Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (469 reviews)



Horrible customer service

(2 / 5)

  Spoke to a customer service supervisor named Ismail today. Ismail raises his voice and questions me back on the energy charge on my EFL. I was with Windrose Energy and they sold my plan over to DiscountPower and it was immediately night and day between the two companies. I thought a with a title of Customer Service Supervisor, they are supposed to know how to explain to the consumer in a calm and clear manner, so that the consumer can understand the bill. Well, not today. Today was the first time I called DiscountPower and it will be the last. I don't intend to call again unless I have to. I will definitely switch to a new utility provider when this contract is over. DiscountPower deserves a 'F' in the customer service rating. Hopefully this review helps some other people out there.

NV from Sugar Land
August 12th, 2020

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.

Responds September 2nd, 2020

Hi Discount Power, I understand that it's your protocol to follow-up with feedbacks like mine. I did send a feedback with my account # and received a generic response to reassure me of my contract plan, in which I am already aware of. So how would that help with anything?

NV Replies September 3rd, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expensive

(2 / 5)

  You may get a somewhat fair rate at the beginning, with a contract; but once your contract is over, be ready to pay 2-3 times your average bill. You get one notice maybe 2 months ahead that your contract is about to end, but no warning about how your bill will sky rocket.

Irvingboss from Irving
August 12th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Non-existent customer service

(2 / 5)

  It is impossible to speak to a customer service rep. You have no problem speaking to Sales though!

kidjones from Dallas
August 10th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Was suckered into a 3 year contract

(2 / 5)

  I was told the AEP delivery charges were included in my 0.9 cents plan. That's literally the only reason I agreed. I will be calling and speak to a supervisor to listen to the original sales call to dispute my contract. It's not right to lie to a customer to make a sale and lock them into a 3 year contract. This is dishonest and I won't stand for it.

Rebecca from San Benito
August 5th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing and auto pay

(2 / 5)

  By law we have 16 days to pay utility bills. If you have auto pay, for best rates, the due date on your bill complies with the law. However, Southwest takes the money from account a week earlier. My bill indicates for power outage call Center Point. What does Southwest do.....just take your money,

Marvin from Fulshear
July 30th, 2020

Marvin - Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light.
Information regarding the draft date of payments are disclosed on each invoice and included in our Terms of Service (TOS).
Regarding outages, no matter your choice in Retail Electric Provider (REP), the lines, meters and distribution of the electricity is preformed by the TDSP (CenterPoint Energy) and in most cases REPs ask customers' to contact them directly for any outages in order to resolve them as quickly as possible.
If you have any other concerns or would like to speak to an agent bout our service, we are available M-F 830am to 530pm cst at 866.941.7975.

Responds September 16th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I think their plan is a bit unethical

(2 / 5)

  I just signed up for Gexa. Supposed to be very cheap. For about 1200 sq ft, my first summer bill was $151.00 and my second one was $375.00!! Ouch! So the plan I have takes off $100.00 if you use between 1000-2000 kw. I used 2063.. so yes, that was over 2000. But this is July, and instead of a mont to month cycle, they used 33 days this cycle. Its up to them if they want to use anywhere from 28 days to 33 days. Beware of this. I just believe it is unethical when they can use fluctuations of the amount of days. I did call and questioned this and they gave me $25.00 off. The customer service rep talked very fast was very hard to understand. I am so tired of computerized care from these companies, it takes you a 20 minutes for a real person to come on and then you strain to understand every word. So funny when you call to set up service, you get to talk to an easy to understand American.. but once youre under contract!! Its so very frustrating!! And its amazing how vivid 19 effects the service of every company! My rant!!

Mary Berggren from Jacksonville
July 29th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Inconsistent with bogus charges

(2 / 5)

  My bill is due different days every month. Not a big deal but sucks trying to remember to pay your bill when it could be due either at the beginning, middle, or end of each month. Have had to pay late bills simply because I was confused when it was due. I don't get anything in the mail and have to check my email constantly if I want to avoid late payments. And at first, I was paying around $62 a month. That was in the winter with the heaters running all the time and me being home consistently. Now, without even being at my house for 2 and a half weeks out of the month with the AC off and almost nothing plugged in (absolutely nothing powered on), I'm paying $117. Sometimes the delivery charge is $14 and sometimes its up to $28. With that and the mandatory $10 "minimum usage fee" (which doesn't make sense or seem necessary unless you didn't meet the minimum energy requirements) a quarter of your bill isn't even from your actual energy usage. I see why they force you into year long contracts now and why more people are living off-grid.

Anon from Del Rio
July 20th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nightmare

(2 / 5)

  I transferred to constellation 2 week before service. I got an email saying I was confirmed and ready other service cut the electricity off but nothing was turned for over 8 hrs later. They lost my application..i had to go thru the entire process again. Just got my bill and without the bill credit it would be the highest in the last 5 yrs. Understand I put in a new unit 2 years ago. Not sure i will wait 11 months. I may pay the early penalty.

Nightmare from League City
July 16th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good price

(2 / 5)

  Good

Faheem Uddin from Sugar Land
July 8th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

operates poorly

(2 / 5)

  I signed up for a new account. Despite telling them to start it on a specific date they went ahead and changed my plan immediately. They also never sent me the email containing my account informaiton resulting in me having to be on the phone with my previous and this company for several hours to no avail.

Gil from Houston
July 2nd, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions