Power of Texas Reviews

Power of Texas Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Power of Texas are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.5 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 3.3 of 5.

Power of Texas Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

Power of Texas Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
Power of Texas 12
12 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info
Power of Texas 18
18 months

per kWh
@ 1,000 kWh
analyze rate
EFL - more info


10 Reviews for Power of Texas


Awesome!

(5 / 5)

  This is the cheapest my bill has EVER been!

Amazing! from Missouri City
March 9th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Electric Provider

(5 / 5)

  I think it's a great electricity company and I love the experience with my family ,thanks

Hector from Corpus Christi
February 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good price and service

(5 / 5)

  The price is the best that I've had and the service has been flawless so far

Mario from Coppell
February 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wonderful Electric Comppany

(4.8 / 5)

  Amazing electric company# Great prices?!

Christopher Smith from Houston
February 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power of Texas has good pricing.

(4.4 / 5)

  Little early to give much of an opinion. Only been with them for 2 1/2 months so far no problems. Have not had any issues to resolve.

Casey Johnson from Houston
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power of Texas

(4 / 5)

  great so far

ladner from Brookshire
March 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power of Texas - Do they have qualified people for the job?

(1.6 / 5)

  I am writing today to inform anyone interested in Power of Texas of my experience. In short. Price is a little high, I have only had service during fall/winter season. Makes me afraid for summer when I will need to use the a/c. I have only needed to call Customer Support one time and it was an unpleasant experience. I have made all my previous payments in full and on time. When I was making this months payment I paid early and didn't pay in full.... I was later emailed that my electricity was going to get shut off in 2 days. I was thinking okay no problem, I will just call and ask for a one day extension because I would get paid the day after my electric was due to get shut off. I call and the first gentlemen I speak with tells me that he can help me but I would need to put a deposit of 13$ down in order to get an extension. I then go on to tell him that I couldn't make the deposit but I could pay the remaining balance in full the day after it was scheduled to get shut off. He then tells me that cringe word "Policy." Now I know that I cant talk to this man because he will never help me. I asked to speak with the manager and at first he was hesitant but then I was put on hold. I now have the "pleasure" off speaking with the manger Nelson. Nelson starts the conversation by telling me he knows everything already because the employee before him filled him up to speed. "Unfortunately, policy states that we need a down payment in order to arrange the payment for the date you want." he tells me. Once again I explain that I wouldn't be able to make any payment that's why I am calling because I needed help for just ONE day. He tells me the same thing like at least 19 times. I realize yet again I will not be getting anywhere with this employee either, next I ask if there is anyone above him. "Yes." he answers. I asked to be transferred to the manger above him. Now check this out! He tells me that he would have to email the manager because they don't talk on the phone and it will take 24-48 hours! I don't have that kind of time to wait because they will still shut off my electricity. I had to do a great deal of arguing with this guy when he finally says he will email the manager right then as we were on the phone. He kept trying to hang up with me and some more arguing got me 30 minutes, in stead of 24-48 hours because of high call volume. I did miss the call from the manger, my fault. I was occupied with my toddler. Anyway, Mr. Nelson then calls me 15 minutes later and this time he starts similar to last time but you'll see.... He starts this conversation by saying that last time we talked he was getting all of his information from his employee instead of actually looking into my account to see what he could do for me. He then tells me that he could grant my one day extension after looking into my account and seeing that I paid half of my bill and that could be the "down payment" that they needed. I say thank you and we end the conversation. I was just extremely upset about the whole thing. I really didn't have money for a down payment and they were really going to shut off my electricity for ONE day. They are only willing to "help" if they have first charged you. Like you aren't already paying for service in the first place. Its just wild. I was only asking for one day. He also goes its just $13 dollars..... I mean I get that but when you don't have it... you don't have it. My plan ends soon and I will not transfer my services the next place I go. I suggest you avoid. Don't be another me and sign up. You've got a step up because I didn't even read the reviews and I wish I would have. Life happens and the last thing you want is to give money to people who cant empathize with there customers when something goes wrong and they need a few days but still need to keep the lights on for the kids.... You decide.


DM

Daniel M. "hight call volume" (It took them like 2 seconds to answer any time I from Fort Worth
February 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth the change

(1.2 / 5)

  Every time I talk to customer service they are always rude & never help. They are so fast to charge you. I have been with this company for a year n half. My bill is always high it makes no sense. Plus they will charge you anyway they can instead of helping. So if you are thinking about this company my answer is NO! Stay away.

Paying loyal customer from Dallas
May 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not use

(1 / 5)

  I switched from txu when a guy came offering better rates. 1st month, bill was ridiculously high. They offer their sales people give rates without including tdu and other rates even though i asked. 1st month i got my bill on time, second month it was a month late, even with all my calls requesting my bill (they even gave me a lower rate, they tried to charge me late fees when i had no bill and according to them, they had no bill. The girl that i spoke to had the audacity to tell me, we can only wave the late fee this one time as a courtesy......even though they had no bill and were actually blaming the energy distributor for not having it. Every month since has been a headache having to call and have to have an investgation into where my bill is. This company is not worth the headache or time and will try to screw you over at any chance they get.

Donna from Del Rio
March 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely horrible experience. Very crooked company

(1 / 5)

  So, let me start by saying I had been with trieagle energy for years, but someone came to my door offering me a better deal with power of texas. It was a headache from the very beginning. I end up having to move a few months into signing, and my new apartment has their own electricity so I had to cancel with power of texas. I called, canceled, sent my change of address from USPS to their customer care email, AND followed up with an email a few days later to make sure they received it. Nothing. Then, I go to pay my last bill amount today, to see that the electricity had NEVER BEEN DISCONNECTED, AND THEY HAD BEEN CHARGING ME THE WHOLE TIME. I called and basically they told me my request to cancel my electricity was denied because I had called from a different phone number then what had been on file...WHAT. And then they never let me know about it!!! They claimed that they called me three times, but never left a voicemail, sent an email, or any kind of letter. I just spent over an HOUR on hold with customer service to try and fix all of this. Absolutely ridiculous and criminal situation. Seriously, it was a SCAM from the beginning. AVOID POWER OF TEXAS AT ALL COSTS.

Brian Dal from Houston
January 17th, 2019

Hello Brian, We apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. We would appreciate the opportunity to further investigate what has taken place and will do whatever we can to make things right. Please email your contact and account information to resolution@poweroftexas.com so we can help. - Power of Texas

Power of Texas Responds January 28th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...