Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (681 reviews)



The Worst

(2 / 5)

  The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.

DW from Houston
February 9th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy

(2 / 5)

  I was trying to have service shut off at one address and switched to another address. What a nightmare. I wanted service at new address on January 29th and electricity shut off at old address on February 2nd. I was on the phone for over an hour and a half and went through 4 people. Finally I told them to shut off service at old address on February 2nd and would find another provider for new address. I will NEVER use Direct Energy again

Katherine OBrien from Fort Worth
January 26th, 2021

Hello Katherine. We are truly sorry for the difficult situation you experienced and we are deeply saddened to know that we have lost you as part of our family. If there's anything we can do for you, please feel free to contact us anytime through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve any concern you may have. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

Responds January 27th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware new scheme from the company (probably others)

(2 / 5)

  When my last contract ended, they did not send any notice of my rates going up. This time, they sent me a notice to renew by a date last month. So, I chose to renew with another company this month, but they are informing me of a $200 fine for renewing a few months early. I was a complacent customer for 20 years, but never again.

Marc S. from Dallas
January 15th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1831 and additional information.

Responds January 19th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hidden fees

(2 / 5)

  Went with a solar buyback plan. The CenterPoint fees are more than I pay for the electricity. In the winter, I should be be generating a credit. Instead, I'm paying 50$ a month. Summer is going to be rough.

CenterPoint fees outrageous from Humble
December 28th, 2020

We are very sorry to hear you are not satisfied with your solar buyback plan! Centerpoint fees are not something that Chariot charges, but passes through. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further.

Responds January 18th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Charged double per kWh every day for a year

(2 / 5)

  I have tried to keep a close watch on my electricity usage, and usually put 60 to 120 a week on my account. Used to I would put 120 on my account and it would last to weeks, but over the last 7 to 8 months I've noticed my accounts were drained withing a week. And I would have to request assistance. So i just got through going over all my daily summary messages and found out, that after taking off my "free usage amount" i was being charged DOUBLE!! That's right instead of the 12.7/1000kWh, I am being charged 25.4/1000kWh exactly. I am fighting this review as a warning. I just sent an email to customer service asking them to correct there mistake and credit the overcharges back to my account and fix the issue. I'm waiting on a reply. Please keep a close eye on you accounts. It may be a simple error. But it has been costly to me. Paying as much as 430/month to 260/ month for electricity that should be half that. Based on what their plans say they charge.

John from Whitehouse
December 26th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill is too confusing!

(2 / 5)

  I just moved in with my mother. I tried to read bill statement. It was the most confusing piece of paper I've ever read in my life. I'd give this a 5 stars but I can't call customer service to change anything. Confusing. Why can't Ambit just display our meter reading and bill due? If pay it immediately, but I can't because of all the "adjustments". Too confusing!

Confusing statement! from Woodway
December 13th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripped Off

(2 / 5)

  I do my research diligently (using PowertoChoose.org) based on prior year energy usage for my house. Last May, I signed up for the 4Change Energy MaxxSaver plan based on my kWh consumption. However, I was astounded by my bill as was much higher (~$100) than based on the rates quoted in the Electricity Facts Label (EFL). I complained and was switched to the BudgetSaver12 and again the same thing happened in that my bill is 2X the amount expected based on the cited rates per the corresponding EFL. This is fraudulent misrepresentation of rates in the PowertoChoose.org website.

Douglas Boyd Ph.D. from Sugar Land
December 11th, 2020

Hi there Douglas, we're sorry to see you're not happy with your plan! If you could please send us an email at immediate.escalations@4changeenergy.com we would be happy to take a look at this further. We want our customers saving as much as they can!

Responds December 22nd, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

slow bill processing is unacceptable

(2 / 5)

  Sent the following email:

Today I discussed and issue with one of your agents regarding receipt of my payment. My Credit Union showed payment was made on the Nov 19 (Sent attachment and listing proving I paid 4 days early).

I told the agent I pay all my utilities from my CU which I find more convenient. All my other utilities accept prompt payment from my Credit Union including my former electric service. You are either behind the times
or are trying to force me into using your system which you seem to emphasize inordinately. I paid a second time via phone to resolve the current lag in your system and find it necessary to go with someone else who is more accomodating.

This is their misconceived reply:
After reviewing your information, we realized that we received your payment for $30.76 on 11/23/2020( my payment by phone), if you processed your payment through online check or E-pay, it might take up 10 business days for us receive your payment, therefore, if you decide to use the same payment method, we recommend you pay it as soon as you get the bill to get your money on time.
Please let us know if you need further assistance and we will gladly help you.
Remember that we offer 24/7 Online Account Management. If you have any further questions about your account, please contact us directly at 855-784-2426.

My 2nd and last reply:
I reiterated that I find their bill payment processing out of their network unacceptable and will be going with another provider.

Disappointed from Rockwall
November 23rd, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Its a Trap!

(2 / 5)

  The service was honestly fine when I was using it. However, I called and informed them I was going to be moving and instead of scheduling the service to be disconnected and the "Going to be Disconnected" issue on the website they kept my service going stating I specifically had to call and have the service disconnected! Be careful and look at more places! This one is just a trap in the end waiting to scam you out of as much money as they can get! Not to mention their customer service sounded like they were in India and I could only understand half of what was being said! Would not recommend!

Caleb from Dallas
November 7th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DUE DATE

(2 / 5)

  Do NOT sign up with Frontier ele if you need to pay your bill on the 1st! I signed up with them on the 1st and they made my due date 6 days BEFORE the first, NOW if I dont pay it on the 26th it is considered LATE! I am retired and get paid on the 1st of the month and I pay bills on the 1st! THEY WILL NOT WORK WITH A CUSTOMER AND HAVE THE DUE DATE ON THE 1ST! I THINK THEY DO THIS ON PURPOSE TO MAKE THAT LATE FEE. I HAVE BEGGED THEM TO CHANGE THE DUE DATE TO THE 1ST AND THEY WILL ( NOT) DO IT. IM BARELY MAKING IT AS IT IS.I WOULDNT NEVER BE LATE IF I COULD JUST PAY MY BILL ON THE 1ST OF THE MONTH! DONT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY IF YOU NEED TO PAY YOUR BILL ON THE FIRST. ITS SAD TO TREAT CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS WHEN TIMES ARE HARD ENOUGH AS IT IS. PLEASE BEWARE. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU LIKE IT DID TO ME. THANKS.

Karen S from Arlington
November 2nd, 2020

Hi Karen S, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Responds November 5th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions