Reviews for Gexa Energy

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.8 stars.


Recent Good Review from Donald and Joeann

Great pricing
Easy signing up and transferring.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donald And Joeann from Killeen, TX on November 25th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

36 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great pricing
Easy signing up and transferring.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donald And Joeann from Killeen, TX on November 25th, 2021
Rapido y facil instalacin.
Instalacin rpida, buena atencin, envan tu consumo semanal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Edwin from Houston, TX on November 6th, 2021
Gexa Electricity
My second month with Gexa but love the website and ease of billing with their autopay system
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony R. from Katy, TX on November 2nd, 2021
Great so far
Ive had nothing to complain about thus far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E.W. from Houston, TX on June 15th, 2021
Hi E.W, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great transfer experience
My rep was Zafar and he was excellent! He made it very easy for me to transfer my electricity. He took the time to answer all my questions and explained it in detail to where I can understand. The experience was fantastic and I would recommend and refer my friends and family to this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melanie S from Houston, TX on July 10th, 2020
Hello Melanie, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Representative went above and beyond her duty to help
Gina is an exceptional employee with a sincere desire to do her best.She is patient,kind and very effecient.My encounter with her was a very pleasant one .I am very pleased and won't hesitate to recommend Gexa to others because of her.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mae Wartell from Houston, TX on March 17th, 2020
Hi Mae,, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa can cut your electric bill in half
I called Gexa engery before we change and they were the most nicest people I've ever worked with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My Worries Are Over Gexa Did What They Said They Would Guy Didn't Lie Like Other Companies from Mesquite, TX on October 29th, 2019
Hi Alvin, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
This is the way it should be... seamless and easy
I was coming off a very frustrating experience with Griddy. Everything about the transition to Gexa was intuitive and painless.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron R from North Richland Hills, TX on October 15th, 2019
Hi Ron, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great service
They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allison Ayala from Elkhart, TX on July 24th, 2019
Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great Electric Plan
The Electric Plan gave us the best pricing that we have ever had.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CSG from Houston, TX on May 21st, 2019
Hi CSG, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

40 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Kind of early to tell, but so far so good
Rates seem to be okay, I am able to track daily usage, and act or react accordingly before the meter spins off the wall... So far I am happy with the service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Loren Bartling from Santa Fe, TX on August 13th, 2021
Best Renewable Option
Gexa provided the only 100% renewable option for my area and the rates were reasonable and better than some non-renewable options. Thus far I have had no problems and they don't bug me, which in my opinion is perfect.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don from Woodway, TX on June 29th, 2021
Hi Don, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Thank goodness
As far as pricing and hook up goes they are pretty average, but what has me writing this review is how they have handled the Texas grid issues during this stupid winter storm. While other companies are gouging their customers, Gexa suspended billing and disconnections for people so they could be taken care of during our states stupid power issues. A lot of people lost power, including us, but that want gexas fault, it was Oncors and I think they handled the people well and kept their customer base as well taken care of as they could. Im thankful for this and I know a lot of other Texans are too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mey0018 from Fort Worth, TX on February 25th, 2021
Hi Mey0018, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Binoy mathew
Excellent service and billing, everything is clear at website.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BINOY MATHEW from Missouri City, TX on July 1st, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Service Provider
No problems.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Residential Provider from Houston, TX on May 4th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Very concerned .
What is your company doing to help customers who has lost their jobs
..noticed nothing on your site about the crisis we all are facing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bonito Tracey from Mesquite, TX on March 26th, 2020
Hello Bonito Tracey, The health and well-being of our communities is our top concern. Were committed to remaining flexible and responsive to your needs and are taking additional steps to provide relief during this uncertain time. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please DM us with the name on your account, your account number or service address. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. To find out more about the COVID-19 Electricity Relief Program visit https://bit.ly/GEXACOVID19RELIEF . Thank you!
— Gexa Energy
Easy Peasy......
Dawn Pletcher
Service was turned on quickly. Very easy to sign up for service on website. Better service thus far than any other electric company I have been with in 20 something years. Haven't gotten a bill yet so I am not sure how to grade on that. So far so good.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dawn Pletcher from Baytown, TX on March 4th, 2020
Hi Dawn, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
So far, so good. No issues.
Sign up was easy and I haven't experienced any issues. I would have liked to have seen more plans to choose from. There are more plans but they didn't show up on the site I was using. Otherwise, no issues so far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan Julius from Plano, TX on March 1st, 2020
Hi Jonathan, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Review
Everything has been a good experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J. Powers from Waco, TX on July 8th, 2019
Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.
I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bledsoe from Waco, TX on June 27th, 2019
Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

33 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
OK, I Guess
A little higher priced than I thought they'd be.. the plan seems intentionally difficult to predict cost. But hey, that's pretty standard in an age where service is really just a money extraction device.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MB from Pearland, TX on November 16th, 2021
Gexa Review 2021 June
To date, I have not encountered a situation where I needed to reach out customer service so no experience to report. Please disregard rating, which was required to complete the review.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa Review 2021 June from Spring, TX on August 22nd, 2021
TDU Delivery charge of 3.6c / kWh usage added to the bill
I switched to GEXA energy and found I was charged 3.6 c delivery charge for every kWh usage. My previous electric company didn't have any charge for delivery.
Also, my usage went over 2000 kWh, so I didn't get the credit. I ended up paying about 50% more than 2020 August with previous electric company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

With Gexa Supreme 12 Plan I Ended Up Paying 50% More As I Have No Control On Usage In This Summer Heat. from Carrollton, TX on August 10th, 2021
New customer: first review
Well I need electricity switch into my name, also out of time. So I called and I needed to give a deposit. So my only thing I can say is it would have been nice if they accepted american express also if paying by cash there was more locations to pay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Grapevine, TX on April 5th, 2021
Hello Eric, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Ho hum
Switched to budget billing October 2019... paid $175 for service in September... switched to budget and billing jumped to $228.... remained that way until April 2020 then jumped to $338... not sure whats going on... Ive looked through the bills and our actual usage is less than the payment amount... now $338??? Feel like Im being ripped off....

Initially service was tremendous but as with most things the luster wears off.. riding out my contract and then leaving! Never had issues with Stream Energy! Never shouldve left..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Harlingen, TX on May 16th, 2020
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
No problems with service nor billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa Energy from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Much MUCH higher cost than estimated
I took my time to understand how all the charges are calculated and still Gexa got me. Maybe it's because of their contracts with the specific provider in my area, but I paid more than double of any other electricity plan in the last 5 years. I had just moved into a new home and I blamed that for the difference - until my contract ran out and I switched to TXU. 6 months now and consistently half the monthly cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Round Rock Homeowner from Round Rock, TX on April 21st, 2020
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Not recommended for low consumption
The website and the payment methods are easy but the rate is quite high if you don't really consume
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Dallas, TX on January 13th, 2020
Hi David, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Its ok
Customer service is good and the experience was good but prices are too high for me. I was paying a lot monthly bill with frontier and made the mistake to switch to gexa. Im back with frontier. I lost a lot of money for a year but guess i should have done better plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fran from Houston, TX on December 4th, 2019
Hi Fran, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.
— Gexa Energy
Plans
Wish I would have chosen a different plan! I didnt use enough electricity this month. Was charged $40 more because of it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Wylie, TX on November 6th, 2019
Hi JR: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

66 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Forgot my
The salesperson didnt mention that my withdrawal from my current company had a charge. Its why I didnt go with you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg from on January 5th, 2022
Great plans and pricing, terrible customer service
Plans and pricing is great, however customer service is not. I moved out of one service address to another, but I needed service at both for about a month and a half. I tried to set up move out date 2 months in advance and they said they couldnt set one up that far in advance. Then when I set up move out date, and the move out date came, they disconnected the address I was living at and just moved into!!! Tell me how you mess this up?! Then I took over 8 hours for them to fix the problem and get service back on.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josh from League City, TX on December 27th, 2021
PLEASE read this to avoid being deceived by misleading Gexa advertised rates.
If you are thinking about signing a contract with Gexa, make sure you read the fine print. The way that Texas electric companies work is deliberately confusing, and that's how they lock you into expensive contracts.

This will likely not be an issue if you are first signing with Gexa. They offer fantastic deals for people who first sign up, and they advertise their rates for new users correctly. However, when it's time to renew, you need to be careful.

If you are offered a contract at an average rate of 9 cents /kWh, for example, then you need to open the EFL (Electric Facts Label) and check the energy charge. If it says something MUCH higher than 9 cents, then you need to look elsewhere.

The way that it works is that they advertise a low average rate because of a discount they apply to your account if you hit exactly the right number of kWh.

For instance, if it says that your plan is 9 cents/kWh at 500 kWh, then the ACTUAL energy charge might be closer to 15 cents/kWh, but Gexa will give you a fifty dollar discount if you hit 500kWh.

If you don't hit 500kWh, then you don't get the discount, and you might actually pay MORE money, even when using HALF the amount of electricity. Additionally, if you use more than 500kWh, you'll still get the discount, but your rate will still average out at much higher. The average rate is only 9 cents if you literally use 500kWh.

For complete transparency, here is a breakdown of the amount of energy I used per month with Gexa and how much it cost me.

Contract 1 with Gexa - This plan was advertised at an average rate of 6 cents/kWh, and I was extremely happy with it. (The actual rate before fees was 3 cents/kWh.)

404 kWh = $34.51
403 kWh = $34.44
318 kWh = $28.24
413 kWh = $35.38
578 kWh = $41.88
364 kWh = $27.95
578 kWh = $41.88
364 kWh = $27.95
597 kWh = $41.77
537 kWh = $39.46

Contract 2 with Gexa. This contract was advertised at 9 cents/kWh. They used deceptive tactics here. It's actually 15 cents/kWh but comes out to 21 cents/kWh with fees. They give you a 50 dollar credit if you use 500kWh. As you can see, using between 350-499 kWh will absolutely destroy you.

552 kWh = $58.39
383 kWh = $82.91 (!!!!!!)
557 kWh = $66.53
262 kWh = $57.94

I stupidly trusted Gexa after my first year went smoothly, and I regret renewing a contract with them. If this review makes it to ANYONE before they make the same mistake that I made, I'll be happier.

I might cancel my contract and move to another company. I am still waiting to hear back from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Houston, TX on November 7th, 2021
Major IT/ Credit card Problems
Very poor web site/IT problems contacted service personal cannot speak/poor English.
Unable to setup Auto Pay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

HWS from Highlands, TX on September 16th, 2021
Won't try it again
I had 12 months plan, only half a month I switched to their business. They charge me the first bill based on the Oncor reading date. And for my last bill, they ended my contract before the Oncor reading date and charged me the higher price for half a month. I used Infuse energy company before, and they ended the contract at the exact date with the Oncor reading date. So I think I will not try Gexa again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Little Dragon from Dallas, TX on August 13th, 2021
Expensive
Confusing explanation about pricing,, very expensive !! Beware
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Expensive from Dallas, TX on August 2nd, 2021
Loyal Customer with Two Accounts and Ready to Switch
I have been a Gexa customer for several years at my primary residence and loved their prices and service. For that reason, I decided to use them at my rental house for the last three years. When I called to renew my rental house contract last year, the rep said that I would "save a lot of money" by being on the Free Nights and Free Weekends plan - so I gladly signed up since it is a rental house and I'm trying to keep costs lower. My electric bills increased by about $75 more per month. Needless to say I was not happy. I called today to renew my contract hoping to get a better deal since I am a loyal customer with TWO separate accounts with Gexa. For that reason you would think they would be working hard to keep me. Nope!!! The rep said, "the best I can do is 9.9 cents per KWh from Gexa, plus a 4.9 cents per KWh from AEP provider, plus $4.90 per month base charge for the plan. . I asked the rep, "that's still a lot higher than my primary residence. Is that the best you can do because I can find another company that will beat that?" He says, "that's the cheapest plan." I told him, "then I guess I'm calling another company for a cheaper price." He said, "ok, thank you for calling and being a customer."

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S. G. from Port Aransas, TX on June 30th, 2021
Hi Stacy, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
I got shafted
Renewed my plan a year ago. The guy said my plan was similar to the last one. I have never paid so much for electricity since I left TXU about 10 years ago. I really got the shaft from GEXA
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from Bedford, TX on May 12th, 2021
Hi Gary, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Price gouging
Highest electric bill I have ever had. Definitely price gouging and taking advantage of its loyal customers after the winter storm and power failures. I will be searching for another service immediately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Fort Worth, TX on March 20th, 2021
Hello Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Money grubbers
It was my mistake that I cancelled my account a month too early, March 10 instead of April 10. Gexa saw fit to charge me a cancellation fee of $153.00, per the terms and conditions of the contract which they were quick to point out to me. When I asked if they could do anything about the excessive cancellation fee they were also quick to point out to me, again, the terms and conditions of the cancellation fee. It would appear Gexa has no desire to work with it's customers and I would suggest you shop elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mipenrai from Missouri City, TX on March 15th, 2021
Hello Mipenrai, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

310 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Gexa is outrageous!
My bill more than doubled after the second month with Gexa. My house is all electric, so I paid an average of $275 per month. My second bill with Gexa was $680! Please, please do not use this company! If you do, you will regret it! I am leaving Gexa because it is cheaper to pay the penalty fee for leaving versus using them all year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donald from Burkburnett, TX on April 9th, 2022
Not recommended at all
They have sneaky pricing plans, that if you stay within a certain electricity range, you get somewhat reasonable rates, but if you even dare to go over your khw range your bill skyrockets almost doubling. What really blew me away is their pricing range quite literally punishes you for using LESS electricity. I had one bill 8 kW under the range and my bill almost doubled. That particular month had several weather related power outages so on top of having interrupted service, I got dinged with a significantly higher bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Glad_I_GOT_OUT from Houston, TX on March 28th, 2022
Careless company
My wife and I just signed up with this company with great expectations just to get the typical poor energy experience yet again.
We were late on our bills due to health issues. One major health issue being COVID. Major surgery being another. And we have still other major recentl health issues.
My wife and I are in quarantine and couldn't even leave our apartment to try and find help. We called and asked for a 3day extension. We'd be able to take care of the bill by then and we would not have to break quarantine to do so. Gexa said no they refuse to help. They also stated my wife and I having COVID was an inconvenience nothing more.
We just switched energy providers! Gexa will never see a penny from us!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PSS from Richardson, TX on March 25th, 2022
Terrible Service, Terrible Tech, Terrible Company
Gexa is awful. Their website is terrible, it's always an adventure trying to figure out how to log in. It asks for your account number, and when I copy and paste my account number from my bill it tells me it's not my account number. They also charged crazy high rates during the power outage debacle in Feb 2021 and made it impossible to argue the bill. Somehow I was charged over $600 that month (avg bill around $100-150) because of my "high usage" over three days when I had no power. I wouldn't recommend these thieves to my worst enemy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M Watson from Dallas, TX on March 16th, 2022
Zero stars
This company should be looked into for fees that are so ridiculous. They expect you to pay $20 extra if a disconnect notice is sent to you. They want you to pay them for telling you that your service will be disconnected. If you are ever a day late be prepared to to have a disconnect notice mailed to you before the days end. As a consumer I value a company who values me not one that portrays itself as a money hungry, low balling company who is quick to disrupt your service especially if it means more fees can be charged. Save yourself the time, trouble and the regret you will most certainly feel if you decide to choose electricity with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andrea from Pollok, TX on March 7th, 2022
Moving Target or Casino
Deployed 6 months while on the 1k to 2k for 100 dollar discount, seems like a good deal until your spouse cant hit the 1 k mark and you are penalized for it by not getting the discount and instead charged a higher rate, then return and due to weather changes cant stay below 2k consistently, paid 459.00 and ready to pay penalty to move, in fact, I did just that yesterday...NO is more gambling!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

User6244 from Killeen, TX on February 5th, 2022
Lied on renewal plan
Had no issues with company until i went ahead & renewed. For 15 days from renewal date, my bill DOUBLED. I placed numerous calls, without resolution. Representatives were rude, unprofessional, and had no conflict resolution knowledge. I've now been turned into collection agency for early termination fee of $301. My actual electric charge was paid.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SouthernTxgal from Harlingen, TX on January 18th, 2022
Will not use again
Gexa sends out disconnection notices via the USPS BEFORE they receive your payment on the due date. I've used many electric companies in Texas and this one will not be getting my service ever again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ttyl from Plano, TX on December 22nd, 2021
Overcharging with not much of communication
All my bills were around $200 before switching to Gexa, then jumped to over $360 straight 3 months, no explanation with lines of charges, finally took a penalty switching to other and bill is dropped below $100. Go figure!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ricky from Victoria, TX on November 20th, 2021
Worst
They over charge you. They have you on the phone for over an hour to not help. Worst experience ever.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Zara from Katy, TX on October 25th, 2021