New Power Texas Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for New Power Texas so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our New Power Texas Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

New Power Texas's Customer Reviews Summary

New Power Texas Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for New Power Texas

1.7 / 5

New Power Texas Reviews

8 Reviews for New Power Texas

8

total reviews

Want to order New Power Texas?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for New Power Texas?

Is New Power Texas good?

New Power Texas is generally rated with an average user review of 1.1/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 14.59¢/kWh!

Is New Power Texas expensive?

New Power Texas has energy plans starting as low as 14.59¢/kWh with their Free Power Weekends 36. The average New Power Texas plan rate is 16.19¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.29¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



New Power Texas vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and New Power Texas:

TXU New Power Texas
Plan Count 8 6
Average Rate 17.5¢/kWh 15.45¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $0.00
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 13.90¢/kWh.
Free Power Weekends 12
from 14.65¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 14.90¢/kWh.
Free Power Weekends 24
from 14.65¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

New Power Texas vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and New Power Texas:

Reliant New Power Texas
Plan Count 4 6
Average Rate 16.80¢/kWh 15.45¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 17.10¢/kWh.
Free Power Weekends 12
from 14.65¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 16.10¢/kWh.
Free Power Weekends 24
from 14.65¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does New Power Texas take reviews seriously?

New Power Texas has an average user review of 1.1 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for New Power Texas?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running New Power Texas customer review communities around. With 8 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a New Power Texas customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our New Power Texas Customer Reviews Page.



Overall Rating
Do Not Use This Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have nothing positive to say about this company. They will somehow manage to not notify you about your plan ending and then charge you a ridiculously high prorated rate so your bill is double what it normally would be, then youll have to spend countless hours on the phone with customer service and wait a month for any kind of resolve on the issue even though it was an error on their part! Additionally when you try and end your service they will conveniently not be able to get around to shutting off power for weeks after your scheduled cancellation and then try to charge you for the residual power usage even though you physically werent there and it is yet again their fault! 0 stars. Dont even bother, the headaches are not worth it. Go with a bigger company that knows how to do business, this one is not it.

Daisy from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
No lights
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The company is a joke paid yo have my service and yes they turn on the my lights only for a half of day just to get get shut off again like really and sitting here trying to speak to someone very impossible very bad services

Theresa Of Houston Texas from Houston, TX on August 17th, 2022
Overall Rating
Bait and switch - Zero customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for their 36 month fixed price plan. When the bill came they had overcharged me by about $50. The bill had no resemblance to the electricity facts label that I had used to select them. The base charge was wrong and the billing tiers were wrong. I immediately tried to contact them to let them know the error. I sent 2 emails. No response. I tried calling in and got a message saying long wait times if I want they will call me back and I won't lose my place in line. No call back. I went through their website and used a customer service request form and got an automated email reply that they would respond in one business day. No response. I called back in and waited on hold for an hour and forty minutes until they decided to answer and immediately hang up. I've since filed a complaint with the Public Utility Commission of Texas. Hopefully this review saves somebody the aggravation and complete waste of time and money I've endured.

Tawn from Plano, TX on August 15th, 2022
Overall Rating
Bait and switch. BUYER BEWARE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I'm still a new customer to New Power, but I did my due diligence and read all of the EFL data on the plan they offered. When my first bill arrived they had overcharged me by around $55. The rate line items were completely different from what I was expecting based on the EFL. I chalked it up to a billing mistake and promptly notified them via email. 3 days later and no response I attempted to call and was told I could have them call me back rather than wait on hold and I wouldn't lose my place in line. No call back. So I resent my previous email along with a warning that if this wasn't resolved I'd be filing a complaint with the Public Utility Commission of Texas....no response. I'm filing my formal complaint today. I wish I had read this before choosing this terrible company. Not just expensive but amazingly inconvenient to take time out of every day for a week to deal with this.

Tawn from Plano, TX on August 9th, 2022
Overall Rating
Dont sign up with this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Am a new customer and I have been without power since I signed up with your company. Your customer service is unsatisfactory and totally lacking in empathy. I have been told my power would be turned on any minute so many times just to be let down over and over. It has been freezing at my house and nothings but broken promises has been done by your company. I am exhausted and not looking forward to dealing with your company for the next 36 months.

Amedina from Fort Worth, TX on February 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
No one working customer service calls. Waited 1 hour on
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No one working customer service calls. Waited 1 hour as second in line. Then used call back feature. Over an hour later, still no call back. Horrible.

Shawn Look from Bonham, TX on February 7th, 2022
Overall Rating
Be aware of scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company should be banned of doing business in the power field, they give you good price to have you sign up and start billing you for totally different prices.

Ibrahim Al Dabagh from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
With these guys, youll be forced to party like its 1699
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you enjoy having your power disconnected without fair warning, these guys are great. If, like I assume most people, you find that to be a breach of service, then run - dont walk - away from these guys. I switched to them recently to take advantage of a promotional offer. My contract started in June. I setup autopay, but I received a disconnection notice via mail at the end of July that I had not paid. I thought that was weird, but no big deal I figured it was a fluke, paid the bill immediately and made sure that the autopay was enabled on my account and that the billing details were correct.



Well, about 9:30am this morning, my power goes off. All my neighbors still have theirs on. After waiting nearly 2 HOURS on hold with their customer service, I finally get through. They obviously outsource their customer care as there was a lot of chatter in the background that made it difficult to understand the agent. They look up my account, and sure enough, they claim my account is past due. They agreed that it seemed odd as they could also see that autopay was enabled, but they gave me some BS about it taking a couple billing cycles to go through. I also asked why I never received another disconnection notice after I manually paid the bill after the notice I received in July when the autopay failed the first time. They gave the usual line of its probably in your junk mail, but I confirmed that it was nowhere in my inbox. Anyway, I give the agent my credit card number to pay the bill manually (again), and now I get to be an unwilling Luddite for the next 2-4 hours while I wait for the power to turn back on.

This was never an issue of money. I was happy to pay the bill, if they would just communicate that theyve had an issue with the billing. I cant fix what I dont know about. At the very least, why didnt they send a final disconnection notice email today to notify me of the impending shutoff? I would have paid immediately and all this could have been avoided.

This is a sorry excuse of a company, and an even worse excuse of customer service. No matter how tempting the offer might be, resist the temptation. If not, theres a good chance youll end up like me: writing an angry review under the warm glow of candlelight from an iPhone with a failing battery. Caveat emptor.

Daniel B from Houston, TX on August 17th, 2021

Compare New Power Texas to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Tara Web - 24
14.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Tara Web - 12
14.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Power Nights 12
18.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Power Nights 24
17.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Power Nights 36
17.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Power Weekends 12
16.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Power Weekends 24
16.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Power Weekends 36
16.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability