So far Volt is still avoiding my original question about the rate cap both over the phone and no mention at all in the email follow up from billing - also suspicious!

Marki from Fort Worth
September 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is a Scam!!

(1 / 5)

  Run away from this company if you don't want to be ripped off!! Got a bill with a rate of 24.6 cents per kWh and another with a rate of 34.4 cents per kWh.
They pretend that the market is high when the average is below 14 cents...
Please don't get attracted buy their promotional rate. They will get their money back at some point. On top their customer service is just ridiculous. Don't expect a serious exchange with them. At best you'll get an automated email.

ScammedByVolt from Dallas
September 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of time

(1.6 / 5)

  Tried to transfer service on my newly built home. Charges a $400 deposit even if you have perfect credit. Account was created, deposit was accepted and days later I see they want me to email a copy of my state issued ID through insecure email or fax. Folks - don't do this. It's not worth risking identity theft for a few months of cheap electricity. Don't waste your time - Move along.

Kim from Euless
March 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ignorant representatives

(1 / 5)

  One I got a high monthly bill, since then i was more careful about the usage and did not leave any chargers or anything plugged in. Also, changed to LED bulbs, may that did not satisfy VOLT and the next month I was charged almost double. When I talk to representatives all they say is do not change your thermostat. SERIOUSLY! when I began to inquire how my bill was so high this month, they just hung up on me. Initially when you talk to them about getting a service they say 8pm-8am they electricity will be charged 50% less. When I asked them about it they say "it's not 50% you should check on you welcome note". I would never recommend such disastrous service oriented company to anyone.

Merely a new face of scam from Plano
January 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I switched to Volt

(5 / 5)

  I haven't had any problems with this company, employees are helpful & courteous. Very pleased with the all around service, especially paying a lot less for electricity service!!

Satisfied Customer from Fort Worth
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Far Better Than TXU

(4.8 / 5)

  We have been clients of Volt for 2 years and have had no problems except for figuring out what to do with all the extra cash. TXU rode us to death for years and years.

Houston Residential Client from Houston
March 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EXPERIENCE WITH VOLT

(4.8 / 5)

  SATISFIED WITH NO MAJOR PROBLEMS--COUPLE OF MINORS WERE WORKED OUT BUT
WE ARE PLEASED WITH OUR SERVICE

PARIS RESIDENT from Paris
February 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run Away

(1.4 / 5)

  Volt is a scam. Got second bill and paid $1.10 kWh. The block price sticks it to you. Run far far away.

I got screwed from League City
January 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Volt review

(1.8 / 5)

  Theyapplied a $400 deposit against my creddit card despite my high credit score. When I called the number on my credit card to inquire, the number rang to an employee's cell phone who redirected me to another number where a different employee didn't announce his name- just hello and the proceeded to tell me that they routinely do this when they cant verify a credit score. They also hold the deposit until you have paid your last bill and then refund the balance eventually. When i told them that I had been an equifax victim he explained to me a process to get my money back that was ridiculously bureaucratic.

Volt review from Richmond
December 21st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE

(4.6 / 5)

  AS ALWAYS WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING TO CHANGE PROVIDERS YOU HAVE MANY
QUESTIONS--VOLT EMPLOYEES WERE PATIENT & HELPFUL--WE ARE VERY SATISFIED
IN ALL AREAS!!!

VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER from Paris
March 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions