Champion Energy Services Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Champion Energy Services so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Champion Energy Services Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Champion Energy Services's Customer Reviews Summary

Champion Energy Services Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Champion Energy Services

4.4 / 5

Champion Energy Services Reviews

560 Reviews for Champion Energy Services

560

total reviews

Want to order Champion Energy Services?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Champion Energy Services?

Is Champion Energy Services good?

Champion Energy Services is generally rated with an average user review of 3.8/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 15.20¢/kWh!

Is Champion Energy Services expensive?

Champion Energy Services has energy plans starting as low as 15.20¢/kWh with their Champ Saver-24. The average Champion Energy Services plan rate is 16.88¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 11.36¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

Champion Energy Services vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Champion Energy Services:

TXU Champion Energy Services
Plan Count 6 4
Average Rate 22.52¢/kWh 16.48¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 19.50¢/kWh.
Champ Saver-12
from 16.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 20.50¢/kWh.
Champ Saver-24
from 15.20¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 1

Champion Energy Services vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Champion Energy Services:

Reliant Champion Energy Services
Plan Count 2 4
Average Rate 26.50¢/kWh 16.48¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 26.10¢/kWh.
Champ Saver-12
from 16.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan - Champ Saver-24
from 15.20¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 1

Does Champion Energy Services take reviews seriously?

Champion Energy Services has an average user review of 3.8 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 56% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Champion Energy Services?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Champion Energy Services customer review communities around. With 560 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Champion Energy Services customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Champion Energy Services Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from Hunter

Overall Rating
Champion in Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have used Champion Energy for 6 years, I changed electric provider for a year because my landlord provided electricity in my apartment. But now I moved again and went back to Champion Energy and signed up for 2 years Free weekend because for that year of not using Champion, my electricity bill is really high, though the kwh usage is almost the same. What I love about Champion is the transparent electric bill, no hidden charges, no minimum usage, you get a usage history weekly so you have an idea how much you used and budget your electric bill. I am so happy I am back with Champion, hope you choose Champion too! Please use referral code STOLEN001 to get credit. Thank you!

Jocelyn from Houston, TX on May 11th, 2022
Overall Rating
Best Representative
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Today I contacted the most helpful


Representative Mark H.
Mark H was the first person who actually helped me understand what the breakdown was going to be financially. I had called two other companies and no one gave the details simply as Mark H.
If I owned a company ( as I have in the past ) , I would hire him away from
Champion !!!
Thank You Mark H ! You made my day

Pat from Waco, TX on February 14th, 2022
Overall Rating
BEST ELECTRICITY SERVICE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive used Champion Energy for a little while now. Great Service, and has always been low/reasonably priced. Have no complaints with them at all. I am really grateful to have them because my last energy company would have sporadic pricing on the bills... with some hidden fees and stuff. Luckily, I can honestly say that Champion Energy has done none of that! Honestly, you cant go wrong with this company.

Ali Wazir from Fort Worth, TX on November 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best Energy Provider So Far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was easy to research and see how Champion had the best price per kilowatt hour. I created an Excel spreadsheet and entered the previous years worth of usage with my old company and then another as if I had been with Champion. Once I saw how much more savings I would receive, I did the same data analyst for my daughter. I convinced my daughter to sign up with them even before I was eligible to change companies! By the time I was able to sign up, (2 months after her) I ended up paying a penny more per KWh, but I still save! Were both very happy.

Sandy L from Pflugerville, TX on August 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I havent had any issues and customer service is great!

RM from Mcallen, TX on July 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Been really Happy with Champion!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have been with Champion for a long time now and don't ever have plans to leave. The rates are extremely reasonable compared to past carriers we have used. Thanks Champion!!

David Laney from Fort Worth, TX on July 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

X

X from on July 6th, 2021
Overall Rating
Switch to Champion
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rates are lower than anything I've found and NO HIDDEN FEES

Mike K from Mansfield, TX on June 9th, 2021
Overall Rating
Great experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy set up easy to pay no complaints

Kyle from Venus, TX on June 9th, 2021
Overall Rating
Low rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have saved so much on my monthly electric bill. I chose the plan that fit my needs.. Champion offers low rates. Great customer service too.

Regalado from Arlington, TX on May 29th, 2021
Overall Rating
Most appreciative
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My name is BRANDON Hunter I spoke Paul. The absolute best customer experience ever. Swear to God please give extra consideration to Paul he should be a trainer.

Hunter from Dallas, TX on May 25th, 2022
Overall Rating
I like to do far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company offered the lowest rates so far. And I researched it pretty well. I am happy so far.


Olena Form Texas from Texas City, TX on October 2nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Overall Great Service and Pricing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Continuous great service even after the major freeze back in February of 2021. Communicated everything that was happening and biggest thing is i did not receive a ridiculous bill. New customer portal is a lot better as well!



JR from Houston, TX on July 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
So far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Smooth transition and good prices.

Barbie from Fort Worth, TX on May 7th, 2021
Overall Rating
GREAT PRICES
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

EASY TO APPLY, GREAT PRICES, GREAT AND EASY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY EVEN GIVE $50 IF YOU SIGN UP AND USE MY REFERRAL ID WGarciaRodrigu87309

WILFRED from Houston, TX on October 15th, 2020
Overall Rating
Goodyears
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Enjoyed 2 year, looking forward to several more

Hotwire from North Richland Hills, TX on September 14th, 2020
We're happy to know you're enjoying your contract with us! We look forward to having you for many years to come.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Champion Energy Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I find my switch to Champion Energy to be very easy and a money saver for me.

My Champion Energy Review from Houston, TX on August 18th, 2020
Glad you made the switch! We like to make things simple around here.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Good experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good experience

Char from Irving, TX on July 22nd, 2020
We're happy to hear that! Thanks for your review.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
The way these companies calculate the rates is incomprehensible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tried to compare companies but so many hidden charges in the companies rates just went with my past experience with this company.

Incomprehensible To Compare Rates from Pearland, TX on July 9th, 2020
We're happy to have you back! Please let us know if you any questions in regards to our plans, rates or promotions by contacting us 877.653.5090 or feedback@champion.energy. Thank you!
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Easy Set Up and Accurate Info!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very quick to get the right information needed, negotiated the price a bit but overall good package/pricing. Free nights after 8PM-6AM



Richard from Houston, TX on June 8th, 2020
Hi Richard,

We appreciate your review! If you ever have any questions please reach out to us at feedback@champion.energy.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Not for Senior Citizens
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I don't doubt this is a OK company. I simply cannot believe that I cannot set my payment with the arrival of my Social Security Pension....in this case, 4 days difference! What an enormous problem this creates for us, and I've never come across this public relations insult before. They should be decent enough to post a WARNING before causing this ongoing financial nightmare to us. I have no idea what to do!

George from Wichita Falls, TX on May 14th, 2022
Overall Rating
Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very confusing process of trying to choose from multiple providers

Ds from Euless, TX on March 19th, 2020
Overall Rating
Great energy company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wonderful service

Lou from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. If you need additional assistance please give us a call at 877.653.5090.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Just switched
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Still find the ability to understand the rate structures and compare them across providers to be very difficult. ideally I would like to plug into a table my monthly usage and have the providers spit out their charges

Pick A Provider And Hope For The Best from Irving, TX on July 10th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We do provide all of our customers with a Smart Track report which is a useful tool to track and manage weekly usage, cost for that usage and an estimated cost of their future bill, based on data from Smart Meter Texas. Everyone is automatically signed up for this program at no additional cost.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Champion Energy Services meets my expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have no issues with Champion Energy services. I do not expect any.

No Drama. from Rockwall, TX on October 3rd, 2018
No Drama. Enough said. Life is too short to have drama with your electricity provider.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
No problem, simple hassle free
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have had no problem, like the weekly report they provide. have not had any issues was a customer in the past and just became a customer again at my new residence.


USe referral code - Nshah11648 for $25 off your 1st months bill.

Shah from Houston on October 20th, 2015
Thanks for your feedback Shah. We appreciate having you as a customer and are constantly finding ways to make customers, like you, happy.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Not a bad company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with Champion for a number of years, and I have always been impressed. But this year my contract expired, and to my discredit, I did not put the expiration date on my calendar b/c Champion has always notified me as the date approached. Not so this year. As a result one month's rate shot up so that my bill was about $55 higher than normal b/c the contract expired and I didn't know. I contacted Champion (which was very easy), and I was told that I had been notified several times. But I wasn't. I save EVERYTHING from Champion, and I never got the notices. I asked for them to renegotiate my bill for the one month I was out of contract, but all they would do is give me a $25 discount. So I will see how things go. Up to this point Champion has been a very good company, and assuming things continue to go well---that is, up front rates clear to understand, no hidden tricks on fees and such, good communication when I try to contact them---I will stay with them. I want to be fair, and maybe this one experience was just a fluke; I hope so. But I have my eye on www.powertochoose.com just in case I need to jump ship. As much money as these companies make, I don't understand why they don't give good customers the benefit of doubt when problems arise. How much money are we talking about here anyway? But maybe they need the money more than we do. Overall, I think you would probably be safe to go with Champion. Just keep your eyes open.

George Parks from Dickinson on November 7th, 2014
George, Sorry to hear that you missed your expiration date. We do our best to notify customers in advance with multiple notifications via email, your bill and your online account. We hope that you choose to stay with Champion. If you do decide to switch, please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com and we'll take a look at your options.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Disappointed
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with Champion for years. Last month my bill was $116, this month $189. I called customer service and all I got was rates are higher and so is your usage. I have recommended Champion to many people, sister, brother, and friends. I was shocked that the customer service representative could have cared less. I get that my usage is up, but this is a huge difference. My contract is about up and how can I renew my contract with this type of service.

Shelly from Arlington on June 24th, 2014
Shelly, Sorry to hear about this experience you had with one of our reps. Could you email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can look into this further and revisit your contract options?
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Same stupid deliver charge
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been bragging on my electric bill. it's been great, great service, great prices then this month, it's over double! looking closer, I got slammed with the same "Delivery charge" that many people have complained about.

Rebecca from Houston on January 3rd, 2014
Rebecca, Sorry to hear that you feel like your bills have doubled from delivery charges. These charges are charges from CenterPoint passed directly to you, with no mark up. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com to take a closer look at your account.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Good Company, but Rates and Pricing Not So Much
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We've been with Champion Energy for just over a year now. They have great customer service, I think every REP should provide online live chat functionality. When we went to renew the price was hirer than most Texas REP's, and I think they will be busted bigtime for using BillMatrix to process online card transactions as BillMatrix charges $3.95 for using your card which is a violation of Texas law. I reported this violation multiple times to the CSR's but Champion shows no interest in forcing its provider to comply with the law. Though it couldn't be that hard for Champion to operate its own billing system.

Darrell from Dallas on December 12th, 2013
Overall Rating
Champion Energy accounting
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Switched providers again due to price. someone scrwed up order resulting in an extra $144.00 delivery charge. It took four calls before a supervisor was able to adjust the overcharge. However they did not adjust the applicable taxes. Two more calls, not finished yet. People who answer the phone can't do anything. Supervisors are apparently not onsite with the telephone reps so everything gets done or not by internal emails.

Check You Bill from Houston, TX on June 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
BILLING ERROR
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unable to contact Chanpion to renew my contract. Would not answer the phone for two days. When finaly renewed original contract was voided and new account established resulting in $150 delivery charge by Centerpoint Energy. HAVE BEEN ADVISED IT WILL TAKE 45 DAYS TO CORRECT

ER WOODWARD from Houston, TX on June 1st, 2021
Overall Rating
Bill to high
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

For the past 2 months my electric bill has jumped over from 60 dollars or to 100 more.and its only 2 in my household i chose this company bc of the lower rates.if this continues ill search for something in my price budget im extreemly upset about the price jumping were not doing anything different for this jump in my price.

Grace Vaughan from Gainesville, TX on April 6th, 2021
Overall Rating
Not what I expected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I wish i didnt signup with champion energy, i am not sure I had a good rate, my bill doesnt reflect that at all.

Maoline Meghah from Richmond, TX on September 21st, 2020
Hi Maoline,
Thanks for sharing your feedback. The last thing we want is for a new customer to have buyers remorse. We will review your account and a member of our team will be in touch. Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Suddenly canceled service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

After 6 months my year long contract was suddenly canceled with no warning and the only notification was a minor note on a bill. Got dinged for $150 cancelation fee (when I didn't cancel anything).

Customer Who Didn't Cancel from Fort Worth, TX on June 22nd, 2020
We are sorry to hear that your contract was cancelled unexpectedly. We would like an opportunity to look into this and try to resolve what happened here. Please email us your account information at feedback@champion.energy so we can review this closer.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Ripped off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had signed up with Champion Energy then got a call from Green Mountain. Green Mountain offered me a better plan than the one I had before. I called to cancel with Champion, then I was told that I had passed the 3 day cancellation period, so I said "ok, then I'll stay with you". Next thing I knew Champion sent me a final bill for 4 days of service with a $275.00 bill. NOT something I expected :( In the span of 2 months I spent close to 850.00 in utility bills from both Green Mountain and Champion Energy.

Totally Disappointed from Donna, TX on October 26th, 2019
Wed love to get more details behind your 2 star review. Can you please email us at feedback@champion.energy with more information and let us know what we can do to make this 5 stars?
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Contract expires and price gouging begins
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched to Champion Energy because I read to good reviews and my bill did go down for the time my contract was valid. However, my contract expired and no one told me until I received a ridiculously high bill. I immediately contacted their customer service and was told, "Well your contract expired, we sent you emails to inform you." I checked my emails and there was NO email from them.


With all that, I was willing to resign and asked that they make the rate retroactive to the bill they sent. I was told that is not possible and they don't do that.
They are more that willing to gouge up the price but are not willing to help. The customer service rep was repeating responses from a play book and offered no help whatsoever. I am very disappointed with their reaction, or lack there of, and lack of concern. If they are such a customer friendly company, maybe they need to train their customer service reps, or have supervisors around who can make decisions.
Very sad....

MC from Spring, TX on September 16th, 2019
Hello MC,our records indicate that we sent several renewal notices to the email we have on file for you, however we'd like the opportunity to show you that we do care. Can you please email us at feedback@champion.energy and let us know what we can do to make this 5 stars?

— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
My bills Doubled
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Switched to Champion when previous rate expired-Champions rate was .01/kwhr more, but my cost DOUBLED compared to last year's bills. Not happy.

Tami Haley from Arlington, TX on July 31st, 2019
Hi Tami,
Sorry to hear that you feel like your rate doubled with us. Looking at your account, you must have had an energy rate of 3 cents/kWh. Unfortunately, we do not have rates that low right now. Email us at feedback@champion.energy with any questions you may have about your account.
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Outside salespeople
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Champion hires other companies to go door-to-door, selling their services. The person who signed us up told my mom that she should be getting a discount of up to 40% because she is over 70 and that she could get the discount after her first full bill if she signed a 36 month contract. The only discount that Champion offers is a 10% and that is only on a 24 month contract. They took the person's information, but as he does not work directly for them, I doubt that there is anything they can really do. Personally, I felt that they could have offered her the 10% discount at least for the 24 months, but her contract is too long. On top of all of that, her bill was actually $70 higher than with her original company. We're stuck for 35 more months, and then we are out of here. Champion made no effort to make things right, and they should and could have done better.

Dannaa from Odessa, TX on July 6th, 2018
Overall Rating
Poor service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Switched a few months back, nearly 7 months now. They cannot get my bill right, they keep apologizing but nothing happens. Of course the bill is too high, they don't seem to ahve any hurry in fixing the billing.

Poor Billing And Customer Service from Houston, TX on April 17th, 2018
Sorry to hear that you are experiencing some billing issues. Can you email us your account information to feedback@champion.energy to investigate this further? Thanks!
— Champion Energy Services
Overall Rating
Not happy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was on the phone for about a hour or so trying to get them to honor a bill that THEY sent me. The lady kept putting we on hold then came back saying the same thing. They charge you whatever they want to and there is nothing you can do because if you don't pay it your lights are off. This company is VERY shady and crooks. I hate I renewed with them in August. But the deceit didn't began until December. This is really sad that they treat customers this way. I am going to pay because I don't have a choice. But I will be watching my bill very closely going forward. Until its time to renew then Im gone. Also I will be contacting The Public Utility Commission.

Crooks from Houston, TX on February 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
No compassion for your customers!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How long does it take to get electricity turned back on when you have an infant in the home and the weather is about to drop to freezing tonight? I talked to several different people who told me that since I have a smart meter it would take 2 to 4 hours to get it back on. I mean do I need to send a picture of our 5 week old or isnt there some kind of emergency protocol for situations like this. Im beside myself that you dont care about your customers more than this. Ive never had my electricity turned off. Due to me loosing 3 family members I forgot to pay my bill. I immediately paid as soon as I realized what happened. Can you not text message your customer in this situation before the electricity is turned off? Im so upset with Champion right now. I know you can follow through with Oncor also. Why wouldnt you under this situation. Never again! I wouldnt recommend anyone deal with this company who only cares about money and not also the well being of their good customers

Angie from Fort Worth, TX on January 25th, 2022
Overall Rating
Customer Service Lies
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have spent 2 months now trying to be refunded for a $7,000 overpayment due to a decimal point fat fingering. I realized my error immediately, called their support team, and have been been lied to over and over with regard to the plan to fix it. I've spoken with over 10 reps and they have a different story every time including it being a bank issue (it wasn't, as I did pay that amount since the system didn't block that drastic of an overpayment), I was told 3 times now that my check was being overnighted and it has never showed up. No one can ever give me a tracking number. I'm told it can only be done via hard check vs. an electronic payment. The one rep who did email me has fake phone numbers in her email signature. I've never dealt with worse customer service, and that's including Spirit Airlines, the IRS, and the DMV...and we all know how terrible they are.

Horrible Customer Support from Dallas, TX on August 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
I'd give them zero stars if I could
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Was a customer for years. Long hold times, and policies that penalize the customer, makes renewals a mental beating. they make it easier to leave them as a customer than to fix your problems. I happily paid the $250 early cancellation fee to get away from them, and I am cheap.

I'd Give Them Zero Stars If I Could from Irving, TX on June 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Amazing how bad the customer service is at Champion Energy Services
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been trying to update my credit card information for Auto Pay for two weeks now. I finally got to a live person after having been disconnected while on hold several times and they transferred me to an automated system where I was on hold for 10 minutes with no service. Your customer service is a "black hole" which is causing me to consider moving my electric service.

Jeff Badders from Harper, TX on June 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Billing problems not fixed
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They have serious problems with their billing system and have not fixed it. They are wrongly charging me additional $30. for their mistake and won't remove the charge from my bill. I can't even get a payment to go through now. Problems are worse than before. They are not taking this seriously and are ignoring my repeated attempts to resolve it.

Disgusted from Carrollton, TX on May 30th, 2021
Overall Rating
Not Satisfied as a Long Time Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was with Champion's Energy for the last 6 years. Since last month, I started receiving emails regarding the contract renewal. I checked on their website where they have different rates for a new customer and the ones who are due for renewal. I was shocked to see higher renewal rates.


I recently switched to a different energy provider who offered a better price. My monthly bills are in the 60-90$ range. My contract was set to expire in the third week of June. For only 20-25 days, they charged me a $250 cancellation fee and send me the huge bill.
I called the representative who was not helpful at all. I explained to her that I was with Champion's energy for 6 years and it's not like I am breaking the contract in 6-10 months. For only 20-25days I am being charged 3 times more amount than I pay monthly.
The representative was not helpful. She kept telling me you signed the contract and you will have to pay this amount. I asked her if she can transfer me to someone who can help me with this issue and she said she cannot transfer my call and she cannot make any changes to my bill. This was the most awful experience in the last 6 years. In the end, she told me will escalate my request and someone will contact me within 24 hours.
At one point, I was happy with them however after speaking with a representative I realized that I was wrong. I will not recommend them to any friend or family member.

Jigar Patel from Plano, TX on May 26th, 2021
Overall Rating
HORRIBLE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Since Covid the website doesn't work, phone service is non-existant, and don't even get me started on the lack of customer service which is a total joke because there isn't any.


This company needs to get there employees off unemployment and get there as___ back to work, period.
I am canceling service as soon as my contract is up.
Use another service unless you want to get mad every time you want to pay your bill or talk to anyone.
HORRIBLE!

Unsatisfied Customer from West Columbia, TX on May 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Too expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Too expensive

Too Expensive from Fort Worth, TX on May 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Non existence customer service and deceptive prices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was impossible to get through to an agent. Also your prices were different from advertised prices.

FF In Houston from Houston, TX on May 5th, 2021

Compare Champion Energy Services to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
GridEdge 18
17.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Solarize 18
20.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Solarize 15
20.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
GridEdge 36
15.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Solarize 36
18.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
GridEdge 24
16.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
GridEdge 12
18.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Solarize 24
19.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Solarize 12
21.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Rise 12
22.8¢
$14.95 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Free Weekends-18
18.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Champ Saver-24
15.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Energy-24
16.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Champ Saver-12
18.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 36
18.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 24
19.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 36
20.2¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 24
21.2¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Eagle 12
22.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 36
20.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 36
20.8¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 24
21.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 24
21.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Sure Value 12
21.5¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Green Eagle 12
23.3¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Savvy Value 12
23.3¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability