Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (532 reviews)



Customer service awful

(2 / 5)

  Customer service sucks. Called 8 times in one day, and not one person answered the phone. Had to leave a message each time. Called multiple times again on another day and encountered the same scenario. Better drastically improve your customer service

Patick from League City
January 30th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!

(2 / 5)

  Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.

Dave from Pollok
January 28th, 2020

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Responds January 29th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What Customer Service?

(2 / 5)

  We are moving and I added my new address to the existing plan with Just Energy and wanted to EXTEND the power for my current house until we can sell it, but after I added my 2nd house the killed my portal access. Not that I forgot my password I mean my email is NOT IN THEIR SYSTEM!!!!!!! What stupid group of idiots do that? So when I call, I cannot get a sole to answer the damn phone. I was on hold for over an hour yesterday WAITING! Then I was prompted to have someone call me back... I got a call from the state of Washington from a Hudson Electric and when I explained my problem they were going to transfer me and I was dropped... yep they dropped my call. Someone from this POS company had better answer the flipping phone or write me back ASAP or I will process with my report to the Utilities Commission about this horrible service. BTW I rate their Customer Service as a 0 but this stupid system requires an answer.

1-28-2020 from Spring
January 28th, 2020

Hello, thank you for your review. Were are saddened to hear this. We apologize that you experienced an extended wait on our phone line. Were currently receiving high call volumes, so its taking us longer than usual to answer your call. Please send us your phone number and the best time to reach you and resolve this for you.
Lily, Your Social Media Advisor

Responds January 28th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low prices, but they will screw you over on billing. I had to file a complaint with the Public Utility Commission!

(2 / 5)

  Please note: I had to file a complaint with the Public Utility Commission of Texas today, after calling TriEagle three times. I spoke with two different supervisors, both of whom refused to correct/amend my bill and they continued to blame to billing error on Centerpoint. TriEagle continued to tell me that my brand new smart meter that Centerpoint installed several months ago was not giving Centerpoint an accurate reading and they were estimating my bill. I called Centerpoint and Centerpoint told me they DID come out and read my meter, so TriEagle is full of it and totally lied to me. The reason I am so livid is that I signed up for budget billing with TriEagle on 5/22/19 and my bills are not supposed to be more than $130 per month plus tax (my bills have averaged $134.15 per month since signing up). TriEagle decided to bill me twice for January (I have 2 bills sitting in the billing section), but they are stating the second bill is correct. It does reflect the budget billing amount, but it has an additional $57.59 tacked on and TriEagle continues to blame Centerpoint for their lack of reading my meter. Regardless of whether they read my meter or not, I am on budget billing and my bill SHOULD NOT BE MORE THAN THE AGREED AMOUNT PER MONTH GUYS! I AM NOT LATE, YOU GUYS SUCK!

Please review your complaint and ensure that the information is accurate. Select the "Back" button to make any changes or the "Submit Complaint" button to finalize your complaint with the PUC.
Date: 1/17/2020 6:37:29 PM
Complaint No: CP20xxxxxxxxxx
Account Holder: Heather L.
E-mail Address: XXXXXXXX
Service Address:XXXXXXXXXX
Houston TX 77XXX
Houston TX 77008
Harris County

Complaint Against: TriEagle Energy, LP
Complaint Type: Billing
Service Phone: Account No: 160XXXXXX
Complaint Information:

Good evening,

I signed up for budget billing with TriEagle Energy on 08/22/2019 & my budget billing amount is supposed to be $130.00 per month (plus tax, etc.). Since signing up for budget billing last August, my bills average $134.15 per month with tax. When I logged on to pay my bill last night, my total due was $191.74 and my due date had changed to 01/27/20. TriEagle actually charged me 2 bills for January. One for billing period 2019-11-25 - 2019-12-30 with kWh 778 (total due on this bill reflects our budget bill agreed amount of $134.15 monthly, but the kWh were incorrect on this bill), and one for billing period 2019-11-25 - 2019-12-31 with kWh 878 (total on this bill shows the budget bill amount, but also has additional amounts added in and I am not sure why. Total on this bill is $191.74). I am NOT late on my payments. The last payment I made of $134.15 was received and applied on 12/16/2019. When I log in and look at my payments, after my last payment their log states there is an invoice credit made on 2020-01-09 in the amount of $76.56 2020-01-10 (Reissued Inv Credit). This was NOT a credit. I am not sure what this was. I also just paid my current bill today (01/17/20) for the amount of my agreed budget billing total, $134.15. There is still an amount of $57.59 pending. I spoke to Henry with PUC & he said to only pay the amount NOT in question & PUC would investigate the remaining balance. Can someone please help? Thank you! Best regards, Heather L.

Heather L. from Houston
January 17th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

faithful

(2 / 5)

  I have been a long time user of first choice power this year, my contract was up so I called to renew. Well the agent at the time did not work with me, to get the best possible rate, so here I am stuck with a high energy rate for 24 months. There is a $135 fee to terminate my contract. I would not recommend this utility co to anybody. I am a senior citizen and did not realize what I was getting. This company has always had reasonable rates until now. I cringe every month when my bill comes in. I just wish I understood what the agent was giving me and went with a different provider. Now I am stuck. This is a warning to others to shop around.

Armando from Texas City
December 5th, 2019

Good afternoon. We absolutely appreciate your loyalty to us after all this time and want the chance to work with you. If you do not feel comfortable with your current rate, we will see what other options are available. Please connect with our digital support team through Live Chat https://www.firstchoicepower.com/ or Social Media https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ to continue forward with assistance. Thank you. - Megan / Digital Care

Responds April 20th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just pay the deposit for a real electric company

(2 / 5)

  This prepaid electric company is a rip off. You basically pay for your electricity twice. Pogo charge a fee for their service then charge you again for the actual electricity you use. In the end you will pay way more. I don't know how they have all these positive reviews but they have to be fake.

Natasha from Lancaster
November 7th, 2019



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Poor Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  I signed up for auto-pay as soon as I signed up for the service. So far, I've received 2 disconnection notices, one for each of the months I've received a bill. Neither month did they attempt to take the payment via auto-pay. I was told the first time that it was a partial month and I accepted that. I called the second time and was told it's my fault, remove the auto-pay and reenter it. I asked to speak with a manager, but was told they were too busy.

Poor Customer Service from Houston
October 29th, 2019

Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Responds October 30th, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(2 / 5)

  I have been with gexa for years and recently had a horrible experience. Was informed I was locked in at 7.8c per kWh only to find out it was 13.71c per kwh. I have been waiting on hold for over an hour to speak with someone. The operator gives you the option to press 1 so an available rep can call you back but it NEVER works so you are stuck waiting on the phone still. Gexa was so good for years but highly disappointed. I got an email saying I may be charged $295 to cancel but was told my fee would be waved if i chose to terminate by a representative a few days back. We shall see when someone FINALLY answers.

C from Dallas
September 28th, 2019

Hello, We are experiencing higher than normal call volume during this time and want to apologize for the frustration this has caused you. Did you know you dont even have to pick up the phone? With your online MyGexa account there are several self-service options you can access including: View your Bill, View Usage History, Set Up Auto Bill Pay, Request Pay Extensions, Renew Contracts and Manage your Profile information. Another option to get your question answered is by submitting an email request to Gexa Energys Customer Care team through your MyGexa account. One of our team members will respond to the email within 24 72 business hours. We apologize again for the inconvenience. But now you are aware of how you can manage your account anytime, anyplace, and on any device.

Responds October 1st, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service doesn't appear to exist

(2 / 5)

  I have yet to hear from an agent from Gexa its been over an hour+ on the phone, trying to cancel my plan because I am moving cities and therefore out of service area. You can only cancel your plan through customer service which doesn't appear to exist right now. Having worked in customer service, I am appalled. Having dealt with all the other shenanigans that involve moving 200+ mi away, I didn't think this would be the most aggravating process. I've been a customer for almost 2 years--no issues. As soon as I actually need to talk to someone (based on their policy of being UNABLE to cancel service online) they're not there to pick up the phone. I've spoken with an agent thats not this broker company and they've said they keep getting complaints that no one's been picking up the phone since yesterday (Monday).

beemo from Houston
September 24th, 2019

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Responds October 1st, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Creepy Sales Rep asking too much personal info

(2 / 5)

  I recently moved and started a new Reliant account. The sales rep asked me a lot of very invasive and personal questions, such as "when do you get home from work" and are you at home on weekends and if not, how long are you gone from your home" and on and on it went because "he was trying to figure out which plan would suit me best". I finally had to put a stop to it and tell him that he was making me uncomfortable. If Reliant is asking reps to get this personal with customers, it really needs to stop. It's just plain creepy, especially for a woman that lives alone. If I had another choice of provider, I would've hung up on him after the first question. Unfortunately, Reliant was my only option so I just have to cross my fingers the rep was not a stalker with all of my personal information at his disposal.

MC from Dallas
September 10th, 2019

We regret that you had a negative experience. We would like to have the opportunity to resolve your issue. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Responds October 1st, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions