Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Ambit Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Ambit Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Ambit Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Ambit Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Ambit Energy

1.7 / 5

Ambit Energy Reviews

504 Reviews for Ambit Energy

504

total reviews

Compare to Ambit Energy Electricity Rates

Recent Good Review from Disappointed Customer

Overall Rating
Great service and plans!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I used Ambit Energy when I lived in Dallas and really enjoyed the service I received. I also qualified for theirnfree energy program when I referred 15 people to the service. Now I'm in Austin and can't use the service BUT I was able to get the Free Energy credits transferred to my grandma in Houston who is still an Ambit Energy customer. That's so awesome!

Justin D. from Austin, TX on June 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
Love this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We qualify for their free energy program so nobody can beat the rate we get now. I am super happy!!

Rose Duncan from League City, TX on June 25th, 2020
Overall Rating
A happy Ambit customer..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This is 2018. I've had Ambit electric service since 2011. In all these years, I've never had a billing problem. Like the other companies, Ambit is a billing company. Oncor is the actual provider but I call Ambit if I have a problem. Lightening struck at my house about 4:30 A.M.in Feb, 2018. Among other damage, my transformer was blown so all electricity was out. I called Ambit. Within hours they had Oncor out here and before nightfall, the transformer was replaced. Before signing up with Ambit, I had tried two other electric companies. I had billing issues with both with errors on my account. Since joining Ambit in 2011, I have not had one billing error. I have to be conservative, but my electric bills have been something to brag about. Thus I'm happy with Ambit Service.

Ann from Azle, TX on March 12th, 2018
Overall Rating
OUTSTANDING Company!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had AMBIT for several years. My bill is always less than neighbors. The few times that I have called customer service, they were VERY Friendly and knowledgeable.

Robert from Mesquite on November 28th, 2016
Overall Rating
Excellent Service, Excellent Price, Highly Recommended
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with this company for over 2 months, everything is great about the company and the service, have no complaints. Recommend it to everyone.

Great Electricity Provider from Sugar Land on September 24th, 2016
Overall Rating
You light up my life!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Savings are great and customer service is awesome!

Lenora from Lenora on August 4th, 2016
Overall Rating
Great rates great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ambit is the best energy service I have ever had. Straight forward, no teaser rates or hidden fees.

Lou from Lou on August 4th, 2016
Overall Rating
Ambit Energy 100% 5 ???? ???? ???? ???? ????
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The absolute best company ever!!! Free Energy is the way to go! Travel Reward Points per kilowatt that I use!!! Thank you Ambit Energy

Benito from Gutierrez on August 3rd, 2016
Overall Rating
Awesome Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Consultants are top-notch! Never had an energy company that actually CALLS ME to make sure I renew at the best rate possible until I switched to Ambit Energy. If you want personal service, this is your company!

Eddie Ruesewald from Eddie Ruesewald on August 3rd, 2016
Overall Rating
2 years and saving money on my electric bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a customer with Ambit for 2 years now. They beat TXU price by almost half. I have had no issues with them and highly recommend them to any/all electricity users.

Desiree Munson from Munson on August 3rd, 2016
Overall Rating
Quick service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Quick service

Rachell from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Stop charging so many extra charges!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with ambit for 10 years. No problems with company.. if I do have a with them they will hear. Ambit energy what's with all the extra charges.

Cheryl Stewart from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Great company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Really top notch service and prices !!

Gw from Plano, TX on February 7th, 2017
Overall Rating
Excellent Energy Company. Best experience ever!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched to Ambit Energy 5 years ago after being completely dissatisfied with TXU energy as they were charging me 16.9 cents per kwh. Ambit provided a great rate of 9.0 cents per kWh and offered me the opportunity to earn free energy every month if I referred 15 customers. To date, I have received over $7,500 in free energy credit from Ambit. Thank you so much as it allow me to pay off all my credit card debt.



Great company!

Allen from Dallas on June 2nd, 2016
Overall Rating
Very nice and great customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have joined Ambit Energy for 2 years now and I have no problems. knock on wood! The renewal rate is competitive to other company and the customer service was great when I called in. I love the points that I can use to travel and book hotel. I am saving up my points to take a trip to Cancun. How many company out there can offer you that for using their energy. I have this great consultant that answer all my questions and concerns. I have referred 10 customers already. 5 more customers and I will get free energy. This is a great company.

Johnson Black from Carrollton on February 29th, 2016
Overall Rating
No complaints
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We've had Ambit for almost 2 years and we've had no issues with them. Sure the price went up a bit but we expected that along with higher usage in the summer especially living in Texas. I can see other people have complained but we've had no issues especially since we moved up to the DFW area from South Texas where it wasn't common to "shop" for an energy provider. Ambit will also allow you to pay your bill online for free provided you're paying with your checking/savings account.

Fernando Martinez from Plano on November 24th, 2015
Overall Rating
Travel rewards
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Love getting rewards for something I'm buying month after month

Matt from Lufkin on October 22nd, 2015
Overall Rating
No issues, company seems solid
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've read a lot of the reviews on here and I am shocked. I have not experienced any issues what so ever. We've had Ambit for just over a year now and I'm truly loving the service. Are they perfect, no. But neither is any other company. As long as you pay your bills on time and pay attention to your renewal dates, all will be well.

Michael from Pflugerville on October 3rd, 2015
Overall Rating
Great Service & Free Energy Credit
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was astonished that Ambit Energy offered an energy credit. I have now gotten the credit for three months in a row.


All I can say is they really come through on there promises.

ALR from Pollok on October 1st, 2014
Overall Rating
No problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had a 1100 sq ft apt bills ranged from $80-110. Never had any surprises or problems.

Al from Dallas on June 17th, 2014
Overall Rating
Loyal Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been a loyal customer for almost 10 years now. I had to switch accounts for my billing. In the switch, I accidentally attempted to pay the bill with my old account. Well, once I found out that I made the mistake, I was charged a late fee, disconnect notice fee, and a returned payment fee....Though these charges were only $57, I have a problem with them not waiving them because of my tenure and loyalty as a good customer. I have a house full and I shell out at times up to $500 a month or more for service. Quite disappointed.

Disappointed Customer from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Disconnected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Simple. Disconnected me for $56.25 for 3 hrs lol. Hot temp here in Addison Tx Friday thru the Midday, (no less). Ended up paying $79 & change instead of adding it to the next billing cycle. Definitely switching back to previous provider. Not even worth it if u have 2 steal from your consumers Ey?.

#It's Resolved.com from Carrollton, TX on July 18th, 2021
Overall Rating
Do your research first
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When I decided not to renew my contract, my price doubled. I was moving apartments and didn't want to renew with them. Other companies have better pricing. My price for 15 days was the same as 30 days. I came to find out that my leasing agent and her friends were getting free electricity from Ambit based on referrals. I came to find out that this was "illegal." Leasing agents can't recommend only one electric provider. So, we the other customers were paying for their electricity. Their cost was being passed on to us.

Micheal from 79316 on September 4th, 2020
Overall Rating
Not terrible, but could be better
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was actually a consultant for this company when they first started out. I signed up with them and I have been with them for years. However, I think our relationship is now coming to an end. My bill is suddenly astronomical! Within 2 short months, my bill doubled! I really don't know why! I have looked into my usage, my bills, my plan...nothing makes sense as to my why bill suddenly went from $90ish to just under $200 for an 800sqft. apartment. I think it might have to do with their usage variations, but I guess we shall see. My answer from them is still pending. They're relatively pleasant to speak with and try to be helpful, but if you are looking for a similar bill amount each month, this would not be my pick. Plus, their rates have increased, so you can probably find a better-suited provider in your area for less. Good luck!

Ally from Richardson on October 16th, 2015
Overall Rating
I hope I don't regret this...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I'm leaving Ambit after 4 years. I have really never had a problem with them, it just all came down to the best they could offer was a 10.4 average and I found a different company for 10.2. I have read sooo many reviews and Ambit has a lot of bad reviews, but so do so many other companies, including the one I'm switching to. If I regret my switch, Ambit I may see you in another year!!

Lori from Houston on May 6th, 2013
Overall Rating
Good services
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a customer of Ambit Energy for about 3 years and my electricity bills have been the lowest then any other company I have been through. Their customer service can be better, but overall, the money I save on my bills overshadows the less then professional customer service line. Whenever its time to renew my contract, I always gets something in the mail from Ambit. Also, if you created an online account, its actually listed there when its time tor renew. I have had my share of issues with Ambit but overall, the service is good.


JSmith from Houston on March 6th, 2013
Overall Rating
Do people work here??
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a customer for 2 years and have been satisfied with product. The lights turn on when I flip the switch to 'on'. So no complaints there. Where there is a huge issue is the customer service. Since joining..I have called in to customer service 4 times for various non-critical issues. I have NEVER spoken to anyone. I always call during working hours. The recording always says 'we are very busy..you are next in line"..then plays horrible music over and over again. Each call last, on average 45 minutes. Waiting waiting and waiting. If you want to get your blood pressure up, have the need to get frustrated or yell..I would recommend calling Ambit Energy "customer service". What a JOKE.

Marc Thibodeau from Media on March 4th, 2013
Overall Rating
Craigr64
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It okay for me

Craig W. Ricketts III from Fort Worth on January 13th, 2011
Overall Rating
Great Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We've had Ambit for a year and half. We were with TXU before that. Ambit has been wonderful! Switching companies was easy and I've never had any problems with billing.


I want to sign another contract but am having trouble finding a way to do that on their website. Also, I want to use my reward points but am also having trouble using them on the website.

Brian from Forney on January 7th, 2011
Overall Rating
I am very pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I like the free electricity offer and the free travel. The consultant helped me sign up, and has kept in contact with me, which I enjoy. I am not a number, but somebody important. I never have had a problem with the billing, and saved myself over $82 a month, just by switching. My old company (Reliant)offered to match the rate I was getting, but I didn't want to stay with the company that could have offered me lower rates, and didn't.

Tina Sweet from League City on September 10th, 2010
Overall Rating
Over charging
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My bills are getting out of hand 300 plus dollars light bills on a 10.5kwp. Im in a 2 bedroom apt and barely home due to my job working. There is no way I'm using 2000 plus kwph a month. This company has gotten bad..I do no recommend this company to anyone. It's ridiculous to keep getting this type of bill of electricity when you barely home. I will be ending my services.

Joseph from Killeen, TX on April 7th, 2022
Overall Rating
Not worth it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had Ambit for 1 year and the rate was fair for a few months and then starting going up. There is no way to pay half before the due date and then pay the rest with out paying a fee. I paid $289 for February and now for March it's $363.91. And Oncor charges are ridiculous $112. So I am done with Ambit! Cancelled and not going back.

Pam from Tyler, TX on March 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
Dishonest billing and business dealings..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have never been late paying my bill. I was less than 24hrs late on my bill for October. I paid my bill the next day which happened to be pay day and when I had scheduled to pay it anyway. When I noticed that it was late and a late fee had been added to my account, I called to address it. Seems like all their reps are remote, I could hear children in the back ground. The person I spoke with had "submitted for a refund to be allocated to my bill, and told me to pay the difference which was $12.26 less than the amount showing on my account." When I received the next months bill there was only a credit of $2.26 that had been applied to my account and the $10.00 late charge had been reallocated as another fee, which means I had a balance going forward from the previous bill, which also meant that they didn't actually credit me the fee's that they said they did, they just reallocated it to a different line item. When I called to dispute the charges, we went round and round with them not understanding that I never got the credit that they supposedly removed from my account. Which means as long as I paid what my bill showed I would always have a balance going forward. This company lies and cheats to make money. please don't buy into the hype, they are not an honest company to do business with.

CJ from Richardson, TX on November 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Lights out
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheap rates, but you get what you pay for! Dont expect a text or call if you forget the bill. Out sourced call center , good luck chuck. Look elsewhere the 1 star reviews are probably there for a reason?

D from Mckinney, TX on August 5th, 2021
Overall Rating
Confusing Cancellation
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with Ambit Energy since 2017 and the bill has been inconsistent, I'm hardly ever home...I unplug things and rarely run my ac/heat. I transferred their services from one apartment to another apartment complex not far from each other and was hit with a cancellation fee and stated that I switched to another provider!!!!! I didn't BTW! I just transferred the lights! There's now an investigation. I've only been in the apartment for one month , today. I cannot pay a $200.00 bill. I'm rarely home due to working days through 7 p.m. and most weekends I'm out of town. Oh! And now AE is saying that I no longer have an account with them!!!! HUH! I have lights btw as well...apparently another provider has taken over, but neither I nor AE know who? So Over IT!

Frustrated Customer from Baytown, TX on March 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
The Worst
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.

DW from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2021
Overall Rating
Bill is too confusing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I just moved in with my mother. I tried to read bill statement. It was the most confusing piece of paper I've ever read in my life. I'd give this a 5 stars but I can't call customer service to change anything. Confusing. Why can't Ambit just display our meter reading and bill due? If pay it immediately, but I can't because of all the "adjustments". Too confusing!

Confusing Statement! from Woodway, TX on December 13th, 2020
Overall Rating
Easy to sign up for, impossible to cancel.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Theres absolutely no way to cancel your plan online and they don't answer the phone, so be prepared to be billed indefinitely.

Brandon from Fort Worth, TX on July 27th, 2020
Overall Rating
Shady company, Shady practices. 3 yrs of experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They don't care that its a pandemic and the bill is only 29$, they'll disconnect anyway and then charge a 40$ reconnection fee and then a 15$ disconnect fee.



Peices of sh** humans

Oh and ignore the 'sign up with me and you'll both get 200$'
My dad got it but I never did

3 Years Of Experience, Shady Company, Shady Practices. from Fort Worth, TX on May 19th, 2020
Overall Rating
Billing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been charged $35 extra, for Ambits mistake in processing my account.


The customer service rep was very courteous , bur was not able to solve me problem.

Tariq from Houston, TX on May 16th, 2020
Overall Rating
Sent to collections
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They sent me to collections even though I dont even owe them anything so idk how that makes sense Ive paid my bills!

ThisIsBS from Midland, TX on September 27th, 2022
Overall Rating
Bad
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ambit Energy does not care about their customers. I overpaid on a bill and they would not cancel the transaction so that I can make the correct amount payment. I was only trying to pay the current amount due. The online paying system took the full amount that still was not due until 18 days later. They would not give me my money back nor did they care to be helpful.

Alexis from Houston, TX on September 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
DON'T USE THESE SCAMMERS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My leasing agent from my apartment told me to sign up with this pyramid scheme that at the time I didn't know was a pyramid scheme. Well my first bill was $400 for one month. I thought it was my plan that was wrong so I changed my service plan. now my second bill is $500. I have a 1 bedroom apartment. I googled them and see everyone is complaining that they're a pyramid scheme. Now I have no idea how I'm going to pay these bills. I just want to cancel and get a new company.

Ana from Galveston, TX on September 19th, 2022
Overall Rating
Make sure your lights is on after you enroll with these people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The reason for my review is I signed up for services supposedly went through a month had passed before they told me they canceled my account didnt reach out to me by phone by email or by mail I had to call myself and ask for my refund only for them to tell me my refund will be issued on a card and will come in the mail 10-14 business days. They said I could have gotten the refund back quicker if i would have called really when no one reached out to me to tell me anything I cant say Athe electricity is bad but customer service here they do not reach out to you I will say its very unprofessional of them.

Christn B from Houston, TX on September 6th, 2022
Overall Rating
Dont trust this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had Ambit Energy for over 5 years and continue to have issues. Now I desperately need to get OUT of my 3 year contract. This company is a joke. Your bill is low for a few months then almost triples in cost after and the only explanation and assistance you get is these are fees that come from center point engery & they have NO control over it but also charge there own fees they cant help with either. I was told to call 211 and get assistance from a utility assistance program. I can pay my bill I cant pay double my bill in fess someone else is charging its ridiculous!! Center point charge fees to all light companies but the fact they dont have any programs to assist with these things are why I want out!!! THEY DONT CARE !! Its that simple to them

Queena from Houston, TX on September 2nd, 2022
Overall Rating
Inconsiderate with no explanation
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charges are being taken out of me and my husbands accounts and When we call and explain our concern all anyone can say is no no no you didnt pay EVEN IF WE GIVE THEM THE DATE IT WAS PAID .and of course this money hungry scamming company wont let us leave unless we pay a fee.

Katelyn Watts from Nacogdoches, TX on August 29th, 2022
Overall Rating
Loyal Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've been a loyal customer for almost 10 years now. I had to switch accounts for my billing. In the switch, I accidentally attempted to pay the bill with my old account. Well, once I found out that I made the mistake, I was charged a late fee, disconnect notice fee, and a returned payment fee....Though these charges were only $57, I have a problem with them not waiving them because of my tenure and loyalty as a good customer. I have a house full and I shell out at times up to $500 a month or more for service. Quite disappointed.

Disappointed Customer from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Worst company ever
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I used this company since a little over 2 years and i was always ok, but then 2 months ago they told me i have to switch to a new plan even though my plan was a 36 month deal, when i got the guy on the phone he told me the new plan would be cheaper and i cannot go on with the one i had, ok so i changed and last months bill was higher than ever before, i called and they told me it never changed, lie number 1, than i got my new bill today, i am gone all day so nothing is on, my ac barely ever runs and still its twice as much as last month, i dont know how that can be but they are not even willing to listen to me, this is the worst of the worst, my property manager told me about this company when i moved in, i guess they all work together, i have a 1 bedroom apt and pay more than my daughter and husband with a 2 bedroom place who uses TXU. this here is a scammer company and i threatened them with a lawyer which they ignored.

Olledolle from Mckinney, TX on August 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
Scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was told to use Ambit at a complex I was considering. The complex made me get electricity etc before approval and I wasnt approved. Called to cancel Ambit. They said they did. Finally moved into another apartment and they hit me with two bills. One for the 1st apartment and mine and tried to get me to pay both!



Used them for a yr at my current complex. No complaints. Bills were between $75-$90. Renewed and 4 months in was on vacation for the summer and my bill was $109, $129 & $129. Now Im August they hit me with two bills, $129 and $206 and cut my electricity off! Its only Aug. 17th and my $206 bill Is for Aug 13-31st. HOW?

To top it off. When I renewed, they offered me plans that differed my original plan and only had the amount and name of the plan. Come to find out, the plan I, Chose, for my APARTMENT is a plan from 2022-2025!!! And to get out of this I have to pay them $299!

Dee from Houston, TX on August 17th, 2022
Overall Rating
Scam!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called ambit energy last week and ask them how much my bill is to avoid disconnection ( because I never received a bill) the rep inform me it will be 242 and some change so I paid it over the phone. Monday comes around and my lights are off I called ambit energy and the first rep says that I had 2 disconnection notices and I only paid one of them off. (Which made no f******* sense to me) so I got a supervisor she said I would have to pay an additional 215$ plus reconnect fee to turn back on I informed the supervisor that when I called last week they said it was only $242. So the supervisor says she will reconnect my service for a one time courtesy and it will take 2-4hours to restore and I have til Friday to pay $215 or it will be disconnected. So I waited 5 hours and my lights are still not on. Called ambit energy again spoke to a rep saying that I have yo wait 24-48 hours.. this is ridiculous I would not recommend ambit energy I wont to change another electric company but Im stuck with ambit because of a switch hold! Also it seems like my electric bill gets higher and higher every month.

A Mad Single Mother Of 2 from Denison, TX on August 15th, 2022