Reviews Overview
The best review categories for American Light & Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 4.6 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 4.1 of 5.
5 Stars
43%
 
4 Stars
21%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
14%
 
1 Stars
14%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from JR

All good
No problems at all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Houston, TX on October 19th, 2019


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
All good
No problems at all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Houston, TX on October 19th, 2019
Excellent Electricity Provider
American Light & Power have been great for supplying our power needs. was easy to change over to them, great charges, easy payments with Auto payments so you never get a late fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AL&P Service from Mercedes, TX on October 5th, 2019
Best damn light company in Texas
Its easy their rates are fair and the people are real if I have an issue who ever is on the phone they handle it right then and their. I'm not transferred our given the run around. They are the most reliable electric company I have ever used thank you ALP
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Milton Penick from Corpus Christi, TX on April 16th, 2019
Great experience
Never had any issues.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

V from San Carlos, TX on April 14th, 2019
American Light & Power
The thing I like about American Light & Power is the steady rate of 10.6 cents per KWH regardless if you use
500, 1000, or 2000 KWH.

The thing I like about TexasElectricityRatings.com is their charts that help highlight different usage pricing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Spring, TX on March 4th, 2019
That was easy!
I recommend AL&P in every way, thank you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andrus from Houston, TX on November 2nd, 2018



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
American Light & Power
No real headaches.....there were a couple email exchanges during the initial setup as I went through a 3rd party vendor to sign up, but other than that everything has been great and cheap.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donald from Houston, TX on May 8th, 2019
Good company
Smooth experience in making the electricity contract form my apartment. Everything worked fine. Very reasonable fees too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Victor from Dallas, TX on February 3rd, 2019
Improve website
Great service so far, I had to call to organize auto pay and bills send via email. can you update website so we can do these things ourselves online, that's my only recommendation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Themidds from Mercedes, TX on January 5th, 2019



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Experienced no issues
Switched to American Light & Power due to their good price for low usage account. Everything turned out OK since no much services were needed except for billing and payment on-line.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

WZ from Pearland, TX on February 5th, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Incompetent billing system
I do not pay my bills through the AL&P website as I choose to do all of my bill paying through my bank's bill pay system. I have been with the company for 2 months and both months I have received disconnect notices because they are incapable of posting a live check! The check arrives a week before the due date but the customer service rep. (and I use that term loosely) continues to state that the reason they are not being credited is because I'm not paying through their website. It was a circular conversation that lead absolutely nowhere . I regret signing a contract with them, and will cancel as soon as possible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandy D. from Houston, TX on March 29th, 2019
Billing issue
I switched to American light & power, few days later I got a call asking if I cancelled and requested a new account. I told the representative "no", I just switched few days ago. The Rep told me she will correct whatever issue it. The next thing I got a bill asking me to pay disconnection fee and base charge. I called the company after I received the bill, the Rep I spoke with again assured me the bill will be corrected. At the time of writing, I am been change late fee for base charge, the disconnection fee was waived.
My issue is, why am I been changed base fee twice the same month when you are only suppose be change base fee once a month. The company need to get their stuff right. I can't pay for services I did not get. If the issue is not resolved, will have to seek help from ABC13 news. I know they will listen once I get them involve.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anderson O from Rosenburg, TX on January 10th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Not what I was expecting
Info that was given from this electric to help me save was wrong. I'm having to spend twice as much as I did with my last. I don't recommend, unless you want something close to the expensive prices like TXU and reliant. Not recommended for low income families.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kara from Blanket, TX on March 14th, 2019
No customer service, the phone number asks for a password and then hangs up when you dont have one?
Now I know why bad reviews! Cant contact them. Started the process to change to them, then went to call them and the number they list answers requesting a password? Whats that? Never gave me one on my application page? They want 200 deposit, will they provide interest on that. Credit score of 840 ! They may have an answer but I will never know it because I cant call or email them?

BAD start, is this a sample of frustrations to come? RUN !!! Plenty of competition out there !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Customer Service Number That Works from Laredo, TX on November 28th, 2018



Recommended Electricity Plans