XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for XOOM Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our XOOM Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

XOOM Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

XOOM Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for XOOM Energy

2.5 / 5

XOOM Energy Reviews

47 Reviews for XOOM Energy

47

total reviews

Want to order XOOM Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for XOOM Energy?

Is XOOM Energy good?

XOOM Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 1.6/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 0.00¢/kWh!

Is XOOM Energy expensive?

XOOM Energy has energy plans starting as low as 0.00¢/kWh with their SureLock 24. The average XOOM Energy plan rate is 0.00¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 0.00¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

XOOM Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and XOOM Energy:

TXU XOOM Energy
Plan Count 6 0
Average Rate 21.78¢/kWh 0.00¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
-
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 18.50¢/kWh.
RescueLock 12
from 0.00¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 19.50¢/kWh.
SureLock 24
from 0.00¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

XOOM Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and XOOM Energy:

Reliant XOOM Energy
Plan Count 4 0
Average Rate 24.05¢/kWh 0.00¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
-
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Conservation 12 plan
from 24.50¢/kWh.
RescueLock 12
from 0.00¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 23.10¢/kWh.
SureLock 24
from 0.00¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does XOOM Energy take reviews seriously?

XOOM Energy has an average user review of 1.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for XOOM Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running XOOM Energy customer review communities around. With 47 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a XOOM Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our XOOM Energy Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from Sad situation

Overall Rating
STRESS FREE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have over 15 accounts as a family for the past 3 years now. I like how simple it is to get service with xoom & how easy it is to get a hold of customer service for whatever reason, unlike other companies. OVERALL my bills are decent & there is NO hidden FEES. Pay attention to your BILL! Sometimes going the "CHEAP" route becomes an EXPENSIVE route in the long term.

XOOM from Houston, TX on March 3rd, 2021
Overall Rating
Been a happy and satisfied customer of XOOM Energy since 2015
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been happy and satisfied with the overall service and customer service interaction with Xoom Energy in Texas since being referred to them in 2015. I've continued to recommend them to my family and to several home buyer clients.

Robin from Frisco, TX on May 19th, 2020
Overall Rating
Saticfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have been with Xoom Energy for about 4 years and have had no issues we have had great customer service no problems with the billing .Our bills have been between $115 and $200 . I would recomend Xoom energy .

Serena from Troy, TX on June 3rd, 2019
Overall Rating
Happy Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive been with Xoom for 5 years now and havent had any issues at all. My bill has always been what I expected it to be and the customer service is great for the most part. They arent perfect but compared to the other companies Ive used theyve been the best.

Julie from Dallas, TX on January 25th, 2021
Overall Rating
Xoom is great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with Xoom almost a year and have had zero issues with them. And the rates are excellent.

Ed from Webster, TX on March 25th, 2019
Overall Rating
Have really enjoyed saving money
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company has made it easy to get electric, have had wonderful customer service experience's and have never in my life paid such a low electric bill!! There are also a lot of rewards, and xtra's you can get just by being a Xoom customer that have also either saved me money or have earned me cash rewards. I get to use 50% solar, and have the lowest fixed rate plan in this entire area. No surprises here, just one happy customer.

Do Your Own Research, I Am Happy With Xoom from Sulphur Springs, TX on August 2nd, 2017
Overall Rating
Not bad
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was with this provider for more than a year. No problems with them. Everything went smoothly.

Ex-Houston Resident from Houston, TX on February 11th, 2017
Overall Rating
Unfortunate Problem
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive been a customer with Xoom for 3 years. Unfortunately I have to say that on my last move and switch over my lights were disconnected after 2 weeks only to find out that my lights were not switched over properly and no one could solve my issue and Im without lights for 24 to 48 hours after being on the phone for almost 2 hours of unanswered questions. This sucks for a loyal customer of 3 years of service. I was told that I had to wait on a release order because of the tenants before me witch should have happened at the time of my switch. There goes my food and its cold.

Sad Situation from Houston, TX on February 25th, 2022
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I understand people have to pay bills even during hardships but good luck trying to work anything out with this horrible company! We are in the middle of dealing with a pandemic and layoffs, so I called to get a payment arrangement on my bill. They offered me nothing! Just an extra week to pay the whole bill or get disconnected. Then when I review the bill there is over $100 in EXTRA fees. $10 twice for a disconnect notice but I only received one. Late charges twice. No slack at all for things we have no control over. Hell even dropping the $100 in extra stuff would make it easier to pay the bill considering I have paid my bill for over 18 months and am in good standing with the company. My bill steadily increases from $280 to $480 every month but I was duped into signing a 24 month contract "for a better rate"! Horrible company with no care for their customers. Definitely would not recommend. Not even a pandemic will stop them from getting their money on time.

Christy from Corpus Christi, TX on August 21st, 2020
Overall Rating
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had an issue with my electricity. The costumer service rep gave wrong information that cause bigger issue for me. Tried to speak with supervisor and they didn't even bother to take my call. Matter of fact they refuse to take my call. HORRIBLE experience. I would NOT. Recommend this company

Kenia from Houston, TX on July 23rd, 2019
Overall Rating
Horrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I ordered service online and got confirmation that the service will start on the 5th, today is the 9th still no lights. I am getting work done and have hired contractors they go everyday and I am loosing money everyday. I called today and was told they have a system glitch, so why wasn't I informed some kind of communication would have gone a long way. I could have safe money by not sending the contractors out everyday since he 5th. I asked if they can put a rush on it and was told unless I can approve someone will die then no. Worst service ever. I would suggest you directly to a big company.

Sage from Dallas, TX on April 9th, 2018
Overall Rating
BAD FRAUDULENT COMPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xoom is opening accounts without validation. Just received a collection account charge under my identity opened by Xoom. How does this happen nowadays?! Called the number for the agency, have to wait 30 days. Forget this, I called Xoom directly. Couldn't find my information, the employee was in Mexico call-center and wouldn't transfer me to the U.S. RIDICULOUS Eventually, employee gave me a number to call in Texas. Called the TX office and employee had to manually locate my information. She said I had to talk to billingdept. I was transferred and was placed on hold for 10 minutes and eventually the recording stated no one is available to take my call and disconnected me! THIS COMPANY IS A SHAM, STAY AWAY!!! I will call tomorrow and try again.

Elliot from Pharr, TX on April 28th, 2022
Overall Rating
Run away from this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was on average billing plan , still my bill was going up, then when I left them they send me $679.27 adjustment bill on to of my final bill. Its a rip of

A Omar from Euless, TX on April 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
Stay away
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very bad experience with this company. Overpriced. Unless you enjoy throwing money away, stay away from this company. Had numerous months where I was gone half the month for work and my bill still exceeded 200$! Mind you I am frugal when it comes to bills.

Stay Away from North Richland Hills, TX on March 11th, 2022
Overall Rating
Worst Customer Service & Data System
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've used Xoom for 3 years, and it started to go bad when they got larger 2 years ago. When they started doing Xoom Texas (separate by states), customer service became horrible and information is always lost. I have been charged 2x Kwph for MONTHS because they lost my renewal contract and was fighting with me that I never renewed. Luckily I keep data of my own so I told customer service to play me a recording of the call (date, time, service rep info given) and they said no. Eventually the rep hangs up on ne after 45 mins of waiting.


I call back and get a manager on the phone after another hour or waiting. Finally they said I cant hear the original phone call of my contract renewal but Instead they would need to review it and if anything i can get a transcript of the conversation after review. I said that's fine but I would like to cancel my service after this year's contract is over.

I waited another week to finally get a call back, saying I was right and they were going to refund me for all of it if I would not cancel with them. Now here's where it gets worse. They attempt to refund me partial then I showed calculations on how it was incorrectly refunded, and last thing i hear is they were investigating. Oh and they tried to blame center-point for hundreds of dollars i was missing on refund. Now after i emailed for confirmation on my cancellation of contract after this year is over, no response at all.

Just go with Reliant, safe and reliable. They do not have rude customer service and are happy to assist loyal customers especially to who have been with them for years. I regret leaving them to help a local friend get a sales quota met....

Ye Ahn from Houston, TX on November 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Worst Provider Ever
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The website to pay online is down 99% of the time, you ALWAYS have to reset your password and that's on a good day if they even recognize your account. Paying my bill is a nightmare. Customer service is non-existent. I should have never changed providers. THEY ARE THE WORST ALL AROUND.

Nightmare To Pay Your Bill from Houston, TX on September 16th, 2021
Overall Rating
Horrible Website. Constantly "Broken"
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Really amateur website, constantly unable to respond.

Lori from Waco, TX on July 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Diastrous!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

You will be duped into signing up with low wattage rates, BEWARE!!! That will be temporary! In a few months, BAM!!! Your light bill will shock you beyond belief. I have 1 month left in my contract and I will be running for my life. If your are looking for a new provider, keep looking. Do not sign up, don't even think about it! Just RUN...

Horrific Light Bill! from Missouri City, TX on January 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Dissatisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xoom Energy double charged me two months in a row n basically blamed me for the outdated website that they have. I had to wait 10 business days to get a refund, never had a late payment n when I called got worst customer service ever...Do not sign up with them the only way they make money is to take money out of ur acct when ur bill has already been paid. They dont give a dayum bout their customers. I switched providers to get better service n tried to get them to waive the $150 cancellation fee but of course they said no because I switched providers but why would I continue to stay with an electric company that steals from me. 2 unauthorized charges got a check sent out for the one in Nov 2020 n waiting on my refund for double payment for Dec 2020 of course it has to be a check, theyre prolly stealing from someone else to pay me....AGAIN...DO NOT USE their service....

Dissatisfied Customer from Houston, TX on January 5th, 2021
Overall Rating
NEVER use this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I found out in June that xoom had processing error with my automatic payments. it added up to 6 months payments while i was getting email confirmations that payments processed. my total eventually added up to over $2200 once i finally get a cancellation bill in the mail. I told the company i understand i owe the money and i'd make a payment plan, the company forced me to pay 50% even though it wasnt my issue it wasnt processed, and also put a lock on my account from transferring to another electricity company. after i paid the 50% they put the remaining balance into 6 installments. today (10/20) I called the company which had another system error that showed my balance to be a $1234 credit. If i didnt call to clear this up, it would have gone towards my bill and eventually it would have added up to me owing another significant amount of money. Im extremely frustrated and wanted to report the less than par business practices. after I cleared up my balance to my "real" balance i paid off the remainder and changed to a different company. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED i had to do all of this just to pay my electricity bill. I also reported this to BBB and posting it everywhere I can.

Spencer from Houston, TX on October 20th, 2020
Overall Rating
Stay Away!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

From one month to the next my bill doubled. Sorry....nothing we can do. I have been with them for years and obviously something was read wrong. All the summer months are comparable to last year until now and nobody seems to think that is a problem. I was told to call someone else but I pay them so why should I. Not going to stick around anymore. Another lost customer.

Dont Do It from Mansfield, TX on August 11th, 2020

Compare XOOM Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Smart Budget 36
17.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Super Value 24
11.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Plus 12
12.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Super Value 12
13.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Budget 24
17.2¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Budget 12
18.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Max 12
21.4¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Max 24
20.9¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
24.2¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Conservation 24 plan
24.5¢
$5.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Conservation 12 plan
24.9¢
$5.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
25.2¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability