Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Volt EP are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
5%
 
4 Stars
14%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
73%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Satisfied Customer

Glad I switched to Volt
I haven't had any problems with this company, employees are helpful & courteous. Very pleased with the all around service, especially paying a lot less for electricity service!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfied Customer from Fort Worth, TX on June 21st, 2018


Our Analysis of Volt EP

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Glad I switched to Volt
I haven't had any problems with this company, employees are helpful & courteous. Very pleased with the all around service, especially paying a lot less for electricity service!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfied Customer from Fort Worth, TX on June 21st, 2018



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Far Better Than TXU
We have been clients of Volt for 2 years and have had no problems except for figuring out what to do with all the extra cash. TXU rode us to death for years and years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Houston Residential Client from Houston, TX on March 21st, 2018
EXPERIENCE WITH VOLT
SATISFIED WITH NO MAJOR PROBLEMS--COUPLE OF MINORS WERE WORKED OUT BUT
WE ARE PLEASED WITH OUR SERVICE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PARIS RESIDENT from Reno, TX on February 4th, 2018
PERSONAL EXPERIENCE
AS ALWAYS WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING TO CHANGE PROVIDERS YOU HAVE MANY
QUESTIONS--VOLT EMPLOYEES WERE PATIENT & HELPFUL--WE ARE VERY SATISFIED
IN ALL AREAS!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER from Reno, TX on March 31st, 2017



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Day Ahead variable rate plan destroyed me financially
Volt EP hooked me with a good introductory plan and my bills were reliably low and easy to understand. They then discontinued that plan and put me on a "Day Ahead Index" plan, which is a variable rate plan. Everything was good until the polar vortex caused chaos.

After the extended power outage (which was not Volt EP's fault), this plan they put me on raised my rates an astonishing 17,700%. My bill went from a manageable $75ish per month for a single guy in a small, energy efficient apartment.

Now, based on my estimates, it looks like yester alone I consumed $831 worth of power, and $466 the day before.

Volt EP has re-organized their phone systems to explicitly not allow you to speak to a human. You have to leave a voicemail (but that mailbox is full.) You are asked to send an email which doesn't get a response to. You are asked to use the website, which again, does not get a response.

I was willing to give Volt one more chance, if only I was able to speak to a human about this INSANE bill -- I am looking at over $1700!

This is going to destroy me financially. I don't really know what to do anymore. I have found a new provider with a fixed rate. But that doesn't help me after getting screwed over and moved to this plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian Keys from Trophy Club, TX on February 18th, 2021
AWFUL Cybersecurity - do not trust them with anything
Request a "Forgot my password" - you'll get your real password (not a one-time password) back in plain text. What this means is the encryption is terrible, and your data is at risk. Do not give them your SSN, do not give them your DL, do not give them anything. Their security practices are awful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Highland Park, TX on December 9th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

16 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Don't pay late!
I know that late fees exist, but this one is higher than my mortgage. $25 for paying a day late. They charge so many fees it adds up to a very high amount. Again, I know that paying late will get a fee, it's usually around 10 bucks. Wouldn't recommend this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sarah G. from Saginaw, TX on January 26th, 2021
Lied too and still no lights
Live in a apartment complex and they use Volt as their electricity provider. Lights did not go off because of the weather, well, at least not the apartment I live in. Volt came out Friday night working on the power, and ended up cutting everyone's power off so they can fix the other. Came back Saturday, fixed everything but still no lights. When asked when the lights would be back down, they just gave you short, untrue answers. Its Sunday, and we still have no power.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry Resident from 77706 on August 30th, 2020
Very Bad Experience: Do Not Use Volt Electricity
I usually don't take the time to write negative online reviews, but with Volt I'll make an exception. This company bills you for using too little electricity seriously, it appears as a "Usage Charge" on your statement when your total usage is below 500 kWh (because getting charged for NOT using something is now a thing) and they also make it difficult to end your service. Just all-around awful. Do yourself a favor: Do NOT use Volt Electricity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R.C. Kent from Tomball, TX on June 15th, 2020
Scammers
I had same experience as others it crazy my bill went from 150 to over 375 from one year to another for less use at times. ..to quote someone else."once my contract ran out they put me on a monthly plan and increased my total bill amount over 300% for the same usage! Called to see if this was a mistake and was treated very poorly and basically told "that's how it works!" DO NOT RECOMMEND I tried to cancel and they are rude.. and very nasty.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larry from San Benito, TX on February 12th, 2020
Scam/security risk
I was enrolling with this company and the security is awful emails and hand typed including for your account. Plus when you see all the negative reviews. Stay away. Too bad i already put my social with this people bad mistake i made for not doing my search.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Mansfield, TX on January 19th, 2020
Worst company for electric
Contract price was not cheap. Contract ended and they charged me 30 cents a kw. Complaint answered by billing manager 1100. Nameless responses. Total scam company. Would never ever use again. PUCT sent me a form letter stating their outrageous prices were legal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Billing Manager 1100 from Pearland, TX on November 3rd, 2019
Beware of price gouging!
Once my contract ran out they put me on a monthly plan and increased my total bill amount over 300% for the same usage! Called to see if this was a mistake and was treated very poorly and basically told "that's how it works!" DO NOT RECOMMEND
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Houston, TX on October 17th, 2019
Con Artists & Liars - Stay Away
My plan expired and they made no attempt to contact me. The very next month, they decided to try and get AS MUCH OF MY MONEY AS THEY COULD before I realized it. They switched me from 4 CENTS per kWh to almost 28 CENTS per kWh. I have a two bedroom place, and my bill was about $770!!!!

Avoid them at all cost. They will take advantage of you the first chance they get. They are leeches. I never write bad reviews (not even on Yelp...), but they are so slimy, I just can't stay quiet and let any of you make the same mistake.

I've never been this ethically disappointed in a company before. Please don't make the mistake of letting them be your 'provider'. Just so ethically disappointing. I'm not one to curse, so I don't even know what else to say.... just a company of disappointing/unethical people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

HoustonGuy from Houston, TX on October 15th, 2019
Not adequate disclose
Terrible. Not properly informed or disclosed that month-to-month rate would be shockingly high. Almost $0.5 per kWh for two months when I got statements.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Liang from Houston, TX on October 5th, 2019
BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY
We received a $700 bill for the month. We asked to speak to a supervisor no one ever called us back. They take your money quickly, but when you ask them to call you they don't. BE CAREFUL PICKING THIS COMPANY as your electrical company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cindy from Harlingen, TX on September 25th, 2019


Recommended Electricity Plans