Express Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Express Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Express Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Express Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Express Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Express Energy

1.8 / 5

Express Energy Reviews

34 Reviews for Express Energy

34

total reviews

Compare to Express Energy Electricity Rates

Recent Good Review from Nick

Overall Rating
Perfect for me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Simple and easy is the way to go with the upfront, clear, and awesome rates. I have payed 37 bucks for each of the past two months, the month before them was a hot July. So yeah, this Express Energy is for real, I like saving money and I never use these companies for anything other than paying my electric bill.

Mike from Round Rock, TX on October 10th, 2017
Overall Rating
Actually Not That Bad
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

To preface, all electric companies you'll work with in Houston are terrible. They will squeeze as much money out of you as possible and use very tricky tactics to run up your bill and bait and switch you into a bad deal. That said, Express was actually not that bad compared to others. They had very transparent pricing, they did warn me when my plan was up for renewal, and worked with me to get the best deal at renewal time. After moving out of state, the termination procedure was also uneventful, without complications or hidden fees. The only rocky part was in the beginning when they charged me a full month for like four days. Per the contract, they could technically do this, but I had specifically discussed this with a representative beforehand who told me that wouldn't happen. After much complaining, they did end up prorating the bill, probably because I had recorded the conversation with that representative, so they had to honor it. But other than that, a fairly pleasant experience. Your cost will go up after the intro period, but that's typical for any electric company, so just shop around and if you find something better, Express may match it without having to switch companies and deal with another sketchy provider. Customer service people were generally quite helpful.

Nick from Houston, TX on February 1st, 2021
Overall Rating
Good Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have been satisfied with all aspects of their plans and service. Would recommend them.

PTin BigD from Dallas, TX on July 16th, 2020
Overall Rating
First tier of customer support frustratingly unhelpful
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Once I got to the second tier of support (the one that resides here in the USA) I was able to get the issues taken care of

Jed Blanks from Santa Fe, TX on November 14th, 2018
Overall Rating
Poor phone support
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been using Express Energy for nearly a year now. Only time I've had to talk to them in the past was when I set the account up, and that went flawlessly. However, I now have a question about my current bill (no bill this month and no new charges posted online). So I called...many times over the last few business days. I can't get anyone to answer the phone. M-F, 9a-6p are their advertised hours. I get into their IVR, wait on hold for about 7 1/2 minutes, and then my call is dropped. This has happened every time I've called them. I'm about to decide that, yes, they have a customer support line. They just don't staff it.

Dave from Fort Worth, TX on April 30th, 2018
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They over charged and would only allow us to pay our account through auto draft. I get paid bi-weekly and it never fell on a pay week and wouldn't allow us to change to draft date.

Thiele from West, TX on May 22nd, 2020
Overall Rating
Shorten my Deposit Check
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called and they had every excuse in the book pertaining why I didn't receive my $245 deposit and plus interest...They didn't even know what I was talking about when I questioned about plus interest for staying full 12 months.

TEE from Wichita Falls, TX on November 8th, 2018
Overall Rating
Taking People money
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Since dealing with this place I have been paying high light bills in a two-bedroom apartment they don't work with you in no kind of way, and then when you call you have someone that don"t speak clear English I have filed a report with the better business and now I will be sending the bill to the Governor of Texas. I put a star there so I could send my review

High Bill Rip Off from Lewisville, TX on September 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
BAD ENERGY!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stay FAR AWAY from this outfit!!! They tantalize you in becoming a customer with low introductory rates. But the only thing you can count on is horrible service. Experience outages very frequently.for seemingly no reason. Not because of storms or anything. Alsodont miss a payment!!!! They are quick to shut off your power! We had them set on AUTOPAY. Just so happened that our debit card expired. They shut our power off.not even 1 MONTH LATE!!! Didnt give me or my wife even a phone call!!! So we had to re-establish service! But wait.it gets even better!!! They increased our $ per kWh without telling us!!! I found out about it when I received a $900 freaking billfor 1 MONTH!!!!! No adjustment and wouldnt even allow for splitting the payment. Needed to be paid in full or guess what.yep disconnect service!!!!! Every representative my wife spoke to said something different. Everything about these guys is BAD ENERGY!!!!!

BAD ENERGY!!!!! from Spring, TX on July 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
Express energy are liars and crooks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company is very unethical and really screwed me over when I moved. I follows their policies and procedures and sent them the move address to my new home so I could not get charged for leaving early, thats what they request. They never founded my after they said they would on email, they basically lied to me several times. I will be reporting the. To the Texas Utilities Commission who regulates electric companies.

Mark Boren from Arlington, TX on December 24th, 2021
Overall Rating
Predatory, borderline criminal company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Flash 12 plan only credits $100 monthly bill credit if 1,000 kwH usage is reached. When my second months bill was double the price of 1st month, I immediately cancelled. $206 Early Termination Fee assessed to my bill. What a freakin joke. Are you kidding me!? Switched to Reliant energy, same usage this month, bill less than half the price or Express. Honestly these people are equivalent to snake oil salesman from the turn of the century. Will step over your dead body in an effort to north get their shoes dirty. Electricity providers are now the modern days scum to our society. USE ANY OTHER COMPANY OTHER THAN EXPRESS ENERGY, YOU CAN THANK ME LATER!

David Irvin from Dallas, TX on April 6th, 2021
Overall Rating
Express Energy Sucks!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company is a joke! Do not do business with them! They cut power randomly to conserve energy and then they turn off their customer service phone number for 24 hours to avoid having to take calls from their rightfully so upset customers. I have a $0 balance due, have had no power for 24 hours and their phone is off and the only thing you can do is pay your Bill over the phone. Keep in mind, its currently 19 degrees here too. Con artists who dont care about your family and will play with your comfort and lovely hood even with a ZERO balance or bill due! Also when half of Austin is out of power, its all Express Energy customers who lost power. Everyone else I know with a 1st party provider has their power on right now. This pathetic excuse for a company has had me in the dark for 24 hours with no one picking up their phone and in below freezing weather.

Express Energy Sucks from Pflugerville, TX on February 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Horrible dont do it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The customer service is horrible. The male to begin with had a accent and made it hard for me to understand and having to explain myself while being ignored and him talking over me just aggravated the situation. They credited the wrong account and the customer service man insistently stated that I gave the payment wrong. How could I, its just one account I have and the account info was correct, they credited the wrong account and didnt want to reverse the transaction!!!!

CL from Laredo, TX on February 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Charged me a full month for 3 days
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was not allowed to change my company until the 3rd of august without paying a fee. The Billing day was up July 31st and then I was switched to my new company. My bill was over $400 because they charged me a full month for the 3 days. They also didn't send me a notice or a bill like they always do by email, they just deducted it automatically from my card. They do this because they know you will not let the false charge go through. I emailed them and they refused refund because my contract states any usage from 1-1000 kw will be charged. So I asked them if they felt OK charging a full month for 3 days of usage and they stated again about the contract, no regrets on their side. They have no problem because they have your credit card. You are also not allowed to remove your credit card from your account so they will always have access to that card until the credit card expires. I am tempted to go ahead and call my bank and have them flagged because I really feel like they are going to keep charging my card, why else would they not let you remove it after you are no longer a customer. This is one of the worst electric companies I have ever seen.

Ronda Shepherd from Cypress, TX on August 18th, 2020
Overall Rating
If I could give them a zero I would!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible customer service and billing!!! Because of a glitch in THEIR SYSTEM they ended up charging me several times but it appears in their system i wasn't charged. After getting on the phone with them for WEEKS and providing bank statements and calling the bank several times, THEY CUT OFF MY ELECTRICITY!!!!


of course since it was 100 degrees out and in the middle of a work day and I tried to get in touch with them for 2 hours I ended up switching to another provider. And now they're charging 400 dollars for a termination fee! I wouldn't have to if you didn't CUT OFF MY POWER!!! but of course since their customer service is quite inexperienced and they aren't trained so its like talking to a brick wall.

DO NOT USE THIS HORRIBLE COMPANY

Nadean Khedr from Katy, TX on August 13th, 2020
Overall Rating
Beware of these guys
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pay extra attention to your bill, especially the advertised Oncor Delivery Charge that's shown.



I noticed that they increased mine to a different rate in my bill than what was originally advertised on the EFL label.

John from Mansfield, TX on July 7th, 2020
Overall Rating
Hard to sign up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I tried to sign up on line, and after completing all forms and information, they made me call customer service. After 45 minutes on the phone, I thought all was good. 3 days after my service they called and said they needed my credit card information (which I already had given) to start service. Very shady.

Scott from Spring, TX on June 15th, 2020