Mega Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Mega Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

Ratings by Star

cheapest Mega Energy Electricity rates and plans in Texas

Alternatives to Mega Energy's Texas Electricity Plans

Texas Electricity Ratings can help you find the best Mega Energy electricity plan. Below are the lowest priced plans, as well as our ratings and reviews.

Houston Plans

Compare more Houston Plans

Plan Term Rate
Bill Credit Bundle 24 24/months 11.5¢/kWh
Frontier Saver Plus 12 12/months 12.2¢/kWh
Frontier Saver Plus 24 24/months 12.2¢/kWh
Rates as of Feb 29, 2024 at 02:25 PM

Dallas Plans

Compare more Dallas Plans

Plan Term Rate
Frontier Saver Plus 12 12/months 11.5¢/kWh
Frontier Saver Plus 24 24/months 11.5¢/kWh
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12 12/months 11.5¢/kWh
Rates as of Feb 29, 2024 at 02:25 PM

Mega Energy Rating and Review Summary

There are 28 total reviews for Mega Energy, with an average rating of 1.8/5.

Company Stars Rating Reviews
Mega Energy
1.8/5 28
Category Stars
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Recent 5 Star Reviews

Absolutely Happy!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Every year when my energy plan is up for renewal I dread looking for the best rate pit there. A neighbor of mine referred me to Mega Energy and so I bit the bullet and called. The customer service rep was very polite, patient and helpful. I ended up signing up for 24 months in stead of 12 because the rate was a very decent rate. I access to online billing, auto draft, etc. It was pain free. I have not had any issues with billing which was my main concern. I would definitely refer this company to friends and family.

Alicia V. from Richmond, TX on November 6th, 2017
#1
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Love the company, excellent rates and great customer service. I would highly recommend this to my friends and family!!!

Anonymous from Sugar Land, TX on November 3rd, 2017

Recent 4 Star Reviews

Love Them
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

For the most part, I've had absolutely no issues with the company. My contract period was coming to an end, and I called in because their rate jumped up. However, I held off renewing, and ended up with a better rate than I had. My electricity bill is consistently lower than my neighbors, who have other companies.

The customer service has always been top notch when I call in.

Michael R. from Plano on August 29th, 2012
Very Happy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Excellent Customer Service !!!!

Bobby from Killeen on November 11th, 2011

Recent 3 Star Reviews

Good Price Ok Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

PROS: Love the price, no hidden fees, very basic and simple monthly billing statement.

CONS: Customer service seem a bit dry and lacks enthusiasm, the automated phone system using the 1800# kept disconnecting me, their web page has too many rate to choose from (32 rates can be a bit confusing), their web page also needs to have a link on how to renew your contract.

Anonymous from on December 21st, 2010

Recent 2 Star Reviews

Not Sure yet
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Ok, so I signed up online for service after reading numerous complaints and everything is going ok. Received account conformation in mail 5 days later, still no problem. But after two weeks of requesting for a copy of my contract via phone and email nothing yet. I must admit the staff is not very professional, but what do you expect when rates are so low. I'm not excited about the idea of paying a fee if you pay online; this 2011 people come on. I would be very careful about signing up with this company.

Not Sure from Houston on January 11th, 2011

Recent 1 Star Reviews

Questionable
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

These people called today offering to "save" us money on our electric bill.They told me "Obama has declared war on coal" and then quoted me a 5-month rate that was higher than what my utility company is currently charging. I calculated that I'd be paying them $11 *more* per month right off the bat!They assured me that my utility company was planning a rate increase in a couple months and *then* I'd be saving money!I can't see much benefit to paying Mega Energy more than I'm paying now for electricity in the hope that I might save money a few months from now, if and when my utility raises their rates, and if their rates go higher than Mega Energy's already higher rate.My impression is they just piggy-back onto peoples' electric bills, charge more money, and that's how they make a living... off dumb people paying them the higher rates they charge.

No Fool from Manchester on May 21st, 2014
STAY AWAY!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Let me start by saying that I'm not the type of person who ever spends any bit of time writing reviews. But here I am, today. Due to a switch in banking bill pay software, a payment didn't go out when it should of. Immediately after receiving a notice from Mega Energy, I called them. I advised them of the situation, apologized for mix-up and told them that payment was remitted immediately (10 days late). They thanked me and said they have noted my account and everything was fine. Well... a few hours later, sure enough, the power company shows up and disconnects my service. I immediately called them, once again, and they said that the only thing that could be done would be for me to contact my bank, issue a stop payment on the online payment that I previously sent in the morning, pay them via credit card (and pay $9.95 to pay via credit card) and even then, all they could do would be to issue a 'reconnect' notice, which could take another day.

When I called, every time that I made a comment, I was put on hold so that the 'operator' could relay what I was saying with someone else. Then she'd return... and the process would continue.

There is no corporate office or anyone who can ever be reached, as there is only one number to 'who-knows-where' that is answered by 'who-knows-who'.

As a long-time customer who has always paid my bills, I find this to be ridiculous!
Fool me once, shame on you... Fool me twice, shame on me!

AW from Spring on September 25th, 2012

All Reviews By Date

Absolutely Happy!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Every year when my energy plan is up for renewal I dread looking for the best rate pit there. A neighbor of mine referred me to Mega Energy and so I bit the bullet and called. The customer service rep was very polite, patient and helpful. I ended up signing up for 24 months in stead of 12 because the rate was a very decent rate. I access to online billing, auto draft, etc. It was pain free. I have not had any issues with billing which was my main concern. I would definitely refer this company to friends and family.

Alicia V. from Richmond, TX on November 6th, 2017
#1
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Love the company, excellent rates and great customer service. I would highly recommend this to my friends and family!!!

Anonymous from Sugar Land, TX on November 3rd, 2017
Questionable
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

These people called today offering to "save" us money on our electric bill.They told me "Obama has declared war on coal" and then quoted me a 5-month rate that was higher than what my utility company is currently charging. I calculated that I'd be paying them $11 *more* per month right off the bat!They assured me that my utility company was planning a rate increase in a couple months and *then* I'd be saving money!I can't see much benefit to paying Mega Energy more than I'm paying now for electricity in the hope that I might save money a few months from now, if and when my utility raises their rates, and if their rates go higher than Mega Energy's already higher rate.My impression is they just piggy-back onto peoples' electric bills, charge more money, and that's how they make a living... off dumb people paying them the higher rates they charge.

No Fool from Manchester on May 21st, 2014
Nasty Unethical Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They sign you up for a certain rate and then switch it after four weeks. STAY AWAY!!!! They try to trick you. My poor husband spent hours on the phone dealing with them. You will regret doing business with Mega.

Lori K. from Fort Worth on October 15th, 2012
TOP NOTCH COMPANY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This retail electric provider, in my opinion, has one of the best assets a company can have: excellent customer service. Here is where customers are retained or lost and I certainly intend to keep renewing my contract over the coming years.

CJ from W.falls on October 11th, 2012
STAY AWAY!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Let me start by saying that I'm not the type of person who ever spends any bit of time writing reviews. But here I am, today. Due to a switch in banking bill pay software, a payment didn't go out when it should of. Immediately after receiving a notice from Mega Energy, I called them. I advised them of the situation, apologized for mix-up and told them that payment was remitted immediately (10 days late). They thanked me and said they have noted my account and everything was fine. Well... a few hours later, sure enough, the power company shows up and disconnects my service. I immediately called them, once again, and they said that the only thing that could be done would be for me to contact my bank, issue a stop payment on the online payment that I previously sent in the morning, pay them via credit card (and pay $9.95 to pay via credit card) and even then, all they could do would be to issue a 'reconnect' notice, which could take another day.

When I called, every time that I made a comment, I was put on hold so that the 'operator' could relay what I was saying with someone else. Then she'd return... and the process would continue.

There is no corporate office or anyone who can ever be reached, as there is only one number to 'who-knows-where' that is answered by 'who-knows-who'.

As a long-time customer who has always paid my bills, I find this to be ridiculous!
Fool me once, shame on you... Fool me twice, shame on me!

AW from Spring on September 25th, 2012
Double your bill after first month!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Great for the first partial month cycle and then double your kWh price the next month. Even though powertochoose.org says 7 cents per kWh I was billed 15 cents per kWh. They suck.

J from Krum on September 22nd, 2012
DO NOT DO THE VARIABLE RATE PLAN!!!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I just found this site - unforetunely I am a couple months too late. I signed up for a great 7.3 c/kwh variable rate deal, and when my 2nd bill showed up I see it has bumped me up to 15 c/kwh. I called to let them know there was an "error" beacuse the variable rate plan on the site had gone up to 8.7, but I was charged 15. They said I was "no longer on a plan because my contract was for 1 month. After that it goes to their defualt rate which is now 15 c/kwh." After arguing that my contract was month-to-month and should not have ended, they offered to do a partial credit if I signed up for one of their high-priced fixed rate plans. THEY SCREW YOU OVER AND THINK YOU'LL SIGN UP TO STICK WITH THEM!!! No F-ING WAY!!! Oh, and in case you are thinking about trying to take advantage of the deal for 1 month and then bail out - know that you'll be charged $6 just to pay your bill. The only way out is to sign up for auto-bill, but I did that and they told me the first month is considered a one-time payment and the month's following are when the auto-payments kick in (at which point they begin screwing you on rates). That's right, I called to complain twice about they're shady practices within 2 months - the first 2 complaints I've ever made to my energy company in my 10 years living in TX...

Jeremy from Houston on September 20th, 2012
Love Them
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

For the most part, I've had absolutely no issues with the company. My contract period was coming to an end, and I called in because their rate jumped up. However, I held off renewing, and ended up with a better rate than I had. My electricity bill is consistently lower than my neighbors, who have other companies.

The customer service has always been top notch when I call in.

Michael R. from Plano on August 29th, 2012
Exellent Service!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Love the company, excellent rates and customer service.

Annonymous from Dfw on August 23rd, 2012
"Variable" rate is NOT variable - you will be gouged after the 1st month
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Wish I had found this review site before I signed up for their "Variable" rate plan. I had a great rate for one month and then they moved me to the Fixed Rate plan at a whopping 14.5 cents per kWh. I originally saw the offer on www.PowerToChoose.com website in the "Variable" area. I did not see the fine print which turned out to be "... you have chosen the Variable Rate Plan with a fixed rate" -- yes, they capitalized "Variable Rate" and did not capitalize the "fixed rate" wording. What makes this even worse is that I have to pay the obscene 14.5 cents per kWh rate for June and July when my usage is at peak. My advice -- just stay clear of this company.

Mark from Dallas on July 30th, 2012
Bait and Switch
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They offer a low rate, which you will get for one billing period (just a fraction of a month if you have a smart meter), and then they will double the rate and attempt to trap you into a bad one-year contract by offering to retroactively adjust the rate. They give the whole market a bad name. Avoid!

Andrew Adams from Houston on July 17th, 2012
Skanky Business Practices
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've got burned TWICE by this company!! Never, ever again! If you choose, them, and that's a big IF, only do the fixed rate plan. You will get bill shocked if you choose their Energy Only Plan or Variable Rate. Complete rip-off and confusing billing practices. Even when I had their fixed rate plan, it was always confusing to reconcile because they charged you fees for previous months. For example, in one month I had three $9.95 fees for previous months. I always had to call them to find out what the fee was charged for. Customer service should be title "customer non-service".

John from Houston on July 9th, 2012
Competitive prices, dirty tricks on billing
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Run from this provider. Their "deals" are too good to be true. Shortly after signing up, I
realized they offered only half the grace period of any other creditor I have (including credit
cards). I had a couple late fees due to this while I adjusted my process for paying bills to suit
this short schedule. They also charge me to save them time by paying my bill electronically
(many others don't do this). I renewed with them on the promise of a competitive rate (with
auto-pay). No mention of an auto-pay fee for this rate (assumed it was a policy change for
new customers). Only after I got my first bill on the new period did I realize "auto-pay" meant I
had to go on to their web site and sign up for auto-pay (with fee) even though I had renewed
on the "auto-pay" plan. Not only did this mean a late fee could easily have hit me, but it also
meant I was now locked into a year of online payment fees.

Nathan from Dallas on May 5th, 2012
This company is a RIP-OFF
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed a contract with Mega Energy in Dec 2011. I have had nothing but problems with their billing system. After signing up for a rate, they say they accidentally entered the incorrect rate (a higher rate into their system) but could not explain how it happened. Two months ago, they charged me a late fee when they had posted my payment on the day that it was due. Last month, they failed to charge me the minimum usage fee even though had not used 1000kWh. Even though I had signed a 2 year contract with them, the customer service person, Gerri Coleman corrected the rate but refused to honor the two year contract period as originally signed online. I attempted today to pay by phone and on the Mega internet site, only to find they would be charging me a fee on $9.95 to pay by phone and $5.95 to pay on the internet site. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE. The company is poorly managed and is a TOTAL RIP OFF.

Harry Scher from Dallas on January 16th, 2012
Extra charges
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Every time you get your bill there is some extra charge,you call them they say they will credit it to you on your next bill but they don't

Saeeda from Houston Tx Usa on December 23rd, 2011
Very Happy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Excellent Customer Service !!!!

Bobby from Killeen on November 11th, 2011
They do not deserve to be in Business
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

There customer service is horrible. Once you
signup,the rip you off as long as you are their
customer. Billing is Intentionally confusing.
Paying the bill is not easy and they do not mail
the bill on time even on repeated requests.You are
not going to save any money with them. In summary,
They do not deserve to be in this competitive
business.Buyers Beware!!!

Sam from Plano on November 3rd, 2011
Stay way.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They purposely make the statement messy and hard to read to rip you off. There is always some charge from early month. The end results are electricity rates that are much higher than what you signed up. Stay away from this company. Really bad business practice.

Michael from Allen on August 19th, 2011
Rip off
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I you want to know what small letters in a contract means? Get Mega Energy they will nickle, dime you and more. If I can give a -5 I will love that. They were putting every month in my bill almost 40.00 charges from AEP. Are you serious?

Honesty from Corpus Christi on August 8th, 2011
Misery Loves Company.. Buyer Beware
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Everything you read in the reviews below are true as they have happened to me from the beginning. Do not fall for the low rates presented. My bills have so many (legal) extra fees that I am paying more than my previous carrier and will be stuck for 24 months or pay a huge cancelation fee. I had excellent service with Ambit Energy for two years at a great price. I moved and changed thinking I was going to save more. Their customer service phone numbers have changes twice in the past 6 months. There CS people are so depressed because they deal with 95% complaints. So if this doesn't scare you away then GOOD LUCK!

Nota Happy Camper from East Tx Usa on July 21st, 2011
Paying extra for saving electricity!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Cannot recommend Mega Energy at all!
- never got a confirmation email letter with
contract details and you cannot find it in your
online account.
- had to wait for at least 2 months to get our
first bill.
- and, they charge you EXTRA $12 per month when
using less than 300kw/h!!! so don't even bother to save
energy!
-customer service is unfriendly, too!

I & M from Houston on June 17th, 2011
Minimum Usage Fees
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

(Needed a title. As far as I know, they're not.) During an era of oppulence in America, some people are striving for ways to cut back and reduce their impact on waste and energy consumption. In comes Mega Energy with "new and inventive ways to "punish you for not contributing to the smog and CO2 emissions for the Houston area. Each of the last two bills received had penalties for not meeting minimum power kWh usages. I spent the spring trying to make my place more energy efficient in preparation for this summer. Reward for these measures, less coal burned and charges unforseen when researching energy providers. Even their website under "understand your bill" there is no mention of these requirements and even items contradicts the charge. There is little chance I would ever meet their cryptic minimum usage and am gladly looking forward to our breakup. Unfortunately, they will win again since there is a $200 cancellation charge. Mega Energy - "Always leave your lights on"

Unhappy Customer from Houston on June 16th, 2011
Terrible!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Terrible and rude! The way they bill is ridiculous. You can't pay over the phone
with a credit or debit card without a $10 charge and they make it hard to set up
autopay. I am dumping their service.

Park from League City on June 8th, 2011
Rip Off
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

These people will rip you off if you are not careful. I'm one of those who reads the fine print and when I caught them in a lie; they said they would have billing call me back. Two weeks later, I still had not received a call. I called back and they said they are still working on it. Meanwhile another bill comes in with even more outrageous pricing. Nobody ever tried to fix my problem. I switched as soon as possible and plan on filing a complaint with the P.U.C.T. against them.

Lorna W. from Dallas on June 2nd, 2011
Worst Electricity Company!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had the worst experiences doing business with this company. They
take a long time to send my electric bill through mail. They charge you to
pay your bill online, and their customer service is the worst! The times I
have called to pay my bill over the phone the people that answer are rude
and have zero customer service. I am waiting for my 1 year contract to end
and move on!!!! Buyer Beware, this company should be called MEGA
SCAM!!!!!!!!! There is nothing positive to say about this company,
absolutely NOTHING!!!!

Texas Resident from Pharr on May 28th, 2011
Great company!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Customer service is great. We have been with them for a year, and have had no bad experiences.

BJB from Houston on April 30th, 2011
Mega Energy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for Mega due to their low prices and their promise to turn
my electricity on days before another company with the same prices. I
filled out the application online. Electricity was not turned on the
promised date and delayed my move-in. I called twice to complain.
Once I moved in, I didn't receive a bill for two months, so I called to
ask why. They said I should be receiving it in the mail and "to keep an
eye out for it." I double checked my mailing address and signed up for
bills to be emailed as well. After not receiving anything that week, I
called again to only have them give the same answer. Weeks later, I
finally received mail from them-only it was a disconnect notice. I called
immediately, told them this was the 1st mail I've ever received from
them, that I've called twice before, and signed up for emails which I've
never received. I told them my email again, they said they'd send out
another copy, and paid the bill over the phone. The next month the
exact same thing

Michelle from Bridgeport on March 13th, 2011
Mega Energy 2
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The next month the exact same thing happened-no mail, no email. I called again, explained everything, gave them my email and address again. They said they would send out another copy immediately. 1.5 weeks later, still nothing, so I called and explained everything again including the fact that I had called 1.5 weeks earlier. I even tried to sign up to view bills online, but their website wouldn't allow me to do so. When I was finally able to sign up online, I viewed my current bill, which I had not received and noticed several late fee charges. I called to ask about those. The customer service rep yelled at me, saying, "You have to pay the bill!" I explained that I was calling to find out about the charges and had every intention of paying. Finally asked for a supervisor after being yelled at repeatedly by the rep. They removed the late charges and found my email address was wrong. In the 5 months I've been with them, I've received 1 bill in the mail. Don't use Mega! I'm changing soon!

Michelle from Bridgeport on March 13th, 2011
Don't expect ANY customer service!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for service on a Friday and decided the same day to rescind the agreement. I called Mega and was told to send an email to their enrollment dept and it will be taken care of. I received an email on Tuesday stating my application was approved, so I called back to state that I submitted a cancellation. I was told they just did a credit check and I still had a chance to cancel and they will send a confirmation. On Friday, one week later, it still was not canceled and I was told to send an email again. Each time I call I am on hold for an average of 15 minutes before anyone answers. The customer service reps are absolutely unreliable and could care less about their quality of service.

Mary from Pearland on March 11th, 2011
Ripped off
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Buyer beware of this company. Not only is customer service poor, the rates published on the Mega Plans are not the rates you will be billed. In addition there will be monthly pass through charges for delivery. Mine was an additional 40%, 3 cents per KWH to be exact. The rates quoted are comparable to others who include the delivery charges, after the delivery charges might as well stay with TXU. But once they have you hooked with the false rate, you are under contract and they won't let you go easily. I have filed complaints with BBB, PUC, and soon to be State Attorney General and will be moving to another provider immediately. They will offer you a bundled price when you call to complaint, still 2 cents higher than many other retailers and comparable to the big guys TXU and Reliant. I just want my 7.3 cent rate as quoted, but guess I will settle for another company at 8.

Kenneth H from Justin on February 22nd, 2011
Terrible Service (Part 1)
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Early January 2011 I began shopping for a plan;
my current plan with a different company
expired Feb 1, 2011. I found Mega, seemed to be
good prices but I had questions and called. It
was a nightmare to get through and the
recording kept saying "Goodbye" and hanging up
on me. Once I found the correct combination to
get a person I got what seemed to be a young
man who could only tell me to use the web site.

I selected my plan on the web site and entered
a switch date of 2/1/2011. I received a letter
in the mail from them saying the were going to
switch me on 1/6/2011. That would cost me an
early termination fee of $250.

I successfully stopped them and set it up to
switch on 2/1/11. They did not put in the
paperwork to stop my old provider and it did
not switch. I called them, they said it will
switch today (2/8/11) I said I no longer chose
to do business with them, if they treat me this
way now how would they treat me after I was a
customer? She said "Whatever" and hung up on
me.

Greg from Mont Belvieu on February 10th, 2011
Terrible Service (Part 2)
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

After stewing about the young lady hanging up
on me I called back decoded their phone
protocol and asked the young lady to speak to a
supervisor. She asked my name and put me on
hold for several minutes. When she came back
she said all of the supervisors were in a
meeting and asked my name and number which I
gave her, She said a Supervisor would call me
back.

It is now 3 days later and nobody has ever
called me.

BAD COMPANY!

Greg from Mont Belvieu on February 10th, 2011
Incompetence
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I ordered my "Mega-Man" plan approximately 14 days ago and was told that electricity would be established on Day &"X". Well, 6 days past Day "X" the electricity was not on, despite my desperate calls every day to Mega Energy asking for help. Today is day 6 and I called Oncor to ask for help. They said that today (day 6) was the first day that Mega Energy has actually requested service and that Oncor would establish it by end of day on priority since we do not have electricity. I would strongly advise anyone not to choose this provider and will bail as soon as my contract is through in 1 year (minus 6 days). I did make a complaint with the TX Public Utility Commission. It is amazing that something like this can happen and you can be without electricity. You would think these folks at Mega Energy would escalate up to their managers or at least show some type of urgency - Yikes!

Mr. Not Very Happy (and Cold) from Dallas on February 3rd, 2011
Mega Crappy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I ordered my service and was approved later that day. I assumed everything was set up and ready to go. Well come 60 days later i find out my electric service was never turned on. They said they "Overlooked" my account. Then on top of that they were not able to provide me with the rate i signed up for 60 days ago, however they were able to estimate it (on the high side). I then tried to contact a customer service representative to obtain the rate i signed up for and was hung up on.

Mega Energy is very unprofessional, has horrible customer service and is unable to provide any use full information to the customer. They do have cheap prices, but for my money i will pay a little more and go somewhere else.

Upset Customer from Houston on January 31st, 2011
Mega Energy = Mega Fee's
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have not had a good experience with this company. When I ordered service, they never sent any confirmation. I had to call 2 times to verify my connect date. After about 6 weeks of no bill or welcome mail, I logged on to my account to see that I had two bills due. I paid one online. I sent an email complaining about not getting a bill, and finally started receiving my bills in the mail. The first of which was a disconnect notice. Their fees include: credit card payment fee, fee for paying with check, a fee for sending a disconnect notice. A late fee. They accept checks online but don't mention the fee associated with that. When I called in regards to why my online amount due was more than the bill they sent me, the answer was "I guess fees". Well, based upon my experience, I guess this is a fly by night company. As soon as my contract is up, I'm switching to a new provider.

Chad from Fort Worth on January 19th, 2011
Not Sure yet
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Ok, so I signed up online for service after reading numerous complaints and everything is going ok. Received account conformation in mail 5 days later, still no problem. But after two weeks of requesting for a copy of my contract via phone and email nothing yet. I must admit the staff is not very professional, but what do you expect when rates are so low. I'm not excited about the idea of paying a fee if you pay online; this 2011 people come on. I would be very careful about signing up with this company.

Not Sure from Houston on January 11th, 2011
No Customer Service!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was shopping for a new Elec. co. and saw Mega had some great rates. I attempted to call them to ask some questions and it is nearly impossible to speak to a human being, much less one who actually wants to work. Yesterday I attempted to call 4 times. Twice the automated system hung up on me and twice I was placed on hold by a careless attitude woman who advised me "she only works the front office" when I tried to explain my past calling experience. The next 2 calls I sat on hold for over 20 minutes each. I ended both calls. I tried again today. My first call I sat on hold for almost 30 minutes and the system hung up on me. My 6th call I tried to go through billing and spoke with a man who made no apologies for all my attempts. He explained I must have called during heavy call times. He appeared to careless and the few questioned I asked he appeared to not want to answer (regarding their customer service & automated system). Low rates or not ...I have no desire to deal with this.

Andie from on December 29th, 2010
Good Price Ok Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

PROS: Love the price, no hidden fees, very basic and simple monthly billing statement.

CONS: Customer service seem a bit dry and lacks enthusiasm, the automated phone system using the 1800# kept disconnecting me, their web page has too many rate to choose from (32 rates can be a bit confusing), their web page also needs to have a link on how to renew your contract.

Anonymous from on December 21st, 2010
Not off to a good start
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed onto Mega on November 15. On November 28, having heard nothing as to my account number that I needed for the website, I called Mega. The phone decision tree offers quite a bunch of choices and subchoices, perhaps a total of 25. Only one of those leads to a human insofar as I could determine. I got my account number from the human. Then, I went online, confident that I could arrange electronic payment. No such thing offered there, or even mentioned. So, I sent an email asking about electronic payment. 48 hours later, I received a "quote" telling me how much I owe Mega right up to the minute; info I didn't care to know. With a minimal website, one should never have an occasion to even contact the company by phone or ask any questions by email, but that isn't the case.

Jim from Granbury on November 30th, 2010
Would not
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Recommend, customer service is horrible...

Anonymous from on November 16th, 2010
Great Rates NO contract, Awesome service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My 2 friends and myself have Mega. With No contract, great competitive rates and very nice people on customer service!!! Im a person there in individual personalized service and not a number. I was paying .129 cents with Reliant HA HA HA :) Thanks Mega

Mikey McCutey from Houston on November 13th, 2010
Don't Choose Mega Part I
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

1000 characters cannot not properly describe my frustration with this company. So I too decided to move from an apt to a house and when I signed up, Mega said transfers were easy. During my move, Mega decided to open a separate account for my house because there was about 1 month overlap but this will be a continuation (transfer) of service. When I get the new bill, mega is imposing a $6.95/month charge for usage < 1000 kW on the new account that never appeared on the old account. Numerous phone calls to customer service proved fruitless, Domonique doesn't do call backs, although she will tell you she does. Operations Manager, Reggie Miles, is a ghost, he doesn't return voicemails, and the CEO doesn't return emails. See the connectons? After about 3 weeks and a PUC complaint, accounting finally peformed an audit on the account and refunded my $6.95. I am waiting to see what happens next billing cycle. The PUC response was carefully worded to make sure Mega was not responsible.

Steve from Pearland on November 3rd, 2010
Don't choose Mega Part II
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is even better. So about a month later, I have an inactive apt account, and an active house account. I accidentally send payment to the inactive account. Mega Energy accepts the payment, does not send a letter stating they applied payment to an inactive account, does not call, does not send an email. On 10-26-10 at 4:45 pm, Centerpoint comes to disconnect my electric for non-paymnet on the active account. By 5:15 pm the priority 1 reconnect was generated but my electric was not turned on for 20 hours. I didn't even open the next month's bill due 11-2-10. I had no way of knowing there was a problem. This is a great company, customer focused!!

Steve from Pearland on November 3rd, 2010
Stay away from this company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Very disappointed with their poor customer service.
I placed an order online to get a connection to my apt from the 25th
and expected an email confirmation for the same. I called 2 times
for the confirmation and the 2nd time on the 22nd and they say
I will have the connection from today. So I told them i am moving in
on the 25th for which they say I had not filled in any date so they cannot
change the date and they would have to charge me for rescheduling the date
to 25th, But if I cancel the order they would not charge me. Thats what i did.
Then one fine day I get a bill for 22nd - 25th. I called them and asked them
to void it and the customer service rep says she would talk to the billing
dept and do it. I call today after 2 months and they say I would have to pay
the bill as they cannot void it. I did pay the bill, but would never
recommend this company to anyone nor rate it as this is the worst company
i have come across till date.

Suri from Houston on November 3rd, 2010
Mega - Trickery & deception
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Warning: Mega offers low-rate teaser plans with titles like "Unbundled Centerpoint" or "Energy Only Centerpoint." These are very misleading. These plans offer a low Mega KWh rate, but they will add on an additional 2-5 cents/KWh from Centerpoint, variable per month. They say this is all explained in the terms of service, but the language is very vague and difficult to understand precisely. These guys are being tricky to take advantage of consumers in my opinion. They also made a mistake on my first bill - guess what, they overcharged me using a higher per KWh rate. I think they do not expect average consumers to check the billing details. 11/2/2010

Mike K from Houston on November 2nd, 2010
Stay away from Mega
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Mega Energy has horrible service, no follow thru, Customer service reps and supervisors will out and out lie to you. Absolutely the worst experience I have ever had with an electric provider.

Eric Oswald from Katy on October 7th, 2010
Not able to give proper information
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Today I tried to sign up for the 12 month fixed
rate plan from this company. The customer
service person could not provide me about
information about the plan i was signing up for.
I asked for a supervisor, and none were
available. Then, I tried to erase the
information I put on the sign up form, and up
pops a notice saying " Thank You -
Application has been Submitted. I called
customer service, and they said they were
cancelling the application. I asked for
confirmation, and they would not provide it.

Fred Sternberg from Corpus Christi on August 25th, 2010
Mega Energy Rocks!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I switched to Mega Energy and couldn't be happier with their awesome customer service and rates. They helped me with a complicated moving situation and went out of their way to accommodate my requests. I've sent a few friends to them as well, and they have all had the same great service.

John from Houston on June 11th, 2010
Great company, been with them 2 yrs
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Great company, been with them 2 yrs

Doug from Houston on June 5th, 2010
Client/Customer
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Best Customer Service and Best Rates, They are number one on Power to choose as # 1 Retail Electric Provider.

Bob Russell from Usa on December 10th, 2009