Recent Bad Reviews


Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (221 reviews)



Too expenaive

(2 / 5)

  Too expensive, Too expensive, Too expensive

Nisha from Fort Worth
August 6th, 2022

Energy Texas Logo

Energy Texas


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

YEP Energy Lacks Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  I locked in on a rate with YEP Energy in August, 2021 for a 3 year term. When I received my first bill, there were a lot of fees that increased my bill amounts which also included a variable rate increase they did not include in my contract rates. I started a complaint in the BBB about their fees to hold them accountable for the extra fees and variable rates. This is where they took a couple of lines out of my BBB complaints and used that against me to reduce my contract length from 3 years to 1 year as they saw fit.

I did not notice the expiration dates until 2 months before the end of my first year of service with them was complete and noticed the renewal notices (for twice the amount I originally locked in at). Upon investigation, I realized that they changed my contracted term without my approval.

Upon my discovery of the reduced contract length, I began calling and communicating with their customer service which refused to reinstate the original contract term. I filed a complaint with the PUC who investigated the matter and is currently holding them accountable for the 3 year term. I'm still waiting for them to reinstate my original contract term. Be careful with this company. You might think you are getting a good rate, but they lack understanding with their customers, and they will bully you once they have you in their contract. They do demonstrate good customer service to resolve misunderstandings and may even drive you to challenge them in court or with the Public Utility Commission.

RGW from Deer Park
July 27th, 2022

Sorry to hear the concerns you have regarding your service. Please contact Customer Care at 866-937-5937 so we may help you better understand your plan and account.
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy.

Y.E.P. Responds October 4th, 2022
Y.E.P. Logo

Y.E.P.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dreadful customer service!

(2 / 5)

  What a scam! They will not make any reasonable effort to let you know your contract is expiring, except snail mail. They also will not inform you they switched you to a totally different plan. They will do whatever it takes to make as much money off you as they can. They are highly unethical and certain dont give a darn about customer loyalty. Run away!

Catherine C from Pearland
July 21st, 2022

Spark Energy Logo

Spark Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thumbs down for customer service on move out

(2 / 5)

  I emailed 4change on my moveout date of 06/19/2022 requesting that my service be cancelled, immediately. The next cycle start was 06/20/2022. I received a receipt acknowledgement email that same date however, service was not cancelled and they did not notify me of this until 06/22/2022 at which time they charged me a another whole month's cycle charge. The service would not have been cancelled at that time except that they received an order for service from someone else. I have emailed back and forth with them insisting I pay the full month of charges for after I moved out and notified them to cancel, and when I try to call their office, I get an "office closed" message.

C Thompson from Sealy
July 5th, 2022

4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Huge jump without any notice

(2 / 5)

  Once my 1 year contract was up my rate jumped from 5 cents per Kwhr to 27.8 cents per Kwhr with no notice of the increase. They increased the rate by over 400% and when I inquired about it, they cited an increase in fuel prices. I know fuel prices have gone up, but not 400%.

Michael from McKinney
June 22nd, 2022

YEP Energy understands your concerns regarding increased electricity prices. Our fixed-price contracts, and our month-to-month prices are very competitive with other REPS in the market today and all providers are seeing increased costs to serve. Below please find a recent article regarding the increased cost of electricity in the state of Texas.

https://apple.news/AZEjbg6OdTaGyUKpMgHwbFA

Customers like yourself that are on month-to-month plans do not benefit from YEP Energy being able to buy ahead for your contracted needs at competitive prices but instead, we have to only buy one month at a time. In February and March 2022 we issued fixed price expiration notices alerting you to this change. To shield yourself from potential increases this summer, please consider renewing to a fixed price plan as soon as possible. You can renew online by logging into your portal at myaccount.yepenergy.com or by contact an agent at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

Y.E.P. Responds June 22nd, 2022
Y.E.P. Logo

Y.E.P.


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst possible customer service

(2 / 5)

  I have literally had ONE nice experience with CS seriously to the point that I am willing to pay the early disconnect fee just to not have to deal with them. Literally do not GAF about working with people in difficult situations. Condescending and rude

kd from Harlingen
June 22nd, 2022

Good afternoon, Kd. We are truly concerned to know your experience with our Customer Care Team was less than acceptable. We would appreciate if you gave us the opportunity to make things right, please feel free to reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, you are an important member of our family and we will give our 110% to show you we care. We'll be waiting for you. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful day! - Marta / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds June 22nd, 2022
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service lacking

(2 / 5)

  Moved out of the area and received an email saying no termination fee would be assessed... There was and it took multiple calls in which over half the time the foreign call center reps just hung up. This went on for almost 3 months ended up disputing thru my credit card. Then they tried to send it to a 3rd party collections

Austin from Corpus Christi
April 20th, 2022

Hi Austin. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our apologies for the bad experience. We would be more than happy to assist to verify is resolved. Please, contact us at 1-866-587-8674.<br /><br /><br />Many Thanks,<br />Lily, Social Media Advisor

Just Energy Responds April 30th, 2022
Just Energy Logo

Just Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nickel and dime you with fees

(2 / 5)

  Overall, I haven't had an issue with Discount Power until one month where things were busy and I overlooked my bill for a couple weeks. Most honest companies will warn you about being disconnected for non-payment when the next month bill comes out. Not so with DP, instead within only a couple weeks of not paying your bill they send you a disconnect notice so they can greedily charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee. Then they add insult to injury by also charging a late fee. I could understand if it was going on to next month and no payment had been made, but a couple weeks... Really?! Disappointed and can't wait to switch to a more honest company.

CLT83 from Corpus Christi
April 6th, 2022

Hi, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1313 and additional information.

Discount Power Responds April 12th, 2022
Discount Power Logo

Discount Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth it

(2 / 5)

  I had Ambit for 1 year and the rate was fair for a few months and then starting going up. There is no way to pay half before the due date and then pay the rest with out paying a fee. I paid $289 for February and now for March it's $363.91. And Oncor charges are ridiculous $112. So I am done with Ambit! Cancelled and not going back.

Pam from Tyler
March 5th, 2022

Ambit Energy Logo

Ambit Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Without power, no care

(2 / 5)

  I am in my house without power its 40 F in my house. Amigo promised my power would be on today. They said if they needed any additional information they would contact me. I called this morning and the lady on the phone said they needed two items from me and I informed her that they never called. She apologized and said it would take 24-48 hours to get power on in my house. I told her that I had opted for priority for an extra fee on my bill so I could have power today. She said if they cant get it on today then I wouldnt have to pay for the priority yet I wouldnt have power. I emailed the documents and called back a few hours later to make sure they were received. The lady on this call promised Id have power in a few hours. Its been 3 hours and when I called back theyre office was closed. They dont open again until Monday and I have work on Monday and need power. Let me stress again that my house is cold and my food is going to go bad. I am so beyond upset.

Jamie from Texas City
February 26th, 2022

Hi Jaime. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding and frustration caused at the time of the enrollment. A member of our team will be contacting you soon to have this resolved as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

Amigo Energy Responds February 28th, 2022
Amigo Energy Logo

Amigo Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions