Amigo Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Amigo Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Amigo Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Amigo Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Amigo Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Amigo Energy

2.4 / 5

Amigo Energy Reviews

241 Reviews for Amigo Energy

241

total reviews

Want to order Amigo Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Amigo Energy?

Is Amigo Energy good?

Amigo Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 1.9/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 14.9¢/kWh!

Is Amigo Energy expensive?

Amigo Energy has energy plans starting as low as 14.9¢/kWh with their Amigo Web - 24. The average Amigo Energy plan rate is 16.04¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.54¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



Amigo Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Amigo Energy:

TXU Amigo Energy
Plan Count 8 2
Average Rate 18.01¢/kWh 15.40¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $0.00
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Bundled Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 14.50¢/kWh.
Amigo Web - 12
from 15.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 15.50¢/kWh.
Amigo Web - 24
from 14.90¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Amigo Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Amigo Energy:

Reliant Amigo Energy
Plan Count 4 2
Average Rate 16.80¢/kWh 15.40¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Bundled Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 17.10¢/kWh.
Amigo Web - 12
from 15.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 16.10¢/kWh.
Amigo Web - 24
from 14.90¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Amigo Energy take reviews seriously?

Amigo Energy has an average user review of 1.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 76% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Amigo Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Amigo Energy customer review communities around. With 241 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Amigo Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Amigo Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Judy

Overall Rating
Great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I always get good service with Amigo never had an issue they couldn't fix

Judy from Irving, TX on July 13th, 2022
Hi Judy. Thank you for this incredible review and for taking the time out to leave us a 5-Star review. We really appreciate you being a Amigo Energy customer.

Many Thanks,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Mrs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Using your services I got service with no deposit. The transition was fairly easy. Thank you for helping me compare the plans available

Alejandra C from Houston, TX on April 18th, 2022
Hi Alejandra C. We are glad to hear that you are happy with our enrollment process. Thank you for this awesome rating. Have a great day!


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Customer service for an issue I had was professionally resolved
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I went from being upset about an issue I had, to being being very pleased with the professionalism of this company. As long as they make every voice count (as they are doing) then they are a great company to do business with, in my book. Thanks Amigo energy and keep up the good work.

Joshua Nelms from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2020
Hi Joshua, thank you for the great review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Amigo Energy. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. We will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Saul Quintero
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfied customers

Saul from Dallas, TX on February 7th, 2020
Thank you Saul, for leaving a positive review of your services with us. We look forward to our continued partnership!


Thank you,
Gabriella, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Brenda
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It's good

Brenda Davila from Odessa, TX on September 24th, 2018
Overall Rating
The WOW factor!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I really like my electricity provider. I've been with Amigo Energy for all most a year now and I think they have excellent customer service, prices are great, and a great perks program. If they had a commercial I would definitely be the one on there truly bragging about my experience and the wow factor they provided to me.



Thanks Amigo!

Tiffany P from Lancaster, TX on August 22nd, 2018
Overall Rating
Lots of choices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was confused about all the choices offered for electric companies as I am from Maryland & there aren't many choices there for providers. I went with Amigo on the advice of an acquaintance & was very pleased that it was so easy to sign up for service. I called their customer service line & was happy with the help I got.

Happy With Amigo from Abilene, TX on August 7th, 2018
Overall Rating
Best electricity service so far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good so far

Rebecca Mcbride from Waco, TX on April 24th, 2018
Overall Rating
Lower bills
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have used Amigo several times over the past 5 years. My bill was always considerably lower with the bundled plan available with Amigo. I also signed my parents up and they are very happy with the drastic drop in their electric bill. the past two months. I would highly recommend Amigo to anyone wanting to lower their bill.

Laura from Stafford, TX on December 27th, 2017
Overall Rating
Quick activation
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Talked on the phone with a wonderful lady that told me all the ins and outs of the plans and set me up with one perfect for me. I called at 11am and it was on before 2pm THE SAME DAY!! Wish I could thank her but I forgot her name

Corpus from Corpus Christi, TX on December 12th, 2017
Overall Rating
Not a satisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Early termination fee-was charged $175 although I have moved out of state

Pamela Cartwright from Port Aransas, TX on September 30th, 2021
Hi Mrs. Cartwright, thank you very much for allowing me to assist you over the phone. We are happy we were able to provide a resolution that was quick and most importantly to your satisfaction.

Regards,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Se interesan por sus clientes
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amigoenergy tiene un departamento especial para dar solucin a cualquier mal entendido con sus clientes ,yo tube uno y se comunicaron por medio de su CLM Alicia que dio pronta solucin a mi problema por eso me mantengo 12 aos con ellos recibiendo buen precio y buena atencin !

Jose Catter from Katy, TX on December 11th, 2020
Gracias por permitirnos ayudarle. No dude en contactarnos si tiene preguntas adicionales. Muchas gracias por ser cliente de Amigo Energy, ¡valoramos su negocio!

Gracias,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellant co. no issues at all, except when 2 yr. agreement up had to go elsewhere because their offer was higher than competitors.

Bob from Fort Worth, TX on March 4th, 2020
I am sorry to hear that you had to leave but glad that you had a good experience with us. If for any reason it doesn't work out with your new provider, feel free to contact us to get the services reinstalled. Thank you for your business!
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
N/a
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have a good experience so far nothing off yet .

Clarissa from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2019
Hi Clarissa, many thanks for your great review! We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. ¡We hope you have a lovely day!
Thank You.
Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
No problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good overall. Only point of issue would be the billing. They charge $5 to pay online (though I didn't get that charge last time I paid) and the bills come in the mail sometimes shortly before the bill is due!


But (because a bill came late) I got a disconnect notice and the date was due. I called and they were friendly and extended my date so my payment could go through.

Steven Ogden from Crowley on March 22nd, 2014
Overall Rating
Pretty good experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Re-upped with Amigo after an initial 6-month term. Without negotiating, I was offered another 6-month renewal rate lower than a new customer rate, and much lower than what is advertised as their returning customer renewal rates online. Renewal process took 5 minutes. Honestly, was very surprised, as I usually have had to ask for a new customer rate with my previous service providers upon renewal. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.



Also, person spoke English!!!! Was not based in another country. Allowed me to opt out from marketing calls, as well.

Lastly, like other customers, I was billed an Internet ACH fee of $5 in my last bill. Customer service gave me a solution to not paying it - just set up an auto-pay. It's auto-debited on the due date, so nothing lost.

Will see how things go this next 6 months and keep my fingers crossed that rates don't move upward too much by June.

Keith from Houston on December 12th, 2013
Overall Rating
5 years and counting for residential and business
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Never had any trouble and I have 3 accounts with them 2 residential and one business account for an townhome community. The rate offered to renew has always been the best I can find at the time I need to renew. The customer service has been great. English spoke here and the customer service location is in Houston TX. I do not understand the other negative comments I have read on the reviews. They also are offering referral rebates but are not based on dog and pony show marketing. I like this company!

G. Davis from Houston on June 27th, 2013
Overall Rating
Great company / no complaints
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had NO ISSUE whatsoever. they started on the day i requested, i had not 1 interruption at all.


the first bill was kinda tricky and high due to some billing issues and fine prints...i cant blame AMIGO ENERGY for it because its the freaking government that lets them do these "gotchas"....its just incredible that none of this is regulated. but over all, I was happy with them, my 12 months was up and i had to drop them due to an increase in rate.

Elias Fuentes from Katy on June 18th, 2013
Overall Rating
Nice Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I found an affordable, 6-month rate with Amigo. I ordered the service a bit late--just a couple of days before move-in, but they were really understanding and had everything up and running in time for my move. I found the renewal plan too expensive, so I canceled without any trouble. Customer service was always nice.

Ollie B from Houston on May 22nd, 2013
Overall Rating
Great company for 6 years
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had Amigo since 2006 and they have been fine - even gave me the $25 referral credit after I contacted them though they said I didn't put in the right code. Only bummer thing is the $2/mo fee for using a credit card. But changing now because rates are too high... I'd definitely recommend.

Nicole from Cypress on February 13th, 2013
Overall Rating
Added late fee and sent final bill to collections
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

At the end of our arranged fixed pricing term, we moved to another provider. Amigo Energy sent us a final bill which indicated they would bill our auto-pay credit card. Instead, however, they did not charge the card, added a late fee, and sent the bill to a collections agency. They did not email or contact us until the bill was transferred. Credit was hit. Will never go to Amigo Energy again.

Therese from Houston, TX on June 24th, 2022
Hi Therese. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you and resolve your concern for you as quickly as possible. Your feedback is much appreciated, Thank You for allowing us to assist you.<br /><br />Thank You,<br />Lilly Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Elizabeth McGee
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Finally spoke to a representative who cares about the consumer. Amigo Energy please keep this individual on your payroll. She actually deserves a raise.

Elizabeth from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2022
Hi Elizabeth, thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the account. We appreciate you allowing us to resolve the issue and the update.


Best Regards,
Yahaira, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Good experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

With them for 6 years, good experience, rates just went up at renewal time.

Paul from Pflugerville, TX on June 5th, 2019
Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to review us and being a valued customer of Amigo Energy for 6 years ! We appreciate your feedback.

Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Renewal quotes too high
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

There's alot I like about Amigo. Their initial rate through Texas Electricity Ratings was really good. They send weekly usage reports so I know how much I'm spending each week and estimated monthly bill so I can adjust usage. I never had a billing issue. Cons - It took a long time for them to set up the transfer. I made several calls in the first weeks because I never heard from them and I was afraid I wouldn't have power. Their renewal quote was 5 cents per kw hour higher than what my contract was, much higher than any company on this site. I hate to move companies again, but it's too high to continue. Recommendation if you have a good quote with them would be to lock it in for several years.

JR from Justin, TX on February 8th, 2019
Hi JR, thank you so much for this great review. We appreciate your feedback and being a loyal customer of Amigo Energy!

Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor

— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lower price

Jackie from Laredo, TX on April 12th, 2018
Overall Rating
Harvey storm
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I live in Houston and like many trying to put my life back together after the storm. I was out of work for due to the weather for a week in a half so of course no work no pay. I ask for some time they give me until today but I called today to see if I could get until next Friday the men said sure but if you don't pay we will cut your light off. This is what got me why are why sending out emails to customers saying that y'all understand if we need time or help because many of us was affected by the storm to call. What help are y'all giving to your customers at this time? That's not helpful now I'm worried about what if I didn't make enough money to pay on everything and if my lights are going to be turned off.

Very Disturbed from Houston, TX on September 13th, 2017
Overall Rating
Overall pleased but will be switching
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My review is very similar to the last one. I have zero complaints from Amigo other than being caught off guard for a $2.00 monthly credit card autopay fee.



Their prices for new customers are very competitive, but thats where the good prices end. When it comes time to renew, their renewal offers are easily 1.5 to 2 c per kwh higher than average. If they had been able to provide the rate they provide to new customers (still seen on powertochoose.org) I would have stuck with them.

Alas I am not, I love switching from REP to REP every 6 months to get the lowest rate I am comfortable with.

Scott from Fort Worth on March 22nd, 2013
Overall Rating
Not bad
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I picked their company based on price alone. It was a great deal. I had no problems with getting my bill by email every month, and I liked that they sent it .pdf, so I didn't have to log in to look at the bill. (They do only give it to you about 2 weeks before it is due though). Unfortunately, when it came time to renew, their prices were a lot higher than most of the other companies. They sent me several emails with 'deals' to renew, but every one of them was higher than the average of the other companies on powertochoose.org. I also appreciated that they reminded me of when my contract was going to expire, so I wasn't surprised when the rates went up. But at the end of the day, they didn't want to keep their customers long term, so I switched to save a few bucks. I would recommend them---if their rates are good on the day you are looking.

Melissa from San Angelo on February 21st, 2013
Overall Rating
Great!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thank god Amigo is my Amigo!

Sean from Houston on February 3rd, 2012
Overall Rating
Great Choice
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I totally recommend Amigo Energy ever since I switch with them my bill was a lot cheaper.

Evelia from Houston on December 3rd, 2011
Overall Rating
Without power, no care
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am in my house without power its 40 F in my house. Amigo promised my power would be on today. They said if they needed any additional information they would contact me. I called this morning and the lady on the phone said they needed two items from me and I informed her that they never called. She apologized and said it would take 24-48 hours to get power on in my house. I told her that I had opted for priority for an extra fee on my bill so I could have power today. She said if they cant get it on today then I wouldnt have to pay for the priority yet I wouldnt have power. I emailed the documents and called back a few hours later to make sure they were received. The lady on this call promised Id have power in a few hours. Its been 3 hours and when I called back theyre office was closed. They dont open again until Monday and I have work on Monday and need power. Let me stress again that my house is cold and my food is going to go bad. I am so beyond upset.

Jamie from Texas City, TX on February 26th, 2022
Hi Jaime. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding and frustration caused at the time of the enrollment. A member of our team will be contacting you soon to have this resolved as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Highway Robbery
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was stuck in a contract for 2 years and one time I paid my bill 1 day late they charged me $25. Not to mention their rates are ridiculously high I was paying 13.9 cents per kilowatt!! Look at other companies do your research it will be worth it $$$ Do NOT sign with Amigo they do not accept their customers!!!

Lookingtobevalvedasacustomer from Weslaco, TX on July 8th, 2020
Overall Rating
Gotcha!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leased a home, had Amigo for the 4.5 years we lived there. Landlord called TXU to transfer service for the first day after my lease ended. And since TXU contacted them before I did, they will not remove the $175 early term fee. I have provided proof that I was moving, and the new address isnt in an area that you can choose your own provider, which they admit is an acceptable reason to cancel and not be charged. Theyre not budging and CS Reps are not helpful - not real sure Im being transferred to a supervisor when I ask for one.



So, use caution if/when you move.

TKelly from Wylie, TX on May 13th, 2020
Hello TKelly,

We are sadden to hear about your recent experience with us and would appreciate the opportunity to take another look at your account to help resolve your concern. Please reply with your account number and best number to reach you so we can assist.

Thank you,
G.O.
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Don't believe the hype
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amigo is good about the first year are so, but when you start using less the bill goes up even higher not sure where these ppl live or (work) on most of these post hint! but I know differently don't believe me stick in there and watch the changes.

PT from Abilene, TX on October 10th, 2019

Hi PT, It's important to us that our customers understand their energy bills. If there are questions, please send us your contact information and, we will be glad to reach out and clear up any confusion.
Lily- Your Social Media Energy Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Trying to intimidate their estblished customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amigo did not want to honor the program and suggested it didn't exist. I claimed it was a new home hook up and they did finally accepted the fact it did exist. they even sent me emails saying " we are sorry you are leaving amigo energy". what a bunch of uninformed ( employees? )

Intimidation from Keller, TX on April 19th, 2018
Overall Rating
$29 Late Fee's!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a long time customer of Amigo Energy however in recent months I noticed my bill getting higher. Normally we just pay our bill but with my recent lay off we have had to pay closer attention to bills. Of course, because of the layoff, we have had to shuffle manage bills in a way that didn't always allow paying on time, thus the late fees. This is when I noticed the $29 late fees. Now don't get me wrong I understand a charge for paying late however what I am struggling with is a mindblowing $29 late fee! I can understand a $5 or even $10 late fee but $29!?!?! I just think this is nickel & diming people to death! So now I am looking for another carrier. Oh, by the way, be on the lookout for the $10-month fee that they never make mention of when they are pitching their low rate sale because it means your not paying that $0.07 per kWh, you paying more once you factor in this fee.

Ziaros from Webster, TX on October 24th, 2017
Overall Rating
Stay away
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I missed one payment and my service was disconnected within 2 weeks. Never received a disconnection noticed. Really? I know I missed a payment but it slip my mind. You could at least wait for next service month. I was with Reliant for 10 years, never had a problem with them. I am switching companies, even if I have to pay an early termination fee.

Dennisse from Plano on December 4th, 2015
Overall Rating
Bad Billing and Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amigo had great service for start-up and a good price. Things went downhill from there. I was called about having them install a "smart thermostat" and it was explained that even though there was a $25/month charge it was guaranteed that I would save money. I saved no money the 1st three months (during the summer when there is the most opportunity for savings) I had them remove the stat within the 90 day "grace period", The $75 that I paid was never refunded. Now when I cancelled my service I was billed $295 for the thermostat that they took out. This was taken from my account by automatic draft. After an extended time on the phone and talking to several people, they said they would refund my money within 10 days. I called them after 16 days to find out where my money was and they said it was coming by check and would take 3 to 4 weeks.

Ken Dalton from Fort Worth on August 13th, 2014
Overall Rating
No bill received / late fee an termination notice recv'd 4 days later
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I did not receive a bill in Dec 2013. I did not notice, possibly missed due to heavy email volume that I receive every day, or spam file delivery. Not really sure why. Due date was 12/23. On Dec 27 a disconnect notice and $22+tax "Disconnect Notice Fee" was sent to me and received on 12/28. This works out to a 20% fee on a $100 balance. I immediately paid the bill online. This is my fault for not noticing that I had not been billed, but a disconnect notice and $22+tax fee after 4 days with not even a "did you forgot to pay your bill email or letter"? Nope. Not going to stand for this. I've had electricity service for 40 years, and I've been with numerous companies over the last 10 years since power to choose. CAN'T WAIT FOR MY CONTRACT TO EXPIRE, then moving on to another provider. Note: on hold with customer service for 15 minutes, but they DID remove the late fee, so that brings down my anger level a little.

ALH from Housotn on December 30th, 2013
Overall Rating
WAS a good company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unfortunately, this company has been sold twice since I first signed up and is now owned by one of the biggest electricity providers. Gone is the great customer service provided by employees who cared. Gone also is any effort to retain loyal, longtime customers. In return you get treated just like you do with a huge company. Their policy seems to be to stick you with a much higher renewal rate if you are stupid enough to hang around. It's sad that any company operates this way. I'll be going elsewhere.

M Campbell from Oak Point on July 23rd, 2013
Overall Rating
Overcharges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I vacate an apartment on 6/24/2022, whihc was only 7 day of thew billing cycle. This Bad Amigo waned to get pay the entire 30 days cycle. Because I refused, then started charging late fees and another month. Made your onw opinion.

Ramon Cabrera from Cypress, TX on August 19th, 2022
Hi Ramon Cabrera. Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to assist you with any concern. I am glad we were able to resolve your situation with your account cancellation date for you as quickly as possible. Thank You for being a customer with Amigo Energy, we appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Harassment/Denied Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called to start the enrollment process and apply for the domestic violence waiver. The first agent told me I need a certificate that I told have and she cant continue. She assumed I was lying about being a victim. I ask for a supervisor and he helped me. He told me what I can do and he transferred me over the worst agent EVER!! He kept wanting to argue with me and kept repeating the same thing and didnt want to me. After a while I ask for a supervisor and he refused and kept trying to argue. I had to get loud and say bad words than he gave in and transfer me to the billing.


Its a SHAME a com just hired people who cant even do they job. Make sure they pass the training because they get put on the floor.
NEVER AGAIN !!!!

Jaszlyn G. from Houston, TX on July 11th, 2022
Hi Jaszlyn G. Thank you for your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you with any concern. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. At your convenience, contact us at 1-866-469-2644. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Literally the worst BILLING provider in electrical service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company is the absolute worst with billing. roughly 30% of the time, the website shows that my payment went through ( I have multiple meters), only to find out 3-5 days later the payment didn't go through. They start calling a day before your bill is due in regard to a "late Payment". the payment date changes month to month. For some reason, even though I connected two meters at the same location on the same day, the bills are due 5 days apart now. the online chat is impossible to work with, only offering an auto response with a fake name. Seriously, I do not understand how Amigo stays in business. I'd rather buy electricity from North Korea.

South Texas from Hebbronville, TX on July 1st, 2022
Hi South Texas. Thank you for your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you with any concern. One of our agents has reached out to you to assist with your concern. Also at your convenience, contact us at 1-866-469-2644. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Termination fee
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I got amigo energy to clean a rent house and was assured they would NOT charge me a cancelation fee when I signed up, because I explained I only needed it for a month or two. Well now they are trying to collect it! Three different people lied to me that represent Amigo energy. Not very good customer service and especially not appropriate.

Cynthia Haley from Belton, TX on June 7th, 2022
Hi Cynthia Haley. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you and resolve your concern for you as quickly as possible. Your feedback is much appreciated, Thank You for allowing us to assist you.<br /><br />Thank You,<br />Lilly Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Sorry, Amigo - we just ain't buying these fake 5-star reviews
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

By far the WORST provider I've dealt with since de-regulation in Texas (and there have been some REALLY bad ones).



Calls to Customer service? Useless. Emails to Customer service? Ignored.
Bills based on the agreed EFL? A pipe dream at best.
Expedience in issuing 'cut-off' notices, or in sending endless, pre-recorded threatening phone-messages? Leader of the pack.

DANGER WILL ROBINSON! DANGER!!!!
Avoid this train-wreck at ALL costs. They have NO idea what they're doing.

Sean Large from Houston, TX on May 22nd, 2022
Hello Sean Large , I understand the frustration this concern has caused you. We appreciate you allowing us to resolve your concern. I hope you have a great day! Best Regards,<br />Lilly, Social Media Advisor

— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Unsatisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They have over charged me for the 2 years I used amigo energy/ just energy! I tried to transfer services and was charged a $175 for early termination. On top of that my service was suppose to be turned off at my old address on the 3rd and wasnt turned off until the 21st . Yet Im still expected to pay that bill with only them credited me 40. I would not recommend this company at all!

Cynthia from San Angelo, TX on May 20th, 2022
Hello Cynthia, We appreciate your feedback and would like to assist with your account. We value your business and we would like to have the opportunity to assist you as soon as possible. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at 1-888-469-2644.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Elizabeth McGee
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you want to be robbed for your money and disrespected for questioning the issue.. Sign up with Amigo. They will take your payment and swear you didn't pay them every month. Don't ask for a payment plan.. They will really rob you if you don't provide evidence. They chased me down at a grocery store to sign up. Smh.. I see why.. I regret stopping. Worse service ever

Elizabeth from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2022
Hi Elizabeth. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding a payment/payment plan. A member of our team will be contacting you soon to have this resolved as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,
Yahaira, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Picked my electric plan after a promotion and wont fix it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was on a promotion and it ran out so now amigo has put me on a plan of their choice without my knowledge or without contacting me so now my bill has shot up and so now I am struggling to pay because they will not fix it and gave me another high bill when we are not doing anything different but the bill is 3 or 4 hindered every month now plus are making me pay parts of last months bill or they are threatening to turn off my electric and I have a son with disabilities and has seizures if he gets too hot so I am now talking with a lawyer.

Aaron White from Abilene, TX on April 21st, 2022
Hi Aaron. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the renewal plans. A member of our team will be contacting you soon to have this resolved as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
A terrible company does not solve the problem I was waiting in line for more than an hour to be able to speak with a supervisor and I never got the call, they transferred me to another department and the only thing that told me to call center point energy so that they could help me, terrible amigo energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A terrible company does not solve the problem I was waiting in line for more than an hour to be able to speak with a supervisor and I never got the call, they transferred me to another department and the only thing that told me to call center point energy so that they could help me, terrible Amigo energy company

Martha Razo from Katy, TX on October 28th, 2021
Hi Martha, thank you for your feedback and for bringing this to our attention. Our apologies for any misunderstanding and frustration caused by the long wait. We are currently receiving a high volume of calls. We would be more than happy to assist with your bill as quickly as possible. A member of our team will be contacting you soon. Thank you.<br /><br /><br />Best Regards, <br />Lily, Social Media Advisor<br />
— Amigo Energy
Overall Rating
Not a satisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Early termination fee-was charged $175 although I have moved out of state

Pamela Cartwright from Port Aransas, TX on September 30th, 2021
Hi Mrs. Cartwright, thank you very much for allowing me to assist you over the phone. We are happy we were able to provide a resolution that was quick and most importantly to your satisfaction.

Regards,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor
— Amigo Energy

Compare Amigo Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Sure Value 36
13.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 24
13.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 36
15.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 36
15.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 36
16.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 24
16.2¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 12
16.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 24
15.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 24
17.2¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 12
14.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 12
16.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 12
17.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Amigo Web - 24
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Amigo Web - 12
16.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Clear Deal 24
16.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Clear Deal 12
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Solar Value 12
16.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Flex Forward
20.3¢
$9.99 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Simple Rate 12
19.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Solar Saver 12
22.3¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savers Discount 24
21.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savers Discount 12
20.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability