Home > Review Topics > Recent Negative

Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (536 reviews)



Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop from Killeen
January 27th, 2019

Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you

(2 / 5)

  I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!

Josef from Houston
January 3rd, 2019

Southwest Power & Light Logo

Southwest Power & Light


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)

(2 / 5)

  On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.

Barre from Katy
November 30th, 2018

Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill tripled

(2 / 5)

  Was expecting my bill to decrease after my son and his 3 daughters moved out . Now it is only me, I am gone during the week for 12 - 16 hrs a day. Does the kwh hours i am using decrease. No they keep going up. How can kwh with 5 people living in a home be anywhere from 70 to 100 kwh per week and jump to 425 kwh a week with one person living in the home. Something is not right, i will be changing providers asap. This is crazy.

Debbie from Denison
November 21st, 2018

TriEagle Energy Logo

TriEagle Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be aware of this compamy

(2 / 5)

  Everything with Reliant takes months to process. On the top of that, their customer care representatives push the costliest plan they have to the customers to reach their sales quotas. They make it difficult to leave a contract, and try to squeeze every penny from customers in every possible way.

They didn't approve my application the first time I applied for electricity in July, though I had submitted all the required documents. Rejected my application almost after a month, during which I was fined heftily by my society. Later when I applied for the second time, one of their customer (dont) care representatives gave me the costliest electricity plan available with Reliant and now my electricity bill is increasing every week. I have submitted a request to change my plan and the timeline given to me is 2 months. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

Kanad from Houston
November 20th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(2 / 5)

  Much higher bill than I expected

Lee R Beeson from Houston
November 19th, 2018

Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The sales pitch is misleading

(2 / 5)

  I selected 4Chnage Energy on the state website after evaluating the various plans. My bill went up significantly due to the tiered structure of the rates.

GARK from Houston
November 9th, 2018

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shorten my Deposit Check

(2 / 5)

  I called and they had every excuse in the book pertaining why I didn't receive my $245 deposit and plus interest...They didn't even know what I was talking about when I questioned about plus interest for staying full 12 months.

TEE from Wichita Falls
November 8th, 2018

Express Energy Logo

Express Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not go here

(2 / 5)

  I signed up for a 2 year contract and had what is expected of an energy supplier at a good rate. However, when my contract was about to expire, I received a renewal offer that said my contract was due to expire at xx/xx/xxxx date and there would not be any early termination fees if I cancel within 14 days of this date. I chose not to renew with Power Express and canceled within the 14 days stated in the email. It turns out my contract went 15 days past the date in the email and I was charged $150.00 for early termination. I contacted them and received no response, and they sold my $150.00 past due to a collection agency before I even received a past due invoice. They will just screw you in the end!

Brian from Houston
November 7th, 2018

Power Express Logo

Power Express


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharging at it's finest

(2 / 5)

  I have been going back and forth with this company because I am being sent disconnection notices every other week. I call customer service, thinking I have resolved the issue, pay well over $180 for fees I am not even understanding, under the impressions I would have certain charges waived from the account (about $56). Looking at my following month's bill, the $56 charge has rolled over to the following bill, with a disconnection notice for the amount the representative told me would be waived. Every time I call, I get a different story on these fees and nothing showing the fees were waived. So here I am, making another HUGE payment for my electricity, frustrated that no one is on the same page as I, yet I am paying because I do not want to be disconnected. I was so excited to switch over to 4Change energy, but this has been a big mistake. Still haven't received a resolution to any of my issues with this light company, it has just been a endless circle every time I call.

Tina from Houston
November 1st, 2018

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 02-22-2019
Example Bill
loading...