Home > Review Topics > Fees

Problems with Fees and Charges (967 reviews)



The Best Company overall
(5 / 5)

  I signed up with Star Tex Power about 2 years ago. I tend to do 6 mo. contracts because of lower price. I appreciate their NOT adding on trivial fees, such as "talking with rep, payment by phone, or payment online." It's good business, as usual, with Star Tex. I haven't found anything that would tempt me to change.

s.evans from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My StarTex Power
(5 / 5)

  I have been a StarTex Power customer for about 4 years at 2 home addresses, one being an apartment and one being a home and a business. When I first heard of StarTex and changed from "The Bigger and Well Known" company, I was impressed with StarTex's superior customer service, then shocked at the immediate drop in my electric bills. When I was in the process of moving into my home, which did not go as planned, I worked closely with the SAME customer service representative who again did not waiver in her performance and met all of my needs without a hitch. Since StarTex Power had been so awesome with service and pricing, when I opened a business, they again, provided the best customer service and quote. I have dealt with only one other electric company in my life and I have to say there is absolutely no comparison between these two companies. If you are with anyone other than StarTex Power, you should, at the very least, try them for one year. No hidden fees either, just ask.

Kathy Parrish from Carrollton
May 30th, 2018

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely satisfied
(5 / 5)

  I have been a StarTex customer for nearly 4 years, first at my apartment and
now my home. Their rates have always been some of the lowest on the market
with no hidden fees for credit card payments, auto debit, telephone payments,
etc. I have had several businesses I know and friends switch at my urging and
they have all been equally satisfied. My contract is up for renewal in June and I
fully expect to be renewing my contract for another 2 year term!

Eric Israel from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Eric, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate yo
ur account and have sent you an email in regards to renewing your contract with StarTex Power. I look forward to assisting you! Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

Constellation Responds May 8th, 2012
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Electric Company
(5 / 5)

  I've NEVER had a problem with StarTex. I've had several others and their rates and fees always increase. Startex doesn't have the lowest rate, but they are about in the middle. I always use the "AMI" promotional code when I renew and it gives me the cheapest possible price...typically about .2 cents off per kWh. I pay via my banks bill pay system and have never had an issue. They send me monthly bills, they send me renewal notices, and their customer service has always been prompt and courteous. I would highly recommend StarTex for a reliable, cost efficient, and good power company.

Paul Fisher from Fort Worth (Oncor)
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your remarks Mr. Foster. StarTex Power appreciates your business!

Constellation Responds January 16th, 2013
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates/ Great Customer Service
(5 / 5)

  Signed up today! Rep was very helpful! even gave me a promo code to save 10 dollars on next bill! Locked in a rate of 9.4 KWH for 9 months.The rep was very clear about the fees, which are close to none! Will continue to use this provider! Thanks Startex!

Travis
May 30th, 2018

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exceptional price and customer service
(5 / 5)

  StarTex is exceptional in all senses of the word. It has always been a very good value and the administration has always operated smoothly. However, I recently had occasion to experience the true test of a really good company and that is when something goes wrong. In this case, an erroneous charge from Cernterpoint was passed thru to one of our accounts.
StarTex's customer service very courteously responded on a continuous basis until the charge was rectified (giving due credit to Centerpoint also).
This may sound simple but it is in stark contrast to the previous large Dallas based company that we had been a loyal customer for years.
In that case an obvious serious problem developed with one of the account's meter readings after the hurricane interrupted service for weeks. This began a nightmare that lasted for over a year and a half with charges up to 10 times normal compounded by accounting errors. This was never resolved in large part due to the lack of real "customer service."

JL Powell from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Energy savers!
(5 / 5)

  No hidden charges, simple and quick transaction

Romie from Rosenberg
March 3rd, 2018

Hi Romie,
Thanks for joining Champion Energy. What you see online when you sign up is exactly what you'll see when you get billed. No hidden charges!

Champion Energy Services Responds May 1st, 2018
Champion Energy Services Logo

Champion Energy Services


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Champion Energy Honest review
(5 / 5)

  Been using Champion Energy for 3 years and I must say that I am highly satisfied with the service I am getting. My friends and I compared our electricity bill and to my surprise my bill is the lowest even they have FREE WEEKEND Electricity. And now they would like to switch to Champion Energy. I chose Champion for so many reasons. First, they have a great customer service! They assisted me throughout my application and I got a response right away on my queries even though we communicate only through email. I gave them the date of my move-in in my apartment and I got electric connection without any problem. Their billing is so easy to comprehend and you have a choice to receive it thru email or hard copy. They provide customers a weekly report of the electricity usage so customers will know and can budget their electric bill in a month. Other electric companies will charge customers for a fee if you don't reach their required kwh usage. With Champion, I enjoyed the rates even though I am just using 393Kwh per month. There's NO HIDDEN OR OTHER CHARGES - customers only pay for the electric usage, Oncor charges and the Taxes. I did refer friends to use Champion and they are happy using it. And I would continue recommending it to others. I'm just glad I made a right choice and hope you'll do the same too! They are really a Champion in terms of providing electricity!

Jo from Irving
December 16th, 2017

Champion Energy Services Logo

Champion Energy Services


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates and customer service!
(5 / 5)

  I received my first invoice and was very happy with my invoice total and very pleased with the young lady I spoke with on the phone. Great customer service, no hold time - which is very important to me!! Awesome rates - much better than my previous provider. No hidden fees.

Tyson from Houston
November 3rd, 2017

Texans Energy Logo

Texans Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Rates and 100% wind generated
(5 / 5)

  This is my second year after being with Green Mountain Energy since they began operations in Texas a decade ago. Breeze Energy is a relatively new Texas owned company. Their rates are terrific, especially in comparison with Green Mountain! No confusing hidden fees. All their energy is produced by wind turbines. You will get a weekly email with your usage and a monthly email invoice with usage for the month compared with the last 12 months. I'm very happy with them!

Dallasuser from Dallas
August 20th, 2017

Breeze Energy Logo

Breeze Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 06-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...