Deposit Issues and Complaints (303 reviews)

Deposits for electricity in Texas can be a hassle and usually range from $100 to $500. Some companies handle them well with lower deposit amounts or lower credit thresholds while others turn you upside down and shake the lunch money out of your pocket. If deposits are causing you issues, you can read deposit related reviews from other customers before you sign up for an energy company.



Mrs Drama Queen

(5 / 5)

  Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.

Lisa Coppage from Robert Lee
May 26th, 2020

We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.

Responds May 27th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4change energy

(5 / 5)

  Great electric company! I joined a year ago, and I usually change electric companies every year or so to get a better price, but they still have the best prices! Great customer service, no interruptions, low deposit when I joined, I think that they're the best!

Shepherd Lauraine from Freeport
April 21st, 2020

We're happy we can continue to serve you and offer a low rate, Shepherd! Thanks so much for choosing 4Change Enregy to power your home.

Responds April 24th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Go 4change energy

(5 / 5)

  I have been with 4change energy for a couple of months. Jade been with a electricity company for years,when I got ready to transfer my electricity that company keep giving me the run around and wanted me to pay another deposit, which I didn't have,quite a bit of money.So I find 4Change Energy and in one day I hade every thing set up. That's the way to go 4Change energy!!!

Katherine from Baytown
January 21st, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review, Katherine! We appreciate you choosing 4Change Energy and hope we can continue to serve you with low prices and easy account access. Have a great week!

Responds January 22nd, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(5 / 5)

  They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend

Allison ayala from Elkhart
July 24th, 2019

Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Responds August 12th, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best kept secret...

(5 / 5)

  They've gone above and beyond with customer care. I appreciated not feeling judged or shamed after my family had no other choice than to file a chapter 13. They didn't require a deposit and wasn't forced into contact. That was 5 years ago and I'm a proud and loyal customer for as long as they're in business!

Stacie from Fort Worth
August 20th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Breeze

(5 / 5)

  This is Awesome. I was very disappointed with my previous service provided and unfortunately the relationship of more than 4 years had to end. I reviewed several other companies before arriving here and was displeased at their demands for a huge activation deposit. None of them could clearly explain why those startup monies were necessary or could confirm if they were refundable minus all the fees if the relationship had to end. I would have been okay to pay it out installments but no one was hearing that. Just hand us 220.00 and well turn it on. Im glad i found you guys and very pleased there's no deposit. This is how you become and remain #1. Im telling everyone I know at the old company to follow me. (#high5) Thank you ..Now lets do business one kilo watt at a time. Praise God!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok2BAwesome from Dallas
July 9th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, Ok2BAwesome. We are so pleased to hear of your experience and attitude towards our service. It makes us happy when our customers are happy! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your account in the future, please know you can connect with our Live Chat team through our website www.directenergy.com. Have a nice day! -Eleanor

Responds August 20th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Energy Provider

(5 / 5)

  Very easy to get started with, we lived in an apartment for 2 years where electricity was provided. They switched us over promply (we bought a home)and there was no deposit required. I like the option for signing a 6 mo. contract at very competitive rates.

Anonymous
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Responds September 26th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm Very Pleased

(5 / 5)

  I switched to StarTex 6 months ago and have consistently had lower bills than with TXU. I had a rate of .13 per kW in the winter and .15 per kW in the summer with TXU and now I have a fixed rate of .09 per kW. My bills have been at least $29 less a month even when I used more kWs. I have saved $289 in 6 months compared to the same time last year with TXU and I used more kWs with StarTex. They did not charge me a switching fee or a deposit. I have not had any interuption of service. I would recommend them.

DeeDee from Plano
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Responds September 26th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Works for me...pleasantly surprised!!

(5 / 5)

  I recently moved and needed quick electricity without a huge deposit. I found Hello Energy online and decided to given them a try. Everything with them has been super easy! I enrolled online and made an initial deposit to get my service going and have been with them for about 2 months now. Honestly, I prefer this to my old standard electricity.... I get an email every day letting me know my balance and this makes budgeting a no-brainer! Once or twice a month I add money to my account to keep it healthy so I don't have to worry about it getting low. For me, this met my needs and has been perfect so far! I love knowing what my balance is all the time, so it really helps me to budget my monthly expenses. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who needs new service but does not want to pay a big deposit up front or anyone who is watching their budget closely. There's no contract, so it's worth a try...you might be pleasantly surprised like me!

SAM from McKinney
January 10th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You Rock Acacia Energy

(5 / 5)

  I am so glad a friend recommended Acacia Energy to me. I am finally able to afford electricity without paying an arm and a leg for deposits and high bills. I love the fact they have a deferment program that allows me up to $75 to help cover electricity if I am not able to pay. The repayment is totally affordable and is taken out once a month. Of course I have a choice of paying more or paying the deferment in full. I would definitely recommend Acacia Energy to anyone looking to switch to a company that really cares for it's customers.

Bobbie Rogers from Odessa
June 20th, 2017



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions