Home > Read Reviews > Xoom Energy

XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 2.1 of 5.

XOOM Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

XOOM Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
SureLock 24 Unbundled
24 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SureLock 36 Unbundled
36 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SimpleClean 12
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SureLock 12 Unbundled
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
RescueLock 12 Unbundled
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
SimpleFlex Pre-Pay
This is a Pre-Paid plan
Minimum Upfront Payment: $0
month to month

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info


13 Reviews for XOOM Energy


Have really enjoyed saving money

(4.6 / 5)

  This company has made it easy to get electric, have had wonderful customer service experience's and have never in my life paid such a low electric bill!! There are also a lot of rewards, and xtra's you can get just by being a Xoom customer that have also either saved me money or have earned me cash rewards. I get to use 50% solar, and have the lowest fixed rate plan in this entire area. No surprises here, just one happy customer.

Do your own research, I am happy with Xoom from Sulphur Springs
August 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not bad

(4.2 / 5)

  I was with this provider for more than a year. No problems with them. Everything went smoothly.

Ex-Houston Resident from Houston
February 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(2 / 5)

  I ordered service online and got confirmation that the service will start on the 5th, today is the 9th still no lights. I am getting work done and have hired contractors they go everyday and I am loosing money everyday. I called today and was told they have a system glitch, so why wasn't I informed some kind of communication would have gone a long way. I could have safe money by not sending the contractors out everyday since he 5th. I asked if they can put a rush on it and was told unless I can approve someone will die then no. Worst service ever. I would suggest you directly to a big company.

Sage from Dallas
April 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad prices

(1.8 / 5)

  Was stationed over in Korea came up for Renewal and I was out in the field and was unable to do so. My mother was staying at the house being the bill while I was in Korea. Her bill went from $70 to $177. Following month 233. Call them to find out what was going on and got locked out of the rate for the yearly renewal. This company is one of the worst companies ever, find a cheaper rate somewhere else.

Ryan from Killeen
October 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over priced

(1.4 / 5)

  Do not use this company!!! Beware of high hidden fees and although the customer service reps are very friendly, this company is a trap. We are a young family trying to save for a home, anywhere we can. We tried to get out of our plan after seeing that Xoom energy charges an energy service fee from Oncor Monthly of 65.00 and it would be 350.00 to close our service with them. Unbelievable!!!!!!

Over priced!!!! from Plano
June 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAD MANAGEMENT

(1 / 5)

  I've been with Xoom Energy since around "2014" - I was told to call them every summer to keep my rate's down - So I called them in May - was told it was to early to call back later - I called in September and locked it in at that time not realizing that my next bill was going to be at 0.171 KWh - they of course didn't bother telling me that. I open my bill for this month and it was $600 dollars!! I called them and spoke with Dario who said he didn't have any record of me calling in May - that I was between billing cycles and it would go down next month - I asked to speak to a manager, he said a manager can't do anything for you until she listens to my past calls - I insisted on speaking to a manager - She said she saw where I called twice re my rates but since they told me to call back on another day she couldn't do anything for me(she chose not to) I don't feel like I should have to call and chase down locking my rates in - Once should be efficient - She was passive aggressive, didn't even try to work anything out with me. I NO LONGER am with XOOM ENERGY and I highly don't recommend them. They lie and don't care about customer service.

Cherie Santos from Spring
October 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Xoom wont release switch hold

(1 / 5)

  Last year, I got behind on my Xoom Energy bill due to the fact that I was placed on a month to month plan without being notified of the change by Xoom, I received a bill for $600 and decided to go ahead and set up a payment arrangement with them to get the entire bill paid off due to being on a fixed income and not having much money come in for the month. I have been consistently in the hold with Xoom because Ive been still paying $300+ dollar bills for every 2 weeks because I was placed on a variable plan once again. The company wont let me out for this very reason, Ive spoken with managers and they have been unwilling to help, this has grown to be a very frustrating experience with them and soon as this past due balance is paid off Im done

Donald from Missouri City
September 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Xoom energy sucks

(1 / 5)

  There are know words to say about this company it's a scam I never get a bill from them but they don't mind sending me late notices every month there trying to make me late fees on top of my bill this asswhole named Justin told me it was a problem really reporting them to the BBB

Xoom sucks from Tomball
September 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  I went through an out salesman to get electricity. I was promised to have deposit waived, just email the salemam my DL in which I've done. Not only did I do everything asked. They gave me false hope by telling me someone will email/call to start my service... NO CALLS or EMAILS. Reached out to xoom for status...NO ONE HAD ONE FOR ME, had to send status update to another dept and was advised to call back in a few days. Called back a week later was given an acct # to make my deposit and what do you know, DIDNT WORK. Once again, I reached out to the salesman and xoom energy regarding to the issue. Rep named Diego told me to give 10 mins and try again...DIDN'T WORK. Spoke to another rep right after and was told to reenroll..ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME. So not only was I lied about having deposit waived. I lost the lowest rate that was given and now I have to reenroll. NEVER AGAIN. ABSOLUTELY THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE Ive ever got. I will not recommend them to anyone.

Vote2018 from Addison
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!!!

(1 / 5)

  I am very displeased with the service at XOOM Energy. I was a loyal customer for 2 years and I would never recommend this company to anyone. All I have gotten was the run around from every service rep and manager working there. This company is horrible to customers and they rape you with charges. If I could rate this company a 0 I would.

Katherine from Houston
March 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for this due to low rate then surprisingly my bill still comes out high in which it equals to the energy rate due to the hidden charges, most probably those small fine prints that only the Xoom Executive would understand. The previous company never charge me those things.

emely from Richmond
October 16th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible stay away

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with zoom energy the mid of July. I have already canceled my service with zoom and went back to 4 change because of hidden fees I wasnt aware of. Even the manager Erica said it was my responibility to pay the early termination fee even though when I set up service I called and the gentlemen walked me though the set up and never mentioned the fees. I'm now stuck with a $200 electric bill and a $200 termination fee all for trying to do what was best for my family. We usually only pay 120 at most for our bill so this is a huge slap in the face. Management (Erica and Stephanie) have been unwilling to help my family out and are definitely not management material.

Chanel Derr from Flint
August 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

deceptive advertising

(1 / 5)

  XOOM advertises low electric rates but does not disclose that they charge numerous additional fees that make their electrical rates higher than their competition. I like so many switch in good faith to find out that they have been swindled by deceptive advertising. The Texas Attorney General should be notified of these illegal and deceptive practices.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

Richard Newton from Corpus Christi
January 21st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 12-13-2018
Example Bill
loading...