Veteran Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Veteran Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Veteran Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Veteran Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Veteran Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Veteran Energy

3.8 / 5

Veteran Energy Reviews

95 Reviews for Veteran Energy

95

total reviews

Want to order Veteran Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Veteran Energy?

Is Veteran Energy good?

Veteran Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 2.8/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 12.4¢/kWh!

Is Veteran Energy expensive?

Veteran Energy has energy plans starting as low as 12.4¢/kWh with their Valor 36. The average Veteran Energy plan rate is 16.57¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.67¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



Veteran Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Veteran Energy:

TXU Veteran Energy
Plan Count 8 7
Average Rate 19.15¢/kWh 15.91¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $5.69
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 15.50¢/kWh.
Valor 12
from 14.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 16.50¢/kWh.
Valor 24
from 13.50¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Veteran Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Veteran Energy:

Reliant Veteran Energy
Plan Count 4 7
Average Rate 16.50¢/kWh 15.91¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $5.69
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Conservation 12 plan
from 16.90¢/kWh.
Valor 12
from 14.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Conservation 24 plan
from 15.90¢/kWh.
Valor 24
from 13.50¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Veteran Energy take reviews seriously?

Veteran Energy has an average user review of 2.8 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Veteran Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Veteran Energy customer review communities around. With 95 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Veteran Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Veteran Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Lit in the Desert

Overall Rating
3years,+
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First call,3 years ago, talked to fellow Veteran. In for the Duration. No prob yet.

Lit In The Desert from Fort Stockton, TX on July 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
Ease of doing business.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ease of doing business.

Samir from Irving, TX on July 1st, 2022
Overall Rating
Always had great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've ALWAYS HAD GREAT SERVICE

Candice Oxford from Fort Worth, TX on June 15th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great energy company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Prices, service .are the best

Hoch Lim from Dallas, TX on June 13th, 2022
Overall Rating
Long time satisfaction with this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Weve been with Veterans Energy for a long while. No problems. Very satisfied with their service. I recommend this company.

Sonya from Corpus Christi, TX on June 13th, 2022
Overall Rating
Excellent service and excellent rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very courteous, professional and friendly staff. Easy ordering. Very low rate. No power issues so far. Everything has been great.

AJ from Round Rock, TX on May 31st, 2022
Overall Rating
7 years happy and counting.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have been with Veterans Electric since moving to Texas almost 7 years ago. It was recommended to me by another veteran. Like the fact that it is just for veterans and owned by veterans or was. The rate a very good and electrical issues outages etc. are taken care of quickly, whenever possible, weather, circumstances allowing.

RWH from Harlingen, TX on March 12th, 2022
Overall Rating
Low rates with no problems!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was with Infinite Energy when Veteran Energy bought the company. I was able to keep the same plan, and I have not encountered any problems!

Shannon J. from Krum, TX on February 17th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've a good experience with this company, highly recommended

Flint Nelson from Zavalla, TX on February 1st, 2022
Overall Rating
Veterans energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have had a good experience with veterans energy

Myrna from Nolanville, TX on December 29th, 2021
Overall Rating
No other choice available in my area
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The change in my electric company was easy as I have no other choice in my area.

Kay Boling from Whitney, TX on April 29th, 2022
Overall Rating
Auto Renewal 5/12/22
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very good experience. No problems. Did not get a quote for a promotional or specials so I don't know if the price is the same or better.

Cynthia Gregory from Belton, TX on April 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great Company to work with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Competitive prices. Each week they show my usage and compare to the previous week.

Anne from Denison, TX on December 23rd, 2021
Overall Rating
Retired
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was unhappy with my former experience with Veteran Energy but my latest experience is much, much better.

Retired from Tomball, TX on June 25th, 2021
Overall Rating
Highly recommend Veteran Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have had a positive experience with Veteran Energy, and no surprises on our electric bills. This is important to me since our home is total electric. Veteran Energy also has very good customer service.

Candace from Burkburnett, TX on June 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Time to Renew
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I ended up as a Veteran Energy customer by default. I had signed on with Infinite Energy in October with a 10 month introductory rate plan. A few months later I was notified that Infinite had sold/moved its Texas accounts to Veterans Energy and existing contracts would be honored by VE. Once that took place I was welcomed as a new customer and I set up my online account. I use the website to check invoices and pay. Once a week I get a weekly usage report to help me manage my usage. On occasion I have received offers to purchase related energy products at discount prices, eg. smart thermostat. My contract is due to expire July 14 and a week ago I received an email offering me a new contract at a reasonable rate. After shopping around I decided to accept the dated offer. One issue that I did encounter was trying to look at other plans that VE was offering as a continuing customer. I could not find plans offered by logging into my account. If the plans are accessible there I could not find where they are hidden. The main VE website offers plans to new customers only. I am still interested in looking at an 18 or 24 month contract. I tried to call in today, Sunday June 6 only to learn that the office is closed today although the website indicated it was open from 6/5 on Saturday and Sunday.

Michael from Harlingen, TX on June 6th, 2021
Overall Rating
Yearly renewal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They are very kind and always send an early notice. Thanks.

Simon Ju from Flower Mound, TX on May 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best Energy for Vets
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had an amazing experience with this company for nearly 8 years.

Jerome Stovall from Tomball, TX on May 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
An excellently ran company...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

...and it shows in the customer service. I just got off the phone with Diamond, who helped me choose and sign up for a new plan. Engaging young man, courteous, very knowledgeable. The weekly emails with my usage is excellent and a nice touch for customers. I've never had a delivery problem with my electricity, nor any billing conflicts. A far more customer-friendly than the company I used before. I highly recommend Veterans Energy.

Washushae from Allen, TX on April 9th, 2019
Overall Rating
Bringing back compassion in customer service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

In a world where many are quick to complain but less likely to praise, my husband and I humbled but the experience with Veteran Energy. We were dealing with a nightmare of a situation with our previous electricity provider where we were left without power in freezing temps for 24 hours. We were unsure where to turn due to an internal error by the previous company. We were stressed, exhausted and frustrated to say the least.



My husband researched and found that Veteran Energy provides a discount to military and veterans. Great bonus first off considering most rates per kWh and hidden fees we were able to find after digging into many of the rate plans found. After contacting them and speaking to Cameron we instantly felt we were in good hands. We had to place a call back at our request and spoke to Marcos and then his supervisor Roberto (for a positive reason). The integrity (yes we are saying this about a utility company), dignity, compassion, patience and dignity shown from start to finish left us truly humbled by our experience. We are truly thankful for the time, attention to detail and quickness of each member of the Veteran Energy team we spoke with. Each one of these representatives from Veteran Energy reminded us of what customer service truly is. They are a great asset to this company and represent the face of the company well. In a world where it seems most companies have forgotten what customer service is it was a breath of fresh air to have this experience with this company.

Thank you to each one of you (Cameron, Marcos & Roberto) for the outstanding customer service we received and for making this such a personable experience! Thank you for restoring the trust and faith we had lost! We are so glad to be a new Veteran Energy customer!

Mgngrz3 from Arlington, TX on February 9th, 2018
Overall Rating
First time renewal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have had Vet Energy for 3 years on a fixed rate. Pretty happy for the most part especially knowing they donate $$ to charities. Got thrown a "bone" fixed rate being my plan expires in a couple months. I found "several" other companies that have a much lower rate however, I decided to give them one more year. I'll reevaluate then a switch if they aren't more competitive.

Mark from Houston, TX on May 9th, 2022
Overall Rating
ELECTRIC SERVICE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ALL THINGS SEEM TO BE GOOD WITH VETERAN ENERGY EXCEPT THERE WAY OF BILLING, THEY TOOK OVER ANOTHER ELECTRIC COMPANY WE WERE USING LAST FALL AND WE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 6 MONTHS AND THE DUE DATE HAS BEEN A DIFFERENT DAY EVERY TIME SO IT IS HARD TO MAKE YOUR BUDGET WORK WHEN DUE DATES ARE DIFFERENT EACH MONTH.


OTHER THAN THAT ALL SEEMS TO BE GOOD.

S. WHEELER from Lindale, TX on April 4th, 2021
Overall Rating
Great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Veteran energy offers great service to me and also to our veterans....Very impressed!

Lara from Houston on October 13th, 2011
Overall Rating
Not the most personable since they were bought out
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I liked Veteran Energy when it was owned and operated by Veterans. It was personable and they knew your name. Success happens and they were purchased by a bigger group, but kept the name.


You could call and speak with someone who understood. The mailings or updates were thankful you were a veteran and more personal touches.
When the original company was bought out you were not really informed about it, then your billing date changed to the first of the month. If you were one second of one day after the first of the month you got letters immediately about cancellation notices just because you may have paid your bill previously on the 4th, 5th, of the month etc.
I was never overdue on my bills but they sure made it seem like I was a criminal and another number in the system.
Recently for renewal they want to charge you a fee for using less energy? Really? On a 1000kw plan: If you used less than 1000kw of energy you got a bill for $9.95 additional fee. Wow. So you might as well quit hitting 850Kw and tell the kids to "leave the lights on" so you can hit 1000kw's and avoid paying an extra $9.95 per month.
Once again - I liked it when it was more personable, they did not turn into "cancellation notice" overlords, and the customer service was more welcoming and appreciated the value of you as a customer, veteran, long time subscriber.
Their rates are average with others - so the options are up to you. They are no longer a "Veteran" energy company I feel, but a company with "Veteran" in the name and a few donations to charities.

T. Roy from Round Rock, TX on April 7th, 2022
Overall Rating
I think I might have been bamboozled
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I got an email requesting that I renew my contract, which doesn't expire until Aug 2021 (It's June 2021 today). It said I had until July 3rd or 4th to lock it down. I clicked on the company name just to view my account. Two things: I could not see exactly when my stupid contract ended, so I ended up logging out. I sure as heck didn't renew my contract. I get an email from them within an hour of logging off congratulating me on my new contract, which I did not renew. It's impossible to see my current contract on their site. I've gone to every possible place possible.

Ticked Off from Garland, TX on June 28th, 2021
Overall Rating
Beware and Stay Away!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The pricing and service was not bad but their customer service and sales team ended up cheating me by falsely signing me up renewing my contract and then later billing me for breaking of the contract. After 12 months my service was up; I received a sales call and I told them over the phone NO I did not want to renew the contract as I was in the process of moving overseas. Naturally I called to disconnect and I paid the final bill. I left overseas and did not give them a forwarding address because I was done with them. A year later I return to US and go to purchase a Home when all of a sudden I see my credit rating has negative hits on it from Veteran's Energy. They opened up 3 lines each for $348 which took my credit rating down over 150 points. I called and they told me that I had early termination fee which they charged because I renewed the contract and then canceled that same month. I told them I did not renew and then they said they outsource their sales team and cannot verify. They admitted that I was never late on payment nor delinquent on actual services just on the early cancellation fee plus late fees on top of that.

Frustrated Traveler from Houston on October 12th, 2016
Overall Rating
Horrible Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terrible company. They kept me in the dark about payments and requirements. Customer service was terrible. I spent over an hour on the phone trying to sort out what I needed to do. Worst experience.

Frustrated Customer from Dallas on August 26th, 2016
Overall Rating
A little let down
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When I first started service, some how soon after I started service my service was disconnected and reconnected in the same day which caused me a lot of confusion when it came to the following bills

David Daniels from Copperas Cove, TX on June 28th, 2022
Overall Rating
Worst Customer Service!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do not pick Veteran Energy!!!


They bought my account from Infinite Energy when they left the Texas market. They tried to give me a late charge as their was no notification that they would be my new Utility provider. After I called them a month later I finally get something in the mail. When my wallet was lost and my cards were canceled my auto-pay was declined. Oh they cant take a wire transfer from a bank. Well then you are going to have to wait. Come home no power. Call them up office is closed, please call back at 7am. No A/C during the summer. 7am 30 minutes and only $50 later to get my power back. They should be ashamed of how they conduct business! I will never, never, never do business with them again!

Chris from Houston, TX on August 26th, 2021
Overall Rating
Just Say No
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a bill for about $22.00 They had my power disconnected for that amount. There was a disconnect fee of $20 and the Re-connect Fee was $20 dollars. After that I changed to Just Energy. I've been using them for over 2 years now and no problems.

Cody B from Galveston, TX on August 24th, 2021
Overall Rating
RUNAWAY LONG TERM CONTRACT WITH HIGH PENALTY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was with infinite energy until the company was bought by Veteran, nightmare, long term contract and prices went up and bad customer service, RUNNNNNN

Charlie from Flower Mound, TX on July 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
Worse company i have ever dealt with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would never recommend this company. Worse customer service and the most ridiculous way of doing business. If you have a hardship don't try to get a extension without having to pay for it. I had infinite before it was sold to veterans enery. Infinite was amazing and amazing customer service. I switched my light company after 3 months with veterans. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Worse Electric Company Ever from Grapeland, TX on July 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Sad, simply.... Sad
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Prices are okay, I was brought over as a customer of a company they acquired and its been down hill since. Customer service is so, impressively bad I don't even know where to begin. Beyond terrible. I was going to renew my plan with them for 12 more months because (as I said above) the rate was okay. I was told they had no one available to assist me for 48 hours and they would call me back. Okay, call me... They never did. Wow, what a shame they do business under the name Veteran. As a Veteran, I don't treat people this way especially my customers.

Sad, Simply.... Sad from Aubrey, TX on June 30th, 2021
Overall Rating
Cheat the people when you have 1000Kwh $70 Bill Plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They simply cheating the customer by taking reading for long days alternatively.. 29 days sometime 33 days other time.

Praveen Myakala from Irving, TX on June 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Never wanted them and good riddence
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

After billing issues, multiple issues with their website where I couldn't pay or get into my account, and rude customer service. I am happy to sayI left them.

Savannah from Plano, TX on June 7th, 2021
Overall Rating
Do not go for this energy provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This service does not even deserve 0 star. My contract with them was supposed to end on 04/29/2021 and I called then in the first/second week of April to confirm that my contract is not getting renewed after that date as my lease was getting over. The representative told me that I'm good to go and the service will be stopped on 4/29/2021. Later I get a bill for the month of May 2021. When I call the customer service, they tell me that the account is still open. The entire process of handling this issue with them is so frustrating and they are not at all helpful.

Amruta Kamble from Irving, TX on June 5th, 2021
Overall Rating
ZERO STAR - WORSE COMPANY EVER
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Like everyone else here, I was ripped off by veteran energy! I used to pay $75 for my energy bill every month than Infinite energy sold my contract to veteran energy and my bill kept increasing for the next three months to $200 then $250 then to $270 and I called them saying I have never used this much energy ever in a 900sq ft apartment. It wasn't even possible for me to use that much energy especially in the mild Dallas winter weather. I went from using less than 800kWh each month to 2000kWh each month. I MEAN COME ON!! How is that even possible?!??! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Their customer service sucks and basically told me that if nothing is wrong with the meter than it is my fault. I read other reviews and this same SCAM is happening to everyone. On top of this, they told me they were going to cancel my plan when I moved out and they never did. So now I have to beg for money back that they stole from me. The worst experience ever and they have stolen hundreds from me now with no hope of me getting it back.

Meg from Plano, TX on May 5th, 2021

Compare Veteran Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Champ Saver-12
15.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Champ Saver-24
15.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Weekends-24
15.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Energy-24
15.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Valor 36
14.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Thermostat 24
16.9¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Valor 24
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Valor 12
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Secure 24
17.9¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Secure Green 24
18.5¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Secure 12
20.9¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 36
14.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 24
15.5¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 36
16.2¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 36
16.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 36
17.2¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 24
16.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 12
17.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 24
17.3¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 24
17.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 12
16.5¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 12
17.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 12
18.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability