Reviews for Liberty Power

The best review categories for Liberty Power are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.3 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.3 stars.


Recent Good Review from Denisse mimiaga

Liberty power
I am paying only $40.00 bills every month! The amount of savings I have is amazingggg
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denisse Mimiaga from Grand Prairie, TX on April 7th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Liberty power
I am paying only $40.00 bills every month! The amount of savings I have is amazingggg
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denisse Mimiaga from Grand Prairie, TX on April 7th, 2021
Great AMERICAN Company
First off, to all on here mentioning delivery charges being increased by Liberty - Sorry that is impossible in Texas due to PUC Laws. Secondly, most of the problems I see posted here, are not on Liberty but on the Independant Agent you signed with who works most likely for a poorly run direct marketing company.

I am the President of one of the Largest Energy Brokerages in Texas and we have Liberty, TXU, Reliant, Green Mountain, Champion, Direct Energy, Suez, Star Tex and Constellation. The largest and most stable energy company's in the world. All of which follow the same PUC Laws. If I were you people, Id find a new broker, one that knows what they are doing.

Finally, how many of you even know how to read your monthly bills? Looking at the amount and writing a check doesnt constitute understanding. Be smart, use your head and there would be no need for boards like this one.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William from Dallas on March 17th, 2015
Great AMERICAN Company
First off, to all on here mentioning delivery charges being increased by Liberty - Sorry that is impossible in Texas due to PUC Laws. Secondly, most of the problems I see posted here, are not on Liberty but on the Independent Agent you signed with who works most likely for a poorly run direct marketing company.

I am the President of one of the Largest Energy Brokerages in Texas and we have Liberty, TXU, Reliant, Green Mountain, Champion, Direct Energy, Suez, Star Tex and Constellation. The largest and most stable energy company's in the world. All of which follow the same PUC Laws. If I were you people, Id find a new broker, one that knows what they are doing.

Finally, how many of you even know how to read your monthly bills? Looking at the amount and writing a check does not constitute understanding. Be smart, use your head and there would be no need for boards like this one.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William from Dallas on March 17th, 2015
Wow... Best experience yet
Just signed contract for 24 months - the experience was turn-key and price was fair.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jefferson from Houston on February 20th, 2013
Love 'em
This has been, by far, the best experience we have had with a commercial electricity supplier. They make sure you know before anything odd happens and i have the same rep contact me each time. I love their customer service and their pricing is awesome.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Richard Kinney from Lancaster on July 17th, 2012



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Majority Good Experience
We signed up with a door-to-door guy--he and his partner were very informative, personable, funny. He took lots of time and helped us look up our current provider and plan on my husband's phone. My only complaint is that he talked REALLY fast so there was lots of request for repeating--he always accommodated these requests and really wanted to be sure we understood everything.

Liberty appeared to be a better deal and so far our bills have supported this. I see other reviews about really big bills and wonder if those people were on an average billing plan before and with Liberty they are not. I did get hit with a cancellation fee from my previous company but was NEVER told that Liberty would cover that cost. I did get hit with late fees associated with being on their auto-pay feature and when I called was told that it is just an unfortunate fact that even if the lateness is caused by the banking system, they still consider it late. I take exception to that policy and will take the advice of another reviewer and just pay the bill myself, early. Customer Service, while delivering the company line, was very professional and empathetic. It wasn't his fault that the company has a stupid policy.

I have received my gift cards as promised and plenty of notification and instructions to take advantage of the rewards program--like other companies who offer such rewards programs (Credit Cards come to mind), it is a marketing/promo scheme for a variety of companies...I will use my reward dollars toward gift cards for places I already shop/eat.

I only gave a 3 star for recommending the company because I am still in my first year with Liberty so have not experienced a summer yet. Also, I am not in the habit of "recommending" utility companies to people I know. That's kind of odd to me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth from Waco, TX on March 5th, 2021
Pretty good
Nice pricing, customer service was prompt and knowledgeable. only took a few minutes to enroll
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jjordan from Plano, TX on April 24th, 2018
Lightsaction
Overall I've had a good experience with Liberty Power. We did our homework to figure in the tdsp charges when doing our rate comparison.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on August 10th, 2010



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Horrible
The reps are very unprofessional. They talk to you rudely. Dont waste your time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unsatisfied from Dallas, TX on June 12th, 2020
Complete Idiots! They will steal you blind!
Liberty Power is the most brain dead company I have ever dealt with. We constantly get late fees applied to our account for a variety of nothing to do with us reasons. We have a large facility and have two electric meters. They continually apply the payment from one account to the other account and slap a late fee on the "underpaid account". Just now they refused to refund a late fee even though we have a cancelled check proving it was paid on time. They said we already got credit for a late fee (for the reason above actually) so they cannot credit another even though we have proof.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TT from Carrollton on May 12th, 2015
Frustrating!
I can't complain about the rates Liberty charged us. What I hated was dealing with their customer service people. They were friendly, but inept. We had a problem with auto pay. We were told it was corrected when it was not. We complained and received $50 in gift cards as compensation. Yet, after those incidents the same problem happened again. Getting my wife permission to deal with CS took three calls. Each time we were told the problem was corrected when it was not. If you sign with Liberty, do not use Auto Pay. Just get a bill and pay it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rollin Astra from Houston on August 12th, 2010



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

47 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Worst power company do not use
They refuse to send the bills email or mail. They have cut power 3 times twice with payment. Absolutely the biggest crooks in power do not use this company Absolutely horrible . They should have a negative rating
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William Starnes from Big Spring, TX on October 29th, 2021
Horrible Customer Service
I called to cancel my service and the representative was speaking to me in a very rude way. I let it go several times in our conversation until I finally got angry and asked him to stop being so rude and that all I wanted was to get the amount of my final bill and where to send my proof of moving to so I would not get charged the cancellation fee. The representative still kept being rude and when i asked to speak to a manager, he hung up on me. I called again and when another representative answered, I asked to speak to a manager and he kept telling me that he was the manager. His name is Andres and he also was being very rude. He was supposed to have sent an email so I could send my documentation and still no email. I can't even speak to a manager. This company does not care about it's customers. They are very rude. Do not do business with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura M from Dallas, TX on October 7th, 2021
Fraud
A door to door salesman went to my brother in laws house which is next door to where my husband and I live. They switched the service over to this company without my husbands authorization. I will be looking to proceed legally against this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stolen Identity from Dallas, TX on September 28th, 2021
Horrible!
Big time scammers! Bait & switch. Exorbitant prices. Horrible experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rach from Tyler, TX on September 14th, 2021
Worst company Ive ever used
Their rates are through the roof, their customer service is just as horrible. After requesting to extend my due date by ONE day they said yes then they cut my electricity off anyways in the middle of Texas heat. I have a two year old who is sitting in the heat because their representatives in competency.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hayley from Sherman, TX on September 8th, 2021
SCAM COMPANY! Switched my service without consent!
I'm a Reliant customer and they illegally switched my service from Reliant to Liberty Power using a previous resident's name from 3 years ago! Tried calling their customer service but their automated system keeps you in a loop without speaking to anyone. They sent 2 bills under the former owner's name in which I contacted them to let them know about it and forwarded those bills via regular snail mail. I reported this fraud to Reliant in which they investigated and subsequently reported that LP insisted it WAS authorized to switch the service! TOTAL HOGWASH! I'm also a solar user so all the extra electricity went back to THEM without credit because they don't offer a buy-back program like Reliant does. So for 2 weeks I lost those buy-back credits because during the summertime my panels produce more electricity than I need for night-time usage. HORRIBLE COMPANY - DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe / A Solar User from Missouri City, TX on August 5th, 2021
Horrible choice
Ive been in the hospital due to extensive injuries from a wreck and I come home to my power out. I called and was informed that there is nothing they can do unless they receive a full payment although I wasnt able to use services and have been in the hospital. This company lied about paying past bills with my old company and forcefully switched my services not to mention walking around our apartments at 2 and 3 in the morning trying to make sales. This is completely disgusting and Id advise anyone not to work with them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marc Haygood from Dallas, TX on July 14th, 2021
Very underhanded
Called saying they were oncor then proceeded to try to force me to try to change to their company without saying that's what they were doing until the very end when they off handedly said oh and your bill will now be coming from us.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy from Little Elm, TX on July 1st, 2021
Terrible Company
Customer service was terrible , no help. The sales rep lied and did not tell the truth about the services. I was charged more and they did not pay my old cancelation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

N/A from Houston, TX on June 2nd, 2021
Scammers, Liars
Long story short: A salesman for this company came knocking on my door and spun a story that Oncor through the current power company that my husband and I could are with was charging us too much. Said to this salesman twice that we didn't want to change. He assures that we could stay with our current power company and that there would be no changing of power companies and I asked him twice and he still assured me.

Behold, we get a notice from our current power company that we cancelled services from them, which we did not. No words can express how upset I became that I had been tricked and had to re-enroll back to our current power company. Even though we got a better plan with the re-enrollment, I am definitely angry about the deception that Liberty Power used. I would recommend that anyone who gets a visit from a Liberty Power salesperson to say No and keep saying No.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KDB from Arlington, TX on May 5th, 2021