Reviews for Tara Energy

The best review categories for Tara Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.7 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.7 stars.


Recent Good Review from Pamela lara

Happy
Lily fixed the problems I experienced!! Thank you lily:)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pamela Lara from Sweeny, TX on April 19th, 2022
Thank you, Pamela. We are so grateful for your 5-star review.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

15 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Happy
Lily fixed the problems I experienced!! Thank you lily:)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pamela Lara from Sweeny, TX on April 19th, 2022
Thank you, Pamela. We are so grateful for your 5-star review.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
New customer
I have had a seamless transition from my last energy company. My first months bill was literally half price with almost the same usage!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Daniel from Spring, TX on January 11th, 2020
Hi Daniel, many thanks for your excellent review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to call us at 1-866-4741344. We hope you have a nice day! Thanks.

Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Selecting Service is so difficult
As I am sure you know if you are reading this selecting a service is so difficult. Some want a down payment while others don't. This service was quick and easily and my billing has been great. The send me weekly updates on my usage. Also they did not charge me a down payment which was great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rayjht from Houston, TX on October 1st, 2018
Good deal
Like all aspects of the experience so far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony from Abilene, TX on September 11th, 2018
Tara has worked well for me.
Smooth transition to Tara from my previous provider. No billing or other issues. Probably halved my electricity bill by going with Tara Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tara Comes Through. from Arlington, TX on August 14th, 2018
Nice people
Very friendly answer my question
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nice from Waco, TX on May 6th, 2018
Great rates
Cheapest electricity I've had. Very satisfied.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Adelyn from Arlington, TX on April 22nd, 2018
What i think about Tara
They are awesome on any question r concerns
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debbie Smith from Robert Lee, TX on April 9th, 2018
Experience with Tara
I am very pleased thus far..I haven't had any surprise bills and the ordering process was simple, easy and self explainatory
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl Givens from Dallas, TX on March 6th, 2018
Best company ive had service with!
Cheapest prices and you can even earn rewards!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Best Decisicion! from Pharr, TX on December 24th, 2017


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No issues
Have been a customer for 2 months. Everything is going well so far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jazzy from Lake Dallas, TX on November 19th, 2017
WONDERFUL COMPANY
When I read all the reviews here i was thinking if I am working with another company and hoping that this bad things will not happen to me one day!I am using the Electricity from Tara Energy almost 2 years and I have no problems.I paid all my bills online with no problem.I agree with something that their web site is really not good but other than that I didn't have any problems.I wish to have a little bit cheaper rate plan that is all :)Most of my friends had lots of problems with other electric companies like electricity cut and etc.I am happy that I didn't have a bad experience like that.Hopefully I will not in the future.My Plan is finishing in March 2014 and I am still thinking to continue with the same company but I am also checking different companies with maybe a little bit low rate plans:)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sophie from Hurst on December 30th, 2013
Never had a problem
Seamless transfers, reliable energy (due to ERCOT, I know), but nothing to complain about
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R. Meisner from Round Rock on April 30th, 2013
No problems
I've really had no problems with Tara - I love their flat rate and know I'm always getting what I pay for.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karen from Houston on April 16th, 2013
So far so good...3 years experience
Never have had a problem, other than they move the due date slightly every month. I have to call then every so often to get them to move the date back where it is supposed to be. It is drafted from my account each month, so it is important to me to be a consistant date. The price has been going up slightly each renewal. I can get a lower rate elsewhere...but after reading the ratings on some companies...it is a gamble as to the customer service you end up with...no one wants their eletricity cut off for stupid reasons...So I renewed once again...may consider switching next time if I can find a company that has good ratings on customer service. Would like to see a special rate for repeat, well paying customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Theresa Fails from Hitchcock on March 17th, 2013
Good experiance
Price as promised
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Curler from Irvin Texas 75060 on March 28th, 2012
Been very satisfied
It is time to renew or switch my electic plans since my 12-month contract with Tara is up and I thought I would share my Tara experience with you. Tara has met all contract agreements including a very good price. My bill and my father's bill are emailed to me monthly and I pay electronically thru our banks with no extra charges. With have had zero issues. It is time to renew and they offered four reduced rate plans. No complaints from me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shari Hightower from Fort Worth on January 31st, 2012
Diamond in the Rough
Great company! Nothing but Praise
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marco Almanza from Mcallen on October 18th, 2011
Home owner
Excellent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Heflin from Houston on May 2nd, 2011



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good price to begin with
My first year was great. $.077, now at renewal they want $.125, so I will be changing providers. 62% increase is not acceptable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aaron from Round Rock, TX on August 15th, 2018
Hi Aaron,
We hope we can have you back as a customer in the future!
— Tara Energy
Consistent service
I originally signed on with Tara about a year plus ago for my apartment. The sign up for easy and once I setup the auto draft, i had no issue. I moved to a house and the transition from apartment to house was also smooth and easy. Never had an issue with service. I am only changing due to the fact my contract is up and I am interested in shopping for better rates. The rate i had was fixed at 10cents/kwh. It's a fair rate, but I see better rates so I am shopping around! I would recommend Tara.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

L. T. from Houston on February 17th, 2014
No Problems
I used Tara energy for a year as they were the least expensive the last time I signed up. I did not have any problems and payed all of my bills online. I never had to contact customer support so I cant speak to that. I am changing providers now simply because I can get a better deal. Overall I was satisfied with their service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Friendswood Tx Usa on January 24th, 2012
Where is the website...
Everytime I try to check in on my account, their website is down; can't say how incredibly frustrating that is. On the other hand, I sing their praises when I receive my bill, since I am saving in the neighborhood of $100-$200 a month during the summer with their great rates. So, I'll deal with the spotty website availability...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SLH from Seabrook on September 5th, 2011



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Collections notice
Came home today to a collections notice from Amigo Energy. I have never had service through them. The collections department was closed, so I called Amigo directly. I was informed my bill was from Tara Enerfy from last April. I had changed to a new provider when my contract with Tara ended. I paid the next bill I received and thought I was done. In the past 14 months I have had no further communication with Tara Energy. So, imagine my surprise to learn I had an unpaid final bill balance that was being sent to third party collections effective 5/22/14. Of corse the notice was received after the cut off and after collections business hours. Had I received a bill, I would have paid it promptly, but they never billed me. The explanation from the customer service rep was that they recently changed billing systems and noticed many unpaid bills. So, I guess instead of refilling, they just sent it all to collections when they never billed to start with. I can't even get into the website to make payment, as the option is greyed out. Nice!!! Have scheduled payment through my bank, but it won't arrive u til a week from now. I'm going to be seriously pissed off if this hits my credit. Will be filing a complaint through the PUC.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S.o. from Temple on May 23rd, 2014
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!
I would not recommend Tara Energy to anyone today. I have been with them for over 2yrs and everything started out fine, however they have recently made some changes in the customer service and it's gone downhill fast! The reps are NOT knowledgable and if they dont want to deal with you they put you back in que for someone else to handle it. I have even had someone hang up on me....terrible terrible terrible customer service. I asked to speak with a manager and of course they were not available so I left a message and never received a call back. TERRIBLE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

W. Booker from Houston on October 25th, 2012



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

47 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Lied about early termination fee
At sign up they said if I moved to an area that they did not service I would not owe a early termination fee. I moved to silsbee tx and they do not service this area...they sent my account to collections and are harrassing me. I paid my last bill less early termination fee and they told me they were investigating and it would take 30 to 45 days yet I'm in collections after 2 weeks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jack Mckenzie from Freeport, TX on January 3rd, 2022
Hi Jack. Thank you for your rating us. Our apologies for any misunderstanding regarding the early termination fee. A member of our team will be contacting you soon to resolve this for you.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Lowest ethical standard
This company fails in every aspect of review. I wish there is a negative star. CEO of the company should really spend time on the customer review and revive this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keyur from Sugar Land, TX on December 7th, 2021
Hi Keyur. We thank you for your rating us. We have forwarded your information, a member of our team will be contacting you soon too, assist with resolving this for you.

Sincerely,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Worst Company I have ever dealt with
I shop around for cheaper rates and have had many Service Providers. This is by far the Worst company I have ever dealt with!!! Creating a Log in was not pleasant and logging on for the first time was a nightmare. Customer Service is nonexistent. Even emailing them for a simple question will not get you an answer. You will get an automated response informing you to call them (and be placed on hold for 30 min). Followed by 4 to 10 returned emails from them, from people I didnt even email, their email system has some kind of bug.
The initial rate for me was 8 cents but jumped to an incredible 14 cents after the 3 month contract ended, with a horrible 12 cents to renew.
I no longer have them and am still waiting for them to return my deposit.
My experience with them was so bad that I would never renew even at a 5 cent rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Will Vance from Pasadena, TX on August 24th, 2021
Hi Will. Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience when needing to renew your plan. Please rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We are currently reviewing your account, a member of our team will be in touch soon. Thank you.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Lily, Social Media Advisor <br /><br />
— Tara Energy
Liars, thieves, and fradulant. Beware. Choose anyone else please!!
With out permission Tara energy switched my service. My electricity company caught it and it was switched back the same day!! I called Tara energy and the man said we get away with this all the time. They have now lied to me, transition, Equifax and better business bureau. They put 200.00 on my credit bureaus. It did not effect me one bit and is laughable. Just don't want this to happen to any one else
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pamela Lara from Sweeny, TX on July 22nd, 2021
Hi Pamela Lara. Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience. We are working on resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We are currently reviewing your account, a member of our team will be in touch soon.

Many Thanks,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

— Tara Energy
Turn off service on Weekends
My name Nghis Tran 65 years old. Call Tara disconnect service on Monday 07/19/2021. But company disconnected on Saturday and Sunday. No confirmation. Bad bad service, I never recommend this company. I will complain to PUC .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nghis Thi Tran from Houston, TX on July 18th, 2021
Hello Nghis. Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We are sorry to hear about your concerns and the service you have received. Please accept our apologies we are currently review your account one our agents will be contacting you soon to have this issue resolved as quickly as possible.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

— Tara Energy
False info to get costumers
They offered to take care of changing provider fee , and that everything will me automatic, but that fee was never covered with my other company. So it is a charged pa Im not a customer anymore and they won't take care of that fee because I'm not a current costumer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jose G from Houston, TX on April 2nd, 2021
Hi Jose. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and allowing us the opportunity to investigate this issue to get a resolution for you. We apologized for any frustration caused.

Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Fraud Company
This company is fraud company. My bill was low in the beginning during the peak summer and not in the winter it has gone double. Last week, I turned off my all power for a week and still bill gone up.

Complete fraud company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keyur from Sugar Land, TX on January 20th, 2021
Hi Keyur. Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to contact us. It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. Please do not hesitate to call us at 1-866-587-8674. We will be more than happy to investigate this for you and resolve your issue.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor



— Tara Energy
Customers beware!!
NOT WORTH EVEN ONE STAR. Same company as JUST ENERGY!!!!

Customers beware. Start cheap but will go up. They promise rewards and discounts for being a customer for years and dont deliver.

They Send your account to their collections after paying in full, don't ever send a bill, and then dont answer the phone, after many calls.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customers Beware from Mcallen, TX on January 13th, 2021
Hi, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We'll look into this for you as quickly as we can. Please call us at 1-866-474-1433 for clarification on the bill.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

— Tara Energy
Something has changed
I've been a customer with Tara Energy for almost 10 years that says that they have been providing great service but something has changed the service I got today was absolutely terrible. They wanted to make sure that I gave a bad review for them they told me one thing and I did what they asked but they did not hold up to their end of the bargain when I call back holding for 30 minutes each time I was hung up on and I know it was intentional because they verified my telephone number to call me back if the call was disconnected I did not get a call back. I don't know what has happened with this company but this type of service is unacceptable. They expect me to honor my word as a customer and I expect them to do the same as a company. I just signed a new contract and I am feeling very uneasy about it. I don't trust them anymore. I need recommendations for a good reliable electricity company in Dallas Texas
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DKing from Dallas, TX on September 22nd, 2020
Hi DKing , we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We apologize sincerely for the wait time you experienced. Please send us a message with your account details, including your name and phone number. We can then resolve your issue as soon as possible.
Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy
Stupid customer service
They will never take care of you. The service is good but customer service is wack.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nfn Md Hasanuz Zaman from Houston, TX on February 7th, 2020
Hi Nfn,

We're happy to hear you're satisifed with our service, however we're saddend to hear your customer service needs have not been met as we do strive to provide the best customer service possible. At your earliest convenience please call us 1-866-474-1344, so we can make sure your concerns are reported.


Thank you,
Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
— Tara Energy