Texpo Energy
I have been with Texpo Energy for many years. Rates are always competitive and no issues with billing. I use autopay and it works as described. Great electricity company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fred J. from Houston, TX on September 24th, 2020
Thank you for the feedback on our service. Great to see we are meeting your expectations!
— Texpo Energy
Poor customer service
Have been on hold for 20 minutes now waiting to speak wth someone as to why the website will not accept my payment. Good rates, poor follow up service. Will pay higher rate for better service next time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Boyd Thomure from Webster, TX on March 28th, 2019
Worst customer service ever
They are very dishonest. Increased the rates on my plan without any notice while they guaranteed me before that the rates will be fixed for a year. Calling the customer service is a headache . Avoid at all costs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sid from Houston, TX on January 3rd, 2019
Texpo gets even worse
This is a follow up to my previous review that has not been posted as of this writing. Texpo, having given me just three days to pay my last bill, sent me a dunning email informing me that my payment was late. I realized that Texpo or the USPS must have lost my payment. I called Texpo in an effort to pay the bill in person, but the arrogant millennial that answered the phone said that was not possible as they had no physical location. She was lying. I asked if the payment had arrived and she rudely said no and that my service would be disconnected if I did not pay very soon.
So I stopped payment on the check at expense to me, and payed the bill online plus the penalty. Today I received an even more malicious letter from Kevin Meers, who presumably works at or for Texpo. The letter threatened cancellation of service in addition to legal action. I have had it with these vituperative dregs of society. I would have never known just how evil these people were if they or the USPS had not lost the payment. Up to this episode I would have ranked them as OK. Im glad I found out.
Please do not consider this company as a provider. Thanks for reading.
Very unhappy future ex-customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Will Never Recommend Texpo from Houston, TX on November 22nd, 2017
Very unhappy customer
I received my latest bill in the mail on Friday, Nov 10. The statement was printed Oct 31st. That's 10 days for me to receive the statement. The payment was due on the 16th. Something's already wrong here. Considering that there was no mail on Saturday for Veteran's Day and the next available mailing day was Monday the 13th, that's 3 days - close but as their location is local, seemed like enough time.
Apparently my check never made it to the bean counters. I received a rather dunning email saying that my payment was late. I called Texpo to see if it had been received yet. The young lady was arrogant and would not even consider that the check was lost or working through their system. I was assumed to be a deadbeat. I asked about a physical location to deliver the payment in person. There is none!! They have no physical presence in Houston. Where are they, in New Delhi?
I was obligated to stop payment on the check, which I did in person at my bank and took care of the bill on-line. That's money that I did not want to spend and time which I did not want to squander.
I will not continue with this worthless and disrespectful organization. It costs $175 to break the contract. Well worth it. Dont even consider Texpo.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shopping For Another Provider from Houston, TX on November 21st, 2017
Non-existent customer service
I have attempted to talk with customer service on several occasions. The representatives are completely unskilled and unhelpful. They refuse (or maybe there isn't one) to reveal the physical location of the office. On one occasion (during Harvey) they say my check was one day late (although mailed 7 days in advance). I received a rude letter threatening to disconnect service, ruin my credit, and turn me over to a collection agency. FOR 1 day! This is just one example. I have many more.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Phyllis from Houston, TX on October 9th, 2017
Totally dishonest company
We are a small church who used Texpo for 3 years. We paid on time every month. When we moved to another place, we called them and asked them to shut our usage off. They did. After 2 months, they still did not give us back our $250 deposit. We called them and they claimed we owed them $300 still. We asked why, and they claimed we were under contract for another month when we ended usage. We had no idea we were under contract, they never told us or advised us of the large fee, and even if we were, it would not have been $300 of penalty. They were heartless and rude, and just ripped our little church off $300. Don't use them. They really are crooks.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan from Houston on November 5th, 2012
DISHONEST AND A TOTAL PITA
They operate under several names including Texpo Power, Texpo Power & Light, YEP, Southwest Power & Light, and who knows what else. Their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. In this day and age where you can get cheap rates and service from nearly anywhere, they're butt heads. Their billing system is retarded. I called to ask that they move the date a couple of days to accommodate when my pay check hits so that they'd stop costing me $35 over draft fees. They actually tried to hit my checking account 7x in 3 days - really racking up the fees with my bank and you HAVE to pay on line to get the best rate. It's taken multiple complaints to the PUC and BBB and it's still not fixed yet!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry In Dallas from Dallas on August 13th, 2010
Horid Customer service
They didnt even ask me my name or account information before telling me they couldnt complete my request, They lost my paper work 6 times, and then said it was my fault. They refused three times to order expedited service and has of yet to get our service turned on two weeks later. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE THEY ARE HORRIBLE AT TAKING CARE OF CUSTOMERS>
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

VERY UNHAPPY from Central on July 27th, 2010
Saved alot of money
Signed up online and watched my bill drop $30-50 per month in the past 90
days. Yes-it is hotter now than it was in march. Thanks texpo
90 days saved 136.00 how can you beat that.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr. Fields from Houston on May 27th, 2010







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Texpo Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.3 of 5.
5 Stars
17%
 
4 Stars
8%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
8%
 
1 Stars
67%
 
2.5 / 5
Overall
3.0 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.3 / 5
Order Experience
2.3 / 5
Customer Service
2.3 / 5
Billing and Account Management
2.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Texpo Energy

Texpo Energy was founded in 2006 to sell retail electricity in the state of Texas. They also market themselves under the brands Southwest Power & Light and YEP. Their website claims they sell electricity in deregulated markets other than Texas but does not say which markets specifically, although they seem to be tied to a company called Enercal USA, an electric provider that does business in California.


Recommended Electricity Plans