Home > Review Topics > Recent Negative

Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (531 reviews)



Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)

(2 / 5)

  On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.

Barre from Katy
November 30th, 2018

Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The sales pitch is misleading

(2 / 5)

  I selected 4Chnage Energy on the state website after evaluating the various plans. My bill went up significantly due to the tiered structure of the rates.

GARK from Houston
November 9th, 2018

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mediocre, prices going up.

(2 / 5)

  My renewal experience this year, which should usually be pretty easy, was terrible. Required several phone calls and explanations as to why i was getting emails saying my power would be turned off even though I renewed appropriately. Not to mention the old plan that was the reason for getting on with 4Change has changed and prices have gone up signficantly... Wouldn't recommend.

Ryan from Round Rock
October 31st, 2018

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Offer...bait and switch

(2 / 5)

  I received emailing offering ME the new rate. I was rejected because the a cvount we have is in my husband's name. I received the OFFER of a lower kilowatt hour and then offer denied to me. We are seniors on a FIXED income and would like the OFFER extended to ME. I feel a bit and switch!!! Help me please. Look forward to a prompt response.

Bait and switch! from Allen
October 9th, 2018

Hi there, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 26th, 2018
Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Choose someone else

(2 / 5)

  I was a Bounce customer for over 7 years. When my contract ended they decided it would be a great time to "rape" me on the kwh rate. They increased it to over 17 per kwh. Plus kept changing my due date which had always been the 22nd and since I'm on paperless I didn't know so they would charge me a late fee for me paying a day late (which should have been my due date). Champion Energy has been great. You can even see your daily usage.

Tammie from Houston
July 13th, 2018

We are so sorry to have lost you as a customer! We did experience a large increase in prices this summer due to the demand on Electricity and several power plant closures. If your contract ended during this time, we can completely understand that you would be upset with the price increase. We apologize if the due date changes were frustrating, unfortunately, we are not able to adjust the due date as it's dependent upon when the Utility reads your meter. We apologize for the delay in our response to your review and understand all of your frustrations and hope that you might consider us again in the future if needed. - Kate

Bounce Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Bounce Energy Logo

Bounce Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware end of contract

(2 / 5)

  3x times previous rate. Change provider and new 2 year plan is down to what we got on frontier contract. If companies can give a fixed rate that long that means the off contract at 3x is just gouging.

2 year customer from Fort Worth
July 8th, 2018

Frontier Utilities Logo

Frontier Utilities


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They only post good reviews

(2 / 5)

  I've been a customer for 5 years pay my bills on time and never had any problems until the last couple of months. Customer service fail to follow through on the contract that I needed to place after mine expired. They said they call me they never did and they never left a message and called me a liar as to a new contract in new rates. I've called several times they have gouged me on my last bill because I didn't have a contract and they charge me $0.16 per kilowatt which I find very disgusting. All my other bills were at 12 and 13 cents per kilowatt I will never do business with anybody that treats me like you have treated me again. I called and requested a rewrite change on my last bill because I do live on Social Security and I can't pay the whole bill if that gouging rate. I have never been so insulted in my life do not ever do business with these people they told me no unless I sign a new contract at an outrageous and they have no good plans available I've already been offered a better plan with $100 signing bonus. Never been so disgusted my life with an electrical provider don't ever use these people and don't believe all the good comments

Nancy from Friendswood
June 22nd, 2018

Hi Nancy,

Thank you for being our customer for 5 years. We apologize for the service you recently received; it's not the experience we want to provide. Your feedback is valuable, and we will share it with the appropriate teams.

Many customers who receive a high bill are actually just off contract. When your fixed agreement ends, you are switched over to a month-to-month plan which can vary depending on Market conditions. We'd love to have you back as a customer, and if you'd like to discuss fixed plan options, please call us at 1-877-240-3931. As an added bonus, you'll receive $100 in Perks Points.

Just Energy Responds June 29th, 2018
Just Energy Logo

Just Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not satisfied

(2 / 5)

  We didn't renew the contract as their prices were becoming higher and higher and we decided to move to another provider. After a month we received the bill-they charged us for the whole month when we used only 10 days. Called the customer service they say it is because of your plan usage from 0-1000 is charged fully. So let me understand this even if we used 0.005 we would be charged the whole amount. Havent seen this with any other company. It is not about the money but about the fact that big businesses become big by stealing from the nation. Not satisfied at all.

Anna from Dallas
June 14th, 2018

Hi, Anna, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. That specific plan is per billing cycle, but usually that time frame would be pro-rated. We do have other plans that are structured differently, so we may have a better fit for you. Sorry that didn't work out this time, and we hope to earn your business again in the future.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Infinite Energy Logo

Infinite Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing issues already--just 3 month into my plan. Don't trust their auto pay

(2 / 5)

  Don't trust their autopay even if you get a conformation that you are now enrolled. Their plans are impossible to figure out. while they give you 45 to 60 days to chage for free, you barely get one full bully cycle to make a good determination.

I'll pay more next time for high reviews with billing, and price/plans

MJB9 from Fort Worth
June 6th, 2018

Hi MJB9, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 7th, 2018
Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My service

(2 / 5)

  Way too expensive

S.l.g. from Caddo Mills
June 5th, 2018

Hello Energy Logo

Hello Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 12-04-2018
Example Bill
loading...