Green Mountain Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Green Mountain Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Green Mountain Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Green Mountain Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Green Mountain Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Green Mountain Energy

4.1 / 5

Green Mountain Energy Reviews

433 Reviews for Green Mountain Energy

433

total reviews

Want to order Green Mountain Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Green Mountain Energy?

Is Green Mountain Energy good?

Green Mountain Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 1.6/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 0.00¢/kWh!

Is Green Mountain Energy expensive?

Green Mountain Energy has energy plans starting as low as 0.00¢/kWh with their . The average Green Mountain Energy plan rate is 0.00¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 0.00¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

Green Mountain Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Green Mountain Energy:

TXU Green Mountain Energy
Plan Count 6 0
Average Rate 21.78¢/kWh 0.00¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
-
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 18.50¢/kWh.
-
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 19.50¢/kWh.
-
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Green Mountain Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Green Mountain Energy:

Reliant Green Mountain Energy
Plan Count 4 0
Average Rate 24.05¢/kWh 0.00¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
-
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Conservation 12 plan
from 24.50¢/kWh.
-
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 23.10¢/kWh.
-
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Green Mountain Energy take reviews seriously?

Green Mountain Energy has an average user review of 1.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 79% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Green Mountain Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Green Mountain Energy customer review communities around. With 433 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Green Mountain Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Green Mountain Energy Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from DDavis

Overall Rating
Thank You Green Mountain
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

During the winter storm here in Texas I was so nervous that my bill would go through the roof.


I was one of the lucky ones who did not lose power. I'm a senior and was very very concerned that I would experience price gouging. I did not and I can't tell you how proud I am to be a Green Mountain Energy customer because if it. As we know, other electric companies did try to price gouge.....So sad and so wrong during a time of great devestation....
My complete and sincere gratitude and compliments to Green Mountain Energy for their
honesty and obvious care and concern for their valued customers...
Thanks again and job well done
Green Mountain.
I will continue to recommend your services to family,friends and others...

Ms Sherry from Mckinney, TX on March 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
Very Happy with Green Mountain Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I normally never, ever take the time to write reviews but after seeing so many bad ones, I felt compelled to share my experience with Green Mountain Energy. I have been a completely happy customer with them, and their customer service is beyond great. No hidden fees, prices are exactly what we agreed to. I highly recommend this company. Also, during the Texas freeze this year, we NEVER lost power save for the couple hours in the middle of the night due to mandatory rolling blackout.

Happy Customer from Spring, TX on March 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
Wonderful company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had Green Mountain for years no complaints from me. Great service.

Robin Smith from Fort Worth, TX on October 31st, 2019
Overall Rating
Long-Time Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I don't understand this rating, my experience with Green Mtn has been fantastic! I have used them for many year & have been very happy. I would highly recomend you give them a try because sometime review are just not correct. Thanks, Rickey Allen

Rickey Allen from Fort Worth, TX on May 17th, 2018
Overall Rating
Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good service

Joseph from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2018
Overall Rating
The best Texas energy provider. Period.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been their customer for the best part of 4 years now.


I have also created a spreadsheet to compare electricity plans and crunched the numbers on dozens of plans.
When you do that, you get a feel for which companies are trying to price gouge and which ones are trying to provide good service affordably.

Green Mountain Energy stands out kindof on its own:
Cheapest plans out there, bar none. My bill in August was $36 for 474 kwh
Fair fixed plans
Easy to use website / billing / charts
Weekly email updates on energy usage
Friendly competent customer service

Dallas Customer from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2017
Overall Rating
Short Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched to Green Mountain to get a better price on electricity rates; unfortunately, my stay with them was short. My original provider called and gave me a deal for the next 12 months. I may still go back to Green Mountain next year. They have good rates and they use renewable energy which appeals to me.

Not Bucky Barnes from Alamo, TX on September 24th, 2017
Overall Rating
Ramzi Baransi
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Was very pleased

Ramzi Baransi from Plano, TX on June 21st, 2017
Overall Rating
Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected

Excellent Service And A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected from Houston, TX on February 27th, 2017
Overall Rating
No Issues at all, very helpful!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had Green Mountain for 14 months and I can honestly say, they were great, my bill was never above $20 a month and I ran electricity all day and night. I live in an 1100sqft house and my bill stayed low. There was only 1 outage during the 14 months from tropical storm Bill, and they had it resolved in around 4 hrs. Never had issues speaking with customer service or getting new product info. I like that they do not have automatic contract renewal. After contract expires it moves to month to month unless you renew your contract. After the contract my prices still stayed the same. Thanks for having me Green Mountain!

Jordan from Galveston on July 4th, 2016
Overall Rating
Love Green Mountain Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with them for over 5 yrs. no gimmicks. not the cheapest rate but best bargain overall when you have stability of fixed rate and no unexpected fine prints.

Truli from Richardson, TX on February 24th, 2021
Overall Rating
Min5
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.

RonCast from League City, TX on July 23rd, 2018
Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Green light for Green Mountain
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!

Big D Bubba from Carrollton, TX on April 30th, 2018
Overall Rating
Higher price but you get what you pay for
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I never had any problems with this company, I had a 714 sq ft apartment, gaming systems, fridge, washer, dryer and what not - paid about $135 a month during the summer, around $90 during the winter - sign up was easy, customer service was polite etc.

MarieG from Houston, TX on January 11th, 2018
Overall Rating
Poor customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with Green Mountain for about 5 years, I called customer service about an issue, talked to 3 different reps got told 3 different answers. No one could give me a straightforward answer, customer service support is bad, other than that everything is fine. Hope I will never have to call again.

D J from Lancaster, TX on December 29th, 2017
Overall Rating
Pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have had Green Mountain Energy for 3 years and have had absolutely no problems. Our electric bill has been the lowest we have every had. I have no reason to want to change and have 3 years of why I would recommend them to others.

MSQuinby from Richmond, TX on December 9th, 2017
Overall Rating
Solid choice for Renewable Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Green Mountain doesn't have the cheapest plan by far, and not even the cheapest renewable plan, but they do have stability, consistency, and reliability. I've been a customer for several years now (coming up on my third contract renewal) and I'm very wary of switching away from GME even if it means potentially saving $1000 a year on power. Their website is easy to use and intuitive. Averaged billing great.



The ONLY negative I ever experienced was when I was not paying attention and missed the contract renewal. Once you switch to "month by month" expect to be paying almost DOUBLE the rate. To be fair, they did send me ONE letter about this, and from what I'm reading many companies are much worse about not nudging the customer to renew a contract so the company can reap those sweet, sweet month-to-month rates. So stay on top of that contract renewal!

David C. from Humble, TX on November 22nd, 2017
Overall Rating
Great for smaller households
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Green mountain was one of the only/few companies offering lower rates for using less than 1000 kwh. Our last bill, when we weren't using heat or ac was $45.

Joan from Fort Worth on May 19th, 2016
Overall Rating
Honest clean electricity
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

After two years of service I'm very happy with this company. They stick to only wind and solar energy and deep their rates very stable. Compared with other supply companies I've used I find the customer service easy to reach and very friendly. I've never had a problem with my bill or my power.


Brian Livingston from Houston on January 21st, 2016
Overall Rating
Great Energy Provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My personal experience with this energy provider has been in fact very good over the last several month since switched from Reliant Energy. The switch reduced our monthly energy bill to half, while giving us an impression of helping the environment and saving the world a bit.

Hunter Wang from Houston on April 14th, 2015
Overall Rating
No more Solar plans from a Green Company??
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We put 1.75 MHZ into the grid this month and pulled ~1,100 KW and we got a bill for 90$ - how does that math work? I called Green Mountain to check and see if it was just an error but was informed that the plan we were on no longer exists (they did not contact me) and they ONLY have a month-to-month plan available now AND that is it - meaning the price can/will vary as Green Mountain deems necessary. Adding to this, what happen to the ~600 KW+ our panels put on the grid?? I was told by Green Mountain that the energy amount added to the grid by our panels was less than we burned as reported by Oncor. Sorry - I was born at night, but not last night. I have moved to Rhythm Ops, LLC and recommend all Solar panels owners using Green Mountain consider the same or plan on the month-to-month reality.

DDavis from Irving, TX on August 30th, 2021
Overall Rating
DISCONNECTED SERVICE, THEIR MISTAKE!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called the morning of Jun. 1,2020 to ask the why my electricity is disconnected. I clearly called them on 2 occasions to cancel my disconnection notice since I had not yet moved into my house. They told me after I waited over an hour being transferred, that they will connect me in 1 or 2 hours top. It is not 5:15 p.m I have NO ELECTRICITY & they are not answering. I am so humiliated after paying them $218.00 balance that was suppose to be made in payments & they still haven't taken the time to connect my service. It is outrageous. I have been a loyal customer for over 5 or 6 years.

COLD HEARTED COMPANY from Mcallen, TX on June 1st, 2020
Overall Rating
Happy til the end
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The price we received with our initial contract was outstanding. No issues during the life of the contract. However, a letter comes and tells us of a 40% increase in price. Therefore, we switched to another provider. And as a parting gift they hit us with a $200 contract cancellation fee.

BGWatson from Fort Worth, TX on April 11th, 2018
Overall Rating
Billing Department is Horrendous and no means to contact corporate Hq to discuss
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have been with Green Mountain under their solar panel program for a year. We get an incorrect bill and I call. Customer service says it will be 21 days to correct. I ask for a supervisor who checks, expedites and gets corrected in 5 days. That bill gets corrected but the next bill has a different problem. We've had more months will a billing problem than months without.



The worst is that they provide no contact information for corporate. Corporate needs to review billing issues and revise procedures.

Kate from Arlington, TX on November 28th, 2017
Overall Rating
Ok
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have Green Mountain Energy now. Everything was going well until I tried paying my bill online at my 4th month. Card Declined. Okay, I payed again called great mountain. Called bank to confirm my info was right. It was. And I charged my bank account three times. And I did the math it didn't add up. I paid on time so no charges should be extra. And I'm really disappointed...I sent green mountain my bill , and bank statements and I haven't heard back from them. I doubt they really care. I'm sure they will enjoy my extra money.. Going to be switching soon.

Disappointed from Houston, TX on March 1st, 2017
Overall Rating
Billing Debocal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

In December I transferred apartments and did not receive a bill. After not Receving a bill f or almost two months I went online and paid the bill. I also signed up for ebill. After signing up I clicked on the screen for my account information I discovered that they changed my service address and nit my mailing address. In April I was sitting in my room and the lights go out. I discovered that they were cut off due to non payment. This happened without receiving a paper bill, ebill or disconnect notice. Disconnection notices are required under the law. I did not contact Green Mountain and I should have. I just took care of the bill. Well about a month later I get a call while at work from my disabled father who resides with me that the lights are off again. I paid the bill. I did go online and sent an e-mail via there customer service. A couple of hours later I did receive a response. They said it did not show I was signed up for ebill and fixed it were I will receive ebills and paper bills. They also waived the fees associated with the disconnection. I will be contacting them to see if they are going to waive the one from April.

Terri Williams from Dallas on June 4th, 2014
Overall Rating
Prices floating up why?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Well, a guy in the grocery was all over me, and I needed to find a lower price. His GM met that. He said to watch out the non-fixed price would drift up. He was right, but it seems they're also changing how they do it---it's certainly not an apparent function of actual usage. It's my 4th month, price up several cents/kWh; and I've got to get out!! Whoever paid the Legislators for deregulation is evil (the industry?) and so is the Legislature. Citizens no longer have "representation" OR redress of grievance. And look how the PUC allowed Smart Meters and won't have real hearings to reverse it?!?!! ARE THERE NO HONEST MEN LEFT IN GOV????

Jo from Harris County on January 23rd, 2014
Overall Rating
Prior customer for 5 years
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I recently changed energy providers, but I was mostly satisfied with GME during those years. It was great to see how they have expanded to more states and how much their website improved. I was always very appreciative that there was a "green" energy provider in Tx. I didn't mind paying a little more pkw. I enjoyed their convenient bill pay, no hidden fees, friendly customer service reps, and the overall experience. I finally switched because I was able to find a more competitive rate but sad to say they are not "green." If things don't work out with this provider I will probably return to GME. Thank you.

Eli from Dallas on January 21st, 2014
Hi Eli! We're glad to hear that you had such a great experience with Green Mountain Energy. Give us a call or go online when your current contract is up and we'll help you find a renewable plan that works best for you. We're looking forward to having you back in the Green Mountain community real soon!
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
IT"S NOT ABOUT PRICE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with green mountain for two years and I just want to respond to the negative feedback here. When you're shopping for electricity you will always get what you pay for. Dirt cheap electricity always has fees that punish you for trying to conserve energy. Green Mountain isn't the cheapest, but their whole initiative and their intention as a business is the reason why i pay at fair market price. The iphone for example,is a product that has value beyond the price. It's not just you're average joe polluted coal/nuclear electricity. Its clean energy and it feels good to be a part of the growing demand for it, which will bring the price DOWN if enough of us started caring about the earth.

Jamal from Dallas on September 10th, 2013
Jamal, thanks for your post. We appreciate you joining us on our mission to change the way power is made.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
They're alright
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Green Mountain has been my provider for the past five years. The only thing I don't really like is the amount you pay - at first it was fine, and now I'm looking to change. It's great if you're "green" and they provide information about how much emissions you've saved and how many trees to the equivalent you've "virtually" planted but I need less per watt hour. I'm going to move on. Good luck - they're not bad but I could do better.

Lori from Burleson on August 18th, 2013
Hi Lori, we would certainly regret losing you as a customer. Please call us at 866-785-4668 to learn about our alternative rate plan options.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Good past solar plans, not so much anymore customer service doesn't know their plans
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had Green Mountain Energy for the first two years I had solar panels on my house. The plans at that point were great, though now that they have expired their remaining solar buy-back plans are MUCH worse (can't be credited for excess generation in a month, no carryover, and <1:1 credit for even production up to your intake from the grid) so am looking elsewhere.



I understand companies are trying to figure out how to make money off this and experimenting with different plans so that was disappointing but not totally unexpected. What sparked me to write a review was that when I called to find out about switching to a plan still listed on their website but that errored when I tried to sign up, the person I spoke to really didn't know their plans (turns out the one I wanted is still listed on the website but no longer available, btw). I literally had to explain how the solar buyback works, how the charges on the EFL added up, etc., just to finally get to the point where he understood how their own plan worked - and then said "well, you should probably just sign up for this one we offer because you won't find anything better". Really frustrating. I was put on hold several times while I thought he was trying to find additional information or alternate plans, turns out he was just trying to figure out how the plans I had already explained worked.

Billing and account management while I had them worked fine, but disappointed at how drastically they curtailed their solar support and that in trying to find out what alternatives I had, I had to spend my time explaining how electricity charges work to their customer service person. It was a half-hour conversation where the only new information I got was "yes, that plan on our website is not actually available," which would've taken 20 seconds to say if they actually valued our time.

Mark from Dallas, TX on May 26th, 2022
Hi Mark, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. This isn't the experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1770 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Shell game
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When I first joined in April 2020 I was told the energy company would buy back my excess generated energy at the kWh rate I was being charged. Several months later I was advised this policy had changed and my energy would be placed in a bank in case I needed it.



Now, this month I received the first bill for electricity useage. This is in spite of the fact that since April 2020. I had produced over 35,000 extra keg than I had used. That is 35,000 kWh that the provider has sold to someone else for a profit.

So I called and I was told the PUC had changed the policy and placed a cap on banking excess energy. So Green Mountain has confiscated my bank and now, not only am I paying for a solar power system but Im once again paying an electric bill. They are giving me a credit for what I produce but it is capped and pays a lower rate.

I have contacted my State Senator and my State Representative. If I did this to someone, I would be charged with Theft/ Fraud or both.

I have contacted another energy company who stated they have not heard anything about this PUC policy and I will be transferring my account to them on Monday.

I AM TIRED OF BEING TREATED LIKE THIS BY GREEN MOUNTAIN. I WAS TRYING TO BE A GOOD CITIZEN AND A RESPONSIBLE USER OF DOLAR POWER AND I HAPED BEEN FISCALLY ASSAULTED.

Charles Russell from Alvin, TX on February 20th, 2022
Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1740 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
No commitment to existing customers or environment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Our first break with GME was when they were offering better rates to new customers, but would only renew loyal customers at higher rate. When we moved to a home with solar, we again tried GME because they offered solar credits. Now they are eliminating that. Seems pretty hypocritical to say they support "green" energy but then refuse to support it. Since the buyback rate is less than the sale rate, it's not as though they can't still make some profit, if they cared to actually help environment. Obviously greed is the motivating factor. Luckily, Reliant and Rhythm offer solar plans for homeowners. Seems true green energy consumers are leaving GME in search for companies with integrity.

CristyW from Belton, TX on February 4th, 2022
Cristy, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1732 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Don't give them your business
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company will fee you to death. They'll thank you for being a loyal customer until you can't pay on time. If you have a perfect life and don't live paycheck to paycheck you might be fine here. But get real, how many of us in TX have that luxury. GME will slap a late charge and cut-off notice fee on you the day after your bill is due. That gives then an extra $30 a month on top of the highest KW charge per hour. For renewable energy they get off the grid. There customer service is okay but they're mostly off shore employees. Theyre just a horrible company.

G. Dudley from Arlington, TX on October 11th, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Too expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Poor customer service last month electric bill was kinda nice $170.00 this month paid $321.00 over $150.00 jump in just one month glad I am going with txu !

Mark from Odessa, TX on June 29th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Cutting power without warning
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been happy customer until yesterday when they cut power at my address without warning. I moved and they were very prompt to add my new address and switch on power. They were also very prompt to cut power at my old address without warning although house still on the market. When I called to move they asked when power had to be switched off. I could not provide an answer since house was put on the market for sale. They put a date and told me to call to change it if I was selling it. My online account showed both my accounts with end date in 2025, the end of my 5 year plan so was not worried. Well, they cut power without warning. And now they want me to switch to a month to month variable plan, much more expensive. Needless to say, I changed provider. I was on autopay so very low maintenance for them, by definition always paid on time. Unbelievable the lack of care for their customers. I highly recommend to look elsewhere (the only reason it is not one star across the board is because they were prompt to sign me on the first time)

Serge from Houston, TX on June 24th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Beware new scheme from the company (probably others)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When my last contract ended, they did not send any notice of my rates going up. This time, they sent me a notice to renew by a date last month. So, I chose to renew with another company this month, but they are informing me of a $200 fine for renewing a few months early. I was a complacent customer for 20 years, but never again.

Marc S. from Dallas, TX on January 15th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1831 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Last bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Did not issue credit for solar on last bill and charged a disconnect fee. I disputed the last bill and still no word from billing department


Lousy service

Ross from Corpus Christi, TX on July 19th, 2020
We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1829 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Non-Flexibility w/Payments
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First higher rates than some, but I was ok with that due to the environmental considerations. What I'm not ok with is I am a single mom, single income and there is no flexibility with this company when it comes to payment arrangement, if there is some kind issue arises.. especially if you typically stay caught up. They, however, will cut service as soon as the next bill generates with zero warning or communication. Most electric companies that I've used forever in my 30 plus years will allow you to get it paid before your next one is due... not these guys at all.. no notice, nothing indicating that you will be disconnected at all if you are on paperless billing.. no mention in the weekly emails they send, no mention when I logged in to see what my due dates. AND furthermore customer services is of zero help, I had a perfect storm of personal financial crisis happen in the last two months and was left a bit short (large vet bill with an animal that was internally bleeding and several hundred $ car repair)... I can easily pay the bill before the next due date, but they say they have no wiggle room or ability to turn my service on. We all know that is not true.. there is always a way.. they have set a protocal that cleary indicates to their customers that they don't care at all. So right now my services is off, I have no family to call for assistance.. sad part is I can pay my bill and the current portion a week from tomorrow... and be all caught up.. so for now, good riddance... I will pay my next bill and will move on to another company.

Lisa from North Richland Hills, TX on March 4th, 2020
Thank you for leaving a review, Lisa. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We'd like to help look into options. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1814 and additional information for more information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
DONT USE GREEM MOUNTAIN
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They may offer competitive prices and plans at first but they always find ways to charge up your bill during your time as a customer. I lived in a one bedroom apt and it cost more using Green Energy to cool and power electronics there than it does in my 4 bedroom two story house. They also have poor customer service and do not process closure claims properly. I closed my account in may and I'm still being billed because they waited a month to close it. This is the SECOND time they have done this to me. 10/10 WOULD NOT RECCOMEND this company, go for TriEagle!! They are great.

Colleen from Houston, TX on June 25th, 2019
Hi Colleen. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1802 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Talk about a company ripping people off!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bad bad when you go from 30 dollars a month to over 300 a month on your bill and they are stealing your solar.I live in a 900 sf house and not home on the weekends.

Tried Of Being Ripped Off. from Rainbow, TX on May 18th, 2022
Hi Anthony. We are sorry to hear that your bill has been more than anticipated. We would be happy to help break things down and explain the bill in more detail for you. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1768 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Won't clear fraud
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

2 yrs ago I cleared up a fraudulent account with greenmountain. Once again they have turned it into a collection agency. All I get is they are, "escalating" the matter. WHAT?! Again, I've sent all the proof the account is not mine. They do nothing. Beware!

Julia Mahan from League City, TX on May 4th, 2022
Hi Julia. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We'd like to investigate the issue with your account to see how we can help. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1767 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Green Mountain energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They are horrible dont go to them Ive had them for years they were great then all of a sudden I get 400 bill taken out of my account then another 200$ for an 18 day service I switched I will never refer another person to this shit company

Frankie Sauseda from Waco, TX on March 5th, 2022
Thanks for your review, Frankie. We would like the opportunity to review the account to see how we can help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1745 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Green Mountain Electricity cant be trusted
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont trust Green Mountain Energy. I sold my house, stopped service, yet they continued to charge me for electricity that I obviously wasnt using. I called several times to have them adjust my last bill, received several emails & a couple of letters saying they were adjusting my last bill. The next thing I know they have turned my account over to collections. The $ isnt the issue, but I will suggest that nobody trust this company for your electricity.

Georgi Ann Jasenovec from Round Rock, TX on March 2nd, 2022
Hi Georgi. We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1743 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Not satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was a Liberty Energy customer with no complaints. Liberty went bankrupt and automatically transfered my account to Green Mountain with the letter stating Green Mountain will honor my Liberty contract. Not only has Green Mountain not honored my contract they severely over charge me. My bill from Liberty last year for Jan 2020 was $60. My usage has not changed from year to year. However my Green Mountain bill was $139. No way should my bill EVER be that high in the winter. I live in a small 2 bedroom house and my heat is natural gas not electric. Historically my electricity bill is low in the Winter and increase in the summer. My natural gas bill increases in the Winter and decrease in the summer. I'm waiting on Green Mountain to explain to me a 50%+ increase from year to year. My goal at this point is to dump Green Mountain for a more a family budget friendly and fair electricity company like Liberty.

Mary Williams from Houston, TX on February 17th, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, Mary. We are happy to go over usage with you. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1741 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Liars about plan details
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a great 1st year and at renewal time I had to renew to a different plan. I have solar panels solar panels so the companies I can use are limited. I called several companies and had detailed conversations about how the plans worked. I finally decided to stay with Green Mountain as it would be a little cheaper than other companies. I got my first bill after renewing and it isn't at all what they explained to me. It is going to cost me a lot more than what it should have. When I called for help they really didn't care that I was lied to about how the plan works and would still charge me $150 to cancel. The guy on the phone kept trying to tell me I could change to one of their other plans, which is not a solar buyback plan. I had this run in circles conversations like 5 times. After 2.5 hours and two different people nothing was resolved.

Kristie from Houston, TX on February 4th, 2022
Hi Kristie. We regret that you had a negative experience when you called for help. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1731 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Complete garbage for extra $$$
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My first two bills were 80-100$ then after for the rest of my 12 year plan it was 150$ each payment. i have a one bedroom apartment with everything turned off when i go to work. i use electricity sparingly and dont over use my a/c. i had the free nights plan and it sure didnt help a bit. i was spending 100$-120$ at most on previous provider. before it was time to renew a month ahead i checked their new plans. they are increased drastic amounts 14-16 cents a kw. i found a different provider like the one i had before green mountain and will enjoy saving 50$ every electric bill. do yourself a favor and stay far away from green mountain electric, worst idea ive had in past 3 years.

Joshua from Victoria, TX on December 27th, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, Joshua. We are happy to go over usage with you. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1719 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Solar Credit Is held Hostage
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have Solar with over $400 worth of credit. Green Mountain is holding my money hostage and refuses to give the credit back. This even after my contract expired and I renewed.

Boby Lewis from Jarrell, TX on November 22nd, 2021
Hi Boby, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. This isn't the experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1706 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Awful
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We've been with GM for years.maybe 7 or 8..we noticed our bill recently started getting higher the past few months. lived at same place for past 6 years..almost $400 this month, for a 2 bedroom...and no one is home during day...and we have "free nights". in june asked how to lower it, they suggested a better plan....but failed to tell us it doesn't start until Nov.... my in laws have a 5 bdrm house, 2 AC units and home all day...their bill was $172 this month..they have Champion energy..time for us to switch.

Kelly from Carrollton, TX on September 10th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.
— Green Mountain Energy
Overall Rating
Not honest
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They will sometimes bill you twice within the same month, which is extremely hard for those of us that can't afford to budget over $600 on electricity per month. You'll be locked in and will owe a fee to change companies, which is standard. I just wish I had done better research about their billing. I don't find their prices to be any better than any other company.

Billed Twice A Month from Missouri City, TX on August 30th, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy.
— Green Mountain Energy

Compare Green Mountain Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Gexa Energy Saver 36
18.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Deluxe 24
14.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12
15.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Deluxe 12
16.2¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver 12
16.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Advantage 12
18.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Value 12
19.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Energy Saver 24
19.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Premium 12
22.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Superb Saver 24
24.1¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Superb Saver 12
24.6¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Tara Web - 24
18.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Tara Web - 12
20.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability