Pogo Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Pogo Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Pogo Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Pogo Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Pogo Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Pogo Energy

2.0 / 5

Pogo Energy Reviews

33 Reviews for Pogo Energy

33

total reviews

Compare to Pogo Energy Electricity Rates

Recent Good Review from David Burpo

Overall Rating
David Burpo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great customer service over the phone Jose I believe was his name in the company has had good rates and treated me fairly every since the duration of my account. I recommend you!

David Burpo from Denison, TX on May 19th, 2021
This warms our heart, we love hearing that our agents have consistently provided stellar customer service. Thank you for being a loyal Pogo customer!!
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Pogo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It's great company

Pogo from Corpus Christi, TX on November 23rd, 2019
Thank you for your AMAZING review - We love our loyal Pogo customers :)
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Perfect
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Awesome

Perfect from Athens, TX on March 5th, 2019
Overall Rating
Great Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pogo is the choice i chosen for my electricity company. I love that they update you and you habe easy access to add money to your account... Pogo just make paying bills alot more easier


Lynika George from Houston, TX on January 30th, 2019
Overall Rating
Kendrea Blanchard
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I love Pogo!!!

Kendrea Blanchard from Fort Worth, TX on January 24th, 2019
Overall Rating
Pogo energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Best easy and go electricity. Conveniently pay as you go. Great way to save

Lsandles from Houston, TX on January 21st, 2019
Overall Rating
Awesome
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great love it

Pogo Rocks from Killeen, TX on January 19th, 2019
Overall Rating
The encredible pogo energy service!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My experience with pogo energy is AWESOME!!!!

Pogo Energy from Victoria, TX on January 18th, 2019
Overall Rating
Great and affordable
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

You can put money down as much as you want

Deborah from Temple, TX on January 17th, 2019
Overall Rating
Loving this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had nothing but a excellent experience rates communication skills customer service every aspect you guys cover with excellence im never leaving

Darius Herndon from Dallas, TX on January 17th, 2019
Overall Rating
Great electric prepaid co. Changing new texting does not work go back to old
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with pogo a year loved it an still do except for their new customer service. When I first signed up I could go into my account pay my bill or get a barcode instantly an pay. Now they have changed the way I get a text an I can't directly go into my acct. I have tried to get barcode an they never come up on my phone. I have called them several times an it's a big problem getting thru but when I do I try to explain this new way don't work I hate it. They used to make it easy to pay or chat now chat u still can't get anyone all I get is sorry can't help u with that. So I'm hoping that they go back to correct way of contacting an paying bills.


Other than that I love pogo bills are cheapest just can't pay bill any way but calling them an being put on hold forever. I would recommend them highly if they weren't changing the service

Roberta from Tyler, TX on August 20th, 2020
Thank you so much for your great review. It sadness us to hear that you are struggling with recharging your account. We realize that we have been implementing some changes, however theses changes are intended to make your experience easier and MORE user friendly - We value your feedback and will definitely take a look into this further. Thank you for being a loyal Pogo customer - We sure do love you all!
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Pogo Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nice to find a Green energy electricity company.

SAY from Houston, TX on August 22nd, 2019
Thank you so much for your great review :)
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Refund
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had to cancel my order after one day which left a balance of 83.00 dollars haven't receive my refund it's been over ten days, I have spoken to 4 different agents and a supervisor. I was told my money would be posted within 24 to 48hrs still no money again the run around. I called again today what a coincidence the manager and supervisor can't talk. They have on there website refund in 10 days obviously that's a lie and the folks I been talking to are liers too. Could someone tell me who I can talk to to get my money they had no problem taking it. This has been a awful experience and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Alicia from Arlington, TX on July 16th, 2020
YIKES! This isn't the Pogo experience we had hoped for you. We hate to hear that your refund wasn't processes as quickly as expected. We were in the middle of a system change and we all understand the PAINS that a system conversion can create. We are however glad to see that your full refund was issued.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Just pay the deposit for a real electric company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This prepaid electric company is a rip off. You basically pay for your electricity twice. Pogo charge a fee for their service then charge you again for the actual electricity you use. In the end you will pay way more. I don't know how they have all these positive reviews but they have to be fake.

Natasha from Lancaster, TX on November 7th, 2019
Overall Rating
A Price Gauging Scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was so grateful for the chance to receive electricity with poor credit. Your customer care team is FANTASTIC! So kind-hearted and welll-informed. I am in the process of rebuilding, and it began great.. w/ just a $20 deposit I was off and enjoying the rates. BUT then out of NOWHERE the price went up and up and up and up.. it is just myself and my 6 yr old. We live very modestly... No television, no electronics .. except charging his tablet.. I didnt even wash clothes as the price climbed with each daily text. We stayed in the dark as the price climbed each day.. and just the refrigerator plugged in for food. WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!



THANK GOD a family member blessed us with a deposit for Direct Energy. Direct Energy offered a special deposit price and I RAN FROM YOUR SERVICES as quickly as I could. My heartbreaks for people unable to get from under your web of price gauging. I am sure in the next few years the government will eventually shut down operations like yours.

May God have mercy on your company owners that take advantage of people in difficult financial situations using a service like electricity as bait.

Elle Brown from Katy, TX on March 15th, 2019
Overall Rating
I dont leave reviews SO ITS BAD
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I paid this company and my balance is paid. Yet my lights have been off since 7:00pm it is now 11:17pm. My account didn't even reach the negatives so I have no idea why it's off. My kids have school in the morning and this is very inconvenient, I cant even get them ready for bed. We are on the porch as I type this. NEVER AGAIN. I cant wait to leave this company

Warning!!! from Houston, TX on September 15th, 2022
We hate to hear that your Pogo experience has been less than exceptional. We take all customer feedback very seriously and we have investigated your concerns. Pogo did not request a disconnect on 09/15/2022. Our system shows that you were reconnected on 09/14/2022 and that power was restored per your TDU, CenterPoint. If you would like to discuss further please reach out to us directly so that we may better assist you. Pogo Energy serves thousands of customers in Texas, and we pride ourselves on honoring our commitment to 100% satisfaction. Were changing the way Texans get their electricity, and that starts by doing right by our customers.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Scam Artists
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do not do it. False advertisement and ridiculous rates. I was happy with the service for the first few weeks. After that everything went down hill. You will definitely experience bill shock and they will start to charge you extreme daily rates after the first few weeks. I live in a 630 SQ ft one bedroom apartment alone. I leave for work at 230pm and don't get off until around 3 or 330 the next morning 6 days a week. From 4 until about 1 I am asleep. I rarely use the lights and the only light I leave on is the one above the stove. It has been this way for a year know. And I have had this company since I first moved here. They got me for over 460 dollars in July. They were charging me 20 dollars a day. And a few days it was almost 25. There have been a few times where I have put down 100 on the account. To have them send me a text message 3 or 4 days later threatening me with disconnection at 11am claiming my balance was in the negative and that I needed to recharge my account. I didn't always have the money to give to them especially, depending on what time of the month It was and what other bills were do. They have managed to disconnect my lights at least 4 times. And they will suck you into these DPPs . Which allows them to place a switch hold on your account. The DPP takes 20 percent of whatever you put down. And there have been several complaints made on the BBB website that said Pogo would not allow those who were trying to pay the DPP in full all at once so that they could have the switch hold removed and switch from these scam artists to another company to do so. They gave them an extremely hard time.

Pissed from Fort Worth, TX on August 8th, 2022
We take our customer feedback very seriously and would love the opportunity to review your account and discuss any concerns you may have regarding your usage. Unfortunately with no account info provided we ask that you reach out to us directly via Chat, SMS or Phone so that we can better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Price gouging and bloated customer service structure
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Started with Pogo over a year ago. Was great at first, low deposit and rates, but slowly over time, my rates have increased to the point where I am paying nearly $20 a day! Literally every time I try to get in contact with someone, I am put on hold for 30+ minutes! As soon as I pay the dpp back, I am switching.

Joseph Shaner from Frost, TX on August 4th, 2022
We strive to keep your energy rate as low as possible. If your rate changes, we will let you know through your preferred notification method. When the Texas energy market supply costs increase, this drives higher cost to deliver electricity to our customers. Rest assured that when costs decrease, we will pass these savings along to our customers. We are sad to see you go and hope that you will consider Pogo again in the future.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Scam! This company steals money by double charging your bank and has horrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Would give 0 stars if I could!! I would NOT recommend this company because of their horrible customer service and because they steal money from your bank account and claim they never received it. I was double charged for 2 $40 charges on my bank account on May 25th, 2022 on the same day resulting in $80 being withdrawn from my bank account. When I called Pogo they said they only received 1 $40 charge and that I would need to dispute it with my bank to get the other $40 back. I followed their advice and disputed the charge. When I disputed the charge with my bank, my bank found my claim was valid and reimbursed me the $40 charge. I thought all was well and the situation was over but I was wrong.



I am signed up for daily text alerts with Pogo that tell me how much credit I have available on my account. On June 21, 2022 I received a text at 8:39am saying I had $58.63 credit available on my account. Pogo notified me via text at 2:26pm that they charged the $40 that I was reimbursed from my bank back on my service account and charged me an additional $35 chargeback fee resulting in a -$16.37 balance and turned my electricity off immediately. At no point did anyone call, I was only notified via text and by then my power was already off. They also restricted me from adding any funds to my account. When I called them to get more information they told me there was nothing they could do. I asked to then talk to a manger and I have yet to receive a call from the manager. I called the next day to speak with a manger again and I still never received a call back. The last representative I spoke to even hung up in my face. I have bank statements from my bank and dispute letters proving that my claims were valid and that I was charged twice and that Pogo received $80 from me, but they refused to look at my statements. I explained that I have 2 young children and pets that I need to have electricity for but they did not care. I lost all of the food in my refrigerator/freezer and had to pay hotel costs because of this issue. I never received my money back or a call from a manager. I switched my electricity account to TXU the next day and was immediately able to get my power back the same day I switched the service. I never want this nightmare to happen to anyone else so PLEASE DO NOT EVER USE THIS COMPANY and stick with the larger companies that have better customer service and storefront access so you can talk to someone face to face. I will be submitting this to the BBB along with statements from my bank! My bank has given me their full support in this issue and is aware of what this company did to me.

Neicy from Rowlett, TX on June 22nd, 2022
We have reviewed your account and are disappointed to find that we failed in our handling of the duplicate charge of $40.00. We sincerely apologize and assure you we are taking the necessary actions to fix whats broken so this doesnt happen again. Our top priority at Pogo is to provide outstanding customer service and its disheartening to see that we failed to meet those standards. A Pogo manager will be reaching out to you directly to discuss money owed to you. We are determined to do everything in our power to make things right for you. Pogo Energy serves thousands of customers in Texas, and we pride ourselves on honoring our commitment to 100% satisfaction. Were changing the way Texans get their electricity, and that starts by doing right by our customers.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Pogo will put you in poverty.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I live in a small tiny trailer and I am paying 12 to $14 in electric a day. It is absolutely ridiculous and in the next week I will no longer be using this trashy company that has literally taken food out of my dog's mouth. It has literally left me into poverty where I've had to go beg and borrow from my family in order so I don't freeze during the winter. It is affected me deeply by using the scam artists. You shouldn't have to feel like you're going to be cold the following day because you can't afford to pay $13 a day for electricity. I can't wait to get rid of this tragedy on my life.

Lisa Dawn from Mineral Wells, TX on January 24th, 2022
Pogo had hoped that you would have provided valid account information and that we would have been given the opportunity to investigate your account and address your concerns. We realize however that Pre Paid isn't for everybody and we hope that you find what best fits your needs.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Scammers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I put 80 dollars one week I got paid within 3 days my balance was 39 dollars I get paid every 2weeks I called theyre telling me I used so much Dpp or whatever Im like what I wasnt even home for the weekend so I put 50 more dollars Im currently at work an an they sent a text saying my service will be getting cut off @11am if I dont recharge an its 1/20/22 I dont get paid until 1/21/22 so f them Im going bk to just energy these ppl /company is a complete rip off I spent $130.00 dollars in 2 weeks this is un heard of complete rip off

Marsha from Humble, TX on January 20th, 2022
Pogo's not that company!! We realize that the colder weather definitely affects our energy usage...Don't we all love mother nature? We take your feedback seriously therefore we took the opportunity to review your account and investigate your usage. We noticed that our records do not match the statements provided within the review and one of our awesome Pogo Agents will be reaching out to you directly to discuss further and also provide you with some great Energy Saving Tips and Tricks to help out your pocketbook this winter. We look forward to working with you, talk to you soon.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
This company is a scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I think its funny that they pride themselves on having no billshock (BS) but its a daily shock to see that I'm being charged $20 dollars a day for a 3 bed house. I've called pogo dispaying my concern of this incredibly expensive charging and i get different answers over and over again to the point that i don't believe anything that comes from pogo. First i was told it was my meter giving these numbers, (my meter is less than 2 years old it was replaced 3 months into having pogo energy) next it was oncor that was charging us more than usual (which was a complete lie after talking to oncor who says they charge 25-30% of electricity used, but im being charged 100% by pogo) next was simply being told to not use so much next time. (Totally rude.) I've unfortunately had this company for 2 years now and I'm stuck with them for who knows how much longer. Using a dpp is just a secure way of pogo keeping you as a customer longer. The customer service is a joke, constantly being over talked to or hung up, lied to multiple times over what exactly im being charged for. They can get away with it by "showing" you exactly what they are charging you but its complete gibberish. DAB charges, Taxes are widely charged between $2-$14, which is also another confusing factor, with everything else in the world taxes are a fix rate, NOT POGO. They carefully charged you DAB charges throught out the month and you have no idea what your DAB balance is.(seems to me that its just another ploy to get more money from you) I would also like to say that the amount of times I see money being placed in my account and taken out is VERY CONCERNING, four days ago $23 was placed in my account then immediately taken out. (Wasn't me) next was a DAB adjustment (charge) for -$173 then given back. They play with numbers on your account making it even more head scratching to navigate their page. If anyone is reading this i beg you DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! The way they advertise is very compelling thinking this is the best way to go, ITS NOT. Their are other companies that don't need a credit check or deposit I suggest anyone else. You wallet with thank you immediately.

Airdale Clay from Belton, TX on October 15th, 2021
We are disappointed to hear that your experience has been less than excellent as we strive to provide the best customer service possible. Pogo has escalated your account to our dedicated Solutions team where it is actively being investigated and addressed. We have also tried reaching out to you directly via phone to go over any questions and/or concerns that you may have but unfortunately we have been unable to reach you. Please feel free to reach out to us at your earliest convenience as we would love the opportunity to figure this out together. We look forward to hearing from you as all customer feedback is valuable and your Pogo experience is our greatest priority!
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
This company sucks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This is by far the worst company I have ever dealt with! Advertising makes it sound good but its definitely not! What they do is make hard working people that actually need help with affordable electricity dig themselves a deeper hole! They need to change how they operate or completely shut it down!

Damieanna Moore from Irving, TX on September 17th, 2021
We hate to hear that you are not completely satisfied with your Pogo experience. We work hard to make things as easy as possible for all of our Pogo customers. We appreciate your feedback and would love to discuss this with you. Please reach out to us directly and lets work through this together. We look forward to hearing from you!
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Dont deserve one star
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Let this serve as notice as a former pogo customer> they are scammers and prey on the citizens of Harris county. The usage and charge up history is not and true reflective of the service provider. Transparency to the customer is not their and they will retaliate by turning off your lights and not explaining in truth what the charges are. On the main dash board it is not reflective of a true dpp charge or service balance in one month I paid 400 dollars when my history has been 150 for the longest in my experience a very vindictive company and e customer service is horrible! Please stay with solid light companys who care about customer experience.

Wont Happenagain from Houston, TX on August 30th, 2021
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your Pogo experience. Yes, Pogo sends you your daily usage update. However your TDU reads your meter and sends them to Pogo, then we send them to you. Were just the messenger. Did you know that your TDU is required to maintain 99.9% accuracy with meter reads? We would be more than happy to review your account and discuss any concerns you may have. Please reach out to us directly, we look forward to hearing from you.
— Pogo Energy
Overall Rating
Poor Electric Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I GOT A MESSAGE OF DISCONNECTION AFTER MY LIGHTS GOT DISCONNECTED.

Sandra from Dallas, TX on August 25th, 2021
We hate to hear that you are not completely satisfied with your recent Pogo experience. We have reviewed your account and all messaging sent prior to disconnect and we have been trying to reach you. Please reach out to us directly so we can look at this together, we look forward to hearing from you.
— Pogo Energy