We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Pulse Power, Entrust Energy and Champion Energy Services

AWFUL Cybersecurity - do not trust them with anything

(2.2 / 5)

  Request a "Forgot my password" - you'll get your real password (not a one-time password) back in plain text. What this means is the encryption is terrible, and your data is at risk. Do not give them your SSN, do not give them your DL, do not give them anything. Their security practices are awful.

Mike from Dallas
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company for electric

(1 / 5)

  Contract price was not cheap. Contract ended and they charged me 30 cents a kw. Complaint answered by billing manager 1100. Nameless responses. Total scam company. Would never ever use again. PUCT sent me a form letter stating their outrageous prices were legal.

not billing manager 1100 from Pearland
November 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of price gouging!

(1 / 5)

  Once my contract ran out they put me on a monthly plan and increased my total bill amount over 300% for the same usage! Called to see if this was a mistake and was treated very poorly and basically told "that's how it works!" DO NOT RECOMMEND

Jimmy from Houston
October 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Con Artists & Liars - Stay Away

(1 / 5)

  My plan expired and they made no attempt to contact me. The very next month, they decided to try and get AS MUCH OF MY MONEY AS THEY COULD before I realized it. They switched me from 4 CENTS per kWh to almost 28 CENTS per kWh. I have a two bedroom place, and my bill was about $770!!!!

Avoid them at all cost. They will take advantage of you the first chance they get. They are leeches. I never write bad reviews (not even on Yelp...), but they are so slimy, I just can't stay quiet and let any of you make the same mistake.

I've never been this ethically disappointed in a company before. Please don't make the mistake of letting them be your 'provider'. Just so ethically disappointing. I'm not one to curse, so I don't even know what else to say.... just a company of disappointing/unethical people.

HoustonGuy from Houston
October 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not adequate disclose

(1.4 / 5)

  Terrible. Not properly informed or disclosed that month-to-month rate would be shockingly high. Almost $0.5 per kWh for two months when I got statements.

Liang from Houston
October 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  We received a $700 bill for the month. We asked to speak to a supervisor no one ever called us back. They take your money quickly, but when you ask them to call you they don't. BE CAREFUL PICKING THIS COMPANY as your electrical company.

Cindy from Harlingen
September 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of time

(1.6 / 5)

  Tried to transfer service on my newly built home. Charges a $400 deposit even if you have perfect credit. Account was created, deposit was accepted and days later I see they want me to email a copy of my state issued ID through insecure email or fax. Folks - don't do this. It's not worth risking identity theft for a few months of cheap electricity. Don't waste your time - Move along.

Kim from Euless
March 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ignorant representatives

(1 / 5)

  One I got a high monthly bill, since then i was more careful about the usage and did not leave any chargers or anything plugged in. Also, changed to LED bulbs, may that did not satisfy VOLT and the next month I was charged almost double. When I talk to representatives all they say is do not change your thermostat. SERIOUSLY! when I began to inquire how my bill was so high this month, they just hung up on me. Initially when you talk to them about getting a service they say 8pm-8am they electricity will be charged 50% less. When I asked them about it they say "it's not 50% you should check on you welcome note". I would never recommend such disastrous service oriented company to anyone.

Merely a new face of scam from Plano
January 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I switched to Volt

(5 / 5)

  I haven't had any problems with this company, employees are helpful & courteous. Very pleased with the all around service, especially paying a lot less for electricity service!!

Satisfied Customer from Fort Worth
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Far Better Than TXU

(4.8 / 5)

  We have been clients of Volt for 2 years and have had no problems except for figuring out what to do with all the extra cash. TXU rode us to death for years and years.

Houston Residential Client from Houston
March 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EXPERIENCE WITH VOLT

(4.8 / 5)

  SATISFIED WITH NO MAJOR PROBLEMS--COUPLE OF MINORS WERE WORKED OUT BUT
WE ARE PLEASED WITH OUR SERVICE

PARIS RESIDENT from Paris
February 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run Away

(1.4 / 5)

  Volt is a scam. Got second bill and paid $1.10 kWh. The block price sticks it to you. Run far far away.

I got screwed from League City
January 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Volt review

(1.8 / 5)

  Theyapplied a $400 deposit against my creddit card despite my high credit score. When I called the number on my credit card to inquire, the number rang to an employee's cell phone who redirected me to another number where a different employee didn't announce his name- just hello and the proceeded to tell me that they routinely do this when they cant verify a credit score. They also hold the deposit until you have paid your last bill and then refund the balance eventually. When i told them that I had been an equifax victim he explained to me a process to get my money back that was ridiculously bureaucratic.

Volt review from Richmond
December 21st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE

(4.6 / 5)

  AS ALWAYS WHEN YOU ARE LOOKING TO CHANGE PROVIDERS YOU HAVE MANY
QUESTIONS--VOLT EMPLOYEES WERE PATIENT & HELPFUL--WE ARE VERY SATISFIED
IN ALL AREAS!!!

VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER from Paris
March 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions