Y.E.P. Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Y.E.P. so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

Ratings by Star

cheapest Y.E.P. Electricity rates and plans in Texas

Alternatives to Y.E.P.'s Texas Electricity Plans

Texas Electricity Ratings can help you find the best Y.E.P. electricity plan. Below are the lowest priced plans, as well as our ratings and reviews.

Houston Plans

Compare more Houston Plans

Plan Term Rate
Bill Credit Bundle 24 24/months 11.5¢/kWh
Frontier Saver Plus 12 12/months 12.2¢/kWh
Frontier Saver Plus 24 24/months 12.2¢/kWh
Rates as of Feb 29, 2024 at 02:40 PM

Dallas Plans

Compare more Dallas Plans

Plan Term Rate
Frontier Saver Plus 12 12/months 11.5¢/kWh
Frontier Saver Plus 24 24/months 11.5¢/kWh
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12 12/months 11.5¢/kWh
Rates as of Feb 29, 2024 at 02:40 PM

Y.E.P. Rating and Review Summary

There are 59 total reviews for Y.E.P., with an average rating of 2.0/5.

Company Stars Rating Reviews
Y.E.P.
2.0/5 59
Category Stars
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Recent 5 Star Reviews

Much better than listed.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.

BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020

Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.

Y.E.P. on July 20th, 2020

Texas Based Company with Great Customer Service!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

As more and more companies come into the Texas market, it is nice to know that YEP is based in Houston and they do not charge you for calling customer service, as many other providers do. I have been with YEP for years and renewing is my easiest task each year.

Charles from Houston on June 30th, 2016

Recent 4 Star Reviews

Very good
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had YEP for about four years. Except for the fact that they terminated their 1/2 cent discount for credit card paying, they've been very good. Good rates, too.

George Cortes from Bedford on June 8th, 2014
Good Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Reading through all the reviews on different companies, you find a lot of negative, so I felt some positive was in order here. I have been with YEP for 4 Years, and I'm on my 2nd renewal. They have good rates (always competitive), acceptable customer service, no fee surprises, and they don't require constant bill monitoring if you use eBill. I talk to them every 2 tears and I'm set. No problems here.

KH from Shady Shores on January 23rd, 2014

Recent 3 Star Reviews

Competitive pricing for new customers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere. Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.

Thomas from Plano on October 2nd, 2013
It's not LOVE but more....ehh
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP.

I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print!

PS: What promotions????

Cheryl from Crowley on July 26th, 2013

Recent 2 Star Reviews

YEP Energy Lacks Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I locked in on a rate with YEP Energy in August, 2021 for a 3 year term. When I received my first bill, there were a lot of fees that increased my bill amounts which also included a variable rate increase they did not include in my contract rates. I started a complaint in the BBB about their fees to hold them accountable for the extra fees and variable rates. This is where they took a couple of lines out of my BBB complaints and used that against me to reduce my contract length from 3 years to 1 year as they saw fit. I did not notice the expiration dates until 2 months before the end of my first year of service with them was complete and noticed the renewal notices (for twice the amount I originally locked in at). Upon investigation, I realized that they changed my contracted term without my approval.Upon my discovery of the reduced contract length, I began calling and communicating with their customer service which refused to reinstate the original contract term. I filed a complaint with the PUC who investigated the matter and is currently holding them accountable for the 3 year term. I'm still waiting for them to reinstate my original contract term. Be careful with this company. You might think you are getting a good rate, but they lack understanding with their customers, and they will bully you once they have you in their contract. They do demonstrate good customer service to resolve misunderstandings and may even drive you to challenge them in court or with the Public Utility Commission.

RGW from Deer Park, TX on July 27th, 2022

Sorry to hear the concerns you have regarding your service. Please contact Customer Care at 866-937-5937 so we may help you better understand your plan and account.
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy.

Y.E.P. on October 4th, 2022

Huge jump without any notice
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Once my 1 year contract was up my rate jumped from 5 cents per Kwhr to 27.8 cents per Kwhr with no notice of the increase. They increased the rate by over 400% and when I inquired about it, they cited an increase in fuel prices. I know fuel prices have gone up, but not 400%.

Michael from Mckinney, TX on June 22nd, 2022

YEP Energy understands your concerns regarding increased electricity prices. Our fixed-price contracts, and our month-to-month prices are very competitive with other REPS in the market today and all providers are seeing increased costs to serve. Below please find a recent article regarding the increased cost of electricity in the state of Texas.

https://apple.news/AZEjbg6OdTaGyUKpMgHwbFA

Customers like yourself that are on month-to-month plans do not benefit from YEP Energy being able to buy ahead for your contracted needs at competitive prices but instead, we have to only buy one month at a time. In February and March 2022 we issued fixed price expiration notices alerting you to this change. To shield yourself from potential increases this summer, please consider renewing to a fixed price plan as soon as possible. You can renew online by logging into your portal at myaccount.yepenergy.com or by contact an agent at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

Y.E.P. on June 22nd, 2022

Recent 1 Star Reviews

DECEPTIVE RIP OFF BAD BUSINESS TO GET EVERY PENNY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

If you are 1 day late they send you a notice and bill your account $14.88 plus fees.
Also, they will charge you 25.00 for not using auto pay, but failed to tell me that.

DECEPTIVE RIP OFF BAD BUSINESS TO GET EVERY PENNY from Dallas, TX on September 16th, 2022

In order for YEP to provide great rates, we must collect timely payments from customers. Unfortunately, in order to do this, we must send late notices very close after your due date. Sometimes this is just an oversight and customers are happy to get a quick heads up or if needed, a customer can contact our Customer Care department for a payment arrangement.
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your electricity needs.

Y.E.P. on October 4th, 2022

YEP Energy are Outright Scammers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed a 3 year plan with them, and on the first bill they charged me higher than my contracted amount. I continued to battle them on the charging issues and finally accepted the issue, but after that complaint my expiration date changed from a 36 month contract to a 12 month contract. My rate was locked low, so I had no intention of breaking the extra term length. However, they stated that my complaint was reason to lower the contract length when it had nothing to do with the term of the contract at all. Now I am battling them to get them to respect my contract term length.

Do NOT Sign With YEP Energy EVER!!! from Deer Park, TX on June 24th, 2022

All Reviews By Date

DECEPTIVE RIP OFF BAD BUSINESS TO GET EVERY PENNY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

If you are 1 day late they send you a notice and bill your account $14.88 plus fees.
Also, they will charge you 25.00 for not using auto pay, but failed to tell me that.

DECEPTIVE RIP OFF BAD BUSINESS TO GET EVERY PENNY from Dallas, TX on September 16th, 2022

In order for YEP to provide great rates, we must collect timely payments from customers. Unfortunately, in order to do this, we must send late notices very close after your due date. Sometimes this is just an oversight and customers are happy to get a quick heads up or if needed, a customer can contact our Customer Care department for a payment arrangement.
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your electricity needs.

Y.E.P. on October 4th, 2022

YEP Energy Lacks Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I locked in on a rate with YEP Energy in August, 2021 for a 3 year term. When I received my first bill, there were a lot of fees that increased my bill amounts which also included a variable rate increase they did not include in my contract rates. I started a complaint in the BBB about their fees to hold them accountable for the extra fees and variable rates. This is where they took a couple of lines out of my BBB complaints and used that against me to reduce my contract length from 3 years to 1 year as they saw fit. I did not notice the expiration dates until 2 months before the end of my first year of service with them was complete and noticed the renewal notices (for twice the amount I originally locked in at). Upon investigation, I realized that they changed my contracted term without my approval.Upon my discovery of the reduced contract length, I began calling and communicating with their customer service which refused to reinstate the original contract term. I filed a complaint with the PUC who investigated the matter and is currently holding them accountable for the 3 year term. I'm still waiting for them to reinstate my original contract term. Be careful with this company. You might think you are getting a good rate, but they lack understanding with their customers, and they will bully you once they have you in their contract. They do demonstrate good customer service to resolve misunderstandings and may even drive you to challenge them in court or with the Public Utility Commission.

RGW from Deer Park, TX on July 27th, 2022

Sorry to hear the concerns you have regarding your service. Please contact Customer Care at 866-937-5937 so we may help you better understand your plan and account.
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy.

Y.E.P. on October 4th, 2022

YEP Energy are Outright Scammers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed a 3 year plan with them, and on the first bill they charged me higher than my contracted amount. I continued to battle them on the charging issues and finally accepted the issue, but after that complaint my expiration date changed from a 36 month contract to a 12 month contract. My rate was locked low, so I had no intention of breaking the extra term length. However, they stated that my complaint was reason to lower the contract length when it had nothing to do with the term of the contract at all. Now I am battling them to get them to respect my contract term length.

Do NOT Sign With YEP Energy EVER!!! from Deer Park, TX on June 24th, 2022
Huge jump without any notice
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Once my 1 year contract was up my rate jumped from 5 cents per Kwhr to 27.8 cents per Kwhr with no notice of the increase. They increased the rate by over 400% and when I inquired about it, they cited an increase in fuel prices. I know fuel prices have gone up, but not 400%.

Michael from Mckinney, TX on June 22nd, 2022

YEP Energy understands your concerns regarding increased electricity prices. Our fixed-price contracts, and our month-to-month prices are very competitive with other REPS in the market today and all providers are seeing increased costs to serve. Below please find a recent article regarding the increased cost of electricity in the state of Texas.

https://apple.news/AZEjbg6OdTaGyUKpMgHwbFA

Customers like yourself that are on month-to-month plans do not benefit from YEP Energy being able to buy ahead for your contracted needs at competitive prices but instead, we have to only buy one month at a time. In February and March 2022 we issued fixed price expiration notices alerting you to this change. To shield yourself from potential increases this summer, please consider renewing to a fixed price plan as soon as possible. You can renew online by logging into your portal at myaccount.yepenergy.com or by contact an agent at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

Y.E.P. on June 22nd, 2022

They may be good upfront, but buyer beware!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've used YEP Energy for years. Their rates started out a competitive prices. You just can't allow your contract to expire. They DOUBLE if not TRIPLE the cost per KW if no contract signed even for lecacy customers. To receive a bill for approx. $665 for ONE month, 2 person, 2500 sq ft. household is INSANE! Yes they did call to remind me of the expiring contract but I was in hospital and not paying attention to messages. But you would think as a long-time customer they would have worked with me. I paid it and paid it timely via auto-pay BUT you bet I have cancelled their service and will NEVER return hopefully. I'm glad I have a choice in electric providers. This was an assault! Don't put yourself in the position I was in. Rated Customer Service low because when you call (which rarely did), their reps are all monotone, not cheerful, you feel like you're a bother to them. Resist paying this kind of money for this type of service, no. Note it wasn't the nice person I last spoke to when I got this bill which I just knew had to be a mistake. If it were here on the phone in prior years when called, they would have rec'd a 5. YEP you should have a much lower Temporary rate for customers who are legacy but contract expires and they haven't yet reached out. Could be legit reasons WHY. Your loss and apparently I lost for a month but lesson learned. I sent at least a dozen referrals to you. Contacted ALL of them and shared this experience. Trust you will lose more with this type of unwarranted treatment of your good customers.

Linda B from Dallas, TX on July 29th, 2020

YEP Energy takes pride in offering low fixed price rates to our customer's, however if we are not able to speak to our customers when their current contact is expiring then YEP must arrange for power on their behalf on a month to month basis. During peak months the month to month price can be more expensive.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. If you would like to discuss your account and billing please contact our Customer Care team at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

Y.E.P. on August 25th, 2020

Much better than listed.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.

BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020

Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.

Y.E.P. on July 20th, 2020

Horrible Experience
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Had a horrible experience right after signing up for electricity through YEP. 1 week after signing up, we came home to no electricity due to erroneous move out order. Out of power the entire weekend. Mistakes happen, but the customer service was horrible when I called the next week and argued with me that I owed connection fee still due to they tried to contact us to confirm details on our fraudulent appearing account prior to shutting off energy, but it was a non-working number and then that we just didnt pick up. This is not true. So frustrated. Very unreasonable people at this company.

Alyssa from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2020

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with YEP Energy. YEP strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). Please contact our Customer Care department at 866.937.5937 so we may assist with resolving any outstanding issue.

Y.E.P. on February 7th, 2020

Price gouging
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Price gouging- BEWARE
0 Stars
Correspondence fee: $9.95
Payment Processing fee: $15.15 (New charge 09/2019 bill)
Also, somehow my bill went up by $150.00 this month to $331. There are only two people in the house and we are gone all day since school has started. I do not know how the bill could go up by this much in a month.

LLM from Keller, TX on October 5th, 2019
Added fees; exorbitant prices
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had to obtain service for 3 months which caused higher pricing. However, not only did they gouge with higher per kWh rates but added fees (a $10 monthly fee, $4.22 payment fee) plus added taxes & regulatory fees common to other sources.

Added Fees from Irving, TX on October 15th, 2018
Texas Based Company with Great Customer Service!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

As more and more companies come into the Texas market, it is nice to know that YEP is based in Houston and they do not charge you for calling customer service, as many other providers do. I have been with YEP for years and renewing is my easiest task each year.

Charles from Houston on June 30th, 2016
Run as fast as you can
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

As many other reviewers have mentioned, YEP Energy advertises low rates per kwH. However, they bill you for administrative fees that amount to more than the electric bill, and then they "claim" there is a gigantic termination fee, and that they will report you to the credit bureau if you don't pay them everything they "claim" you owe them. Also, as others mentioned, they draft your bank account before they send you the bill, and it is almost impossible to decipher what they are charging you for.

Jon from Katy on June 21st, 2016
Stuff they don't make clear up front
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Yes, auto-pay is an option, but if you don't choose it, you get charged a percentage of the bill. Since I HATE auto-pay, I decided to change companies. Lo and behold, a $9.95 undescribed charge on the last billing. Decided to forget about it and be glad we're gone!

ELD from Fort Worth on April 22nd, 2016
Houstonian
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

YEP Energy is a SCAM. They have a ton of hidden fees that they don't tell you about. There is no way to escalate complaints, and they will add fees for you calling to complain! I told them their fees were unacceptable since I did not agree to them, so they disconnected my service, and sent me 2 (not 1) bills for disconnection fees; one for the current month, and one of for the next month. Then, I got an additional bill for electric service for 3 months. I called to dispute those bills (since I was already with another provider during those periods), and they said that they could not remove those charges!!!!

How has this company not been shut-down by the state?

Houstonian from Houston on July 23rd, 2015
Switching immediately
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Prices are fine,although we receive tempting offers to switch all the time, we hadn't had any issues and didn't want to deal with the hassle of switching. Until today.

Today,on a Monday morning at 7 am when I was about to make my coffee and get ready for work, our power was shut off. We checked the account online, and same as every month, the payment had been successfully charged to the credit card and nothing was past due. When we called,they had our account listed as past due, and the lady said we couldn't talk to someone about it until 830 because that's when they officially "open."

Caled back at 830 (awesome, we're both now late for work and sweating our butts off), the lady told us it was just a "system error" and it would be back on "shortly." No apology or offer to compensate for the extreme inconvenience and time missed from work due to a major error on their part.

Prices not the best out there, customer service is bad, system is obviously glitchy. Unreliable service. We're switching to another service today.

Krissy from Arlington on June 15th, 2015
Read the EFL!!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I hate this company!!!!! They are thieves! No customer loyalty! Charge you extra to pay your own bill, or give them your banking information and have their system draft you within a few of your bill being created. If by mail you'll never know the amount drafted and their cheap online services are rarely running as properly. Spoke to 2 or 3 different agents and they are rude and complete idiots. I have received an agent named reine and been lucky to have had him twice now that company needs more of him or he needs a new company. Request to speak to him any time you call!!! I renewed do to his time to explain things clearly, proper communication. Won't be renewing twice though. In overall not a good energy company and there is better out there for your buck. Happy Shopping!

A. Fuller from Dallas on February 23rd, 2015
Run as fast as you can
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Horrible customer service, over billed amounts, and by far the worst provider I have dealt with in all my life. Made an agreement with them to pay $59 (that was not owed to them), paid the amount 2 days early and they disconnected my service. My bill actually reflected a credit. I will definitely end my contract with the prompto. You get what you pay for.

Buckley from Fort Worth on February 17th, 2015
Bizarre billing practice
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been a customer for 10 months. Finally had enough of the billing. Spent 2 hours on phone with them to stop sending fraudulent "Notice of Termination". They told me the notices went out every month because I have a solar panel and they did not know. I said PGE and I could have given you that info at any time. Even after getting info, they said they could not fix their system. I guess only a class action lawsuit may be able for them to get off there butts and stop harrassing paying customers. Oh well, at least I can cancel contract free of any further fees. Look around for better service, many good ones out there.

Cliff Knudson from San Jose on December 29th, 2014
Worst ever
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Very deceptive and lots of hidden costs. Customer service never helps you with issues and refuses to escalate.

Yuetong Shen from Houston on September 18th, 2014
Very good
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had YEP for about four years. Except for the fact that they terminated their 1/2 cent discount for credit card paying, they've been very good. Good rates, too.

George Cortes from Bedford on June 8th, 2014
Do yourself a favor and find another company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had YEP energy for a couple of years and for the most part everything seemed to be OK. Their plans and pricing was competitive. The account was for a property that I was trying to sell so my usage was very low. I noticed that my bill jumped one month and when I went to investigate I found that they hit me with a disconnect/reconnect fee. When I called to discuss why that was I was told that they had every right to charge me that fee if I did not pay within 26 days of the invoice date. Keep in mind this has never been an issue before. When I paid the fee and decided to move on they re-issued another disconnect/reconnect fee for a 7 day period. These guys are crooks. Do yourself a favor and find another company. They will do everything within their power to inflate your bill with charges that are not warranted.

MMM from Angleton on April 9th, 2014
Good Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Reading through all the reviews on different companies, you find a lot of negative, so I felt some positive was in order here. I have been with YEP for 4 Years, and I'm on my 2nd renewal. They have good rates (always competitive), acceptable customer service, no fee surprises, and they don't require constant bill monitoring if you use eBill. I talk to them every 2 tears and I'm set. No problems here.

KH from Shady Shores on January 23rd, 2014
3 years running so far
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've been with YEP now for 3 years running and about to have to renew again. I like to do 100% renewable energy plans (and yes I know that's a relative term, but the more people that get on board the more/better it gets, and we all have to start somewhere so it's worth the extra cent or two per kwh to me to start) and they have typically had one of the best renewable for 12 mo auto pay plans out there if not THE best. I've always been able to see my usage and billing info online (I prefer paperless) and never had ANY issues. I put 5 stars for customer service because the only contact I've had with them is when I renew each year and they typically offer me a better rate than their going plan because I'm an existing customer. I don't get marketing calls or other material emailed to me. It's almost out of site out of mind except for the monthly email I get letting me know my bill is ready to view (autopay).

Barrett from Houston on January 8th, 2014
No major issues for 12 months
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We've had YEP for about a year as they had the cheapest fixed rate contracts, for our area for our kwh, many do not realize that most companies charge MORE per KWH if you use less than 1000 per month, we average at 500, we're only switching because our contract ends in Oct and I've discovered most the major companies start offering lower rates in the fall...

Stephanie from Houston on October 8th, 2013
Competitive pricing for new customers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere. Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.

Thomas from Plano on October 2nd, 2013
GAMBLER
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

IN LESS YOU ARE WILLING TO GIVE THEM YOUR BANK ACCOUNT NUMBER AND ROUTING NUMBER SO THEY CAN BILL YOU AT WILL THEY CHARGE YOU TO PAY YOUR BILL. LAST MONTH MY BILL WAS APPROX $106 AND THEY CHARGED BE $16 TO PAY THEM. I CALLED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY COULD CARE LESS. SO THEY CHARGE YOU MONEY TO GIVE THEM MONEY. CANT WAIT TILL MY TERM IS UP WITH THEM.

CHUCK from Carrollton on September 26th, 2013
Extremely dissapointed
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They came to my door telling me that if i signed up with them there wouldnt be any extra fees and it would help lower my bill. Come to find out they just ADDED more charges to my bill and are now trying to collect this money from me. I did not CONSENT to any of it, your rep misinformed me to get me to sign up for your services and i DO NOT WANT THEM AND YOURE NOT GETTING YOUR MONEY. I heard from the vine that there is a lawsuit against your company,services,and employees. I WILL BE contacting any lawyers nessecary if you try to send me to collections for any money you are NOT rightfully entitled too!

Krystal from Modesto on September 24th, 2013
Disgusted by their Fraudulent Practices and Horrible Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've been with this company for a few years. My contract expired and they made half-hearted attempts to "inform" me to lock in a good rate. Not true. They raised my rate to astronomical prices. I spoke with someone else in the industry who was confounded by the rate they charged me. An attempt to fix it yielded in a "supervisor" who refused to escalate the issue further. They are willing to lose a customer and get bad reviews on the internet over $178. Not very smart, YEP.

Beth from Frisco on September 23rd, 2013
Avoid at all costs
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Avoid now, be glad later:
1) deceptive prices, a lot of hidden fees
2) horrible customer service
3) will try to bill you extra amounts when you cancel even though not under contract

Will Shen from Houston on September 17th, 2013
YEP
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Yep has been o good quality REP in this past year, and I would recommend their services.

Layne from Irving on August 14th, 2013
YEP Rating
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had YEP now for a year, and it has been very easy to navigate the website, change payment options etc. They give a discount for allowing them to debit your bank or credit card. So far no issues, but really don't like giving them the access to my acount.

Layne Hutchings from Irving on August 14th, 2013
It's not LOVE but more....ehh
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP.

I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print!

PS: What promotions????

Cheryl from Crowley on July 26th, 2013
TopazLace
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had this electric provider for 8 years. Never had a problem with them at all. No billing mistakes, rate is .054 & I am quite pleased with my experience overall.

Texastopaz from San Angelo on July 19th, 2013
YEP is nothing but CON artists
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They charge 3.50 for printed correspondence fee, This is if they have to send out any notices to you. Then there is a 13.40 if you are not setup on auto pay. This correspondence fee is charged on every bill, when we called they said yes that fee is on every bill. we asked so we have to pay to know what our bill is? They said yes. Then they have people who speak broken English call you, they wont give you 24hr extension unless you pay half the bill.

Keep an eye out for www.yepenergysucks.com

Jeff from Ft Worth on July 17th, 2013
Utter lack of any customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

It is almost impossible to get customer service. It's really aggravating when they require you to contact them personally to change credit cards but make it almost impossible to reach them via the phone. They don't respond to emails. It's awful.

J Rabe from Dallas on June 20th, 2013
AGGRESSIVE bill collection - NEVER be late with a payment or ELSE
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've been a customer of Yep's for 5 years with a perfect record of on time payment. I saw that my electric bill was due (via an email alert), but the bill NEVER arrived. I missed making the payment. Four days after the bill was due, I recieved a mailing from them stating: DISCONNECTION NOTICE. Really?? This is how they treat customers??? I called the office to ask for a copy of my bill, and the customer service rep sheepishly admitted that maybe that using 'disconnect' wasn't the best tactic. Now that I've gotten my next month bill I see a $3.50 printed correspondence fee for the pleasure of having them actually send me a bill. WOW. This company is hard core. Know what you're getting into when you sign up. I didn't...and I'm leaving when my contract is up....

Bonnie from Mesquite on March 20th, 2013
They will turn off your power if you are 2 days late
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was a customer for 4 years, they had a change of management of accounts so now if you are 2 days late they will turn off your power. Why would anyone give them their business!!!!!!!!

Matt from Bedford on February 7th, 2013
Run
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had this comapny for several years, but I just got ripped off. I had a zero balance and requested termination due to home being in foreclosure. My final ends up being 3 times the highest bill. I want to be fair and pay for what was used but this is not right. They have a lot of hidden charges. This a company that I would never consider.

Barbara Vos from Kingwood on January 30th, 2013
I like this company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been using this company for over six years and have never once had a problem. I have automatic bill pay, and get a discount for authorizing it. I have steady, reliable electric service and the payment transactions each month are flawless. I haven't checked in a long time, but I believe that the rate is low, because I run my almost 2,000 sq ft house for $70 in the winter to $200 in the summer. The other reviews are scary reading, but I have no reason to believe that I am not getting my money's worth, and with never a hassle. I like it that they do not waste our money on advertising or corporate giving, thus keeping rates low. I would (and do!) recommend this company to my friends.

Rene from Houston on December 28th, 2012
Just as Competitive as Other Companies, Excellent Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have used several providers since the beginning of Deregulation in Texas, this company has always been just as competitive and unlike many other companies, they actually breakdown the Energy and Transmission charges. To some it may seem like a "hidden fee" but other companies just bundle it all up, I like that I can see the two seperate charges. Once I was charged a $7.95 "monthly service fee" for usage less than 1,000 kwh, because my billing dates were not a full month, their customer service representative was happy to waive that fee. Our contract is expiring soon and we will be signing up again, hopefully for a longer term as we have been extremely pleased.

Terry G from Galveston on December 7th, 2012
Beware
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was originally with Epcot which provided awesome service and now the company transferred to YEP which is a horrible company. My bill was due on 11th and now my electricity is off....two days later for crying out loud. That is ridiculous. I tried paying my bill today by check because my bag was stolen and they told me they cant accept a check only a card... I indicated all of my payments were ALWAYS on time. This is the very first time this has happened and the the rep says, "Well we want to make sure we get the money... A check is not guaranteed." How insulting is that. Now I'm currently in the process of withdrawing funds to give to someone so they could make a payment on my behalf. Reliant Energy here I come.

Crystal from Houston on November 13th, 2012
Very dishonest. Avoid at all cost.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This company is very dishonest. It goes under a few names, YEP, Texpo, etc. That should be a warning right there. However, they ripped us off by charging extra fees and their customer service is the very worse. Their people are the rudest and most heartless people. Don't use them under any circumstance. We learned the hard way.

Daniel H from Houston on November 5th, 2012
Cancelled today!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I agree with all the negative reviews. I suffered far too long with this cut-rate, poor excuse of an electric company. I somehow overlooked one payment in four years, and I receive not a friendly reminder, but a letter threatening a small claims lawsuit! Then on top of that, the next invoice charges a "printed corresponedence fee" for the pleasure of receiving the collection letter. One insult too many.

Bruce T. from Dallas on November 2nd, 2012
Hopeless
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Refuse to meet Epcot billing as promissed.Will let PUC settle it.

Gordon Rudd from Mission on September 19th, 2012
Crooks. Worst Customer Service in the Business
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY HAVE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I DID NOT HAVE A SINGLE ISSUE WITH ERCOT AND AS SOON AS THEY BECAME YEP - THE SERVICE IS BAD, THE BILLING IS INCORRECT IN THEIR FAVOR, AND THEY HAVE FEES THEY CAN'T EXPLAIN IN THE BILL. THEY WRONGLY BILLED ME FOR A LATE FEE, SAID THEY WOULD CREDIT IT AND MAGICALLY THE SAME AMOUNT SHOWED UP AS "BALANCE FORWARD" IN MY NEXT BILL. WHEN TALKING TO CUSTOMER SERVICE (AGAIN) TO GET IT CORRECTED, THE FIRST ONE PUT ME ON HOLD FOR 12 MINUTES, THE SECOND ONE HAD A "I COULD CARE LESS" ATTITUDE AND WOULD NOT GIVE ME HIS LAST NAME, AND THE SUPERVISER ALSO DOES NOT GIVE OUT HIS LAST NAME, TELLING ME HE ISN'T REQUIRED TO DO SO. THAT SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING - MANAGEMENT THAT DOESN'T WANT THEIR CUSTOMERS TO BE ABLE TO CONTACT THEM DIRECTLY. I CAN NOT WAIT UNTIL MY CONTRACT WITH ERCOT EXPIRES SO I CAN SWITCH TO A BETTER PROVIDER THAT CARES ABOUT ITS CUSTOMERS.

Nicole D. from Houston on September 19th, 2012
Avoid YEP Energy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I switched to YEP because they offered 100% wind and their advertised price per kwh was excellent. Every month I get an added $75 fee for transmitting energy on top of the advertised kwh. My monthly bill from my previous provider was only about $100 per month. Every month YEP charges me about $90 for electricity and $75 for fees -- almost double the rate of my previous provider.

Unhappy from Carrollton on September 15th, 2012
Thanks for such great service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've been a happy customer for over 3 years; used to have TXU for a very long time and even when they keep offering me $300 to switch back to them I will never do, my bills are always reasonable and fair and as long as they keep business the way they do, I will stay with them for as long as as Live :) Thanks Yep Texas!!! You rock!

Marlen from Killeen on September 8th, 2012
Scam!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I received my first bill after only 9 days of service. I used 600+ kwh in those 9 days, but because it didn't meet the minimum threshold of usage I was charged a &7.95 service fee. That's 2000+ kwh per month! When I called I asked about the $7.95 charge, and the rep immediately said she could remove it as it was only a partial month. They do this to everyone, and if you don't call they rip you off! I'm considering filing complaints with the PUC and Attorney General. She wasn't very friendly, either.

Roberto from Freeport on August 27th, 2012
LOVE THEM!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We switched from Txu about 3 years ago to Yep, and I have never been happier! The service is great(if we ever have problems- only had 1 issue in the beginning) and great prices! We have moved twice, and kept Yep! Love them!

Cameron M. from Dallas on July 12th, 2012
Poor Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We heard YEP had very low rates so called and customer service was aloof and may have not been telling the truth. Their PDF file online showed a different amount per kwh than what the customer rep stated. I asked why the rate on the PDF file was much higher and the reps said they were unclear about what I was looking at (again, this is a PDF file on their website by the plan!). I feel like there may be some unfair practice going on, if the PDF file has incorrect prices then wouldn't they update the file??? I'm now scared to enroll with them.

BOBO from Waxahachie on July 2nd, 2012
Dont be late - Fees the least of your worries.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Awaken this morning at 7AM to the home alarm going off due to a power outage. Wondering why the electricity is off I pull up my account to find that the Bill was PAID on the 17th last month. The new bill was Due on the 2nd, which is a Saturday. Today is the 4th, Monday morning. Customer Service will open at 8:30 AM, call back then. When I reach customer service I find it has been shut off for non payment. "Due on the 2nd means due on the 2nd mam, not the 4th." Pay the bill and it should be on sometime within the next 24 hours. June in Texas is not the time of the year to have this happen. Guess they realize since they have you bound in a contract they can treat you like crap for 12 months. I would not recommend this company, due to this practice. No matter how good you are things sometimes things come up or get overlooked.

Tammy from Wichita Falls on June 4th, 2012
Looks like they gone down hill
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I use YEP back in 2008 - 2010 and I loved them, told all my friends about them.
However, Because I had never had any bills in my name I did have to pay a crazy high deposited $400 but got almost all of that back when I moved out of their serves area. I was told I left in good standing and that if I came back to them then they would wave any deposited. I called them today and was hung up on ( after waiting a few mins, someone pick up the line and then hung up on me.) I called back and the rep was rude and short when I was asking questions. After talking with her, I thought I better check the reviews and sure enough that's what most people were saying. I will not be choosing YEP this time around

Shannon from Round Rock on May 24th, 2012
Awful Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is my first experience w/ electricity in Texas. I feel like I'm getting ripped off by this company. Every month my bill increases to the point where now Im paying double what anyone else in my building is paying for the same size apartment. When I inquired they said it was because I wouldnt sign a contract w them and they could charge me whatever they wanted until I did so. I can't sign a contract bc I am very likely to move at any point. I like the simplicity of other states where everyone pays the same company and same rate..Plus the staff at YEP is rude and unhelpful.

D. B. from Dallas on February 28th, 2012
THEY HAVE CHANGED FOR THE WORST
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

First of all if you have an account you do not have 30 days to pay your bills, i always pay the morgage 2 weeks early (so mid month) and all the bills and the begining, so at the begining of the month i would not have the current invoice it would show up shortly after and you only have about 15 days to pay your outstanding balance, i have a perfect credit rating and always pay everything off, so i was 8 days past due with a outstanding balance of 39 dollars, i have been with this company for 4 years, i never had a issue until recently, they have just changed the way in which they treat there customers, SO BE WARNED STAY AWAY NOW, they have changed for the worst.

Chester from Fort Worth on November 30th, 2011
Very pleased
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Been with them nearly 2 years, with three different meters/esiid's, all at the same time. I have never had a problem with them, and when I contact them, I always have received great service. Their rates aren't quite as low as some others, but after reading about all of the changes in extra charges after you sign up with most of the other companies, I'm staying with YEP.

Will from Azle on August 4th, 2011
These guys rock
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

These guys have the best customer service. After I called with what i thought was an error on my bill, they talked with me and explained the TDSP fees. I never knew. Anyway, Johnny was kind enough to take me through it. thanks for the low rate and the respect.

Mary Anne from Dallas on July 27th, 2011
Shady, Fraudulent and Rude
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Wow. Where to start with this unethical company?

FEES
My wife and I signed up for a plan with no monthly fees. YEP charged
us anyway.

ONLINE PAYMENT
When I pay my bills online, every single payment takes 1 day to get
credited. YEP takes 5 business days, or a full week! And YEP is so bad
about sending bills out late, sometimes by the time you get the bill in
the mail, it's already too late to pay it on time.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
But how do they resolve issues after a mistake? I called and talked to a
representative to resolve our erroneous charges, and was told they
would be taken care of. So I paid our bill (minus the fees).

Not only did they not remove the bad fees. On a nice 100 degree day in
July, two hours after my wife got home from the hospital, they cut off
our power.

My call to customer service after this was not pleasant. A man named
Daniel explained why their screw up was our problem, not theirs.

You've got plenty of choices. There's no reason ANYONE should pick
YEP!

David from Dallas on July 20th, 2011
Excellent
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

After years with txu, and being ripped off on charges, I switched to YEP. I am glad I did! No problems, excellent rates.

Jeff from Terrell on June 12th, 2011
No serious problems in two years
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with YEP for two years, and experienced zero serious problems. The only thing I was a slight bit unhappy with was the first time my contract was about to expire, I was not notified, or sent any offers to renew. I phoned and got an offer that was better than what I was paying so I renewed on the phone. Super rate!

James from Oncor Service Area Outside Dallas on May 28th, 2011
Yep, its time to switch.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They refuse to answer basic questions through email.

Anonymous from on April 18th, 2011
Great experience
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I used Yep in 2008-2009 and thought they were great. But their prices
were higher when I needed a new contract, so I switched.

Joy from Houston on April 1st, 2011
Don't trust them
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We have had YEP Energy for over two years. One of out bills got lost in the mail. When they sent the late notice we called customer service and paid with a check over the phone. Two days later someone was writing checks on the account we paid by phone. We canceled that account and have not have had any problems with other accounts. Just stating the facts.

Mark from Seabrrok on March 29th, 2011
Avoid YEP at all costs
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

YEP Energy is a horrible company. Do not select them for service and
avoid at all costs.

I don't care if they offer you 1 or 2 cents/kwh less than others, DO NOT
TAKE THE BAIT!

They are horrible to cancel with and then they will continue to bill you
until someone else takes over your old service. I was stuck with some
extra months of billing after my contract ended and I contacted them to
cancel. They will then threaten you with a mark on your credit and a
collection agency even if you have evidence that you are correct.

DO NOT USE YEP!!!!!

YEPishorrible from Dallas on February 22nd, 2011
POOR Customer Service!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Customer service at YEP is HORRIBLE!! They talk over you, don't let you speak, don't listen, and alway try to convince you that you are at fault. This is an absolutely horrible company.

Anonymous from on January 25th, 2011
Great affordable service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We love this service, it is cheap with no problems

Mary from Temple on January 10th, 2011
Customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Told on 12/29 elec would be on no later than. mon 01/03. said paying extra for priority. its now 01 /04 and still not on.terrible service.

Jerry D Ware from Corsicana on January 4th, 2011
Worst Electricity Provider Yet
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I started using this company 10/1/09. My first bill, 600 s/ft apt, was $350 dollars. I asked them to recheck the meter and they told me that they would but if there was nothing wrong on their end then they would charge me a fee of approximately $70 for a service charge, so I declined them to come out. In the middle of my contract, I get an extra $175 disconnection fee because someone had supposedly switched my electricity. YEP did nothing to confirm it. No phone call or email. Towards the end of my contract I told them that I would move out 10/25/10. On the 25th I realized I needed till the end of the month Oct. 31, and called them and told them that exact thing. In the middle of Dec I get another bill saying I still owe and if I don't pay they will turn off my service. When I called to complain I got a rude guy that kept telling me that he was sorry I felt that way and that there was no one above him that I could talk to. Needless to say I'm not paying for service in Nov and Dec.

Amanda R. from Houston on January 1st, 2011
YEP is horrible. Do not use
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

If anyone is trying to switch electricity, DO NOT use YEP Energy. Customer service reps are idiots and deserve to rot for letting my 60 year old mom sit in the dark with no electricity and wait for their phone call that never came. Reliant also sucks for putting a move out order on my account when i was just trying to switch providers. When i called to get my electricity turned on the next day, YEP has the nerve to try to charge me a fee to get a priority order to turn on my power which should have been done the previous day. They then smugly say they can waive the charge as if they are doing me a favor. Not to mention they will give me no reimbursement for the spoiled food and wasted time.

Eric S. from Houston on October 8th, 2010
So Many Names for One Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They operate under several names including Texpo Power, Texpo Power & Light, YEP, Southwest Power & Light, and who knows what else. Their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. In this day and age where you can get cheap rates and service from nearly anywhere, they're butt heads. Their billing system is retarded. I called to ask that they move the date a couple of days to accommodate when my pay check hits so that they'd stop costing me $35 over draft fees. They actually tried to hit my checking account 7x in 3 days - really racking up the fees with my bank and you HAVE to pay on line to get the best rate. It's taken multiple complaints to the PUC and BBB and it's still not fixed yet!

Tired Of The Fees from Dallas on August 13th, 2010
Yep
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When I switched to Yep my electric bill sky rocketed. What I didn't know was that the had a distribution charge also, which was never mentioned to me. It was costing an average of $200 a month. I would never recommend them to anyone. I think they are the most awful place I have ever used. I am so glad to be rid of them now.

Doris from Temple on August 3rd, 2010
Terrible Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I'm working out of town and my wife is paying the bills. She didn't get/lost this month's bill and the power is cut off. We changed our home phone number so didn't get calls from them.

OK -- our fault, but when my wife called to see what happened, customer service wouldn't let her ask questions. She had to tell the service person to stop talking and listen. She had difficulty getting her to update our phone number.

I would only reccomend this company to people I didn't like.

Tony Orlowski from Tyler on July 13th, 2010
YEP is okay
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had YEP energy for a little over a year. I
haven't had any problems with them and I
especially like the fact that online bill pay
is so easy. The only thing I wonder about is
that when I signed up for their contract, I
signed up for 10 or 11 cents per kwh, but every
time I get my bill it says my avg price was 12
or more per kwh. I don't know if that's a
common thing among all providers. This was the
first time I had ever had to choose my own
electricity company, so I'm not sure about the
tiny details.

Jennifer from Round Rock on June 18th, 2010
No Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My 3 experiences with YEP customer service over 3 years were all negative, never any relief from an apparent overcharge or suggestion of another approach to resolve a problem.

Kfj from Pflugerville on June 10th, 2010
Horrible Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Their tech supports were newbies and the services were just amazing bad.

Angela from Houston on May 19th, 2010
Yep is a jip!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

On the application for YEP energy, it didn't specify that there was a "delivery" charge equal to the amount of energy used. When I called about that, the rep said "All companies do that!". NO THEY DON'T! Other companies that offer under $.10 KWH do not charge an additonal delivery surcharge.

Anonymous from on April 28th, 2010
BAD BAD Customer Server @ YEP ENERGY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I am normally a super laid back person but the customer service at this place takes the cake for the all time worst experience.
I paid my bill within the time of the due date and called the company to inform them that I used my online bill pay to pay the payment and gave them the transaction# and check# Can you believe they were still going to disconnect my electric? I am a single mother with out a job since May of 2009 and I have a special needs child that needs breathing treatments and we need electricity. They said they had heard this sad story before and wouldn't make an exception in my case. The odd thing was I had already made the payment and it had already cleared my bank, I wasn't sure what they didn't get about that.
Anyhow I am stuck in my contract until Jan of 2011, and they will charge 175.00 to get of the contract.I hope I get a job so I can pay this and say goodbye to this Rotten company.
I hope this helps anyone that is thinking about going with this company.

Customer Service Gone Wrong from Fort Worth on April 15th, 2010
YEP problems
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed on for YEP and wasn't told there was a $7.50 per month fee. I also wasn't told they Oncor would be charging a separate fee for their service. I have excellent credit and was charged a $390 deposit and it took over a month to get it back after several phone calls and e-mails. I'm changing as soon as my contract is up.

Paula Hicks from Plano on April 8th, 2010
Good Lord!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with these folks for a couple of years. No problems. I always pay my bill, but in March, I was on a cruise and the bill must have came the day I left. I was 3 days late paying the bill, and they sent a nasty letter threatening to sue me, send my account to a collection agency, etc etc. I understand them trying to get their money. But this is borderline psychotic. I just switched to another company. Hopefully if I am ever late, they won't threaten me like YEP did. Seems kind of stupid to be so mean to your best customers if they are only a few days late after years of history never having been late.

Eric from Dallas on April 1st, 2010
Great doing business w/ YEP
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Only complaint is the tedious payment screen. Does not save any previous infor so must monthly type ALL info regarding my account.

Vanessa from Liverpool on October 28th, 2009
Green Energy Plan Penalizes Conservation
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for YEP's 100% renewable energy plan and they charge me a monthly fee of $7.95 for using less than 1000 kwh per month. Therefore, YEPs "Green" Earth Plan actually penalizes me for wanting to conserve energy!! What a joke.

Ben from Houston on August 7th, 2009
Excellent
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Excellent

R from Us on July 14th, 2009
YEP Opinion
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Easy sign up and good rate. Short wait for customer service reps.

Bo from Bedford on May 12th, 2009