Discount Power Company Review

We've been collecting customer reviews for Discount Power so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

You can order Discount Power Energy Plans online.

cheapest Electricity rates and plans in Houston texas

Electricity Plans for Discount Power

Texas Electricity Ratings can help you find the best Discount Power electricity plan. Below are the lowest priced Discount Power plans, as well as our ratings and reviews.

Houston Electricity Rates from Discount Power

Compare more Discount Power Houston Plans

Plan Term Rate
Bill Credit Bundle 24 24/months 10.8¢/kWh
Bill Credit Bundle 12 12/months 12.5¢/kWh
Wise Buy Basic 24 Online 24/months 15.8¢/kWh
Rates as of Apr 17, 2024 at 01:38 PM

Dallas Electricity Rates from Discount Power

Compare more Discount Power Dallas Plans

Plan Term Rate
Bill Credit Bundle 24 24/months 10.8¢/kWh
Bill Credit Bundle 12 12/months 12.9¢/kWh
Wise Buy Basic 24 Online 24/months 15.2¢/kWh
Rates as of Apr 17, 2024 at 01:38 PM

Best Discount Power Plans as reviewed by Texas Electricity Ratings

Plan Name Plan Rating and Review
Rates as of Apr 17, 2024 at 01:38 PM
Looking for more? Compare all available Discount Power Plans

Discount Power Rating and Review Summary

There are 87 total reviews for Discount Power, with an average rating of 2.0/5.

Company Stars Rating Reviews
Discount Power
2.0/5 87
Category Stars
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Recent 5 Star Reviews

Beyond Happy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My light bill has literally gone down 60% cheaper with Discount Power! Excellent customer service and always helpful! 5 STARS!

Love My Light Company! from Hitchcock, TX on August 11th, 2021
After 12 months of service. Zero issues. Great prices all year.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I used GeekYourRate. com and found Discount Power as one of my top choices. Part way through the year they it sounded like they were bought out by Pennywise Power. After about 5 months of this it went back to Discount Power. Then entire 12 months I received great rates. Cheapest year I spent on electric in over 5 years. 100% renewable wind energy. I have no complaints and would do it again.

1 Year Later... Here's My Review from Lake Dallas, TX on May 17th, 2019

Glad we couple help! We're if you need us.

Discount Power on June 26th, 2019

Recent 4 Star Reviews

Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Signed up with Discount Power on a two year contract via Power To Choose. Sign up was easy and pricing worked out to be very cheap, around 7.5 cents/KwH on average over a year including TDSP charges, based on my typical usage patterns. They offer flat rate plans and tiered usage plans. If you go with a tiered plan, make very sure you know how the formula works and what your estimated costs are going to be based on past usage. Make sure to use the auto bill pay and keep your payment information up to date.No problems with billing or anything else during the 24 months I had them. Until renewal time, I had no need to contact customer service.When renewal time got close they sent me a reminder email with links to their renewal offers. Those offers were not competitive with others on Power To Choose. They still had very attractive plans available to new customers but those were not available to me. I ended up switching to another provider at the end of my contract due to this, but would consider going back to Discount Power in the future if I'm eligible for the new customer plans again.I like that they have 24 and 36 month contracts. If you get a good deal that gets the price locked in for a long time.

Good Prices For New Customers. Long Contract Terms Available. Renewal Offers Aren't Very Attractive. from Round Rock, TX on March 1st, 2018
Good service and good price
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had Discount Power for one year now. Never had any problems. I saved $330 this year over my previous year with TXU.

GW from Plano on February 24th, 2016

Recent 3 Star Reviews

Good pricing but basic website
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I would recommend some of the plans from this company - the pricing seems to be very reasonable so far for my usage. The website is very basic though. There isn't any information given except how much energy you used in the previous month and how much your bill is. Other companies include usage graphs that track how much you use each month compared with the average temperature outside. Additionally, other companies give you data about how much you have used thus far in the month so you can plan ahead if you're using too much energy. I miss these features but the low cost makes it worth it for me.

Emily from Houston, TX on May 18th, 2022

Thanks Emily! We're glad that you're enjoying your experience with Discount Power. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others.

Discount Power on May 18th, 2022

Website is always dysfunctioning
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I like the electricity company it stays decent for the most part but their website is never functioning properly I'm always having problems making a payment online it never fails and it's quite irritating now

Carleda from Fort Worth, TX on July 12th, 2021

We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying Discount Power but we are sorry that you are experiencing issues with our website. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.

Discount Power on July 13th, 2021

Recent 2 Star Reviews

Nickel and dime you with fees
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Overall, I haven't had an issue with Discount Power until one month where things were busy and I overlooked my bill for a couple weeks. Most honest companies will warn you about being disconnected for non-payment when the next month bill comes out. Not so with DP, instead within only a couple weeks of not paying your bill they send you a disconnect notice so they can greedily charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee. Then they add insult to injury by also charging a late fee. I could understand if it was going on to next month and no payment had been made, but a couple weeks... Really?! Disappointed and can't wait to switch to a more honest company.

CLT83 from Corpus Christi, TX on April 6th, 2022

Hi, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1313 and additional information.

Discount Power on April 12th, 2022

When are lights coming on
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I paid a deposit 3 days ago and still dont have lights their employees are writing the reviews do not use this company didnt want to give them not 1 star but 0 only way I could leave a review

Anice from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2002 and additional information.

Discount Power on July 13th, 2021

Recent 1 Star Reviews

Worst Customer Service Ever
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The absolute worst customer experience. I scheduled a move out for September 30, 2022. Discount Power continued to charge me for October and November. I spoke with their customer service manager (Emory) and she was extremely non-understanding and forced me to pay the two months that I had already moved out for. I would not recommend this company to anybody I know. Discount Power does not respect their customers and acted unethically by charging me after the move out date of September 30, 2022 that I scheduled.

AS from Fort Worth, TX on December 2nd, 2022

Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with Discount Power, and we would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please contact us at email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1316 and additional information.

Discount Power on December 13th, 2022

Extra charges
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The only company I've ever seen that charges a late fee AND a disconnect notice fee, even if it's just 1 day late. So they actually charge me $20 on top of late fee for being just 1 day late. You think they would send you an email. I guess they'd rather tack on a $20 extra fee.

Cynthia Haley from Belton, TX on June 21st, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1315 and additional information.

Discount Power on June 27th, 2022

All Reviews By Date

Worst Customer Service Ever
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The absolute worst customer experience. I scheduled a move out for September 30, 2022. Discount Power continued to charge me for October and November. I spoke with their customer service manager (Emory) and she was extremely non-understanding and forced me to pay the two months that I had already moved out for. I would not recommend this company to anybody I know. Discount Power does not respect their customers and acted unethically by charging me after the move out date of September 30, 2022 that I scheduled.

AS from Fort Worth, TX on December 2nd, 2022

Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with Discount Power, and we would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please contact us at email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1316 and additional information.

Discount Power on December 13th, 2022

Extra charges
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The only company I've ever seen that charges a late fee AND a disconnect notice fee, even if it's just 1 day late. So they actually charge me $20 on top of late fee for being just 1 day late. You think they would send you an email. I guess they'd rather tack on a $20 extra fee.

Cynthia Haley from Belton, TX on June 21st, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1315 and additional information.

Discount Power on June 27th, 2022

They let me wait more than 10 days without starting the service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is the worst electricity service I've ever working with. We applied for the account on 05/25, with the desire switch day was 05/27. They created the account number and because of THEIR problem, the account was duplicated, and THEIR issues, we haven't got any service. I've been contacted back and forth, more than 5 times calling with too many chat, all they said was "sorry, we understand your problem", and note down the issues. On 06/07, we still haven't got the services done, and all they do was telling me to wait another business day.
All were THEIR problem, and they instead of starting the service, they do ask you to wait another 10 days. This is not where you should pick your supplier, there are many other option. This is nonsense

Khanh Tran from Euless, TX on June 7th, 2022

Hi Khanh, thank you for your feedback. This isn't the kind of experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. If you would like help with your account, please contact us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1314 and additional information.

Discount Power on June 10th, 2022

They let me wait more than 10 days without starting the service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is the worst electricity service I've ever working with. We applied for the account on 05/25, with the desire switch day was 05/27. They created the account number and because of THEIR problem, the account was duplicated, and THEIR issues, we haven't got any service. I've been contacted back and forth, more than 5 times calling with too many chat, all they said was "sorry, we understand your problem", and note down the issues. On 06/07, we still haven't got the services done, and all they do was telling me to wait another business day.
All were THEIR problem, and they instead of starting the service, they do ask you to wait another 10 days. This is not where you should pick your supplier, there are many other option. This is nonsense

Khanh Tran from Euless, TX on June 7th, 2022

Hi Khanh, thank you for your feedback. This isn't the kind of experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. If you would like help with your account, please contact us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1314 and additional information.

Discount Power on June 10th, 2022

Good pricing but basic website
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I would recommend some of the plans from this company - the pricing seems to be very reasonable so far for my usage. The website is very basic though. There isn't any information given except how much energy you used in the previous month and how much your bill is. Other companies include usage graphs that track how much you use each month compared with the average temperature outside. Additionally, other companies give you data about how much you have used thus far in the month so you can plan ahead if you're using too much energy. I miss these features but the low cost makes it worth it for me.

Emily from Houston, TX on May 18th, 2022

Thanks Emily! We're glad that you're enjoying your experience with Discount Power. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others.

Discount Power on May 18th, 2022

Nickel and dime you with fees
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Overall, I haven't had an issue with Discount Power until one month where things were busy and I overlooked my bill for a couple weeks. Most honest companies will warn you about being disconnected for non-payment when the next month bill comes out. Not so with DP, instead within only a couple weeks of not paying your bill they send you a disconnect notice so they can greedily charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee. Then they add insult to injury by also charging a late fee. I could understand if it was going on to next month and no payment had been made, but a couple weeks... Really?! Disappointed and can't wait to switch to a more honest company.

CLT83 from Corpus Christi, TX on April 6th, 2022

Hi, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1313 and additional information.

Discount Power on April 12th, 2022

Beware of random and duplicate charges
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They lock you in at a low rate and once the promotional period is over, they will start duplicating charges they cannot explain. When I cancelled my service with them they charged a "disconnect recovery" fee even though I was on a month-to-month contract. Pointless arguing with customer services. Do not do business with Discount Power

AK30043 from Dallas, TX on February 25th, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1311 and additional information.

Discount Power on February 25th, 2022

Pathetic
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Cannot access my account online no matter what. Spent a ridiculous amount of time on the phone trying to fix the problem and nothing works.

Jim from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1304 and additional information.

Discount Power on February 9th, 2022

Worst electricity provider I've ever had!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My account was transferred from V247 Power ("V247") to Discount Power without my knowledge or consent. When I contacted them to discuss this unauthorized transfer, they advised me that they were the current owner of my account and if I sought to change providers I would have to pay the cancellation fee stated in my contract with V247. I have had repeated issues with their billing practices. I recently left town late in the day on 1/15 and returned on 1/25 - a total absence of 10 days. Upon my return, I found a bill from Discount Power in the mail collected by USPS during my trip. The bill indicated a due date of 1/24! The bill could not have been received at my residence any earlier than 1/17, which means Discount Power expected it paid within 7 days of receipt. Moreover, the invoice indicated that a late payment penalty of $10.21 would be added to the amount due if payment was not received by 1/24. Upon opening the bill, I immediately scheduled its payment with the bill pay service provided by my bank. Today, however, I received an email from Discount Power threatening to disconnect my power. Because I was unsure about the length of time it would take for my bank to issue payment to Discount Power, I visited its website and made a direct payment. I have lived in Houston for over 50 years. I have never missed paying my utility bills and have an excellent credit score. The manner in which Discount Power conducts business is far from consumer friendly instead, the company appears intent on collecting late fees on charges due by delivering invoices mere days before its payment is due.

LMG from Houston, TX on January 27th, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We'd like to investigate the issue with your account to see how we can help. Please contact us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1300 and additional information.

Discount Power on January 28th, 2022

Twrrible onlone features, not worth the lower price!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Website functionality is bottom tier, service support decent but you cannot have this quality of service online simply unacceptable. Autopay is broken, $30 charge if any payment method fails online, online usage history(day to day) non existent. Avoid imo.

Sam from Houston, TX on August 19th, 2021

We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power.

Discount Power on August 25th, 2021

Beyond Happy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My light bill has literally gone down 60% cheaper with Discount Power! Excellent customer service and always helpful! 5 STARS!

Love My Light Company! from Hitchcock, TX on August 11th, 2021
Robbers changing plans without notice. Online billing link never works
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My previous company sold customers to Discount power in 2020. The letter stated that the contract will not change from the previous provider. However, then changed my plan into monthly plan starting from March 2020. I contacted with customer service to complain, however, even the manager couldn't care less about the contract and did not resolve billing problem. The claimed that they sent me reminder about the change, however, they have never done so. I also told them that my contract change date is July not March.
Besides, monthly ebill they send does not work. I told them when we click on bill, it shows e-captcha, which changes every time you type letters, however does not let you get in your bill page. Manager could not care less about billing issue either.

Leaving Customer from Houston, TX on July 22nd, 2021

We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1274 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Discount Power on July 23rd, 2021

Website is always dysfunctioning
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I like the electricity company it stays decent for the most part but their website is never functioning properly I'm always having problems making a payment online it never fails and it's quite irritating now

Carleda from Fort Worth, TX on July 12th, 2021

We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying Discount Power but we are sorry that you are experiencing issues with our website. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.

Discount Power on July 13th, 2021

When are lights coming on
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I paid a deposit 3 days ago and still dont have lights their employees are writing the reviews do not use this company didnt want to give them not 1 star but 0 only way I could leave a review

Anice from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2002 and additional information.

Discount Power on July 13th, 2021

Took my deposit and still dont have lights
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This company has given me the run around for 3 days and I still dont have lights must have their employees to write the reviews because the only way to write this was to give a star they dont deserve

Brooks from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2021

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power, Brooks. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #2001 and additional information.

Discount Power on July 13th, 2021

Unauthorized Payments
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My bill was not due until the 7th of June and I am not enrolled in automatic payments. However, that didnt stop this company from taking money from my account without my authorization. Of course they did it on a holiday so there is no one for me to speak to about correcting this until the next day. Prices are competitive, but not when they decide to encroach on my finances.

James M. from Mesquite, TX on May 31st, 2021

We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1272 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Discount Power on June 1st, 2021

Neglect Loyal Customers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We are with Discount Power and really regretting it. We have been without power since 2:30 Sunday morning February 14th. It is now Tuesday the 16th at 5pm and still no power. We have not heard a word from Discount Power and have no idea when or if our power will return. They are obviously not fighting for their Customers with ERCOT because Discount Power Customers are getting the brunt of the curtailments. Still zero communication. What a terrible way to treat loyal Customers.

Brad Orr from Texas City, TX on February 16th, 2021

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power, Brad. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1267 and additional information.

Discount Power on February 24th, 2021

Terrible experience
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I used Discount Power as electric provider, but because of high bills I switched to another. After I disconnected the service my credit card was charged for final bill $37.89 from unknown business, which is U.S. Retailers LLC. Unauthorized charges has been rejected and fined $25 for wrong transation. Even after I filed complain to BBB about unauthorized charges, the U.S. Retailers LLC charged my credit card 3 more times. My bank charged them $25 for each unauthorized charge, which is total $100. The Discount Power responded 'satisfactorily closed', but filed case to collection agency after that.

Anonymous from Round Rock, TX on January 23rd, 2021

We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with Discount Power. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1262 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Discount Power on January 26th, 2021

Awful systems, awful transfer, awful experience
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My account with Discount Power was short, one month. My account was 'sold' to them just as my contract with another provider was ending. Conveniently, neither Discount Power nor the other provider found it important to tell me this. Once I'm up and running with my new provider, I received a letter from Discount Power that tells me I owe them for DOUBLE what I normally pay a month in electricity usage. Remember, I don't know who Discount Power is, I never signed on with them, or know they 'owned' my account.The Customer Service reps could care less about the fact that 1) I don't know who you are and I've never signed any agreement with you, 2) why my bill is DOUBLE what it historically is for that month. I argued that during the transfer of accounts something must have happened for my usage to be almost exactly double what it historically is. Discount Power's suggestion? Send a tech to see if my meter is ok. My meter is fine, oddly enough my new provider and the prior provider had no issues with it, only (you guessed it), Discount Power.The cherry on top of all this is that they never sent me a final bill for this one month of service (which I would have argued anyway), but sent my bill to a collection agency.Truly, an awful company to do business with. Stay away.

Customer In Spring from on January 13th, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1258 and additional information.

Discount Power on January 14th, 2021

Cramming
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

DISCOUNT POWER/US RETAILERS LLC started sending me bills for service in the middle of a two year contract with Stream Energy. The Kw rate was grossly inflated. Complaint filed with PUC - buyer beware.

Papa Cap from Mansfield, TX on October 31st, 2020

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.

Discount Power on November 18th, 2020

Worst Electric Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is worst electric company on the planet! I was a customer of Windrose Energy (AMAZING company!) and then they switched me over to Discount Power. This is a joke. They havent billed me correctly since the switch. Windrose even evaluates my bills, confirmed the error, and spoke to them to resolve the issue. A month goes by where I got no notification of a bill due, so I thought they credited me the $135 for their error. Then all of a sudden, I get an email about a pst due amount and a notice about a scheduled disconnection! When I called them, the customer service reps I spoke to were completely u helpful and blamed me for their error! I finally spoke to one woman who understood my frustration and did everything in her power to help me. Besides her, the entire company is a f-ing joke! Go to Windrose Energy! You will not be disappointed!

Danielle L from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1245 and additional information.

Discount Power on October 19th, 2020

Overbilling
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My account was transferred to Discount Power from another company. Received my first bills and found out they were charging me CenterPoint delivery charges which were included in my base rate with the other company. Contacted Discount Power and was told they would look into it and correct the issue and credit my account. Received my next bill with delivery charges again and not credit. Contacted them again and they will fix the problem and credit my account. Call to pay the last bill but did not want to pay the pass thru part of the bill and was told a disconnect order could be put in place ask to speak to her supervisor who put a hold on the overcharge until it could be corrected. After numerous calls and being told they were working on it I finally cancelled my service. Three working days later I received my credits to my account. The next day I received my final bill with early cancellation fee. When ask to talk to my account manager's supervisor was told twice he was out.

Tommy White from 776584 on October 12th, 2020

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.

Discount Power on October 13th, 2020

Was charged for 7 months after cancellation
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I e-mailed them to cancel, they've charged me 7 months and never once tried to get in contact even after someone rented out the apartment

Don't Do Business Here from Houston, TX on October 7th, 2020

Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with Discount Power.

Discount Power on October 8th, 2020

Didn't transfer service to my new address when I moved
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

1. My account with Windrose Energy was converted to Discount Power without advanced notice from either company. I found out about the transition before moving, when I called Windrose Energy to change my service to the new address. I was told to contact Discount Power. 2. I contacted Discount Power, and was assured that the transition from Windrose Energy to Discount Power would be seamless, and my service would transfer to my new address. 3. Discount Power did not terminate service at my old address on the planned date, and billed me for 8 extra days after the move-out date, until the account was force-canceled due to a new tenant beginning service at that address. This was the first email I ever received from Discount Power - I was never given a chance to create an online account. 4. Discount Power never initiated service at my new address, so my apartment complex is charging me a "vacant service fee" and 12 days of electricity at a very bad rate, until I became aware of Discount Power's failure and initiated service with another provider.5. Discount Power was unhelpful via chat and phone when I tried to get the issue resolved. I was told if I wanted service at the new address, I would need to re-apply as a new customer, get a new credit check, etc., instead of the seamless transition I was promised.

Eric from Pflugerville, TX on August 16th, 2020

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.

Discount Power on September 2nd, 2020

Horrible customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Spoke to a customer service supervisor named Ismail today. Ismail raises his voice and questions me back on the energy charge on my EFL. I was with Windrose Energy and they sold my plan over to DiscountPower and it was immediately night and day between the two companies. I thought a with a title of Customer Service Supervisor, they are supposed to know how to explain to the consumer in a calm and clear manner, so that the consumer can understand the bill. Well, not today. Today was the first time I called DiscountPower and it will be the last. I don't intend to call again unless I have to. I will definitely switch to a new utility provider when this contract is over. DiscountPower deserves a 'F' in the customer service rating. Hopefully this review helps some other people out there.

NV from Sugar Land, TX on August 12th, 2020

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.

Discount Power on September 2nd, 2020

I have been taken advantage of. Overcharged
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been overcharged for energy services. I have been a long-term customer & have been charged more than double market rates.

Mary G from Tomball, TX on August 6th, 2020

We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Discount Power. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account # and additional information.

Discount Power on September 2nd, 2020

4 days and no electricity
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had submitted my id when i asked to simply switch over my services to my new adress they said it will take up to 48 hours, it has been 4 days already and still nothing and when i call they jus keep saying oh give it a little more time it should come on, still nothing. Was told to wait until 4 if not call back and they close at 5 do ive got 1 hour to get this figured out if not itll be another day without power, but when they need a payment they are all up on you trying to collect but when it comes to services not working theyre so quick to get you off the phone by saying oh just wait it out

Martin Solorio from Crosby, TX on December 9th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1254 and additional information.

Discount Power on December 10th, 2020

Be Aware
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had a great plan for 15 months. When it came to renew, no such plans. They gave a saver 9 plan and mumbo jumbo it so I didn't catch that there was utility charge. All those hidden charges. Now they have messed me around and will make up all the money from the original plan. All the flowery words. Be Careful you will get screwed.

Nancy from Friendswood, TX on November 22nd, 2019
Terrible Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Do not pay this company through online banking. They will hold your payment until after the due date and charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee along with late fees. I have had to call the last 4 months because of this. They are now refusing to refund me my money because in their words, "they cannot control how long it takes their accounting department to post payments unless the account is set up with auto draft." I have spent over 4 hours on the phone dealing with this issue and now they are refusing to refund over $50 in late fees even though I have proof of when the checks where mailed, received, and deposited by them.

Unhappy Customer from Abilene, TX on November 4th, 2019
Watch out - They intend to double your rate without reminders!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

So I'm on a one year plan. At the end of that plan I forgot to set a reminder and DP didn't bother to remind me either. What they did was double my KWH rate instead. I didn't notice in the spring because we don't use much electricity. This summer I looked at my bill and got a shock. Rate went for 8c per KWH to 18c per KWH - without notice.That's absolutely stealing, gouging and taking advantage of a customer base. I called to get resolution and got absolutely none. My bill that should have been $200 was $450. Customer service is piss poor at best, had to go through India and two supervisors to be told "Tough, you owe us." Feel free to sign up, but set a reminder or they'll steal from you too. I'm on hold as I write this. If you're seeing it, it means they chose to end the relationship poorly. I am giving them the choice of whether they handle it ethically or I post this review. Final answer "Sorry, we won't help".

THEY WILL STEAL FROM YOU! from Flower Mound, TX on September 5th, 2019
Shady
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When shifting from Discount to PennyWise and back to Discount, rate changed even though was pledged it would stay the same. When I contacted Customer Service was told they had lost those records. Lying or sloppy, either was it's unprofessional. Finally get it rectified after about three months. Finished out the term of contract but did not renew.

Marc from Krum, TX on August 1st, 2019

Hi Marc,
We appreciate you providing this feedback. We apologize for your negative experience. We will be happy to look in to your account. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account number and a good phone number to reach you at and we will be happy to further assist you.

Discount Power on August 13th, 2019

DO NOT USE
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was a customer with Discount Power for 2 years before they switched over to Pennywise. During the transition, I never received a renewal notice in the mail or an email, so I got my bill for the next month that was over $250 for the winter. I immediately called to figure out why it was so high, and they informed me that I had failed to renew my contract and was switched to a variable plan. I told them I had never received a notice telling me it was time. They checked their records and told me I had received an email in JULY. This is December. Sorry, bro, must've slipped my mind that I was supposed to renew in SIX MONTHS. They then proceeded to tell me that I would be credited $85 for their mistake. WRONG. Here we are in May. We are moving, so I'm having to cancel the account. Not only have I never (and will never) receive the credit (even after calling MULTIPLE times and speaking to representatives to get the money owed), but I'm also having to pay the $75 early termination fee because I'm moving and absolutely not going to be using them again. I will never receive the $85 because I never "reached the minimum kilowatt usage for the account." This is a company that will do anything for a buck -- cares more about money than its customers. The customer is definitely not "always right," but actually "needs to be convinced they are wrong no matter what."

Jordan from Sealy, TX on May 21st, 2019
After 12 months of service. Zero issues. Great prices all year.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I used GeekYourRate. com and found Discount Power as one of my top choices. Part way through the year they it sounded like they were bought out by Pennywise Power. After about 5 months of this it went back to Discount Power. Then entire 12 months I received great rates. Cheapest year I spent on electric in over 5 years. 100% renewable wind energy. I have no complaints and would do it again.

1 Year Later... Here's My Review from Lake Dallas, TX on May 17th, 2019

Glad we couple help! We're if you need us.

Discount Power on June 26th, 2019

Bought out, then bought out again, then bought out again.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

You want your account on autopay? Then avoid them like the plague they'll "SWITCH" companies every few months and reset all your information online, make no mistake this is done to scalp fees on those who had autopay setup

Joe from Pearland, TX on May 17th, 2019

Hi Joe, we value your business and your experience is important to us. Could you please send us your account information at feedback@discountpowertx.com, so that we may identify the account and help better assist you?

Thank you

Discount Power on June 26th, 2019

Poor Customer Care: Shut off power without notice or communication
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Discount power cut off my power. I could not figure out why since I schedule my payments on auto pay. I checked my emails. The most recent email was from 2 days before telling me my bill was due May 2nd (2 weeks away). There was no indication that my account was in peril. I went online to my account and there was no autopay set up. Okay, no problem, my bill wasn't due for 2 weeks. I called them and never talked to a real person but the automated system confirmed that my bill was due May 2nd. And then they mentioned that I had an overdue amount of $120. I never received any communication concerning an overdue amount. I paid the amount through the automated system. Interesting though is that they only charged me for the amount of $280 due on May 2nd. It was a mystery I didn't care to solve. It was poor customer care and poor customer service. I promptly hung up the phone and switched to a provider I've used in the past. Their rates may be a few cents higher but their customer service is rock solid.

Texas_woman70 from Dallas, TX on April 24th, 2019
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF! RUDE STAFF! STAY AWAY from this company.If there was such a thing as a negative star review I would have given Discount Power a (-10) as opposed to the one star I'm confined to here.Oh my God, where do I even start? It's all about customer service. The attitude of the staff over the phone was ridiculous. And my negative experience with them wasn't a one-time occurence; it happened numerous times. It was so bad that I actually do remember the names of some of the notable ill-mannered service reps that I talked to (Jessica, Erica, Letti). Letti is actually not a customer service rep but works in the billing/accounting/customer-refund department. The girl should never be allowed to interact with customers. There was a systemic glitch (admitted to and explained to me by all three mentioned above) within the company that led to an over-billing of my account. These folks wouldn't offer a simple apology for their mishap. It took four phone calls that lasted hours before they could finally come to reason with my complaints and agree to issue a refund. THEY WERE ALL SO RUDE AND DISMISSIVE. It was a horrendous experience. To make matters worse, Discount Power continued to charge me for 38 days at my old address even after they had disconnected service at that address. These ladies still wouldn't apologize for such an egregious error. I was beyond shock and dismay.If you're looking for an electricity provider with a decent customer service, Discount Power is not the company to sign up with. The company needs help. I wouldn't have written such a negative review if my negative experience with it's customer service reps was a one-time affair. It happened too many times and therefore took it as an obligation to have my voice heard.

Houstonian from Houston, TX on December 4th, 2018
Billing and Account Manager Errors
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up a 18 months power contract with Discount Power in September 2018 with auto pay in my account. I received my first bill in October and the payment due date was on Oct. 29, 2018. I received a payment confirmation e-mail on Oct. 29, 2018 from Discount Power stated that they have received my payment on that date. Today, October 31, 2018, I received a disconnection e-mail from Discount Power to state that my account was past due. I called the customer service right away and they admitted that it was a communication error by them. The representative told me they would correct this error. From now on, I will really need to pay attention to the billing. I will make sure that they will not charge extra to my account.

C.K. from Sugar Land, TX on October 31st, 2018
Terrible and Dishonest
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for power with Discount Power on Aug 24th and got everything switched over. Received my first bill on 09/28/2018 with a due date of 10/01/2018. We usually pay all our bills on Wednesday of each week. Wednesday was 10/03/2018 and we received a disconnect notice in the mail. We paid the bill that day, but the next bill had over 40.00 worth of late fees for paying a bill due on 10/01/2018 by 10/03/2018. I called to ask for leniency since I did not even receive the first bill until 3 days before its due date and the gentlemen on the phone who was clearly from another country rudely stated that I could look at the bill and see that it was late after the first and if I didn't want late fees I should pay by the due date. The next bill has a due date of 10/29/2018, just 11 days after receiving the bill. I hear they charge $250.00 for discontinuing their service, but at this point they can eat that. Run far and fast from Discount Power. They have 0 American support by phone and their website payment method only works some times. I had to try 3 times to get a payment to go through. Each payment would fail. I got a call from the bank asking me If I was trying to make 3 payments to Discount Power for the same amount and told them no. They canceled all 3 payments. I then made the actual payment over the phone. They want to charge you an inconvenience fee.

Texans With No Power from Rowlett, TX on October 18th, 2018
Poor customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Energy Ogre signed us up with this company, great rate for a year, then sky rocketed. Would not even consider working with an established customer. Due date for payment constantly changed as well.

Susan from Pearland, TX on July 5th, 2018
Discount Power Review
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had this company for a year and was very satisfied with their service that I signed up for another 3 years. Great service.

Evelyn from Richmond, TX on June 5th, 2018
18-month customer--very satisfied!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Our home is 1500 SF and it's only 2 years old. My husband and I set the thermostat at 72 in the summers and 68 in the winters. Our bills with Discount Power are the lowest in our subdivision and average about $55-$60/month. The one from this month was only $37. I'm not sure what the issue everyone is having, but our experience has been excellent with Discount Power. We enjoy our fixed rates and no additional surcharges like the other electric providers. Thank you, Discount Power!

Florence from Abilene, TX on May 15th, 2018
Floating due dates and non posting of payments
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I am just about fed up with these people. They issued me a disconnect notice the day the bill is due which was irritating as anything because the due date was always on the 15th and that month they changed it to the 12th. But that was my first unpleasant experience with them and they did waive the late fee when I called them. Forgiven.... Then I made a payment through their portal like I have been doing since I signed up with these people almost a year ago yet "they never received it". It cleared my Bank of America checking account the evening I made the payment yet after 15 days of still fighting with them, they tell me BOA is famous for taking the money out of an account yet not paying them. Really???? I have never had that problem anywhere else and I have been with BOA since 1988. Had to make the same payment again using a credit card not issued from BOA. Double my payment and they said unless BOA sends the money (again) they won't post the 2nd payment on my account. Can't wait for my contract to be O.V.E.R!!!!

Done In La Porte from La Porte, TX on May 1st, 2018
Horrible biling system
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Bill due 04/09/2018. Online bill pay system failed to function. 04/11/2018 DNP issued and $22 fee on a $45 electric bill. Rip off company. Stay away.

Michael from Deer Park, TX on April 11th, 2018
Good prices for new customers. Long contract terms available. Renewal offers aren't very attractive.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Signed up with Discount Power on a two year contract via Power To Choose. Sign up was easy and pricing worked out to be very cheap, around 7.5 cents/KwH on average over a year including TDSP charges, based on my typical usage patterns. They offer flat rate plans and tiered usage plans. If you go with a tiered plan, make very sure you know how the formula works and what your estimated costs are going to be based on past usage. Make sure to use the auto bill pay and keep your payment information up to date.No problems with billing or anything else during the 24 months I had them. Until renewal time, I had no need to contact customer service.When renewal time got close they sent me a reminder email with links to their renewal offers. Those offers were not competitive with others on Power To Choose. They still had very attractive plans available to new customers but those were not available to me. I ended up switching to another provider at the end of my contract due to this, but would consider going back to Discount Power in the future if I'm eligible for the new customer plans again.I like that they have 24 and 36 month contracts. If you get a good deal that gets the price locked in for a long time.

Good Prices For New Customers. Long Contract Terms Available. Renewal Offers Aren't Very Attractive. from Round Rock, TX on March 1st, 2018
Awful
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Just paid a $443.17 bill for heating a 1500 square home in Galveston. This was for January. Yes, the house is well insulated. Do NOT try to work with this company. You can't even pay them through your bank when paying other bills.

Clara from Galveston, TX on February 11th, 2018
Will make you fool
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Dont go with them, they will make you fool. My average billing is monthly $60 - 80, but last month i got $ 290 for 2 Bedroom Apartment. I asked them why its so high, then they told me its may be very cold weather in Houston. I asked 2 months ago Houston was very warm, then my bill should be $500 and I set auto temperature 67, so it can come 2100 Kwh usages. If you have 4-5 bedroom house, then you have to ready to pay $1000 every month.They are not ready to help and its a fake company.

Anshuman Khandelwal from Houston, TX on January 21st, 2018
Future former customer!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Simply, their web site log in is horrible!

Jan from Houston, TX on November 30th, 2017
Poor Bill Processing / Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Just transferred to Discount Power. Process was easy, but it took a while to get my first statement. First payment made from online banking on 9/22; due date was 9/29. Discount Power is not capable of electronic payments, so credit union sent a paper check - no different than how other non-electronic accounts are handled. Received disconnect notice on 10/2 BY EMAIL. Called Discount's customer service, who stated that they only email notices. She was very terse, bordering on rude. Said to give it a few more days to allow the payment to post. Credit union verified that the check was sent, but that the check was never cashed or returned. Received a mail notice of power disconnect on 10/5. Again contacted customer service, and again got a person who obviously would rather be doing something else. The check still had not been posted, so I ended up paying by credit card over the phone. She - like the previous agent - stated that Discount Power recommends to not use online banking, and that it could take up to 12 days for them to post a paper check. They tried everything to get me to add my checking account or credit card information to the Discount Power customer portal for my account, but after this first experience right out of the box, I do not trust them, and do not want them in charge of my account information. If I continue to have payment issues with this company, I will file with the PUC, and have my account nullified and move my business elsewhere, to a company who has some idea of what customer service should be. I fear that Discount Power's statement process does not allow time for manual check payment by the due date, thereby ensuring that they can charge additional late fees to customers.

Customer from Frisco, TX on October 6th, 2017
Great Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with them for almost two years. The plan price was great. I appreciate the fact that their billing is straightforward and dependable. (The company that I had before them did their billing at odd times so it was difficult to tell if the bill was too high or not.) Would recommend Discount Power to everyone.

Satisfied Customer from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2017
Beware of outrageous late fees
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

If you are late with your payment by even a day, you will get hit with two charges: late fee and disconnect fee amounting to over $50. Even if it's their fault when the website malfunctions and bills are not being emailed to customers as expected. So if you are one of those people who is always on top of your bills or if you are willing to let them take money out of your account automatically, you will be ok. Otherwise, look elsewhere or risk loosing all those savings you are hoping to get by signing up with this company.

A from Houston, TX on August 25th, 2017
Terrible Billing and Account Management
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have excellent credit scores (in the 800s) and always pay my bills before they are due. I received a Delinquency and Disconnect Notice from Discount Power on 5 days AFTER they deposited my check. I have back records that prove they received my check and and deposited it before the payment was due, yet I still received a delinquency / discount notice. When I called customer service that could not confirm receipt of the check...all they could tell me was that I have until the 5th of the next month before being disconnected and to check back before that time to see if they can verify my check has been deposited. This is nuts!

Highly Dissapointed from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2017
Rip-off at end of contract
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Everything was Ok until my contract ended. I was on autopay and did not notice that I had not received the paper billing in June or July. This was convenient for them right after my contract had ended and my rate went up so I would not catch it until it hit my credit card billing. True I should have been on top of it and I will set a calendar reminder when I sign up for the new replacement provider. My previous provider was nice enough to send a reminder and suggest one of their current plans as a replacement just before the contract ended. In addition to this they added a $5 manual billing charge for each of the 2 houses each month even though they had my card and automatically charged it.

Dan L. from League City, TX on August 22nd, 2017
Bait & Switch
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Discount Power has sketchy billing. Says one thing, and does another through add ons expenses.The kicker was an Undisclosed Termination Fee.Done.Don't use this Electrical provide.

Burned from Houston, TX on August 10th, 2017
2nd Renewal-Great $$
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Renewed with Discount for the 2nd time. The rates were the lowest when I signed up 2 years ago and they've offered me virtually the same renewal rate 2 years in a row. Both renewal offers have been significantly less than what is on the current market for other providers. Sign up was simple and I have never had a need to contact Discount for anything in the 2 plus years of service. Would highly recommend Discount Power.

TC from Houston, TX on May 22nd, 2017
Billing issues
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My mail goes through an annex which causes a few extra days for me to get my mail. The company can not mail out my bill a few days earlier and always charges late fees and fees for sending me a late bill. I have resorted to sending in random payments of $50 so there is some sort of payment until I get the bill in the mail.

Disgusted from Houston, TX on May 14th, 2017
If only I'd checked reviews! Worst service ever
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I use the Power to Choose website to look for a good deal, and I mistakenly thought I'd found one. Discount Power sends out disconnection notices within two days of the due date, regardless of whether the bill has been received or not, and charges for the notice - not the actual disconnection. I was appalled to get a disconnect notice *before* I even got my very first bill! Their customer service and billing practices are awful.

Razzie from Houston, TX on February 8th, 2017
When Contract is Up - Switch Providers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The prices are fine for new customers. When the contract is up switch providers. My renewal offer was higher than my current offer. I called to see if a better renewal offer could be given seeing as more competitive offers were available (at nearly half the rate) at other companies. I spoke with a monotone sounding agent who did not seem interested in retaining me. I signed up with a new company in a matter of a half hour and called Discount Power back to let them know I would be leaving when my contract was up. The agent did not seem concerned. Moral of the story, it is business. Know the game. When your contract is up be ready to switch to the next best "new customer" offering by another electricity provider. I am now going from around 9 cents per kWh plus the $5 per month to pay the bill fee to a flat around 5 cents per kWh (without the $5 to pay the bill fee). Nice.

Power Game from Houston on December 25th, 2016
Incompetent, unprofessional, poorly trained customer service phone representatives
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Inquiry about a billing issue resulted in my being given false information about payment authorization; CS rep refused to transfer my call to a supervisor. I had to call back twice to get a supervisor to resolve the bank authorization issue.

Dissatisfied Customer from Richmond on October 21st, 2016
Works for me
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is my 4th electricity provider. At this point, I'm just looking for the cheapest provider. All providers have lots of fine print making it not easy to comparison shop, even among different plans from the same provider. However, switching is easy. They took my order, there was no disruption in service, you have to sign up for auto bill pay in order to not get charged the extra service fee (which they tell you when you sign up.) 3 months later, no issues, just the lowest power bills I've ever experienced. Discount Power is a no frills operation. No weekly emails reporting your usage. The website is primitive. I have not had to contact customer service. But if all you care about is low cost power, this is the place.

ScottW from Houston on October 12th, 2016
Excellent rates...poor billing management, worst customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Even though they offer very attractive and competitive rates, their billing management needs a lot of improvement as well as their customer service section.You have to be clever and carefully check your bill every month. I had two bad experiences, the first one regarding charges not disclosed in the bill and the most recent involved my Lite-Up discount. Discount Power did not apply this discount even though I got them proof of my certification. After clarifying this issue, they got me a credit but they did not apologize for their mistakes.Basically they just do billing, representatives do not know their product/services, so you can't expect much from them at the time of resolving issues.

Maurice from Harlingen on July 24th, 2016
It seems to me that satisfied customers are underrepresented here
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've been with Discount Power for over a year and have had an excellent experience. Great low price, great customer service, no extra fees on my bill, bank account debited for the correct amount on the 20th of every month like clockwork. Absolutely no complaints.

Peter from Houston on June 3rd, 2016
Discount Power is GREAT !!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for the 2 year Discount Power saver - no gimmicks option with a $ .0681 per kwh fixed rate charge. which included Oncor delivery charges, in January 2016. I cancelled a contract with Reliant that was averaging 12 cents per kwh overall including Oncor and paid a cancellation fee to boot. I also signed up for direct billing to my credit card each month to avoid paying more and to eliminate any/all contingencies such as late payments etc. To date thru 5/1/16 I have saved over $230 bucks over what I would have paid Reliant and I'm under contract for 2 full years so I expect to save close to $2000 or more thru the contract period especially when it gets hot and usage is 1500kwhs or more. I CHALLENGE anyone to find a cheaper fixed rate anywhere. Do your homework thru powertochoose.org and check out the savings, BUT read the fine print. Get a FIXED no gimmicks rate that applies to any/all usage hours so you are not blindsided. . Pay your bill on time and avoid costly charges. I read all these negative reviews and they do Discount Power a disservice. My experience has been absolutely fantastic and I save , save and save.......I could not be happier. Feel free to contact me and discuss !!

Wally Dering from Bedford on May 4th, 2016
Poor Billing Management
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with this provider for 8 months. At the beginning I just had a complaint on the fee they charge for not enrolling yourself in the auto-payment.
Lately, I have received an extremely confusing bill containing a series of "debits and credits" concepts, but no explanation at all. I called asking for details but they stated that they just collect the information from AEP (field operations contractor) and they do not know the exact nature of such charges/debits. It has been a very unpleasant experience dealing with Customer Care? Representatives that are not interested at all in giving a good service.

Mauricio E from Harlingen on April 28th, 2016
Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Called this company to review plans. Wait time was very long, spoke to three different people and not one of them identified themselves when they started talking, I had to ask each of them their name. Level of knowledge of their product was little to none. How can you sell a product and not be able to answer questions to a potential client. Because their knowledge was so limited one of them started yelling and over talking me. They will not be getting my business. Customer Service is KEY, know your product, and treat each caller like you care and want their business, be professional, it goes a long way. First impression is a lasting impression. Good luck to anyone who chooses these guys, I won't.

LIZ from Houston on April 25th, 2016
They Charge Your Credit Card Without Your Authorization
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

It has happened twice already that I was late to pay my bill and when I login to pay the bill online, I realize that they have charged my credit card without my authorization. When I called to complain, they try to divert the conversation without denying and they don't know what to answer when you ask "who authorized this transaction". This is illegal. Beware!

FT from Houston on March 15th, 2016
Good service and good price
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had Discount Power for one year now. Never had any problems. I saved $330 this year over my previous year with TXU.

GW from Plano on February 24th, 2016
Read before you get into it.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Signed up for something called Prime Product didn't really read what I was getting into apparently had to user more than 1000 to get $65 and the 3.5 cent avg. what a rip off. called them was able to get another plan for 8.14 no matter what i use. Which is still saving but no what i expected

Gabriel Munoz from Houston on February 11th, 2016
No Problems at All - Great Rate - Perfect Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I just renewed with Discount Power and got $0.0794 / kwh for 24 months fixed. I have been with Discount Power for 1 year. When I originally signed up I was concerned with the negative reviews regarding customer service. I went ahead anyway, and carefully followed all of the rules for signup, including sending in their CC authorization form. I have had NO PROBLEMS since signup. Every month they email my bill well in advance of the CC auto-payment, giving me time to question any charges. NO PROBLEMS. RATES AND CHARGES AS CONTRACTED. So it looks to me like folks who can't understand or don't care to follow contract terms probably just shouldn't sign contracts - or write reviews.

L. Carpenter from Katy on January 26th, 2016
Yo
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Horrible. I was late on a payment.....they cut my power. Made the payment. Power back on. I am not allowed to login to my account online for 6 months....as the penalty.

I wish I was kidding, but no.

Can't wait to get away from these clowns.

Roberto from Houston on January 14th, 2016
Poor Customer Service/Non-Existant
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Untrustworthy company. Never honored advertised promotion. Most importantly, extremely poor customer service. Never returned calls. On many occasions, waited to speak to a customer service representative for hours. After such a lengthy wait, the call directed to a recorded voice mail!

AA from Cypress on December 23rd, 2015
OMG! They double-debited my account for the initial deposit
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Have been on them for less than 2 weeks and they have already cost me $105 in NSF fees and although I have proof they caused my account to go negative, they refuse to refund the NSF fees. They said we signed up online and got impatient and hit a button too fast and one person even told me "that's why I never trust doing anything on the internet." I told her she lives in a world kind of far from the current world because millions of people make millions of transactions online every day. I do all my shopping online and I have never had my card double debited for the same amount - EVER! I'm a software writer - I know this is a software bug and they know it too because they already have a canned response for being debited twice. Their response is that someone got impatient while signing up. So no, they didn't debit my account twice - we inadvertently paid twice and it is our fault. I got my first bill yesterday and it shows the deposit being paid only once, not twice. They did refund the $300 but their software bug still cost me over $100. I can only imagine, based on the other reviews, what kind of nightmare paying my monthly bill is going to be going forward. Really wish I'd seen these reviews prior to signing up and going to try to find a way out of this deal. The customer service people sound bored and apathetic. I ask for a manager and I get someone who sounds identical to the customer service person I'd just spoken with, or who sounds even more bored and apathetic. After many calls to them, you know the minute they answer the phone they have no intention of actually helping you.

Nikki Gore from Dallas on December 18th, 2015
Discount power it aint
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

These guys suck, unethical late charges claim my bank sent the payments late every month. C/S rep just wanted to argue about how my online bill pay works. called back and cancelled and emailed.

Carl Simpson from Euless on October 29th, 2015
BEWARE
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

For the second month in a row, I have received a late fee. My payment was due 10/13/15. My bank record states the following: Payment check # XXX was sent to Discount Power on 10/5/15 and delivered on 10/8/15. Funds were withdrawn from Account # XXX on 10/8/15. The payment was applied on 10/15/15. Am mad as hell with this company. Calling customer service is a joke. Luckily, I only have till 3/16 before I can dump this unethical company. I would never recommend this company to anyone and urge those reading to stay clear if you are considering switching to them

Allen from Spring on October 20th, 2015
Just bad
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had discount power for less than 60 days and I am switching providers. I just received my first bill Friday, which says it's due later this month, but with a previous balance. They just shut off my power, and when I called to ask what was going on, they said I had until yesterday to pay the previous balance. They acknowledged they hadn't given me a disconnection notice, but refused to change the due date on the balance(till tomorrow!), or turn the power back on. It's the first time I've dealt with them and I can't believe the total lack of professionalism towards a brand new customer. When I asked to cancel my account, and what the balance was total I could expect to be deducted from my deposit, she 'wouldn't' tell me, and kept wanting me to get online( which I can't do, because, you know, power), and send an email to cancel, before finally going 'okay, fine, you're canceled.' Who knows what will actually happen?This whole thing is over $50.00, by the way, not some astronomical amount. I'd pay it, but I couldn't believe they'd admit they were in the wrong and expect me to sit without power for 24 hours.

Abby from Houston on October 13th, 2015
Overcharged
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

If one day late you get hit with penalty charges, late charges, payment charges and it just goes on and on and on. Called them after receiving my 3rd bill with added charges and they kept insisting the past 2 bills late charges were not paid. So untrue as all late charges were paid in full, after a long tug of war on this with them finally placed a request to remove.. Argued with them to remove late charges to current bill not due until another 2 weeks but they kept wanting to keep on my bill insisting that late charges have not been paid. Extremely very poor customer service. If you don't pay by or before due date you receive disconnection notice plus lots of late charge on 1 day after bill is due......soooooo outrageous. Never encountered this issue with past utility service TXU....definitely will reconsider my options.

Naya Hicks from Houston on September 11th, 2015
High Five to Discount Power!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

High five to Discount Power! No hidden service charges or fixed charges to pad your bill. The effective price you pay per kilowatt is the same regardless of your level of usage. I am paying less now per kilowatt than I have over the past eight years. 16% less than Spark. 17% less than Frontier. 15% less than Reliant. 9% less than Tri-Eagle. 13% less than Startex.

Mark Wagner from Houston on September 8th, 2015
Beware of autopay method which Discount power will try to cheat you for the $5 monthly fee
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was told pay by my bank then I will not have any other charges. Later I learned after payment I have to signup with Discount Power auto pay method in order not to be charged with $5 monthly fee. Discount Power never told me at time of signup I have to use their signup in fact One can NOT logon to their website since you have not start with Discount Power. Sounds like a scheme just to charge the new customer $5 per month until customer questioned the %5 fee.

Shane from Fort Woth on August 20th, 2015
Discount Power - Total Satisfaction, so far
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I switched to Discount Power as of 7/16/2015 because they had the lowest 2 year price of any provider. I just got my first bill. It is exactly as per the EFL and taxes/fees are lower than I has with TXU. At this point, I challenge you to find lower prices. I am totally satisfied at this point in time.

Stan Franklin from Carrollton on August 11th, 2015
Be very careful!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My plan rates are cheap and ordering it was a snap. But if you are so much as 3 days late in your payment they send out a disconnection notice... and charge you $20 plus tax for the privilege! After I complained on the phone, the agent agreed to waive the late fee for this one time; we'll see if this actually happens.

Jason from Houston on August 4th, 2015
Carefully read the "fact sheet"
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I strongly encourage you to look at the fact sheet. You will NOT get 500kw, 1000kw, or 2000kw rate as advertise. It's a shame.

Bic V. from Houston on July 9th, 2015
Misleading Advertising!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up for Plus-12 from Discount Power, that promised Average Price 6.3¢ kWh (based on 2000 kWh per month). When I used 8000 kWh the first month, my average price was above 9¢ kWh! I called customer service and was told that only if I hit EXACTLY 2000 kWh do I get the 6.3¢ kWh rate!

Joe Smith from Dallas on June 22nd, 2015
Lost our check and then cashed BOTH
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We received a red, past due letter when we had sent our payment in as soon as we received it. I called, they said they never got it 2 weeks earlier, so I paid over the phone. Lady was rude on the phone. I guess they found my check somewhere over there after 2 weeks and cashed it too. They never called me about it. Ugh.

Stacey from Mcgregor on June 11th, 2015
Credit fraud ALERT
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When I signed up to transfer my service to Discount Power I was required to provide my SS#. While I hesitated, I gave it (bad move). I had not given it to any other persons in the recent 12 months. Within 8 days I was contacted about an attempt to obtain a new credit card using my SS# . I contacted Customer Service about this but was told their online application was completely secure (are any of them?). When I responded that I did not use the online application but provided all the info to one of their employees,. there was no response.

Linda from The Woodlands on May 14th, 2015
Do not sign up with Discount Power
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up with Discount Power. When I got, they charged me $2.00 for paper bill. I never had to pay any fees for a paper bill. When I called their customer service, no one could help. I asked for billing department, they had none. I asked for a supervisor. I talked to him and he said he would remove $2.00 paper bill fees and I would see credit. I will wait for the next bill. If it is not removed and I do not see any credit, I will report to Texas Public Utility Commission.

Joe from Frisco on February 8th, 2015
DIDNT WANT TO TRY IT, BUT GAVE IT A TRY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had received several calls from this company Discount Power. Told them i was not interested in every single call. But when i spoke with one of their representatives, Joe he was a very well educated person with vast knowledge and passion in his job and showed me that what they actually wanted to do was just help me out with my light bill and reduce my bill to help me start saving money. He informed me of how the discount works and all the terms and procedures in order to get my discount applied Only thing i didn't appreciate was the noise in the background but after i got my discount applied i was a bit nervous of the following months and the electric bill. But it has been my 5th month now, and i am still paying under the duquesne rate.

CHRISTOPHER from Aliquippa on November 19th, 2014
Terrible customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I called to switch the electricity to my new apartment. However, they never made the switch and claimed that I never called. I have a record to prove that I called. They were very rude to me, and were accusing me of never having made the call. They claim that they don't take those requests over the phone and that they have no record of my call. I would not recommend this company at all. I should have stayed with my previous provider of Bounce Energy.

Lcachip from Houston on September 5th, 2014
Pleased with Discount Power after new ownership
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I started using Discount in May following the change of ownership in March. I've been very pleased. Initially my auto billing had a hiccup, but I found customer service to be fast and helpful.

Thomas from Round Rock on August 28th, 2014
Disgraceful - AND fake reviews!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

How is it that Brad S. of Houston writes the EXACT SAME REVIEW on 05.24.2011 as Adam's review on 10.24.2012?? Scam! Discount Power is posting false positive reviews but like the rest of what they do, they are too lazy to do even that correctly. Their customer service is beyond awful. How bad? You call, go through their menu, and no matter which option you choose, the phone then gives you a busy signal or cuts you off! I mean...I don't expect the world but at least have a number that works!! Switching service ASAP. FROM THE SITE EDITOR: Thank you for alerting me to these reviews. It's sometime difficult to catch duplicates that are entered over long periods of time. Thanks to your tip I went through and removed several Discount Power reviews that were from the same customers making multiple entries!

Disappointed from Houston on August 18th, 2014
Crooks
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I signed up the company a few months back at a rate of .0069. That didn't last long once I see that the fees were getting way too high I called and cancel them as my supplier. Apparently customer service sucks because my request got lost and it's been over 3 months of billing cycle I received my bill for February and it was outrageous. I called again and raised HELL so hopefully this will be the last of me contacting them. I will stick to UI.

Simone from New Haven on February 1st, 2014
Ripoff!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Raised rate from 0.0989 to 0.219. Don't use or get outrageous electric bill!

Marty from Danbury on January 26th, 2014
No warning on increase from .089 to .1999 - furious!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Their generation charges on my bill alone this month are more than the total of any of my bills in 7 years .. A 150$ bill was 312.$ this month ...237.$ in generation charges ...are they out of their minds !?!? Hopefully everyone will pick up on their scam...poor customer relations and satisfaction..will be switching supplier a.s.a.p !!

Lauren B from Danbury on January 26th, 2014
Rip Offs
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Their rates more than doubled after initial sign up period with no warning. Just received an outrageous bill. Total rip off company Do Not Use them!!!

Ates More Than Doubled After Initial Period With N from West Haven on January 20th, 2014
Improved Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

At first I was hesitant to call Discount Power due to the experience I had with them in 2011. However, after holding on the phone for an hour to speak to an Apna Energy agent, I figured I owed them a second chance. I was shocked to find that I got to speak to a representative immediately who later informed me that the management had just changed. The representative was friendly, informative, and knowledgeable about all the questions/concerns I had. He set up my account rapidly, and I was off the phone within 20 minutes!I am big about customer service and that is something Discount Power has tremendously improved on in the past two years. I would definitely recommend them now after their management change !!!

Mehwish Ali from Cypress on July 29th, 2013
Fraud Problems With Discount Power
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Discount Power's signup process has a fairly significant fatal flaw. They offer discounts for direct debit or direct charge to a credit card, but fail to take the necessary data to enable that during the signup process. As the on-line sign-up process is a secure connection, the moment the consumer selects the credit card option, the signup process should include collection of the necessary credit card data (more on this in a minute). The consumer gets an e-mail after signup indicating it contains the Electricity Facts Label and Terms of Service, which any smart consumer read before signing up, and which most consumers probably delete as so much trash mail. Camouflaged in that same e-mail is the warning that the consumer must contact Discount Power and provide bank or credit card info.When that does not happen, not only does the direct debit discount disappear, but they fail to grant the electronic communications discount as well, and no amount of contact can get an adequate explanation or a refund for the overcharge.Discount Power also fails to disclose whether the monthly meter reading is "actual" or "estimated" and during my transition away from them, I was shocked to receive two bills, the second one a credit for an overbilling the last month, based upon what is now obviously an estimated reading.Lastly, Discount Power demands a photocopy of the front and back of the credit card and drivers license. This is insane and of great concern from a fraud standpoint. It is tantamount to handing them a second copy of the credit card. The customer has no idea what is done with the data, how it is maintained, and most importantly, how it is disposed of when they are done with it. With an image of both the front and back of the card, the potential for fraud is huge. In fact, some months after I provided this data to them, there were several fraudulent charges to my credit card, and presumably the individual had the CCV code from the back of the credit card for them to have been authenticated. Only one firm, Discount Power, had a copy of those codes. No site that I am aware of maintains CCV data for the obvious reason that it makes fraud so much easier.Discount Power had some attractive rates when I signed up a year or so ago, but when that contract expired their idea of a customer loyalty program involved raising the rates, at a time when others were offering more attractive rates than the one which was expiring with Discount Power.Discount Power still owes me money, but as the PUC doesn't care, and the State Attorney General doesn't care, there is literally nothing I can do about it.

Phil Unger from Houston on May 10th, 2013
Beware unethical business practices
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Becareful if you signup with Discount Power they will switch your service when it makes them the most money and they will charge you extra fees. Their customer service is horrible/non existant. They do not keep you informed of service so that they can try to get by and charge you more instead of trying to get you to renew your service at a better rate. Overall I felt I was dealing with an underhanded company.

Discount Power Never Again from Houston on July 19th, 2012
No Discount Power
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Wait till you get your first bill and you will see charges on there you have never heard of before. They :nickel and dime" you to death. Do not go with Discount Power!

Ronald Wach from Houston on September 29th, 2011
Do not sign with Discount Power!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

If you use less than 1000 KWH, you get hit with an under utilization charge. If you use more than 1000 KWH, you get hit with an over utilization charge. Watch your meter. When it hits 1000, turn off the pwer to your house. Discount Power cheated me out of lots of money!

Mad As Hell from on September 11th, 2011
Warning - they do not tell the truth
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I went with Discount Power for three months. The first month bill was incorrect, talked to DP Representative, said would correct my bill. Next month bill, no corrections, third month, no corrections. Should have know better to go with them for a year but the representative was so sweet with promises, I went with them. Fourth bill was full of errors. Had to call the PUC just to get them to correct my bill. I have had more problems with them that I will not go into now. They sign a sweet song, but do no keep to their word. Still waiting for more corrections that they tell me they will correct.

Anonymous from on June 23rd, 2011