Reliant Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Reliant so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Reliant Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Reliant's Customer Reviews Summary

Reliant Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Reliant

3.9 / 5

Reliant Reviews

522 Reviews for Reliant

522

total reviews

Want to order Reliant?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Reliant?

Is Reliant good?

Reliant is generally rated with an average user review of 1.6/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 23.10¢/kWh!

Is Reliant expensive?

Reliant has energy plans starting as low as 23.10¢/kWh with their Reliant Basic Power 24 plan. The average Reliant plan rate is 24.80¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 11.49¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

Reliant vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Reliant:

TXU Reliant
Plan Count 6 4
Average Rate 21.78¢/kWh 24.05¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $7.48
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 18.50¢/kWh.
Conservation 12 plan
from 24.50¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 19.50¢/kWh.
Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 23.10¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Reliant vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Reliant:

Reliant Reliant
Plan Count 4 4
Average Rate 24.05¢/kWh 24.05¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $7.48
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Conservation 12 plan
from 24.50¢/kWh.
Conservation 12 plan
from 24.50¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 23.10¢/kWh.
Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 23.10¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Reliant take reviews seriously?

Reliant has an average user review of 1.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 63% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Reliant?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Reliant customer review communities around. With 522 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Reliant customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Reliant Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from Bcortes

Overall Rating
Solar panels warning
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you have solar panels and your contract has expired, reliant will NOT give you credit for the solar electricity your panels produced.

Bcortes from Cypress, TX on May 5th, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Switched over
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I to switched over after going to Walmart and talking to a elses rep for reliant. Everything is going good except I have yet to receive my 100 dollar Walmart gift card, i was told it shipped on January 19th, 2022. Not sure why it taking my so long to get delivered to my apartment.

Joseph from Plano, TX on February 13th, 2022
Thank you for the great feedback, Joseph. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
You all SUCK
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How lame it is to read all these reviews and all your complaints about high bills lmfao I bet you people wake up 7 am on a sunday to call your service providers and beg for a discount. Pathetic lifestyle yall have. I feel ashamed of texans. Stop crying for your stupid money PLEASE. NO ONE CARES

Loosers from Houston, TX on October 21st, 2021
Overall Rating
Love them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was shopping at Walmart and was approached by a rep. who was very friendly, funny and explained that I was paying too much for electricity. I switched and found he was NOT lying. Thank God I took the time to listen. I am nee to Texas so I didnt know about companys for service.

Monicab from Houston, TX on September 17th, 2021
Overall Rating
Asdisted with a verage billing plan ..excellent service from rep carlos 3-17-21
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Professional and knowledgeable help from reliant energy electric co .would highly recommend service

Average Billing Plans Explanation from Weatherford, TX on March 17th, 2021
Hi! We're so glad that you're happy with our services. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please reach out if you ever have any questions or concerns about your account.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Good service great price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy to deal with, fixed price eco friendly.

J from Tyler, TX on February 20th, 2021
Hi! We're so glad that you're happy with our services. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please reach out if you ever have any questions or concerns about your account.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Very happy to call back and ask only Ms. Swami from Reliant customer serv Rep.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am the Loyal customer. I called second time today after first call (the guy very dissapointed me). Second time I called and Ms. Swami answered to my call and she was very professional, nice, she answered to all my questions regarding my rate plan and my rewards. I am happy the Reliant company has such amazing people who has right professional etiquette to talk with customers. Thank you Ms. Swami- I would be happy if next time I will call the cust.serv.again to update my plan, so I will in the right place with right person like you to talk about new plan for continue with Reliant.

Zhanarina from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2021
Thank you for the great feedback, Zhanarina. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
The best
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I'm still indebted to the customer service representative Nathally who walked to my door courageously and convinced me to opt into reliant Energy. I don't regret signing up for this service. The best ever i have used

Pascal N. from Balch Springs, TX on September 17th, 2020
Overall Rating
Educated sales service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So I've begun shopping for electric providers now due to covid and at the need for at-home savings, I had the privilege of working with Mr Anthony Trevino out of Grand Prairie Texas. I've always considered myself a smart shopper but never in the area of electric costs. And I've never worked with Reliant Energy ever. My experience today was enlightening to say the least. I spoke to someone that was passionate to not only sell the product but to genuinely help me learn and break down what every cost means. And although I did not make a switch today (due to some transition), when I am ready and I will be, Anthony Trevino at Reliant Energy will have my business that's for sure! Thank you Mr Trevino for making an educated Electric Energy Shopper out of me and making me feel better about this life decision.


Claudia Martinez Pena

Anthony Trevino - Reliant Energy Rep from Burleson, TX on July 6th, 2020
Overall Rating
Mrs Drama Queen
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank


I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.

Lisa Coppage from Robert Lee, TX on May 26th, 2020
We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Overcharge their long-term customers and will charge you at end of your contract
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Have been with Reliant for 6 years. Every year, they would increase my rate for the same plan. I realized that they charge about 1.5x the rate of their competitors for comparable services so I decided to switch providers when my latest contract expired on 9/10. Two days after my contract expired, I received an email confirmation stating that my contract had ended and that I would no longer receive power from Reliant because I had switched providers on the day my contract expired. I paid my final bill and thought that was it. I just received another bill today for an additional $117. I contacted Reliant and they stated that the bill was due to an excess usage charge of 1300 kwh that I had supposedly used on 9/9 - 9/10 (1 day of service). I argued with them saying that there was no way I could use 1300 kwh in a single day when that was my usual MONTHLY usage. They said the usage was reported by TDSP so I went on the Smart Meter Texas website and found that I had only used 40-45 kwh everyday for the past month, including the dates in question. I ended up paying the bill because I was tired of arguing with Reliant and they were not offering any resolutions. All I know is that this entire experience provided reassurance that I made the correct decision in changing providers. I will be communicating to whoever I can to not use Reliant because not only do their upcharge their customers, they are dishonest in their billing practices.

Amin from Houston, TX on September 13th, 2021
We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Better than people say
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have averaged about 10 cents per Kwh and never had an issue with billing or hidden fees. Maybe other users didn't read their plan.

Another User from Spring, TX on January 16th, 2021
We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying our service. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Reliable product and fantastic customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

While I used them for my needs, Reliant had reasonable rates and I never experienced an outage like I had from other providers. The place they really shined was helping me cancel their services, oddly enough! I spoke with a friendly support person who assisted me in terminating my account due to DV related issues. I would happily work with this company again just because they proved they cared more about my safety and wellbeing than my money.

Shawna from Denton, TX on April 18th, 2020
Overall Rating
Good Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I just chatted with Reliant rep Cassidy. She answered all of my questions, got me logged into the Reliant website and helped my lower my kWh rate by 5 cents per kWh. Very good service.

JB from 11111 on July 26th, 2017
Overall Rating
Easy move out
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had some question in moving electricity from current address to new address. customer service person Justin helped with patience. he is great and solved my questions/problem quickly.

Dav from Dallas, TX on July 25th, 2017
Overall Rating
Great Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When I call any customer service department I am sometimes surprised to find myself speaking to someone from India or China. Not with Reliant! You will be able to understand them and they will take ownership of your problems. You may find yourself talking about common concerns before you say goodbye or even promising to say a prayer. They have great people on the other end of the phones! And they may live just a few towns over.

Nonni23 from Corsicana, TX on July 1st, 2017
Overall Rating
No complaints, great company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This was my company last year with a 12 months plan, they let me sign in without a deposit (taking in consideration I had no credit history as a new resident to this country.) The website is very good you can easily manage your account and do everything online.



Great Customer Service.

Hector Almaguer from Houston on August 15th, 2016
Overall Rating
Lo-ong time user
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have used Reliant since before the breakup of the monopoly when it was HLP. Had a few problems before computer technology, but they were quickly fixed. Usually had to do with mis-reading the meter.



I'm on Reliant Secure 12 plan, with Bill averaged over 12 mo. 1 person - 1,000 sf. - Aug 1291 kWh, Sep 1131 kWh, Oct 826 kWh. Bill each month is from $100 to $111.

Time to renew and was looking for a lower rate. I guess there are some, but the monthly delivery charges get you. And company reviews. Ugh!

Remember, most people only write reviews when they are angry or frustrated (I'm no exception). Since most of the reviews for ALL companies were negative, I'll just stick to the tried and true. At least I know bill will be every month.

Janet from Houston on October 16th, 2015
Overall Rating
Excellent customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had an door to door agent come to my house.. I think he said his name was Javier .At first I was going to close the door in his face but I listen to what he had to say and he gave me this new plan called Truly free weekend 36 I was on contract so he gave me $300 dollars bill credit to make up or it every since I did that my bill has been way less then the usual.. He gave me this quote of a price and it came out to be cheaper than what he said... He left me with his number and everything in case I had any questions... If you all see him/them come to your door u better answer because u don't know how much u could be saving... :)

Sherry from Dallas on May 25th, 2015
Overall Rating
Pretty Good Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have had Reliant for 9 months and it has been pretty good so far. The rates are not too bad, service has been good. There was a little bit of a struggle when I went to renew our plan but they eventually gave us a lower rate.

Scott from Grapevine on March 11th, 2015
Overall Rating
Plans are misleading
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for average billing and I thought I was getting a deal but they carry over the extra usage and you owe a whole bill on the back end.

Micka from Lancaster, TX on October 27th, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Telephone chat
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I chatted online with my phone to Brittany. I called asking for extension, I was able to get more time than originally requested. I want to thank Brittany for being so helpful and prompt in assisting me. She was very professional and I can tell she is very nice. Thanks again Brittany good job

Cindy from Houston, TX on February 17th, 2020
Overall Rating
Pricey
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have not been home (2 bedroom apartment ) in 1 month , and my bill is $150 . How !!! And I havent been home ..

JustWoW26 from Killeen, TX on January 5th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Too Expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Expensive- They have their own rate per kWh rate, then Center point passed on rate. Feels like i am ripped off. all together i am paying 13 kWh.


Their online portal wont allow to schedule payment of your own chosen date.

Too Expensive from Katy, TX on December 1st, 2019
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to go over fees, usage, and charges with you. We also have tools to help manage your account like weekly summary emails and home energy snapshots. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 for assistance with your account.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
On line chat
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was using the on line chat for assistance about my current plan. Heidy was pleasant and very helpful, as well as responding quickly to my needs.

Brenda from Carrollton on May 14th, 2016
Overall Rating
Used to be better, as a 5-year loyal customer, impossible to enroll a plan at new customers' rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

As a customer with reliant for over 5 years, i think it's time to leave.


it used to be pretty easy to fix the rate whatever the plans i could find online, but not the case any more since about a year ago. rep keeps telling me, you're not eligible for this, not eligible for that, and trying to trap me to sign a much higher rate pricing plan instead.
in past 5 years, the overall experience was pretty smooth, no disconnections and just few glitches here and there.
but business is just business, customers are looking for lowest rate indeed, and there're companies with quality service too.

Mike from Houston on February 8th, 2016
Overall Rating
Satisfaction
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very satisfied.13 years already...

Assaad Rechdan from Houston on December 29th, 2015
Overall Rating
Once the promotion ends
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They had a good promotional price when you sign up with them, but the pricing after contract and what they have to offer is less desired. Even when an account manager contacted me with a better promotion which I calculated to what my usage last year was everything would be $30+ dollars more a month. Its a hassle shopping around and switching, but you need to do with you need to do. Customer service is great and no hidden charges, but the pricing will not be comparable to what you sign up for. If you are able to understand the charges that you can calculate the price differences from other companies. Don't focus on average pricing. To estimate costs take your energy charge and add it with delivery charge which would give you your base cost per kWh. Then there is the recurring fee of $8.72 for delivery charges from every provider so that is standard. Also be weary of base charge. Reliant doesn't charge this but some companies do. Also note even with the added base charge a company could probably still be cheaper because of the lower kWh charge. Some plans have variable energy charge for instance if you use 1000 kWh you get a charge at 5.2 cents but if you go above that say 1001-2000+ kWh then its 8.9 cents. Definitely pay attention to that if you consume 1001+ kWh. Either way they will get your money just depends on your usage as they say. You might pay more for less but if 3 months out of the year you use less then 1000, then the savings for your usage will be noticeable if you are a high energy consumer.

D from Houston on February 13th, 2015
Overall Rating
Straightforward and honest
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

After 2 years with another electricity company in Houston, I switched to Reliant.



The switch was very easy.

Reliant has slightly lower rates than other companies in Houston area.

Most importantly Reliant runs a fair and honest business. Their contract is more customer-friendly than other electricity companies I tried. There are no secret fees stipulated in small print, unlike in Green Mountain Energy. I pay a reasonable bill every month.

I have had no problems with Reliant so far. I would definitely recommend Reliant over Green Mountain Energy.

Anonymous from Houston on August 11th, 2014
Overall Rating
Excessive Transmission Charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been with Reliant for forty years but feel it is now time to move on at the end of the current plan. This month my electricity usage was $90.00 and the transmission and other charges dinged me for another $50.00. I haven't seen such high charges for transmission since I have been on this current horrible plan. I am a senior so I am concerned.

Margaret Talbot from Houston on October 10th, 2013
Overall Rating
Do you enjoy your energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do you enjoy having hours of your time wasted on the phone only for nothing to be fixed? If so come on over we have spent the last week trying to get our energy transferred to our new place. 7 calls around 30-90 minutes a piece to only be told the same thing over and over

Anthony from Fort Worth, TX on April 12th, 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Anthony. We're sorry that you didn't have a satisfactory experience when you contacted us. If you would like for us to look into this issue further, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Very disappointed with this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had reliant for two years. Everything was okay for the time been. Then suddenly I decided to switch to a different electricity provider and the double my last electric bill. Their excuse is that their system changed my plan to average usage. I did not even know about it. I was like,what the? They told me I need to keep the account monitored. Hello!!!! I had a two year plan!! You were not supposed to change it! Now I have to pay over $400 dollars for the month of December 2021! Are you kidding me?! It's not even Summer!!!this is outrageous!

Sandra from Houston, TX on January 11th, 2022
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Poor Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Our church requested a review of our account several months ago and it was found that we were overcharged just over $1,800, which we were to be refunded. That was several months ago. Supposedly we were sent a check, but it went to the wrong city! Multiple attempts to resolve this have been unsuccessful, with us being told "it will be resolved within 3 weeks." Still nothing!

Andre Howard from Freeport, TX on November 19th, 2021
Hi Andre, thanks for the feedback. This isn't the type of experience we want our customers to have and we would like the opportunity to review this issue. Call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Fine but crazy expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So far the customer service side of things has been fine and we haven't experienced outages unless it's a block-wide one. However, I was jumping between plans every 3-6 months to save money on power before this. Our usual power bill (slight variation during seasons) averages around $50/month. After signing up for reliant for a long term plan my bill instantly jumped into the hundreds. I'm not saying there are sketchy charges, but when signing up I definitely did not foresee some small extra fees becoming big enough to almost double my bill. As soon as my term is over I'm dumping this. I'd recommend hopping plans to get better prices than going with a long term one like I did. Definitely a mistake I won't make again.

Dylan F. from Fort Worth, TX on August 12th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Was lied to about renewal rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been with Reliant, formerly HL&P since the 70s. I'd never felt cheated until my current plan renewal. I was told I was getting a better/lower rate than my expired plan. WHAT A LIE!!!! I've NEVER had to pay as much for my light bill as I do now! Then to find that I'm locked into this plan for 2 years, unless I pay $200 for changing my plan. I tried talking to customer service, but it was like talking to a robot; no feelings, no empathy, no caring about your extremely high bills, even though you're a senior with a fixed income. NOTHING!!!


As soon as I find another provider I am done with Reliant. They could care less about me being a loyal customer all my grown life.

Velma McAfee from Missouri City, TX on September 19th, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
EXTREMELY HIGH PRICES
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Reliants prices are very sketchy to me. Every single month my bill increases, even if I used less energy than the previous year in that same month. During this terrible COVID pandemic, which has created very hard economic times, especially for a young widow trying to raise two children alone, I feel like your company is just hitting me at every possible turn. I do not have the energy or time to even care to look into another provider because I am barely capable of navigating the death of my husband right now, but I thought you should know your bill, which I can barely pay each month, is the bill I dread receiving the most.

Sommer from Arlington, TX on September 5th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Experience with Reliant Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive been with Reliant for approximately 45 years,of course at different residences in the city of Houston. Ive been pretty happy with Reliant until I moved to 3903 Portman Glen Lane in 2004. Ive gotten up in age, and since time each time theres rain or a thunderstorm the electricity and the gas are turned off. Each time it happens there are problems with the fuse box,with the air conditioning unit. the water heater, and the light bulbs.At this time in my life I cant afford repairs that cause certain items to have shorter lives. My range is affected, and my washer and dryer. As well as my television sets, my refrigerator, and my garbage disposal. Id like to know why these interruptions in services occur and what is your company doing, if anything, to resolve your issues. Thank you.

Mildred L. Jones from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Very good for the first year
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The plan is amazing for the first year. It is down hill from there on.



My rates doubled and they claim that the rates have gone up for the new year. When i check with my friends that sign up, i find out they have the same rates i had my first contract.

M from Addison, TX on June 30th, 2020
We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with our company. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Reliant- Not the best rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

While Reliant has been a good company to be with, I think resigning up with them has been unpleasant. They have good rates, but not the best. My bill price is the most important feature of my electric provider. They are not 5 star if they don't have the best rates. That is bottom line.

Rates Are Too High from Granbury, TX on March 20th, 2020
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.

Dave from Pollok, TX on January 28th, 2020
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Dissatisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My wife and kids who are a state away from me at home had to sweat and go without light because of a mistake you all made. All my food to my refrigerator went bad and I have to replace it in this tough inflated time. Not because we didn't pay but because yall made a mistake . A whole day later my wife is still without power. And all your representatives say is oops. Our mistake. Yalls mistake left my newborn sweating on top of his medical condition. My wife had to find somewhere to stay with all my kids because yall made a mistake. And cost me my whole refrigerator. The least yall could have done was make some sort of effort to display consideration. Terrible service. Would not recommend

Javier Valle from Kingsville, TX on May 24th, 2022
Javier, we regret that you had a negative experience. We would like to have the opportunity to resolve your issue. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Poor Customer Service, Dishonest Advertising
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Long time customer. I have been with reliant for many years.


I recently invested in a Solar System, planning to be a Net Producer. I spoke with a rep from Reliant, they told me which plan I needed to switch to begin to be paid for my excess generation.
I wait 3 months for them to be able to see the Solar System, only to find out that they were never going to pay me for my excess generation, despite what I was told by the representative. They simply reduce your bill to 0 + Utility Fee, (they dont even subtract the utility fee ) and use your excess generation for free.
Naturally when I found this out I canceled the plan.
Then they charged me a 300$~ cancelation fee, when it was a false premise that I signed up under.
I've always found them to be a reasonable company, but after calling, and also discussing with a chat representative, they will not recant the fee.
Steer Clear if you have Solar.

Choose MP2 Energy if you want to be paid for your investment.

Adam Kennedy from Odessa, TX on May 16th, 2022
Hi Adam, thanks for the feedback. This isn't the type of experience we want our customers to have and we would like the opportunity to review this issue. Call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Solar panels warning
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you have solar panels and your contract has expired, reliant will NOT give you credit for the solar electricity your panels produced.

Bcortes from Cypress, TX on May 5th, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
The most unprofessional utility company I have ever dealt with!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So last month around the 21st I was told that my last bill would be that day. I paid it on the phone with a representative. I told her to stop payments on automatic payments for my account to which she replied that she did. Come to find A charge on my account today $37. I was told that was my last bill was my last bill. So naturally I am upset that I got charged yet again. I called and spoke to a representative named Sandra. Sandra basically told me that there was nothing I could do about it. I asked her to get me in touch with the manager. She continues to put me on hold for 20 minutes. I hang up I call back. I talked to a second representative named Martin who immediately got me to a manager named Evan. I told him about his representatives not knowing their jobs and telling customers in accurate information. He didnt seem too concerned. So I got upset. Therefore I asked him get me over to the survey that happens at the end of phone call. Instead he Hung up on me therefore ending the opportunity to take the survey. So here I am telling everybody that will listen, do not go with this company unless you plan on fighting with them every single month. Their prices are kind of high and also unfair. I kept my thermostat at the same temperature whether it was fall winter or early spring. And yet every month it changed drastically. Their company is a rip off and the most unreliable electric company I have ever dealt with. Just steer clear.

Linda from Mansfield, TX on April 7th, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Incompetence at best
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Made payment that was cashed by these folks on Feb.22,2022. They have record of it. Had bank fax and email copies of front and back of check. April 5th I get a notice of disconnection to take place on April 11th if payment is not received. I have called at least a dozen times over the past 5 weeks spending total of at least 20 hours on hold and trying to explain to operators and Supervisor that have no idea what they are doing. Has anyone else had this problem? Next call will be to an attorney.

No Answers To Be Found from Rockport, TX on April 6th, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Horrible Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been a Reliant Customer for 15 years and the last four months have been a nightmare. The Customer Service is Aweful and they don't respond to to your emails at secure@ Reliant.com so don't waste your time. They have allowed others to stop and start my service and I've been waiting on a refund check for over a month. Apparently Miguel is the top of the line with mangement and nothing he says is correct. Absolutely horrible experience.

Angela B from Baytown, TX on March 8th, 2022
Hi Angela. We regret that you had a negative experience when you reached out to us. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Thieves
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had reliant for a years looked at my bank statement and they double billed me this month then they tell me they will just credit me I am on a fixed income they act like it's their money this is what deregulation brought us power thives Do Not Use This Company

Arthur Johnson from Encino, TX on February 11th, 2022
Hi Arthur. We regret that you had a negative experience when you reached out to us. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Very upset with Reliant
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Back in Nov 2021 I was switched By CPL to Reliant, acording to them I will keep the same plan, Now in Dic I got a bill for 18.35 which I paid, I talked to a rep asking why it was so low and apparently there was a mistake made by them then I got a text that said that my invoice of 135.00 was due on Feb 9 and today I got another text that I must pay 401.00 by Feb 23. I called and their answer was that they have done adjustments when they switched me. But I told them why I needed to pay Two invoices on the same month ?? They tried to enter me on small payments for five months along with the invoices for every month but If if I accepted the deal I could not switch to another company , I am very angry at Reliant because their mistakes Now I am stuck with very high bills with a Company that I DID NOT CHOOSE!!!!

Patricia Sanchez from Laredo, TX on February 5th, 2022
Hi Patricia. We regret that you had a negative experience when you reached out to us. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Worst company ever
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dosent care about costumer just money

Jesus from Houston, TX on October 6th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Overall Rating
Complete gangsters
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I pay my bill every month on the 15th. Never missed a payment. Never been a day late. My power has been shut off twice on the 14th!! besides the fact this should be illegal it seems a little suspect its always the day before I pay. I would understand If it was 30 days late but they deliberately schedule there billing cycle to take advantage of reconnection fees.

Matt W from Mckinney, TX on September 14th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant

Compare Reliant to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Smart Budget 36
18.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Super Value 24
14.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Plus 12
15.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Super Value 12
16.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Budget 24
18.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Budget 12
20.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Max 12
23.0¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Max 24
22.5¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
24.2¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Conservation 24 plan
24.5¢
$5.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Conservation 12 plan
24.9¢
$5.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
25.2¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Base Saver III - 12
18.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just Energy Web - 24
18.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just400 Advantage - 24
18.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just Energy Web - 12
20.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability