Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Gexa Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Gexa Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Gexa Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Gexa Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Gexa Energy

3.4 / 5

Gexa Energy Reviews

509 Reviews for Gexa Energy

509

total reviews

Want to order Gexa Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Gexa Energy?

Is Gexa Energy good?

Gexa Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 1.9/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 10.7¢/kWh!

Is Gexa Energy expensive?

Gexa Energy has energy plans starting as low as 10.7¢/kWh with their Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12. The average Gexa Energy plan rate is 16.67¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.54¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



Gexa Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Gexa Energy:

TXU Gexa Energy
Plan Count 8 13
Average Rate 18.01¢/kWh 16.02¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $5.38
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Bill Credit
Flat Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 14.50¢/kWh.
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12
from 10.70¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 15.50¢/kWh.
Gexa Saver Deluxe 24
from 10.80¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 13

Gexa Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Gexa Energy:

Reliant Gexa Energy
Plan Count 4 13
Average Rate 16.80¢/kWh 16.02¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $5.38
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Bill Credit
Flat Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 17.10¢/kWh.
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12
from 10.70¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 16.10¢/kWh.
Gexa Saver Deluxe 24
from 10.80¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 13

Does Gexa Energy take reviews seriously?

Gexa Energy has an average user review of 1.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 70% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Gexa Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Gexa Energy customer review communities around. With 509 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Gexa Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Gexa Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Donald and Joeann

Overall Rating
Great pricing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy signing up and transferring.

Donald And Joeann from Killeen, TX on November 25th, 2021
Overall Rating
Rapido y facil instalacin.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Instalacin rpida, buena atencin, envan tu consumo semanal.

Edwin from Houston, TX on November 6th, 2021
Overall Rating
Gexa Electricity
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My second month with Gexa but love the website and ease of billing with their autopay system

Tony R. from Katy, TX on November 2nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Great so far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive had nothing to complain about thus far.

E.W. from Houston, TX on June 15th, 2021
Hi E.W, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Great transfer experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My rep was Zafar and he was excellent! He made it very easy for me to transfer my electricity. He took the time to answer all my questions and explained it in detail to where I can understand. The experience was fantastic and I would recommend and refer my friends and family to this company.

Melanie S from Houston, TX on July 10th, 2020
Hello Melanie, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Representative went above and beyond her duty to help
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gina is an exceptional employee with a sincere desire to do her best.She is patient,kind and very effecient.My encounter with her was a very pleasant one .I am very pleased and won't hesitate to recommend Gexa to others because of her.

Mae Wartell from Houston, TX on March 17th, 2020
Hi Mae,, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Gexa can cut your electric bill in half
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called Gexa engery before we change and they were the most nicest people I've ever worked with

My Worries Are Over Gexa Did What They Said They Would Guy Didn't Lie Like Other Companies from Mesquite, TX on October 29th, 2019
Hi Alvin, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
This is the way it should be... seamless and easy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was coming off a very frustrating experience with Griddy. Everything about the transition to Gexa was intuitive and painless.

Ron R from North Richland Hills, TX on October 15th, 2019
Hi Ron, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend

Allison Ayala from Elkhart, TX on July 24th, 2019
Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Great Electric Plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Electric Plan gave us the best pricing that we have ever had.

CSG from Houston, TX on May 21st, 2019
Hi CSG, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Kind of early to tell, but so far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rates seem to be okay, I am able to track daily usage, and act or react accordingly before the meter spins off the wall... So far I am happy with the service

Loren Bartling from Santa Fe, TX on August 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best Renewable Option
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa provided the only 100% renewable option for my area and the rates were reasonable and better than some non-renewable options. Thus far I have had no problems and they don't bug me, which in my opinion is perfect.

Don from Woodway, TX on June 29th, 2021
Hi Don, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Thank goodness
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

As far as pricing and hook up goes they are pretty average, but what has me writing this review is how they have handled the Texas grid issues during this stupid winter storm. While other companies are gouging their customers, Gexa suspended billing and disconnections for people so they could be taken care of during our states stupid power issues. A lot of people lost power, including us, but that want gexas fault, it was Oncors and I think they handled the people well and kept their customer base as well taken care of as they could. Im thankful for this and I know a lot of other Texans are too.

Mey0018 from Fort Worth, TX on February 25th, 2021
Hi Mey0018, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Binoy mathew
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent service and billing, everything is clear at website.

BINOY MATHEW from Missouri City, TX on July 1st, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Service Provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No problems.

Residential Provider from Houston, TX on May 4th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Very concerned .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

What is your company doing to help customers who has lost their jobs


..noticed nothing on your site about the crisis we all are facing!

Bonito Tracey from Mesquite, TX on March 26th, 2020
Hello Bonito Tracey, The health and well-being of our communities is our top concern. Were committed to remaining flexible and responsive to your needs and are taking additional steps to provide relief during this uncertain time. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please DM us with the name on your account, your account number or service address. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. To find out more about the COVID-19 Electricity Relief Program visit https://bit.ly/GEXACOVID19RELIEF . Thank you!
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Easy Peasy......
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dawn Pletcher


Service was turned on quickly. Very easy to sign up for service on website. Better service thus far than any other electric company I have been with in 20 something years. Haven't gotten a bill yet so I am not sure how to grade on that. So far so good.....

Dawn Pletcher from Baytown, TX on March 4th, 2020
Hi Dawn, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
So far, so good. No issues.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sign up was easy and I haven't experienced any issues. I would have liked to have seen more plans to choose from. There are more plans but they didn't show up on the site I was using. Otherwise, no issues so far.

Jonathan Julius from Plano, TX on March 1st, 2020
Hi Jonathan, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Everything has been a good experience

J. Powers from Waco, TX on July 8th, 2019
Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Gexa Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.


I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.

Bledsoe from Waco, TX on June 27th, 2019
Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
OK, I Guess
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A little higher priced than I thought they'd be.. the plan seems intentionally difficult to predict cost. But hey, that's pretty standard in an age where service is really just a money extraction device.

MB from Pearland, TX on November 16th, 2021
Overall Rating
Gexa Review 2021 June
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

To date, I have not encountered a situation where I needed to reach out customer service so no experience to report. Please disregard rating, which was required to complete the review.

Gexa Review 2021 June from Spring, TX on August 22nd, 2021
Overall Rating
TDU Delivery charge of 3.6c / kWh usage added to the bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched to GEXA energy and found I was charged 3.6 c delivery charge for every kWh usage. My previous electric company didn't have any charge for delivery.


Also, my usage went over 2000 kWh, so I didn't get the credit. I ended up paying about 50% more than 2020 August with previous electric company.

With Gexa Supreme 12 Plan I Ended Up Paying 50% More As I Have No Control On Usage In This Summer Heat. from Carrollton, TX on August 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
New customer: first review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Well I need electricity switch into my name, also out of time. So I called and I needed to give a deposit. So my only thing I can say is it would have been nice if they accepted american express also if paying by cash there was more locations to pay

Eric from Grapevine, TX on April 5th, 2021
Hello Eric, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Ho hum
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Switched to budget billing October 2019... paid $175 for service in September... switched to budget and billing jumped to $228.... remained that way until April 2020 then jumped to $338... not sure whats going on... Ive looked through the bills and our actual usage is less than the payment amount... now $338??? Feel like Im being ripped off....



Initially service was tremendous but as with most things the luster wears off.. riding out my contract and then leaving! Never had issues with Stream Energy! Never shouldve left..

Chris from Harlingen, TX on May 16th, 2020
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Gexa Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No problems with service nor billing.

Gexa Energy from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Much MUCH higher cost than estimated
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I took my time to understand how all the charges are calculated and still Gexa got me. Maybe it's because of their contracts with the specific provider in my area, but I paid more than double of any other electricity plan in the last 5 years. I had just moved into a new home and I blamed that for the difference - until my contract ran out and I switched to TXU. 6 months now and consistently half the monthly cost.

Round Rock Homeowner from Round Rock, TX on April 21st, 2020
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Not recommended for low consumption
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The website and the payment methods are easy but the rate is quite high if you don't really consume

David from Dallas, TX on January 13th, 2020
Hi David, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Its ok
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer service is good and the experience was good but prices are too high for me. I was paying a lot monthly bill with frontier and made the mistake to switch to gexa. Im back with frontier. I lost a lot of money for a year but guess i should have done better plan.

Fran from Houston, TX on December 4th, 2019
Hi Fran, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Plans
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wish I would have chosen a different plan! I didnt use enough electricity this month. Was charged $40 more because of it.

JR from Wylie, TX on November 6th, 2019
Hi JR: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Sneaky, Dishonest, Predatory
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Super easy at first, with a fabulous promotional rate. Service was never interrupted, even during the DEEP freeze recently. Then, kWh rate went from 6c/kWh to 22c/kWh without so much as an email to let me know. 22c/kWh charges occurred during record heat in Texas. 2 year old baby and pregnant wife at home, and I have a surprise $343 electricity bill for my 1200 sq ft home. Shame on you for taking advantage of families. I signed up for another provider right away.

MM from Irving, TX on July 25th, 2022
Overall Rating
Very unhappy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So I have been with Gexa for over 15 years, today I called because I needed a extension on my payment, you would think after all the time I have with them it wouldn't be a problem...but oh no....they said because of something that happened in November of 2021 they couldn't do it, and that was their fault that it happened. So I am telling them now, when my contract expires at the end of the year, please don't bother asking me to resign because loyalty means nothing to this company.

Johnny R. from Katy, TX on May 6th, 2022
Overall Rating
Forgot my
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The salesperson didnt mention that my withdrawal from my current company had a charge. Its why I didnt go with you.

Greg from on January 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great plans and pricing, terrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Plans and pricing is great, however customer service is not. I moved out of one service address to another, but I needed service at both for about a month and a half. I tried to set up move out date 2 months in advance and they said they couldnt set one up that far in advance. Then when I set up move out date, and the move out date came, they disconnected the address I was living at and just moved into!!! Tell me how you mess this up?! Then I took over 8 hours for them to fix the problem and get service back on.

Josh from League City, TX on December 27th, 2021
Overall Rating
PLEASE read this to avoid being deceived by misleading Gexa advertised rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you are thinking about signing a contract with Gexa, make sure you read the fine print. The way that Texas electric companies work is deliberately confusing, and that's how they lock you into expensive contracts.



This will likely not be an issue if you are first signing with Gexa. They offer fantastic deals for people who first sign up, and they advertise their rates for new users correctly. However, when it's time to renew, you need to be careful.

If you are offered a contract at an average rate of 9 cents /kWh, for example, then you need to open the EFL (Electric Facts Label) and check the energy charge. If it says something MUCH higher than 9 cents, then you need to look elsewhere.

The way that it works is that they advertise a low average rate because of a discount they apply to your account if you hit exactly the right number of kWh.

For instance, if it says that your plan is 9 cents/kWh at 500 kWh, then the ACTUAL energy charge might be closer to 15 cents/kWh, but Gexa will give you a fifty dollar discount if you hit 500kWh.

If you don't hit 500kWh, then you don't get the discount, and you might actually pay MORE money, even when using HALF the amount of electricity. Additionally, if you use more than 500kWh, you'll still get the discount, but your rate will still average out at much higher. The average rate is only 9 cents if you literally use 500kWh.

For complete transparency, here is a breakdown of the amount of energy I used per month with Gexa and how much it cost me.

Contract 1 with Gexa - This plan was advertised at an average rate of 6 cents/kWh, and I was extremely happy with it. (The actual rate before fees was 3 cents/kWh.)

404 kWh = $34.51
403 kWh = $34.44
318 kWh = $28.24
413 kWh = $35.38
578 kWh = $41.88
364 kWh = $27.95
578 kWh = $41.88
364 kWh = $27.95
597 kWh = $41.77
537 kWh = $39.46

Contract 2 with Gexa. This contract was advertised at 9 cents/kWh. They used deceptive tactics here. It's actually 15 cents/kWh but comes out to 21 cents/kWh with fees. They give you a 50 dollar credit if you use 500kWh. As you can see, using between 350-499 kWh will absolutely destroy you.

552 kWh = $58.39
383 kWh = $82.91 (!!!!!!)
557 kWh = $66.53
262 kWh = $57.94

I stupidly trusted Gexa after my first year went smoothly, and I regret renewing a contract with them. If this review makes it to ANYONE before they make the same mistake that I made, I'll be happier.

I might cancel my contract and move to another company. I am still waiting to hear back from them.

Amanda from Houston, TX on November 7th, 2021
Overall Rating
Major IT/ Credit card Problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very poor web site/IT problems contacted service personal cannot speak/poor English.


Unable to setup Auto Pay

HWS from Highlands, TX on September 16th, 2021
Overall Rating
Won't try it again
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had 12 months plan, only half a month I switched to their business. They charge me the first bill based on the Oncor reading date. And for my last bill, they ended my contract before the Oncor reading date and charged me the higher price for half a month. I used Infuse energy company before, and they ended the contract at the exact date with the Oncor reading date. So I think I will not try Gexa again.

Little Dragon from Dallas, TX on August 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
Expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Confusing explanation about pricing,, very expensive !! Beware

Expensive from Dallas, TX on August 2nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Loyal Customer with Two Accounts and Ready to Switch
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a Gexa customer for several years at my primary residence and loved their prices and service. For that reason, I decided to use them at my rental house for the last three years. When I called to renew my rental house contract last year, the rep said that I would "save a lot of money" by being on the Free Nights and Free Weekends plan - so I gladly signed up since it is a rental house and I'm trying to keep costs lower. My electric bills increased by about $75 more per month. Needless to say I was not happy. I called today to renew my contract hoping to get a better deal since I am a loyal customer with TWO separate accounts with Gexa. For that reason you would think they would be working hard to keep me. Nope!!! The rep said, "the best I can do is 9.9 cents per KWh from Gexa, plus a 4.9 cents per KWh from AEP provider, plus $4.90 per month base charge for the plan. . I asked the rep, "that's still a lot higher than my primary residence. Is that the best you can do because I can find another company that will beat that?" He says, "that's the cheapest plan." I told him, "then I guess I'm calling another company for a cheaper price." He said, "ok, thank you for calling and being a customer."



S. G. from Port Aransas, TX on June 30th, 2021
Hi Stacy, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
I got shafted
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Renewed my plan a year ago. The guy said my plan was similar to the last one. I have never paid so much for electricity since I left TXU about 10 years ago. I really got the shaft from GEXA

Upset Customer from Bedford, TX on May 12th, 2021
Hi Gary, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Overall Rating
Texas energy - as bad as it gets
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terrible service. Slow, overpriced, and the workers are as miserable as the customers. Outrageous bills on a fixed rate makes it feel like our electricity is being siphoned constantly. Sent a bill that energy would be shut off via email then an hour later shut it off. Despicable.

Horrible Experiences Only from Grand Prairie, TX on September 14th, 2022
Overall Rating
A joke
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

2 years have service. First year bill was averaging $200 now up to $475 that's not even the kicker.



We are supposed to have free weekends starting Thursday midnight lasting till Sunday Midnight. We rarely use electricity during the week day because of work and school. So the weekends we use more especially tvs running and lights. But they swear we use most of our electricity during the week day which is BS because only kitchen appliances are really running. We even unplug tvs and things that have small energy running through them. So it's really crazy how they average the usage to make it seem like we use less during weekend "free" hours and the week day.

We have 2 months left and we are not renewing with this company

Christina from Copperas Cove, TX on September 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
Tricked, cheated , deceived (Deceptive practices on customers who re-upped contracts 9/2022)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tricked, cheated , deceived


I reupped my contract expecting the same terms and they do not charge whats advertised as they did on the first contract. If my first contract was a locked rate Id expect my second one to be too. instead they sell al low locked rate and then do a bunch of finical tap dancing that comes out to be 3x what i use to pay for the same amount of energy used. I literally hate these mf'ers

John from 765402 on September 4th, 2022
Overall Rating
Poor customer service and plan ordering
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Won't ever use them again. ok first year but when time to renew, I asked could they best Champion Energy and they matched price at time. Lol and behold the next month it shows we were month to month at higher rate with no record of the Supreme plan confirmed.



That's my fault for not following up for confirmation the day I spoke with rep. Last, be more than a day late and late fees with disconnect notice fee already tacked on bill. Customer service is lacking, make a call you'll see for yourself.

Rowlett Tx Former Customer from Rowlett, TX on September 2nd, 2022
Overall Rating
Trash, Thieves, and a Garbage Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had nothing but good things to say prior to the last couple months. Payed roughly 100-200 dollars depending on the month and everything was pretty reasonable. Come summer time and our bill started to double, triple and even quadruple!!! I NEVER thought I'd be paying almost the same amount as RENT to cover energy for a two bed room apartment. All of a sudden we're getting billed upwards of 600/m and they will randomly consolidate your bills to include longer stretches of a month without even a hint of letting you know. Honestly I'm just pissed at this point and my SO and I find it cheaper to pay the cancellation fee and move on then give these troglodytes any more of our hard earned money. Save yourself the trouble and go with literally any other company.

Jeff from Bedford, TX on August 31st, 2022
Overall Rating
Do not choose Exa, or even go look at their website
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I went online searching to energy provider. Got into Gexa energy and choose quotes, input the address and they set us up as choosing a plans with them. They did not send any confirmation letters or "welcome as new customers". Our bills is 600 per month. We thought we were on with our current old provider, did not know that Gexa jumped in and cut us off with previous provider. I called and they said "oh, the mail must got lost". How does it even possible? How do you sign up for a plan with energy company without giving your social security? But Gexa did it with using your dob and address. This is a scam...Please dont even think about looking for a quotes from their website.

Cong from Garland, TX on August 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Contract period was fine, disaster after switching providers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

During the contract period, the service was bare minimum (technology interface is far behind what Ive seen from other providers).



After terminating service, billed several hundred dollar extra for usage after lease end. Dispute team and customer service took several weeks to look into the issue, and would not adjust/honor my disconnect date. Charged additional late payment interest during the time of the dispute that they were also unwilling to waive. Very displeased with Gexa, will never be returning.

C from Fort Worth, TX on August 22nd, 2022
Overall Rating
Yall suck ass
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If I could give the zero stars I would. This company is absolutely horrible. Would not recommend to anyone. They have been raising our rates every month and nothing has changed in our house. No one is home during the day. Everything is turned off ac is set at 76 all day. Our latest bill was for 1300. There is absolutely no way possible. They refuse to come out to look at our kilowatts. Just a terrible experience in general..

Passed Off Customer from Burkburnett, TX on August 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
DONT CHOOSE GEXA
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had Gexa for over 7 years now and somehow I am being charged 21cents per kwh now, my last bill was over $900!!!! The highest my bill has ever been in the summer was a little over $500 which was bad enough, but $900?!?!?!?! When I called the man was useless, telling me there was no one I could talk to about this. Also, 2 days late and they send a disconnection notice already??? This company has become horrible!

Sandra Franklin from Richardson, TX on August 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
Would not recommend
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I just signed up with GEXA a couple of months ago after switching plans from another company as my contract had expired with the other company. I searched for better rate plans and saw what GEXA offered.. at the time, it seemed like the best plan for me. Wrong.. in the two months I have had this service, my costs nearly doubled from the last utility company I had using the same amount of KHWs! Not to mention the nickel and dime ing they charge which you REALLY have to read the "fine print" over and over again..then over and over again... am looking for another company to move to at this time... will do so even if there is a penalty fee! I am a Sr. citizen living on a fixed income and with their rates, there is NO way I am going to be able to afford them!

Alex S from Tomball, TX on August 17th, 2022

Compare Gexa Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Conservation 12 plan
17.5¢
$5.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Conservation 24 plan
16.5¢
$5.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
16.1¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
17.1¢
$9.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Freedom 36
17.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Deluxe 24
10.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Energy Saver 36
16.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Eco Saver Plus 12
10.7¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Deluxe 12
13.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver 12
13.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Energy Saver 24
16.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Advantage 12
15.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Value 12
16.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Saver Premium 12
19.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Superb Saver 24
20.7¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa Superb Saver 12
21.0¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Gexa EV 24
16.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Renewable
Check Availability
Tara Web - 24
14.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Tara Web - 12
15.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability