Home > Review Topics > Billing

Billing Problems and Complaints (774 reviews)



Champion Energy Honest review
(5 / 5)

  Been using Champion Energy for 3 years and I must say that I am highly satisfied with the service I am getting. My friends and I compared our electricity bill and to my surprise my bill is the lowest even they have FREE WEEKEND Electricity. And now they would like to switch to Champion Energy. I chose Champion for so many reasons. First, they have a great customer service! They assisted me throughout my application and I got a response right away on my queries even though we communicate only through email. I gave them the date of my move-in in my apartment and I got electric connection without any problem. Their billing is so easy to comprehend and you have a choice to receive it thru email or hard copy. They provide customers a weekly report of the electricity usage so customers will know and can budget their electric bill in a month. Other electric companies will charge customers for a fee if you don't reach their required kwh usage. With Champion, I enjoyed the rates even though I am just using 393Kwh per month. There's NO HIDDEN OR OTHER CHARGES - customers only pay for the electric usage, Oncor charges and the Taxes. I did refer friends to use Champion and they are happy using it. And I would continue recommending it to others. I'm just glad I made a right choice and hope you'll do the same too! They are really a Champion in terms of providing electricity!

Jo from Irving
December 16th, 2017

Champion Energy Services Logo

Champion Energy Services


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What about the little guy, the elder, those on fixed incomes
(5 / 5)

  This title suited our situation to the "T". Retired, therefore elderly, in good health still, but getting no younger, on fixed income. We were looking at about a 33-50% cut in our income, with energy bills continuing to rise. The options available to us for electricity were no options at all, the cost was too high after the first year. Were there no means of relief? Finally, we went to a website that compared all energy companies in Texas with all their differing plans. There we found a company called 4Change Energy, a company we nor our friends nor neighbors had heard of. But we checked them out,and found a plan the caused my jaw to drop; 1000 kwatts at 4.7 cents /. I called to confirm this was no typo, but legit, it was. the only catch was that I needed to remain at or below 1000 kwatts/ billing cycle or pay another 47$ for any amount over and above 1000. I was unsure if we could achieve this goal, but we signed up and did the best we could. raised the thermostat 2 or 3 degrees in the summer night, 4-5 during the day and installed a propane heater for the winter months, which is very economical. I have to give credit where credit is due, the LORD encouraged us and enabled us to see this plan work for us, we did, it did and we praise God for His wise council. We must thank god also that He showed us this company that has made it possible to maintain our reduced budget and not suffer undue hardships due to high energy costs. Thank you 4Change Energy, may The God of Heaven bless you if you will Bless Him.

John Jaques from Lindale
November 13th, 2017

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely Happy!
(5 / 5)

  Every year when my energy plan is up for renewal I dread looking for the best rate pit there. A neighbor of mine referred me to Mega Energy and so I bit the bullet and called. The customer service rep was very polite, patient and helpful. I ended up signing up for 24 months in stead of 12 because the rate was a very decent rate. I access to online billing, auto draft, etc.
It was pain free. I have not had any issues with billing which was my main concern.

I would definitely refer this company to friends and family.

Alicia V. from Richmond
November 6th, 2017

Mega Energy Logo

Mega Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The gexa gotcha plan!
(5 / 5)

  I am old and use very little electricity per month, normally about 650 to 800 in summer and 300 to 400 in winter. (gas heat) So the gexa low usage plan with the $40 rebate was excellent! ($40 rebate for usage between 500 and 1000kwh) Very low electric bills all summer! But now that the AC is off, my usage dropped below 500. The $40 rebate disappears! So my bill for 450 kwh was almost double my last month's bill for 600kwh! YIKES! The Gexa gotcha! Here's what to do: In the winter time when you are not using the AC, use an electric space heater enough to bring your bill to the 500 kwh threshold. Then switch to your gas heat to save even more! The main thing is to monitor your usage and make sure that for your billing cycle you are always as close to just over 500kw as possible to get the best monthly deal. Other than that, Gexa has been excellent in all respects. Seems dumb to have to use more electricity to get a lower bill!

ronna from Houston
November 3rd, 2017

Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy and reasonable
(5 / 5)

  Easy to enroll online, payments were easy to make, no issues with set up, billing and cancellation.

KETEX from Houston
October 30th, 2017

Veteran Energy Logo

Veteran Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love this company.
(5 / 5)

  Reasonable rates, long plans, they seems weekly reports on your usage, so no surprises. Autopay available, paperless billing. That's really all I need. Love them.

Elizabeth Ann from Baytown
October 24th, 2017

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The best Texas energy provider. Period.
(5 / 5)

  I've been their customer for the best part of 4 years now.
I have also created a spreadsheet to compare electricity plans and crunched the numbers on dozens of plans.
When you do that, you get a feel for which companies are trying to price gouge and which ones are trying to provide good service affordably.

Green Mountain Energy stands out kindof on its own:
Cheapest plans out there, bar none. My bill in August was $36 for 474 kwh
Fair fixed plans
Easy to use website / billing / charts
Weekly email updates on energy usage
Friendly competent customer service

Dallas Customer from Dallas
October 17th, 2017

Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company
(5 / 5)

  I have been with them for almost two years. The plan price was great. I appreciate the fact that their billing is straightforward and dependable. (The company that I had before them did their billing at odd times so it was difficult to tell if the bill was too high or not.)
Would recommend Discount Power to everyone.

Satisfied Customer from Houston
September 8th, 2017

Discount Power Logo

Discount Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Such great service and prices have renewed 3 times.
(5 / 5)

  Easy to get started. Automatic billing. Our electricity bill is the lowest it has ever been even living in an older home and a hotter climate. This plan also allows us to donate to the American Red Cross

Cathy McMullen from Rockport
August 17th, 2017

Thanks for being such a loyal customer Cathy. And thanks for helping us support the American Red Cross.

4Change Energy Responds August 22nd, 2017
4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The best Prepaid Electric companies by far.
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Power Pronto for only a little time but I am very very happy. My bill went down, the daily usage updates are a great tool to learn how to preserve energy. The Customer service is absolutely amazing !! Pronto Power will help you save not pay more. Pronto doesn't punish you for having less money in your account, will offer free account protections till payday, offers to get customers back into monthly billing after 90 days. No other prepaid electric company can compare to Pronto Powers plans and benefits.

J.Wolff from San Juan
July 25th, 2017

Pronto Power Logo

Pronto Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 02-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar