Veteran Energy Company Review

We've been collecting customer reviews for Veteran Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

You can order Veteran Energy Energy Plans online.

cheapest Electricity rates and plans in Houston texas

Electricity Plans for Veteran Energy

Texas Electricity Ratings can help you find the best Veteran Energy electricity plan. Below are the lowest priced Veteran Energy plans, as well as our ratings and reviews.

Houston Electricity Rates from Veteran Energy

Compare more Veteran Energy Houston Plans

Plan Term Rate
Valor 36 36/months 12.4¢/kWh
Valor 24 24/months 12.8¢/kWh
Valor 12 12/months 13.9¢/kWh
Rates as of Apr 17, 2024 at 08:39 PM

Dallas Electricity Rates from Veteran Energy

Compare more Veteran Energy Dallas Plans

Plan Term Rate
Valor 36 36/months 12.8¢/kWh
Valor 24 24/months 13.4¢/kWh
Valor 12 12/months 13.9¢/kWh
Rates as of Apr 17, 2024 at 08:39 PM

Best Veteran Energy Plans as reviewed by Texas Electricity Ratings

Plan Name Plan Rating and Review
Rates as of Apr 17, 2024 at 08:39 PM
Looking for more? Compare all available Veteran Energy Plans

Veteran Energy Rating and Review Summary

There are 104 total reviews for Veteran Energy, with an average rating of 2.9/5.

Company Stars Rating Reviews
Veteran Energy
2.9/5 104
Category Stars
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Recent 5 Star Reviews

SUPER Veteran Energy!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veteran Energy has delivered! They offer the best energy plans and customers will greatly benefit from their various plans.

Ron from Manvel, TX on April 17th, 2023
Excellent
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had a great experience with Veteran Energy for over three years now.

Bryce from Bonham, TX on March 28th, 2023

Recent 4 Star Reviews

Good
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Good

Manuella Saucedo from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2022
No other choice available in my area
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The change in my electric company was easy as I have no other choice in my area.

Kay Boling from Whitney, TX on April 29th, 2022

Recent 3 Star Reviews

First time renewal
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Have had Vet Energy for 3 years on a fixed rate. Pretty happy for the most part especially knowing they donate $$ to charities. Got thrown a "bone" fixed rate being my plan expires in a couple months. I found "several" other companies that have a much lower rate however, I decided to give them one more year. I'll reevaluate then a switch if they aren't more competitive.

Mark from Houston, TX on May 9th, 2022
ELECTRIC SERVICE
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

ALL THINGS SEEM TO BE GOOD WITH VETERAN ENERGY EXCEPT THERE WAY OF BILLING, THEY TOOK OVER ANOTHER ELECTRIC COMPANY WE WERE USING LAST FALL AND WE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 6 MONTHS AND THE DUE DATE HAS BEEN A DIFFERENT DAY EVERY TIME SO IT IS HARD TO MAKE YOUR BUDGET WORK WHEN DUE DATES ARE DIFFERENT EACH MONTH.
OTHER THAN THAT ALL SEEMS TO BE GOOD.

S. WHEELER from Lindale, TX on April 4th, 2021

Recent 2 Star Reviews

Not the most personable since they were bought out
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I liked Veteran Energy when it was owned and operated by Veterans. It was personable and they knew your name. Success happens and they were purchased by a bigger group, but kept the name.
You could call and speak with someone who understood. The mailings or updates were thankful you were a veteran and more personal touches.
When the original company was bought out you were not really informed about it, then your billing date changed to the first of the month. If you were one second of one day after the first of the month you got letters immediately about cancellation notices just because you may have paid your bill previously on the 4th, 5th, of the month etc.
I was never overdue on my bills but they sure made it seem like I was a criminal and another number in the system.
Recently for renewal they want to charge you a fee for using less energy? Really? On a 1000kw plan: If you used less than 1000kw of energy you got a bill for $9.95 additional fee. Wow. So you might as well quit hitting 850Kw and tell the kids to "leave the lights on" so you can hit 1000kw's and avoid paying an extra $9.95 per month.
Once again - I liked it when it was more personable, they did not turn into "cancellation notice" overlords, and the customer service was more welcoming and appreciated the value of you as a customer, veteran, long time subscriber.
Their rates are average with others - so the options are up to you. They are no longer a "Veteran" energy company I feel, but a company with "Veteran" in the name and a few donations to charities.

T. Roy from Round Rock, TX on April 7th, 2022
I think I might have been bamboozled
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I got an email requesting that I renew my contract, which doesn't expire until Aug 2021 (It's June 2021 today). It said I had until July 3rd or 4th to lock it down. I clicked on the company name just to view my account. Two things: I could not see exactly when my stupid contract ended, so I ended up logging out. I sure as heck didn't renew my contract. I get an email from them within an hour of logging off congratulating me on my new contract, which I did not renew. It's impossible to see my current contract on their site. I've gone to every possible place possible.

Ticked Off from Garland, TX on June 28th, 2021

Recent 1 Star Reviews

Terrible service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Terrible service and fees that are *way* too high.

L from Plano, TX on October 17th, 2022
Renewed to my old plan.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They did the renovation by themself, they increased the rate to up double the rate that I was paying before, which is unreasonable. I am an old customer of infinity energy when they got this company they had to keep the rate, I have been a customer for over 5 years, but this one I am not happy with the renovation, it is gonna be my last year with them.

Maria from Katy, TX on September 8th, 2022

All Reviews By Date

SUPER Veteran Energy!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veteran Energy has delivered! They offer the best energy plans and customers will greatly benefit from their various plans.

Ron from Manvel, TX on April 17th, 2023
Excellent
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had a great experience with Veteran Energy for over three years now.

Bryce from Bonham, TX on March 28th, 2023
Great Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Absolutely no issues with this group.

Bev from Deer Park, TX on February 24th, 2023
Great experience so far
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Only had for a couple of months. No snags yet. Like getting my weekly usage report.

ST from Houston, TX on January 1st, 2023
Terrible service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Terrible service and fees that are *way* too high.

L from Plano, TX on October 17th, 2022
Renewed to my old plan.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They did the renovation by themself, they increased the rate to up double the rate that I was paying before, which is unreasonable. I am an old customer of infinity energy when they got this company they had to keep the rate, I have been a customer for over 5 years, but this one I am not happy with the renovation, it is gonna be my last year with them.

Maria from Katy, TX on September 8th, 2022
Veteran Energy Review
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Customer satisfaction. No problems, good service, still the best price.

Dollie from Mesquite, TX on August 25th, 2022
Good
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Good

Manuella Saucedo from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2022
Horrible
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Got billed a whole month for 3 days usage! Billing cycle stopped on 11th, contract ended 19th same month. Had new company move me on 14th. Used 151 kw and got billed the entire month flat rate. Customer service kept stating it was in my contract. Tried to explain they only allowed me 8 days before I was going to be renewed on a new plan at most and can't bill a whole month for 8 days and should be prorated. They did absolutely nothing to resolve the difference.

John from Richmond, TX on August 5th, 2022
3years,+
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

First call,3 years ago, talked to fellow Veteran. In for the Duration. No prob yet.

Lit In The Desert from Fort Stockton, TX on July 8th, 2022
Ease of doing business.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Ease of doing business.

Samir from Irving, TX on July 1st, 2022
A little let down
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When I first started service, some how soon after I started service my service was disconnected and reconnected in the same day which caused me a lot of confusion when it came to the following bills

David Daniels from Copperas Cove, TX on June 28th, 2022
Always had great service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've ALWAYS HAD GREAT SERVICE

Candice Oxford from Fort Worth, TX on June 15th, 2022
Great energy company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Prices, service .are the best

Hoch Lim from Dallas, TX on June 13th, 2022
Long time satisfaction with this company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Weve been with Veterans Energy for a long while. No problems. Very satisfied with their service. I recommend this company.

Sonya from Corpus Christi, TX on June 13th, 2022
Excellent service and excellent rates
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Very courteous, professional and friendly staff. Easy ordering. Very low rate. No power issues so far. Everything has been great.

AJ from Round Rock, TX on May 31st, 2022
First time renewal
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Have had Vet Energy for 3 years on a fixed rate. Pretty happy for the most part especially knowing they donate $$ to charities. Got thrown a "bone" fixed rate being my plan expires in a couple months. I found "several" other companies that have a much lower rate however, I decided to give them one more year. I'll reevaluate then a switch if they aren't more competitive.

Mark from Houston, TX on May 9th, 2022
No other choice available in my area
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The change in my electric company was easy as I have no other choice in my area.

Kay Boling from Whitney, TX on April 29th, 2022
Auto Renewal 5/12/22
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Very good experience. No problems. Did not get a quote for a promotional or specials so I don't know if the price is the same or better.

Cynthia Gregory from Belton, TX on April 18th, 2022
Not the most personable since they were bought out
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I liked Veteran Energy when it was owned and operated by Veterans. It was personable and they knew your name. Success happens and they were purchased by a bigger group, but kept the name.
You could call and speak with someone who understood. The mailings or updates were thankful you were a veteran and more personal touches.
When the original company was bought out you were not really informed about it, then your billing date changed to the first of the month. If you were one second of one day after the first of the month you got letters immediately about cancellation notices just because you may have paid your bill previously on the 4th, 5th, of the month etc.
I was never overdue on my bills but they sure made it seem like I was a criminal and another number in the system.
Recently for renewal they want to charge you a fee for using less energy? Really? On a 1000kw plan: If you used less than 1000kw of energy you got a bill for $9.95 additional fee. Wow. So you might as well quit hitting 850Kw and tell the kids to "leave the lights on" so you can hit 1000kw's and avoid paying an extra $9.95 per month.
Once again - I liked it when it was more personable, they did not turn into "cancellation notice" overlords, and the customer service was more welcoming and appreciated the value of you as a customer, veteran, long time subscriber.
Their rates are average with others - so the options are up to you. They are no longer a "Veteran" energy company I feel, but a company with "Veteran" in the name and a few donations to charities.

T. Roy from Round Rock, TX on April 7th, 2022
7 years happy and counting.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Have been with Veterans Electric since moving to Texas almost 7 years ago. It was recommended to me by another veteran. Like the fact that it is just for veterans and owned by veterans or was. The rate a very good and electrical issues outages etc. are taken care of quickly, whenever possible, weather, circumstances allowing.

RWH from Harlingen, TX on March 12th, 2022
Low rates with no problems!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was with Infinite Energy when Veteran Energy bought the company. I was able to keep the same plan, and I have not encountered any problems!

Shannon J. from Krum, TX on February 17th, 2022
Great plan
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've a good experience with this company, highly recommended

Flint Nelson from Zavalla, TX on February 1st, 2022
Veterans energy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Have had a good experience with veterans energy

Myrna from Nolanville, TX on December 29th, 2021
Great Company to work with
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Competitive prices. Each week they show my usage and compare to the previous week.

Anne from Denison, TX on December 23rd, 2021
Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Easy to keep up with usage, payment option is easy

Ledbetter from Abilene, TX on December 19th, 2021
They keep me informed!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I am totally satisfied with Veterans billing service. Always know how I am consuming. Good competitive price.

Good Job! from Devine, TX on December 13th, 2021
Excellent Review
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Im extremely satisfied with Veterans Energy low rates!

Sandra Salazar from Harlingen, TX on October 1st, 2021
Worst Customer Service!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Do not pick Veteran Energy!!!They bought my account from Infinite Energy when they left the Texas market. They tried to give me a late charge as their was no notification that they would be my new Utility provider. After I called them a month later I finally get something in the mail. When my wallet was lost and my cards were canceled my auto-pay was declined. Oh they cant take a wire transfer from a bank. Well then you are going to have to wait. Come home no power. Call them up office is closed, please call back at 7am. No A/C during the summer. 7am 30 minutes and only $50 later to get my power back. They should be ashamed of how they conduct business! I will never, never, never do business with them again!

Chris from Houston, TX on August 26th, 2021
Just Say No
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I had a bill for about $22.00 They had my power disconnected for that amount. There was a disconnect fee of $20 and the Re-connect Fee was $20 dollars. After that I changed to Just Energy. I've been using them for over 2 years now and no problems.

Cody B from Galveston, TX on August 24th, 2021
RUNAWAY LONG TERM CONTRACT WITH HIGH PENALTY
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was with infinite energy until the company was bought by Veteran, nightmare, long term contract and prices went up and bad customer service, RUNNNNNN

Charlie from Flower Mound, TX on July 19th, 2021
Worse company i have ever dealt with
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I would never recommend this company. Worse customer service and the most ridiculous way of doing business. If you have a hardship don't try to get a extension without having to pay for it. I had infinite before it was sold to veterans enery. Infinite was amazing and amazing customer service. I switched my light company after 3 months with veterans. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Worse Electric Company Ever from Grapeland, TX on July 15th, 2021
Sad, simply.... Sad
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Prices are okay, I was brought over as a customer of a company they acquired and its been down hill since. Customer service is so, impressively bad I don't even know where to begin. Beyond terrible. I was going to renew my plan with them for 12 more months because (as I said above) the rate was okay. I was told they had no one available to assist me for 48 hours and they would call me back. Okay, call me... They never did. Wow, what a shame they do business under the name Veteran. As a Veteran, I don't treat people this way especially my customers.

Sad, Simply.... Sad from Aubrey, TX on June 30th, 2021
Vets energy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

No surprises, good customer service, very competitive rates, no regrets.

Robert Hess from Laredo, TX on June 29th, 2021
I think I might have been bamboozled
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I got an email requesting that I renew my contract, which doesn't expire until Aug 2021 (It's June 2021 today). It said I had until July 3rd or 4th to lock it down. I clicked on the company name just to view my account. Two things: I could not see exactly when my stupid contract ended, so I ended up logging out. I sure as heck didn't renew my contract. I get an email from them within an hour of logging off congratulating me on my new contract, which I did not renew. It's impossible to see my current contract on their site. I've gone to every possible place possible.

Ticked Off from Garland, TX on June 28th, 2021
Retired
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was unhappy with my former experience with Veteran Energy but my latest experience is much, much better.

Retired from Tomball, TX on June 25th, 2021
Great company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Reliable, helpful & understanding.
I haven't been disappointed yet.

S. Cooke from Houston, TX on June 16th, 2021
Cheat the people when you have 1000Kwh $70 Bill Plan
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They simply cheating the customer by taking reading for long days alternatively.. 29 days sometime 33 days other time.

Praveen Myakala from Irving, TX on June 15th, 2021
My Heartfelt Thanks
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I really thought I would be at a loss as to if and when I would be able to renew my services. After I reached a service Rep. he walked me through the process and Man it actually seemed Too Easy! He assured me that the plan I was offered was ideal for me and I felt his service was above and beyond his job. So here We are with everything taken care of and best of all No Service Interruption! Thank you hard working people for service I appreciated both your time and efforts to make this a pleasant experience.

Willie Bracey from Houston, TX on June 12th, 2021
Highly recommend Veteran Energy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We have had a positive experience with Veteran Energy, and no surprises on our electric bills. This is important to me since our home is total electric. Veteran Energy also has very good customer service.

Candace from Burkburnett, TX on June 10th, 2021
Never wanted them and good riddence
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

After billing issues, multiple issues with their website where I couldn't pay or get into my account, and rude customer service. I am happy to sayI left them.

Savannah from Plano, TX on June 7th, 2021
Time to Renew
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I ended up as a Veteran Energy customer by default. I had signed on with Infinite Energy in October with a 10 month introductory rate plan. A few months later I was notified that Infinite had sold/moved its Texas accounts to Veterans Energy and existing contracts would be honored by VE. Once that took place I was welcomed as a new customer and I set up my online account. I use the website to check invoices and pay. Once a week I get a weekly usage report to help me manage my usage. On occasion I have received offers to purchase related energy products at discount prices, eg. smart thermostat. My contract is due to expire July 14 and a week ago I received an email offering me a new contract at a reasonable rate. After shopping around I decided to accept the dated offer. One issue that I did encounter was trying to look at other plans that VE was offering as a continuing customer. I could not find plans offered by logging into my account. If the plans are accessible there I could not find where they are hidden. The main VE website offers plans to new customers only. I am still interested in looking at an 18 or 24 month contract. I tried to call in today, Sunday June 6 only to learn that the office is closed today although the website indicated it was open from 6/5 on Saturday and Sunday.

Michael from Harlingen, TX on June 6th, 2021
Do not go for this energy provider
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This service does not even deserve 0 star. My contract with them was supposed to end on 04/29/2021 and I called then in the first/second week of April to confirm that my contract is not getting renewed after that date as my lease was getting over. The representative told me that I'm good to go and the service will be stopped on 4/29/2021. Later I get a bill for the month of May 2021. When I call the customer service, they tell me that the account is still open. The entire process of handling this issue with them is so frustrating and they are not at all helpful.

Amruta Kamble from Irving, TX on June 5th, 2021
Great Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

This is a great company.

Great Company from Dallas, TX on May 13th, 2021
Yearly renewal
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

They are very kind and always send an early notice. Thanks.

Simon Ju from Flower Mound, TX on May 11th, 2021
Great Service At Reasonable Pricing
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Always available for questions and they work with you to resolve issues

Dick Johnson from Mckinney, TX on May 11th, 2021
Best Energy for Vets
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have had an amazing experience with this company for nearly 8 years.

Jerome Stovall from Tomball, TX on May 11th, 2021
ZERO STAR - WORSE COMPANY EVER
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Like everyone else here, I was ripped off by veteran energy! I used to pay $75 for my energy bill every month than Infinite energy sold my contract to veteran energy and my bill kept increasing for the next three months to $200 then $250 then to $270 and I called them saying I have never used this much energy ever in a 900sq ft apartment. It wasn't even possible for me to use that much energy especially in the mild Dallas winter weather. I went from using less than 800kWh each month to 2000kWh each month. I MEAN COME ON!! How is that even possible?!??! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Their customer service sucks and basically told me that if nothing is wrong with the meter than it is my fault. I read other reviews and this same SCAM is happening to everyone. On top of this, they told me they were going to cancel my plan when I moved out and they never did. So now I have to beg for money back that they stole from me. The worst experience ever and they have stolen hundreds from me now with no hope of me getting it back.

Meg from Plano, TX on May 5th, 2021
Time to Renew my Veteran Energy Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

You can't beat the great customer service and outstanding price plans. They are by far the best energy provider I've ever had...which covers over 40 years.

FrankM from Round Rock, TX on May 4th, 2021
Dishonest
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was with Infinite Energy happily for many years. I had no idea Veterans Energy took over my account. Unknown to me they didn't keep up with my autopay. Any other company (mortgage, auto loans) when my loan is switched I haven't had to re set-up this information. They sent notices showing my monthly usage and bill but no indication that my bill wasn't being paid. I now have $$$ in late fees and penalties. Very dishonest. My monthly bill has went up considerably. What I've previously paid in my highest usage month is now what I'm having to pay for my lowest usage months. Not believable since we put our home on Eco-mode in March and we were gone for 2 weeks during that month!!

Melanie from Abilene, TX on May 2nd, 2021
Nightmare Experience with Over billing
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My energy provider sold out to Veteran Energy. I got a disconnect notice from Veteran Energy with no idea they were the new provider. I had locked into a 3 year plan with Infinite Energy for a flat rate of $63.74 per month. Once Veteran's took over I got extra charges every month for going over the 1000Kwh plan. In my small apartment I never went over with Infinite Energy even in the summer months. Veteran Energy takes over in January when we seldom used the AC and never used the furnace and all the sudden I am supposedly using over 1000 Kwh. We contracted to buy a house with a closing date of March 1st I called on Feb. 27th to transfer service and was told they couldn't do that due to they didn't provide power to that subdivision, only 7 miles away. It seemed they just wanted out of the low rate I locked into a few years earlier. I told them I was closing on the my new home on March 1st and if they couldn't transfer service to disconnect service to my current address on March 8. I found a different provider to start service on my new home on March 1st and we moved to the new house on March 6th. After moving I was thinking Veteran Energy disconnected my service on March 8 the last day of the cycle. They did not disconnect my service. We kept the keys on the apartment until March 27, We turned in the keys that day because the lease wasn't up until the 28th. The apartment management after recieving keys change the power into their name on Monday the 29th. I got a bill forwarded to my new address for power from 3/9 to 4/9. So, I called Veterans to explain I had service canceled on 3/8. The representative was nice and said she would have a supervisor call me. I got a call from a young arrogant man who said he had reviewed the call from 2/27 and I had said I wanted power turned off on 3/8 but it wasn't clear that I actually wanted it turned off. He said I said I would call back. What I said was turn if off on 3/8 and if before then if I changed my mind on the date I would call back. But, that wasn't the way they heard it. I said alright I will pay the last bill but quit billing me. The supervisor said no, you will get another bill now because your cancelation date is today. I hung up. The next day I got an email saying my bill was now over a $370 due to early cancelation fees. I called back and got hold of a nice lady named Lisa and she looked into the situation and put in a work order to cancel the early termination fee since they said they couldn't transfer my service. I reminded her the power for the apartment was change to the apartment management company on 3/29 and didn't want to see another bill for that address. She said I wouldn't. I am hoping that is the case. Long story short, I don't advise using this company. They were over charging me for the few months I had them. I tried to follow up with Centerpoint about my actual power usage in the three months I was with Veteran Energy and they said they could tell me but I needed the meter number. I looked on the side of the apartment build where there was 30 meter and there was not indication which meter belonged to the units. I even ran into a Centerpoint Tech on site at the apartment complex before I moved out and asked him if he could tell which meter went to each apartment unit he said he had no way of telling. So, I couldn't verify my actual energy consumption. Good Riddance I don't have to use Veteran Energy.

Unsatisfied Customer from Katy, TX on April 21st, 2021
Horrible Service - Do Not Use
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

My service was transferred from Infinite Energy to Veterans. I never received a notice of transfer, my first communication was a disconnection notice and a late fee. I called and made a payment and requested to speak to someone to remove the late fee..... no one ever called back.
When the transfer took place they changed my billing cycle. I called to clarify how they were billing and the rep stated she could not answer that question....... I asked to speak to a manager she stated that she could offer a callback from a manager...... no one ever called back.
I tried again in Feb to understand how they were billing because it seemed I had a bill every 2 weeks from them. Again, rep could not explain their billing cycle and why my dates for billing from the previous month was significantly different.....I asked to speak to a manager....... she stated a manager was not available and they would call me back. No one called me back. I moved my service in February, I received a bill from Veterans for $150 for an early termination fee. I called to dispute the early termination fee, the rep was unable to assist and guess what......she stated she would have someone to call me back within 24-48 hours......the service is absolutely deplorable!!

Rock from Dallas, TX on April 14th, 2021
Do not choose Veteran Energy!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We have had Veteran Energy for years now. We renewed a contract called the Nest last year. We were supposed to receive a Nest Thermostat as part of the promotion. It never came. We have called many times. They said the promotion is over and they are sorry. They said they are giving some away and we can enter to win. Absolutely unacceptable!! Who does business this way? They have done nothing to make ot right. We have done everything on our end of the agreement but they have failed to fulfill their end. Shame on them!

The Carters from Belton, TX on April 12th, 2021
Worst Company (DO NOT CHOOSE THEM)
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with Veteran Energy for 3 years until they switched to a new company and/or were bought by someone else. I have called every month WITH PROBLEMS regarding my bill since January when the new company took over with no help. I NEVER needed to call for the previous owner. This month the problem is: It is clearly on my bill a credit due but I was told to pay the full amount (which I did) and the next month statement will display my credit. Now my next bill does not show the credit and it is as simple as a -+ cancel each other out and they do not get it ALTHOUGH it says it on my bill the credit I was due.

Lynn Ellis from Richmond, TX on April 8th, 2021
Why choose an electric company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I made this choice primarily on the idea that they give a little bit back. I have had nothing but great online and phone support the 3 or 4 times I have needed them. Rate wise they are on par & best of all, I got to choose this provider

Sterling G Leavitt from Round Rock, TX on April 6th, 2021
ELECTRIC SERVICE
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

ALL THINGS SEEM TO BE GOOD WITH VETERAN ENERGY EXCEPT THERE WAY OF BILLING, THEY TOOK OVER ANOTHER ELECTRIC COMPANY WE WERE USING LAST FALL AND WE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 6 MONTHS AND THE DUE DATE HAS BEEN A DIFFERENT DAY EVERY TIME SO IT IS HARD TO MAKE YOUR BUDGET WORK WHEN DUE DATES ARE DIFFERENT EACH MONTH.
OTHER THAN THAT ALL SEEMS TO BE GOOD.

S. WHEELER from Lindale, TX on April 4th, 2021
Excelent customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Every time that i have a questions regarding my invoice or new plans, their customer service has been there for all my questions

Best Customer Service from Sugar Land, TX on March 31st, 2021
Poor service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was with Informant Energy and they sold my contract to Veterans. Well my price per kilowatt went up 3 cents then tried to make payment arrangements during the freeze in Texas and they did not make them the agent whom I could barely understand said he put it on my account then I got a disconnect notice so had to borrow money to pay 2 months in full. Can not wait until my contract is up. Very dissatisfied!!?

Helen M from Fort Worth, TX on March 27th, 2021
Poor service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was with Informant Energy and they sold my contract to Veterans. Well my price per kilowatt went up 3 cents then tried to make payment arrangements during the freeze in Texas and they did not make them the agent whom I could barely understand said he put it on my account then I got a disconnect notice so had to borrow money to pay 2 months in full. Can not wait until my contract is up. Very dissatisfied!!?

Helen M from Fort Worth, TX on March 27th, 2021
Veteran's Energy is not the same
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veteran Energy USA is owned by "Value Brands", sounds like walmart, but walmart is better... since being illegally switched with out warning, or my knowledge, they've harassed me, shut my power off because I was paying the old company (Veteran's Energy US, not USA.. see what they did?). They've confirmed my account is now closed and in good standing, 3 times, but keep coming back and demanding more $ that they say I still owe for back payments, even before they illegally switched my account, and for a bill incurred AFTER I switched to a new reputable company.

This company does not care about customers or veterans, it's a shell company to scam you.

Disgruntled Texas Vet from Round Rock, TX on March 18th, 2021
Poor billing practice and the rates are Not good.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Double billed

C Moses from Royse City, TX on March 16th, 2021
My Contract Cant End Soon Enough
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I never had a single issue with Veteran Energy for the 5+ years we were with them, until they switched hands to what can best be described as a joke of a company being run out of someones basement. I, too, was told that they were being bought out but that nothing would change. Except, apparently, everything. Like the billing PO Box, my account number, the fact they no longer accept electronic payment through my bank, their customer service, and their now janky website.

I didnt have a problem until January when I received notice I hadnt paid the bill that cleared my account two weeks prior. The email was so poorly written, that I thought it was a scam letter. I refused to click the link for fear of being hacked and thats when I found out EVERYTHING was different. Their customer service is a joke, and I get the impression they cant have more than a couple customer service people. Ive spoken to the same person EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. And yes, 12 minutes seems to be the max hold time before being dropped. My bank mailed my February payment, and it was set to be received many days before it was due. We then had the polar vortex blow through Texas so understandably my check hadnt cleared. But that didnt stop a company that is supposed to support veterans, in the midst of an energy crisis, unable to check their own mail...from sending me a disconnect notice. Calling is a joke. When I finally reached her she transferred me to some foreign call center...this was an absolute lesson in futility. I called her again, but wasnt able to reach her again until the evening. In the meantime, I received a retraction to my disconnect notice. I wanted to know where in the world my payment was. She said there was no record of it anywhere in their system, and to try back later that week. It cleared my account that night. Yet, she had no clue it was even received. This month I didnt even receive a bill until this morning, March 9th. They seem to come later and later every month. Being concerned about the lack of a bill, I had logged into my account yesterday, to find they had posted it...so I paid it online immediately. I still received a bill today pressuring me to give them my credit card so they can put my account on autopay. The way they run this company is so unprofessional and so lacking in structure, the last thing I would do is give them access to my credit card. Im stuck for another year, but as soon as Im able to Ill be switching companies. What a shame to see a decent company destroyed in a matter of months.

Dismayed Veterans In Kingwood from Kingwood, TX on March 9th, 2021
Cannot wait until my contract is up!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have used Veteran Energy for two years & never had any issues. Now, they've been bought out by a company whose website doesn't even function enough to let me use their payment portal. I was on autopay & never had an issue, but now I've received a disconnection notice because the company couldn't be bothered to tell me that autopay is no longer an option. They're trying to charge me $19.95 for a DNP notice fee. I paid by bill of $29.95 to them a couple of weeks ago, but they never credited my account so I don't have a clue where that money went. They're customer service takes an hour to get on the phone, then fails to resolve anything. I am exhausted from dealing with all these issues & cannot wait for my contract to end.

Lindsey from Houston, TX on February 28th, 2021
Worst customer service ever
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Got hung up on 21 times and noone willing to resolve issues. Can't even speak to a customer service manager. Hold times are like 2hrs plus. Still waiting for a manager to call me

Concerned Client from Keller, TX on February 23rd, 2021
Horrible customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Hope everyone who is using this service never has any problem, if not, good luck with their customer service department and their solution!

Baiyu from San Angelo, TX on February 16th, 2021
Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Very long wait call time. Stayed on the line for hours.

Davie from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2021
Dont
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I'm forced to be a Veteran's Energy customer until the end of my contract because they acquired my former energy company. This company pads cost, their email domain is not registered so they are reported to my spam box in my email, their website uses very simple technology that screams that it could be easily hacked, their customer service reps are not friendly, and my billing is twice as much than with my former energy company.

Grace from Decatur, TX on February 5th, 2021
Billing
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

When this company changed hands, it got worse. I paid my bill 10 days before the billing date. Two weeks later I get a late notice. I checked my bank and the check cleared. When I called Veterans they gave me the run around about billing. Tiffany said they would mail a check, that hasn't happened. I went online and paid the balance again by credit card. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. RATES ARE WORTHLESS IF YOU GET DOUBLE BILLED.

Don from Royse City, TX on February 4th, 2021
Great company turned bad
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was with Veteran Energy for years and recently it seems like the company was bought out. I am having so much trouble just registering my account. I get email confirmation with no link to actually confirm the account and the phone reps are of no help and clearly foreign which sucks for American jobs for a company that is supposed to help American vets. I highly don't recommend this company and will be changing as soon as possible!

Houston Native from Houston, TX on February 4th, 2021
Cant even make payments!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Was switched over from Infinite Energy. Have been trying to register but no e-mails have been received other than the one after payment was due saying Disconnect Notice! Really??? And on top of that potential need for deposit! Calling in only puts me on hold for about 12 minutes before the calls drop off line. Apparently a new company bought out the old Veteran Energy and is now operating under the same name. This new company has absolutely nothing to do with Veterans! Need to get off this breached contract and find a new provider!

Disappointed User from Fort Worth, TX on February 2nd, 2021
Transition fail, 0 customer service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Title says it all. No comm received from transition. Account no longer exists. Autopay gone. Disconnect notice received. NO ONE ANSWERS THEIR LINE. EVER. Sit on hold for 11 minutes then - silence...nothing follows. 20 calls over the past two days.

CSword from Mesquite, TX on February 2nd, 2021
Its not too late to run away!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We moved into a duplex in October 2017 and signed up with Veteran Energy. Everything was going smoothly. We paid our bills early and over the amount due so there was a small credit on the account every month. We received a letter from Veteran Energy stating a new energy provider had purchased the company but that we didnt need to do anything different (we could still make payments through their portal, they would still provide energy to us, etc). We called Veteran Energy, and the representative confirmed to us that everything was fine, the new company would honor the existing rate and contract, and that we could still make payments through them. I made sure the contact information was up to date and everything. Fast forward to today. I open the app and see theyve refunded us the most recent payment. The representative I spoke to said they were cutting a check for the most recent payment to refund us. They had also made two transactions with the original deposit we paid to them. The representative said it had been transferred to the new company (keep in mind, they said nothing was going to change and that they would continue to service the account). I called the new company, now called Veteran Energy USA, and was on hold for 12+ minutes before the line went dead. I called back, and the same thing happened. I tried to sign up for the online account but kept getting a message that the account and email we were using for Veteran Energy werent valid. I tried to sign my fianc up for the online account, but it said we have to wait 24 hours for a confirmation email. My fianc got home, and when I explained what had happened, he told me to call them. While I was on hold, he found a disconnection notice in his email. Weve never made a late payment or skipped paying the bill! The woman on the phone was very nonchalant about all of this and didnt care to get a supervisor. Planning to speak with them tomorrow to request a refund of my deposit so I can go to a reputable energy company. Dont sign up with them!

Denise from Killeen, TX on February 1st, 2021
Total garbage company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was auto switched from Infinite Energy to Veteran Energy without my consent. It wouldnt be a problem if I could actually sign up for an account on their shit website or pay the bill without having to sign in. Even their IVR (payment via phone) does not work. No company should be able to operate like this in this day and age like this. Im sick of deregulation in Texas. They're all terrible.

Stan from Houston, TX on January 31st, 2021
Sold to another company and now are horrible
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Not even sure there are veterans running it anymore. Got a disconnect notice after being 1 day late. I will not be renewing with them. Hope their company goes under. I will never do business with them again and I will never recommend them. In fact it will be the reverse, I will do everything i can to warn people away from them

AngryVet from Arlington, TX on January 29th, 2021
I'm on hold for the last hour and 20 minutes to receive confirmation about my payment to them. My bank confirmation does not serm to suffice that payment has been made, money taken from my account, but they are in denial. From Infinite Energy my account has moved to Veteran Energy. This is my preliminary experience with them. I have posted screenshots of this long wait on instagram. They are quite shameless, it seems. Yikes. I would not recommend Veteran Energy to anyone. Spare yourself the grief and agony. #VeteranEnergy.
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Pathetic customer service. On hold for an hour and a half. That long to confirm to me whether my payment is received. I have informed them that I have the bank confirmation. She went ostensibly to check with the supervisor why it isn't showing in their records. I informed them that money from my bank account has been debited today. Should i check by evening when account reconciliation is done. I even offered to pay again by credit card. But she just hasn't returned. In a fake soft gentle voice she asked me to wait for two minutes ('okay', she said). Hasn't returned to the call. Even as I type this - 1 hour 32 minutes have lapsed since my call to them. Have posted screen shots of long wait on instagram. But they must be really shameless. My account moved to them from Infinite Energy. I don't want to be slapped with a fee for late payment despite my on-time payment with due date today. Their invouce came in late, even so my payment has been received on time. But their automated 'system' does not reflect it. And this customer service lady hasn't returned to my call. If you had a field where i could upload a screenshot photo would have done so. You can check on Instagram. #VeteranEnergy. Please steer clear of these guys if you can help it.

A Disgruntled Customer At The Very First Instance With #VeteranEnergy. from Houston, TX on January 29th, 2021
Transition from Infinite is a fail
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I'll add my experience to the other reviews on here. Infinite sold my account to Veterans. I went along with it. The first bill came and was the highest I have had in years. I paid the bill planning to change plans soon. The bank shows my payment was delivered to the PO Box 01/22. 01/26 I get a disconnect notice. Called and sat on hold for 20 minutes. When someone answered she said they had no record of my payment and advised me to sign up for auto pay or call my bank to see what happened to the payment. Pretty sure they are just behind on posting payments. Biggest frustration is that I asked about changing plans and she said I am under contract for two more months, but I know I didn't sign anything agreeing to that. Guess I'll wait the two months and run from this company.

NMTX from Greenville, TX on January 26th, 2021
Totally janky
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Never knew that Value Based Brands bought out Veteran Energy US and changed the name to *USA. Have received no mail from them until today when I was told I was being disconnected due to no payment. Post office returned my payment to the old company today, as well.

Rates more than doubled. I received no disclosures, no privacy notices, nothing from the new Veteran Energy USA/Value Brands.

totally scamming

Disgruntled Texas Vet from Round Rock, TX on January 26th, 2021
Horrible service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Horrible service. Originally had autopay set up with infinite energy so I wouldn't have to think about it. Next thing I know I'm getting a late payment notice from veteran energy (thinking who is veteran energy). Try to sign up on their janky website to check it out but have to wait for a confirmation email. Never receive any of the emails. Next email I get is a disconnection notice. Try to sign up online again and get no confirmation email, the automated payment system over the phone isn't working, and no one is picking up the phone. I will be switching services whenever possible.

Keith from Dallas, TX on January 21st, 2021
WORST Customer Service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

WORST customer service ever. I was with Infinite Energy and they bought out Infinite Energy. Unfortunately, I was unaware since I had moved out of the home I had my service at. I called on 11/24 to cancel service with Infinite Energy (which I was still being billed for and there is nothing on my account that mentions "hey by the way you are moving to Veteran") and they cancelled my service without every mentioning that that same day Veterans was also taking over my account. So the communications between the two companies was lacking and the fact that they purchased a company and can't get their communication in line shows very limited organizational skills. Also, the take over plan was pathetic. Really, missed the mark on communication. I can't get over that part. Worst communication plan. Seriously, who sends one letter and that is all? WORST. Anyways, unbeknownst to me, while I was no longer with Infinite and paid my final bill, Veteran was charging me. Luckily the person who purchased my home started up service a week later but Veteran Energy will not waive the $27. I know it is just $27 but the fact that I had no idea they took over my account and I was being charged for energy I was not using shows their lack of customer service. When I called to work with them they would just put me on hold infinitely which would lead to me hanging up. They really do a disservice to the Veteran name. I will never use them and I will make sure to tell all my friends and family looking for energy that they should not be used. And all of this over $27. If they just would have been kind and worked with me, maybe I would have a better review but they are the LITERAL WORST!

Brittany W from Richardson, TX on December 18th, 2020
Annoying transition from infinite
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Why did they transfer from infinite? What a real big headache. HERE TAKE MY MONEY I DONT WANT TO CLICK 100 LINKS and call people to get my account set up. Really annoying and not smooth transition what so ever.

Ben from Dallas, TX on December 15th, 2020
Deceptive Trade practices
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I terminated my service with Veteran 10 days before my policy ended (well within the required 14 day window) but they billed me$150 for early termination. They are liars or stupid, I am not sure which, however Hades will freeze over before they get the $150 ransom or extortion money from me

LIED TO US VETERAN. from Fort Worth, TX on September 11th, 2020
Happy customer
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've had nothing but pleasant experiences with their services. Prices are cheaper than most out there! Great customer service

Harmony Hill Resident from Rowlett, TX on September 1st, 2020
Not Vet Friendly, Sales Rep Retired on Duty
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I did the online thing, and was told that I needed a $250 down payment. So I called, I had decent credit and spoke with one of their reps. I told them that I was a veteran, and I asked them if there was anything I could do about the down payment, I was shoved off on another couple of energy providers, both with no down but really high rates per kilowatt. So I wrote to the company. I did inform them that I would be leaving a very negative review, because as a veteran, I thought there would be something in it positive for veterans, and there was nothing in it. I found out that :The deposit is refundableThe deposit is dropped to $150 for veterans12 months of good payments with a prior electricity provider will cancel out the deposit.NONE of those options were offered NONE, nothing. So After shopping around, I resigned with TXU, at least, the devil you know.

NOT VETERAN FRIENDLY from Mesquite, TX on August 17th, 2020
Horrible
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Sneaky sneaky sales people. Never again will I use them. Funny how the 5 stat post all sound similar. More commercial then actually reviews.

Never Again from Pearland, TX on September 25th, 2019
The Best Electric Co
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veterans Energy has been so good to me. Great rates and even better customer service. Need an extension? Dont worry! As long as you keep your promises you can get them. No other light company has ever been as kind. Charlie and co yall are the best!!

Josie G. from Jacksonville, TX on July 23rd, 2019
An excellently ran company...
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

...and it shows in the customer service. I just got off the phone with Diamond, who helped me choose and sign up for a new plan. Engaging young man, courteous, very knowledgeable. The weekly emails with my usage is excellent and a nice touch for customers. I've never had a delivery problem with my electricity, nor any billing conflicts. A far more customer-friendly than the company I used before. I highly recommend Veterans Energy.

Washushae from Allen, TX on April 9th, 2019
Worst Electric Company Ever! Beware!!!!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Like many of you I was with Veteran Energy for over 3 years and was very happy with them until they bait and switched my renewals more than tripled my bills, don't be fooled by these crooks. Only thing I see is they rip veterans off! There name is just a ploy to trick veterans into higher contracts. They say they are not doing this, then why are so many vets complaining about it.enjoy it while you can but they will get you!

Vet Tired Of Being Ripped Off! from Denison, TX on January 6th, 2019
Please stay away!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veteran Energy is terribly dishonest. My consumption for the month of September was extremely low 107 Kwh (I'm a student & only come home to sleep. I don't cook or watch tv, AC is always off).

My bill? $63.3. Yes, $63.63 for 107 kwh! (I have proof)

When I contacted them, they said my bill should be about $12 but I had the wrong plan. They "offered" to reduce the bill to $43.63 if I called to switch plans. I got two calls from them and was given two options, pay $150 to switch plans or else pay $60+ every month for a year.

Just left Veteran Energy today (at $150 cancellation fee).

Do yourself a favor, stay away!

Vecustomer from Richardson, TX on October 2nd, 2018
Excellent all around
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I just renewed my service contract with Veteran Energy. I shopped around a bit but didn't really want to leave Veteran as they have been excellent from the time I signed up a couple of years ago. Today I spoke with Dustin in Customer Care and he helped me come up with the best renewal plan considering the history of my usage. He was excellent!
I've had zero complaints about the company and can't really understand ratings less than (near-) perfect. I love their weekly usage emails. It allows me to see graphically what my usage habits are and make adjustments if I need to. I also like the fact that they give back to Veterans groups. Very satisfied!

Cool Tex from Dallas, TX on August 16th, 2018
No Solar System Program
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I like Veterans Energy much more than TXU or Reliant. Unfortunately I may have to leave Veterans Energy.I am currently seeking proposals for installation of solar panels that will provide enough Kwh to meet my current average monthly consumption on an annual basis. The keyword being average, meaning that there would be months that I may consume more Kwh, and some months that I would consume less.I was greatly disappointed to learn that Veterans Energy does not provide an energy buy-back or a refund Kwh billing credit for (unused) energy created by solar systems that feeds back into the grid. This is also as much surprising as disappointing because Texas is a solar friendly state and most other electric providers do offer some type of program many of them dollar-for-dollar offsets.I doubt that they could get a program up and running before I proceed with my installation plans (within the next couple of months). That will leave me with a regretful decision of having to ultimately cancel service upon completion of the solar system installation, paying a cancellation fee, and having to seek a provider that does offer a compensation program. But most regretfully I will no longer be their customer and a part of helping veterans.If anyone from Veterans Energy is reading this, please let me know if you can do something. Veterans Energy a great company and I would really prefer to stay with you.

Jesmith3 from Killeen, TX on May 7th, 2018
Bringing back compassion in customer service!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

In a world where many are quick to complain but less likely to praise, my husband and I humbled but the experience with Veteran Energy. We were dealing with a nightmare of a situation with our previous electricity provider where we were left without power in freezing temps for 24 hours. We were unsure where to turn due to an internal error by the previous company. We were stressed, exhausted and frustrated to say the least. My husband researched and found that Veteran Energy provides a discount to military and veterans. Great bonus first off considering most rates per kWh and hidden fees we were able to find after digging into many of the rate plans found. After contacting them and speaking to Cameron we instantly felt we were in good hands. We had to place a call back at our request and spoke to Marcos and then his supervisor Roberto (for a positive reason). The integrity (yes we are saying this about a utility company), dignity, compassion, patience and dignity shown from start to finish left us truly humbled by our experience. We are truly thankful for the time, attention to detail and quickness of each member of the Veteran Energy team we spoke with. Each one of these representatives from Veteran Energy reminded us of what customer service truly is. They are a great asset to this company and represent the face of the company well. In a world where it seems most companies have forgotten what customer service is it was a breath of fresh air to have this experience with this company.Thank you to each one of you (Cameron, Marcos & Roberto) for the outstanding customer service we received and for making this such a personable experience! Thank you for restoring the trust and faith we had lost! We are so glad to be a new Veteran Energy customer!

Mgngrz3 from Arlington, TX on February 9th, 2018
Easy and reasonable
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Easy to enroll online, payments were easy to make, no issues with set up, billing and cancellation.

KETEX from Houston, TX on October 30th, 2017
Never again. Don't be fooled
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Don't be fooled by their quoted rates, very deceiving. My energy cost shot up from the time I signed up with them, even though their quoted rates was lower then what I currently had at that time. Their funny pricing allows them to make it difficult for the consumer to figure out what price they will actually be paying. Toward the end of my service my rate went up from about 7 cent per kw to almost 16 cent per kw, when most other suppliers were offing 5 - 9 cent per kw. Don't be fooled by the name and defiantly don't be fooled by the quoted energy rate. I've been monitoring energy rates for a long time now and this company has been the most deceptive in their slick pricing as any.

Looking For Honesty In Energy Pricing from Desoto, TX on September 24th, 2017
Easy to work with
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I've been with Veteran Energy for about 7 months now and their pricing kills what I was paying before. Everything was so easily automated to set up and bill/draft - I did it all online quickly and didn't have to call anyone. I'll check the emailed invoice each month to make sure there are no red flags or extra charges and so far things have been perfect. Since I have never had an issue with the actual service or billing I haven't had to deal with their customer service so I can't comment on how that is.

Kara T from Fort Worth, TX on February 13th, 2017
Beware and Stay Away!
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

The pricing and service was not bad but their customer service and sales team ended up cheating me by falsely signing me up renewing my contract and then later billing me for breaking of the contract. After 12 months my service was up; I received a sales call and I told them over the phone NO I did not want to renew the contract as I was in the process of moving overseas. Naturally I called to disconnect and I paid the final bill. I left overseas and did not give them a forwarding address because I was done with them. A year later I return to US and go to purchase a Home when all of a sudden I see my credit rating has negative hits on it from Veteran's Energy. They opened up 3 lines each for $348 which took my credit rating down over 150 points. I called and they told me that I had early termination fee which they charged because I renewed the contract and then canceled that same month. I told them I did not renew and then they said they outsource their sales team and cannot verify. They admitted that I was never late on payment nor delinquent on actual services just on the early cancellation fee plus late fees on top of that.

Frustrated Traveler from Houston on October 12th, 2016
Rate switching and price gouging
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

During the peak of summer Veteran Energy more than DOUBLED MY RATE without making me aware, resulting in a one month electricity bill for my single family home of $795! When I called to try and correct the matter they went into a sales pitch for new plans and services but were unwilling to correct the price gouging of the previous month. Their explanation was that is was within their legal right to do so and is all they could do was sign me up for a new plan going forward.
They use their "Veteran" angle to make you believe they care about their customers but it is clear they do not.

Jason Tindol from Brownwood on September 6th, 2016
Horrible Experience
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Terrible company. They kept me in the dark about payments and requirements. Customer service was terrible. I spent over an hour on the phone trying to sort out what I needed to do. Worst experience.

Frustrated Customer from Dallas on August 26th, 2016
My First Monthly Bill from Veteran Energy
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I was anxious to get my first bill from Veteran Energy because it seems that every electricity provider is somewhat different in how the monthly billing statement is presented. I've found most utility bills to be pretty confusing. It seems there are always at least some surprises in the beginning until you figure out all the line items which comprise your total charges. In other words, it's often hard to fully understand what you signed up for until you've already signed up. Not so with Veteran Energy. I happened to use about 1,100 kilowatt hours during my first month's billing cycle which made me automatically entitled to a generous credit under the plan I had signed up for. There were absolutely NO CATCHES WHATSOEVER. The bill was simple, concise, and honest with no "hidden charges" that I wasn't already expecting.I've already received top-notch customer support from team leader Roberto (ext. 13272) and Lynn (ext. 3276). Roberto originally signed me up after thoughtfully explaining how everything works and Lynn later went over my first bill with me and explained all the different payment options available and helped me set up automatic monthly drafts from my checking account. She even congratulated me on receiving my credit! Lynn and Roberto definitely went over and beyond and I'm already spoiled. I wish more companies had such high-caliber professionals providing customer support. I deeply respect that Veteran Energy makes generous contributions from their own profits to such a large number of wonderful organizations whose sole mission is to help America's veterans. Because my cousin - Kenneth - was killed in Vietnam in the early 1970's, I chose the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) as my charity of choice.I believe one would be hard-pressed to find a better electricity provider than Veteran Energy. **==

Mike Y. from Ballinger on June 14th, 2016
Truly care about customers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We have been with Veteran energy for about 3 years now. As a Veteran,I have ran into issues with money and needed help. Veteran energy was more than willing to give me that help.
They truly understand the nature of things, sometimes the money isn't there, they give me enough time to get things right with them.
So customer service, too bad I couldn't rate a ten. They would deserve it.
The price point, well here is my example: Family of 6, during the holidays two females and three teens...231.00. Yea, that's a 3 bedroom house with females (no offense ladies) and three teens.
Beat that. I WILL BE A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE.

Scott Lattin from Whitney on December 16th, 2015
Truly care about customers
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

We have been with Veteran energy for about 3 years now. As a Veteran,I have ran into issues with money and needed help. Veteran energy was more than willing to give me that help.
They truly understand the nature of things, sometimes the money isn't there, they give me enough time to get things right with them.
So customer service, too bad I couldn't rate a ten. They would deserve it.
The price point, well here is my example: Family of 6, during the holidays two females and three teens...231.00. Yea, that's a 3 bedroom house with females (no offense ladies) and three teens.
Beat that. I WILL BE A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE.

Scott Lattin from Whitney on December 16th, 2015
Great Company
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

I have been with Veteran Energy for over a year and a half now, and couldn't be happier with their service. They're online bill payment is extrememly easy to use. Customer service is top notch, I am always greeted by an extremely helpful and polite employee willing to assist me with whatever I am calling about. Another huge plus is they recently added a discounted rate for Veterans and Active Duty miltiary. I would recommend Veteran Energy for anyone.

Mike Vander Vegt from Killeen on July 3rd, 2014
Absolutely Awful
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Their service is basically non-existent. Their website is a JOKE nor does it follow standard industry practices (which is why it sucks so bad). I've never dealt with such a poor company nor will I again as soon as I arrange my switch.

Charles L. Mills from Dallas on November 5th, 2013
Non-disclosure of fixed rates and fees
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veteran Energy only provides the average monthly price per kWh and will not, under any circumstances, provide the actual fixed, energy charge per kWh, nor proivde any other fixed rates associated with your bill. Everything is hidden and considered "all inclusive." This non-disclosure and response is consistently upheld by every member of their business. I highly recommend that you avoid this company at all costs, unless cost isn't a factor.

Richard from Dallas on January 23rd, 2013
Great service
Overall Rating:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to Recommend

Veteran energy offers great service to me and also to our veterans....Very impressed!

Lara from Houston on October 13th, 2011