Disconnect Fees and Problems (680 reviews)



Mrs Drama Queen

(5 / 5)

  Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.

Lisa Coppage from Robert Lee
May 26th, 2020

We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.

Responds May 27th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Everythings great accept

(5 / 5)

  The only problem i have with this company is I got a disconnect notice for 24$ during a pandemic.

Shaun from Houston
May 14th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Simple fast prepaid electricity!

(5 / 5)

  I was Payless Power customer for years, always kept funds in my account. With this pandemic going on, here is where I realized how bad my plan was with Payless Power. They charged me extra on my rates cause I no longer had money. Yes, they didnt disconnect me but raised my rate by 4 cents.
I called Pronto Power, reviewed the plans and thats when I realized all the hidden language Payless was charging me. Pronto Power is the best prepaid electricity company in Texas. These guys got me started with $10, in 4 days I hit negative balance, when I called yesterday (Wednesday) they protected my account till Friday for free. And if I cannot pay, I can request a loan at my choice. Or simply find another company. Thats 2 more days without having to lock my meter. Thats trusting me to make a payment, that is working relationship I can handle.
I recommend to anyone and everyone. Dont take my word for it, just ask the questions for yourself. I appreciate all you have done Pronto Power.

Gene W. from Houston
April 16th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best customer service experience

(5 / 5)

  Called and ask for a few extra hrs to pay light bill that's a disconnect explained I get pd Thursday 10/17/19 disconnect is for same day but I was afraid they disconnect early am but Sweet lady explained I had until 7pm but she extended it until Friday 10/18/19 . Super Sweet Lady

Elizabeth McKay from Sulphur Springs
October 15th, 2019



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service

(5 / 5)

  Im writing to express my gratitude to Hello Energy , I understand that with prepaid service you must always have a credit on the account however last week I had no budgeted well and my service was to be disconnected , I spoke with a you lady who helped me out by explaining we could set up a quick payment arrangement in order for me to catch up , I have never had a prepaid company do this. I have paid my arrangement and continue to be a faithful customer. Awesome customer service since day 1 however my interaction last week made me take time to provide a review. If management reads this keep the great work great policies and awesome agents

Great Customer Service. from Houston
October 29th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not the usual electricity company

(5 / 5)

  I just sign up with constellation @a month ago after my first bill which I paid. Unfortunately I was laid off and my next bill was approaching fast. I contacted customer service explain my situation and I have gain recent employment but need extension just until my first payday which would be almost 20 days from my original due date. The fact that they took the time understood my situation and no Hassel or jumping hoops just no problem and no disconnection. And to top that just pay what's due no late charges no fee for request or this is a onetime deal! I highly recommended this company. Thanks Constellation Energy

Excellent from Corpus Christi
September 21st, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Responds September 26th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best move ever, confused with this site!

(5 / 5)

  The best thing I ever found on FB was a shared link for Pronto. As a former customer of Frontier and Payless (should be called Paymore Power), I know you must be in bed with Payless. Pronto Power by far has the cheapest rates, you dont need auto pay, you dont need to have over $30 in your account, Pronto rates are simple and easy to under.
Customer service folks offer extensions till my next payday when I cannot make a payment (no charge, thank you for being a customer), one of the main guys there (Aaron) goes far and beyond to breakdown my electricity usage by the hour, shucks he broke it down by every 15 minutes. To start all I had to pay was $9.99, then asked for a payday extension.
Morning text messages around 7am (back up alarm clock), there is no charge on disconnection or to reconnect (this old bird forget to call in) just paid my balance and power was restored in less than 30 minutes.
Paymore Power folks keep calling offer $100 to come back, please guys, "momma always told me, Ruthie Lyn don't get fooled by the glitter." Sorry, I'll stick to Pronto.
Be cautious folks, this site I'm telling you, is in bed with Payless Power, probably making a ton of money to highlight that company (or all highlighted companies willing to bet a disabilty check this site is). On government controlled site PowerToChoose.org you see the real rating, I will leave at that.

Old Bird in Katy from Katy
July 27th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE BEST PROVIDER OUT THERE!

(5 / 5)

  I have religiously used GME since 2008. I usually signed up for a 6 month contract - - it was just that, 6 months. I am reading all of these horrible reviews and saying to myself, "you didn't pay on time" or "you signed up for month-to-month" or "you didn't renew your contract". I have moved again, and the transition of my move was wonderful! There are NO HIDDEN FEES! The KWh charge includes all delivery fees.....

Working at a Senior Apartment community, I see the HORRIBLE things other companies are doing to their consumers. GME has always delivered top notch customer service, explained the difference of average billing vs paying the bill each month. (paying bill each month is by far the way to go), however, if you come on hard times, they will work with you.

Yes, I am one who has had to pay the disconnect fee more than once. It is not GME's responsibility to remind me when my payment is due. It is mine.

All in all, GME is an absolutely wonderful company who is doing good for way more than have indicated here. Remember as you read reviews, more people are quick to gripe and complain than are the ones to report the good.

Heather from Copperas Cove
March 31st, 2014



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleasantly Surprised

(5 / 5)

  I must admit I was a bit apprehensive when I
got Amigo Energy simply because I had never
heard of them before. In my experience, all the
others always hit you with surprise charges and
provisos. To make it even worse, when you are
not happy with them, they make sure you are
going to pay a hefty price for your bad
decision. This time I did my homework and
decided to try Amigo out. I am very happy to
say that I have never been happier. The rate
options are great and customer service is an
actual living, breathing human being! They have
always been there to help me when I need them
and the real shocker is they are always in a
great mood. When I chat with my neighbors they
are shocked at how low my monthly bills are.
For the past 3 months my bills have never gone
over $35 dollars. Yes! $35.00 bucks!
I definitely recommend that you do your
research on option plans, fees, rates, etc.
Since they are constantly changing but Amigo
Energy will always come on top as the best
plan. Just be careful with the "others" small
print. I have noticed that they have scrambled
to make their fees look great but will not last
more than 12 or 24 months and disconnection
fees may give you a heart attack.

So far, I have been with Amigo Energy for
almost four years. I have had two contracts and
I still got a great rate the second time
around. Since day one, I have never had
problems logging into my account online, with
the auto-pay charges, technical or account
issues. This is the first time that I am
absolutely worry free about my electrical
bills.

MReyes from Laredo
February 15th, 2012



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions