They may be good upfront, but buyer beware!
I've used YEP Energy for years. Their rates started out a competitive prices. You just can't allow your contract to expire. They DOUBLE if not TRIPLE the cost per KW if no contract signed even for lecacy customers. To receive a bill for approx. $665 for ONE month, 2 person, 2500 sq ft. household is INSANE! Yes they did call to remind me of the expiring contract but I was in hospital and not paying attention to messages. But you would think as a long-time customer they would have worked with me. I paid it and paid it timely via auto-pay BUT you bet I have cancelled their service and will NEVER return hopefully. I'm glad I have a choice in electric providers. This was an assault! Don't put yourself in the position I was in.

Rated Customer Service low because when you call (which rarely did), their reps are all monotone, not cheerful, you feel like you're a bother to them. Resist paying this kind of money for this type of service, no. Note it wasn't the nice person I last spoke to when I got this bill which I just knew had to be a mistake. If it were here on the phone in prior years when called, they would have rec'd a 5.

YEP you should have a much lower Temporary rate for customers who are legacy but contract expires and they haven't yet reached out. Could be legit reasons WHY. Your loss and apparently I lost for a month but lesson learned. I sent at least a dozen referrals to you. Contacted ALL of them and shared this experience. Trust you will lose more with this type of unwarranted treatment of your good customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda B from Dallas, TX on July 29th, 2020
YEP Energy takes pride in offering low fixed price rates to our customer's, however if we are not able to speak to our customers when their current contact is expiring then YEP must arrange for power on their behalf on a month to month basis. During peak months the month to month price can be more expensive.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. If you would like to discuss your account and billing please contact our Customer Care team at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

— Y.E.P.
Much better than listed.
I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Y.E.P.
Horrible Experience
Had a horrible experience right after signing up for electricity through YEP. 1 week after signing up, we came home to no electricity due to erroneous move out order. Out of power the entire weekend. Mistakes happen, but the customer service was horrible when I called the next week and argued with me that I owed connection fee still due to they tried to contact us to confirm details on our fraudulent appearing account prior to shutting off energy, but it was a non-working number and then that we just didnt pick up. This is not true. So frustrated. Very unreasonable people at this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alyssa from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2020
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with YEP Energy. YEP strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). Please contact our Customer Care department at 866.937.5937 so we may assist with resolving any outstanding issue.
— Y.E.P.
Price gouging
Price gouging- BEWARE
0 Stars
Correspondence fee: $9.95
Payment Processing fee: $15.15 (New charge 09/2019 bill)
Also, somehow my bill went up by $150.00 this month to $331. There are only two people in the house and we are gone all day since school has started. I do not know how the bill could go up by this much in a month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LLM from Keller, TX on October 5th, 2019
Added fees; exorbitant prices
I had to obtain service for 3 months which caused higher pricing. However, not only did they gouge with higher per kWh rates but added fees (a $10 monthly fee, $4.22 payment fee) plus added taxes & regulatory fees common to other sources.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Added Fees from Irving, TX on October 15th, 2018
Texas Based Company with Great Customer Service!!!
As more and more companies come into the Texas market, it is nice to know that YEP is based in Houston and they do not charge you for calling customer service, as many other providers do. I have been with YEP for years and renewing is my easiest task each year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles from Houston on June 30th, 2016
Run as fast as you can
As many other reviewers have mentioned, YEP Energy advertises low rates per kwH. However, they bill you for administrative fees that amount to more than the electric bill, and then they "claim" there is a gigantic termination fee, and that they will report you to the credit bureau if you don't pay them everything they "claim" you owe them. Also, as others mentioned, they draft your bank account before they send you the bill, and it is almost impossible to decipher what they are charging you for.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jon from Katy on June 21st, 2016
Stuff they don't make clear up front
Yes, auto-pay is an option, but if you don't choose it, you get charged a percentage of the bill. Since I HATE auto-pay, I decided to change companies. Lo and behold, a $9.95 undescribed charge on the last billing. Decided to forget about it and be glad we're gone!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ELD from Fort Worth on April 22nd, 2016
Houstonian
YEP Energy is a SCAM. They have a ton of hidden fees that they don't tell you about. There is no way to escalate complaints, and they will add fees for you calling to complain! I told them their fees were unacceptable since I did not agree to them, so they disconnected my service, and sent me 2 (not 1) bills for disconnection fees; one for the current month, and one of for the next month. Then, I got an additional bill for electric service for 3 months. I called to dispute those bills (since I was already with another provider during those periods), and they said that they could not remove those charges!!!!

How has this company not been shut-down by the state?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Houstonian from Houston on July 23rd, 2015
Switching immediately
Prices are fine,although we receive tempting offers to switch all the time, we hadn't had any issues and didn't want to deal with the hassle of switching. Until today.

Today,on a Monday morning at 7 am when I was about to make my coffee and get ready for work, our power was shut off. We checked the account online, and same as every month, the payment had been successfully charged to the credit card and nothing was past due. When we called,they had our account listed as past due, and the lady said we couldn't talk to someone about it until 830 because that's when they officially "open."

Caled back at 830 (awesome, we're both now late for work and sweating our butts off), the lady told us it was just a "system error" and it would be back on "shortly." No apology or offer to compensate for the extreme inconvenience and time missed from work due to a major error on their part.

Prices not the best out there, customer service is bad, system is obviously glitchy. Unreliable service. We're switching to another service today.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krissy from Arlington on June 15th, 2015







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Y.E.P. are their billing & account management system, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.2 of 5.
5 Stars
11%
 
4 Stars
25%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
13%
 
1 Stars
44%
 
2.1 / 5
Overall
2.0 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.0 / 5
Order Experience
2.2 / 5
Customer Service
2.4 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.8 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Y.E.P.

YEP is one of the two additional brands that Texpo Energy uses to sell retail electricity in the state of Texas, along with Southwest Power & Light. YEP sells electricity in the deregulated areas of Texas to both residential and commercial customers.


Recommended Electricity Plans