Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for high-usage months
  • Save money this summer
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    23.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    22.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    17.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    19.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    22.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Y.E.P. are their billing & account management system, with an average of 2.8 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.3 stars.

    Recent Good Review from BIL

    Much better than listed.
    I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
    Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
    — Y.E.P.


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Much better than listed.
    I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
    Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
    — Y.E.P.
    Texas Based Company with Great Customer Service!!!
    As more and more companies come into the Texas market, it is nice to know that YEP is based in Houston and they do not charge you for calling customer service, as many other providers do. I have been with YEP for years and renewing is my easiest task each year.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Charles from Houston on June 30th, 2016
    3 years running so far
    I've been with YEP now for 3 years running and about to have to renew again. I like to do 100% renewable energy plans (and yes I know that's a relative term, but the more people that get on board the more/better it gets, and we all have to start somewhere so it's worth the extra cent or two per kwh to me to start) and they have typically had one of the best renewable for 12 mo auto pay plans out there if not THE best. I've always been able to see my usage and billing info online (I prefer paperless) and never had ANY issues. I put 5 stars for customer service because the only contact I've had with them is when I renew each year and they typically offer me a better rate than their going plan because I'm an existing customer. I don't get marketing calls or other material emailed to me. It's almost out of site out of mind except for the monthly email I get letting me know my bill is ready to view (autopay).
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Barrett from Houston on January 8th, 2014
    YEP
    Yep has been o good quality REP in this past year, and I would recommend their services.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Layne from Irving on August 14th, 2013
    LOVE THEM!
    We switched from Txu about 3 years ago to Yep, and I have never been happier! The service is great(if we ever have problems- only had 1 issue in the beginning) and great prices! We have moved twice, and kept Yep! Love them!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cameron M. from Dallas on July 12th, 2012
    Great affordable service
    We love this service, it is cheap with no problems
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mary from Temple on January 10th, 2011



    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Very good
    I've had YEP for about four years. Except for the fact that they terminated their 1/2 cent discount for credit card paying, they've been very good. Good rates, too.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    George Cortes from Bedford on June 8th, 2014
    Good Company
    Reading through all the reviews on different companies, you find a lot of negative, so I felt some positive was in order here. I have been with YEP for 4 Years, and I'm on my 2nd renewal. They have good rates (always competitive), acceptable customer service, no fee surprises, and they don't require constant bill monitoring if you use eBill. I talk to them every 2 tears and I'm set. No problems here.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    KH from Shady Shores on January 23rd, 2014
    No major issues for 12 months
    We've had YEP for about a year as they had the cheapest fixed rate contracts, for our area for our kwh, many do not realize that most companies charge MORE per KWH if you use less than 1000 per month, we average at 500, we're only switching because our contract ends in Oct and I've discovered most the major companies start offering lower rates in the fall...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Stephanie from Houston on October 8th, 2013
    TopazLace
    I have had this electric provider for 8 years. Never had a problem with them at all. No billing mistakes, rate is .054 & I am quite pleased with my experience overall.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Texastopaz from San Angelo on July 19th, 2013
    Just as Competitive as Other Companies, Excellent Customer Service
    I have used several providers since the beginning of Deregulation in Texas, this company has always been just as competitive and unlike many other companies, they actually breakdown the Energy and Transmission charges. To some it may seem like a "hidden fee" but other companies just bundle it all up, I like that I can see the two seperate charges. Once I was charged a $7.95 "monthly service fee" for usage less than 1,000 kwh, because my billing dates were not a full month, their customer service representative was happy to waive that fee. Our contract is expiring soon and we will be signing up again, hopefully for a longer term as we have been extremely pleased.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Terry G from Galveston on December 7th, 2012
    Thanks for such great service
    I've been a happy customer for over 3 years; used to have TXU for a very long time and even when they keep offering me $300 to switch back to them I will never do, my bills are always reasonable and fair and as long as they keep business the way they do, I will stay with them for as long as as Live :) Thanks Yep Texas!!! You rock!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marlen from Killeen on September 8th, 2012
    Very pleased
    Been with them nearly 2 years, with three different meters/esiid's, all at the same time. I have never had a problem with them, and when I contact them, I always have received great service. Their rates aren't quite as low as some others, but after reading about all of the changes in extra charges after you sign up with most of the other companies, I'm staying with YEP.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Will from Azle on August 4th, 2011
    These guys rock
    These guys have the best customer service. After I called with what i thought was an error on my bill, they talked with me and explained the TDSP fees. I never knew. Anyway, Johnny was kind enough to take me through it. thanks for the low rate and the respect.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mary Anne from Dallas on July 27th, 2011
    Excellent
    After years with txu, and being ripped off on charges, I switched to YEP. I
    am glad I did! No problems, excellent rates.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jeff from Terrell on June 12th, 2011
    No serious problems in two years
    I have been with YEP for two years, and experienced zero serious problems. The only thing I was a slight bit unhappy with was the first time my contract was about to expire, I was not notified, or sent any offers to renew. I phoned and got an offer that was better than what I was paying so I renewed on the phone. Super rate!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    James from Oncor Service Area Outside Dallas on May 28th, 2011


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Competitive pricing for new customers
    When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere.

    Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Thomas from Plano on October 2nd, 2013
    It's not LOVE but more....ehh
    I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP.

    I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print!

    PS: What promotions????
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cheryl from Crowley on July 26th, 2013
    YEP is okay
    I've had YEP energy for a little over a year. I
    haven't had any problems with them and I
    especially like the fact that online bill pay
    is so easy. The only thing I wonder about is
    that when I signed up for their contract, I
    signed up for 10 or 11 cents per kwh, but every
    time I get my bill it says my avg price was 12
    or more per kwh. I don't know if that's a
    common thing among all providers. This was the
    first time I had ever had to choose my own
    electricity company, so I'm not sure about the
    tiny details.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jennifer from Round Rock on June 18th, 2010
    Great doing business w/ YEP
    Only complaint is the tedious payment screen. Does not save any previous infor so must monthly type ALL info regarding my account.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Vanessa from Liverpool on October 28th, 2009
    Green Energy Plan Penalizes Conservation
    I signed up for YEP's 100% renewable energy plan and they charge me a monthly fee of $7.95 for using less than 1000 kwh per month. Therefore, YEPs "Green" Earth Plan actually penalizes me for wanting to conserve energy!! What a joke.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ben from Houston on August 7th, 2009
    YEP Opinion
    Easy sign up and good rate. Short wait for customer service reps.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bo from Bedford on May 12th, 2009



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Stuff they don't make clear up front
    Yes, auto-pay is an option, but if you don't choose it, you get charged a percentage of the bill. Since I HATE auto-pay, I decided to change companies. Lo and behold, a $9.95 undescribed charge on the last billing. Decided to forget about it and be glad we're gone!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ELD from Fort Worth on April 22nd, 2016
    Read the EFL!!!!
    I hate this company!!!!! They are thieves! No customer loyalty! Charge you extra to pay your own bill, or give them your banking information and have their system draft you within a few of your bill being created. If by mail you'll never know the amount drafted and their cheap online services are rarely running as properly. Spoke to 2 or 3 different agents and they are rude and complete idiots. I have received an agent named reine and been lucky to have had him twice now that company needs more of him or he needs a new company. Request to speak to him any time you call!!! I renewed do to his time to explain things clearly, proper communication. Won't be renewing twice though. In overall not a good energy company and there is better out there for your buck. Happy Shopping!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    A. Fuller from Dallas on February 23rd, 2015
    I like this company
    I have been using this company for over six years and have never once had a problem. I have automatic bill pay, and get a discount for authorizing it. I have steady, reliable electric service and the payment transactions each month are flawless. I haven't checked in a long time, but I believe that the rate is low, because I run my almost 2,000 sq ft house for $70 in the winter to $200 in the summer. The other reviews are scary reading, but I have no reason to believe that I am not getting my money's worth, and with never a hassle. I like it that they do not waste our money on advertising or corporate giving, thus keeping rates low. I would (and do!) recommend this company to my friends.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rene from Houston on December 28th, 2012
    Scam!
    I received my first bill after only 9 days of service. I used 600+ kwh in those 9 days, but because it didn't meet the minimum threshold of usage I was charged a &7.95 service fee. That's 2000+ kwh per month! When I called I asked about the $7.95 charge, and the rep immediately said she could remove it as it was only a partial month. They do this to everyone, and if you don't call they rip you off! I'm considering filing complaints with the PUC and Attorney General. She wasn't very friendly, either.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Roberto from Freeport on August 27th, 2012
    Yep, its time to switch.
    They refuse to answer basic questions through email.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anonymous from on April 18th, 2011
    No Customer Service
    My 3 experiences with YEP customer service over 3 years were all negative, never any relief from an apparent overcharge or suggestion of another approach to resolve a problem.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kfj from Pflugerville on June 10th, 2010
    Good Lord!
    I have been with these folks for a couple of years. No problems. I always pay my bill, but in March, I was on a cruise and the bill must have came the day I left. I was 3 days late paying the bill, and they sent a nasty letter threatening to sue me, send my account to a collection agency, etc etc.

    I understand them trying to get their money. But this is borderline psychotic. I just switched to another company. Hopefully if I am ever late, they won't threaten me like YEP did.

    Seems kind of stupid to be so mean to your best customers if they are only a few days late after years of history never having been late.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Eric from Dallas on April 1st, 2010



    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    46 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    They may be good upfront, but buyer beware!
    I've used YEP Energy for years. Their rates started out a competitive prices. You just can't allow your contract to expire. They DOUBLE if not TRIPLE the cost per KW if no contract signed even for lecacy customers. To receive a bill for approx. $665 for ONE month, 2 person, 2500 sq ft. household is INSANE! Yes they did call to remind me of the expiring contract but I was in hospital and not paying attention to messages. But you would think as a long-time customer they would have worked with me. I paid it and paid it timely via auto-pay BUT you bet I have cancelled their service and will NEVER return hopefully. I'm glad I have a choice in electric providers. This was an assault! Don't put yourself in the position I was in.

    Rated Customer Service low because when you call (which rarely did), their reps are all monotone, not cheerful, you feel like you're a bother to them. Resist paying this kind of money for this type of service, no. Note it wasn't the nice person I last spoke to when I got this bill which I just knew had to be a mistake. If it were here on the phone in prior years when called, they would have rec'd a 5.

    YEP you should have a much lower Temporary rate for customers who are legacy but contract expires and they haven't yet reached out. Could be legit reasons WHY. Your loss and apparently I lost for a month but lesson learned. I sent at least a dozen referrals to you. Contacted ALL of them and shared this experience. Trust you will lose more with this type of unwarranted treatment of your good customers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Linda B from Dallas, TX on July 29th, 2020
    YEP Energy takes pride in offering low fixed price rates to our customer's, however if we are not able to speak to our customers when their current contact is expiring then YEP must arrange for power on their behalf on a month to month basis. During peak months the month to month price can be more expensive.

    We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. If you would like to discuss your account and billing please contact our Customer Care team at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

    — Y.E.P.
    Horrible Experience
    Had a horrible experience right after signing up for electricity through YEP. 1 week after signing up, we came home to no electricity due to erroneous move out order. Out of power the entire weekend. Mistakes happen, but the customer service was horrible when I called the next week and argued with me that I owed connection fee still due to they tried to contact us to confirm details on our fraudulent appearing account prior to shutting off energy, but it was a non-working number and then that we just didnt pick up. This is not true. So frustrated. Very unreasonable people at this company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Alyssa from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2020
    We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with YEP Energy. YEP strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). Please contact our Customer Care department at 866.937.5937 so we may assist with resolving any outstanding issue.
    — Y.E.P.
    Price gouging
    Price gouging- BEWARE
    0 Stars
    Correspondence fee: $9.95
    Payment Processing fee: $15.15 (New charge 09/2019 bill)
    Also, somehow my bill went up by $150.00 this month to $331. There are only two people in the house and we are gone all day since school has started. I do not know how the bill could go up by this much in a month.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    LLM from Keller, TX on October 5th, 2019
    Added fees; exorbitant prices
    I had to obtain service for 3 months which caused higher pricing. However, not only did they gouge with higher per kWh rates but added fees (a $10 monthly fee, $4.22 payment fee) plus added taxes & regulatory fees common to other sources.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Added Fees from Irving, TX on October 15th, 2018
    Run as fast as you can
    As many other reviewers have mentioned, YEP Energy advertises low rates per kwH. However, they bill you for administrative fees that amount to more than the electric bill, and then they "claim" there is a gigantic termination fee, and that they will report you to the credit bureau if you don't pay them everything they "claim" you owe them. Also, as others mentioned, they draft your bank account before they send you the bill, and it is almost impossible to decipher what they are charging you for.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jon from Katy on June 21st, 2016
    Houstonian
    YEP Energy is a SCAM. They have a ton of hidden fees that they don't tell you about. There is no way to escalate complaints, and they will add fees for you calling to complain! I told them their fees were unacceptable since I did not agree to them, so they disconnected my service, and sent me 2 (not 1) bills for disconnection fees; one for the current month, and one of for the next month. Then, I got an additional bill for electric service for 3 months. I called to dispute those bills (since I was already with another provider during those periods), and they said that they could not remove those charges!!!!

    How has this company not been shut-down by the state?
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Houstonian from Houston on July 23rd, 2015
    Switching immediately
    Prices are fine,although we receive tempting offers to switch all the time, we hadn't had any issues and didn't want to deal with the hassle of switching. Until today.

    Today,on a Monday morning at 7 am when I was about to make my coffee and get ready for work, our power was shut off. We checked the account online, and same as every month, the payment had been successfully charged to the credit card and nothing was past due. When we called,they had our account listed as past due, and the lady said we couldn't talk to someone about it until 830 because that's when they officially "open."

    Caled back at 830 (awesome, we're both now late for work and sweating our butts off), the lady told us it was just a "system error" and it would be back on "shortly." No apology or offer to compensate for the extreme inconvenience and time missed from work due to a major error on their part.

    Prices not the best out there, customer service is bad, system is obviously glitchy. Unreliable service. We're switching to another service today.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Krissy from Arlington on June 15th, 2015
    Run as fast as you can
    Horrible customer service, over billed amounts, and by far the worst provider I have dealt with in all my life. Made an agreement with them to pay $59 (that was not owed to them), paid the amount 2 days early and they disconnected my service. My bill actually reflected a credit. I will definitely end my contract with the prompto. You get what you pay for.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Buckley from Fort Worth on February 17th, 2015
    Bizarre billing practice
    I have been a customer for 10 months. Finally had enough of the billing. Spent 2 hours on phone with them to stop sending fraudulent "Notice of Termination". They told me the notices went out every month because I have a solar panel and they did not know. I said PGE and I could have given you that info at any time. Even after getting info, they said they could not fix their system. I guess only a class action lawsuit may be able for them to get off there butts and stop harrassing paying customers. Oh well, at least I can cancel contract free of any further fees. Look around for better service, many good ones out there.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cliff Knudson from San Jose on December 29th, 2014
    Worst ever
    Very deceptive and lots of hidden costs. Customer service never helps you with issues and refuses to escalate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Yuetong Shen from Houston on September 18th, 2014


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans