Pulse Power Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Pulse Power so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Pulse Power Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Pulse Power's Customer Reviews Summary

Pulse Power Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Pulse Power

3.5 / 5

Pulse Power Reviews

110 Reviews for Pulse Power

110

total reviews

Want to order Pulse Power?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Pulse Power?

Is Pulse Power good?

Pulse Power is generally rated with an average user review of 1.9/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 15.10¢/kWh!

Is Pulse Power expensive?

Pulse Power has energy plans starting as low as 15.10¢/kWh with their Texas Fixed 36. The average Pulse Power plan rate is 18.45¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 11.36¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

Pulse Power vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Pulse Power:

TXU Pulse Power
Plan Count 6 9
Average Rate 21.78¢/kWh 17.51¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $1.65
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 18.50¢/kWh.
Texas Fixed 12
from 16.70¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 19.50¢/kWh.
Texas Fixed 24
from 15.60¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Pulse Power vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Pulse Power:

Reliant Pulse Power
Plan Count 4 9
Average Rate 24.05¢/kWh 17.51¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $1.65
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Conservation 12 plan
from 24.50¢/kWh.
Texas Fixed 12
from 16.70¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 23.10¢/kWh.
Texas Fixed 24
from 15.60¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Pulse Power take reviews seriously?

Pulse Power has an average user review of 1.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Pulse Power?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Pulse Power customer review communities around. With 110 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Pulse Power customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Pulse Power Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from Kimberly W

Overall Rating
No issues with Pulse Power
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had Pulse Power as my electricity provider for two years now with no issues. Their great service has given me peace of mind.

Kimberly W from Crowley, TX on October 24th, 2021
Overall Rating
Low Price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My electricity bill went down for half of what I was paying

Mary from Houston, TX on March 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
Good company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good company for electric service

Sarah from Sealy, TX on February 27th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best Choice
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I chose Pulse Power due to the plan. But there was an added bonus in the plan I did not see until the first billing. The bill credit product adjustment lowered my bills each month making the summer heat not so bad.

Steven from Bedford, TX on January 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Excellent power company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good rate

Power from Humble, TX on January 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best Electric Company I have had in six years
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had several electric companies in the past 6 years, they all cheated me out of money. Of the 3 or 4 that I have had, this one is the best, their rates are low and have cut my electric bill in half. They are legit. I went from paying any where from $225.00-$250.00 per month on average to $143.00 per month and my usage has not changed. This month I had a credit. Now I know that the other ones were lying on the bill, the wattages were elevated and the rates were exagggeerated. Wish I had chosen Pulse power six years ago.

Jeanne Fugate from Houston, TX on December 2nd, 2020
Overall Rating
Awesome price for a small apartment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive enjoyed Pulse Power and the incredibly low bill. I even got free nights!

Riri from Arlington, TX on October 20th, 2020
Overall Rating
Satisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Overall im enjoying the way you put customers first when calling about a problem customer service is great.

Y Hollins from Cooper, TX on May 14th, 2020
Overall Rating
Awsomeness
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Love my lower bill

Laura Garza from Ferris, TX on May 2nd, 2020
Overall Rating
Reliable and Affordable
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been pleased with the service from beginning. The rates have been reasonable and the process for payment is simple.

SmudgySage from Fort Worth, TX on April 18th, 2020
Overall Rating
Pleasantly surprised with customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had an issue with billing, but I was able to call and was pleasantly surprised with how well it was handled. It got fixed in very short order, and I haven't had an issue since.

Miguel B from Fort Worth, TX on September 24th, 2021
Overall Rating
Pulse Power
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The company I would say is a good choice online billing & account information is a plus also they send a weekly consumption email if u sign up which is helpful. Now if u prefer customer service via phone it becomes a little bit of an issue due to the wait time to get an agent"if" u get one (sometime. Also given the circumstances with the virus and all if u need assistants payin the bill u can't get it through the normal places not sure u can get it other places either, not sure as to why but your on your own. In my experience other than those things generally it's a good company that needs to expand & find more ways of providing help.

Pulse Power Customer from Corpus Christi, TX on November 26th, 2020
Overall Rating
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good

JP from Missouri City, TX on May 11th, 2020
Overall Rating
Pulse Power
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Response was quick and easy. Once u are accepted the process doesn't take long to connect, just set a date and your all set. I would also like to point out that the rates are fairly low & easily maintained to keep your monthly payments affordable.

Roshan Smith from Corpus Christi, TX on March 25th, 2020
Overall Rating
So far, so great!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been a customer for a little more than a month. I got a great fixed rate, and I LOVE the weekly usage report with the bill predictor! So far, I'm a very happy customer.

Erin from Kingwood, TX on August 7th, 2019
Overall Rating
Lights
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So far plan is just right!!

Shannon from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2020
Overall Rating
DECEPTIVE ADs - bait & switch
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for this on 6/29 and on 7/27 I got a bill for a whopping $132 at 15.4 kwh and not the 5.9cent KWH. Which is .10 cents per KWH higher than my previous provider TXU. I thought they charged the highest rate in Austin TX.



Pulse Power just did a classic switch and bait, but it is also deceptive, because they bait you with 5.9 cent and a teeny-tiny clause "average price per kwh for 1000 kwh usage". I totally overlooked that, because I never in 65 years, based price on usage. I am 65 and the clause is deliberatlly too small and easily overlooked. It is like "Hey, 5.9cent!" and then whispering under your breath "if kwh is over 1000 usage,".

What Luis the rep (great customer service) on the phone explained to me on 7/28/20, is that if I don't hit >= 1,000 kwh, then I am billed the highest rate 15.4. I only get the 5.9 cent rate if I GO OVER/EQUAL to 1000 kwh. Now I am contracted to them for a year.

BUYER BEWARE. They grab you as the lowest rate, and in teeny-tiny print it reads 5.9 cent "average price per kwh for 1000 kwh usage".

I am totally screwed.

Kendall-johns from Austin, TX on July 28th, 2020
Overall Rating
Rating
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good, just signed up for this company

Tammy Smith from Kingwood, TX on May 7th, 2020
Overall Rating
Cant get it right!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Everything great customer service top notch! Good rates! The problem Im having issues with is paying my bill!!! 2 months Ive tried automatic payments! And 2 months Ive gotten disconnection notices dont know what the problem is!!! So I always have to call and pay the payment!!!

Lanita Polk from Lake Jackson, TX on April 4th, 2020
Overall Rating
Quick & Easy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was very easy to compare and shop through 'Texas Electricity Ratings'. However, as most of the electricity providers offer 'Contract buying'. I was not offered and had to pay out of my pocket for the previous contract.

Israr Hussain from Allen, TX on January 21st, 2020
Overall Rating
Billed wrong..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pulse power is a electrical provider. During the texas snowstorm I lost electricity for 5 days. On the 2 nd day it came on for a few hours. ( the electricity)the rest of that time no electricity. I was charged as if I had electricity on the whole time. Just received another wrong bill from June 2021, they estimated my cost, to double what I use. I also didnt live at this address last year. My July bill was 61 dollars my June bill was 140. I am very conservative and leave my thermostat at 82 during the day. I dont leave things plugged in except refrigerator, oven washer dryer. I was also not home for 2 days. This is not a good service.

No Pulse from Waxahachie, TX on August 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Leaving due to poor Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I haven't had any billing issues or auto-payment glitches thankfully.


Except for... SIX days with no electricity. An actual message to PulsePower's customer service about no power on Feb 15, 2021 and they charged me for usage on Feb 15th. We lost pets due to the below freezing temps in our home and to have a report show we had power was a slap in the face. I sent a message to PulsePower only to be told "it is an average sent by ONCOR." so basically the blame game. I wasn't asking for a credit or any special treatment just acknowledgement that PulsePower knew we had no power and it was a mistake. Oh no that was too hard. So I let the CSR know I was not happy with the lack of empathy and sent the report I was using from our monthly bill to make my complaint.
NATALIE had the nerve to respond telling me to sign up for smartmeter reports from smartmetertexas. I DID NOT ASK for how to determine a darn thing.
I signed a 12 month contract knowing there was a chance the company I chose wasn't the right one for us. I will be moving providers the day the contract expires.
To think, Cirro showed my parent empathy when ONCOR cut power for 24+ hours on a 100+ F degree day by removing charges on her Cirro bill that were from ONCOR and ONCOR even reimbursed her for lost groceries in the freezer.... SHAME ON PULSEPOWER!
Absolutely no empathy training for the PulsePower reps. Not everyone wants a reimbursement or needs help with a late payment. Sometimes we just need a company to acknowledge a horrible thing happened and they care. I bet Natalie is terrified of reptiles and so her lack of emotion was more on par with YAY MORE REPTILES ARE DEAD! Who cares that it was painful and confusing for them.
Okay done. and DONE WITH PulsePower.

UNHAPPY WITH CSR from Temple, TX on March 18th, 2021
Overall Rating
Poor service and management
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Due to 2 computer glitches I was charged 2 late charges and while they were in dispute they turned off my service over a $9 late charge that was there fault.

McNeil from Hungerford, TX on November 18th, 2020
Overall Rating
Bait and switch watch details
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

In 10 years of average electric bills from other providers I have never ever had bills consistently from $150 to $200 over $300 us. Pulse consistently went over these. till the final bill hit almost $800. from the other complaints I see maybe it was in the fine print I did not understand. each month our usage remained the same as in previous years, yet each month the bills each went higher.

Jerry M from Brownsville, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Overall Rating
Poor customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The title says it all

Poor from Houston, TX on July 29th, 2020
Overall Rating
Pulse Power Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My only complaints choosing Pulse Power are the following (2):



One, Auto Pay is not always reliable on Pulse Power Website, so you have to double check your billing accounts to make sure your payment was deducted and sent to Pulse Power.

Two, I went with the Pulse Power $0.063 Plan, thinking I would benefit from it. However, my bill cost me way more then I expected due to the Delivery Charges of approximately $64.00 a Month. When I selected Pulse Power, I was expecting to pay an electric bill of approximately $120.00, to $150.00, max at 1800 KWHs per month, with all taxes and delivery charges included. I am paying $175.00, to $200.00 per month at 1700 KWHs, with all taxes and delivery charges included.

My fault, I should have done more homework.

J. Rios from Joshua, TX on July 14th, 2020
Overall Rating
Hard to remove early termination fee
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When I signed up I told him I only needed electricity for a month as I was visiting friends house. They told me to simply tell them I moved out and there would be no early termination fee. I was charged $220 termination fee for three weeks of usage. With other electric companies I was able to tell them my forwarding address and that was enough. Pulse power requires Difficult to provide Documentation for move out before they will return the early termination fee. And even after providing that it took me nine hours and threats to Report them to the AEP before they finally removed the ETF

Nancy from Mission, TX on May 23rd, 2020
Overall Rating
2 month Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My rate was lower than my last company...but my monthly bill is extremely higher.

P from on February 24th, 2020
Overall Rating
Stay Away from the Provider!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have has continual billing problems. I have 2 houses with them and they applied payments to the wrong address. Never again!

RBK from Houston, TX on February 12th, 2020
Overall Rating
I hope I don't have to call customer service again
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

New customer. Went to registration page on line and correct information rejected multiple times. Customer service rep talked so slow and was so dense she sounded high. Could barely hear for chatter in background. She didn't want to address whether their information they had was correct because any error was because I "made an entry error", although I had cut and pasted their information(!) from the bill. After several minutes of her talking about 6 words per minute we found, yes, they had put the wrong zip code in so I couldn't register with the correct information. No apology; no interest in fixing. Customer service that can only be described as "stupid".

Jan I from Dallas, TX on September 9th, 2019
Overall Rating
Beware of Pulse Electric
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Beware of Pulse Electric, They start off low and jack up your prices, they love to disconnect your service so they can charge your reconnection fee. I do not recommend them. Go to Reliant energy

Anna from Houston, TX on January 10th, 2022
Overall Rating
$250 is normal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I live in a 2 bedroom apartment my normal bill use to be $80-$90. But since I used plus power my bill is between $150-$250 normal and on top of that they have hidden charges every 6 months. The worst power company ever. And customer service is horrible 30-50 minutes of waiting time is normal. I have payed $250 more than 3 times this year very disappointed with this company.

Hassan Shah from Houston, TX on December 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
RUN AWAY! YOU WILL REGRET!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If I could give this company a zero I would. They over charged my without anyone reaching out about my plan ending and charged me over $250 a month. I live in an apartment. Not only that they also charged me a lot of money when I moved location and charged me for the old location 3 month after. This company is unreasonable, unreliable, the staff is incompetent about understanding English. Please do not look at this company. YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Thuy Tran from Houston, TX on October 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Terrible customer care
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Despite being on auto payment, my lights where cut off. My wife and I both called. Waiting on hold for over an hour each. It was a Monday, and they were experiencing longer than usual call ins. The voice recording said, press 8 to hold your place in the call line, and get a call back from an associate. Neither my wife or I received a call back. After calling again, waiting on hold 2 hours, I finally reach a representative. They then Charged my card twice for the same payment. After staying on the line and seeing this in my bank account recordings, I demanded to speak to a manager. I was upset about the lack of call back (which they said would happen in the automated message), the double payment, and my lights being cut off despite being on auto payment. I was told that I would not receive my money back for 5-8 days. I was also told by the supervisor that during high volume of call ins meant that if you requested a call back, you wouldnt receive the call back until the next day. So they bold face lie about the press 8 to receive a call back by a representative and you will not lose your place in line. Now, I was not very polite to those I spoke to. I paid my past due amount over the phone with my payment information. The next morning I woke up to $600+ in fraudulent charges on the card I used to pay my bill. Coincidence? I think not.

Bryan Lamm from Sealy, TX on October 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
A company that treats customers like Piggy Banks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A Horrible Company -100


Horrible customer service -100
My rate almost doubled
UNBELIEVABLE
I can't believe they're still doing business

Rob Cantrell from Spring, TX on September 7th, 2021
Overall Rating
Don't like
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sent them 5-6 documents showing proof of address change and they are still not accepting one.

Mark B from Dallas, TX on July 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Another Typical Horrible Pulse Power Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been extraordinarily happy with TES finding energy service providers for usvery happy until now that is. Pulse Power is the worst company they have recommended to us. I am cringing as I read similar reviews posted by others. Appears the level of incompetence with this one is strong either that or there is a deliberate method to the madness so customers get fleeced. Not at all happy. Reaching out to TES to complain about being saddled with this company. If they cant help us, maybe at least TES can refrain from recommending them to others saving them from frustration, headache, and questionable billing. Since only one month into a 3 year contract with these clowns, it will cost close to $800 to break the contract. And, in all honesty, the $800 loss might just be worth getting these a$$hats out of our hair. If youre unfortunate enough to have Pulse Power as your energy provider by choice or happenstance, make sure despite Pulse Power assuring with confirmation payments have been received that Pulse Power actually bothers to process the payment and there isnt some unexplained hick-up otherwise, Pulse Power will pile on additional fees. Honestly, can envision this as being a recurrent phenomenon with them. In our opinion, this is a extraordinarily crappy company that hides behind their internal policies to not investigate, not to address, not to find an equitable resolution, not to serve, and screw their customers. Very seldom write reviews. Pulse Power has earned every bit of this criticism.

Another Unhappy Pulse Power Customer from Dallas, TX on July 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
RUN FAR AWAY FROM PULSE POWER
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They can't even process bank draft payments, you set up auto pay and the fail to run it and then charge you $30 because the bank refused to process the payment. Well that's bullshit because the bank doesn't even know about it because it was not presented by this RIPOFF COMPANY.

PULSE POWER SUCKS from Fort Worth, TX on April 27th, 2021
Overall Rating
Pulse admitted their mistake, won't issue credit
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I started my electricity service march 1 2021. I called around March 21 concerned because I was not receiving weekly usage reports. I spoke with a representative to calculate how much energy I needed to use the first month in order to receive the monthly bill credit of $95 for using 1,00 kWh. We researched my current usage and realized I was using the proper amount per week to reach this goal for my first month. The representative did not disclose that my first billing cycle would be a partial month. Since it was a partial month the billing cycle ended early, making our previous calculations irrelevant. Without the $95 credit my bill was $139.90. I called to speak with a manager named Henry who advised that the company was able to know that my billing cycle would not be a complete month and apologize for his agents lack of information and that I could have avoided this if I was given the correct information but refuses to credit my account due to this error. I am a diligent user but I cannot use the proper amount of energy without the proper and correct info. My contract is expires in 1 year and I will not renew with a company that will not take responsibility for their own mistakes when I am proactively trying to budget my usage and bill.

Vanessa from Dallas, TX on April 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Bad experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Started great. Then bill went sky high with the same usage

Dulce Muniz from Del Rio, TX on March 18th, 2021

Compare Pulse Power to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Amigo Web - 24
17.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Amigo Web - 12
19.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Texas Fixed 36
15.1¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Energy Weekends 36
16.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Energy Nights 36
16.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Texas Fixed 24
15.6¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Energy Nights 12
21.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Energy Nights 24
17.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Energy Weekends 24
17.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Texas Fixed 12
16.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Free Energy Weekends 12
21.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Value Plus 24
21.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Value Plus 12
22.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability