We currently recommend electricity plans from Chariot Energy, Constellation and TriEagle Energy

They may be good upfront, but buyer beware!

(1.8 / 5)

  I've used YEP Energy for years. Their rates started out a competitive prices. You just can't allow your contract to expire. They DOUBLE if not TRIPLE the cost per KW if no contract signed even for lecacy customers. To receive a bill for approx. $665 for ONE month, 2 person, 2500 sq ft. household is INSANE! Yes they did call to remind me of the expiring contract but I was in hospital and not paying attention to messages. But you would think as a long-time customer they would have worked with me. I paid it and paid it timely via auto-pay BUT you bet I have cancelled their service and will NEVER return hopefully. I'm glad I have a choice in electric providers. This was an assault! Don't put yourself in the position I was in.

Rated Customer Service low because when you call (which rarely did), their reps are all monotone, not cheerful, you feel like you're a bother to them. Resist paying this kind of money for this type of service, no. Note it wasn't the nice person I last spoke to when I got this bill which I just knew had to be a mistake. If it were here on the phone in prior years when called, they would have rec'd a 5.

YEP you should have a much lower Temporary rate for customers who are legacy but contract expires and they haven't yet reached out. Could be legit reasons WHY. Your loss and apparently I lost for a month but lesson learned. I sent at least a dozen referrals to you. Contacted ALL of them and shared this experience. Trust you will lose more with this type of unwarranted treatment of your good customers.

Linda B from Dallas
July 29th, 2020

YEP Energy takes pride in offering low fixed price rates to our customer's, however if we are not able to speak to our customers when their current contact is expiring then YEP must arrange for power on their behalf on a month to month basis. During peak months the month to month price can be more expensive.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. If you would like to discuss your account and billing please contact our Customer Care team at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

Y.E.P. Responds August 25th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Much better than listed.

(5 / 5)

  I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.

BIL from Houston
July 2nd, 2020

Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.

Y.E.P. Responds July 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Experience

(1.2 / 5)

  Had a horrible experience right after signing up for electricity through YEP. 1 week after signing up, we came home to no electricity due to erroneous move out order. Out of power the entire weekend. Mistakes happen, but the customer service was horrible when I called the next week and argued with me that I owed connection fee still due to they tried to contact us to confirm details on our fraudulent appearing account prior to shutting off energy, but it was a non-working number and then that we just didnt pick up. This is not true. So frustrated. Very unreasonable people at this company.

Alyssa from Houston
January 15th, 2020

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with YEP Energy. YEP strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). Please contact our Customer Care department at 866.937.5937 so we may assist with resolving any outstanding issue.

Y.E.P. Responds February 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging

(1 / 5)

  Price gouging- BEWARE
0 Stars
Correspondence fee: $9.95
Payment Processing fee: $15.15 (New charge 09/2019 bill)
Also, somehow my bill went up by $150.00 this month to $331. There are only two people in the house and we are gone all day since school has started. I do not know how the bill could go up by this much in a month.

LLM from Keller
October 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Added fees; exorbitant prices

(1.4 / 5)

  I had to obtain service for 3 months which caused higher pricing. However, not only did they gouge with higher per kWh rates but added fees (a $10 monthly fee, $4.22 payment fee) plus added taxes & regulatory fees common to other sources.

Added Fees from Irving
October 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Texas Based Company with Great Customer Service!!!

(5 / 5)

  As more and more companies come into the Texas market, it is nice to know that YEP is based in Houston and they do not charge you for calling customer service, as many other providers do. I have been with YEP for years and renewing is my easiest task each year.

Charles from Houston
June 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run as fast as you can

(0 / 5)

  As many other reviewers have mentioned, YEP Energy advertises low rates per kwH. However, they bill you for administrative fees that amount to more than the electric bill, and then they "claim" there is a gigantic termination fee, and that they will report you to the credit bureau if you don't pay them everything they "claim" you owe them. Also, as others mentioned, they draft your bank account before they send you the bill, and it is almost impossible to decipher what they are charging you for.

Jon from Katy
June 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stuff they don't make clear up front

(2.2 / 5)

  Yes, auto-pay is an option, but if you don't choose it, you get charged a percentage of the bill. Since I HATE auto-pay, I decided to change companies. Lo and behold, a $9.95 undescribed charge on the last billing. Decided to forget about it and be glad we're gone!

ELD from Fort Worth
April 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Houstonian

(0 / 5)

  YEP Energy is a SCAM. They have a ton of hidden fees that they don't tell you about. There is no way to escalate complaints, and they will add fees for you calling to complain! I told them their fees were unacceptable since I did not agree to them, so they disconnected my service, and sent me 2 (not 1) bills for disconnection fees; one for the current month, and one of for the next month. Then, I got an additional bill for electric service for 3 months. I called to dispute those bills (since I was already with another provider during those periods), and they said that they could not remove those charges!!!!

How has this company not been shut-down by the state?

Houstonian from Houston
July 23rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switching immediately

(1.4 / 5)

  Prices are fine,although we receive tempting offers to switch all the time, we hadn't had any issues and didn't want to deal with the hassle of switching. Until today.

Today,on a Monday morning at 7 am when I was about to make my coffee and get ready for work, our power was shut off. We checked the account online, and same as every month, the payment had been successfully charged to the credit card and nothing was past due. When we called,they had our account listed as past due, and the lady said we couldn't talk to someone about it until 830 because that's when they officially "open."

Caled back at 830 (awesome, we're both now late for work and sweating our butts off), the lady told us it was just a "system error" and it would be back on "shortly." No apology or offer to compensate for the extreme inconvenience and time missed from work due to a major error on their part.

Prices not the best out there, customer service is bad, system is obviously glitchy. Unreliable service. We're switching to another service today.

Krissy from Arlington
June 15th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Read the EFL!!!!

(2.6 / 5)

  I hate this company!!!!! They are thieves! No customer loyalty! Charge you extra to pay your own bill, or give them your banking information and have their system draft you within a few of your bill being created. If by mail you'll never know the amount drafted and their cheap online services are rarely running as properly. Spoke to 2 or 3 different agents and they are rude and complete idiots. I have received an agent named reine and been lucky to have had him twice now that company needs more of him or he needs a new company. Request to speak to him any time you call!!! I renewed do to his time to explain things clearly, proper communication. Won't be renewing twice though. In overall not a good energy company and there is better out there for your buck. Happy Shopping!

A. Fuller from Dallas
February 23rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run as fast as you can

(1 / 5)

  Horrible customer service, over billed amounts, and by far the worst provider I have dealt with in all my life. Made an agreement with them to pay $59 (that was not owed to them), paid the amount 2 days early and they disconnected my service. My bill actually reflected a credit. I will definitely end my contract with the prompto. You get what you pay for.

Buckley from Fort Worth
February 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bizarre billing practice

(0 / 5)

  I have been a customer for 10 months. Finally had enough of the billing. Spent 2 hours on phone with them to stop sending fraudulent "Notice of Termination". They told me the notices went out every month because I have a solar panel and they did not know. I said PGE and I could have given you that info at any time. Even after getting info, they said they could not fix their system. I guess only a class action lawsuit may be able for them to get off there butts and stop harrassing paying customers. Oh well, at least I can cancel contract free of any further fees. Look around for better service, many good ones out there.

cliff knudson from San Jose
December 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst ever

(1 / 5)

  Very deceptive and lots of hidden costs. Customer service never helps you with issues and refuses to escalate.

Yuetong Shen from Houston
September 18th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good

(4.8 / 5)

  I've had YEP for about four years. Except for the fact that they terminated their 1/2 cent discount for credit card paying, they've been very good. Good rates, too.

George Cortes from Bedford
June 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do yourself a favor and find another company

(1.8 / 5)

  I had YEP energy for a couple of years and for the most part everything seemed to be OK. Their plans and pricing was competitive. The account was for a property that I was trying to sell so my usage was very low. I noticed that my bill jumped one month and when I went to investigate I found that they hit me with a disconnect/reconnect fee. When I called to discuss why that was I was told that they had every right to charge me that fee if I did not pay within 26 days of the invoice date. Keep in mind this has never been an issue before. When I paid the fee and decided to move on they re-issued another disconnect/reconnect fee for a 7 day period. These guys are crooks. Do yourself a favor and find another company. They will do everything within their power to inflate your bill with charges that are not warranted.

MMM from Angleton
April 9th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Company

(4.8 / 5)

  Reading through all the reviews on different companies, you find a lot of negative, so I felt some positive was in order here. I have been with YEP for 4 Years, and I'm on my 2nd renewal. They have good rates (always competitive), acceptable customer service, no fee surprises, and they don't require constant bill monitoring if you use eBill. I talk to them every 2 tears and I'm set. No problems here.

KH from Shady Shores
January 23rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

3 years running so far

(5 / 5)

  I've been with YEP now for 3 years running and about to have to renew again. I like to do 100% renewable energy plans (and yes I know that's a relative term, but the more people that get on board the more/better it gets, and we all have to start somewhere so it's worth the extra cent or two per kwh to me to start) and they have typically had one of the best renewable for 12 mo auto pay plans out there if not THE best. I've always been able to see my usage and billing info online (I prefer paperless) and never had ANY issues. I put 5 stars for customer service because the only contact I've had with them is when I renew each year and they typically offer me a better rate than their going plan because I'm an existing customer. I don't get marketing calls or other material emailed to me. It's almost out of site out of mind except for the monthly email I get letting me know my bill is ready to view (autopay).

Barrett from Houston
January 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No major issues for 12 months

(4 / 5)

  We've had YEP for about a year as they had the cheapest fixed rate contracts, for our area for our kwh, many do not realize that most companies charge MORE per KWH if you use less than 1000 per month, we average at 500, we're only switching because our contract ends in Oct and I've discovered most the major companies start offering lower rates in the fall...

Stephanie from Houston
October 8th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitive pricing for new customers

(3.6 / 5)

  When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere.

Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.

Thomas from Plano
October 2nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions