XOOM Energy Reviews

XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.

XOOM Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

XOOM Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
SureLock 24 Unbundled
24 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SureLock 36 Unbundled
36 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SureLock 12 Unbundled
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SimpleClean 12
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
RescueLock 12 Unbundled
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info


32 Reviews for XOOM Energy


Been a happy and satisfied customer of XOOM Energy since 2015

(5 / 5)

  Been happy and satisfied with the overall service and customer service interaction with Xoom Energy in Texas since being referred to them in 2015. I've continued to recommend them to my family and to several home buyer clients.

Robin from Frisco
May 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Saticfied

(5 / 5)

  We have been with Xoom Energy for about 4 years and have had no issues we have had great customer service no problems with the billing .Our bills have been between $115 and $200 . I would recomend Xoom energy .

Serena from Troy
June 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Xoom is great

(4.8 / 5)

  I've been with Xoom almost a year and have had zero issues with them. And the rates are excellent.

Ed from Webster
March 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have really enjoyed saving money

(4.6 / 5)

  This company has made it easy to get electric, have had wonderful customer service experience's and have never in my life paid such a low electric bill!! There are also a lot of rewards, and xtra's you can get just by being a Xoom customer that have also either saved me money or have earned me cash rewards. I get to use 50% solar, and have the lowest fixed rate plan in this entire area. No surprises here, just one happy customer.

Do your own research, I am happy with Xoom from Sulphur Springs
August 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not bad

(4.2 / 5)

  I was with this provider for more than a year. No problems with them. Everything went smoothly.

Ex-Houston Resident from Houston
February 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

(2.6 / 5)

  had an issue with my electricity. The costumer service rep gave wrong information that cause bigger issue for me. Tried to speak with supervisor and they didn't even bother to take my call. Matter of fact they refuse to take my call. HORRIBLE experience. I would NOT. Recommend this company

Kenia from Houston
July 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(2 / 5)

  I ordered service online and got confirmation that the service will start on the 5th, today is the 9th still no lights. I am getting work done and have hired contractors they go everyday and I am loosing money everyday. I called today and was told they have a system glitch, so why wasn't I informed some kind of communication would have gone a long way. I could have safe money by not sending the contractors out everyday since he 5th. I asked if they can put a rush on it and was told unless I can approve someone will die then no. Worst service ever. I would suggest you directly to a big company.

Sage from Dallas
April 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad prices

(1.8 / 5)

  Was stationed over in Korea came up for Renewal and I was out in the field and was unable to do so. My mother was staying at the house being the bill while I was in Korea. Her bill went from $70 to $177. Following month 233. Call them to find out what was going on and got locked out of the rate for the yearly renewal. This company is one of the worst companies ever, find a cheaper rate somewhere else.

Ryan from Killeen
October 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies and trickery

(1.6 / 5)

  I was tricked into getting this service. I switched to lower my bill and my bill has steadily increased every month. Now that I have ran into financial hardship due to a loss of income, their only solution is to set up a payment plan that will only further increase my bill in a couple of days. I regret switching and I will be sure to tell everyone to stay away from this company.

AW from Magnolia
April 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over priced

(1.4 / 5)

  Do not use this company!!! Beware of high hidden fees and although the customer service reps are very friendly, this company is a trap. We are a young family trying to save for a home, anywhere we can. We tried to get out of our plan after seeing that Xoom energy charges an energy service fee from Oncor Monthly of 65.00 and it would be 350.00 to close our service with them. Unbelievable!!!!!!

Over priced!!!! from Plano
June 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor, deceptive practice

(1.2 / 5)

  Xoom website is not the most user friendly. I was emailed regarding my account to select my new rate plan and had until 1/21/2020 to make a selection. On 1/21/2020 I switched providers due to the new rates. I was charged a $350 contract termination fee as customer service explained that I had another year left on my contract. A full year but yet they wanted me to select a new plan already. Very misleading to a consumer. Not helpful with customer service as they wanted me to return to get the fee waived. Poor website, poor customer service and DECEPTIVE business practices. Would not and could not recommend!

Concerned Home Owner from Sealy
January 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst company ever

(1.2 / 5)

  They have the worst customer service experience this company needs to be shut down immediately, the representatives and supervisors dont even care or know what they are talking about they have the worst procedures in how they assist in resolving customer issues please shut this company down today

The worst company ever from Houston
August 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is deceptive

(1 / 5)

  Buyer beware. I was supposed to be in a fixed rate plan (Lies) my bill was all over the place I've month it'll be $150 next month its close to $500! The company is not transparent with cost and fees and I was drooped into this garbage by a network marketing companies ACN! This is just a bunch of criminals! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

Valencia from The Colony
June 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculous they made us change everything

(1 / 5)

  I am appalled by Xoom forcing every person that uses their service in Texas to change everything. And they only sent out a simple email that is easily lost with all the trash they send. I will never recommend Xoom to anyone ever again.

Dianna Hodgson from Dallas
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it!!

(1 / 5)

  The worst criminals out there. Trust me. They WILL RIP YOU OFF. Duplicate charges, No customer service, No answer to E mails, Try calling them...Good luck getting anywhere. How (I'm in Texas) the state utilities commission allows these crooks to do business in the state tells me something is very fishy going on here. Trust me. Look elsewhere.

Don't do it! from Pharr
April 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Experience

(1 / 5)

  This company abuses customers. Customer service is appalling, when you ask to speak to a supervisor they don't serve you, they ignore the problems of payments. They do not care at all to give a quality service, just seek to charge and more nothing. My electricity consumption tripled unexpectedly because the meter was in poor condition, when they changed the meter, consumption normalized. Even knowing this, both XOOM and TNMP, which is the utility company, proceeded to collect the payment that was incorrect, unfortunately I have to spend my time bringing this company to court and, if possible, bringing this case to the news. Horrible experience.

Randy Caballero from Dickinson
April 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Company!!!

(1 / 5)

  Moved to Houston and started with Xoom. Started with $.5 kWh and the contract ended and I wasnt aware until I received my bill and it doubled in monthly payments. My kWh is now 17.99 cents and the worst part is that I called in August 2019 to inquire about my high bill and other plans they offered and I got set up for a yearly one at 7.4cents/kWh. I received my bill last month Sept and it was still at the month to month rate and I called. i was assured that the next month would show my new rate and representative confirmed that I had changed it. I open my bill today today for Oct and still high and when I call, there is NO record of me calling in!!!! I have the records on my call log and I am sure that they can listen to the calls. I asked for a manager and they only work from 10am to 7pm. Representatives did NOTHING to make it right and I have to continue to argue with them to have them honor the contract that I agreed to over the phone!!! I am sure they arent going to find my calls or recordings and I highly doubt that management will even take a second look at this.

Chris from Katy
October 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with xoom energy about a year ina. half ago everything was great until my contract ended, which i clearly renewed but according to them they had nothing, they charged me 340 monthly for 2 months for 1500 kilowatts , they dont explain absolutely anything to u when u call them, I called to ask and all their reps are very rude and i had to take it upon myself and read my bill tp
see how bad of a company they are , OVERPRICED, LIARS!!!

mayra from McAllen
October 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst. Wont notify you terms are up

(1 / 5)

  Didnt notify us when term was up and charged .17 for a damn year! The. When called about it... nothing to say. Canceled the service to switch.. they turned everything off right way. The other company needed a day and didnt think it would be that fast. Called back said they couldnt put the power back on for 24-48 hrs. Worst experience Ive ever had with a company. Now in a hotel with a new born and 100s of dollars of food has gone bad since its taken so long. Not to mention all the money that I have over paid.

Jordon G from Houston
October 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst experience with ANY utility company EVER

(1 / 5)

  If I could give y'all NO stars, I would!!!! I signed up for the pre-pay month to month service. I waited 5 days after making a 75$ deposit. My electric was still not on and zoom claim they have not received the payment yet however MoneyGram has sent it and had a confirmation number Port after 5 days I decline their services they told me then it would be a 10-day wait to get a refund for my money and then we're keeping $5 for their services which we never got one kilowatt from them ever it has been over a month and 5 days and I still have not received my money back this is a rip-off and a scam and they kept $75 of my money I sent it to them I never receive services and I never got a refund or a call back or I'm sorry for that matter worst experience ever customer service they give you a run around they don't give you a straight answer and they've never given my money back

Worst experience EVER!!! from Highlands
October 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...