Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (698 reviews)



When are lights coming on

(2 / 5)

  I paid a deposit 3 days ago and still dont have lights their employees are writing the reviews do not use this company didnt want to give them not 1 star but 0 only way I could leave a review

Anice from Spring
July 8th, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2002 and additional information.

Responds July 13th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They have no idea how to bill correctly

(2 / 5)

  First of all, they have issues with their billing system. They sent out a couple of extra bills mid month and it was scheduled to be withdrawn from my account until I called to have them cancel it.
Their email correspondence is also atrocious. They automatically send you a reply saying our team will get back to you in 24-48 hours but I have yet to have one respond in that time frame if they even respond at all. On top of the slow responses, the email was full of typos. It also seems like they say things like we have resolved the issue but then I am still billed incorrectly and have to call to fix it anyway. It makes me doubt the credibility of this business. Their prices are alright. I couldve went with a different plan to better match my needs at a cheaper price but there was no point in doing that afterwards and getting stuck with a cancellation fee. My service was interrupted like everybody elses during the Texas Freeze and whenever power lines went down but then it was up to AEP to fix it.

Brandon from Corpus Christi
July 1st, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(2 / 5)

  Poor customer service last month electric bill was kinda nice $170.00 this month paid $321.00 over $150.00 jump in just one month glad I am going with txu !

Mark from Odessa
June 29th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.

Responds July 1st, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service

(2 / 5)

  Your staff harasses customers. Some of them is unprofessional. The payment plan is trash. Been with Just Energy for years. They have made horrible changes. As soon as my contract is up I am gone.

Coco from Houston
May 6th, 2021

Hello. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and leaving this review. We want to do everything we can to get this situation resolved for you as quickly as possible. To prioritize your request, please contact us at (866) 587-8674. so that we can look into this for you.

Thank you, Alexandria, Social Media Advisor

Responds May 7th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing Cancellation

(2 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit Energy since 2017 and the bill has been inconsistent, I'm hardly ever home...I unplug things and rarely run my ac/heat. I transferred their services from one apartment to another apartment complex not far from each other and was hit with a cancellation fee and stated that I switched to another provider!!!!! I didn't BTW! I just transferred the lights! There's now an investigation. I've only been in the apartment for one month , today. I cannot pay a $200.00 bill. I'm rarely home due to working days through 7 p.m. and most weekends I'm out of town. Oh! And now AE is saying that I no longer have an account with them!!!! HUH! I have lights btw as well...apparently another provider has taken over, but neither I nor AE know who? So Over IT!

Frustrated Customer from Baytown
March 22nd, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer "NO" Service

(2 / 5)

  Okay, well, you JUST LOST A CUSTOMER. Thanks for showing your TRUE colors in this time when you could have been much more supportive.

Apparently, your last communication that said, "We are working with your utility company to get actual usage for these days, which means the actual usage would be zero during the times your power was out. If applicable, you will see adjustments in the coming days," was just trying to placate a customer. And even though you claim that the price per kwh did not increase with the exorbitant rates of ERCOT, you figured out a way to make up that money. Very creative.

I STILL DID NOT HAVE ELECTRICITY for 3 days in which YOU claim I used about 277 kWh of electricity. So GOOD JOB.

You know, I wasn't asking for the whole bill to be reassessed and CORRECTED. Just the days that I KNOW I had no electricity usage. Shame on you. I understand everything you said about increased usage during colder weather. That all makes sense. What makes NO SENSE is that you can't even admit the estimation, or worse, the falsification of the energy usage during the days when there was no power. How ludicrous!
I realize YOU hold all the leverage: if I don't pay the falsified bill, you will suspend my service and report it to the credit bureaus.
But I can do some things.
I will be very aggressive in letting everyone I know that this company falsifies meter readings and is REALLY NOT THAT INTERESTED in customer service.
I will contact Sam's Club home office to let them know my dissatisfaction with this company that they supported. Hopefully, they will see you for what you are.
I will also post reviews EVERYWHERE possible to alert others about your refusal to even admit that you do what you do.

I Was Fooled from Plano
March 12th, 2021

Hi, thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear you have concerns regarding the usage being provided on your bill and would like to have the opportunity to correct any issues. To access your account and allow us to look into a resolution please call us at 1-866-587-8674. We would love to resolve this matter for you as soon as possible.

Regards,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor

Responds March 12th, 2021

That's all been done already.

I Was Fooled Replies March 12th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing Billing Practices

(2 / 5)

  I'm new to the Texas energy market so 4Change was recommended. The service they provide is good but the billing is always confusing. Everytime you pay the highest amount on the bill, I get the next bill stating I had a previous unpaid balance. Tried dealing with customer service to get an explanation and had an agent who was obviously having a bad day, talk to me like I was stupid. I'm paying for this? Can't wait to change energy providors when this contract is up.

Zach from Sulphur Springs
March 4th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing nightmare never paid 300 for my 1800 sf house.

(2 / 5)

  I have lived in this house for 30 years

Never have my bill go that high.
After talking with someone they said I was on the wrong plan, so after 1000kwh at $86 I get hit another $86 for going over . Went to 1,350 kwh

Called 4 times with no answer , had to E-mailed them.
Responding email said I had a unpaid balance.
The balance was paid and I had a credit that was comfermed by my last statement.

So... there advertised kwh price has a catch....
Billing department doesn't credit your account and frequently made mistakes on the bill.
EMAIL them for your records.

Bill from Spring
March 3rd, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Worst

(2 / 5)

  The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.

DW from Houston
February 9th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy

(2 / 5)

  I was trying to have service shut off at one address and switched to another address. What a nightmare. I wanted service at new address on January 29th and electricity shut off at old address on February 2nd. I was on the phone for over an hour and a half and went through 4 people. Finally I told them to shut off service at old address on February 2nd and would find another provider for new address. I will NEVER use Direct Energy again

Katherine OBrien from Fort Worth
January 26th, 2021

Hello Katherine. We are truly sorry for the difficult situation you experienced and we are deeply saddened to know that we have lost you as part of our family. If there's anything we can do for you, please feel free to contact us anytime through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve any concern you may have. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

Responds January 27th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions