Home > Review Topics > Deposits

Deposit Issues and Complaints (239 reviews)

Deposits for electricity in Texas can be a hassle and usually range from $100 to $500. Some companies handle them well with lower deposit amounts or lower credit thresholds while others turn you upside down and shake the lunch money out of your pocket. If deposits are causing you issues, you can read deposit related reviews from other customers before you sign up for an energy company.



Works for me...pleasantly surprised!!
(5 / 5)

  I recently moved and needed quick electricity without a huge deposit. I found Hello Energy online and decided to given them a try. Everything with them has been super easy! I enrolled online and made an initial deposit to get my service going and have been with them for about 2 months now. Honestly, I prefer this to my old standard electricity.... I get an email every day letting me know my balance and this makes budgeting a no-brainer! Once or twice a month I add money to my account to keep it healthy so I don't have to worry about it getting low. For me, this met my needs and has been perfect so far! I love knowing what my balance is all the time, so it really helps me to budget my monthly expenses. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who needs new service but does not want to pay a big deposit up front or anyone who is watching their budget closely. There's no contract, so it's worth a try...you might be pleasantly surprised like me!

SAM from McKinney
January 10th, 2018

Hello Energy Logo

Hello Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You Rock Acacia Energy
(5 / 5)

  I am so glad a friend recommended Acacia Energy to me. I am finally able to afford electricity without paying an arm and a leg for deposits and high bills. I love the fact they have a deferment program that allows me up to $75 to help cover electricity if I am not able to pay. The repayment is totally affordable and is taken out once a month. Of course I have a choice of paying more or paying the deferment in full. I would definitely recommend Acacia Energy to anyone looking to switch to a company that really cares for it's customers.

Bobbie Rogers from Odessa
June 20th, 2017

Acacia Energy Logo

Acacia Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

stream is my company i love them
(5 / 5)

  i've been with stream for over 8 years a great company always fair never over charges me and if anything happens finacially they always give me a extension which i try not to need. I didnt even need a deposit. Thank god for this company Ameen

allyson perry from Houston
May 19th, 2017

Stream Energy Logo

Stream Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ms
(5 / 5)

  When I first inquired about plans and pricing, I couldn't have got a more helpful representative!! I told her what I was already paying and she found a plan for me. When she ran my information to see if I needed a deposit, I told her up front if I had to pay a deposit I would not be using their electricity. She laughed and said she understood. I did not have to pay a deposit:) when it was time to renew, they didn't raise my rates, they stayed the same. Great Great company.

Anita Jarrett from Abilene
August 18th, 2016

Thanks Anita, We couldn't be a great company if we didn't have great customers like you.

4Change Energy Responds September 14th, 2016
4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience for the past 17 months!
(5 / 5)

  I don't know what the the other reviewers are talking about. I switched from TXU the end of Feb 2015. I am saving so much $$ on my bill each month. The CSRs have been very nice and helpful and easy to understand. There are no hidden fees and coming from established service with TXU we didn't have any kind of deposit required. We want to support 100% green energy so we are super happy to be doing that AND saving money!!!

Elyce from RICHARDSON
July 17th, 2016

Breeze Energy Logo

Breeze Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verde Energy
(5 / 5)

  Verde Energy is so far one of the best companies i didn't have to pay any deposit and they gave my $100 in bill credits for my electric bill and there rates are low they cut my bill in half after switching to them. Go Green my Texas peoples you wont regret it.....................

Susan Garcia from WATAUGA
November 16th, 2015

Potentia Energy Logo

Potentia Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worth it
(5 / 5)

  The overall prepay part is super efficient for the two of us living in our home. We have had our usage up to about $7.00 at hour highest on a Hot day in August... And now that it is fall $2.00 in a day at our lowest.

Also, if you exceed the amount and go negative with them there is a $25 fee to turn it back on, but the $25 goes on as a deposited amount on your account. So if you were -$1 then you would have +$24 + whatever else you add with it. So it's a good company and a good way to do electric.

T.K. from Sherman
October 27th, 2015

Thank you T.K- Just to clarify about the $25 fee. We do allow our customers to waive the $25 reconnection fee once every 180 days. In these cases the $25 would go towards your account s you described. If the waiver has been used and an account is disconnected again the the $25 fee would be deducted.

Payless Power Responds December 29th, 2015
Payless Power Logo

Payless Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payless Power Is Awesome
(5 / 5)

  Payless Power is awesome! They have great rates and no deposits. I get a daily text message every morning that gives me my account number, balance, and days remaining. It also tells me exactly how many KWH i used the day before. Awesome!

Byron Young from Fort Worth
September 23rd, 2015

Thank you Byron.

Payless Power Responds December 29th, 2015
Payless Power Logo

Payless Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

best electricity company ever
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Stream Energy since September 2010 and never once have I had a problem with them. My bill has been the lowest ever, if I need an extension to pay my bill I get it without any problems, etc. Every time another company tries to make me leave, I tell them no. And once I was with them for I want to say 2 years, one day I get my bill and I have this big ol credit. they applied my deposit to my bill. So I didn't have a bill for some months. So I just wanted to say BEST ELECTRICITY COMPANY EVER....

pretty eyes from Houston
December 12th, 2014

Stream Energy Logo

Stream Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

8 YEARS of GREAT rates and service!!!
(5 / 5)

  Reading all the bad reviews is surprising! I signed up with SWPL 8 years ago and the highest my bill has EVER been for my 2 bedroom home is $180! And that is only during the summer months in HOUSTON TEXAS! Average bill is well under $100 otherwise. I am pleased with the service and any time anyone shows up trying to get me to switch, I'm told they have never heard of SWPL and then I send them on their way. The only downfall I can list is the high deposit ($390) but once you pay your bill on time for 12 consecutive months w/out a late/disconnect notice generated, they refund half of the deposit back to you! I recommend SWPL to everyone who asks me about power company options. (=

Denise Valentine from Houston
August 16th, 2014

Southwest Power & Light Logo

Southwest Power & Light


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 02-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar