Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (336 reviews)



Reliant customers pay for their employee mistakes

(2 / 5)

  We switched to Reliant several months ago and are almost at the end of our current contract. We have 2 accounts- residential and commercial. My husband told the lady from Reliant that we wanted our residential account switched to Reliant. She stated she did not need the ESI number for that account. Well what she did was switch our commercial and the manger told us there was nothing he could do. We ended up paying an early cancellation fee for the commercial and was charged twice for the electricity for the residential since that contract expired. Thanks for costing us roughly $300 Reliant because your employee didnt know what she was doing and made your customer pay for your employee mistakes!
NEVER again Reliant!!! BTW Gexa was great when we used them and we will be going back!

Rosemary and Donald from Richland
April 23rd, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Continuing Failure of Accounting Department To Accurately Record Payments

(2 / 5)

  Month after month Cirro Energy sends out late notices when in fact the payment are received several days before the due date. It appears they either don't log the payments when they are received, or they don't deposit the payment until after the due date in order to illegally charge late fees.

Wayne Boyce from Grand Prairie
April 6th, 2019

Hi Wayne, this is not the experience we want for our customers, and we'd appreciate the opportunity to further investigate. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account number and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds May 1st, 2019
Cirro Energy Logo

Cirro Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop from Killeen
January 27th, 2019

Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you

(2 / 5)

  I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!

Josef from Houston
January 3rd, 2019

Southwest Power & Light Logo

Southwest Power & Light


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Way too high

(1.8 / 5)

  I thought this was a good company. Yes, they can turn your lights on within a few hours, but the price is ridiculous. My average daily cost was 7.00! I do not recommend this company.

Ann from Fort Worth
January 8th, 2020

Pogo Energy Logo

Pogo Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst energy company in texas

(1.8 / 5)

  high price. bad service

lay from Houston
January 1st, 2020

TXU Energy Logo

TXU Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware!!

(1.8 / 5)

  Reliant was the easy option as an out of stater moving to Texas. Coming from a regulated utility state, it was a learning curve to understand the options and what they mean in Texas. After the promotion period wore off, I spoke on the phone to transfer service from our apartment to our house we just purchased. I also set an end date for the apartment and thought nothing of it. Several months later a mail forwarded a bill of over $400 for utility usage at that apartment I was no longer occupying. I disputed with Reliant, went through their process, they had no record of my ending service, but somehow had provided service to my house... Their final offer was a $50 credit off the balance which I declined to pay someone else's electric bill. They have now sent me to collections which I am fighting. Never ever sign up with a company as scummy and deceptive as Reliant!

don't do it! from Dallas
December 19th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 20th, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

beware..HIDDEN FEES

(1.8 / 5)

  I ve been with them over a year. My plan said 5.2 cents per Kw ,and when asked if delivery charges are included I was told several times - yes.Well - NO. In delivery fees I paid almost as much as energy charges. I have months where I spend 700kw and my bill is $150 and months where i spent 1300Kw and my bill is $130. Decided to switch to a new plan - a lot of plans under 9c per Kw and when read carefully ( they wont go into much details about that with you on the phone) but this would be the energy charge without delivery fee if you spend over 1000Kw , AFTER you get $95 credit for spending over 1000Kw, If you spend under 1000 you will be charged 17cents + per Kw, plus delivery charges....they know how to talk to you to trick you into signing a contract, but once you see your bills you start questioning what is going on....

George from Bedford
September 20th, 2019

Hi Geroge: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds October 18th, 2019
Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overpriced!

(1.8 / 5)

  I have been with reliant for 4 years and they slowly started creeping up my electric bill. They became even more expensive than TXU. Do not use the average electric program! My bill got up to $150 a month in a small one bedroom apartment. Then after I moved, I owed $300 extra for paying the difference of the average utility bill. SO it is a scam! They are not helping you save money. They will make you pay for it later.

Angela Rose from Dallas
September 17th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds October 1st, 2019
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Weekends on Command Plan

(1.8 / 5)

  Worst decision I have ever made when it comes to choosing an energy provider. We signed up for the nights on command and then when I logged into my account it said we signed up for the weekends of command plan. I had not even heard of the weekends on command plan before and was upset then confused. We tried calling about that but decided to just stay with the plan because it was more convenient. Our bill the first month was $37.00 and our landlord and neighbors said that is pretty normal and at most the bill gets to $60.00 with their energy providers. The bill then jumped to $123.00, then $137.00 the next month. I tried calling to see if this was a mistake because we are not home most of the day during the week, and do not use lights during the day when we are home because we have so many windows. We even unplug almost everything in the house! The only thing we leave on all day is one window A/C unit for our dog. Our house is barely 600 sq ft, with no central heating and cooling, so this price was outrageous. We tried calling to see if there was a mistake but the lady on the phone just kept trying to explain how to use the website... I know how to use the website. She was no help at all and we are switching. We were told it would be a $139.00 cancellation fee which we were fine with, but then decided to tack on 6 different fees to that making it $217.00! Seriously, this energy company has terrible customer service, is over priced, and will screw you over with crazy additional fees never mentioned in the contract.

Noel from Galveston
August 7th, 2019

HI Noel,

We apologize for the confusion regarding the Weekends on Command rate plan. The free weekend time frame is from 6pm Friday until 1159pm Sunday CST. Non-free weekends are 12am Monday until 559pm Friday CST. You are charged during the non-free weekend time frame and you receive a monthly bill credit for the free weekend time frame. If you would like further clarification on this rate plan or wish to discuss alternative rate plans with a lower cost, please feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat.

Direct Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...