Reviews Overview
The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
8%
 
4 Stars
10%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
8%
 
1 Stars
75%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from XOOM

STRESS FREE
I have over 15 accounts as a family for the past 3 years now. I like how simple it is to get service with xoom & how easy it is to get a hold of customer service for whatever reason, unlike other companies. OVERALL my bills are decent & there is NO hidden FEES. Pay attention to your BILL! Sometimes going the "CHEAP" route becomes an EXPENSIVE route in the long term.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

XOOM from Houston, TX on March 3rd, 2021


Our Analysis of XOOM Energy

Community Outreach
4.2 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Rewards
3.8 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Plans & Products
3.7 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
3.1 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
2.6 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
1.4 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
STRESS FREE
I have over 15 accounts as a family for the past 3 years now. I like how simple it is to get service with xoom & how easy it is to get a hold of customer service for whatever reason, unlike other companies. OVERALL my bills are decent & there is NO hidden FEES. Pay attention to your BILL! Sometimes going the "CHEAP" route becomes an EXPENSIVE route in the long term.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

XOOM from Houston, TX on March 3rd, 2021
Been a happy and satisfied customer of XOOM Energy since 2015
Been happy and satisfied with the overall service and customer service interaction with Xoom Energy in Texas since being referred to them in 2015. I've continued to recommend them to my family and to several home buyer clients.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin from Frisco, TX on May 19th, 2020
Saticfied
We have been with Xoom Energy for about 4 years and have had no issues we have had great customer service no problems with the billing .Our bills have been between $115 and $200 . I would recomend Xoom energy .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Serena from Troy, TX on June 3rd, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Happy Customer
Ive been with Xoom for 5 years now and havent had any issues at all. My bill has always been what I expected it to be and the customer service is great for the most part. They arent perfect but compared to the other companies Ive used theyve been the best.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie from University Park, TX on January 25th, 2021
Xoom is great
I've been with Xoom almost a year and have had zero issues with them. And the rates are excellent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ed from Webster, TX on March 25th, 2019
Have really enjoyed saving money
This company has made it easy to get electric, have had wonderful customer service experience's and have never in my life paid such a low electric bill!! There are also a lot of rewards, and xtra's you can get just by being a Xoom customer that have also either saved me money or have earned me cash rewards. I get to use 50% solar, and have the lowest fixed rate plan in this entire area. No surprises here, just one happy customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do Your Own Research, I Am Happy With Xoom from Tira, TX on August 2nd, 2017
Not bad
I was with this provider for more than a year. No problems with them. Everything went smoothly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ex-Houston Resident from Houston, TX on February 11th, 2017



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Horrible
I understand people have to pay bills even during hardships but good luck trying to work anything out with this horrible company! We are in the middle of dealing with a pandemic and layoffs, so I called to get a payment arrangement on my bill. They offered me nothing! Just an extra week to pay the whole bill or get disconnected. Then when I review the bill there is over $100 in EXTRA fees. $10 twice for a disconnect notice but I only received one. Late charges twice. No slack at all for things we have no control over. Hell even dropping the $100 in extra stuff would make it easier to pay the bill considering I have paid my bill for over 18 months and am in good standing with the company. My bill steadily increases from $280 to $480 every month but I was duped into signing a 24 month contract "for a better rate"! Horrible company with no care for their customers. Definitely would not recommend. Not even a pandemic will stop them from getting their money on time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christy from Corpus Christi, TX on August 21st, 2020
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE
Had an issue with my electricity. The costumer service rep gave wrong information that cause bigger issue for me. Tried to speak with supervisor and they didn't even bother to take my call. Matter of fact they refuse to take my call. HORRIBLE experience. I would NOT. Recommend this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kenia from Sugarland, TX on July 23rd, 2019
Horrible customer service
I ordered service online and got confirmation that the service will start on the 5th, today is the 9th still no lights. I am getting work done and have hired contractors they go everyday and I am loosing money everyday. I called today and was told they have a system glitch, so why wasn't I informed some kind of communication would have gone a long way. I could have safe money by not sending the contractors out everyday since he 5th. I asked if they can put a rush on it and was told unless I can approve someone will die then no. Worst service ever. I would suggest you directly to a big company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sage from Dallas, TX on April 9th, 2018



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

30 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Diastrous!!!!
You will be duped into signing up with low wattage rates, BEWARE!!! That will be temporary! In a few months, BAM!!! Your light bill will shock you beyond belief. I have 1 month left in my contract and I will be running for my life. If your are looking for a new provider, keep looking. Do not sign up, don't even think about it! Just RUN...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrific Light Bill! from Missouri City, TX on January 8th, 2021
Dissatisfied customer
Xoom Energy double charged me two months in a row n basically blamed me for the outdated website that they have. I had to wait 10 business days to get a refund, never had a late payment n when I called got worst customer service ever...Do not sign up with them the only way they make money is to take money out of ur acct when ur bill has already been paid. They dont give a dayum bout their customers. I switched providers to get better service n tried to get them to waive the $150 cancellation fee but of course they said no because I switched providers but why would I continue to stay with an electric company that steals from me. 2 unauthorized charges got a check sent out for the one in Nov 2020 n waiting on my refund for double payment for Dec 2020 of course it has to be a check, theyre prolly stealing from someone else to pay me....AGAIN...DO NOT USE their service....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dissatisfied Customer from Houston, TX on January 5th, 2021
NEVER use this company
I found out in June that xoom had processing error with my automatic payments. it added up to 6 months payments while i was getting email confirmations that payments processed. my total eventually added up to over $2200 once i finally get a cancellation bill in the mail. I told the company i understand i owe the money and i'd make a payment plan, the company forced me to pay 50% even though it wasnt my issue it wasnt processed, and also put a lock on my account from transferring to another electricity company. after i paid the 50% they put the remaining balance into 6 installments. today (10/20) I called the company which had another system error that showed my balance to be a $1234 credit. If i didnt call to clear this up, it would have gone towards my bill and eventually it would have added up to me owing another significant amount of money. Im extremely frustrated and wanted to report the less than par business practices. after I cleared up my balance to my "real" balance i paid off the remainder and changed to a different company. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED i had to do all of this just to pay my electricity bill. I also reported this to BBB and posting it everywhere I can.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Spencer from Houston, TX on October 20th, 2020
Stay Away!!
From one month to the next my bill doubled. Sorry....nothing we can do. I have been with them for years and obviously something was read wrong. All the summer months are comparable to last year until now and nobody seems to think that is a problem. I was told to call someone else but I pay them so why should I. Not going to stick around anymore. Another lost customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Do It from Mansfield, TX on August 11th, 2020
No happy at all they Charge to much
I was with zoom for 6 years and was happy but now my bill is $110 for electricity and $74,09 just for delivery and I dont recommend this company anymore and never want to pay lots money go with zoom
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Over Charge from The Woodlands, TX on August 5th, 2020
This company is deceptive
Buyer beware. I was supposed to be in a fixed rate plan (Lies) my bill was all over the place I've month it'll be $150 next month its close to $500! The company is not transparent with cost and fees and I was drooped into this garbage by a network marketing companies ACN! This is just a bunch of criminals! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Valencia from The Colony, TX on June 15th, 2020
Ridiculous they made us change everything
I am appalled by Xoom forcing every person that uses their service in Texas to change everything. And they only sent out a simple email that is easily lost with all the trash they send. I will never recommend Xoom to anyone ever again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dianna Hodgson from Dallas, TX on May 15th, 2020
Don't do it!!
The worst criminals out there. Trust me. They WILL RIP YOU OFF. Duplicate charges, No customer service, No answer to E mails, Try calling them...Good luck getting anywhere. How (I'm in Texas) the state utilities commission allows these crooks to do business in the state tells me something is very fishy going on here. Trust me. Look elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't Do It! from San Juan, TX on April 22nd, 2020
Lies and trickery
I was tricked into getting this service. I switched to lower my bill and my bill has steadily increased every month. Now that I have ran into financial hardship due to a loss of income, their only solution is to set up a payment plan that will only further increase my bill in a couple of days. I regret switching and I will be sure to tell everyone to stay away from this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AW from The Woodlands, TX on April 8th, 2020
Horrible Experience
This company abuses customers. Customer service is appalling, when you ask to speak to a supervisor they don't serve you, they ignore the problems of payments. They do not care at all to give a quality service, just seek to charge and more nothing. My electricity consumption tripled unexpectedly because the meter was in poor condition, when they changed the meter, consumption normalized. Even knowing this, both XOOM and TNMP, which is the utility company, proceeded to collect the payment that was incorrect, unfortunately I have to spend my time bringing this company to court and, if possible, bringing this case to the news. Horrible experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Randy Caballero from Texas City, TX on April 4th, 2020


All XOOM Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
11.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$112 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
11.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$112 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
11.4¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$114 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
11.4¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$114 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
11.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$115 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month