Home > Review Topics > Recent Negative

Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (557 reviews)



Awful Choose someone else
(2 / 5)

  I was a Bounce customer for over 7 years. When my contract ended they decided it would be a great time to "rape" me on the kwh rate. They increased it to over 17 per kwh. Plus kept changing my due date which had always been the 22nd and since I'm on paperless I didn't know so they would charge me a late fee for me paying a day late (which should have been my due date). Champion Energy has been great. You can even see your daily usage.

Tammie from Houston
July 13th, 2018

We are so sorry to have lost you as a customer! We did experience a large increase in prices this summer due to the demand on Electricity and several power plant closures. If your contract ended during this time, we can completely understand that you would be upset with the price increase. We apologize if the due date changes were frustrating, unfortunately, we are not able to adjust the due date as it's dependent upon when the Utility reads your meter. We apologize for the delay in our response to your review and understand all of your frustrations and hope that you might consider us again in the future if needed. - Kate

Bounce Energy Responds August 20th, 2018
Bounce Energy Logo

Bounce Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware end of contract
(2 / 5)

  3x times previous rate. Change provider and new 2 year plan is down to what we got on frontier contract. If companies can give a fixed rate that long that means the off contract at 3x is just gouging.

2 year customer from Fort Worth
July 8th, 2018

Frontier Utilities Logo

Frontier Utilities


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They only post good reviews
(2 / 5)

  I've been a customer for 5 years pay my bills on time and never had any problems until the last couple of months. Customer service fail to follow through on the contract that I needed to place after mine expired. They said they call me they never did and they never left a message and called me a liar as to a new contract in new rates. I've called several times they have gouged me on my last bill because I didn't have a contract and they charge me $0.16 per kilowatt which I find very disgusting. All my other bills were at 12 and 13 cents per kilowatt I will never do business with anybody that treats me like you have treated me again. I called and requested a rewrite change on my last bill because I do live on Social Security and I can't pay the whole bill if that gouging rate. I have never been so insulted in my life do not ever do business with these people they told me no unless I sign a new contract at an outrageous and they have no good plans available I've already been offered a better plan with $100 signing bonus. Never been so disgusted my life with an electrical provider don't ever use these people and don't believe all the good comments

Nancy from Friendswood
June 22nd, 2018

Hi Nancy,

Thank you for being our customer for 5 years. We apologize for the service you recently received; it's not the experience we want to provide. Your feedback is valuable, and we will share it with the appropriate teams.

Many customers who receive a high bill are actually just off contract. When your fixed agreement ends, you are switched over to a month-to-month plan which can vary depending on Market conditions. We'd love to have you back as a customer, and if you'd like to discuss fixed plan options, please call us at 1-877-240-3931. As an added bonus, you'll receive $100 in Perks Points.

Just Energy Responds June 29th, 2018
Just Energy Logo

Just Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not satisfied
(2 / 5)

  We didn't renew the contract as their prices were becoming higher and higher and we decided to move to another provider. After a month we received the bill-they charged us for the whole month when we used only 10 days. Called the customer service they say it is because of your plan usage from 0-1000 is charged fully. So let me understand this even if we used 0.005 we would be charged the whole amount. Havent seen this with any other company. It is not about the money but about the fact that big businesses become big by stealing from the nation. Not satisfied at all.

Anna from Dallas
June 14th, 2018

Hi, Anna, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. That specific plan is per billing cycle, but usually that time frame would be pro-rated. We do have other plans that are structured differently, so we may have a better fit for you. Sorry that didn't work out this time, and we hope to earn your business again in the future.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Infinite Energy Logo

Infinite Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing issues already--just 3 month into my plan. Don't trust their auto pay
(2 / 5)

  Don't trust their autopay even if you get a conformation that you are now enrolled. Their plans are impossible to figure out. while they give you 45 to 60 days to chage for free, you barely get one full bully cycle to make a good determination.

I'll pay more next time for high reviews with billing, and price/plans

MJB9 from Fort Worth
June 6th, 2018

Hi MJB9, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 7th, 2018
Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My service
(2 / 5)

  Way too expensive

S.l.g. from Caddo Mills
June 5th, 2018

Hello Energy Logo

Hello Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fine if you don't leave
(2 / 5)

  Would not use again. Price to leave is $78 even when your contact is over. Got a great electricity rate so I chose this company over bigger names but when it was time to renew the offer they made was no longer competitive so I switched.

Turns out an "Oncor Electric Company Surcharges Approved" showed up on my last invoice, even though I was out of contract. The price to switch electric companies varies and in my opinion, anything over $20 is way too much, especially for something automated. Exact actual price to end service is not disclosed in terms of service, only a mention that a fee may be changed.

Also had some billing problems - signed up for auto-pay but didn't charge my card for some reason one month (even though they had the 4 months prior) then called to say my bill was overdue, and I had to go online and pay again. Later appologized via automated email.

Amanda from McKinney
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Call us at 1-866-917-8271 and we will do our best to solve this issue for you.

Constellation Responds September 12th, 2018
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't bother with contract not worth paper written on
(2 / 5)

  I signed up for the startex "secure" one year plan at 10.8, guess what, 4 months later my bill has a rate of 10.94 and they didn't bother to send notice and refuse to honour my contract with them. They however intend for me to honour my end and will charge me for leaving early. Don't bother signing up for a "secure" rate, it isn't.

Terri Jackson from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate the rate issue described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Constellation Responds October 7th, 2010
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Displeased customer
(2 / 5)

  I recently switched my business account to StarTex Power where they say their
customers are treated like a star! This is the farthest from the truth! I have
found that their customer service people are rude and of no help at all! I would
strongly discourage anyone from signing with this company. I have switched
and will never consider them in the future!
T. Gilland

Anonymous from Anna
May 30th, 2018

My name is Jennifer Bell, Office of the President at StarTex Power. Although you are no longer an active customer, I would still like the opportunity to research what transpired on your account. At your convenience, please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or contact me directly at 713-292-2551. I look forward to hearing from you and am sincerely apologetic for the frustration you endured.

Constellation Responds March 5th, 2012
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst costumer service ever!
(2 / 5)

  We have had problems with the service and they have the worst costumer
service.
Choose another provider!

Laura from Houston
May 30th, 2018

Laura, StarTex Power would like the opportunity to assist you, as we do take customer service seriously. At your convenience, please email me at jbell@startexpower.com or contact me directly at 713-292-2551so that I may research what has transpired on your account. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have endured and look forward to assisting you. Jennifer Bell: Manager, Office of the President

Constellation Responds March 5th, 2012
Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 09-21-2018
Example Bill
loading...