Discount Power Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Discount Power so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Discount Power Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Discount Power's Customer Reviews Summary

Discount Power Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Discount Power

2.3 / 5

Discount Power Reviews

97 Reviews for Discount Power

97

total reviews

Compare to Discount Power Electricity Rates

Recent Good Review from Emily

Overall Rating
Beyond Happy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My light bill has literally gone down 60% cheaper with Discount Power! Excellent customer service and always helpful! 5 STARS!

Love My Light Company! from Hitchcock, TX on August 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
After 12 months of service. Zero issues. Great prices all year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I used GeekYourRate. com and found Discount Power as one of my top choices. Part way through the year they it sounded like they were bought out by Pennywise Power. After about 5 months of this it went back to Discount Power. Then entire 12 months I received great rates. Cheapest year I spent on electric in over 5 years. 100% renewable wind energy. I have no complaints and would do it again.

1 Year Later... Here's My Review from Lake Dallas, TX on May 17th, 2019
Glad we couple help! We're if you need us.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Discount Power Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had this company for a year and was very satisfied with their service that I signed up for another 3 years. Great service.

Evelyn from Richmond, TX on June 5th, 2018
Overall Rating
18-month customer--very satisfied!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Our home is 1500 SF and it's only 2 years old. My husband and I set the thermostat at 72 in the summers and 68 in the winters. Our bills with Discount Power are the lowest in our subdivision and average about $55-$60/month. The one from this month was only $37. I'm not sure what the issue everyone is having, but our experience has been excellent with Discount Power. We enjoy our fixed rates and no additional surcharges like the other electric providers. Thank you, Discount Power!

Florence from Abilene, TX on May 15th, 2018
Overall Rating
Great Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with them for almost two years. The plan price was great. I appreciate the fact that their billing is straightforward and dependable. (The company that I had before them did their billing at odd times so it was difficult to tell if the bill was too high or not.)


Would recommend Discount Power to everyone.

Satisfied Customer from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2017
Overall Rating
2nd Renewal-Great $$
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Renewed with Discount for the 2nd time. The rates were the lowest when I signed up 2 years ago and they've offered me virtually the same renewal rate 2 years in a row. Both renewal offers have been significantly less than what is on the current market for other providers. Sign up was simple and I have never had a need to contact Discount for anything in the 2 plus years of service. Would highly recommend Discount Power.

TC from Houston, TX on May 22nd, 2017
Overall Rating
It seems to me that satisfied customers are underrepresented here
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with Discount Power for over a year and have had an excellent experience. Great low price, great customer service, no extra fees on my bill, bank account debited for the correct amount on the 20th of every month like clockwork. Absolutely no complaints.


Peter from Houston on June 3rd, 2016
Overall Rating
Discount Power is GREAT !!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for the 2 year Discount Power saver - no gimmicks option with a $ .0681 per kwh fixed rate charge. which included Oncor delivery charges, in January 2016. I cancelled a contract with Reliant that was averaging 12 cents per kwh overall including Oncor and paid a cancellation fee to boot. I also signed up for direct billing to my credit card each month to avoid paying more and to eliminate any/all contingencies such as late payments etc. To date thru 5/1/16 I have saved over $230 bucks over what I would have paid Reliant and I'm under contract for 2 full years so I expect to save close to $2000 or more thru the contract period especially when it gets hot and usage is 1500kwhs or more. I CHALLENGE anyone to find a cheaper fixed rate anywhere. Do your homework thru powertochoose.org and check out the savings, BUT read the fine print. Get a FIXED no gimmicks rate that applies to any/all usage hours so you are not blindsided. . Pay your bill on time and avoid costly charges. I read all these negative reviews and they do Discount Power a disservice. My experience has been absolutely fantastic and I save , save and save.......I could not be happier. Feel free to contact me and discuss !!

Wally Dering from Bedford on May 4th, 2016
Overall Rating
No Problems at All - Great Rate - Perfect Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I just renewed with Discount Power and got $0.0794 / kwh for 24 months fixed. I have been with Discount Power for 1 year. When I originally signed up I was concerned with the negative reviews regarding customer service. I went ahead anyway, and carefully followed all of the rules for signup, including sending in their CC authorization form. I have had NO PROBLEMS since signup. Every month they email my bill well in advance of the CC auto-payment, giving me time to question any charges. NO PROBLEMS. RATES AND CHARGES AS CONTRACTED. So it looks to me like folks who can't understand or don't care to follow contract terms probably just shouldn't sign contracts - or write reviews.

L. Carpenter from Katy on January 26th, 2016
Overall Rating
High Five to Discount Power!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

High five to Discount Power! No hidden service charges or fixed charges to pad your bill. The effective price you pay per kilowatt is the same regardless of your level of usage. I am paying less now per kilowatt than I have over the past eight years. 16% less than Spark. 17% less than Frontier. 15% less than Reliant. 9% less than Tri-Eagle. 13% less than Startex.

Mark Wagner from Houston on September 8th, 2015
Overall Rating
Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Signed up with Discount Power on a two year contract via Power To Choose. Sign up was easy and pricing worked out to be very cheap, around 7.5 cents/KwH on average over a year including TDSP charges, based on my typical usage patterns. They offer flat rate plans and tiered usage plans. If you go with a tiered plan, make very sure you know how the formula works and what your estimated costs are going to be based on past usage. Make sure to use the auto bill pay and keep your payment information up to date.



No problems with billing or anything else during the 24 months I had them. Until renewal time, I had no need to contact customer service.

When renewal time got close they sent me a reminder email with links to their renewal offers. Those offers were not competitive with others on Power To Choose. They still had very attractive plans available to new customers but those were not available to me. I ended up switching to another provider at the end of my contract due to this, but would consider going back to Discount Power in the future if I'm eligible for the new customer plans again.

I like that they have 24 and 36 month contracts. If you get a good deal that gets the price locked in for a long time.

Good Prices For New Customers. Long Contract Terms Available. Renewal Offers Aren't Very Attractive. from Round Rock, TX on March 1st, 2018
Overall Rating
Good service and good price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had Discount Power for one year now. Never had any problems. I saved $330 this year over my previous year with TXU.

GW from Plano on February 24th, 2016
Overall Rating
Pleased with Discount Power after new ownership
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I started using Discount in May following the change of ownership in March. I've been very pleased. Initially my auto billing had a hiccup, but I found customer service to be fast and helpful.

Thomas from Round Rock on August 28th, 2014
Overall Rating
Improved Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

At first I was hesitant to call Discount Power due to the experience I had with them in 2011. However, after holding on the phone for an hour to speak to an Apna Energy agent, I figured I owed them a second chance. I was shocked to find that I got to speak to a representative immediately who later informed me that the management had just changed. The representative was friendly, informative, and knowledgeable about all the questions/concerns I had. He set up my account rapidly, and I was off the phone within 20 minutes!



I am big about customer service and that is something Discount Power has tremendously improved on in the past two years. I would definitely recommend them now after their management change !!!

Mehwish Ali from Cypress on July 29th, 2013
Overall Rating
Good pricing but basic website
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would recommend some of the plans from this company - the pricing seems to be very reasonable so far for my usage. The website is very basic though. There isn't any information given except how much energy you used in the previous month and how much your bill is. Other companies include usage graphs that track how much you use each month compared with the average temperature outside. Additionally, other companies give you data about how much you have used thus far in the month so you can plan ahead if you're using too much energy. I miss these features but the low cost makes it worth it for me.

Emily from Houston, TX on May 18th, 2022
Thanks Emily! We're glad that you're enjoying your experience with Discount Power. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Website is always dysfunctioning
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I like the electricity company it stays decent for the most part but their website is never functioning properly I'm always having problems making a payment online it never fails and it's quite irritating now

Carleda from Fort Worth, TX on July 12th, 2021
We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying Discount Power but we are sorry that you are experiencing issues with our website. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
When Contract is Up - Switch Providers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The prices are fine for new customers. When the contract is up switch providers. My renewal offer was higher than my current offer. I called to see if a better renewal offer could be given seeing as more competitive offers were available (at nearly half the rate) at other companies. I spoke with a monotone sounding agent who did not seem interested in retaining me. I signed up with a new company in a matter of a half hour and called Discount Power back to let them know I would be leaving when my contract was up. The agent did not seem concerned. Moral of the story, it is business. Know the game. When your contract is up be ready to switch to the next best "new customer" offering by another electricity provider. I am now going from around 9 cents per kWh plus the $5 per month to pay the bill fee to a flat around 5 cents per kWh (without the $5 to pay the bill fee). Nice.

Power Game from Houston on December 25th, 2016
Overall Rating
Works for me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This is my 4th electricity provider. At this point, I'm just looking for the cheapest provider. All providers have lots of fine print making it not easy to comparison shop, even among different plans from the same provider. However, switching is easy. They took my order, there was no disruption in service, you have to sign up for auto bill pay in order to not get charged the extra service fee (which they tell you when you sign up.) 3 months later, no issues, just the lowest power bills I've ever experienced. Discount Power is a no frills operation. No weekly emails reporting your usage. The website is primitive. I have not had to contact customer service. But if all you care about is low cost power, this is the place.

ScottW from Houston on October 12th, 2016
Overall Rating
Excellent rates...poor billing management, worst customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Even though they offer very attractive and competitive rates, their billing management needs a lot of improvement as well as their customer service section.


You have to be clever and carefully check your bill every month. I had two bad experiences, the first one regarding charges not disclosed in the bill and the most recent involved my Lite-Up discount. Discount Power did not apply this discount even though I got them proof of my certification. After clarifying this issue, they got me a credit but they did not apologize for their mistakes.
Basically they just do billing, representatives do not know their product/services, so you can't expect much from them at the time of resolving issues.

Maurice from Harlingen on July 24th, 2016
Overall Rating
Read before you get into it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Signed up for something called Prime Product didn't really read what I was getting into apparently had to user more than 1000 to get $65 and the 3.5 cent avg. what a rip off. called them was able to get another plan for 8.14 no matter what i use. Which is still saving but no what i expected

Gabriel Munoz from Houston on February 11th, 2016
Overall Rating
DIDNT WANT TO TRY IT, BUT GAVE IT A TRY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had received several calls from this company Discount Power. Told them i was not interested in every single call. But when i spoke with one of their representatives, Joe he was a very well educated person with vast knowledge and passion in his job and showed me that what they actually wanted to do was just help me out with my light bill and reduce my bill to help me start saving money. He informed me of how the discount works and all the terms and procedures in order to get my discount applied Only thing i didn't appreciate was the noise in the background but after i got my discount applied i was a bit nervous of the following months and the electric bill. But it has been my 5th month now, and i am still paying under the duquesne rate.

CHRISTOPHER from Aliquippa on November 19th, 2014
Overall Rating
Nickel and dime you with fees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Overall, I haven't had an issue with Discount Power until one month where things were busy and I overlooked my bill for a couple weeks. Most honest companies will warn you about being disconnected for non-payment when the next month bill comes out. Not so with DP, instead within only a couple weeks of not paying your bill they send you a disconnect notice so they can greedily charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee. Then they add insult to injury by also charging a late fee. I could understand if it was going on to next month and no payment had been made, but a couple weeks... Really?! Disappointed and can't wait to switch to a more honest company.

CLT83 from Corpus Christi, TX on April 6th, 2022
Hi, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1313 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
When are lights coming on
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I paid a deposit 3 days ago and still dont have lights their employees are writing the reviews do not use this company didnt want to give them not 1 star but 0 only way I could leave a review

Anice from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2002 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Unauthorized Payments
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My bill was not due until the 7th of June and I am not enrolled in automatic payments. However, that didnt stop this company from taking money from my account without my authorization. Of course they did it on a holiday so there is no one for me to speak to about correcting this until the next day. Prices are competitive, but not when they decide to encroach on my finances.

James M. from Mesquite, TX on May 31st, 2021
We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1272 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Horrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Spoke to a customer service supervisor named Ismail today. Ismail raises his voice and questions me back on the energy charge on my EFL. I was with Windrose Energy and they sold my plan over to DiscountPower and it was immediately night and day between the two companies. I thought a with a title of Customer Service Supervisor, they are supposed to know how to explain to the consumer in a calm and clear manner, so that the consumer can understand the bill. Well, not today. Today was the first time I called DiscountPower and it will be the last. I don't intend to call again unless I have to. I will definitely switch to a new utility provider when this contract is over. DiscountPower deserves a 'F' in the customer service rating. Hopefully this review helps some other people out there.

NV from Sugar Land, TX on August 12th, 2020
We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
4 days and no electricity
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had submitted my id when i asked to simply switch over my services to my new adress they said it will take up to 48 hours, it has been 4 days already and still nothing and when i call they jus keep saying oh give it a little more time it should come on, still nothing. Was told to wait until 4 if not call back and they close at 5 do ive got 1 hour to get this figured out if not itll be another day without power, but when they need a payment they are all up on you trying to collect but when it comes to services not working theyre so quick to get you off the phone by saying oh just wait it out

Martin Solorio from Crosby, TX on December 9th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1254 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Shady
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When shifting from Discount to PennyWise and back to Discount, rate changed even though was pledged it would stay the same. When I contacted Customer Service was told they had lost those records. Lying or sloppy, either was it's unprofessional. Finally get it rectified after about three months. Finished out the term of contract but did not renew.

Marc from Krum, TX on August 1st, 2019
Hi Marc,
We appreciate you providing this feedback. We apologize for your negative experience. We will be happy to look in to your account. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account number and a good phone number to reach you at and we will be happy to further assist you.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Poor Customer Care: Shut off power without notice or communication
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Discount power cut off my power. I could not figure out why since I schedule my payments on auto pay. I checked my emails. The most recent email was from 2 days before telling me my bill was due May 2nd (2 weeks away). There was no indication that my account was in peril. I went online to my account and there was no autopay set up. Okay, no problem, my bill wasn't due for 2 weeks. I called them and never talked to a real person but the automated system confirmed that my bill was due May 2nd. And then they mentioned that I had an overdue amount of $120. I never received any communication concerning an overdue amount. I paid the amount through the automated system. Interesting though is that they only charged me for the amount of $280 due on May 2nd. It was a mystery I didn't care to solve. It was poor customer care and poor customer service. I promptly hung up the phone and switched to a provider I've used in the past. Their rates may be a few cents higher but their customer service is rock solid.

Texas_woman70 from Dallas, TX on April 24th, 2019
Overall Rating
Billing and Account Manager Errors
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up a 18 months power contract with Discount Power in September 2018 with auto pay in my account. I received my first bill in October and the payment due date was on Oct. 29, 2018. I received a payment confirmation e-mail on Oct. 29, 2018 from Discount Power stated that they have received my payment on that date. Today, October 31, 2018, I received a disconnection e-mail from Discount Power to state that my account was past due. I called the customer service right away and they admitted that it was a communication error by them. The representative told me they would correct this error. From now on, I will really need to pay attention to the billing. I will make sure that they will not charge extra to my account.

C.K. from Sugar Land, TX on October 31st, 2018
Overall Rating
Poor Bill Processing / Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Just transferred to Discount Power. Process was easy, but it took a while to get my first statement. First payment made from online banking on 9/22; due date was 9/29. Discount Power is not capable of electronic payments, so credit union sent a paper check - no different than how other non-electronic accounts are handled. Received disconnect notice on 10/2 BY EMAIL. Called Discount's customer service, who stated that they only email notices. She was very terse, bordering on rude. Said to give it a few more days to allow the payment to post. Credit union verified that the check was sent, but that the check was never cashed or returned. Received a mail notice of power disconnect on 10/5. Again contacted customer service, and again got a person who obviously would rather be doing something else. The check still had not been posted, so I ended up paying by credit card over the phone. She - like the previous agent - stated that Discount Power recommends to not use online banking, and that it could take up to 12 days for them to post a paper check. They tried everything to get me to add my checking account or credit card information to the Discount Power customer portal for my account, but after this first experience right out of the box, I do not trust them, and do not want them in charge of my account information. If I continue to have payment issues with this company, I will file with the PUC, and have my account nullified and move my business elsewhere, to a company who has some idea of what customer service should be. I fear that Discount Power's statement process does not allow time for manual check payment by the due date, thereby ensuring that they can charge additional late fees to customers.

Customer from Frisco, TX on October 6th, 2017
Overall Rating
Beware of outrageous late fees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you are late with your payment by even a day, you will get hit with two charges: late fee and disconnect fee amounting to over $50. Even if it's their fault when the website malfunctions and bills are not being emailed to customers as expected. So if you are one of those people who is always on top of your bills or if you are willing to let them take money out of your account automatically, you will be ok. Otherwise, look elsewhere or risk loosing all those savings you are hoping to get by signing up with this company.

A from Houston, TX on August 25th, 2017
Overall Rating
Extra charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The only company I've ever seen that charges a late fee AND a disconnect notice fee, even if it's just 1 day late. So they actually charge me $20 on top of late fee for being just 1 day late. You think they would send you an email. I guess they'd rather tack on a $20 extra fee.

Cynthia Haley from Belton, TX on June 21st, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1315 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
They let me wait more than 10 days without starting the service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This is the worst electricity service I've ever working with. We applied for the account on 05/25, with the desire switch day was 05/27. They created the account number and because of THEIR problem, the account was duplicated, and THEIR issues, we haven't got any service. I've been contacted back and forth, more than 5 times calling with too many chat, all they said was "sorry, we understand your problem", and note down the issues. On 06/07, we still haven't got the services done, and all they do was telling me to wait another business day.


All were THEIR problem, and they instead of starting the service, they do ask you to wait another 10 days. This is not where you should pick your supplier, there are many other option. This is nonsense

Khanh Tran from Euless, TX on June 7th, 2022
Hi Khanh, thank you for your feedback. This isn't the kind of experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. If you would like help with your account, please contact us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1314 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
They let me wait more than 10 days without starting the service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This is the worst electricity service I've ever working with. We applied for the account on 05/25, with the desire switch day was 05/27. They created the account number and because of THEIR problem, the account was duplicated, and THEIR issues, we haven't got any service. I've been contacted back and forth, more than 5 times calling with too many chat, all they said was "sorry, we understand your problem", and note down the issues. On 06/07, we still haven't got the services done, and all they do was telling me to wait another business day.


All were THEIR problem, and they instead of starting the service, they do ask you to wait another 10 days. This is not where you should pick your supplier, there are many other option. This is nonsense

Khanh Tran from Euless, TX on June 7th, 2022
Hi Khanh, thank you for your feedback. This isn't the kind of experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. If you would like help with your account, please contact us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1314 and additional information.

— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Beware of random and duplicate charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They lock you in at a low rate and once the promotional period is over, they will start duplicating charges they cannot explain. When I cancelled my service with them they charged a "disconnect recovery" fee even though I was on a month-to-month contract. Pointless arguing with customer services. Do not do business with Discount Power

AK30043 from Dallas, TX on February 25th, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1311 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Pathetic
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cannot access my account online no matter what. Spent a ridiculous amount of time on the phone trying to fix the problem and nothing works.

Jim from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1304 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Worst electricity provider I've ever had!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My account was transferred from V247 Power ("V247") to Discount Power without my knowledge or consent. When I contacted them to discuss this unauthorized transfer, they advised me that they were the current owner of my account and if I sought to change providers I would have to pay the cancellation fee stated in my contract with V247. I have had repeated issues with their billing practices. I recently left town late in the day on 1/15 and returned on 1/25 - a total absence of 10 days. Upon my return, I found a bill from Discount Power in the mail collected by USPS during my trip. The bill indicated a due date of 1/24! The bill could not have been received at my residence any earlier than 1/17, which means Discount Power expected it paid within 7 days of receipt. Moreover, the invoice indicated that a late payment penalty of $10.21 would be added to the amount due if payment was not received by 1/24. Upon opening the bill, I immediately scheduled its payment with the bill pay service provided by my bank. Today, however, I received an email from Discount Power threatening to disconnect my power. Because I was unsure about the length of time it would take for my bank to issue payment to Discount Power, I visited its website and made a direct payment. I have lived in Houston for over 50 years. I have never missed paying my utility bills and have an excellent credit score. The manner in which Discount Power conducts business is far from consumer friendly instead, the company appears intent on collecting late fees on charges due by delivering invoices mere days before its payment is due.

LMG from Houston, TX on January 27th, 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We'd like to investigate the issue with your account to see how we can help. Please contact us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1300 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Twrrible onlone features, not worth the lower price!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Website functionality is bottom tier, service support decent but you cannot have this quality of service online simply unacceptable. Autopay is broken, $30 charge if any payment method fails online, online usage history(day to day) non existent. Avoid imo.

Sam from Houston, TX on August 19th, 2021
We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Robbers changing plans without notice. Online billing link never works
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My previous company sold customers to Discount power in 2020. The letter stated that the contract will not change from the previous provider. However, then changed my plan into monthly plan starting from March 2020. I contacted with customer service to complain, however, even the manager couldn't care less about the contract and did not resolve billing problem. The claimed that they sent me reminder about the change, however, they have never done so. I also told them that my contract change date is July not March.


Besides, monthly ebill they send does not work. I told them when we click on bill, it shows e-captcha, which changes every time you type letters, however does not let you get in your bill page. Manager could not care less about billing issue either.

Leaving Customer from Houston, TX on July 22nd, 2021
We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1274 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Took my deposit and still dont have lights
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company has given me the run around for 3 days and I still dont have lights must have their employees to write the reviews because the only way to write this was to give a star they dont deserve

Brooks from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021
We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power, Brooks. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2001 and additional information.
— Discount Power
Overall Rating
Neglect Loyal Customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We are with Discount Power and really regretting it. We have been without power since 2:30 Sunday morning February 14th. It is now Tuesday the 16th at 5pm and still no power. We have not heard a word from Discount Power and have no idea when or if our power will return. They are obviously not fighting for their Customers with ERCOT because Discount Power Customers are getting the brunt of the curtailments. Still zero communication. What a terrible way to treat loyal Customers.

Brad Orr from Texas City, TX on February 16th, 2021
We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power, Brad. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1267 and additional information.
— Discount Power