Home > Companies > Cpl Retail Energy

About CPL Retail Energy

CPL Retail Energy Logo

PUCT#: 10023

Central Power & Light was the incumbent electricity provider for areas of central Texas for 75 years until Texas electricity deregulated in 2002. American Electric Power (AEP) then sold the retail electric part of their business to Direct Energy, who has been operating in that region of Texas as CPL Retail Energy ever since.

Direct Energy is the largest competitive retailer of energy and related services in North America. With operations across Canada, Texas and the north-eastern United States, Direct Energy delivers $8 billion of energy and related services to over five million residential and commercial customers. They operate generation assets, as well as retail electricity services in multiple states across the US.



Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.3 / 5 )
Our rating criteria
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


CPL Retail Energy Customer Engagement

42   Reviews

39   Replies

Response Rate:
92.86 %




This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of CPL Retail Energy



Looking for more options? Enter a zip code and check out all our plans!





42 Reviews and 39 Replies for CPL Retail Energy


Great customer service
(5 / 5)

  Customer service worked really hard to get us connected in our new house. They made it easy and we had power in just a couple of days after making the initial inquiry.

Tomtefco from Poteet
April 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

10 star award
(5 / 5)

  Over the years going to other providers I found that even though prices all over have gone up every where. CPL has continued to provide low prices at times when I thought I was going to see higher prices.

Paul O. Hughes from Corpus Christi
April 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cpl energy
(5 / 5)

  Connected fast and great price love it!

Deborah Aleman from Pharr
April 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will never use or recc
(1 / 5)

  I would never recommend cp&l to anyone. In August I called to c about making payment arrangements, I was approved. I was to pay 95.00 each month till I was caught up. In September during hurricane Harvey I contacted cpl again, I was still having trouble paying my bill. The gentleman I talked to at cpl told me to pay the 95.00 plus I told him I could make a 100 dollar payment on my regular bill. So I paid 195.00. I was told by cpl that I had not made my monthly bill so I defaulted according to them. When I called twice to try to fix the problem I was told both times I had to pay something immediately if they were even going to try to help me. I received a disconnect notice today for Monday the 23rd. When I called cpl the woman I talked to was rude and no help at all. My bill says I owe 765.00 when I called I was told I owed over 8 hundred dollars and that I had to pay the full amount or my bill could not be turned back on. Cpl also has a switch hold on my name and property, which means cpl would rather my family be without power rather than help me try to pay my bill.

TIFFANY FALCON from Corpus Christi
October 19th, 2017

Tiffany, we sincerely apologize for the experience. According to the activity on your account today,10/20/2017, I see that our agent was able to help you with your request. If you have further questions please let us know by sending them to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We always look forward to resolving your concerns. Have a great weekend! ~ Lynnen

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience
(1.4 / 5)

  my power was disconnected, come to find out I had been paying CPL for five months without knowing it. so I tried to reinstall service was told three different amounts to reinstall service by several different people after the fourth person they blacklisted my account. Said that I could not get service and that I could not even speak to anybody. Insisted I'd have to wait 3-5 for them to call me or pay $600. Then every person that answered my phone call was just plain rude! Five minutes later I got an account with TXU with a better rate nicer customer service and people who I could actually understand. I do not recommend CPL at all. I have been with them for over 10 years and had several problems!!

Dissatisfied customer from Port Isabel
July 19th, 2017

We sincerely apologize for the kind of experience you had recently. We would like to review this further. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and a good phone number. Thank you. -Jane

CPL Retail Energy Responds August 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful
(0.4 / 5)

  I believe the company is a total rip off i called to discuss my charges and know one could give me a clear answer on what i was being charged or why the person i spoke to did not speak english well and hung up on me im very great a math and started add up my charges i used 62 kwh at 0.099 a daily charge of 0.33 ( which no one could explain) and a charge of 2.79 transmission and distribution if you do the math it adds up to 9.26 i was charged 9.60 i understand its not alot but i looked back and this happened everyday trust me it adds up. I started to think about it and i belive its just taxes if that is the case then why couldnt the three people i talked to just tell me that and it should show on the statement how much im paying for taxes needless to say im very dissatisfied with the company and have already scheduled to transfer to a different company

Angela from Victoria
September 20th, 2016

Hi Angela. We sincerely apologize for the poor experience thus far, and we want to make sure that we provide you with complete transparency regarding your bill. If you would like you may email your account number and address to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com, and we will investigate these charges and provide you with a full explanation. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, - Henry

CPL Retail Energy Responds September 23rd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service...horrible interaction...just horrible!
(1 / 5)

  Horrible customer service, don't listen, charge you for services you've already paid for, tack on "extra" "disconnect" charges, even though you did not choose to tx to another provider. Point the blame at the customer even though the customer was not the company that called to disconnect service.

Jerry House from Mcallen
July 12th, 2016

Good Morning Jerry, we apologize for the experience you have had with us. Could you please send us an email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can investigate this further for you? We would be more than happy to help resolve this or other concerns you may have. Thank you - Kate

CPL Retail Energy Responds July 26th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible
(0 / 5)

  My husband and I bought a new home, we were scheduled to close on March 1st. Approximately 1 week prior to our closing I used the online system to schedule our move, I scheduled to have the power turned on at the new house on the first, and off at the old house on the 31st. Well we close on our home, we go there, the power is on great!! We are thrilled. We began to move to our new home on March 4th, at approximately 2:30pm The lights went out. Well I get on the phone to CPL, and am told there is a power outage in my area, ok that's acceptable.... An hour later at 3:30 pm I noticed that all of my neighbors had power, so I get on the phone with CPL again....This time I was told there was some sort of computer glitch that caused the transfer to not happen...I am very annoyed after being on the phone for 45 mins, and the end result was they were going to prioritize my power switch and I'd have lights by either midnight that night or the next morning... Not happy but at least there's an answer. Here's the real kick in the behind from CPL, at 5:30 the same afternoon they called me back to tell me that they couldn't turn on my power at all because the meter is owned by a different light company....well this is 5:30pm on Friday afternoon, the other company doesn't open till Monday at 8 am, so my move is in a huge mess, and I have no power all weekend--thanks CPL!!!

Perhaps you should train your people to do their jobs--I could have resolved this had you told me at 2:30 there was a problem, or even at 3:30--but I guess since your loosing a customer, you had to be Nasty about it.....

Julie N from Corpus Christi
March 5th, 2016

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing Policy leads to confused customer service
(2 / 5)

  I signed up with this company a year ago, from the beginning they seemed disorganized and confused. For example, the terms of the contract I signed up for was never applied and instead I received and different contract terms. I was about to contact them and perhaps the authorities to make them abide by their original contract but when I received the first bill I saw that the calculated TDU fees were in fact far less than the contract terms (about $0.012/KWh), this is in direct contrast to every single contract terms I have read on all energy company websites, and all of them say the TDU fees are not marked up and directly passed to customer!! However I took the discount and was happy with until the end of my when suddenly the fees shut up and it did not make sense any more to stay with them. I called and spoke to their customer service in INDIA but could not understand adequately what they say (sorry nothing against Indians but very very difficult to comprehend the accent) more over, they were fully uniformed about the process and could not provide any sane logical explanation. So their customer service appear just a cheap front facade to fool the requirements. Yet when the billing time comes around they are quick to charge you a 5% for paying ONE day late, happened to me twice. At best I would say they cannot explain what the charges are and how it is calculated, thus I am signing off with them and would go to try another-- hopefully a better un-confused company with English speaking customer service. I would say that the price was good for a while, and if they put their act together and clarify the charges they may have some success, but not under current circumstances. Every thing that I did and worked was online, never placed a request or order change through phone- the online stuff worked.

Qabel from Laredo
February 11th, 2016

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service
(1 / 5)

  ...or lack there of...incompetent employees... high prices and hidden fees...

AJ from PHARR
October 16th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

liars
(0 / 5)

  cpl will lie in order to cover their mistakes, they will also pass the blame to AEP, the worst experience ever, no doubt they are in over their head which makes them a very poor company, clueless

wade from Kenedy
September 25th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE - Rat gut sucking weasels
(0 / 5)

  I cannot write a detailed report without resorting to profane language. Suffice to say, despite repeated phone calls, they cannot perform proper data entry, which leads to problems. Their Customer Service representatives are offshore and barely speak English. I am through with the frustration and am going to drop them. I have three (3) accounts with them. They, CPL told AEP that I had moved and to cut off the electricity. I did NOT move and am still paying the bill. CPL tells me I have electricity and I do NOT. I tell them to get me up and running. They want me to re-enroll and pay re-connect fees. I did not turn the service off. I cannot adequately articulate the disdain and contempt I have for this company. I'm done. If you want headaches & frustration, then this bunch of rat gut sucking weasels is the company you want to hook up with. Good Grief, what a lousy outfit!!!!!

W.D. Fair from George West
August 14th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service EVER!!
(0 / 5)

  I had one simple issue with a payment that was showing pulling from my VISA and when I questioned why it was not reflecting my account balance the Rep (named Alvin) was repeating the same information that did not benefit me at all. I made it clear that I understood what he was explaining however that was not my issue. He kept cutting me off when I wanted him to hear me out and got really defensive so I asked to speak with his superior. He stated there was no one over him for me to talk to. When I insisted on speaking with his Supervisor, only after I remember his name, he put someone by the name of Rachel who I was hoping may be willing to put some effort into helping me. After I explained the situation all over to her she simply stated "NO" and when I asked for further detail on the "NO" response, she said that she understood my issue and she would upset as well but still she was not in a position to even look into the issue and kept repeating "NO" for every word I tried to say. As if I was speaking to a child, she did not let me speak any further and stated that no matter who I called and tried to contact for assistance was not going to bother looking into the issue once her notes are placed. Coming from a Customer Service background myself, I could not believe that so many people's reviews are on target when it comes to CPL helping their customers. After 3 years of service with CPL and no effort in assisting their customer. Would not recomend EVER!! No one deserves to be treated like that especially by CPL.

IHateCPLService from Corpus Christi
July 23rd, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Meh
(2.4 / 5)

  Everything customer service wise was a hassle, but the price was pretty good

Blanca Canales from Corpus Christi
July 18th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Experience Ever
(1 / 5)

  This has been the worst experience with a service provider. There was an inadvertent switch on our account whereby another energy company took over our account. Not sure how this happened, but was told by CPL in April that I would need to contact AEP to find out who. Upon calling AEP they said that CPL would need to take our bill back over. I worked with CPL from April until July trying to get our account reinstated. They eventually cancelled it saying that I waited too long. They told me I would need to set up a new account. I tried to do this but there was an error. I then received an email from them requesting me to call within 24 hours. When I did this the customer service rep had no idea why I was calling and didn't see my order for a new account. They told me I should actually connect this account to my other account. When this didn't work either, the rep told me someone would contact me in 24 hours. Same scenario. When I called back they didn't' know what the error was or how to fix it. They said it seemed like a credit issue. I asked to be transferred to their credit department but they only had an email address. I emailed the credit department and finally heard from someone who apologized for all the trouble but didn't have an answer. She promised to call back the next day. When the person called back they said my account was being set up as a residential account but needed to be set up as a business account and would transfer me to the business department and explain the situation. Upon transfer, the person thought I had called them and had no knowledge of my issue. When they looked up my account they did not see any orders and suggested I try again to set up a new account. They said I would need a separate account and not to add on to my existing account because they were different types of services. This is what I had originally tried to do! Supposedly the order is in place and will go thru this time. I'm not holding my breath. This has been the worst and hardest experience trying to request service. If it weren't' for our contract on our other account, I would choose someone else in an instant.

Leslie from Kingsville
July 15th, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Does not Honor Terms of Plan!!! BEWARE, FIND ANOTHER ELECTRIC PROVIDER
(1 / 5)

  I HAVE NEVER POSTED A REVIEW ON THE INTERNET BEFORE BT I AM MOTIVATED BY THE OUTRAGUS EXPERIENCE I HAVE HAD WITH THIS BUSINESS.
CPL is not honoring the term of our contract. I have spent many hours over the phone with them without a reasonable conclusion. I have provided them with the written proof of terms agreed to (I am a CPA so I keep Proof of everything I do... a good habit when dealing with those that can not be trusted) Even with the written proof they have been unwilling to honor the terms.... "someone put the wrong code into their system"... "they don't see that kind of plan was offered at the time I signed up"...it goes on and on... I sent them a copy of the letter I received in the mail from them and the detailed terms discussed over the phone with their employee. ... they are still not billing me according to those terms. THIS IS NOT THE CPL COMPANY WE GROW UP KNOWING. BEWARE AND FIND A MORE REPUTABLE ELETRIC PROVIDER THAT WILL ABIDE BY TERMS OF THE AGREEMENT!!!!

KATHY from CORPUS CHRISTI
April 1st, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch for renewals
(0 / 5)

  We had been CPL customers for the previous two years with no problems. When it came time to renew, I called to see what they could offer. Customer Service says $.062 per kWh. I immediately told them their offer sounded awfully low. The assured me the offer was correct and included all fees except tax and meter charge. When the first statement came, the rate was '$.117 per kWh. Seems the failed to mention the AEP transmission charges. No other electric provider prices electricity with a separate transmission charge. I cancelled. Now CPL wants a $300 early termination charge. I've filed a complaint withe the Redas Punlic Utility Commision and pland to take my case to small claims court. For the rest of you, STAY AWAY from CPL, there are too many other excellent providers to waste time with their bait and switch lies.

Warren Hassinger from Rockport
March 23rd, 2015

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bad service
(1.6 / 5)

  had a very hard time to disconnect to build new home now having a hard time trying to connect for new service

juan from Mission
December 9th, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Follow Thru
(2.6 / 5)

  CS Reps are nice - but there is no follow through for the promises made. It takes me about 5 calls in order to connect with a supervisor as I keep getting hung up on each and every month. I am trying to correct a mistake in my plan which goes back to June.

Bob from SPI
October 22nd, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible billing and collections service
(1 / 5)

  I am now on month 6 of billing. When I setup the account I gave them a credit card to run each month. They told me the card was a problem, so I gave them 2 more. It is weird they can't seem to run a card correctly, and I keep getting late fees, etc. This last time I gave them my Amex card which alerts me to charges. My bill says, DO NOT PAY, Auto Debit will be processed on 9/5. Of course it wasn't and I verified with Amex that they haven't even tried. What a poor excuse for a business. Every time I call they have the excuse their "system is being upgraded" please call back.

C Thompson from Tuscola
September 5th, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

CPL Retail Energy Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Updated: 05-18-2018
Example Bill
loading...