Home > Review Topics > Fees

Problems with Fees and Charges (900 reviews)



Champion Energy Honest review
(5 / 5)

  Been using Champion Energy for 3 years and I must say that I am highly satisfied with the service I am getting. My friends and I compared our electricity bill and to my surprise my bill is the lowest even they have FREE WEEKEND Electricity. And now they would like to switch to Champion Energy. I chose Champion for so many reasons. First, they have a great customer service! They assisted me throughout my application and I got a response right away on my queries even though we communicate only through email. I gave them the date of my move-in in my apartment and I got electric connection without any problem. Their billing is so easy to comprehend and you have a choice to receive it thru email or hard copy. They provide customers a weekly report of the electricity usage so customers will know and can budget their electric bill in a month. Other electric companies will charge customers for a fee if you don't reach their required kwh usage. With Champion, I enjoyed the rates even though I am just using 393Kwh per month. There's NO HIDDEN OR OTHER CHARGES - customers only pay for the electric usage, Oncor charges and the Taxes. I did refer friends to use Champion and they are happy using it. And I would continue recommending it to others. I'm just glad I made a right choice and hope you'll do the same too! They are really a Champion in terms of providing electricity!

Jo from Irving
December 16th, 2017

Champion Energy Services Logo

Champion Energy Services


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates and customer service!
(5 / 5)

  I received my first invoice and was very happy with my invoice total and very pleased with the young lady I spoke with on the phone. Great customer service, no hold time - which is very important to me!! Awesome rates - much better than my previous provider. No hidden fees.

Tyson from Houston
November 3rd, 2017

Texans Energy Logo

Texans Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates and 100% wind generated
(5 / 5)

  This is my second year after being with Green Mountain Energy since they began operations in Texas a decade ago. Breeze Energy is a relatively new Texas owned company. Their rates are terrific, especially in comparison with Green Mountain! No confusing hidden fees. All their energy is produced by wind turbines. You will get a weekly email with your usage and a monthly email invoice with usage for the month compared with the last 12 months. I'm very happy with them!

Dallasuser from Dallas
August 20th, 2017

Breeze Energy Logo

Breeze Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company
(5 / 5)

  When I first called for prices I couldn't believe the rates I was quoted but I was a bit sceptical and thought for sure they would have hidden fees like everyone else I'm happy to say I've been with them for 3 yrs now and they have NOT went up and no hidden fees. I'm very happy with 4Change not to mention the great things they do for our environment.

Lopez family from Fort Worth
August 2nd, 2017

Thank you so much for being a loyal customer. We truly appreciate your business.

4Change Energy Responds August 22nd, 2017
4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FINALLY - Only Electric Company that does not bold face lie!
(5 / 5)

  Been in Texas 20 years now and every year I shop for a new electric company until now since Frontier continues to renew me at the best rate I can find! And the rate is exactly as they said it would be!! All, and I mean at least 10 different power providers, that I have used in the past would bold face lie to me and say yes you will only pay (~8 to 12 cents per Kw-Hour) and every time there was hidden fees that they lied to me and said "there are no hidden fees". Note fees are still not straight forward, but get them to calculate what your monthly bill will be at 500kw-Hr, 1000kw-Hr, 1500kw-Hr before you sign up then once you receive a bill you'll see if you were lied to (Frontier was the only one that my bill is very close to what it should be at 500kw-Hr per month).

JeffH from Houston
June 24th, 2017

Hi Jeff. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We definitely appreciate it. It's nice to know that you acknowledged that we provided you with the rate and fees upfront as that is what we strive to do for all of our customers. Hope you enjoy the service and thank you for choosing Frontier Utilities. If you ever have any questions or concerns please give us a call at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Have a great day!

Frontier Utilities Responds July 27th, 2017
Frontier Utilities Logo

Frontier Utilities


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

stream is my company i love them
(5 / 5)

  i've been with stream for over 8 years a great company always fair never over charges me and if anything happens finacially they always give me a extension which i try not to need. I didnt even need a deposit. Thank god for this company Ameen

allyson perry from Houston
May 19th, 2017

Stream Energy Logo

Stream Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Company in Texas!
(5 / 5)

  I have been with 4change for about a year now and I have not had a bad experience yet! The prices are incredibly low, automatic pay makes it easy to never miss a payment and avoid late and reconnection fees. Plus proceeds go to your charity of choice and there are affordable green energy plans! Definitely try 4change!

Clarissa R from Houston
April 6th, 2017

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exactly what I ordered
(5 / 5)

  4Change Energy has given me exactly what they promised. No hidden fees, no over charges. I gave a 5 star rating on everything because these days it hard to find a company that does exactly what they promise and 4Change Energy has done what they promised.

Chris J. from Ingleside
March 25th, 2017

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My fault they made it right.
(5 / 5)

  We pay our bill the same day we receive it, but as will happen with electronic bill pay, we filled out the bill pay at our banks website but evidently didn't actually save the bill pay but closed the website before doing so. Figuring the bill was paid we didn't do anything else. We got a late pay notice with a charge of about $26 more than the bill, for late fee and cancellation notice fee. I called customer service and because we have been a 4 year customer with no late payments they quickly credited the charges back to my account. I felt this was more than fair.

Roger from La Porte
February 16th, 2017

Amigo Energy Logo

Amigo Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to work with
(5 / 5)

  I've been with Veteran Energy for about 7 months now and their pricing kills what I was paying before. Everything was so easily automated to set up and bill/draft - I did it all online quickly and didn't have to call anyone. I'll check the emailed invoice each month to make sure there are no red flags or extra charges and so far things have been perfect. Since I have never had an issue with the actual service or billing I haven't had to deal with their customer service so I can't comment on how that is.

Kara T from Fort Worth
February 13th, 2017

Veteran Energy Logo

Veteran Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 02-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar