Home > Review Topics > Recent Negative

Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (353 reviews)



New Servie Set -Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  Customer Service set up 3 different accounts, all I want a transfer service, paying on three different accounts, they delete 3 times , shut power off in the process, in span of 24 hrs, one 8 Representative did not know what was done on account. Plus requesting a $600 deposit. WTF... They blew out 2 of my UPS and computer monitors with shut downs.

BigHex from Grand Prairie
May 7th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will need more information to investigate this matter to ensure this doesn't happen again. Please contact us here, 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$159 base fee is just ridiculous

(2 / 5)

  Had an ad 0.07c per Kw but ended up having $159 bill every month. I dont even use much in a small apartment. I just feel cheated. When i called and asked, there was nothing can be done to fix this. I had to cancel service and go with another carrier. Not recommended.

david truong from Houston
May 1st, 2019

Frontier Utilities Logo

Frontier Utilities


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant customers pay for their employee mistakes

(2 / 5)

  We switched to Reliant several months ago and are almost at the end of our current contract. We have 2 accounts- residential and commercial. My husband told the lady from Reliant that we wanted our residential account switched to Reliant. She stated she did not need the ESI number for that account. Well what she did was switch our commercial and the manger told us there was nothing he could do. We ended up paying an early cancellation fee for the commercial and was charged twice for the electricity for the residential since that contract expired. Thanks for costing us roughly $300 Reliant because your employee didnt know what she was doing and made your customer pay for your employee mistakes!
NEVER again Reliant!!! BTW Gexa was great when we used them and we will be going back!

Rosemary and Donald from Richland
April 23rd, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Continuing Failure of Accounting Department To Accurately Record Payments

(2 / 5)

  Month after month Cirro Energy sends out late notices when in fact the payment are received several days before the due date. It appears they either don't log the payments when they are received, or they don't deposit the payment until after the due date in order to illegally charge late fees.

Wayne Boyce from Grand Prairie
April 6th, 2019

Hi Wayne, this is not the experience we want for our customers, and we'd appreciate the opportunity to further investigate. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account number and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds May 1st, 2019
Cirro Energy Logo

Cirro Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop from Killeen
January 27th, 2019

Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you

(2 / 5)

  I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!

Josef from Houston
January 3rd, 2019

Southwest Power & Light Logo

Southwest Power & Light


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)

(2 / 5)

  On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.

Barre from Katy
November 30th, 2018

Barre, We hate to see you had a poor experience with the renewal. We are actively working to improve this process for our customers and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thanks, Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill tripled

(2 / 5)

  Was expecting my bill to decrease after my son and his 3 daughters moved out . Now it is only me, I am gone during the week for 12 - 16 hrs a day. Does the kwh hours i am using decrease. No they keep going up. How can kwh with 5 people living in a home be anywhere from 70 to 100 kwh per week and jump to 425 kwh a week with one person living in the home. Something is not right, i will be changing providers asap. This is crazy.

Debbie from Denison
November 21st, 2018

TriEagle Energy Logo

TriEagle Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be aware of this compamy

(2 / 5)

  Everything with Reliant takes months to process. On the top of that, their customer care representatives push the costliest plan they have to the customers to reach their sales quotas. They make it difficult to leave a contract, and try to squeeze every penny from customers in every possible way.

They didn't approve my application the first time I applied for electricity in July, though I had submitted all the required documents. Rejected my application almost after a month, during which I was fined heftily by my society. Later when I applied for the second time, one of their customer (dont) care representatives gave me the costliest electricity plan available with Reliant and now my electricity bill is increasing every week. I have submitted a request to change my plan and the timeline given to me is 2 months. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

Kanad from Houston
November 20th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(2 / 5)

  Much higher bill than I expected

Lee R Beeson from Houston
November 19th, 2018

Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...