Home > Review Topics > Disconnects

Disconnect Fees and Problems (573 reviews)



Good Service with Penstar
(5 / 5)

  You know I don't know what everyone says different things but my experience with this company has been extremely good. If you do not have a payment they will offer the 50.00 dollars to put towards your account, pay 25.00 in 3 days and the rest will be taken about a dollar and some change a day when you make payment, this what I do. I know they will give you an extra day thats 5.00 put against your account not to disconnect, but you have to remember these are to be paid back after you make a payment. I've been with the company for over 10 years. So when you call them talk not yelling you can get the help you need. I hope this info was helpful . So call them they will help you.

Renita Feaster from Dallas
February 14th, 2018

PenStar Power Logo

PenStar Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE BEST PROVIDER OUT THERE!
(5 / 5)

  I have religiously used GME since 2008. I usually signed up for a 6 month contract - - it was just that, 6 months. I am reading all of these horrible reviews and saying to myself, "you didn't pay on time" or "you signed up for month-to-month" or "you didn't renew your contract". I have moved again, and the transition of my move was wonderful! There are NO HIDDEN FEES! The KWh charge includes all delivery fees.....

Working at a Senior Apartment community, I see the HORRIBLE things other companies are doing to their consumers. GME has always delivered top notch customer service, explained the difference of average billing vs paying the bill each month. (paying bill each month is by far the way to go), however, if you come on hard times, they will work with you.

Yes, I am one who has had to pay the disconnect fee more than once. It is not GME's responsibility to remind me when my payment is due. It is mine.

All in all, GME is an absolutely wonderful company who is doing good for way more than have indicated here. Remember as you read reviews, more people are quick to gripe and complain than are the ones to report the good.

Heather from Copperas Cove
March 31st, 2014

Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleasantly Surprised
(5 / 5)

  I must admit I was a bit apprehensive when I
got Amigo Energy simply because I had never
heard of them before. In my experience, all the
others always hit you with surprise charges and
provisos. To make it even worse, when you are
not happy with them, they make sure you are
going to pay a hefty price for your bad
decision. This time I did my homework and
decided to try Amigo out. I am very happy to
say that I have never been happier. The rate
options are great and customer service is an
actual living, breathing human being! They have
always been there to help me when I need them
and the real shocker is they are always in a
great mood. When I chat with my neighbors they
are shocked at how low my monthly bills are.
For the past 3 months my bills have never gone
over $35 dollars. Yes! $35.00 bucks!
I definitely recommend that you do your
research on option plans, fees, rates, etc.
Since they are constantly changing but Amigo
Energy will always come on top as the best
plan. Just be careful with the "others" small
print. I have noticed that they have scrambled
to make their fees look great but will not last
more than 12 or 24 months and disconnection
fees may give you a heart attack.

So far, I have been with Amigo Energy for
almost four years. I have had two contracts and
I still got a great rate the second time
around. Since day one, I have never had
problems logging into my account online, with
the auto-pay charges, technical or account
issues. This is the first time that I am
absolutely worry free about my electrical
bills.

MReyes from Laredo
February 15th, 2012

Amigo Energy Logo

Amigo Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy
(4.8 / 5)

  I signed up for a six month plan and everything went smooth. Connection, (online) billing and payment, and disconnection when I moved out all went smooth and without surprises. I had great service every time I called customer service. They didn't have the best price, but I would rather pay an extra cent/kwH than have to deal with incompetence.

B C from Fort Worth
May 30th, 2018

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting. Thank you for your compliments regarding StarTex Power and customer service. StarTex Power value your feedback.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2013
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

prepaid works for me!
(4.8 / 5)

  I lost my job and was unable to pay my JustEnergy bill before the disconnection was going to happen. I knew I was paying way more than I should have been considering my landlord put a brand new AC unit, coils, appliances, everything. My summer bills were coming out to almost 400 dollars each month! That just made no sense because I worked days and turned the AC up to 80 before I left for work. No one was home when I was at work and when we were home the AC never went below 73. I have an average sized 2story house with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. I kept JustEnergy because they were a "green" energy company, and I could afford it at that time. Then I lost my job and decided to do prepaid until I got a new job and could afford to go back to my original electric provider. I am able to monitor my daily usage on my phone or computer and I was only using around 4 dollars a day in electricity! During the summer months! Now that it is cooler outside I'm spending less than 2.50 a day! I'm doing prepaid and I add $150 monthly and I still have 15 dollars unused each month. It works for me because I have AC that is a newer model. There is no way I will go back to my old provider... I even get free Sundays which is my laundry day. It gives me an excuse to do laundry once a week and I love that! I see lots of bad reviews on here but Ive been a customer for 5 months and I'm really happy with them. The only negative experience I've had with them is I was disconnected service when I had $9 left in my account. I was going to get paid that evening, so I was about to add more to my account that night. I called them really upset and because I still had a positive balance and they disconnected me for no reason. the rep told me that they disconnect after your account balance goes below $10. I was so angry because no one told me that bit of information. If I knew that, I would have added a few dollars to keep my balance over 10 dollars. After putting me in hold she told me they would reconnect me right away without me having to pay a reconnection few. I was very greatful to them and assured her, now that I knew that I had to stay above $10, I wouldn't let that happen again. They sent the connection order right away because within 30 minutes my power was back on. I really recommend them if you have an updated energy saving home like my landlord provided for me. I guess that might be the reason for some of these negative reviews. energy saving appliances and AC units will save you bundles in the long run!

melissa from Houston
November 2nd, 2013

TruSmart Energy Logo

TruSmart Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy
(4.8 / 5)

  I signed up for a six month plan and everything went smooth. Connection, (online) billing and payment, and disconnection when I moved out all went smooth and without surprises. I had great service every time I called customer service. They didn't have the best price, but I would rather pay an extra cent/kwH than have to deal with incompetence.

B C from Fort Worth
August 14th, 2013

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting. Thank you for your compliments regarding StarTex Power and customer service. StarTex Power value your feedback.

StarTex Power Responds October 7th, 2013
StarTex Power Logo

StarTex Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitive Prices, Great Service
(4.8 / 5)

  I have been been with Proton Energy for roughly 5 months. I have been very pleased with the service. I had some trouble getting a bills, but that was not fault to Proton Energy. They seem to be a smaller company, so sometimes it is hard to reach them, I found the best number is the 817 # listed on the site. My electricity was disconnected for non payment, again no fault to Proton, I paid my bill over the phone was told my service would be on in an hour, and it was on in 15 minutes. My amount billed is consistent and much cheaper than the big named company. Overall, I am very pleased with Proton. I would and have recommended them to others.

Christal from Pflugerville
November 28th, 2012

Proton Energy Logo

Proton Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good customer service ANYMORE
(4.8 / 5)

  When I started with Green Mountain, their customer service was
personable, helpful, kind, and, courteous. I have been a GM customer
for almost ten years. I freelance and there have been times when I
have been late in paying, but I have never been disconnected, and
have always paid in full. The FIRST and only time that I needed
assistance with some extra time for my bill, I was met with a very rude
awakening. I was told that the $20 charge on my bill was for "sending
a disconnection notice", and that's in addition to the late charges.
When I told her my situation, she made no reply whatsoever, and I
listened to a mono-tone, heartless voice stating and repeating that I
would have to pay in full, including the most recent billing, which was
not late yet, or I'd be disconnected, obviously reading from a script.
They have repeatedly raised my rate without my acceptance, as high
as over 17 cents a Kw. I have referred many people to GM, but now I
will warn them against it. BYE.

Mary from Dallas
November 14th, 2009

Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long time customer
(4.6 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Bounce for almost 5 years, through 4 moves. Their customer service is excellent. I've never had a billing issue or discrepancy. I've had a few questions that were answered promptly after contacting them.
I've never had a connection or disconnection issue.
I'm glad they're promoting more green energy in recent years.
I wish they would revamp their website. It could use some updates and streamlining as far as user experience/interface. However, they've done a good job of making themselves accessible electronically and I appreciate that.
They also have a pretty decent rewards systems - I'm receiving a $15 Starbucks gift card for paying on time 6 months in a row, which I would already do regardless.

Katt A. from Allen
July 25th, 2016

Hi Katt! Thank you for the review and feedback! We are always trying to improve the customer experience, especially within the digital realm, so we sincerely appreciate your input! If you have any further questions or suggestions please email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com! Sincerely, - Henry

Bounce Energy Responds August 30th, 2016
Bounce Energy Logo

Bounce Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy defines Customer Service: Ms Bates
(4.6 / 5)

  I returned from a trip to a disconnect notice....in the course of trying to resolve the issue I met Allison Bates in Champion's customer service dept. She was positive and very communicative while resolving the issue. It was almost a bit sad when the problem was solved and I returned to just receiving great service and reasonable rates. In Houston Texas you really need to be able to depend on your electric company .....but you should know that this customer CAREs because of your quality customer care

Wednesday Reaves from Houston
August 7th, 2014

Thanks for your feedback regarding one of our employees, Allison. We will be sure to let her know of your kind words.

Champion Energy Services Responds August 28th, 2014
Champion Energy Services Logo

Champion Energy Services


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 06-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...