Home > Review Topics > Recent Negative

Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (383 reviews)



Hidden Fees
(2 / 5)

  I was extremely excited about using hello energy because they didn't require a deposit. I was nervous about prepay, however they send you a daily email about your balance. I became disappointed because I began to notice that my balance didn't seem to add up to what they said they were taking out. At first it was a small amount like a penny here and a penny there. Then my bill would be 2.50 less than the amount they 'supposedly' took out and another day it was 1.00 less. After a few weeks of communication through phone and email I finally received a response stating it was taxes. I felt that if they were taxes then that should be incorporated and reflected, but it isn't anywhere. They do not give you a 'bill' of any sort, nor can you print one out to verify that the 'extra' money indeed goes to taxes. There has even been occasion where my bill would say 12.00 remaining and then the next it would say 12.50 remaining and the day after that it would say 6.79 remaining. There have even been times where no one was home yet they would claim we use $10.00 worth of energy in one day. I needed to switch providers with better practices that are easier to understand and verify.

Kynard from Round Rock
January 22nd, 2018

Hello Energy Logo

Hello Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad customer service
(2 / 5)

  Bad customer service

Torres from Fort Worth
January 19th, 2018

PenStar Power Logo

PenStar Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Was Great! Until they were acquired by another company...
(2 / 5)

  We decided to go with prepaid power because we (me & my roomate) don't have enough money to pay the big bills we used to get with TXU energy. All year long 2017- the rates were great. Electricity was cheap, until recently after Hurricane Harvey.... they updated their payment system & now their service is ridiculous. They "OFFER A DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN" - they want you to owe them money, doesnt make sense. It does make sense though for the company to put you in their pocket like that, they are raising rates and diminsh your account balance so fast that you go negative and then they allow you to run up negative $100+ and start texting you to get on their "DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN".

What they've done may not be unethical but it is most definitely irritating, a business does have the right to change its service prices however it is no longer beneficial to use them as a electricity provider. Without getting angry and really speaking my mind, I am writing this review to let everyone know they are not worth trying and will eat your money so fast that it doesnt even make sense. I have three bedroom house and every week, were having to put money on the account.

I conserve energy and still lose it all. This review was written by me, allen. I ask all of you to feel free to shoot me a email at hello@designsbyallen.com before signing up with them so I can tell you how bad they are. I dont want to make a fool of myself by getting angry so I'll just let you all know not go with payless power aka paypwr.com

BIGGEST RIP OFF, SCAM, & HORRIBLE SERVICE

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM, YOU WILL REGRET IT

Allen from Katy
January 3rd, 2018

Payless Power Logo

Payless Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late Payment for Nov. 2017
(2 / 5)

  Hello,
I am the current customer but very disappointed with how your company handle the paymentS, especially for Nov. 2017. I received a Disconnect Notice due to late payment for Nov.2017. Well, my bank account indicated that payment of $70.09 was withdrawn by Startex Power on 12Dec2017. I called Starxtex Customer service to explain today 12/22 and was told that still the amount has not been received. Startex requested me to send in the proof of payment and I did. I am very upset and definitely dont want to waist my time to help resolve your internal issues. Please do something to improve your service next time.

Tony Phan
Account no: 892512404
Service address: 14223 Prospect Point Dr.
Cypress, TX 77429

TONY PHAN from Cypress
December 22nd, 2017

StarTex Power Logo

StarTex Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst provider !! Dont use
(2 / 5)

  Used for over a year. High rates, poor customer service. When I took the line they charged me $ 200 as deposit. I have disconnected the service in August, 2017 and yet to receive my deposit money. Called few times they say they have send a check. But I have not received anything.

reaz from Allen
December 14th, 2017

Cirro Energy Logo

Cirro Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good rate, easy to monitor energy usage online. BUT THEY WILL NOT GIVE YOU REFERRAL CREDIT LIKE PROMISED
(2 / 5)

  Started my plan on 04/2016 and still did not receive the referral credit for mine and my friend's account. I chatted with agents many times online for explanations to why I did not receive the $50 referral. They were professional and seem to be willing to solve the problem. They apologized and assured I would get the referral credit in the next billing cycle. One disappointment after another, still did not receive the credit. I am not sure if it is a system problem or If the company is trying to save $50. I contacted them 4 times, and I am starting to feel voiceless. I don't know how to go about the situation, therefore I am here to voice it so you guys would not be surprised when the referral credit doesn't come in.

D. Nguyen from Houston
December 10th, 2017

We are sorry to hear of your experience around the referral credit process. We truly love when our customers refer us to others and we don't hesitate to submit the promised credits. We were able to locate your account by the email address you provided (thank you) and have escalated this issue to the proper team. We expect that any outstanding credits will be applied within the next few days. We are really sorry about this inexcusable delay and appreciate you alerting us to the issue.
*Update 12/19/17* Credits have been added to both accounts and will be reflected on your next statement.

Reliant Responds December 19th, 2017
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Web System faulty and states incentives that are not delivered
(2 / 5)

  I renewed with Direct Energy (Direct Energy Live Brighter Weekends 24) and the renewal form stated my incentives would be 2 $25 gift cards and a nest thermostat. When I called to find out when I would be receiving my incentives I was told I had a different plan and different incentives.

Other users should beware that they do not honor what you will see when you renew your rate.

Kevin from Houston
December 8th, 2017

Kevin, we want to apologize for any misunderstanding. We would like to investigate this right away. Please send us your account number, phone number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can look into this. Thank you, - Jane

Direct Energy Responds December 15th, 2017
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience with Gexa Billing
(2 / 5)

  Based on my experience with Billing & Account Management at Gexa Energy, I will recommend AGAINST using their services. My 6-month plan was to terminate 8/31. I confirmed cancellation of the plan online on 8/17. At the time my plan was to cancel (8/30) Hurricane Harvey was hitting Houston and I was unable to follow up on the cancellation. Since I didn't CALL to cancel my plan, they did not honor the cancellation, and I was charged up until 10/16 when they finally terminated my plan. In this time, I spoke to representatives over the phone on 4 occasions, each lasting more than 25 minutes as I repeated the same information each time and they placed me on holds and transfers, etc. They refused to adjust my billing for the period of time before I spoke to someone over the phone, and thus I was charged for 1 month of services during which time I was not residing in the apartment. The bill was double that of my highest bill during actual usage.

I will note that use of the electricity services themselves were fine and costs were low on a 6-month new user plan.

Rachel from Houston
October 18th, 2017

Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run, they will take all your money
(2 / 5)

  I am on their "prepaid plan" which was suggested by one of their reps. The deal was great but then I notice I was using more money to keep my lights on but literally wasn't at home . I work 6 days and my off day I sleep. After getting my invoice in an email; I spent over 209 dollars for an apartment. When asked about a cheaper rate with using more than 500kWh( which is apt usage) I was not given the correct information. I'm looking for something better and would never recommend this company to a soul. I will be reporting to the BBB.

Jasmine from Humble
October 11th, 2017

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Safiya when you call us. Thank you for your feedback. Frontier Customer Service

Frontier Utilities Responds November 4th, 2017
Frontier Utilities Logo

Frontier Utilities


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Bill Processing / Customer Service
(2 / 5)

  Just transferred to Discount Power. Process was easy, but it took a while to get my first statement. First payment made from online banking on 9/22; due date was 9/29. Discount Power is not capable of electronic payments, so credit union sent a paper check - no different than how other non-electronic accounts are handled. Received disconnect notice on 10/2 BY EMAIL. Called Discount's customer service, who stated that they only email notices. She was very terse, bordering on rude. Said to give it a few more days to allow the payment to post. Credit union verified that the check was sent, but that the check was never cashed or returned. Received a mail notice of power disconnect on 10/5. Again contacted customer service, and again got a person who obviously would rather be doing something else. The check still had not been posted, so I ended up paying by credit card over the phone. She - like the previous agent - stated that Discount Power recommends to not use online banking, and that it could take up to 12 days for them to post a paper check. They tried everything to get me to add my checking account or credit card information to the Discount Power customer portal for my account, but after this first experience right out of the box, I do not trust them, and do not want them in charge of my account information. If I continue to have payment issues with this company, I will file with the PUC, and have my account nullified and move my business elsewhere, to a company who has some idea of what customer service should be. I fear that Discount Power's statement process does not allow time for manual check payment by the due date, thereby ensuring that they can charge additional late fees to customers.

Customer from Frisco
October 6th, 2017

Discount Power Logo

Discount Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 02-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar