Hello Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Hello Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Hello Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Hello Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Hello Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Hello Energy

2.1 / 5

Hello Energy Reviews

32 Reviews for Hello Energy

32

total reviews

Want to order Hello Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Hello Energy?

Is Hello Energy good?

Hello Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 3.3/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 15.8¢/kWh!

Is Hello Energy expensive?

Hello Energy has energy plans starting as low as 15.1¢/kWh with their Free Weekends. The average Hello Energy plan rate is 19.91¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.54¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



Hello Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Hello Energy:

TXU Hello Energy
Plan Count 8 2
Average Rate 18.01¢/kWh 17.90¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $0.00
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Pre-paid
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 14.50¢/kWh.
-
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 15.50¢/kWh.
-
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Hello Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Hello Energy:

Reliant Hello Energy
Plan Count 4 2
Average Rate 16.80¢/kWh 17.90¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Pre-paid
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 17.10¢/kWh.
-
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 16.10¢/kWh.
-
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Hello Energy take reviews seriously?

Hello Energy has an average user review of 3.3 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Hello Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Hello Energy customer review communities around. With 32 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Hello Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Hello Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Ron Camden

Overall Rating
Helpful and local
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had questions regarding my wifes account , they walked me through my daily usage , how to open the App and more info on our prepaid plan. Thanks

Ron Camden from Houston, TX on June 1st, 2022
Overall Rating
Excellent service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great customer service

Cristina from Houston, TX on December 1st, 2021
Overall Rating
Gary Garcilazo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very happy

Gary Garcilazo from Killeen, TX on April 19th, 2020
Overall Rating
Aweaome
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I love how I finally got good service.

Dayana from Fort Worth, TX on March 27th, 2020
Overall Rating
Great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was struggling trying to fine good electricity. Hello energy was the on e great service love their great deals and love their service. I'm happy with my prepaid service.

Awesome Electricity from Fort Worth, TX on March 7th, 2020
Overall Rating
Great company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I really enjoyed service with them great customer service cheap bill they also sent me check in mail with money i didn't use

Tamika Bailey from Houston, TX on December 13th, 2019
Overall Rating
I am in control of what I pay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I made the switch from Green Mountain Energy to Hello Energy and it has been a great experience!! I use the pre paid option. It is so much cheaper and I am in control of what I pay. I am able to manage my usage and I get daily notifications. Each pay day, I add money to my account and I never have to worry about an upcoming due date, or late fees when I happen to pay past a due date.

Jade Rey from Friendswood, TX on August 29th, 2019
Overall Rating
Excelente
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been a costumer for a while so far is been great

Efran Gomez from Houston, TX on May 3rd, 2019
Overall Rating
Great Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Im writing to express my gratitude to Hello Energy , I understand that with prepaid service you must always have a credit on the account however last week I had no budgeted well and my service was to be disconnected , I spoke with a you lady who helped me out by explaining we could set up a quick payment arrangement in order for me to catch up , I have never had a prepaid company do this. I have paid my arrangement and continue to be a faithful customer. Awesome customer service since day 1 however my interaction last week made me take time to provide a review. If management reads this keep the great work great policies and awesome agents

Great Customer Service. from Houston, TX on October 29th, 2018
Overall Rating
Love it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I really do like this electricity company great having free nights but I really don't like the fact about the $10 thing where when you go a few cents or $0. 50 or whatever over they will cut you off that's my $10 that I paid understand if it goes below the 10 but sometimes the struggle is real

Brittany Voss from Troup, TX on October 9th, 2018
Overall Rating
Very Pleased!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We had a severe winter storm come through yesterday and everyone power was out that I know however mines was on. I was very pleased.

KD from Richmond, TX on February 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
I love hello energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've used hello energy in an apartment and then in my house when I moved. Absolutely love them.

Kelsey from Waco, TX on January 15th, 2020
Overall Rating
Hello lower energy bills
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We've used another prepaid service , TXU as well as Reliant .


TXU and Reliant both ran double if not more than I'm paying with HELLO .
Thank you for the great service .
My only complaint would be the 10.00 threshold that is our money ,yet doesn't show in our funds .

Nacho from Arlington, TX on October 23rd, 2019
Overall Rating
Great electric company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Signing up was super easy. I love knowing how much electricity I am using daily. I also love that I add money to the account instead of a surprise bill each month.

Jenn from Tomball, TX on August 17th, 2019
Overall Rating
Good company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good company, customer service is really good.

Liz from Crowley, TX on September 10th, 2018
Overall Rating
So far I like !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had their service for about 2 months now and I can't complain. It is easily managed and you are notified daily about account balances and updates. I've dealt with customer service once and they were quick and answered all my questions and provided tips.

Indya from Dallas, TX on October 10th, 2017
Overall Rating
Good company watch your bill though
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Just keep an eye on their rates and the rates from power to choose because they don't match up and they'll try to tell you that it takes a couple days to update just call them and tell them that they're wrong

Uwishunu from Waco, TX on June 15th, 2018
Overall Rating
My service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Way too expensive

S.l.g. from Caddo Mills, TX on June 5th, 2018
Overall Rating
Hidden Fees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was extremely excited about using hello energy because they didn't require a deposit. I was nervous about prepay, however they send you a daily email about your balance. I became disappointed because I began to notice that my balance didn't seem to add up to what they said they were taking out. At first it was a small amount like a penny here and a penny there. Then my bill would be 2.50 less than the amount they 'supposedly' took out and another day it was 1.00 less. After a few weeks of communication through phone and email I finally received a response stating it was taxes. I felt that if they were taxes then that should be incorporated and reflected, but it isn't anywhere. They do not give you a 'bill' of any sort, nor can you print one out to verify that the 'extra' money indeed goes to taxes. There has even been occasion where my bill would say 12.00 remaining and then the next it would say 12.50 remaining and the day after that it would say 6.79 remaining. There have even been times where no one was home yet they would claim we use $10.00 worth of energy in one day. I needed to switch providers with better practices that are easier to understand and verify.

Kynard from Round Rock, TX on January 22nd, 2018
Overall Rating
Dazed and confused
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Choice between bad and worse

Less Than Happy Citizen from Balch Springs, TX on August 10th, 2022
Overall Rating
I wasted time and money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up through a third party website without knowing. Put down more than what I was supposed to for a deposit (75$ instead the minimum I was later told) because the information was convoluted and all over the place. Then the electricity was sent to the wrong location without speaking to anybody to confirm. Then I had to wait 45 days to get my money back, by check in the mail, while each day a little bit of my balance was used up, even though no electricity was being used in the location. When the check arrived in the mail, it wasnt even in a security envelope you couldnt see through. It was quite apparent it was a check. All in all, my experience was not a good one.

Shane from Bacliff, TX on July 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Please don't get hello energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They lie and say you've used whatever amount of energy they want to. They did me like that when I spent days at my boyfriend's house, on several occasions. I can prove it and am submitting this proof to FTC!! They price goudge also ,They will nickel and dime you. They're doing a family member the same way. I've gotten at least 3 customers to file complaints with FTC,

E.Love Lancaster Tx from Lancaster, TX on February 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
This is a rip-off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I put money in this account every day almost I got an email stating I had 10 days left the next morning I wake up it stated I had two days left I had used over 192 KW in one day which I know was a lie I turn around and put more money on and I wake up today now it says I have one day left I signed up for the free weekends but I know they're taking the money out before the weekend that's where they rip you off I will never use this company again all recommended to anyone

Naomi from Huntington, TX on December 21st, 2019
Overall Rating
DO NOT GET HELLO ENERGY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I repeat DO NOT GET HELLO ENERGY!! They will scam you out of so much money! I signed up for the free nights plan at 12.5 per kw. Well all of a sudden I started realizing I was paying ALOT more for my electric and when I contacted them they told me I was paying 19 cents per kw because the plan can change at any time! No notification no offer to fix it. Just sorry it is what it is. Ive never heard of any electric companies charging .19 per kw that is a ridiculous amount! Do not get hello energy its a terrible company with terrible customer service.

Jackie from Copperas Cove, TX on October 9th, 2019
Overall Rating
HORRIBLE Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They do NOT give you honest quotes, even when over the phone! I called and spoke to a sales person and even asked, What are the hidden fees, the fine print, all of that!! I want no surprises! He reassured me there was no fine print! I was told I would pay 9.4C per KWH. I even asked if this was IT, were any other fees added to this! He reassured me, NO. Yall, my bill was just now $445!! I have NEVER, EVER paid more than $280 on my bill, EVER! Im in shock! Called and spoke to someone else who then told me that their quote didnt include the TNP fee. Im paying $13.5C per KWH.


They said I had past the 3 day window to get out of the contract, basically too bad! I will be paying the $150 cancellation fee tomorrow and will never use this company again. Im SO disappointed!!
I emailed the company with NO response!

Charity from League City, TX on September 15th, 2019
Overall Rating
Good rates, bad billing and customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I instituted a payment through my banks online bill pay website. The check was mailed and several days later it had not arrived. I called customer service after receiving a cancellation notice in the mail to find out what was going on, at that time realizing the payment had not been received. The customer service rep noted that the payment had been made and the cancellation was put on hold and recommended that I call back on Friday, several days later to see if check arrived. I called as instructed and the check had not made it, so to avoid electricity being cut off I made the payment over the phone and instructed the customer service rep that the check I had my bank send was going to be canceled. She understood but obviously did not make note. Jump to the next month's bill, the check had arrived, they deposited it and obviously it had bounced because it had been canceled. When I called to make the current months payment, they tried to charge me $25.00 for the bounced check. I told them I was not going to pay it because the check was mailed way prior to the due date and when it finally hit their system, after the payment had been made by card over the phone, they still applied it to the account after being informed the check was going to be canceled. I requested to speak with a manager, he/she was not available and I had to leave a call back number for him/her to call back. Very happy with the rates but billing, customer service and their customer website are not very good! Would not recommend this company after only being with them for two months.

Dissatisfied from Fulton, TX on August 2nd, 2019
Overall Rating
Account Servive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched over to you guys for on of my weekend properties in which I am never there, I paid a deposit ti get the power turned on then never made it out there, You guys blow up my email telling me I have a 10 balance ant that you are going to discontinue service. so I give you guys $60 on my account just for you all to send me more god damned emails telling me that my balance is still at $60 dollars and I am nearing my limit and that I will be disconnected tomorrow. Well there are no lights on out there and I have no usage so how are you going to tell me every day almost that my balance is still 60 dollars and that you are going to cut me off the following day,,, iTS REtardedl,, I thk it is I that will discontinue your service

Thomas Hogan from Huffman, TX on November 30th, 2018
Overall Rating
Not Satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My experience with HELLO ENERGY SUCKED !


I looked into this electricity plan as being one tha best fit for me at the time of moving into my apartment . But I was definitely wrong ! I set up my account and serivices upon my move in date which was in August of this year and my electricity was set up . I then called weeks prior to me having the service which was a pre-paid service . I knew that I should've been receiving a bill . Meanwhile , not really understanding how prepaid lights even worked. I called Hello Energy and the customer service rep told me that I didn't have service when I called she stated that she could see where I had the service but it was discontinued due to Varification on my address basically saying that my address was wrong . That left me with about $200 in payment for electricity through my personal apartment considering that I had VACANT ELECTRICITY ! Keep in mind I was under the impression that Hello Energy would've sent a bill or at least called to confirm me that they were having address Varification problems otherwise I wouldn't have had to pay my apartment for vacant electricity. They waved the extra $100 fee for me luckily but I still had to pay a total of $185 all because " Hello Energy " was apartme to unprofessional to update me on information or even having a since of knowledge as to what I needed to do to avoid having this problem .
So would I refer Hello Energy to anybody " NO " it's considered bootleg electricity service and highly unprofessional I'd rather pay for my deposit than have prepaid unguarenteed services .
I decided to let the situation go last month and not to contact " Hello Energy "
but since I graciously received a survey message in my inbox I figured it wouldn't hurt to respond .

I.Evans from Houston, TX on October 22nd, 2018
Overall Rating
Sketchy service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I needed to add money to my account so I call the phone #provided and my call can't be completed as dialed I used the same number as always as stored in my contacts even double checked online.after many frustrating attempts with same results I tried to pay online and got a response of my email didn't match customer well its the same email I've been receiving notifications from them on.forced to give up.next day working again I spoke to someone from customer service and they were dodgy about it

Travis Snyder from Magnolia, TX on April 3rd, 2018

Compare Hello Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Tara Web - 24
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Tara Web - 12
16.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Weekends
17.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Pre-paid Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Hello Easy
22.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Pre-paid Non-Renewable
Check Availability