MXenergy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for MXenergy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

Ratings by Star

cheapest MXenergy Electricity rates and plans in Texas

Alternatives to MXenergy's Texas Electricity Plans

Texas Electricity Ratings can help you find the best MXenergy electricity plan. Below are the lowest priced plans, as well as our ratings and reviews.

Houston Plans

Compare more Houston Plans

Plan Term Rate
Maxx Saver Select 24 24/months 10.8¢/kWh
Maxx Saver Select 12 12/months 10.8¢/kWh
Flash 24 24/months 10.8¢/kWh
Rates as of Apr 12, 2024 at 03:25 PM

Dallas Plans

Compare more Dallas Plans

Plan Term Rate
Maxx Saver Select 24 24/months 10.7¢/kWh
Maxx Saver Select 12 12/months 10.7¢/kWh
Flash 24 24/months 10.7¢/kWh
Rates as of Apr 12, 2024 at 03:25 PM

MXenergy Rating and Review Summary

There are 5 total reviews for MXenergy, with an average rating of 1.7/5.

Company Stars Rating Reviews
MXenergy
1.7/5 5
Category Stars
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Recent 5 Star Reviews

Couldn't be happier.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for MXEnergy a couple of years after my former electric company jacked my rates up without notice. I have had no problems and am looking to see if I will go with them again. After reading reviews, it looks like there may be some companies that may be a little cheaper, but they have hidden costs. I have not had any hidden costs with MXEnergy. I would recommend them.

Anonymous from on August 7th, 2010

Recent 4 Star Reviews

Rating
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

MX Energy is a great company. We love the service. The price is great, and customer service is awesome.

Melissa Plummer from on June 5th, 2010
Saved Me Hundreds last winter
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I am so thankful for MX Energy they gave me a great low rate on my natural gas and saved me around three hundred dollars last year...Also they are very friendly on the telephone and the bills are always correct.

Ryan from Michigan Usa on December 28th, 2009

Recent 3 Star Reviews

John from N Texas
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

No issues with this company. I got on their
variable plan when .12 was cheap and it's gone
down every month so far.

Very satisfied.

John Halsell from Mineral Wells on April 6th, 2011

Recent 2 Star Reviews

Recent 1 Star Reviews

Year contract up in three months
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Like Star, they offered a low rate for a year. Then congratulations after a three months, your contract is up and so goes your rate. Shabby business practice. Hoping you fall asleep and raise your rates after a short time.

Kurt Zaske from Houston on May 3rd, 2011

All Reviews By Date

Nurse1
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Under the mistaken impression that I had to choose a supplier.MX /energy was selected I have a 2 story cape cod unit Only one fLoor is heated/cool when necessary. The upstairs is not used . A pedastal fan and a small portable heater is used only when needed. My electric bill came on Christmas Eve totalling $636.36 I will never recommend MX Energy or any company. Now back with PSE&G I'll never switch

Not Given from Trenton on May 6th, 2012
Fraudulent
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I thought that I had the best company ever until when the send me a bill of $285 a month for one bedroom apartment. When I talked to them no one cared about it instead they add more...

Nill from Midland on December 13th, 2011
Fine, until there's a problem...
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Last month they sent me three bills, all together, for three months in a row. They said it was a billing issue. The thing is, one of those bills is for over $2,000 - for a residence! Apparently the automatic meter reader was not reading properly throughout the winter months, so they charged me everything in one month - AT A HIGHER RATE!! I asked them about the higher rate and they argued that it wasn't a higher rate, that the rate changes from month to month (I was on a variable plan). I was looking at the rates on my bill while on the phone and told them the rates. They lied and said that I was lucky because some reason they didn't charge me the higher rate that they should have been charging for that month! MX is as good as any company as long as nothing went wrong, but they will do nothing to help you when it does. They spoke to me like the whole issue was my fault they had a billing error and my fault they didn't get gas readings. Very rude!

Kelly from Atlanta on July 13th, 2011
Year contract up in three months
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Like Star, they offered a low rate for a year. Then congratulations after a three months, your contract is up and so goes your rate. Shabby business practice. Hoping you fall asleep and raise your rates after a short time.

Kurt Zaske from Houston on May 3rd, 2011
John from N Texas
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

No issues with this company. I got on their
variable plan when .12 was cheap and it's gone
down every month so far.

Very satisfied.

John Halsell from Mineral Wells on April 6th, 2011
AVOID THIS COMPANY PLEASE
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This company has poor customer service when you call them. Neither the supervisor nor the customer representative care about your query. Their contract is hidden on high cancellation fees. They Charge a higher rate than BGE my local utility company Please avoid them

George Kariuki from Us on February 28th, 2011
Horriable Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I would strongly discourage anyone from purchasing Energy from this company. I had nothing but a negative experiance dealing with the customer service and addressing issues I have had. Their buisness practices are shady and unfair to the consumer. I repeat do not deal with this company.

Dan from Killeen on November 15th, 2010
We can not help you.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I only get paid once a month. My due date for the bill is before I get paid. I have been late for the first two monthes. I asked them to change my due date. They said they can not change the due date. I talked with three different people and all of them were quite rude. I paid my bill by mail and they said it takes 7 - 10 business days to get into the system and that my electricity will be cut off tommorrow. I can not wait to my contract is up. Please do not make the same mistake I made. Do not sign up with this electric company.

Joseph Craig Sharp from Houston on November 11th, 2010
Couldn't be happier.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for MXEnergy a couple of years after my former electric company jacked my rates up without notice. I have had no problems and am looking to see if I will go with them again. After reading reviews, it looks like there may be some companies that may be a little cheaper, but they have hidden costs. I have not had any hidden costs with MXEnergy. I would recommend them.

Anonymous from on August 7th, 2010
Rating
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

MX Energy is a great company. We love the service. The price is great, and customer service is awesome.

Melissa Plummer from on June 5th, 2010
Scandalous Energy Provider
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Poor customer service and they refuse to listen to any excuses in regards to the "contract" not once have i heard of any so called "early termination fee" they imposed on me for switching back to con edison's basic service due to the fact that MXergery has been overcharging me on electricity and gas as well, what about that fixed rate huh? we went up 4cents on electricity towards the end of the contract and THEN THEY RENEWED IT FOR US? i specifically requested that the contract self-terminate at the end of its terms but obviously they didnt get that message. good riddance, stealing my $150 for a "EARLY TERMINATION FEE".

Danny from Ny Usa on January 4th, 2010
Saved Me Hundreds last winter
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I am so thankful for MX Energy they gave me a great low rate on my natural gas and saved me around three hundred dollars last year...Also they are very friendly on the telephone and the bills are always correct.

Ryan from Michigan Usa on December 28th, 2009
Horrendous
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

MX Energy admittedly by there employees have supplied me with
misinformation and horrible service. I have experienced several
problems with their online bill pay, and complained time after time
again. Their response it that is should be now fixed. It hasn't been
month after month. They called about my bill, I told them the issues,
and again, they said there have been issues but they are now fixed-
THEY ARE NOT! This resulted in them off my service, after they told
me it was fine to pay it now onlineâwhich another person told me it
wasn't in collections, and then another in customer service told me it
should have been. They moved payment processors from CheckFree
to Bill Matrix to solve this problem, but it looks like there are still
issues. They offered no help and communicated it was impossible to
research these complaints because they are in a different department.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. They did nothing to help my issue and
left me without gas for 5 days. Unacceptable!

Mike from Atlanta on December 18th, 2009