APG&E Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for APG&E so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our APG&E Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

APG&E's Customer Reviews Summary

APG&E Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for APG&E

2.3 / 5

APG&E Reviews

41 Reviews for APG&E

41

total reviews

Want to order APG&E?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for APG&E?

Is APG&E good?

APG&E is generally rated with an average user review of 1.5/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 11.9¢/kWh!

Is APG&E expensive?

APG&E has energy plans starting as low as 11.9¢/kWh with their TrueClassic 6. The average APG&E plan rate is 13.11¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.53¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



APG&E vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and APG&E:

TXU APG&E
Plan Count 8 5
Average Rate 18.01¢/kWh 12.62¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $1.99
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 14.50¢/kWh.
TrueSimple 12
from 6.95¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 15.50¢/kWh.
TrueSimple 24
from 7.09¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 1

APG&E vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and APG&E:

Reliant APG&E
Plan Count 4 5
Average Rate 16.80¢/kWh 12.62¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $1.99
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 17.10¢/kWh.
TrueSimple 12
from 6.95¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 16.10¢/kWh.
TrueSimple 24
from 7.09¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 1

Does APG&E take reviews seriously?

APG&E has an average user review of 1.5 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 98% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for APG&E?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running APG&E customer review communities around. With 41 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a APG&E customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our APG&E Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Charles Daubitz

Overall Rating
APG&E has saved me a lot of money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

2 years ago their rates were unbelievably inexpensive, I hope I can renew when my plan expires.

Charles Daubitz from Midlothian, TX on August 15th, 2022
Overall Rating
Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have only been with them for a little over a year. I went through a broker ( ok, so that was my 1st time and scary), but with auto pay and a totally fixed rate from 1 kilowatt to 4000 kilowatts, I have never had a problem with their billing. I hate every electric company with rates for the 1st 500 kwatts, then up to 2000 kwatts, then a price for everything over 2000 kwatts. I love the flat rate. Don't really understand why so many people have issues with them. And I did a 3 year contract so I don't have to use powertochoose every year.

Fwtank from Arlington, TX on June 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Love Them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with APGE for years. I love the product offers, the customer service and ease of payments.

Happy Customer from Alvarado, TX on May 26th, 2021
Overall Rating
Electric ser
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good

Gabaldon from Dallas, TX on February 21st, 2020
Overall Rating
APG&E rocks!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I recently signed up with APG&E for electricity service for my home. It was super easy. It took me under 3 minutes to sign up for service. Their price plans were transparent...no gimmicks. Very fair and affordable rates. Called their customer service line to check on my bill date. The customer service agent was extremely helpful and got me squared away in minutes. So glad I signed up with them!

Cindy In Houston, TX from Bellaire, TX on May 21st, 2018
Overall Rating
Great Experience, Great Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I recently enrolled with APG&E for my home in Houston. I got a great low rate without any gimmicks or tricks. When I called customer service they were so helpful and knowledgeable. I also started getting emails showing me how much power I use. This has been great. Overall, I'm very happy with this company and glad I chose them. I've already been telling my friends to sign up too.

Laura In Houston from Houston, TX on April 24th, 2018
Overall Rating
LOVE it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a customer with APGE for 3 years and they have never dissapointed me. the customer service agents are always so firendly when i call and very helpfull they always find a way to help the customer out and bend over back wards to keep me as a customer satisfied.

Becky Harrison from Houston on July 20th, 2012
Overall Rating
Very rude when I do get a representative.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I cant get a hold of anybody. When I finally do, their rude and yell at me. Very unprofessional, we do work and could use faster service. Ive been trying to make contact since Friday 9/10/22 and still have not been able to make contact with them. They do offer to call you back and not loose your turn but they dont call you back!!!!!!!

Very Disappointed from Houston, TX on September 12th, 2022
Overall Rating
Very rude when I do get a representative.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I cant get a hold of anybody. When I finally do, their rude and yell at me. Very unprofessional, we do work and could use faster service. Ive been trying to make contact since Friday 9/10/22 and still have not been able to make contact with them. They do offer to call you back and not loose your turn but they dont call you back!!!!!!!

Very Disappointed from Houston, TX on September 12th, 2022
Overall Rating
NEVER A BILL
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I GUESS THAT THE SERVICE IS FINE, BUT AFTER SENDING OUT MULTIPLE MESSAGES TO THEIR CUSTORMER SERVICE I JUST CANNOT GET A BILL FROM THEM. THEY DO NOT SEND ANY AND IF I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT WHEN THE BILL IS DUE, GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND OBTAIN ONE THAT WAY, I WOULD LIKE MANY OTHERS LIKELY BE FACING A DISCONNECT. I WILL AGREE THAT THEY NEED TO GET THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ACT TOGETHER.

KERRY SHIRLEY from Houston on September 15th, 2014
Overall Rating
STAY AWAY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheap fixed rate sounds good. Until you realize they run some wierd 20 day bill cycle so your bill is due a completely different time each month. Also sometimes it takes them 10 days to apply a payment and they will send you a disconnection notice and charge you a late fee. My last 2 bills have had 14 days and 17 days respectively from their mail date (printed on the invoice) and the due date. So basically I'm getting 2 bills a month from these idiots. If you do a budget like I do this company is a huge frustration. Also if you call them they say it's not their fault and blame their computer. Terrible company.

John from Beeville on November 1st, 2013
Overall Rating
Good rates, but...............
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with APG&E for six months. Their cash appliations is terrible. They have failed to apply my timely made payments for days / weeks and send me a disconnection notice every single month despite having my money. Although the price is good, the time spent each month trying to get this straight is not worth it. I haven't looked yet, but if they are reporting me to the credit bureau as a slow payor then that could be even a bigger issue.

Dennis Moon from Katy on December 3rd, 2012
Overall Rating
Month To Month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I previously had a contract with this company for many years, but recently went month to month. They are now charging me an outrageous fee of .32 per kilowatt hour from TXU. I then went to TXU to see their charges of month to month and they are only charging .23 per kilowatt hour. This is pathetic.

Overcharge from Irving, TX on August 31st, 2022
Overall Rating
Not worth the it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had been loyal to them for 4 years since I bought my house. Recently this year they have fallen off in taking care of their customers. My contact ended the end of September. They said they sent me an email and letter 45 days before the contract ended. Didnt get the email, even tho they said that they sent it. I had received the letter in the first week of October, but the letter was dated in July. By then my rate had doubled, my bill was twice the usual amount! I switched to a new company that day.


I get another bill 2 weeks later! 19.99c/kw!
I call customer service, explain the situation. Theres nothing we can do. Thats all they kept saying. Go with another company

Not Worth It! from Cypress, TX on October 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Customer service is terrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you have a problem the customer service people can barley speak English. They can't or won't give you any phone numbers to contact anyone that can speak and understand English. I have call 3 times to fix a situation to no avail.

K.R. from Temple, TX on October 12th, 2021
Overall Rating
Usually dont write reviews
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Apge by far has the worst customer service and management Ive ever seen. Min 45 minute hold to get in contact with someone. Bill will randomly more than triple in price then when you call to resolve will be told there is no billing department. Much better cheap alternatives to this scam of a company

Nathan from Cedar Hill, TX on August 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
The worst Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer service is terrible. I was trying to get an explaination as to why i received 2 bills for the same time period with different amounts. First time i called i held for over an hour even though i was told i was the first one in line. The next morning i called twice held over 45 minutes. Called a 3td time and selected a different option, just trying to get a live person to ANSWER the phone. Finally got to 1st one in line and said wait time is 24 minutes. again i held or 45 minutes and still no answer. Not paying my bill until i speak to a person and he can explain it to me. It would be nice if someone would reach out to me. inv #11372107

Kathy Holmes from Euless, TX on July 21st, 2021
Overall Rating
Just Avoid Them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had a 3 year service agreement that expired in May. Rate went from 6c/kWh to 20 c/kWh. I should have checked previous invoices with the fine print telling me that the agreement was due to expire. Did not receive any email advising me of the expriation date. Was with them since 2018. Shame on me for not realizing it was open season on out of contract accounts. Revolting practice.

Houston "Valued Customer." from Spring, TX on July 1st, 2021
Overall Rating
Customer service is horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been setup on automatic payments and the one time I needed to do a payment arrangement they charge an installation fee which they didnt disclose the right way. The lady was reading from a script and I didnt catch all the fine print details she was giving. And when I called back I complained that I wasnt aware and the rep says to me I am the one u talked to when I complained about the rep I spoke too. She had a very nasty attitude and even the manager Alex doesnt not know how to deal with people either. They gave me the run around about everything and even allowed me to listened to call and he didnt even do that correctly. He kept putting the phone on mute so therefore the recording wouldnt play like it was suppose to. Overall this company is horrible when it comes to customer services and how to treat people. Once my contract is up I will not sign up with them again.

Anna from Fort Worth, TX on December 15th, 2020
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I can't get out from this service.

R.T. from Dallas, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Overall Rating
Rude customer service rep and out dates equipment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I went onto the APG&E website and post-dated my payment. My bill was due July 6th and I post-dated for July 9th. Well they sent me a disconnect notice on the 9th. Apparently they can't see post-dated payments. Not only is that unfortunate, but it's stupid and out-dated. So if anyone ever asks me what I think about APG&E, I'll for sure refer them to Centerpoint Energy. Centerpoint Energy is not so quick to disconnect your services. Three days late, but had a post dated payment on file. Shame on you APG&E. I'm very disappointed in your company

Angela Simmons from Richmond, TX on July 13th, 2020
Overall Rating
Highway robbery
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We were customers with APGE for almost 2 years. When our contract expired, we received a call to renew and said we would like to. We thought that was it, but apparently, there was a packet that was supposed to be sent to us that never was. Consequently, they raised our rates to $.188 kWh! We had been paying $.6. Mind you, this is all in the midst of a global pandemic and in summer in Houston, TX. They refused to revise our bills to reflect the contract price we thought we had agreed to. Very shady business practices and zero customer service.

Thieves! from Houston, TX on July 11th, 2020

Compare APG&E to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Base Saver III - 12
14.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just Energy Web - 24
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just400 Advantage - 24
15.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just Energy Web - 12
16.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 36
13.6¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 24
13.7¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 12
13.9¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueGreen 12
14.3¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 6
13.4¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Freedom 36
18.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Deluxe 24
12.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Energy Saver 36
17.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12
11.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Deluxe 12
14.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver 12
14.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Energy Saver 24
17.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Advantage 12
16.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Value 12
17.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Premium 12
20.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Superb Saver 24
21.8¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Superb Saver 12
22.1¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Eco Saver Premium 24
22.4¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Eco Saver Advantage 12
22.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Eco Saver Premium 12
21.9¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability