Reviews for Ambit Energy

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.3 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.3 stars.


Recent Good Review from #It's resolved.com

Disconnected
Simple. Disconnected me for $56.25 for 3 hrs lol. Hot temp here in Addison Tx Friday thru the Midday, (no less). Ended up paying $79 & change instead of adding it to the next billing cycle. Definitely switching back to previous provider. Not even worth it if u have 2 steal from your consumers Ey?.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

#It's Resolved.com from Carrollton, TX on July 18th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

45 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Love this company!
We qualify for their free energy program so nobody can beat the rate we get now. I am super happy!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rose Duncan from League City, TX on June 25th, 2020
A happy Ambit customer..
This is 2018. I've had Ambit electric service since 2011. In all these years, I've never had a billing problem. Like the other companies, Ambit is a billing company. Oncor is the actual provider but I call Ambit if I have a problem. Lightening struck at my house about 4:30 A.M.in Feb, 2018. Among other damage, my transformer was blown so all electricity was out. I called Ambit. Within hours they had Oncor out here and before nightfall, the transformer was replaced. Before signing up with Ambit, I had tried two other electric companies. I had billing issues with both with errors on my account. Since joining Ambit in 2011, I have not had one billing error. I have to be conservative, but my electric bills have been something to brag about. Thus I'm happy with Ambit Service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ann from Azle, TX on March 12th, 2018
OUTSTANDING Company!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I've had AMBIT for several years. My bill is always less than neighbors. The few times that I have called customer service, they were VERY Friendly and knowledgeable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert from Mesquite on November 28th, 2016
Excellent Service, Excellent Price, Highly Recommended
I have been with this company for over 2 months, everything is great about the company and the service, have no complaints. Recommend it to everyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Electricity Provider from Sugar Land on September 24th, 2016
You light up my life!
Savings are great and customer service is awesome!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lenora from Lenora on August 4th, 2016
Great rates great service
Ambit is the best energy service I have ever had. Straight forward, no teaser rates or hidden fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lou from Lou on August 4th, 2016
Ambit Energy 100% 5 ???? ???? ???? ???? ????
The absolute best company ever!!! Free Energy is the way to go! Travel Reward Points per kilowatt that I use!!! Thank you Ambit Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Benito from Gutierrez on August 3rd, 2016
Awesome Company
Consultants are top-notch! Never had an energy company that actually CALLS ME to make sure I renew at the best rate possible until I switched to Ambit Energy. If you want personal service, this is your company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddie Ruesewald from Eddie Ruesewald on August 3rd, 2016
2 years and saving money on my electric bill
I have been a customer with Ambit for 2 years now. They beat TXU price by almost half. I have had no issues with them and highly recommend them to any/all electricity users.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Desiree Munson from Munson on August 3rd, 2016
Ambit Energy, Different From Rest!!
I have been so pleased with Ambit Energy since we became customers in the Fall of 2011. We had been with one of the largest retail companies in Texas for 34 years and I discovered that we were paying way too much for our electricity. I had to do something!! Right away we started paying less each month. After 11 months our light bill came over 70-80% lower! We now receive Free Electricity Credit every single month!! I am so thankful that God brought Ambit Energy to us!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ruth from Orozco on August 3rd, 2016


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

41 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Quick service
Quick service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rachell from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2021
Stop charging so many extra charges!!
I have been with ambit for 10 years. No problems with company.. if I do have a with them they will hear. Ambit energy what's with all the extra charges.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl Stewart from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021
Great company
Really top notch service and prices !!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gw from Plano, TX on February 7th, 2017
Excellent Energy Company. Best experience ever!
I switched to Ambit Energy 5 years ago after being completely dissatisfied with TXU energy as they were charging me 16.9 cents per kwh. Ambit provided a great rate of 9.0 cents per kWh and offered me the opportunity to earn free energy every month if I referred 15 customers. To date, I have received over $7,500 in free energy credit from Ambit. Thank you so much as it allow me to pay off all my credit card debt.

Great company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allen from Dallas on June 2nd, 2016
Very nice and great customer service
I have joined Ambit Energy for 2 years now and I have no problems. knock on wood! The renewal rate is competitive to other company and the customer service was great when I called in. I love the points that I can use to travel and book hotel. I am saving up my points to take a trip to Cancun. How many company out there can offer you that for using their energy. I have this great consultant that answer all my questions and concerns. I have referred 10 customers already. 5 more customers and I will get free energy. This is a great company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnson Black from Carrollton on February 29th, 2016
No complaints
We've had Ambit for almost 2 years and we've had no issues with them. Sure the price went up a bit but we expected that along with higher usage in the summer especially living in Texas. I can see other people have complained but we've had no issues especially since we moved up to the DFW area from South Texas where it wasn't common to "shop" for an energy provider. Ambit will also allow you to pay your bill online for free provided you're paying with your checking/savings account.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fernando Martinez from Plano on November 24th, 2015
Travel rewards
Love getting rewards for something I'm buying month after month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Lufkin on October 22nd, 2015
No issues, company seems solid
I've read a lot of the reviews on here and I am shocked. I have not experienced any issues what so ever. We've had Ambit for just over a year now and I'm truly loving the service. Are they perfect, no. But neither is any other company. As long as you pay your bills on time and pay attention to your renewal dates, all will be well.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Pflugerville on October 3rd, 2015
Great Service & Free Energy Credit
I was astonished that Ambit Energy offered an energy credit. I have now gotten the credit for three months in a row.
All I can say is they really come through on there promises.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ALR from Pollok on October 1st, 2014
No problems
Had a 1100 sq ft apt bills ranged from $80-110. Never had any surprises or problems.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Al from Dallas on June 17th, 2014


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Disconnected
Simple. Disconnected me for $56.25 for 3 hrs lol. Hot temp here in Addison Tx Friday thru the Midday, (no less). Ended up paying $79 & change instead of adding it to the next billing cycle. Definitely switching back to previous provider. Not even worth it if u have 2 steal from your consumers Ey?.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

#It's Resolved.com from Carrollton, TX on July 18th, 2021
Do your research first
When I decided not to renew my contract, my price doubled. I was moving apartments and didn't want to renew with them. Other companies have better pricing. My price for 15 days was the same as 30 days. I came to find out that my leasing agent and her friends were getting free electricity from Ambit based on referrals. I came to find out that this was "illegal." Leasing agents can't recommend only one electric provider. So, we the other customers were paying for their electricity. Their cost was being passed on to us.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Micheal from 79316 on September 4th, 2020
Not terrible, but could be better
I was actually a consultant for this company when they first started out. I signed up with them and I have been with them for years. However, I think our relationship is now coming to an end. My bill is suddenly astronomical! Within 2 short months, my bill doubled! I really don't know why! I have looked into my usage, my bills, my plan...nothing makes sense as to my why bill suddenly went from $90ish to just under $200 for an 800sqft. apartment. I think it might have to do with their usage variations, but I guess we shall see. My answer from them is still pending. They're relatively pleasant to speak with and try to be helpful, but if you are looking for a similar bill amount each month, this would not be my pick. Plus, their rates have increased, so you can probably find a better-suited provider in your area for less. Good luck!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ally from Richardson on October 16th, 2015
I hope I don't regret this...
I'm leaving Ambit after 4 years. I have really never had a problem with them, it just all came down to the best they could offer was a 10.4 average and I found a different company for 10.2. I have read sooo many reviews and Ambit has a lot of bad reviews, but so do so many other companies, including the one I'm switching to. If I regret my switch, Ambit I may see you in another year!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori from Houston on May 6th, 2013
Good services
I have been a customer of Ambit Energy for about 3 years and my electricity bills have been the lowest then any other company I have been through. Their customer service can be better, but overall, the money I save on my bills overshadows the less then professional customer service line. Whenever its time to renew my contract, I always gets something in the mail from Ambit. Also, if you created an online account, its actually listed there when its time tor renew. I have had my share of issues with Ambit but overall, the service is good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JSmith from Houston on March 6th, 2013
Do people work here??
I have been a customer for 2 years and have been satisfied with product. The lights turn on when I flip the switch to 'on'. So no complaints there. Where there is a huge issue is the customer service. Since joining..I have called in to customer service 4 times for various non-critical issues. I have NEVER spoken to anyone. I always call during working hours. The recording always says 'we are very busy..you are next in line"..then plays horrible music over and over again. Each call last, on average 45 minutes. Waiting waiting and waiting. If you want to get your blood pressure up, have the need to get frustrated or yell..I would recommend calling Ambit Energy "customer service". What a JOKE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marc Thibodeau from Media on March 4th, 2013
Craigr64
It okay for me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Craig W. Ricketts III from Fort Worth on January 13th, 2011
Great Company
We've had Ambit for a year and half. We were with TXU before that. Ambit has been wonderful! Switching companies was easy and I've never had any problems with billing.
I want to sign another contract but am having trouble finding a way to do that on their website. Also, I want to use my reward points but am also having trouble using them on the website.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Forney on January 7th, 2011
I am very pleased
I like the free electricity offer and the free travel. The consultant helped me sign up, and has kept in contact with me, which I enjoy. I am not a number, but somebody important. I never have had a problem with the billing, and saved myself over $82 a month, just by switching. My old company (Reliant)offered to match the rate I was getting, but I didn't want to stay with the company that could have offered me lower rates, and didn't.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tina Sweet from League City on September 10th, 2010
Satisfied Customer
Ambit has met all expectations. No complaints, friendly service, no issues. Rates are competitively priced and there has been no issues with service or billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Houston on August 5th, 2010


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

30 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Over charging
My bills are getting out of hand 300 plus dollars light bills on a 10.5kwp. Im in a 2 bedroom apt and barely home due to my job working. There is no way I'm using 2000 plus kwph a month. This company has gotten bad..I do no recommend this company to anyone. It's ridiculous to keep getting this type of bill of electricity when you barely home. I will be ending my services.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Killeen, TX on April 7th, 2022
Not worth it
I had Ambit for 1 year and the rate was fair for a few months and then starting going up. There is no way to pay half before the due date and then pay the rest with out paying a fee. I paid $289 for February and now for March it's $363.91. And Oncor charges are ridiculous $112. So I am done with Ambit! Cancelled and not going back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pam from Tyler, TX on March 5th, 2022
Dishonest billing and business dealings..
I have never been late paying my bill. I was less than 24hrs late on my bill for October. I paid my bill the next day which happened to be pay day and when I had scheduled to pay it anyway. When I noticed that it was late and a late fee had been added to my account, I called to address it. Seems like all their reps are remote, I could hear children in the back ground. The person I spoke with had "submitted for a refund to be allocated to my bill, and told me to pay the difference which was $12.26 less than the amount showing on my account." When I received the next months bill there was only a credit of $2.26 that had been applied to my account and the $10.00 late charge had been reallocated as another fee, which means I had a balance going forward from the previous bill, which also meant that they didn't actually credit me the fee's that they said they did, they just reallocated it to a different line item. When I called to dispute the charges, we went round and round with them not understanding that I never got the credit that they supposedly removed from my account. Which means as long as I paid what my bill showed I would always have a balance going forward. This company lies and cheats to make money. please don't buy into the hype, they are not an honest company to do business with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CJ from Richardson, TX on November 15th, 2021
Lights out
Cheap rates, but you get what you pay for! Dont expect a text or call if you forget the bill. Out sourced call center , good luck chuck. Look elsewhere the 1 star reviews are probably there for a reason?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Mckinney, TX on August 5th, 2021
Confusing Cancellation
I have been with Ambit Energy since 2017 and the bill has been inconsistent, I'm hardly ever home...I unplug things and rarely run my ac/heat. I transferred their services from one apartment to another apartment complex not far from each other and was hit with a cancellation fee and stated that I switched to another provider!!!!! I didn't BTW! I just transferred the lights! There's now an investigation. I've only been in the apartment for one month , today. I cannot pay a $200.00 bill. I'm rarely home due to working days through 7 p.m. and most weekends I'm out of town. Oh! And now AE is saying that I no longer have an account with them!!!! HUH! I have lights btw as well...apparently another provider has taken over, but neither I nor AE know who? So Over IT!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated Customer from Baytown, TX on March 22nd, 2021
The Worst
The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DW from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2021
Bill is too confusing!
I just moved in with my mother. I tried to read bill statement. It was the most confusing piece of paper I've ever read in my life. I'd give this a 5 stars but I can't call customer service to change anything. Confusing. Why can't Ambit just display our meter reading and bill due? If pay it immediately, but I can't because of all the "adjustments". Too confusing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Confusing Statement! from Woodway, TX on December 13th, 2020
Easy to sign up for, impossible to cancel.
Theres absolutely no way to cancel your plan online and they don't answer the phone, so be prepared to be billed indefinitely.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brandon from Fort Worth, TX on July 27th, 2020
Shady company, Shady practices. 3 yrs of experience
They don't care that its a pandemic and the bill is only 29$, they'll disconnect anyway and then charge a 40$ reconnection fee and then a 15$ disconnect fee.

Peices of sh** humans

Oh and ignore the 'sign up with me and you'll both get 200$'
My dad got it but I never did
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

3 Years Of Experience, Shady Company, Shady Practices. from Fort Worth, TX on May 19th, 2020
Billing
I have been charged $35 extra, for Ambits mistake in processing my account.
The customer service rep was very courteous , bur was not able to solve me problem.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tariq from Houston, TX on May 16th, 2020


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

352 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The should offer a zero star option.
Overcharged 15 Cents a kWh actually comes to 17 cents both ridiculous. Locked in a contract they want to overcharge to leave. Not much help AT ALL with payment arrangements.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin from Houston, TX on May 13th, 2022
They suck
I moved into my new apartment and there was a switch hold on the mitter they couldn't remove it because of the tendent before me. When I talked to the representative they kept giving me the run around and didn't do shit I guess the Indians or arub people don't know how to do a simple task I've been without light for a week already bullshit
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sara M from Donna, TX on May 10th, 2022
Rude, inconvenient and overpriced
Overcharge for services and dont communicate with you, hang up on you, horrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stay Away From from Fort Worth, TX on March 29th, 2022
Unprofessional customer service warning stay away from Ambit
Had electric with Ambit called in and they would not talk to me about my account. I am the president of the corporation and the one who set electric up at Ambit but was told I was not An authorized person on the account. Customer service rep was a foreigner and could not be understood they need English speaking people who can communicate and have customer service skills. Avoid Ambit at all cost
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven Shafer from Corsicana, TX on March 23rd, 2022
Suddenly my bill doubled
After little change in weather suddenly my bill jumped to $400. I have never had a $400 light bill in all my years of paying bills. Two months in a row Ive been charged it now. Our water heater and stove are on gas to begin with. And that didnt change at all. I called and could barely understand the customer service rep and basically they just said that they would send someone to check the meter, on my dime, and that I still had to pay the bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jbrodie from Lufkin, TX on March 9th, 2022
Very Unhappy
WORST customer service I have ever experienced. Had disconnected services in July 2021. Now March 2022. They continued to send a bill for 9 months with late fees and taxes and late fees on top of late fees. Could not get off their customer list. Our company had two leadership changes in the last 3 years and they still had old contact information. This leadership is not originally from TX in general and had no idea who these people were. Ambit customer service would NOT help in any way to resolve this issue because we were not listed as contacts. (Like how do we find out who they are. We are not from around this area of service. ) I would NOT recommend this service to anyone, especially one that adds late fees and service charges to late fees and service charges, when you have exhausted efforts to disconnect from their service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy from Anson, TX on March 8th, 2022
Dont use this company
I live alone and this is my first apartment, I was suggested by my property manager but my mistake. I have a 2bdr,2bth so guest can have some where to sleep when they come over. I also have a two jobs so Im literally never at home but every month for the past 3 months my light bill has been $250 and once again Im never home and no one uses that other room or bathroom literally EVER and Im never home. I thought that was normal until my dad told me he pays that for his house. I dont know what theyre charging or where there getting there prices of usage from but Im switching over to a different company because its just odd
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jas Williams from Austin, TX on March 5th, 2022
Ambit worst energy company
I've been with this company for almost 3yrs but noticed they give customer estimated bill I used to pay $25 because my apartment is very small and I work nights so barely at home but later went to $30+ and $50+ mind you my usage hasn't changed but yet my bills going higher and later $80+ called customer service but like always they're rude most them and they don't know their job what amazed me was when my usage was sent they claim I use light mostly at night but yet I'm @ work ambit is just a scam perioddt run from them they're thieves
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sarah from Dallas, TX on February 23rd, 2022
Stay far away
Heat off lights off, free nights you still will be charged. If I could give zero stars I would. Customer service knows as much as the person asking questions.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Texas from Houston, TX on February 12th, 2022
IF I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS I WOULD
I was severely overcharged and mislead about free night and whatnot. Theyre definitely not a trustworthy company as far as sticking to free nights. I was charged an average bill of $150/month for 600sq.ft apt. They have nothing below 14Cents/w. So truthfully if I wasnt new to Texas they wouldnt have gained me as a customer. Ill do more research next time!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bina 117 from Houston, TX on February 10th, 2022