Direct Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Direct Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Direct Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Direct Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Direct Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Direct Energy

3.2 / 5

Direct Energy Reviews

447 Reviews for Direct Energy

447

total reviews

Compare to Direct Energy Electricity Rates

Recent Good Review from I. Smith

Overall Rating
Direct Energy Best Rates Available
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy has fantastic competitive rates, great customer service, and a user friendly website. Simple and cost-effective is why I'm a Direct Energy customer. Plus you get Get a $50 bill credit

I. Smith from Arlington, TX on November 29th, 2021
Hello I. Smith. Thank you for taking some time out of your busy day to share your great experience with us. We are delighted to know that we have been able to satisfy your needs and that you are happy with the service we provide. Our main objective is to always give you the best experience so that all of our interactions to be 5-stars! Thank you for referring us to your friends and family, to have more details about this campaign go to https://www.directenergy.com/refer-a-friend. Thank you for trusting us! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Billing Error
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was pretty happy with the company and the plan(Free nights 9pm to 9am) I have. On my latest bill, there is an error. On all my previous bills, you will see "FREE Usage xxx kWh and FREE TDU Charges" but not on the latest November bill there is no credit for "Free TDU Charges" . So the amount is more than double because the FREE TDU Charges" were not credited. I had been trying to contact the online customer service but they just don't understand the bill at all.

Henry from Plano, TX on November 19th, 2021
Good afternoon, Henry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding your bill. You are an important part of our family and we would love to further investigate this matter, please feel free to contact us by phone at 888-305-3828, or through our Live Chat department at www.directenergy.com, we will do our best to solve your concern. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Best electric company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I recommend it 100%


The best rate, honest,they don't take advantage of their customers,, excellent customer service

Belem Gonzalez from Carrollton, TX on September 12th, 2021
Good afternoon, Belem. Thank you for sharing this nice review with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be your trusted electricity supplier again in the future. Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to serve you. Please feel free to reach us anytime you need us, we'll be waiting for you. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
$50 off with code Y8PT5E !!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I LOVE direct energy. Their customer service is fantastic. Every time weve called they have attended us in a friendly and efficient manner. Plus I got $50 off with this code: Y8PT5E

Ana Wilder from Dallas, TX on September 1st, 2021
Good afternoon, Ana. There is no bigger compliment for us than when our customers say they would recommend Direct Energy to their family and friends! Are you familiar with our Refer a Friend Promotion? You and the new customer can each receive a $50 credit. To find out more information, visit our website at https://www.directenergy.com/refer-a-friend. We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience and we definitely appreciate when our customers share their awesome experience through reviews, so we thank you for taking the time to do so! Thank you for your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Great rates and customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with Direct Energy in the past and left thinking I could get a better rate. The customer service is excellent when you have any billing issues they treat you with respect. I went back to them this year and put their service on 2 houses. You will be pleased to know Direct has great people working for them.

A from Lake Dallas, TX on August 7th, 2021
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share this important comment with us. Thank you so much for giving us another chance to serve you. We are very happy to have you in our family and we will do our very best to continue as your electricity provider for many years to come! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Absolutely THE BEST!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

As other people have had problems paying their bills before, during and with the continued covid crisis, Direct Energy has been there for me and my family through it all! I have never had a more positive experience with friendly and helpful customer service representatives than I have with Direct Energy! In several states to include Texas, no energy company has delivered the best experience!

The BEST Energy Company! from Grapevine, TX on August 6th, 2021
Good afternoon. Thank you so much for this awesome review! These have been difficult times for everyone, and we are glad to have been able to serve you and always be there for you, because you are a very important part of our family. We know that together we can achieve great things. Thank you for your trust and loyalty! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
I'm already a customer,,i give 5 star +good Custer service and my plan was exelent very honest company i recommended 100%
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I recommend 100% and i give 5+Star


Very honest company
They don't take advantage of in there customers like others company do,,thank you

Belem Gonzalez from Carrollton, TX on June 12th, 2021
Wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review, Belem. We are honored to have you as a customer. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
The best service in all terms! A happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great deals. Good service

Jeniepriyanka from Houston, TX on June 10th, 2021
Hello Jeniepriyanka. Thank you for this great rating and comment! We are so pleased to know that we have earned your trust and loyalty, and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We will continue doing our best to be your trusted electricity provider for a long time to come! Have a great weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
A great big help!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I contacted customer support because I used the wrong bank account to make a payment and they were quick to get it canceled so I didnt get an overdraft fee. Also assured me I would not be disconnected if my payment did not clear because the money came out of my cash app account and was denied but showed complete on their side. Completely satisfied with DIRECT ENERGY!!!

Jennifer Medlin from Harker Heights, TX on June 3rd, 2021
Hi Jennifer, wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! We noticed you mentioned that the mistake with the payment has been addressed and we are very happy about it. Feel free to contact us whenever you need it. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Excellent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent

Mike from Houston, TX on May 25th, 2021
Hi Mike, we're pleased to know that your experience with us was a good one. thank you for entrusting us with the care of your energy and for taking a moment to leave this review. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy order status
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Email says "We'll send you an email update within the next 3 days when your order has been completed." But I haven't got any email so I went to chat the customer service after the 3rd day to get an update. The customer chat representative checked my order and it said it was approved and gave me the order details. Customer service Chat was prompt and didn't have to wait for a long time to get a response.

DXC Houston from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2021
Hello DXC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We care for you and we are really grateful to have you in our family! We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Chat Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience. Thank you for giving us a shot! All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer

None from Irving, TX on October 6th, 2020
Hello. Thank you so much for giving us this great rating. If there are any outstanding questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us through any of our communication channels anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Thanks for your trust! Have a nice day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
On-Line Chat GREAT!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thanks to Nery - we were able to resolve my doublepayment due to a quick finger and me not paying attention!!

KLW from Little Elm, TX on October 23rd, 2019
Thank you for sharing this feedback, KLW, and for giving Nery a special shout-out! We will make sure that the management team is aware of the awesome service that you were provided. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Bad experience after 3 years
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been Direct Energy customers for 3 years, when I decided to move to my new house I called them (30 days before moving) to transfer my service to my new location (75056) but the representative told me the service is not available on that area and they don't charge me for early termination. When I saw my statement they charged me $135 for early termination, I called again and the representative checked my new zip code and agreed to waive this fee. Finally today after checking my credit card statement I saw they charged me $135. Really frustrated with their customer service.

Ali from The Colony, TX on June 20th, 2019
We certainly wanted to take a moment to apologize for the less than exceptional experience. Upon review of your account, the early cancellation fee was included with your final invoice. A waiver request was submitted and a credit of $135.00 was applied to your card on file as of 7/8/2019. Please be advised it can take up to 10 business days for the refund to show on your account.
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Customer Service Chat Representative "Amanda" Was Very Helpful and Was Very thorough. Thank you Amanda.

Rhremodel69 from Baird, TX on May 21st, 2019
Thank you for the wonderful review! We will be sure to contact Amanda and her supervisor and provide the positive feedback!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good company, getting better
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with Direct Energy for 8 or 9 years now and, except for a few minor issues, have been pretty happy with their service. I use the live chat feature most of the time but, if I have to call customer service, I am usually not on hold too long at all and it doesn't take long to resolve whatever the problem is. The rates are a little higher than some lesser known providers but given the lesser known providers ratings, the higher rates are probably going to be worth it. In fact, my contract with Direct Energy expires this month and I had been shopping around for an electric provider with a lower rate but decided to go ahead and stay for that reason. All the providers offering lower rates had terrible ratings and customer reviews. I also found a few outrageous hidden costs and fine print nightmares among some of the lesser known providers. I would rather pay a few cents more and avoid having to battle with some other company's customer service department about a promise they made at signup they failed to deliver afterwards.

Jennifer from Alvin, TX on February 6th, 2019
Good Afternoon Jennifer,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to one of our live chat agents with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thank you again and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy is GREAT!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been w/Direct Energy for a few years now. Their plans & services are without a doubt, some of the best around. We're very pleased w/our ongoing rate of $0.0500 per kilowatt-hour is most competitive around. Their website is extremely user-friendly & customer service is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is the differences displayed online vs. paper bill. However, this primarily due to when I actually pay, a full week after the billing statement.



I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DIRECT ENERGY AS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ELECTRICAL DISTRIBUTOR!

Tommy from Fort Worth, TX on January 2nd, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Tommy! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good so far...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I just started, but everything has been seamless so far. I dont even have to do anything to receive my echo dot! I have free weekends so with the kids home at that time, Im loving it!

Britney M. from Houston, TX on December 21st, 2018
Thats great to hear Britney! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy Customer Service is awesome. I am not easy to deal with, but Chas took ownership of the problem and hung in with me until it was resolved. It was an AutoPay issue and he worked with me, even involved his supervisor to get everything taken care of. Seldom do I find Customer Service where "Service" is the key word!

Excellent Customer Service from Tolar, TX on December 14th, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Cs was really helpful
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Needed help with my bill and cres from cs helped me out n was very kind

Esther from San Angelo, TX on December 4th, 2018
Thanks Esther! We are glad to see you had a great experience and will make sure Cres is recognized! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cres was extremely helpful; answered all my questions and concerns.

Dolores from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2018
Yay!! We will make sure he is recognized!! Thank you. - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Sorry to Go
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have been a Direct Energy customer for only one year with a great rate and great customer service, unfortunately the renew rate is 30% higher than what is available elsewhere. 10/19/18.

Rod from Wichita Falls, TX on October 19th, 2018
We appreciate your feedback and will look into renewable rates in your area. Thanks - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
No notice that contract was expiring
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have automatic withdrawal for the free weekends plan. I was not given notice that my contract was about to expire or had expired so I continued to lower the thermostat every weekend during the next 2 months. When my next bill was $100 higher, I contacted them to question it. That's when I found out it had expired 2 months prior and couldn't be restarted til the next month. I guess they will get extra money for the 2-3 months I was without the free weekend contract. Other than that, I have been happy with them. I just need to make note of my next contract expiration date because they probably won't notify me.

Debbie from Thrall, TX on August 29th, 2018
Hi Julie, and thank you for taking the time to share a review! We are glad to know that you have been pleased with your plan and the overall experience you have had with us. To address you concerns regarding contract expiration and renewals, we want to assure you that we are proactive in notifying our customers of an impending expiration. We send out notifications between 45-60 days in advance of the contract end date, which include available renewal offers and instructions on how to accept a renewal offer. In reviewing your account, I see that your end of term notification was included with your statement dated 4/28/2018. You should expect the same renewal process to occur when your current contract is due to expire. We hope this clears up any confusion, and please feel free to reach out to us via phone or chat if there is ever anything we can do for you. Have a fantastic day! - Jack
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Definitely Preferred Electric
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent prices, but customer service not always the easiest to understand.

Michelle B from Arlington, TX on July 12th, 2017
Thank you for the feedback, Michelle. We are sorry to hear that you have had some issues with communication when you contact us. Please feel free to email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com if you still have unresolved issues that we can assist you further with. We are happy to help. Have a good day! -Jane
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Help with renewing with Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The customer service representative was most helpful.

Renewing from Blossom, TX on June 30th, 2017
We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear the agent that assisted you with renewing was very helpful! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need anything. All the best, -Jane
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Sign up an electrical plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Short waiting time, smooth, and straight forward

Xg from Hyattsville, MD on June 12th, 2017
Thank you for the feedback! Don't hesitate to contact us if you need our help! Thank you for choosing Direct Energy! -Jane
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Electricity bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melinda was very helpful and thorough in explaining

Dolores Garcia from Houston, TX on June 7th, 2017
Dolores, we are happy that you had a great experience when you needed help. Thank you for being our customer! All the best, -Jane
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Service and price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Far better Service and prices than I Had with TXU

Direct from Balch Springs, TX on April 20th, 2017
We strive to remain competitive and friendly to meet your needs. Thank you. - Ally
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
They have a very lose definition of average billing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I used Direct for over a year and never had any issues with them except for with their idea of average billing. They offer average billing, but it is unlike any average billing I have ever experienced, and to this day, when I inquire about how average billing works with potential energy providers, I have never encountered Direct's odd approach to the matter.



Direct Energy doesn't average bill in the sense of keeping your bill around a steady amount and then adjusting it for over or under usage. Direct's average billing bills you exactly what you used that month, so the bill is always a surprise. I spoke to several customer service reps about this issue, and they all seemed confused by my confusion; like average billing meant regular billing. It's really weird.

So if you are okay with your average bill being a mystery surprise each month, go ahead and sign up with Direct. Honestly, it's the only issue I ever had with them, but it was enough to inspire me to switch to another provider. Just my personal preference, though.

Lori from Baytown on January 27th, 2014
Overall Rating
Power-to-go Plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Power-to-go Direct Energy plan has been great. I get a daily email with my usage and cost. It's been really convientient. I haven't had to deal with customer service, so I cannot rate that, but set up was easy online!


Amanda from Houston on August 28th, 2012
Overall Rating
You get what you pay for
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have a fixed rate, so there is nothing to say except that the customer service is poor. Unlike the phone agents who refuse to accept complaints regarding it, the chat agents are eager to get you off the line. This will enable them to enjoy the remainder of their evening at home. They offer excellent rates. The answer is yes, but there is more to it than that.

BYCLee from Houston, TX on June 1st, 2022
Good morning, BYCLee. We are truly sorry and concerned to know your experience with our Customer Care Team was less than acceptable. We would love if you could give us the opportunity to serve you the way you deserve and make things right this time. We value your business with Direct Energy and we will be more than glad to further assist you, so please feel free to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will give our 110% to show you we care. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Problematic billing system seen in Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I decided to terminate my DE service because there was lack of details/transparency in my statement. Unfortunately, after I switched my service provider, DE made another error in my last bill and overcharged me again. I can only contact DE through online chatting and the representative did her best in assisting me, which was good. However, it will take 1-2 billing cycle(s) to correct the error and their system can not even generate a ticket/tracking number for me to follow up. I believe such treatment is below industry standard and DE really needs to improve in this area to serve their customers better.

Y. Liang from Pearland, TX on May 20th, 2022
Good afternoon, Y. Liang. We deeply regret the situation you had to experience and it truly saddens us to know that we have lost you as part of our family. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and give you the attention and care that you deserve. If there is anything we can help you with, please don't hesitate to reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will do our best to solve any concern you may have. Please take care and be safe! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Sky rocket bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My bill is always paid in full each month. I just paid my bill for September on the 14th. I just checked my account and now my bill for October is $318 due on the 10th. How is that possible without any balance from the previous month? This is ridiculous, it really is. I NEED ANSWERS!!!

D. Gold from Humble, TX on September 23rd, 2021
Good afternoon, D. Gold. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to further investigate this matter and work with you to clarify all of your doubts. Please feel free to reach us through any of our communication channels:
* Our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
* Our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
* Or you can also chat with us at www.directenergy.com.
We will do our best to solve your concern. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Bad online renewal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tried to sign up with PHONE# THIER WEB PAGE COULDN'T F0INE ME ALTHOUGH I'VE BEEN CUSTOMER FOR YEARS COULDNT LOCATE USEING CUST # EVEN METER NO DIDNT WORK CHAT DIDNT WORK FINALLY WELL U KNOW 2HOURS LATTER

Cliff C from Cooper, TX on June 1st, 2021
Good afternoon, Cliff. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had trying to sign up. We are glad to know that your enrollment was finally processed, albeit with effort. We appreciate the opportunity you have given us by choosing us as your trusted supplier. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you again, the way you deserve and regain your trust in us. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was trying to have service shut off at one address and switched to another address. What a nightmare. I wanted service at new address on January 29th and electricity shut off at old address on February 2nd. I was on the phone for over an hour and a half and went through 4 people. Finally I told them to shut off service at old address on February 2nd and would find another provider for new address. I will NEVER use Direct Energy again

Katherine OBrien from Fort Worth, TX on January 26th, 2021
Hello Katherine. We are truly sorry for the difficult situation you experienced and we are deeply saddened to know that we have lost you as part of our family. If there's anything we can do for you, please feel free to contact us anytime through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve any concern you may have. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Air conditioner nightmare
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I made the claim 3/13/20 it took til 4/20/20 to complete. Customer service took days to call me back, very slow responding. However When the technician arrived, everything became better. He was able to get the job completed! Ive used HWA for many years and this was the first time It took so long to handle.

K Bodie from 29164 on April 24th, 2020
Hi Bodie, We are so sorry to hear that your claim experience took longer than anticipated, and we can certainly understand the frustration that this caused. We are glad that to heard that the claim has been resolved for you. If there are any remaining questions or concerns regarding the claim you referenced in your review, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may take a closer look for you. Please reach out to our Live Chat team https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/ or Social Media support https://www.facebook.com/HWAHomeWarranty at your earliest convenience to proceed forward with assistance. Have a good day! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Waste of money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla Bishop from Killeen, TX on January 27th, 2019
Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.

Barre from Katy, TX on November 30th, 2018
Barre, We hate to see you had a poor experience with the renewal. We are actively working to improve this process for our customers and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thanks, Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
What customer service?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When I moved it was a huge hassle to move my service. They made me change plans to a much higher rate and they are still charging me for a house I no longer live in. I have called and chatted and still no help. I hope the people living in my prior place of residence enjoy the FREE ELECTRICITY. PLEASE HIRE PEOPLE WHO CAN UNDERSTAND ENGLISH.

Mad As Hell from Wichita Falls, TX on June 29th, 2018
Clangston, this is definitely concerning to hear. We would like to resolve this as quickly as possible for you. Please connect with us through email dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or through our Facebook page to further escalate this situation. We are looking forward to speaking with you. -Eleanor
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Web System faulty and states incentives that are not delivered
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I renewed with Direct Energy (Direct Energy Live Brighter Weekends 24) and the renewal form stated my incentives would be 2 $25 gift cards and a nest thermostat. When I called to find out when I would be receiving my incentives I was told I had a different plan and different incentives.



Other users should beware that they do not honor what you will see when you renew your rate.

Kevin from Houston, TX on December 8th, 2017
Kevin, we want to apologize for any misunderstanding. We would like to investigate this right away. Please send us your account number, phone number and address to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com so we can look into this. Thank you, - Jane
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
HORRIBLE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Started service on Oct 2021 was suppose to get $320. In gift cards . got disc. For some reason in November 2021. They could not give me the reason for disc. Still havent received GCs its end of March 2022.

G. Cervantes from Sherman, TX on March 22nd, 2022
Good afternoon, G. Cervantes. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. We value you business with Direct Energy, and we would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central: we will work diligently to answer all of your questions and solve your concerns. We'll be waiting to talk to you. Thank you for this important feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Poor service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They Have Been Charging Me For Saturday Over 6 Months And It's Supposed to be Free.

Minnie Coffman from Humble, TX on February 5th, 2022
Good afternoon, Minnie. Thank you for providing us with this important feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding the charges on your account. We value your business with Direct Energy and we would love to take a closer look at your account and clarify all of your doubts. Please do not hesitate to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central, or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will be more than glad to help you out. Have a great start of the week! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My patience is gone. I have been told so many different things regarding receiving my promotion. I will be leaving as soon as the contract is up and will never reccomend.

Horrible from Cleburne, TX on January 31st, 2022
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding a promotion offered. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to further investigate this matter and help you find the best solution to your case. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with our Customer Service Department toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central. You can also contact us through chat at www.directenergy.com. We will do our best to regain your trust in us. Have a great day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Too high
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

All of a sudden my bill drastically jumped up from around 118.00 to 300.00 I feel like its a scam going on!! Im about to call now because when I moved in my house they tried to raise my kilowatt price I had to call to tell them to correct it smh!!

Tia from Dallas, TX on January 29th, 2022
Hi Tia, we are deeply sorry for any confusion this bill may have caused you. We would love to further investigate the increase on the bill and find the best solution for your case. Please contact us through chat at www.directenergy.com, it will be a pleasure to assist you. - Have a great day! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Had 1 year contract but was disconnected without explanation
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had 1 year contract with good price but when i moved because of my apartment problem, the electricity was transferred to my new address and disconnected.


I called Direct Energy throughout my moving process to make sure everything was good. First it was transferred but because of my apartment problems i had to hold it for like 20 days .
I called Direct energy and explained them everything. That i want it to be hold and start on which day of Sept . They said okay. I was hoping there to be electricity when i move but no.
I called them and they said they don't hold but disconnect. I was never informed or explained about it. I was told my contract was cancelled that time when it was on hold which i had no idea about. I still had lot of months left on my contract.
The agent told me i had to get new plan which was more expensive than my previous one. After an hour talk with the agent and her supervisor i was promised to be given my same plan for same rate. But she said since it was holiday i have to be on temporary plan for 5-6 days until next month starts. I agreed.
When i got my bills for next 2 months it was double the rate of my previous plan . I talked with so many people and their supervisor on Direct Energy , they keep on denying what i was promised. They kept on arguing that it shows on their record that i signed up for the current plan. I explained in details with too many of their people. I told them to check as their was recorded conversation on the date i agreed to sign up for the plan on my new apartment.
After wasting so much time and money, i was told after they investigated that what i told i was right. But they said sorry but they can't give me the plan. They wanted me to get me new plan now which cost double the rate.
I wish i could give - negative star. Even though it was not my fault i have to suffer. NOW i am trying to find new plan but i don't want to continue with Direct anymore

M from on January 17th, 2022
Good morning, M. We are very sorry for the situation you have had to experience in relation to your rate plan. We'd love to do the right thing and help you find the best rate we have available for you. Please contact us by phone or through our live chat team, we will do our best to resolve your concern and regain your trust in us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for this important feedback. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Overcharge for rotten customer service I absolutely do not recommend would like to leave zero stars

Kdorris from Harlingen, TX on January 4th, 2022
Hello Kdorris. We apologize for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to make things right. Please feel free to reach us anytime toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central, or you can also chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will do our best to help in any way we can and show you how important you are to us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Beware
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The worst company, the promise good rates dont believe them I have 3 year experience with them and cant wait to find another company that wont take advantage of their customers

Daniel from Fort Worth, TX on January 2nd, 2022
Good afternoon, Daniel. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel. We are terribly sorry for any bad experience you've had. You are really important to us and we would love to have the opportunity to take a closer look at any concern you may have. Please feel free to reach us anytime, by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central, or you can also chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will work diligently to provide you with the best solution to your case. Thank you for the feedback. Have a lovely day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
$120 bill with an additional $120 in delivery charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

$335 bill in December. $120 bill for my kilowatt hours in an additional $120 bill and delivery charges. Direct Energy is a scam

$335 Bill In December. $120 Bill For My Kilowatt Hours In An Additional $120 Bill And Delivery Charges. Direct Energy Is A Scam from The Colony, TX on December 19th, 2021
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about this concerning situation you have experienced. We would definitely love the opportunity to take a closer look at this and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to contact us by phone or Live Chat at any moment, and we will do what it takes to find the best solution in your case. We'll be waiting for you. Thank you for this important feedback. Have a wonderful start of the week! - Sophie - Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Poor communication
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My 18 month contract was due for renewal and I never received an email or letter to review and sign. Then I had a bill for November 2021 that was never sent to me or a bill mailed out to me. Now I have a past due bill with an extra surcharge. I spoke with the agent over the phone and I now had to pay both December & November bill together and the surcharge which the agent never confirmed if I ever received a bill for November or offered to take off the surcharge. This is very poor customer management

BIll from Houston, TX on December 18th, 2021
Good afternoon, Bill. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. We care for you and we would like to further investigate this matter to work on the best solution to your case. Please feel free to reach us anytime by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to help in any way we can. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Over charge
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

For some unknown reason, when Direct Energy upgraded. They changed my plan without authorization. when i told them about they switched be back to my original plan, but would not adjust my bill. Not only that now i am unable to track my usage.

Wallacette Mozeke from The Colony, TX on December 14th, 2021
Good afternoon, Wallacette. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you again the way you deserve to enhance your experience with us! ! You can check your estimated usage through your Online Account Manager, and also, you may obtain further details regarding your usage by registering your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com. Here your usage can be viewed every hour. You will be able to view when your usage is at its highest point and where it is at its lowest point throughout each day. Thank you for this feedback. For any future assistance needed please feel free to reach us anytime by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to show you we care. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy